The following blogs authored by a young Barbadian Economist Simon Naitram who is currently an assistant lecturer at the University of the West Indies while pursuing a PhD from the University of Glasgow (featured image: Simon Naitram)

• David, Barbados Underground

Life, debt, and now default. Barbados has reached the final stage of its illness. This isn’t our sob story. This is the tale of how we got here. This post isn’t a eulogy—it’s a lesson, a warning to our future selves.

The reason the government has defaulted on the country’s public debt is simple: the government just doesn’t have enough money to both keep paying back its loans and keep the country’s services running. The government chose to keep the country running.

How did the government reach this breaking point? Did the government simply borrow more than it could repay? The economics of government debt aren’t that simple. The government might have borrowed too much—it certainly made some bad financial decisions—but that’s not the real economic story.

The underlying economic mistake leading to default is that our government did not invest. It’s not that we spent too much money. Instead it’s that we spent our money on the wrong things. For a decade we did not invest in a brighter future. Nodebtw that we’ve reached that future, it’s a dark and miserable place.

A government’s debt is measured relative to how rich its people are. Bill Gates borrowing a million dollars isn’t the same as me borrowing a million dollars. The richer we the people are, the more money the government gets from taxing us. A 20% tax on $100 gives the government way more revenue than a 20% tax on $20.

Read full textLife, Debt, and Default

Barbados’ giant economic hole is entirely of our own making. Our distress stems from one fatal flaw: we do not invest.

Let me make it plain. Investment in new businesses, new technologies, and new ideas is the only way to generate sustainable economic growth. Economic growth is not just an economist’s foolish cravings. Economic growth is the only path to prosperity. Investment is needed for economic growth, and without economic growth, we perish.

Why is it that we don’t invest? What can we do to fix this fatal flaw?

The first problem is that we save only 13.6% of our income. The rest of the world saves 23.1% of its income. Our savings are paltry in comparison to the investment hole we need to fill. We simply don’t put aside enough money for our businesses to invest.

And yet, commercial banks don’t want our cash. They offer us a ridiculous 0.05% interest rate on our savings. Why? In 1990, the banks lent 68% of our savings to businesses. Lending to businesses is risky, but it is productive investment that generates high returns and grows the economy. In 2018, the banks have lent only 28% of our savings to businesses! Banks have stopped channeling our funds into productive economic activity—which is in fact their one job.

Read full textFailure to Invest

339 responses to “Fault Lines: Life, Debt, Default and a Failure to Invest”

1. @Pacha

Of the 9 billion in deposits 6.7 is categorized as originating from individuals according to central bank.

2. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Hal

, it was the case that Walmart could import televisions from China, sail them across the Pacific, drive them across the US, and sold them on the East Coast for US$1 each
    ×××××××××××××××××××××

What are you smoking in the UK?

Can you send an AD or link to this Walmart offer?

3. John
    November 23, 2018 1:30 PM

I will end with this as a bit of free advice to our tourism officials: if you make Barbados a desired destination, then the foreign capital will follow. Not the other way round. (ask the BU archivist who monitors every contribution by contributors).
    ++++++++++++++++++
    … and I have given the way how to do that!!!
    Every square inch of this island is a World Heritage Site.
    Think Quakers!!

I’ll give you a fact that no one can dispute!!

The vast majority of the investment Barbados has ever made is in the land, lying idle!!

Would be interesting to hear anyone dispute it!!

Starting from tat simple fact I will show you what we need t do!!

4. @Barbados Underground,

That was real, just before the global crisis. @Gabriel, what is the slip in recommending reading? Is this another a social crime in Barbados, suggesting that people should read relevant books and not just speculate? I am too old to be a wannabe. Guilty I just happen to like books.

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    I was NOT talking about the savings interest rates. I was pointing out that savings cannot save us (ironic isn’t it).

Google was not started with debt, nor Amazon, nor Apple, nor Microsoft… in fact using debt to start a company is stupid in almost every instance.

