“Hope is the only universal liar who never loses his reputation for veracity.” ~Robert G. Ingersoll

This will be a short blog.

This night the blogmaster finds himself in a state of mind where the pursuit of hope in humankind that was his motivation many envied dimmed somewhat. Without the need to be prolix a few words serve to diagnose his emotional lethargy : –  IMF, Crime, Political Class, DEBT, Yardfowls, Bigots, Education, NCDs, Potholes, Corruption, Cricket, Independence, Children and Ring a Ring o’ Roses.

Excuse the blogmaster this one time …

296 responses to “Hope Dims”

1. Wherever you go in Barbados there is a place name with Hope in it!!

Content is another popular name.

What did our ancestors know about Hope and Contentment that we seem not to know?

The Bible has a lot to say about Hope and Contentment

Maybe they read their Bible a lot.

https://www.openbible.info/topics/hope

https://www.openbible.info/topics/contentment

2. ONE OF THE GREATEST PASSAGES ON HOPE OR ASSURANCE (ELPIS)

hEBREWS 6: 17-20

Wherein God, willing more abundantly to shew unto the heirs of promise the immutability of his counsel, confirmed it by an oath:

18 That by two immutable things, in which it was impossible for God to lie, we might have a strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold upon the hope set before us:

19 Which hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and stedfast, and which entereth into that within the veil;

20 Whither the forerunner is for us entered, even Jesus, made an high priest for ever after the order of Melchisedec.

WHO IS OUR HOPE OR ASSURANCE? even Jesus,
    HE IS SAID TO BE an anchor of the soul THAT IS both sure and stedfast
    HE IS SAID TO HAVE ENTERED WITHIN THE VEIL BECAUSE HE IS made an high priest for ever after the order of Melchisedec.
    HE IS SAID TO BE OUR FORERUNNER

HERE PAUL MERGES TWO MASTERFUL METAPHORS IN HIS DESCRIPTION
    ONE FROM THE TEMPLE
    AND ONE FROM THE HARBOR SCENES THAT HE HAD WITNESSED IN HIS TRAVELS

3. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

No sweet nothings Mr Blogmaster, yes indeed it can get very bad…but as long as we have strength, mobility and are free of pain then we must regroup and soldier on!

Life is as bad as it is and then surprisingly there is a smile from that baby or just an hour devoid of stifling burdens and we feel on top of the world for that moment…and find some reservoir of vigor to press on anew!

Cheesy as it may be, nonetheless TOMORROW is always the first day of the rest of our life and what a difference a new day can make!

One Love!

4. NO DPD YOU HAVE TO LOOK FOR HOPE THE RIGHT PLACE

THE SCRIPTURES SAY THAT CHRIST IS OUR HOPE

Colossians 1:27 is a powerful verse:

“God has chosen to make known among the Gentiles the glorious riches of this mystery, which is Christ in you, the hope of glory.”

Peter began his letters with a blessing to all believers:

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead. — 1 Peter 1:3 (NIV)

The book of Romans explains the blessing that Peter offers:

Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God. More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us. — Romans 5:2-5 (NIV).

By reading these two passages together, we gain a clear understanding of hope. Hope begins when we are born again through Jesus Christ. Hope is developed, and strengthened, when we stand in God’s grace.

5. Finally!!!

You have arrived at that place where, as you look out your eyes, into this dismal place, you falter.

It happens to us all Old David of BU, it happens to us all.

Let me ammmm try to give you some Hope which, while it draws on what DR. GP espouses here above, will take another road because “what Dr. GP and others of us know to be THe Truth and the Basis of ALL HOPE” cant be transferred to you by just quoting words.

Peter who walked with The Christ faltered when The Christ told him to get out the boat and walk on the water and come to Him The Christ.

Thomas who saw Christ raise the dead and heal the sick said “unless i push my hands in his side and feel the wounds in his hands, I will not believe”

So for you Honourable Blogmaster, this is taking its toll, cause you cant seem to find a place where there is HOPE.

That is absolutely splendid.

