Barbadians have a strong interest in what unravels in the United States. We may debate why this is the case- an abundance of US news feeds streaming into our homes via FLOW, DIGICEL and Internet devices 24b hours a day, family members living in the USA, we travel there to further our studies and on recreation the list is long.

The BU household also has a keen interest in the outcome of the midterms later tonight, it will be a referendum on Trump’s tenure for sure.

US 1US2

Source: Two Charts Show Trump’s Job Gains Are Just A Continuation From Obama’s Presidency

649 responses to “2018 US Midterm Elections”

1. Peter I remember when I pointed out a few errors that were made by AYJacksons daughter Naomi when she was cataloging her dads work for a book. She was very gracious thanked me and fixed the errors. Apparently all arts people are not the same as you double down on yours

2. Everybody now…..

What the world needs now…….

3. God removed Muckcain because he saved Shitbama’s health care! Would it not have been better to remove Shitbama before he was able to pass the Shitbama Care Act?

HERE IS ANOTHER MORON WHO WANTS TO TELL ME ABOUT HEALTH AND HEALTH CARE– A SYSTEM THAT I HAVE BEEN IN FOR 44 /66 OF MY YEARS.

WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW IS FOLK WHO WOULD LISTEN TO THOSE IN THE KNOW WHEN THEY SPEAK WITH AUTHORITY ABOUT WHAT THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT.

AND MUCKCAIN DID NOT SAVE SHITBAMA SHIT CARE BECAUSE THE INDIVIDUAL MANDATE WAS STILL REVOKED.

MUCKCAIN ONLY DEMONSTRATED THAT HE WAS A MEAN SPIRITED HYPOCRITE. BECAUSE THE SCUM CAMPAIGNED TO REPEAL SHITBAMA CARE IN ORDER TO WIN BACK HIS SEAT.

SHITBAMA CARE HURT MANY MANY FOLK. EVEN DOCTORS QUIT!

WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW IS FOR MEDICAL AND HEALTHCARE ILLITERATES TO BE TOLD THE TRUTH, AND NOT TO BE GUIDED BY THEIR POLITICAL BIASES

BY THE WAY MY SPOUSE HAS BEEN IN INSURANCE FOR OVER 40 YEARS

4. I have told you nothing about healthcare. I have asked you a question about God’s weird tactics. I thought you said you were first in English.

5. HERE YOU ARE WITH THE BEST HEALTHCARE INSURANCE
    YOU GO TO A DENTIST OFFICE ON YOUR LIST
    HE XRAYS YOUR FACE GIVES YOU ANTIBIOTICS AND SAYS HE DOES NOT EXTRACT TEETH………..BUT YOUR GREAT INSURANCE POLICY PAYS. EVEN THOUGH YOU HAVE NOT RECEIVED PROPER CARE

YOU GO TO THE NEXT DENTIST WITH YOUR GREAT HEALTH CARE PLAN
    THE MORON SAYS HE DOES NOT HAVE A CUFF TO TAKE YOUR BP TO ENABLE HIM TO EXTRACT ONE’S TOOTH

YOU GET ON A PLAIN AND GO TO A DENTIST HOME AS A WALK IN AND HAVE THE TOOTH EXTRACTED

WOMAN GOES TO ER WITH ABDOMINAL PAIN AND IS SENT HOME AFTER BEING XRAYED
    I HEARD THE HISTORY ON THE PHONE WHILE I WAS IN NEWARK, AND TOLD MY RELATIVES THE DIAGNOSIS IS RENAL STONES.

I TOOK THE PATH TRAIN GOT TO NY LOOKED AT THE XRAY AND THE STONE IS STARING YOU IN YOUR FACE

SHE HAD GOOD HEALTH INSURANCE BUT NO PROPER HEALTHCARE

BUT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW IS PEOPLE THAT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE TALKING BOUT BEFORE THEY TALK SHIT!

6. Still no answer for God’d weird killing tactics.

P.S. Yuh sounding kinda brawling doh.

7. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Here’s hoping that Trump and his cast of “deplorables” are routed at the ballot box.

8. IF YOU HAVE SOME PROBLEM WITH GOD AND HIS TACTICS……ASK HIM.
    I WILL NOT APOLOGIZE FOR MY STYLE
    I AM COMFORTABLE WITH WHO I AM
    COOL CALM COLLECTIVE AND BEATING BAD BOWLING TO A PULP!

9. God’s

10. WHITE WOMAN IN ER
    DR’S CANT FIND HER VEINS TO TAKE A BLOOD SAMPLE
    WOMAN’S VEINS BLUE AND EASILY SEEN UNDER HER SKIN
    THEY BRING A 32,000 $ MACHINE TO LOCATE HER VEINS

WOMAN LEAVES WITH A BILL OF $1000 FOR SO CALLED CARE THAT YOU CAN RECEIVE IN THE POLYCLINIC SYSTEM I DESIGNED IN BARBADOS IN 1985 WITHOUT PAYING A CENT. SHE HAD GOOD HEALTH INSURANCE BUT GOT POOR AND COSTLY HEATH CARE NOTICED

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Lawson
    I have many lasting friendships with arts professionals around the globe and the ones that are motivated by art not money are wonderful people.

