Barbados is about to celebrate 48 years of Independence (whatever that means). You will read a lot of trite proffered by well meaning Barbadians in the days to come. The BU picture gallery clearly confirms that Barbados has made quantum strides in physical development.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The speeches by Sir Grantley Adams, son Tom  and the late Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow question our execution of the vision our leaders of the past had for Barbados other than physical development.

97 responses to “Barbados Then and Now”

1. @old onion bags |
    Just to set the record right EW Barrow was a Navigator in the Royal Air Force,RAF, and briefly after the war ,was the personal Navigator to the Commander of the British Army on the Rhine. (BAOR)

2. islandgal246 | November 28, 2014 at 5:34 PM |

When we had less fancy machinery in agriculture our sugar output was more than what it is today. We have all the fancy gadgets and yet we are producing less and less.
    ………………………………………………………………………………………..
    Also we had less fancy qualified people in the industry , like my grandfather who could scarcely read or write, but was able to manage a plantation quite successfully. Today we have Agronomists, who sit in an air-conditioned office all day long,except of course for the man who was in charge of Cotton production, and who was forced to give it up and take up teaching in New York.

3. I doubt that we have reached the end as yet……the hospital will get its supplies…..DON”T PANIC….take some money from here…put it there syndrome still works….Hold on boys and girl…no need for the panic….remember QEH was in crisis before…and money n supplies came.

AT LEAST I HOPING……OK Fractured..where are you doa?….Did the Senate meet today ..anybody?

4. …so what are you saying Colonel?….All the GIS news reels bout hay says he was a pilot in the war….looka ??!!

5. @ Onions ”AT LEAST I HOPING……OK Fractured..where are you doa?….Did the Senate meet today ..anybody?”

Sorry Onions, like it only ac still screaming from de soap box and waving she rag.

6. The RT Hon E.W. Barrow was, as far as I learned, a Navigator on the bombers.

7. the fact is that barbados grew in part out of a one sector industry and aided by the cumulative effect of high borrowing which is /was unsustainable,, and dampened by the fact that its educated society was isolated and denied to being main players in the total development of the country, yes we hove been governed by black govts,but can we truly say that these govts over the years have made decisions in the best interest of the country, i dare say not ,cause how can that be seeing the trap we have found ourselves into and the harsh reality of showing nothing of great value individually or collectively as a nation ,
    the fact is that whatever we possessed is partially owned by some one or somebody of interest,

8. Why listen to BAMP and the doctors, they are all BLPites.

9. Errol Barrow was a Navigator in the RAF during WW2.He subsequently became personal navigator to Air Chief Marshall Sir William Sholto Douglas
    who became Lord Douglas of Kirtleside.
    Returning to civilian life Lord Douglas became Chairman of British United Airways and it was from that key position that a strong link in British Tourism was forged between these two former RAF officers.BOCFA was the beneficiary of that relationship and BUA was soon operating several weekly charters into Barbados from Gatwick in the early 60’s.Barbados tourism took off with thousands of Brits flying to Barbados at affordable fares.
    EBW learned to fly at Seawell Airport.His small aeroplane was nicknamed Air Barrowbados by the Nation.

10. Looking back to November 30 1966 in this country it could be said by many people today that Barbados did have substantial potential for tremendous social political material and financial growth and development.

Whilst it is true that some strides in those spheres were made under the national political leaderships of Mr Grantley Adams (later Sir Brantley), Mr Errol Barrow and Mr JMGM Adams, it is equally clear too that under the national political leaderships of Mr Erskine Sandiford ( later Sir Lloyd), Mr Owen Arthur and Mr Freundel Stuart ( the duration of the premiership of Dr Gordon Cummins, and the prime ministerships of Mr Bernard St. John (later Sir Harold) and Mr David Thompson were/are too short to be placed in this context) the country has been already set on a trajectory of becoming a second rate Third World Developing country – a virtual failed state – thus more and more becoming like Jamaica in so many regards.