You have been broken down by all the externalities and the list of evils that abound, unlike many of us here, you are privvy to the real documents that expose the morass and you like KIng bruse of Scotland have “flung yourself down in a lonely mood to think, for he was a monarch who wore a crown and his heart was beginning to sink…”

https://diyhomeschoolercom.files.wordpress.com/2012/08/king_bruce_and_the_spider.pdf

In and by yourself David (BU), IT IS IMPOSSIBLE TO OVERCOME THE FEELING, de ole man knows this well, but when you are armed with the Sword and Shield of the Almighty, the trials still besiege you, BUT YOU HAVE THE CONQUEROR IN YOUR SPIRIT & HE IS HOPE.

I am not the usual proselyter and because my path is one that ammmmmmm defies all science, I cannot Bible Thump like many others here but what I can and will do is say, I HAVE BEEN WHERE YOU ARE NOW many times but now My Hope comes from an Unquenchable Source

I pray sincerely that you find This Source and that it repleneshes you so that you understand clearly that this “…Crime, Political Class, DEBT, Yardfowls, Bigots, Education, NCDs, Potholes, Corruption, Cricket, Independence…” WILL NOT CHANGE!

Leaves fall, it is in their nature…what you must search for and what I pray that you will find, is WHAT WILL LET YOU UNDERSTAND THAT THEY CANNOT HELP THEMSELVES but once you have The True Source IT WILL NOT PHASE YOU.

It is a beautiful place to be David

Find a quiet place and reach out to a feller and ask them to find you a “gyroscope to recalibrate your direction”

But that is just my ole man’s take on these things, you ent going change who you are overnight BUT WHERE YOUR BEGIN POINT IS,instantly changes, the rest comes.

6. GP
    Do you understand that there are 7 billion people in this world and you talking about faith in an individual who 99% of these human beings,many of whom don’t know where the next meal is coming from and who only looking to survive

7. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ David,

Man up! Do not focus on Barbados; look outside for hope and inspiration. The story below will bring a cheer to your face.

“Tanzania threatens to deploy army in cashew nut crisis”

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-46166985

8. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with an item here for you, which I pray will encourage you at this moment

9. Gabriel November 10, 2018 8:31 PM

Do you understand that there are 7 billion people in this world and you talking about faith in an individual who 99% of these human beings,many of whom don’t know where the next meal is coming from and who only looking to survive

YES GABRIEL SIR
    I UNDERSTAND
    I KNOW THAT FAITH IN CHRIST MIGHT HELP THE BLOGMASTER
    I KNOW THAT FAITH IN CHRIST MIGHT HELP THE 7 billion people in this world TOO
    BECAUSE I BELIEVE DIFFERENTLY TO HOW YOU BELIEVE DOES NOT MAKE ME WRONG OR STUPID
    I CAN ONLY TELL YOU THAT IT HAS HELPED ME, SIR

10. GP

How a carnal mind understand spiritual things?

11. GABRIEL
    LETS GO BACK TO MARCH 1976
    ITS THE MORNING OF THE FIRST DAY OF 2ND MB EXAMS- FIRST MAJOR EXAMS IN BRITISH TYPE MED SCHOOLS
    LIKE MANY I WAS HAVING THE SECOND MB BLUES I WAS NOT CONFIDENT AT ALL
    I TOLD MY WIFE I WOULD GO AND PRAY

CAME BACK IN LESS THAN 2 MINUTES
    SHE ASKED WHAT HAPPEN? YOU SEE THE PAPER?
    NO I SAID BUT I GOT A VERSE I LEARNED 7 YEARS AGO
    SO I WENT AND PASSED

NEXT DAY A CHAP WHO GOT HONORS IN THAT EXAM WALKED OUT THE BIOCHEM WITHOUT HANDING IN HIS SCRIPT

THE VERSE THAT ENCOURAGED ME THAT DAY?
    2 Chronicles 20:17
    Ye shall not need to fight in this battle: set yourselves, stand ye still, and see the salvation of the Lord with you, : fear not, nor be dismayed; to morrow go out against them: for the Lord will be with you.

