Submitted by Observing

The recent saga at Grantley Adam Memorial Secondary School has raised much passion and opinions. However, I put a different spin on it today. Everyone’s wrong.

Vendors
Vendors are allowed to sell at the discretion of the management of the school. If management says not today, not here, not now, then that’s what it is. A process must be followed for order to obtain. The vendors who still sold or came onto property despite being told not to were wrong.

Principal
The Principal is the chief cook and bottle washer at the school. He would have been aware of prior arrangements with vendors (i.e. precedent). He sits with the Board to make decisions (i.e should advocate for the good of his students and teachers). He was the one who communicated any decisions to vendors. Yet, he diminished his post to a security guard sitting at a gate running children away. Leaders solve problems. The Principal is wrong.

The Chairman / Board
A Board’s job is to ensure the Minister’s policies are carried out. The Minister via the government is “vendor friendly” and all about “entrepreneurship”. Also, any manager must take into consideration the conditions of the situation he/she manages. Clearly this chairman does not (uh wonder why). Any Board that is comfortable seeing their school dragged through the mud in the press, seeing children agitate and advocate, seeing average women losing money and up to now says nothing….They have have to be wrong.

The Ministry
In an eloquent written press release the Ministry sided with the school. The rule of law must obtain. But, while the rule of law obtains the problem remains. If the Ministry wants to duck behind the law and dodge the REAL issues in this saga, it is clear that they are rightly wrong.

The media
Papers must sell! And so we plaster photos of children on a fence, a Principal with an umbrella and a vendor in tears. BUT, wait a minute. Has the media reported on the connection between the chairman and the canteen concessionaire? Have they outlined the prior arrangements with vendors which sets a precedent? Have they researched or focused on the genuine concerns of the student or look at the impact on the school? Nope. Why bother about these things….papers must sell! The media is wrong.

And lastly the canteen.
Competition drives quality and price effectiveness. The students determined they wanted nothing to do with the canteen. By surreptitiously cutting out the competition without adjustment to operations or communicating with the clients (students), a revolt was all but ensured. I wonder who stands to benefit when the canteen profits. A canteen that’s comfortable being boycotted by students, watching them choose to be hungry, and insisting that the vendors MUST go HAS to be wrong.

When everyone is wrong…when communication goes wrong…when decision making starts wrong…when the motive is wrong……..The children suffer.

Everyone is wrong.

133 responses to “Grantley Adam Memorial Secondary School Saga – Every One is Wrong”

1. This situation is an EXACT simulation of the national malaise that we face collectively.
    However since most of us brass bowls are intimately associated with the national brass bowlery, we find all kinds of excuses ..and blame outsiders like the IMF and the albino-centric bankers.

Here… it is clear that we have a collection of idiots making a mess of one of the most BASIC and SIMPLE issues that any society can possibly face… SAME SHIITE with Barbados.

Here, …EVERYONE seems to be incompetent, misguided, or crooked…. SAME SHIITE Nationally

This school situation is really a lesson to us of how foolish we must look to those ‘observing’ from outside….
    There has GOT to be grass in our donkey’s future…

@ lexidiot
    Strange that you have not yet found some way to mention your favourite philosopher Kant ….
    It is not like such reference has to be relevant or sensible…
    You Ok…?

2. Donna

The calypsonians Adonijah taught at St.leonard’s during the late 70s to early 80s… I am quite sure Georgie Porgie remember this because he said he also taught at St. Leonard’s during that period… however, Adonijah wore a big afro back in those days and he was quite popular with the students…

3. Bush Tea

Wuh yah does be hidden these days grandpa? We miss yah yah know … piece of advice grandpa though … tearing down others because their opinion doesn’t necessarily concur with your is indicative of your small-mindedness … it is persuasion one must employ to sway others … and not insult and condemnation and criticism … but that is what ignorance does … and by ignorance I mean … the inability to see beyond the scope of what your intellectual-resources would allow …

4. Dear Mr Headmaster,

This letter serves as my consent for my son, John3, to leave the school compound during the lunch hour/15 mins/30mins .
    It relieves you, the teachers, the ministry and any other official for any responsibility for him within this time limit or while he is off of the school compound.

Thank you
    John2.