11. I think Babaydus needs to revert to days dey cause demand waz DE good old days when bayous men’s was real men and de women was real women end dem waz de kin o peeple that had nuff mouth end real fayah power to back up dey mouth cause if dem kinda Peeples waz still around, theys no way that a big ugly-ass gorilla face orangutan called Crumble Stupse could be de PM nor a big dumb jackass monkey-mannered mule like Stinkcleer could be de ministry of Fineants. En I ca go on n awn bout DE rest a that rhesus clan. But I dun befoe I get arest two. Happy Queen Elizabeth still own Babaydus day to wanna Conkie Monkies.

12. What would the Right Hon .Errol Walton Barrow say about these inefficiencies and deficits ,that have strangled the economy
    ………………………………………………………………………………………………………
    A platform built on self indulgence will never survive the test, of time.
    The true test of a nation lies within its people to stand together to build a firewall of cohesiveness

………………………………………………………………………………………………………..For sure The Rgt Hon. would not be too impressed in how far we have come but would cringe at how much we are indebted to others with little of substances in terms of wealth belonging to people or country,
    Surely he would lets us know OUR NATION PRIDE STILL LIES BURIED DEEP WITHIN YOURSELF.

13. Some of us continue to distil the issues through narrow political lenses. Many stakeholders make up a society (we are more than an economy, we are a society). There is the Church, private sector and many NGOs etc who are responsible for defining and building a society. The fact some of us see society building through a political lens is a failure of our education and level of intelligence.

14. AC’s glimmer of insight:

“the fact is that whatever we possessed is partially owned by some one or somebody of interest,

AC……don’t you think that it’s the corrupt politicians who align themselves with the “someone else or somebody of interest” who should be blamed for continuously selling out Bajans to the highest bidders who are most often than not local or foreign minorities, and who bajans like you should not be helping cover up their crimes against the population but should make absolutely sure it’s all exposed and the politicians names called and evidence given to international policing agencies, not only to affect change in Barbados but also to see some of the corrupt politicians and their esteemed co-criminal friends posing as executives in handcuffs being led away to serve time for their crimes???

Happy Birthday Barbados

15. For the record.my insight is one of reflecting on the Foundation to progress which The rght hon. Errol Barrow had carved out..one of society influence in building an economy.
    The politics of today has shown that with out vision the people should perish and in time reveals all that is wrong..one cannot dismiss society role as openly partakers in the final result .a result which has opened a whole sleuth of questions and looking into the past for answers.indeed Barrow has been vindicated his words although seemed potent and out of sync with society way of making better rings true today as they rekindled with much vigour and tenacity as on that day when He asked “what mirror image do you have of your self.”

16. As I walked around the Garrison last night ,EXercising, I stopped for a few moments and reflected on what took place there 48 Years ago. I was then a young member of the Barbados Regiment, and we were called out full time for the week leading up to November 30. Most of us were accommodated in that barracks with many arches, seen when coming down the Garrison Hill. Only a few days prior, this building was occupied as apartments / flats , by many Brit ex-patriots,rent -free, it was said, who worked for the Barbados Government,in such capacities as Instructors at the Technical Institute, and the Police Band Master. But this all came to an abrupt end when our soon to be Prime Minister turf the whole lot of them out.
    The week of Independence coincided with the Annual Industrial and Agricultural Exhibition in Queens Park, a Bajan showpiece ,second to none. Part of our duties were erecting tents at Queens Park, Culloden Farm and Government House, in what was a very rainy week. I remember while at Culloden Farm, Mr Barrow, walked in, and instructed the maid to “give the boys whatever they want,” ,a far cry from Government house where, as part of the baggage detail transporting the royal luggage from off the plane at Seawell Airport to Government House, we were rewarded a bottle and Gin and quietly sent on our away. The luggage was transported aboard the Regiment’s lone truck, a Bedford M1190, and escorted at what was then high speed through the backs roads to Government House, by the well known Motor Cycle Cop ,Carson Grannun, riding the Force’s first non British motorcycle, a Honda, which I believe, was donated to the force by the local agency MG .Tucker. It leaked oil out of every hole.
    As I stood at the Garrison reflecting , yesterday, I saw the concrete stands (now part of the National Stadium) for VIP’s and other spectators, and the first real flood lights that Barbados had ever seen. Over in the corner near the main guard house, were the impressive fire works display set up on a large bill board,and the two shirtless British pyrotechnic experts who had set it up,and subsequently were as red as a beetroot from over exposure to the sun.
    On parade were members of the Barbados Regiment, with the then Major Leonard Banfield, as the Parade Adjutant,and Major Lawrence Quintyne marching on the troops from the back of the spectators stand, momentarily using a megaphone to make himself heard by the troops ,above the excited noises around.
    And as they say, the rest is history, all 48 years of it.