Barbados requires investors, not savers. Barbados requires people who understand how to manage risk and reap rewards. There are promising entrepreneurs in Barbados: young Black men and women who will be the cornerstone of future prosperity. I will help them succeed.

You are welcome to continue to complaine about the government… in ten years time your complaints will sound the same. Meanwhile I will build some jobs and help some people to earn foreign exchange and help the economy to grow..

6. WHEN WE HAVE HAD THE BU INTELLIGENCIA AND THE ILLITERATI DRIVEL ALL DAY ON THIS MATTER……….AS PER USUAL………WHAT WILL BE DONE?

WILL WE PERSUADE MIA MUGABE MAO MUTTLEY THE DICTATOR AND FREQUENT FLYER AND OFFICIAL BARBADOS BULLSHITER ABROAD, TO DO ANYTHING POSITIVE OR AT ALL? OR WILL WE RETURN TOMORROW TO ANOTHER TOPIC TO PASS THRU THE DAILY DRIVEL OF THE RUM SHOP.

7. @Peter

You point is well made. It is an innovative and creative entrepreneurial class that will attract have to attract investment.. What we need urgently is access to venture capital. The financial sector in Barbados including the credit unions operate models driven by satisfying consumption habits.

8. Is any one aware that a railway will open in Barbados this Christmas if not shortly thereafter?

9. @PLT,

You are shifting the discussion again. Your attention span is either limited or you quickly run out of gas. This started with a response to a post about savings and investments. Is that still the issue, or is the investment needs of the nation as a whole now the issue, monetary and fiscal policy?
    I am not complaining about the government because I do not expect very much from the government. I am simply saying, as the managers of the nation’s economy, the great enablers, they are not doing a very good job. It is a paucity of ideas. Should I shout that again?
    @PLT, sometimes you shoot from the lip without a proper grip on the issues. Let us start again: if entrepreneurs are to be funded, there is a need to financialise the economy. How are we to do that? What kinds of entrepreneurs do we need, what industries, sectors and products will they be working in? See the UPP’s election manifesto and its proposal for a creative economy.
    You also talk about Amazon, Apple and Microsoft; again I suggest you read The Myth of Capitalism if you want to know more about these companies and their brand of capitalism.
    You will also read about how the US government assists these companies with so-called light-touch regulation, which allows Google and Facebook to snap up rivals (YouTube, WhatsApp, Admob, Doubleclick, Instagram, Zappos.com, Diapers.com, etc) without any complaints. The EU will sort that out. Where is our Silicon Valley? Our Imperial College or Stanford? I congratulate you on producing young coders, but where do we go from there?
    @PLT, your scatter gun approach to discussions means that sometimes you will be on target and you will make an impression on the easily influenced. Most often you are wide of the mark. You are at heart a romantic. Mia should recruit you as one of her advisers.

10. 35,000 visitors to Nicholas Abbey expected to double!!!

Somebody is investing!!

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    “This started with a response to a post about savings and investments. Is that still the issue…”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Yes Hal. Everything that I’ve posted has been addressing this issue.

To recap… savings are not necessarily investments; when your savings are loaned for consumer spending on imports, that’s NOT investment; when you buy Barbados government savings bonds or other government paper and they use the proceeds to pay civil servants, that’s NOT investment.

You say there is a “need to financialise the economy” to support entrepreneurs, but you need to be much more specific than that. We need to expand the access to angel investment, venture capital, and impact investment. This is much more specific than “financialise the economy.” It will be a complete waste of time to “financialise the economy” by inventing new savings instruments with government incentives.

What kinds of entrepreneurs do we need? that’s easy… we need ones that earn foreign exchange and create local jobs. The sector or industry does not matter one iota.

I regret that my attempts to illuminate the same truth from multiple perspectives seems to you to be a “scatter gun approach” but I was simply hoping that you would understand at least one of the perspectives. You see, I’m a complete pragmatist, not a romantic at all. All that matters to me are tangible results in the real world. Because of that all offers to be on the payroll of any government in Barbados are met with laughter and blanket refusal.