Or something similar.

A few kids can buy for their friends who did not bring a letter from their parents.

5. Growing up at this school, I have never brought anything from this canteen. The prices were always too hot for my parents pockets. My friends and I always used to walk to Mrs Rudder shop in Coffee Gully to get our “affordable” lunches.

6. @Donna

The blogmaster mentioned HC for a good reason. Not permitting children to leave the compound is not new. We are not dealing with the issue.

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

Is the HC canteen the only vendor of food to the students ?

8. @Vincent

The canteen is where most food is sold, teachers have permission to sell pizza some days and there is still the old lady Mary who is given permission to sell snacks from the canteen.

9. Thank you David.
    I attended a school where the school canteen and a private vendor had their own clientele. The school was then only 400 students . And there was no problem. Incidentally the private vendor provided credit. The food was tastier and had a wide variety of choices. She provided real ham sandwiches’.The school canteen provided essence of ham sandwiches/ cutters. There was no conflict.

10. BushTea

Dead wid laff yuh got me. Murdaaaaaaaaa.

11. @ Snuff
    Why would you laff at the FACT that we seem to be nationally afflicted with severe incompetence and idiocy … as exemplified by the ridiculous school affair?
    Should you not be pushing your Mia team to bring some common sense to the situation…?

Should the Board not have been fired since Friday last…? Clearly they are incompetent.
    What gives ANY school canteen the right to dictate what children should eat …and at what cost?

Why the Hell do we not have a system where open competition dictates who get to run these concessions – and where the best products, at the best prices, that meet student needs …decide which contract continues..? …and who goes…?

Yuh mean we will ALWAYS be bound with this yardfowl shiite – where the spoils go to the connected yardfowls – no matter how much shiite flows down our streets…?

#ManHelpWeNuh
    Mia listens to you.

12. @Bush Tea

On point again.

Here is an opportunity for the government to separate itself from the old jobby model of the past. The RFP for the concession should have clear guidelines aligned with achieving the objective of healthy lifestyle at an affordable price.

13. @Observing “I wonder who stands to benefit when the canteen profits?”

I wondered this too.

I doubt that it is the principal who profits.

I wondered as well what DeLisle Bradshaw as reported in the media was doing at the school? According to the media he was “representing his daughter’s interest.” But I thought that the Honourable Lucille Moe had been designated by the Prime Minister? The Cabinet? the Governor General to act as Minister of Education while DeLisle’s daughter Santia Bradshaw the Minister is on sick leave.

So what was daddy Delisle’s role there?

Does Minister Bradshaw have other interest in the school beside being Minister of Education? And isn’t Lucille more that adequate to represent the interest of the Minister of Education/Ministry of Education?

So I want to know, why was daddy there?

14. @ks November 20, 2018 7:56 AM “But donโ€™t tell us it is fair to not pay rent, tax, NIS, insurance, health certificate, etc

I don’t buy this argument.

Surely the vendors also pay rent or mortgage for the place where they do their cooking, surely they pay income tax on their earnings? Surely they pay their national insurance premiums, because if they are not doing so they will face great difficulties in their old age. Surely the vendors have health certificates and have paid the relevant health certificate fee. Surely the vendors have to fuel their stoves and vehicles, spend money to purchase water, electricity and soap in order to keep things clean and tidy.

So “no” I don’t buy the “vendors have no overheads” argument

15. Side note
    There was a Mary at Kolij in the seventies. Is it the same Mary.
    Good bless her.

16. @Lexicon November 20, 2018 8:17 AM ” Wouldnโ€™t it make sense for the students to buy what they need before entering the school property.”

Well it depends.

Some lunches will not keep well in a student’s bag from 8 in the morning to noon. Not in the 30 degree celsius heat, and near 100% humidity.

This is Barbados people. Hot, hot, hot.

Food spoils quickly if not properly prepared and stored.

17. @Donna November 20, 2018 9:00 AM ” And yes, this nonsense is connected to all the other nonsense.”

Yup.

Political class nonsense.

It ain’t got one damn t’ing to do with the principal.

The principal is just a convenient whipping boy, becausin’ as a civil servant the media knows that he cannot talk to them without the permission of the Ministry of Education.