17. The politics of today AS PRACTICED BY CONTEMPORARY DLPITES has shown that with out vision the people should perish

18. Thanks for that Buggy, brilliant!

19. David | November 29, 2014 at 8:16 AM |
    Some of us continue to distil the issues through narrow political lenses.

@David, yes and of self serving GREED.

Just have to look at some of the Inshight that ac does write.

20. Colonel..a very good refection of the birthing of a new barbados .apeople impreganted with enthusiasim.but still awaiting for the baby to be born

21. THE WAY THINGS GOING IN BARBADOS UNDER THE DLP SINCE 2008 THE BABY LIKE IT GOT A SERIOUS CHILDHOOD ILLNESS

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ AC #2

You said and I quote “a people impregnated with enthusiasim. but still awaiting for the baby to be born…”

It is statements like these pregnant with introspection and, amazingly, some disturbing self deprecation, self in the context of DLP ineptitude, that makes me say (i) there are two of you and (ii) the wiser of the two of you is not so gung-ho with the Fumble’s policies and competencies as the other one of you used to be

23. Thank AC and David
    But I will continue a bit further to demonstrate what quickly occurred after the baby was born.
    A few days after Independence ,the Regiment was stood down and sent back home/work. I played truant that day, which happened to be Exhibition day,and went to the beach at Bathsheba. On arriving home in the evening , I was bombarded by all and sundry that the Regiment had made an appeal via Reddifusion and CBC Radio for all members of the Regiment to report for duty in connection with the Exhibition. Dressed in uniform I boarded a bus to Bridgetown, and as I got to the Queens Parks gate,and attempted to get off the bus, I was informed by a neighbour traveling with me, that the announcement said report to St Ann’s Fort. As I entered St Ann’s Fort , I was, to say the least , dumbstruck. Every soldier in the fort appeared to be on a war foot-ing. Kitted out with Gas masks, rifles , old steel helmets , and #9 Bayonets, and being herded about by unsmiling Sergeants.They looked like a re-run from the battle fields of Benghazi and Tripoli.
    What was this all about? The previous night while the famous Supremes group were set to perform in the area now known as Independence Square and the Inner Careenage, widespread disturbance had broken out,which the Police, with the famous feared Mountie Murphy in attendance could not handle, so a decision was made by the less that 48 hour Independent government of Barbados to send in a fully equipped riot squad from the Barbados Regiment.
    David on another thread , you asked the question if Barbadians think that our police and soldiers , would go out there and start shooting their own people. Well , be the judge. I was in a barrack room at St Ann’s Fort when the Riot Squad, returned from Bridgetown around 2 am in the morning, and I heard one soldier , lamenting bitterly that he had gone down town with 10 bullets, and had returned with ten bullets, having not given the chance to ” shoot somebody” . But I am sure that this was not the consensus among the members of the riot squad,and certainly not that of the Sergeant who led them.

24. CB

Any reason for omitting,the then Lt.Hartley Dottin,who raised the flag?