12. John November 23, 2018 4:48 PM
    interesting post John
    Thanks
    Nicholas Abbey was always one of my stops on round de island picnics

13. We need to expand the access to angel investment, venture capital, and impact investment.

Many “entrepreneurs” are devils.

Donville is an entrepreneur …. or was perhaps!!

14. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“Many “entrepreneurs” are devils.”
    You are correct. The enslavers like Drax were also “entrepreneurs.”

15. Northern Observer Avatar
    Northern Observer

@waru
    U make me laff.
    Remember about +/- 18 months ago, news broke that Preconco had a contract to build homes in Dominica?
    Remember when MAM was LoO, she was pissing all over Maloney?
    Now all of a sudden silence. Who you think brought Ross to MAM? A peace offering. Nuff in it for all sides.
    Ya tink anything has changed? $$$ still talking.

16. @PLT

Your arguments are irrational. You now try to shift the argument again with a silly argument that savings are not necessarily investments; when savings are loaned for consumer spending on imports THAT IS NOT INVESTMENT. Who lenders lend to, and what borrowers borrow for is a different argument..
    An investment is anything that brings in a return. So, if I lend you money privately to gamble with at an appropriate rate, then that is my investment. Using your logic, the US$3trn invested in US gilts is not an investment?
    How more specific do you want me to be about financialisation? It means we need both banks and non-banks to lend to would be entrepreneurs and existing businesses. To financialise is a common economic term, which includes helicopter funding..
    Again, you do not seem to understand the role of government in the investment sector. Unless an investment vehicle is regulated then the investment is at unusual risk. I will give you a simple example: in the UK retail investments are guaranteed up to a maximum of £85000. That encourages investor confidence.
    You obviously have an idea of the kind of entrepreneur that we need – others need not apply -even if it is not clear. And you drift off in to the economic illiteracy of foreign exchange again. I AM NOT FROM THAT SCHOOL. It is bogus – along with your multiple approaches. I am surprised that people buy in to this shamanism. An entrepreneur provides a good or service that there is a market for, whether it brings in foreign exchange or not. The little rum shop owner is an entrepreneur.
    I am not interested in your tangible results and other nonsense. Tell that to Mia. I am not a campaigner.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

As my mother would say:” You do not like fights ,but you surely know how to start a riot.” I will withhold my comments until the riot is over.

@ Hal

You do make some useful points. Your manner of doing so is a tad off, as in distracting. The article could have avoided the cross talk if the author had defined what he meant by savings and what he meant by investments. In Bu they are used interchangeably. This causes confusion . Bloggers therefore argue at cross purposes.

I have read the full article. I am not too sure what audience it is targeting , but Hal certainly would find it below his pay grade.

18. man hal austin full of shit
    he is an old man and his nearly done……..how many people know bout he
    likkle simon naitram is a youngster…….he coming and one day he will be more than the jackass hal austin ever achieved

i wonder if hal even got a a degree from a UK university for all de years he spend up dey

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    You must be working hard to be so obtuse.

I do distinguish between any entrepreneur and the type of entrepreneurs who will contribute most to economic recovery in Barbados. We need jobs, foreign exchange, and economic growth… if an entrepreneur doesn’t contribute to one or more of those goals then I will spend my efforts assisting someone else who does.

You don’t care about tangible results in Bajan jobs, foreign exchange or economic growth. Fine. You may continue to complain and I will continue to build a better Barbados.

20. GP
    No argument there at all,at all…I have the same thought that Hal spend all that time in ‘Great Britain’ where they reward talented folk irrespective of their origin and I doubt Hal made use of those opportunities.

21. re tangible results in Bajan jobs, foreign exchange or economic growth.

only a jackass fails to see that these 3 have been sorely lacking and that they are what are needed

22. NO…we know, don’t think we don’t.

23. “You don’t care about tangible results in Bajan jobs, foreign exchange or economic growth. Fine. You may continue to complain and I will continue to build a better Barbados.”

Hal, Ha has no clue what you are talking about, he is NOT a business person..it all sounds like Greek to him.