12. Robert Green “Bob” Ingersoll (/ˈɪŋɡərˌsɔːl, -ˌsɒl, -səl/; August 11, 1833 – July 21, 1899) was an American lawyer, father of the feminist Eva Ingersoll Brown, a Civil War veteran, politician, and orator of the United States during the Golden Age of Free Thought, noted for his broad range of culture and his defense of agnosticism. He was nicknamed “The Great Agnostic”.

13. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Your despair is quite understanable. The human condition is one big tragic episode, no matter which way you look at it.

14. WITH ALL DUE RESPECT JOHN
    WHAT DOES YOUR LAST 3 POSDTS HAVE TO HOPE OR THE BLOGMASTER”S DESPAIR BLUES?

15. The author of the quote was an agnostic.

The words are those of one who does not believe.

He cannot understand how hope never loses its veracity, although as he says, it is a liar.

He came out of a Christian home, father was an abolitionist.

The Blogmaster is reflecting on words of an agnostic.

16. @ Dr GP

I wonder if he is hinting that, while we are for the most part giving encouragement to the Honorable Blogmaster from a spiritual side, the Honourable Blogmaster is agnostic

17. Never lose Hope. At days end night time catches up with it
    Hope is that one thread that keeps most of mankind from slipping off the edge
    Hope is the only way the worker trapped at death door stayed alived until help could have reached
    When all hope is gone there is absloutely nothing to live for
    Barbados is at the cross road pf economic death but for each and every day one lives to see the sun rise there is that feeling that things would get better all because of Hope.
    David i hope you have not given up on your beloved country because you have chosen to give up on Hope

18. @ David(BU)
    Your despair was predictable…
    You know too much …and understand too much – NOT to foresee the inevitable.
    …and THAT is not pretty.

Boss… the ONLY real hope now is in the good news about the BRAND NEW order to be established by BBE…
    The new dawn …coming after the long darkness of this frustrating night.

Be strong…
    Your fruit strongly suggest that you will NOT be among those who will be told
    “I know you not….depart from me you workers of iniquity…”

19. GP
    My experience is in my exam on the Hill in Statistics .The female lecturer was the most uninspiring person I have met but she was well qualified.She just could’nt teach as I was not learning anything from her.Long story short:I had a prize winning first class honours graduate give me some tuition for half a day.Made the subject so easy to comprehend I could have answered all questions on the paper.

20. Man David i thought you had broader shoulders
    Man u let down ac. I could see ac laughing at you and feeling a sense of vindication after your verbal tongue lashings which you meted with out fear upon ac
    Karma is a bitch and removing Hope from your sensor maybe way its way of teaching u sensitivity and tolerance

21. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

So here you have it.

One of the legion comes at 9.28 and gives words of encouragement

Then another imp within the legion with the password, comes at 9.42 and counters what the kinder demon said.

22. @ David the blogmaster,

I wish you well.

Don’t have any great advice but my ” escape ” is to focus on doing more of the things I enjoy.

The problems of the world cease to exist for me when I go fishing, play my guitar and watch music videos.

23. The energies that are bombarding the planet at this time are burdensome to most, they are not resonating to it, don’t know of it, can’t comprehend it, can’t deal with it.. many are dying, many sick, stressed and frustrated, emotional. because of DARKNESS.
    The best way to deal with the energies is to stand in the sun AND remove the blocks…forgive all offenders and seek forgiveness through word and give thanks that you are still alive, put love in your heart for all of life in every form, henceforth, show unconditional love to your brother/neighbor and know you are counted among the blessed ..

Dwell not on the negatives, they are being taken care of.

The sun is about to rise.