25. @colonel a very interesting story, but how does that bear resemblance to what is happening post independence, in other words is there a message in the story .if so would you be kind enough to share,

26. Vincent Haynes | November 29, 2014 at 9:22 PM |

CB

Any reason for omitting,the then Lt.Hartley Dottin,who raised the flag?
    ……………………………………………………………………………………
    I knew that question would pop up. Vincent, I was focusing on some other items, behind the scenes, which were never given any prominence in history’s pages. Lt Dottin is a legend and most Barbadians have recognised that.
    Perhaps the last paragraph, has highlighted the fact that, like today , there were some who had not qualms about crackings the heads of black people back in 1966

27. @ COLONEL Good insight i never thought of that, but since you brought that issue into the mix,,however ..,,however if my recollection is correct sometime the early summer barbadians made their voices and presence known in and around the city by having several marches, i do not remember the military being called out as a request or a response , could it be that back then in the aftermath of independence there were still those pockets of dissidents who thought it best to use the occasion to start an uprising and the govt go wind of what was planned and prepared accordingly,,

28. @AC
    What happened back then on that black night right after independence had nothing to do with insurgency or dissidence .It was purely a misinterpreted spontaneous reaction by some of the audience , who were trying to get to the front to hear the Supremes on the few and badly places audio speakers.This “putsh’ to the front was interpreted by other misguided people sitting or standing to the front that it was the time to start to getting on bad. The heavy handed decision by the Government of the day to send in troops, was really a matter of stamping its authority.Let them know who is boss.
    What that incident has highlighted, is that then, and now , 48 years afterwards, we are still piss poor when it comes to logistics and organising anything ,but a village dance. 15 years later ,in 1981, Barbados , the most educated island , we hear , played host to CARIFESTA 1981,and made such a balls up of the logistics, that the Defence Force had to step in and straightened things out.

29. well unfortunately i can not throw my memory that far back as politics would not have been of such an interest to me, however i am kinda dumbfounded that right after an Independence that the govt would revert to such heavy handiness to quell a disorderly crowd with out good reason,wasn;t this the same govt that asked what kind of mirror image would one want to see of themselves, ,i think such a diversion with out good cause would be in total contrast to the mindset of what the govt had perceived for its people

30. Two Bajan businessmen in Sheraton Centre were sitting down
    for a break in their soon to be new store. The store wasn’t
    ready yet with only a few shelves set up.

One said to the other, “Ah bet any minute now some ignorant
    ass go put he face in the window and ask what we selling.”

No sooner were the words out of his mouth, when sure enough,
    a curious window shopper walked to the window, had a peek,
    and in a loud voice asked, “Wha wunna selling here?”

One of the men replied sarcastically, “We selling ass-holes.”

Without skipping a beat, the shopper responded, “Boy, wunna
    doing great… only two left!”

31. LOL i like the joke ,,,BTW one was BUSH TEA and the other was GEORGIE ( lil girl ) PoRGIE, HA HA HA

32. Yea ac….and no doubt you were the nosey, malicious, snooper peeping in and asking the question…. probably riding by on your domkey …. 🙂

33. @AC
    At that time I had no interest whatsoever in politics, just in the world around me. But you must understand that it was 29 years since the authorities had to deal with a disturbance involving more than a handful of people on a Saturday nigh. The PM might have been a seasoned and much decorated war hero, but probably had no experience in dealing with unruly mobs, and his first aim was to restore some semblance of law and order after the police were over runned. But the situation had already diffused itself in the early morning after the cancelled Supremes Show. The troops were called out, some 12-15 hours afterwards , which in itself could have intimidated some to continue where they had left off earlier. It was a bad decision that only a Chief of Police in the redneck states would have taken.

34. @Sargeant

Looks like Barbados Today ran with our concept to your satisfaction maybe?

Barbados – then and now

Added by Barbados Today on November 30, 2014.

Saved under Uncategorized

To say that Barbados has undergone a physical transformation over the past 48 years is an understatement. In many cases, some of us are either too young to remember or simply cannot recall what certain sections of the island looked like in the pre-Independence period. Well, to help jog our memories, here are some images of Barbados then and now, compliments the Barbados Government Information Service.

The old airport

Airport-02

35. @David
    Somewhat along those lines now if they could provide the year of the then, and I remember the old Oistins fish market with the Police Station in the background.