So the media class and political class and the Ministry of Education are letting a good decent man take the heat for them.

18. Side note#3
    Gone are the days of grating cheese to make it appear to be more than it actually is. A little butter or ketchup for added taste

All I hearing about is menus and $14-18 dollar lunches.

Are the days of beef cutters and cheese cutters over. Is carrying lunch to school over? Can parents afford $70+/week

19. I hope this saga really shows how much we have NOT moved on from the ignorance that keeps us stalled and stagnated.

Excellent points and questions all around.

For all the talk about collaboration and cooperation and communication this is just another example of chaotic confusion and solution constipation.

There are many many many more.

Just observing

20. @William Skinner November 20, 2018 9:56 AM “The Adventists dealt with this nonsense fifty or more years ago by promoting healthy eating habits as a way of life.

But most of us are not Adventists. The Adventist church has been around since 1863 and most of us have chosen NOT to be Adventists. We would rather enjoy our food and die at 83, than stick to a rigid diet and die at 86.

According to the 2010 census only 13,437 Barbadians are 7th Day Adventists.

I say leave us non Adventists to or own eating habits, and let the Adventists do their thing in their homes and congregations.

But as to imposing it on the rest of us. I say NO.

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Observing

Excellent article, weare all to blame.

Well spotted and written.

There us something that Lexicunt said (that is Brother in Arms Bush Tea s name for Fenty and I love it)

“…So how do the students get school? Wouldnโ€™t it make sense for the students to buy what they need before entering the school property โ€ฆ since the vendors arenโ€™t allowed the school property?…”

I was dumbfounded by this wisdom from the Leader of the Wombat cubed shaped droppings!!!

Tek food from you murdah house or buy um before you reach school.

No problem.

Then calamity strikes from the Wombat

In another blog he goes on to say that he has a confidential conversation with the now Commissioner of Police? and reveals that conversation and exposes the qualities of the now Assistant Commissioner!

Yet the Wombat, now ass-piring Kant Philosopher, has comments to level about bloggers here pun BU

Steupseee

This is about options.

The school board examines concessionaire requests to operate the school canteen and among the qualifiers are price of the prospective leases, prices of local vendors and food taste

When such falls to any board it is incumbent on a school secretary to research and provide such information where the board does not have that info available.

The first category is usually made available to the committee during the bidding examinations by the others come from on site remarks by said secretary and sometimes the head teacher.

22. Some action is necessary to resolve these issues satisfactory.
    With all the accusations of allege conflicts of interest between offices and operations, of bloated prices, quality of food, protests, hunger strikes, police presence, staff refusals to adhere to directives etc., an investigations should be launched by the Ministry, a call to meeting of the parents-teachers body, also with vendors and management and come to an amicable solution.

This would also be a great opportunity to set an overall TEMPLATE for schools that must include some ordered provision for food catering facilities, vending of specialty snacks, for healthy dietary options, for specialty needs, not excluding hygienic stations and practices, a standard priced index (as far as possible) and an allowance for those who can reasonably return home for their lunch and back before the resumption of classes, among others.

To avoid any allege conflict of interest or the allege exercising of power designed to channel preferences, tenders for food operations must fall under the authority of the Parent-Teachers body and the Ministry of Health.. with approval from the Ministry of Education.

Back in the day, many of the current issues with canteen facilities, food and prices were boycotted, sometimes STORMED.
    Many were the complaints.. from shortages, quality, evidence of infestation, poor service and disrespect for students.
    Cheese in the cheese cutter was transparent (lol) so there was hardly value for money and many of you have had similar experiences.

“Top schools” are awarded the most “conditioned” students.. not “street-wise” by any means but certainly by design, who would hardly voice opinion or protest, but they too have their “challenges” except those with 3 course meals in their lunch boxes and under strict protocols by parents and by association to their “brand name institution”. Many are the stories not published.

โ€ฆ “Of concern is how this issue represents a strand in the fault line of the governance system which is clearly under stress.”…

Sometimes questions draws out the answers.
    What did the last Administration did to upgrade the structure, the curriculum, plant and moral and the expansion of opportunities?
    What was withdrawn and how did it affect management, staff, students and society as a whole?
    Where was the attention focused?
    Who benefited at whose expense?
    What were the results?
    How has the future proved the past?
    Is there a Legacy or even a faint remembrance of any strategic accomplishment?
    How many were set back on their quest or even been denied or lost opportunity?