24. Piece udda rock

Yuh think there are two or more
    Yuh too funny
    Lol

25. David problem does not stem from a lack of Hope or losing Hope but have finally come to a realisation that he was deceive through a process of self interest manipulation by Mia Mottley
    Shame frustration and disgust might be the operative words which would apply to David feeling of emptiness more so than losing Hope
    I warned David earlier today that his tongue would become his worst enemy( only) now to see my words being manifested as lost Hope which David attributes to himself
    Alas i shall remind u that the race is not for the swift but to those who endure till the end

26. Gabriel November 10, 2018 9:39 PM

that woman like she was giving you goadies and sending you bi-polar but you got adepolarisation agent to operate on your goadies both direct and indirect! GREAT STORY! ENJOYED IT. NOTHING LIKE GOOD TEACHING!

27. John November 10, 2018 9:25 PM

OK JOHN YOU MEKING SENSE NOW LIKE THE SCHOLAR YOU ARE

pieceuhderockyeahright November 10, 2018 9:26 PM

PIECE
    I DO NOT KNOW IF THE BLOGMASTER IS HONOURABLE OR IF HE IS AGNOSTIC
    I KNOW THAT DILIGENT STUDY OF THE WORD SHOULD HELP HIM
    SOLOMON EXPLAINS ALL SUCH THINGS IN ECCLESIASTES

28. WUNNAH WILL CUSS ME NOW
    RE This night the blogmaster finds himself in a state of mind where the pursuit of hope in humankind that was his motivation many envied dimmed somewhat.

ANYONE WHO HAS REACHED A CERTAIN AGE WHO PURSUES HOPE IN HUMANKIND FOR HIS MOTIVATION IS AN IDIOT! NO APOLOGY

THIS IS MY POSITION FROM WHAT I HAVE EXPERIENCED AND WHATY I HAVE READ IN GOD’S WORD WHICH REPEATEDLY STATES THAT IT IS BETTER TO TRUST IN THE LORD THAN TO TRUST IN MAN

Psalms 118: 8-9 “It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in man. It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in princes”
    Introduction: No matter how good a man is, you cannot compare him with God.

Jeremiah 17: 5-6 – “Thus saith the LORD; Cursed be the man that trusteth in man, and maketh flesh his arm, and whose heart departeth from the LORD. For he shall be like the heath in the desert, and shall not see when good cometh; but shall inhabit the parched places in the wilderness, in a salt land and not inhabited.”
    Jeremiah tells us here the consequences of trusting in man. It brings curse and dryness.

TRUST GOD NOT MAN TRUST GOD NOT MEN TRUST GOD NOT ME

GOD CANNOT CHANGE BUT MEN ARE SUBJECT TO CHANGE
    Hebrews 13:8 “Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and to day, and for ever”
    Mal 3:6 “For I am the LORD, I change not; therefore ye sons of Jacob are not consumed”

MEN CAN LIE BUT GOD CANNOT LIE
    Numbers 23: 19 – God is not a man, that he should lie; neither the son of man, that he should repent: hath he said, and shall he not do it? or hath he spoken, and shall he not make it good?
    Hebrews 6: 18 – That by two immutable things, in which it was impossible for God to lie, we might have a strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold upon the hope set before us:

MEN CAN FAIL BUT GOD CANNOT FAIL
    Romans 4: 21 – And being fully persuaded that, what he had promised, he was able also to perform.

GOD IS FAITHFUL … MEN ARE NOT FAITHFUL OR TRUSTWORTHY
    Hebrews 11: 11 – Through faith also Sara herself received strength to conceive seed, and was delivered of a child when she was past age, because she judged him faithful who had promised.

GOD IS A FINISHER
    Isaiah 40: 28 – Hast thou not known? hast thou not heard, that the everlasting God, the LORD, the Creator of the ends of the earth, fainteth not, neither is weary? there is no searching of his understanding.
    Hebrews 12: 2 – Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God

GOD IS OMNISCIENT … MAN IS LIMITED IN HIS KNOWLEDGE
    Hebrews 4: 13 – Neither is there any creature that is not manifest in his sight: but all things are naked and opened unto the eyes of him with whom we have to do.
    1 John 3: 20 – For if our heart condemn us, God is greater than our heart, and knoweth all things.