I was away from Barbados during the period that the ABC highway was under construction and it took me awhile to get my bearings along certain parts of the drive as some areas are now completely bypassed except for local traffic,the roundabouts also caused some confusion.

36. How could we reminice of the ole days without including D Birdie…here he is live…..Youngstesr see why he was D King of Calypso…such panache

37. Happy 48 th Anniversary of Independence of Barbados to all Barbadians – here and abroad – and to all persons currently in this country, from the People’s Democratic Congress (PDC).

38. Colonel Buggy | November 30, 2014 at 12:44 PM
    @ AC

At that time I had no interest whatsoever in politics, just in the world around me. But you must understand that it was 29 years since the authorities had to deal with a disturbance involving more than a handful of people on a Saturday nigh. The PM might have been a seasoned and much decorated war hero, but probably had no experience in dealing with unruly mobs, and his first aim was to restore some semblance of law and order after the police were over runned. But the situation had already diffused itself in the early morning after the cancelled Supremes Show. The troops were called out, some 12-15 hours afterwards , which in itself could have intimidated some to continue where they had left off earlier. It was a bad decision that only a Chief of Police in the redneck states would have taken.|

……………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    i read your reply although plausible ,yet seems a little bit too simplistic,,after all their was also an anti independence climate hovering and still unresolved and i suspect that among the crowd they might have been those who would have used the opportunity for sinister means,
    EWB was no fool by any means and his vision and way of thinking should not be underestimated in making judgement calls

39. I am a proud born Barbadian, and defend my Country whenever people (especially Visitors) throw unjustified complaints around.
    However, I am not blind, and can see so many ugly things going on these days, that I sometimes wonder what we have really accomplished after 48 years of independence from Great Britain. I also wonder if in my lifetime, any improvements will be made, as I have heard the Politicians promise many things that just don’t happen.
    “Ugly Things”..
    Garbage all over the place.Pet bottles, food containers, etc.(Much promised anti litter laws never passed)
    Beggars and “paros” all over Bridgetown. Tourism is our Business.
    Household garbage pick up once a week…if you are lucky.
    Empty lots totally overgrown with wild grass.
    Highways and roads in very bad condition.Minor repairs take months.
    A Public Hospital that is always in crisis.Our Politicians and those who can afford it, go overseas or use Private facilities when they are very sick. Why?
    High cost of living…we simply have too many duties,compounded with Vat.
    Wholesalers and retailers of Food, Electronics, beverages, alcohol, furniture,pharmaceuticals, etc enjoy profit margins that are way too high.
    Our electricity cost is approximately 4 times the US average.(We pay no more for oil than they do.)
    High Income taxes because of reduced allowances, and “Municipal” Waste taxes based on property values.Ridiculous!
    A justice system that is a joke. Accused people on remand for years.
    A thief taking a bar of soap from Collins Ltd given the same time in jail as an office worker that steals tens of thousands of dollars via forged cheques.
    A public Transport system that loses money and fails to deliver good service.
    A private Transport system (ZR and ZM ) where many drivers are still driving when they have been convicted several times for serious traffic violations.
    A Public School System that condones and allows Corporal punishment of children…ie, “Flogging”…Banned in most countries considered developed. Banned even in Third world Countries like Haiti!
    A society that is dangerously obese and diabetic.(amputation capitol of the world?) And yet, promotes an annual “Big and Beautiful” Pageant!. A health department that allows vendors to set up stalls or tents at, or outside of every Government School on the Island, selling all kinds of sweets, sweet drinks, chewing gum, chocolates, sweet biscuits etc….INCREDIBLE! We are creating diabetics every day.
    Government giving permission for foreigners to buy prime real estate, including beach front and coastal properties with the promise to develop same, thereby bringing employment and foreign exchange, without doing due diligence on these folks, and establishing deadlines and conditions for the developments.Harlequin is just one example.Pure Beach is another.Makes Barbados look like the fool when nothing gets done and the properties are but boarded up eyesores. Does make for good Photo Ops with Ministers though, when they break the soil.
    CBC TV..another money losing waste of taxpayers` money.
    A Government that seems to run its affairs with no accountability..Harrison Caves, CBC TV, Water Authority, Transport Board, QEH….on and on
    So, what do we really have?