One prefers to ask oneself, the answers then rush at you. Some say governance is a continuum… we shall continue to watch and observe, seeing who is who and doing what , for whom…future proves past.

Stop toying with the next generation.

23. BTea

“Why would you laff at the FACT that we seem to be nationally afflicted with severe incompetence and idiocy โ€ฆ as exemplified by the ridiculous school affair?”

Because we are all experts, bright, bright as shiiite.

24. @David November 20, 2018 2:08 PM “Yes and no. What is playing out at Grantley Adams will never occur at HC or St. Michaels.”

Actually David you are wrong. The same thing has occurred at HC. A little birdie who entered HC in 1993 told me that at some point in the early to mid-90’s there was a change of vendor, and that the students protested by not buying from the vendor. The students brought their lunches from home. For years the vendor struggled.

According to my source, that change of vendor was also political shenanigans.

A people who don’t know their history are doomed to repeat it.
    Edmund Burke (not to be confused with Edmund Hinkson)

25. Sargeant November 20, 2018 2:49 PM “Could anyone gauge what the reaction would be if a Barbados Govโ€™t decided to change the names of the older Sec schools to reflect the countryโ€™s social and political โ€œheroesโ€. HC would become โ€œSir Grantley Adams Highโ€; Combermere would be โ€œErrol Barrow Highโ€; CP would be โ€œCharles Duncan Oโ€™neale Highโ€ Alleyne would be โ€œErma Bourne Highโ€ etc. That would make the fight over Nelson small potatoes.”

Wha’ you want to start World War 3 for?

Lolll!!!

26. @David November 20, 2018 8:07 PM “Here is an opportunity for the government to separate itself from the old jobby model of the past.”

But what if the old jobby model works for the political class?

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you

28. @ Enuff
    Boss, it is time you stop with this kind or repartee. You are overdoing it now…

It was Ok when wunna was in opposition, but now it is time to starts ACTIONS aimed at addressing the brass bowlery.
    You have no damn excuses – cause you KNOW what needs to be done…

Question is …do you have the balls to deal with the lotta clueless shiitehounds who call themselves ‘Honourable’…?
    …or will you just seek to justify the continuing shiite with witty repartee…?
    You gotta rich god father…?

Don’t mind stinking Bushie yuh….
    The bushman’s bread is buttered elsewhere…
    His only role here is to whack some brass bowl donkeys …to try to keep them outta the grass….

BUT …it ain’t wukking fuh shiite….
    The asses actually accelerating towards the plimplers….

29. It appears the silly season has been extended.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/215836/pm-steps

Just observing

30. @Simple Simon

HC students climbed the fence to buy food from vendors on the outside?

31. David

The entire situation should have been dealt with at the parents teachers meet … seeing that it is now evident that government hasn’t formulated an unilateral policy to addressed this problem … you spoke about the need to be proactive … but no government or business can’t always be proactive … sometimes you have to be reactive as situtions appears… and do the best you can …

32. “โ€ฆor will you just seek to justify the continuing shiite with witty reparteeโ€ฆ?”

Only 6 months and it’s all coming apart at the seams already , the result of using the uselessness of DLP to lie to and deceive the electorate to be elected to parliament, when it was not even necessary because the electorate wanted the useless government gone anyway…..so we already know it .is never going to end well.

As long as the parents do their jobs, the offending canteen will already be closed because the children are preparing their own lunches…at home.

33. Enuff 68 is starting to sound hysterical.

34. @Bush Tea November 20, 2018 10:07 PM
    @ Enuff
    Boss, it is time you stop with this kind or repartee. You are overdoing it nowโ€ฆ

==============================
    Perhaps a simple one liner is the best that Enuff has to offer?

35. One thing I saw in the media that I wondered about – did I see that the teachers were threatened with transfer if they continued to purchase from the vendors?????????

Or did I dream that one????????