GOD CANNOT FORGET HIS PROMISE BUT MEN CAN EASILY FORGET THEIR PROMISE AND THEY DO
    Isaiah 49: 15-16 – Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee. Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands; thy walls are continually before me.
    Genesis 18: 1 – And God remembered Noah, and every living thing, and all the cattle that was with him in the ark: …
    Genesis 19: 29 – And it came to pass, when God destroyed the cities of the plain, that God remembered Abraham,…
    Genesis 30: 22 – And God remembered Rachel, and God hearkened to her, and opened her womb.
    Exodus 2: 24 – And God heard their groaning, and God remembered his covenant with Abraham, with Isaac, and with Jacob.

GOD CANNOT AND WILL NEVER BETRAY OUR CONFIDENCE
    Hebrews 13: 5 – Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.

NOW WUNNAH CAN CUSS ME AS USUAL
    BUT THE ABOVE IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED
    IT IS CRYSTAL CLEAR!

29. Dear David:

Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the LORD your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you.”
    Deuteronomy 31:6

30. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/212807/parris-repay-usd443m
    Parris to repay $4.43M
    A major case related to the collapse of CLICO has finally been settled, releasing millions of dollars for the benefit of policyholders. In a victory for the attorneys of the judicial manager, Deloitte Consulting, acting through Patrick Toppin, former CLICO boss Leroy Parris and his company, Branlee Consulting Services Inc., have consented to the repayment of $4.43 million they had received from Clico International Life Insurance Limited (CIL). This includes the $3.3 million that was paid to Parris based on a controversial invoice issued by his attorneys, Thompson and Associates. The judicial manager alleged that this was false invoicing issued by late Prime Minister David Thompson and this was why the deceased leader’s estate was also a party to the proceedings. The monies were held in an account at the Bank of Nova Scotia and there was a garnishee order based on the action taken on behalf of CIL by the judicial manager in 2015. However, on September 7, in an Order by Consent before Justice Cecil McCarthy QC, it was agreed between Parris and Branlee’s attorneys, Hal Gollop QC, and Steve Gollop; for CIL, Ramon Alleyne QC and Shena-Ann Ince of Clarke, Gittens & Farmer Attorneys-at-Law; and for Scotiabank, Nicolas Jackman of Chancery Advocates Attorneys-at-law to bring this matter to closure.

31. Who would have thought thst David would be shovelled down to the very last shelf a place where he always planted ac
    David you are a bore and a loser having a loosened tongue of fire in ways similar to Donald wacko trump
    Seeing you squimmer snd scrummed does not give me delight but reinforces in my mind that Karma is a bitch
    Hopefully ac would have forgiveness in the heart of all those nasty things you emitted form your loosed tongue tossed in ac direction
    Maybe will you retreat to your inner soul you would come to a full realisation that patience and tolerance is good for the soul

32. Let justice roll on like a river,[and] righteousness like a never-failing stream!
    Amos 5:24

33. “A man is never old until regrets replace dreams.”

Those of us who dream of a better Barbados must never regret we do so.
    Remain in your dreams and regrets will never win.

34. @David BU

Do something you enjoy. Let your mind be free. At times like yours, when I was young, I would put on my bathing suit, run down the beach, climb up the cliff to the tea cup and saucer across from Edgewater. I would unbraid my hair, let it blow in the wind, listen to the musics and imagine I was in my own world and queen of all I surveyed. Sometimes I would sit there until it started to get dark. Then I would run back home and feel like a million dollars. At other times I would find a good walking stick and walk the beach from Joes River to Box by Box and back. Most enjoyable.

35. David is an empath who moderates the ramblings of nut jobs looking for pearls of wisdom amongst the shite.

Internet has become a dark place with anonymous bloggers arguing like beasts.
    There are no pleasantries just bad minds.

Just like police who review sexual abuse or young men who drone and kill they suffer PTSD*
    now called PTS Post Traumatic Stress as the Disorder has negative inferences.

GP has been arguing foolishly for over 5 years because of some teasing to presentation slides, revealing his true identity would stop his nonsense.