24. Jobs

Forex

Economic Growth

All three possible at Nicholas Abbey with the investment in the Railway.

Many moons ago when I studied in the UK, Train Spotting was a hobby of an English student I knew at the time.

Seems it still is a hobby for some Brits and it is taken very seriously!!!

http://www.rail.co.uk/rail-news/2014/nrm-spotters-event/

If the Nicholas Abbey railway is successful and were to be appealing to Train Spotters in England, there nay be a whole new market segment into which to tap!!!

There is a 1914 antique, restored and with a pedigree stretching back to Java.

It survived the Japanese invasion and the scrap metal collectors.

Not a bad trophy for a Train Spotter and for a real train buff … probably heaven.

If it is successful, then we should consider restoring a railway from the Crane Hotel (Paul Doyle) to Bridgetown.

Put three antique restored steal locomotives, Annabelle, Beatrix and Catherine!!.

The line passes through a lot of land owned by Barbados Farms, Sagicor and some belonging to COW.

Between these three it might be easy to raise the funding.

In this case we could use the term “Retained Earnings” as opposed to “Savings”!!

Market a Train Spotting vacation at the Crane and provide a service taking guests to and from Bridgetown.

… Hilton too … and who knows, even Hyatt

Might liven up things in town and diversify the tourist offering!!

Jobs

Forex

Economic Growth

25. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

The author mentioned that a Rich population will redound to the treasury with more taxes. Well, that assumption is based on, I guess, if most of those Rich individuals are on the PAYE roll. Because truth be told, wealthy people do everything under the sun to avoid shouldering their fair share of the tax burden.

26. @Hal. You are wrong on two fronts. First, the investments PLT is alluding to, are mainly those types that increase our gross stock of fix assets. Nothwithstanding other Intangible investments like eg R&D. These investments are mainly funded by domestic debt (loans or bonds), equities, and FDI.

A learned person of your pedigree, know full well, that lending somebody money to GAMBLE is NOT counted as an INVESTMENT when calculating a nation output/GDP… even if you earn a rate of return on said money. If the money was used to build a casino, then that would be recognised as an investment in the nation account.

Second, small open economies, like Barbados, that are import- dependent need to have a certain level of reserve to bolster investors’ confidence and ready to be deployed during economic shocks and balance of payment crisis. The reserve act like an insurance policy. It is the second line of defense between the domestic private forex market and the IMF.

27. WE can actually get Jobs, FOREX and Economic Growth with PLT … or even without him!!

28. @fortyacresandamule

Taxes can be extracted from rich people from PAYE only?

29. Northern…ironically, even on BU Skerritt was WARNED not to use that hard core crook, liar fraid conman, backstabber Maloney, do not have him in Dominica, use someone else from across the Caribbean to rebuild Dominica, ah guess he paid to learn why he was being warned.

Hardcore thieves only know to do one thing, don’t care how much they have, they must steal something from others.., and we done know the overstayed, tired thieves in the minority community already know how to play their hard core thieves and sell outs in the parliament…like well oiled violins, they own these dumb negros..

John…you are 2 limited in scope ….a one train line with a 15 minute to half hour tops length of travel is not a massive job creator…, what is needed is a wash pan of opportunities.

…..10 or 15 thousand entrepreneurs out there turning over business in the next 5 years…25 or 30 thousand others starting up businesses behind them….the majority population has those numbers to drive the economy,..that is what is needed…every 5 years add another 30 thousand young entrepreneurs to the island’s start up companies roll.

…Now sit ya ass down with ya limited opportunities crap to continue stagnating the island’s economy and robbing the majority population….and start thinking BIG for once in ya life, think enriching the BLACK population so that the island can survive.., yall have overstayed ya welcome and are now useless to the people and island.