36. Donna

Donna, you are dreaming but that’s a good thing … because it means that you are getting good rest at night …

However, if what you are saying is true and not a dreaming … then it is very troubling … because no authority cannot tell you who, when and where you should purchase what you need on your own time … and a lunch break is an employee’ personal time…

37. Donna…they tend not to have any respect for each other’s basic human rights in Barbados, they tend to violate those. RIGHTS of adults and children as a matter of course and then call it culture….both governments have been famous for that for 5 decades, one government is gone because the people had enough…it is now time for this present one also…to go…this may come as a supposed to these arrogant parasites, but the people of Barbados does NOT NEED any of them, they are still as useless as the last lot…

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/11/20/unmoved/

“Backed by some of her colleagues, the BSTU executive member, Dawn Grosvenor also a teacher at the school told Barbados TODAY that teachers would not be intimidated.

Grosvenor said she was not โ€œwarned or told anythingโ€ by the schoolโ€™s administration about patronizing vendors outside.

According to reports, last week teachers were warned that it was disrespectful for them to purchase items from vendors outside of the school and that they could be transferred if they did not comply.”

38. …..this may come as a SURPRISE to these arrogant parasites…

39. Why is it disrespectful to buy from vendors, one of t he oldest self-employed traditions in Barbados? I am sure some of the teachers have relatives who are/were vendors. This is an issue t hat goes right to the heat of contemporary Barbadian culture and social snobbery.

40. The prime minister has spoken, problem solved!

41. The prime minister has spoken— problem kicked down the road like a can of worms. A compromise is no answer, but it is typical of the prime minister, no ideas of her own. She must resolve the conflict.
    First, Ms Moe went down to the school, talked to the stakeholders, then ruled in favour of the principal; then it was rumoured that DeLisle Bradshaw went down to “look after his sick daughter’s interest”; now we are told the prime minister, and minister for all seasons, has spoken – and ruled there is room for all parties, a sort of social BERT.
    The woman is out of her depth. The only difference between her and Stuart is that while he was brain-dead, she is just totally convinced she is ALWAYS right.
    There is a theory for this self-delusion. Plato’s allegory remains the best example of this. Sadly, we have a dignified minister of education who just happens to serve in one of the most authoritarian governments of recent years. I hope Santia recovers, reviews her life, and walks away from this damaging government.

42. A happy and good morning to all…

My suggestion to Enuff would be to put up a good fight or to shut his mouth…
    If he is the BLP’s “anti-Mariposa particle” he is not earning his pay.

43. Things never fail to amuse me, is this a case of the food from the canteen so immeasurably bad while the vendorโ€™s fare by contrast is good? What does that tell you when the teachers boycott the canteen in favour of the vendor? Are the teachers choosing the vendor out of loyalty as one teacher said Ms X was there for my father in Bajan parlance โ€œbefore I was bornโ€.

I canโ€™t fathom why these minor issues morph into a national discussion that even the PM has to get involved- Alexandra here we come.

BTW what passes for canteen and vendor lunches these days? A retired HM of a junior school told me she couldnโ€™t get the children to eat any of the canteen fare but the children of non- nationals (read other Caricom countries lapped it up). She said Bajan children were nurtured on KFC and rejected most offerings.

@TheoG
    Donโ€™t eat the Romaine with your turkeyโ€ฆ.

44. Wuh loss the whole country is busting out at the seams even the school children has joined the list of non -conformity
    But then again we have the likes of David BU who belive that this clueless govt is heading in the right direction

45. They are carrying on in the same direction as the administration before them. Is that a problem???????

46. BushTea

Who got time to write more than a few lines with a rum shop of talkers? The igrunce many peddle here is painful and that’s why my comment “we are all experts, bright, bright as shiite” is apt. I keep telling you I don’t talk about what I read pon wikipedia or cut and paste, but what I know from experience.

47. Hants,

Oh oh! Had a Caesar salad from a restaurant yesterday. Will look out for symptoms. Thanks!

48. Enuff in Wonderland……who ya think ya fooling…did the pensioners get their money yet, their 20,000 dollars of their 200,000 that was stolen from them and which they still will not get all of fo 15 years…

……you said they will get their money THIS Monday…a minister said they will get their money last week Friday…yall can’t even get ya lies straight…while Mia Borrows..in the people’s name..