Sometimes when we dream it is a kaleidoscope of feelings and fears

36. Courage mon brave! It is always darkest before the dawn.
    Pay no heed to the insults of professional Yardfowl Mariposa who rots away quietly in the knowledge that you are worth a mobaton of her like.

37. The issue for the blogmaster is not about responding or ignoring the ignorant or eccentric BU commenter. It is more about acknowledging a 25 year old man dropping garbage on the street with no remorse or a new government implementing austerity measures on a people without addressing the underlying reasons why we have become slaves to a behaviour anchored in consumption expenditure etc.

Thanks to all of you that have expressed heartfelt concerns via BU comments and confidential messages. It is appreciated.

38. It is worse in da UK, In Khan’s Londonistan they aren’t just dropping litter, but bodies. In California the army of homeless and illegals are crapping on the streets, as are the invasion force of black muslims in no-longer Gay Paree, when they are not burning cars and beating up Jews.
    We have the Left, and their globalist filth like Soros to thank.
    Dawn is a way off I’m afraid. It will be heralded by the defeat of the hard left and its PC poison. You won’t want to hear it, but Trump is the harbinger and I pray for the emergence of a Margaret Thatcher to complete the impending destruction of the vile, corrupt and anti democratic EU, which is in effect the Fourth Reich.
    Now THAT would be a dawn.

39. The decision for Parris to repay vindicates the line pushed by the blogmaster and members of the BU family for years. It is regrettable it had to consume hundreds of thousand of dollars in legal and other costs and hours of ‘airtime’ by yardfowls spouting nonsense before being resolved.

40. In Barbados BU and members of the family have been pointing to the weeds spouting on the lawn for years, now overrun with bush. The authorities spout sweet nothings about the crime statistics when commonsense observation paints a picture of dark clouds collecting on societal horizon where a stable and lawless society intersects.

41. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

I wonder if the blogmaster has come to the conclusion that BU should be terminated. It was understandable that David sided with the BLP in the recent general election. Imagine if we had another five years of DLP rule under the incompetent Stuart.

After a brief BLP honeymoon it has dawned on him that the current government is no different to the party that they replaced. I believe that they will turn out to more incompetent then the previous administration!

Dawn is not due to return to Barbados. David is cognisant of this fact. Never mind BU’s investigative forensic prowess; the bad guys have clearly won the battle for the soul of Bimshire. David has the financial prowess and the necessary passport to quit Barbados unlike the majority population. So don’t feel sorry for him.

Even the astonishing rise of Jackie Stewart – the British blogger – will bring little change to the established order in Barbados.

David naively believed that BU would bring change to the development of Barbados but he underestimated that the devil has always been the omnipresent master of Barbados. From the days of the indentured white servants, from her insatiable desire for African slaves and now her blood lust to loot the country’s assets.

I would say that David’s contribution to bring change to Barbados should be highly commended. But I would advice him to step down and relocate himself to a more civilised country where the quality of life is superior. I would also pass on the same advice to Jeff Cumberbach.

It is up to the natives to decide their own future.

42. David there u go again dropping yuh yardfowl feathers all over de place
    The nationnews paper is a wasted piece of garbage from whence and where anyone should go to collect news
    Quoting that rag is tantmount to placing ones character and integrity in a garbage dump
    The last place one would want to choose and look for Hope is within the pages of the nationnewspaer

43. “The decision for Parris to repay vindicates the line pushed by the blogmaster and members of the BU family for years. It is regrettable it had to consume hundreds of thousand of dollars in legal and other costs and hours of ‘airtime’ by yardfowls spouting nonsense before being resolved.”

All they did was waste court time and taxpayer’s money…they knew Leroy Leper and Leslie Haynes et al committed the crimes of THEFT against the policyholders, they all knew…….Parris should be made to pay full costs to the policyholders…

…….let’s see if the DPP takes up the case for prosecution like she rushed to charge the mother for her child’s death when it’s Maloney should be holding a wrongful death/manslaughter charge..for building the illegal protusion at Coverley entrance.