30. @PLT,

Peter, again you are trying to shift the discussion. At 5.17pm you said in part: “……that matters to me are tangible results in the real world. Because of that all offers to be on the payroll of any government ….”
    My reply was: “…I am not interested in your tangible results and other nonsense. Tell that to Mia. I am not a campaigner”

At 8.19pm you responded: “You don’t care about tangible results in Bajan jobs, foreign exchange or economic growth. Fine. You may continue to complain….” @PLT it is your style to refine, elaborate, extend your arguments when you realise that the originals are unsustainable.
    I have said here on BU on a number of occasions that the most pressing social issue facing Barbados is job creation, especially for the 16-25 year cohort. That is based on sound economic theory that if school leavers do not go straight in to a job, education or training they are likely to spend a life time of job insecurity.
    About foreign exchange, the monkey in the Bajan economic cage, the argument is flawed. I DO NOT SUBSCRIBE TO THE FOREIGN EXCHANGE NARRATIVE. Re-read the thread: I said that if tourism officials had a policy of making Barbados a desirable destination, it follows the foreign earnings would follow. That, my dear man, is simply common sense.
    As to economic growth, that is the outcome of improvements in productivity, output per hour; this can be achieved through improvements in skills and technology, working harder and taking less time off work.
    You then said you do not differentiate between types of entrepreneurs, again this is part of your TOSS THE SEEDS UP AND SEE WHERE THEY LAND. Will this include planning, or just another disorganised scatter gun approach? The statement is simply illogical. I have said, entrepreneurs are people who invest in small businesses – by the way, most fail.
    @PLT, You are playing to the gallery, but your argument is badly flawed and inconsistent. I do not intend continuing with the discussion any more.

31. “The statement is simply illogical. I have said, entrepreneurs are people who invest in small businesses – by the way, most fail.”

Real entrepreneurs are not real business people unless they have failed a couple times, that is how you LEARN to become a success.

Business 101.

32. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    “You then said you do not differentiate between types of entrepreneurs…”
    ++++++++

I think that part of the reason you don’t understand what I’m saying Hal, is that you don’t read carefully. You have completely misquoted me.

What I actually wrote was “What kinds of entrepreneurs do we need? that’s easy… we need ones that earn foreign exchange and create local jobs. The sector or industry does not matter one iota.”

What this means, Hal, is that it doesn’t matter whether the entrepreneur is in tourism, cultural industries, technology, transportation, or whatever, as long as they create local jobs and/or earn foreign exchange.

Deng Hsiao Ping put it another way “it doesn’t matter what color the cat is, as long as it catches mice.”

33. What kinds of entrepreneurs do we need? that’s easy… we need ones that earn foreign exchange and create local jobs. THE SECTOR OR INDUSTRY DOES NOT MATTER ONE IOTA.

This is what most Bajans call comprehension, what I call understanding. @PLT you are showing parts of your personality with these slippery attempts to deny what you have said. Forget the catch-all qualification of earning foreign exchange and create local jobs, the key point is that the sector or industry does not matter, according to you. In other words, you are not differentiating. Your only test is foreign exchange and local jobs, not types of business. @PLT, plse stop arguing….

34. I think that part of the reason you don’t understand what I’m saying Hal, is that you don’t read carefully
    Wrong….!!!
    The reason is that Hal is an idiot…..Always was, …always will be – despite our best efforts (from all appearances….)

But that is not what concerns Bushie at this point…
    What concerns the Bushman bigly, is that PLT continues to argue with Hal … on an on an on…
    …and we all know what Mark Twain explained so clearly….
    “Never argue with a fool, onlookers may not be able to tell the difference.”

or as Proverbs explains,
    “Answer not a fool according to his folly, lest you be like him yourself.”

Folks…
    Can we afford to lose PLT too…..?

35. Bush Tea . you too like pelting stones
    I guess that is your signature approach to every dam thing
    Remember Stephen was pelted to death by stone throwers of your kind and God rewared him

36. Would LOVE to argue with you Maripoka,
    But Bushie HAS to take his own advice…
    and Mr Twain’s..

37. @ Bush Tea

I won’t say Austin is an idiot, because from his writings it’s obvious he is above average. He wants BU to know that he knows a few things, that is why he shifts the discussion so that he could discuss what he knows and brag about it. It’s part of the Bajan culture and remains with him despite how long he was living in the U.K.