12. Sirfuzzy

“Jesus don’t want stupid followers”

Sir, the Bible tells us that a fool or a stupid person is someone who disregards God’s word, so we can concluded that Richard Dawkins the world leading atheist is a stupid person or a fool right? Ecclesiastes 10:2 proverbs 26:11…

“If you know what that a person is a liar and continues to lie … I think you would be advised to keep all his clutches”

Master how many times should I forgive my brother if he does me wrong … and Jesus said to him: 70 times 7… brother somewhere in that statement lies the divine principles of Love and Forgiveness…

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Georgie Porgie
    I do appreciate it when you talk about your area of expertise. I congratulate you for your contributions to the poly clinic system in Barbados.

What steps would you recommend to establish this sort of public system in the US?

14. That should be cool, calm and COLLECTED.

15. PLT

Your Southern Strategy is a figment of your imagination.

You need to do better than that!!

Just Google D’Souza Southern Strategy and you will see you have been led up the garden path.

LBJ was the guy with the Southern Strategy … and he was of course … Democrat!!

Here is D’Souza debunking the myth of Nixon’s Southern Strategy.

You should spend some time listening to D’Souza.

16. Georgie Porgie

We have incompetence in every era … before anti-psychotic medication we had surgeons back in the day performing lobotomies to control unwanted behavour…

17. McCain’s prognosis was very poor BEFORE he voted against repealing Obamacare. The things you people blame God for!

18. John

I have watched D’souza debated late Christopher Hutchins and Dennis Prager … and he is nothing more than a white butt kisser… D’souza, lost his credibility when Obama locked him up for tax evasion …this dude was Obama big critic…

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I’ve read D’Souza’s lame Nixon defense before… it has been thoroughly refuted by better scholars. The essence of his thesis is that because Nixon was not openly racist like Trump is the Southern Strategy is a myth. He is either being naive or deliberately lying. Nixon simply deployed the FBI to demonize and hunt down the Black resistance to racist oppression in the South. The Southern Dixiecrats knew who was behind this of course.

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The Dixiecrats hated LBJ with undying fervor because they considered him a traitor to the White race for pushing through civil rights legislation. You really should brush up on your American history.

21. John

D’souza, though Christian allowed the lated Christopher Hutchins an atheist …to influenced his politics… he however … is known to be one of leading right wing commentator in America …

22. A topic I cannot contribute on……

Is pokerts grabbing a sin, I know it’s against the law…
    murdah
    I duz mek meself laugh

23. I think I will have an early night.I just can’t stand these whipper snappers who called themselves political analysts on Cable News – who ALL SAY THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

Political commentary is so shallow in America these days.

24. Wuhloss .My word loll.

25. PLT

Check this thesis!!

Might help you understand

26. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

@Lexicon November 6, 2018 6:14 PM

To each his own.

God just happens to know us better than we know ourselves.

As GP admitted GOD will be the judge not you or me. If either of us are misinterpreting what he intended to be understood in his text/script we surely will find out in due course.

27. D’souza, lost his credibility when Obama locked him up for tax evasion

I thought it was for campaign financing.

28. The essence of his thesis is that because Nixon was not openly racist like Trump is the Southern Strategy is a myth

I thought I heard him say that no one has been able to produce one example … probably including the scholars you have read!!

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

D’Souza went on Twitter to challenge people to disprove his thesis that the Republican “Southern Strategy” is a myth: Princeton historian Kevin Kruze handed him his ass on a platter:
    https://newrepublic.com/minutes/149554/dinesh-dsouza-gets-history-lesson-twitter

30. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

D’Souza simply lied about “no one has been able to produce one example.”

31. John

Whatever it was D’souza is now a convicted felon… thanks to Obama…

32. PLT

The Dixiecrats hated LBJ with undying fervor because they considered him a traitor to the White race for pushing through civil rights legislation. You really should brush up on your American history.

You must see if you can remember any of the names of the scholars you read.

LBJ was a character!!

Here he is ordering some pants from his tailor.

33. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@PLT

These guys get to where they are at because “TRUTH” and “FACTS” are now rare commodities. So rare that very few care about their existence or what they are worth and many dont know what they are even if meeting them face to face up close and personal.

old bajan saying ‘you can escape from a thief but when to comes to a liar etc”

34. Lexicon
    November 6, 2018 7:02 PM

John
    Whatever it was D’souza is now a convicted felon… thanks to Obama…

+++++++++++++++++++

… actually he isn’t!!!