Lovely, friendly people,who in the majority are honest, hard working people.
    Sun, beautiful beaches, great sea bathing ,sweet food and music,Great Rum and Beer.
    What a pity this list is shorter than the Ugly List.

40. @yatinkiteasy,

Excellent post.

Now let us hear from the BU intelligentsia how we can solve the problems you have listed.

41. sit quietly and patiently and wait for the rapture!

42. @ac
    Very few of the rank and file people of Barbados opposed independence, in the same way that we dutifully went along in 1958 and elected people to represent us in the Federal Parliament. We did not know what Federation meant, neither did we know what independence meant. There were no undermining anti- independence movement, and no budding Bussas around . In fact when Errol Barrow returned triumphantly after his talks in London he was met at Seawell, by both BLP and DLP supporters, and as a resident of the BLP stronghold of the St Joseph Constituency, I can assure you that many of the BLP supporters,who were most vocal during BLP meeting at Mayers Corner and elsewhere , jumped on the band wagon and were there to welcome Mr Barrow, even if they were parked out of view in cart roads and in wooded areas surrounding Seawell airport.

43. @colonel only those things that one see one perceived to be true .how ever when one reflects one cannot but wonder how many untold stories were kept beneath ground and had remain so because of the lack of media to cover,,,unlike present time their was no social media to capture and expose,
    the event timing and disquiet make it plausible enough to believe that political mischievous could have been an underlying factor. ,

44. Now and Then
    NOW
    Just a few days ago we saw the Minister of Transport visiting the washed out roadway in the White Hill community and straight away made a decision to abandoned the road. In today’s news we hear an ex-Soil Conservation employee of 30 years service,disagreeing with the Minister’s decision, and pointing out an alternative route where the road can be redirected. He went on to point out roads in the Scotland District that were previously abandoned, and since then have remained stable. Roads like Spa Hill, Frizers Road, and Fruitful Hill.
    THEN
    Back in the mid 1950 when the then Highways and Transport had less sophisticated equipment and highly qualified engineers, as it has today, there was a road in Chimborazzo , St Joseph, just opposite the Jehovah’s Witness’ church on the way to Castle Grant, aptly referred as the “Breckway “, which used to do just that almost annually, with large chunks of land slipping away into the marshy Surinam area below. Using dung baskets, hoes and installing gabions, as well as anchoring off the cliffside using large diameter hawser cables attached to anchor rods in what was then a cane field, where the JW church now stands. As added security, bamboo and other soil clinging vegetation were planted . Today some 60 years on, that road is still stable, but I’ve noticed that some ignorant persons have started to cut and clear the lush bamboo vegetation.
    Melvins Hill, not very far away, was affected in a similar way to Chimborazzo ,while I was at the nearby primary school. Gabions and vegetation were put in place and the road has remained stable.
    Following the deadly landslide in Aberfan in Wales in late 1966, in which some 144 people,mostly children , were killed,the Government of the day decided to abandon the the long established, close knitted village of Mount Wilton Scotland in St Joseph, dispersing residents to various locations. Today Mount Wilton Scotland is as stable as the proverbial Rock of Gibraltar ,so too the area in St Bernards Village, the original home of St Bernards Primary School.
    We appear to have much more today in all spheres, but our output is considerably less.

45. Here is an excerpt from the book ” Panama Money in Barbados ,1900 -1922
    by Bonham C.Richardson
    “………..As it is in Barbados ,the former island would be capable of supplying the world with sugar. The whole area of the island is occupied and of its total acreage of 106,470 , every foot is under cultivation,except 6,470 acres occupied by towns, cliffs or highways. There are no crown lands. No forests, no uncultivated areas , and the population has probably reached its maximum which the island can support, even in favourable circumstances. Nowhere are the resources of nature so closely garnered as here……………”

Today in Barbados , those figures would have to be reversed.
    6,470 acres in cultivation, 106,470 acres in bush, housing,roadway and playing fields.