The original argument was about investments and savings in Barbados, to which PLT stuck to the script. But Austin introduced Confucian territories and investments in the UK to demonstrate to the audience he knows about that stuff and completely ignoring the original argument.

This is his way of telling the other contributors that he is the most intelligent man and they are fools. Another Bajan cultural trait.

His contributions would have meaning and people could gain from his knowledge if he was not so insulting and sarcastic. He must realise that being sarcastic and dismissive of others is also being abusive.

He also rubbished the author’s article by saying we need grown up debate and not a celebration of student essays. Then he tried to back track when that was pointed out by Theo. Another Bajan cultural trait.

Strange enough I have never seen him agree with any contributions. What are we to think about a man who believes everyone is wrong and he is the only person who is always right.

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin
    “Your only test is foreign exchange and local jobs, not types of business.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Bingo! At last. So you can see that I am differentiating between two types of entrepreneurs: those that contribute to prosperity in Barbados, and those who do not. I even specified the exact criteria that will lead to Bajan prosperity: local jobs and foreign exchange earnings.

39. @ Robert Green
    Touché…

Thank you for that clarification Sir. It is highly appreciated – and respected.

As you know, Bushie uses a whacker.
    The refined and concise manner in which you have been able to explain Hal approach is largely impossible when using a four-stroke, souped-up whacker with over-sized .104 nylon.
    When Bushie sees shiite, he just leads with the whacker….

Now that you have put that on the table (and even Hal can probably appreciate your critique)
    Bushie will ease back on the throttle and try to stop calling him an ‘idiot’….

perhaps we can say that he just tries to push himself too much – and certainly well BEYOND his actual capabilities…?

He ALWAYS did this…
    Is THAT not idi…..?
    oops!!!

40. Sorry
    Robert Goren

41. …..10 or 15 thousand entrepreneurs out there turning over business in the next 5 years…25 or 30 thousand others starting up businesses behind them….the majority population has those numbers to drive the economy,..that is what is needed…every 5 years add another 30 thousand young entrepreneurs to the island’s start up companies roll.

This is a good joke!!

I have been hearing it for years but never seen the results.

There are perhaps more than a million visitors to Barbados in a year and they bring FOREX.

A diversity of attractions increases the amount of FOREX that is spent in Barbados.

More Tax is collected!!

If the 10-15 thousand entrepreneurs were to actually come into existence they should benefit from that market.

Potentially more Jobs!!

The million or more visitors are not here to support the various small entrepreneurs you may foresee.

They are here for a vacation and perhaps a learning experience.

Some just come to use the beach and get a suntan!!

How do we increase the number of visitors to Barbados?

How do we get them to spend more?

Trains are just an example and actually open a new segment of the Market.

Will your entrepreneurs do the trick?

Good joke!

42. Nicholas Abbey gets 35,000 visitors per year.

They spend FOREX (and local $$) to experience the tour, buy some Rum made in Barbados and have a different experience.

35,000 as a % of the million visitors is tiny.

The room for expansion … economic growth .. is immense.

It may or may not pan out but only time will tell.

43. Well…as we watch, the majority population need to start also rolling back their consumers label AND SPEND LESS MONEY..since Mia Borrows dont want to pursue the thieves who have robbed the people for decades OR recovery their money.., OR free up the land to the people to plant their food and have housing ,, PUNISH HER ASS if her BERT plan fails.., stop spending ya money with the CROOKS to whom she is giving tax breaks…

It is NOT the majority population’s fault Mia Borrows found herself BOXED IN by OECD countries after telling the prople ALL THOSE LIES from her soap box on the election platform…not the people’s fault at all…time for her to PAY FOR THOSE LIES….

The crooks in parliament won’t hear widen the tax net, they dont want to break up their bribetaking and bribe giving parties…but THE PEOPLE can catspraddle all their crooked asses..

..wuh yuh tink Enuff?.