He has a full pardon!!

35. All the world needs is love sweet love!

36. Lil Baby Jeebus Avatar

Wunna gotum right Joey. Murda ah lie. Cricket ‘n’ Bob.

37. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

I guess Mr D Souza will argue something like this. I have have been a tax cheat for twenty years. I admit it. but my neighbour is also a tax cheat. so why are you picking on me or proseucting for cheating on my taxes. Now asking me to pay fine because of the “wrong doing” i have committed.

As i was advised “hate the sin not the sinner” but for the the sin we has assigned a punishment – however the sin who has an umbilical cord to the sinner has to feel pain by the fine/imprisonment etc.

No where is there any real contrition. Is it forgotten “that America is considered a law abiding society; that no one is above the law etc”, that seems missing. I am wrong but and was punished because it politically motivated. Hmmmm push your narrative and never ever never let the truth or be responsible for your personal actions

38. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@All the world needs is love sweet love!

Is this the national anthem in Hope?

39. John

I used to like the guy because I thought he presented a good argument for the existence of God again Christopher Hitchens non-theistic worldview … but somehow along the way he allowed Dennis Prager and Christopher Hutchins to sway him in to this right-wing politics … and then he started to rewriting Native and African American historical experiences in America to favour the white establishment.

40. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@All the world needs is love sweet love!

Is this the national anthem in Hope?

Since we may be on a Beatles music theme.

may I suggest “We all live in a yellow submarine” as the words for the national pledge

“Let it be” or “Here comes the Sun” as the national motto.

41. David

All we need is God … becauses He is the answer to mankind destructive tendencies on earth … secular love could never minister to the needs of the human heart…

42. It is a shame we have educated people who prefer to compromise on traditional values to fulfill left, center and right ideology. If something is wrong it is wrong instead we have the religious and right wing nut jobs going to work.

43. @ PLT RE
    I do appreciate it when you talk about your area of expertise. I congratulate you for your contributions to the poly clinic system in Barbados.

What steps would you recommend to establish this sort of public system in the US?

YOU HAVE TO THINK GENERALLY AND SPECIFICALLY
    SHORT TERM
    MIDTERM
    LONG TERM

BASICALLY
    THE PRESIDENT SHOULD CONTINUE SEEKING TO REDUCE THE COST OF DRUGS, PERHAPS BY PROMOTING LOTS OF GENERICS BY GOOD FIRMS FOR DRUGS WHOSE PATENTS HAVE EXPIRED

HE SHOULD WORK ON REDUCING HEALTH INSURANCE PREMIUM COSTS SINCE THIS IS A BIG PART OF THEIR CULTURE THAT WILL NOT BE EASY TO CHANGE
    THIS IS OK FOR THOSE WHO CAN AFFORD IT.

COSTS MUST COME DOWN
    THEY NEED TARIFFS FOR WHAT CAN BE CHARGED BY DRS OR PHARMACISTS AS WE HAD IN BIM IN THE 80’S– DONT KNOW WHAT APPLIES NOW

BUT THERE MUST BE SOME TYPE OF CARE READILY AVAILABLE FOR THE POOR WHO CANT AFFORD INSURANCE OR A DR FEE ESPECIALLY IN THE RURAL UNDERSERVED AREAS WHERE CARE IS NON EXISTENT ALMOST..

THEY CAN SIT WITH MAPS GO COUNTY BY COUNTY IN EACH STATE USING THEIR VOTER INFO TO FIGURE OUT WHERE THE FOLK IN NEED LIVE RELATIVE TO TRANSPORTATION HUBS.

THEY HAVE THE ADVANTAGE THAT THEY SHOULD HAVE LOTS OF STATISTICS

THEY CAN START PILOT PROGRAMS IN A FEW SMALL STATES OR STATES WITH LOW POPULATIONS, AND EXTRAPOLATE FROM THEIR SUCCESSES OR EXPERIENCE.

THEY CAN USE FOREIGN MEDICAL GRADUATES WHO HAVE PASSED THE USMLE IN RESIDENCY TRAINING IN THESE AREAS.

IF YOU WANT A VISA TO DO A RESIDENCY YOU MUST SERVE IN AN UNDERSERVED AREA. MANY WILL STAY AFTER THEIR TRAINING.

LOTS OR RETIRED NURSES AND DOCTORS CAN BE EMPLOYED IN THESE CLINICS

THIS IS JUST OF THE TOP OF MY HEAD, BUT IF WE CAN DO WHAT WE DO, AND THE ST LUCIANS COULD IMPROVE ON OUR MODEL, WITH FAIRLY LIMITED RESOURCES, I THINK THAT THEY CAN PULL THIS OFF

AS YOU GO YOU WILL MEET NEEDS AND IMPROVE ON THE SERVICE IF YOU HAVE DARING FLEXIBLE LEADERS LIKE SAY MAURICE BYER AND FRANK RAMSEY.