44. Robert G. Ingersoll can be followed through his ancestry right back to England.

His anceastor looks to have come on the Mayflower to Plymouth, part of the Great Puritan Migration from England.

He is a product of the Reformation in Europe (1517-1649) and lived from 1830 to 1899.

He was a Civil War Veteran.

https://www.bigeye.com/napoleon.htm

After Visiting the Tomb of Napoleon, Robert G. Ingersoll wrote

“A little while ago I stood by the grave of Napoleon, a magnificient tomb of gilt and gold, fit almost for a dead deity, and gazed upon the sarcophagus of black Egyptian marble where rests at last the ashes of the restless man. I leaned over the balustrade and thought about the career of the greatest soldier of the modern world.

I saw him walking upon the banks of the Seine contemplating suicide;

I saw him at Toulon;

I saw him putting down the mob in the streets of Paris;

I saw him at the head of the army of Italy;

I saw him crossing the bridge at Lodi with the tricolor in his hand;

I saw him in Egypt in the shadows of the pyramids;

I saw him conquer the Alps and mingle the eagle of France with the eagles of the crags.

I saw him at Marengo, at Ulm and Austerlitz.

I saw him in Russia, where the infantry of the snow and the cavalry of the wild blast scattered his legions like winter’s withered leaves.

I saw him at Leipsic in defeat and disaster, driven by a million bayonets back upon Paris, clutched like a wild beast, banished to Elba.

I saw him escape and retake an Empire by the force of his genius.

I saw him upon the frightful field of Waterloo, when chance and fate combined to wreck the fortunes of their former king.

And I saw him at St. Helena, with his hands crossed behind him, gazing out upon the sad and solemn sea.

I thought of the orphans and widows he had made; of the tears that had been shed for his glory and of the only woman who had ever loved him pushed from his heart by the cold hand of ambition.

And I said I would rather have been a French peasant and worn wooden shoes.

I would rather have lived in a hut with a vine growing over the door and the grapes growing purple in the kisses of the autumn sun.

I would rather have been that poor peasant with my loving wife by my side, knitting as the day died out of the sky, with my children upon my knee and their arms about me.

I would rather have been that man and gone down to the tongueless silence of the dreamless dust than to have been that imperial impersonation of force and murder known as Napoleon the Great.

And so I would ten thousand times.

45. Freud said sometimes a cigar is just a cigar but David your subliminal message in your picture to follow canada’s lead and motto of NO HOPE GROW DOPE is very obvious. waru,s boyfriend wants Canadians to forget their problems just… be happy and his mother was saying getting it on the street was eating into her cpp. Every day up here I wake up to some negativity in the paper today its some guy we let in on compassionate grounds suing us for 50 million because he cant stop stealing. Makes my blood boil the money we will have to spend defending ,paying both sides lawyers I wish I could smoke some pot but it makes things fuzzy and I cant remember where I left the vodka.
    Barbados is a great place friendly smiling people who love a joke have a good work ethic devout and believe in the rule of law. Sure there is a lot of negativity around but look at the world it could be worse. Having a flutter at the garrison and watching the horses go for a swim at pebbles, taking a walk on the boardwalk, having some beers and playing dominoes with friends these are things I look forward to every year. My life in canada is good but it seems I think yours is better way of living simpler relaxed more fun. All I can say is its hard to soar like an eagle when you hang around with turkeys vote DLP lol just kidding.

46. Charles Elliot wrote in the 18th century…..

Just as I am,though tossed about with many a conflict,many a doubt,
    fightings and fears,within,without,O Lamb of God,I come

Just as I am,poor,wretched blind;sight,riches,healing of the mind,
    Yea,all I need in thee to find,O Lamb of God I come.

Those of us nurtured in the Anglican faith,find a haven in just entering any Anglican Church,sitting quietly and taking in the peace and beauty of the building,and if one just happens to be lucky one might hear the soft comforting notes of the organ if perchance the organist is quietly rehearsing the music of the service or his planned organ voluntaries.

47. Charlotte Elliot

48. imagine how good that organ would sound if you could smoke reefer their like in canada