“Tax cut fear
    Article by
    Marlon Madden Published on
    November 23, 2018
    A Barbadian economist following developments here from his home in Canada is predicting that Government’s massive corporate tax cut will lead to a higher cost of living for Barbadians, as a shrinking tax base will force even more taxes in the New Year.

Carlos Forte, a former Central Bank of Barbados official who emigrated to Canada, told Barbados TODAY the decision by the Mia Mottley administration to slash the business tax rate from 30 per cent to between one and 5.5 per cent effective next year, was
    a very significant but “regressive” development.

“My expectation would be that the new imposition of taxes to come would translate into increased cost to Barbadian consumers, and essentially translate into a higher cost of living, which is already high in Barbados,” said Forte.

“It is likely to result in a more regressive form of taxation as opposed to a progressive form of taxation, where in the context of income taxes, those who earn more pay more,” said Forte.

Making the announcement on Tuesday, Prime Minister Mottley said the scheduled taxes would be “revenue neutral”, while outlining that the change was make Barbados compliant with the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the club of the world’s wealthiest nations.

But Forte said while the measure would grant Barbados some reprieve from the prospects of being sanctioned by the OECD for harmful tax practices or being blacklisted as a tax haven and an uncooperative jurisdiction, it would “significantly erode” the country’s tax base.

He insisted that the prospect of attracting international business was for the medium to long-term but the short-term measure would place a higher tax burden on ordinary Barbadian consumers.

“This is particularly noteworthy given that Barbados is currently in a structural adjustment programme characterized in part by significant fiscal consolidation,” said Forte, who recalled that the corporate tax rate was only increased a few months ago from 25 per cent to 30 per cent to raise revenue.”

44. “There are perhaps more than a million visitors to Barbados in a year and they bring FOREX.”

And yet yall asses ARE DEAD BROKE..

.ya can’t pay ya bills NOR YA DEBTS

. ya 15 thousand BILLION DOLLARS IN DEBT.., ya borrowing to pay DEBT AND BILLS..

Ya borrowing to fix infrastructure

Ya borrowing so that ya can borrow. .

Hint, hint..

Ah done spelling out everything,

45. There has been constant investment in the land … clearing, forming fields, cultivation, planting, weed control, reaping etc. etc. and it has taken place over 300 years.

There is no asset in Barbados that has had as much capital or attention invested into it, none.

It has fed, housed and clothed generations.

It has been the genesis of the worldwide abolition of slavery, an institution that existed for millennia.

It has allowed reinvestment in the Seawell Airport, Deep Water Harbour and QEH.

Diversification has been made possible by just investing in the land.

The answers are sitting there waiting to be used!!

Our problem is the brainwashing that has taken place since the 60’s has blinded most of us!!

46. BTW..now that real intelligent people in the form of PLT and his team are on the scene….there is hope for the majority population and the island…..the minority hardcore thieves and crooks and their useless black boys and girls of parliament can take a seat and watch from their cucharacha holes.

47. @ Bush Tea

You may be right that Hal extends himself, but not beyond his capabilities. He extends himself beyond what is required at the time.

But I noticed after he was critiqued by the blogger I believed he referred to as BU resident archivist, I held out hope for him because he was being a bit more polite in his interactions with other bloggers. But in keeping with another Bajan cultural trait….. the 9 day wonder, he fell back into his old ways by insulting people and keeps referring to the “archivist” every opportunity he gets or he creates the opportunity to do so. That means he must be still hurting. Is this part of the mature debate he keeps asking for?

Hal’s intentions are good but his delivery is bad.

48. The offshore sector brings in or brought in millions and millions of FOREX!!

It provided JOBS and well paying JOBS!!

… and it provided ECONOMIC GROWTH, look at the graph!!!

But, it attracted the OECD.

It isn’t sufficient to say that any entrepreneur who creates FOREX, JOBS and ECONOMIC GROWTH is all we need because we had it and it didn’t work!!

There are other things that are necessary!!

The Entrepreneurs in Strip Clubs it could be argued are adding to the FOREX, JOBS and ECONOMIC GROWTH.

49. Should we build more Strip Clubs?