44. Sirfuzzy

What you have made mention to above regarding the Law … is call (Supremacy of Law ) and it is an enduring principle in American jurisprudence … which states that no one is above or below the law; the law applies to all equally…

45. RE All the world needs is love sweet love!
    A LOAD OF SENTIMENTAL BULLSHIT THAT MEANS NOTHING
    THE WORLD NEED PEOPLE TO DO THE RIGHT THING

THE WORLD NEEDS FOR INFERIOR SUPERIORS TO BE PUT IN THEIR RIGHT PLACE IN THE SHIT HOUSE AND LEAVE THE MEN WITH BRAINS WHO ARE HARD WORKING TO GO ABOUT DOING THE RIGHT THING NOT WHAT IS POLITICALLY EXPEDIENT.

46. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@Georgie Porgie November 6, 2018 7:55 PM

I find it hard to believe that some thing like this has not been considered.

I think the real issue is the political will. If anyone did what you suggested i am sure the paid opposers will the shouting from the roof top “Socialized Medicine”, I want to be able to keep my own doctor even if i cannot afford to actually see him/her.

Secondly what incentive is there for Pharma and Health Insurance corps to lower prices and make health care more affordable. Affordable may have the effect of lower profits for all industries involved.

As i said earlier .. When we boil down or make all decisions about Economics we end up worshipping at the feet of economist and praying to the Almighty Currency Note.

On a humour note when it gets to that point we will have fewer ‘Denominations” to worry about. lol

47. Georgie Porgie

The problem isn’t affordable care for the poor …because a hospital cannot refuse to give a poor person care … because more often then not taxpayers foots the bills. Prescription cost is the biggest problem for a lot of Americans … and that cost depends upon the type of medical insurance one has…

48. PLT
    I WAS ABLE TO DO THE LITTLE I WAS ALLOWED TO DO BECAUSE I SAT AT THE FEET OF AND WAS INSPIRED BY THE LATE KR RAO, MAURICE BYER AND FRANK RAMSEY.

THESE WERE MEN THAT PRODUCED A LOT WITH LITTLE. THEY DIDNT PROMOTE SELF BUT THEY INSPIRED THE FOLK AROUND THEM TO EXCEL.

IN MY FINAL YEAR I HAD A TEENAGER ON MY WARD IN TERMINAL RENAL FAILURE.
    SHE HAD A TWIN BUT WOULD NOT TELL ANY OFFICIAL WHERE THEY COULD BE FOUND.

I GOT HER TO DIVULGE THIS INFO AND SET OUT TO FIND THEM.
    THEY WERE BEING CARED FOR A VERY ELDERLY LADY IN BLACK ROCK WITH LITTLE MEANS.

MY WIFE AND A FEW MED STUDENTS AND NURSES FROM HOSPITAL CHRISTIAN FELLOWSHIP DECIDED WE WOULD RETURN TO HELP HOWEVER WE COULD.

I SOUGHT TO GET MILK FROM THE NUTRITION CENTER. THEY REFERRED ME TO CHILD CARE BOARD, AND THE CHILDREN WERE ADMITTED TO A CHILDREN’S HOME

20 YEARS LATER ONE OF THOSE BOYS REPRESENTED BARBADOS AND THE WEST INDIES AT CRICKET!

49. FUZZY

RE I find it hard to believe that some thing like this has not been considered.

WELL I MET WITH RESISTANCE FROM TOM ADAMS TOO! HE WAS IMPRESSED WITH THE BRITISH SYSTEM, WHICH THE STUPID AMERICANS SCORN. THAT SYSTEM IS NOT PERFECT, BUT THERE IS A LOT OF GOOD WORK DONE IN THAT SYSTEM

I think the real issue is the political will.
    EXACTLY AND HAVING SOME ONE TO THINK IT UP AND PUT IT TOGETHER. BUT IT CAN BE DONE!

If anyone did what you suggested i am sure the paid opposers will the shouting from the roof top “Socialized Medicine”,
    THAT WOULD BE SELFISH AND STUPID

IN BARBADOS WE DONT HAVE PEOPLE WHO STILL PREFER TO PAY THEIR PRIVATE DR shouting from the roof top “Socialized Medicine”, ACTUALLY SOME TIMES THESE FOLK
    COME TO THE POLYCLINIC.

YOU WOULD BE SURPRISED AT THE PROFESSIONALS WHO ATTENDED THE POLYCLINICS

OUR CLINICS ELIMINATED THE OLD PARISH DOCTORS AND ADDED A NEW DIMENSION.

I want to be able to keep my own doctor even if i cannot afford to actually see him/her.

NOTHING WRONG WITH THAT EITHER

Secondly what incentive is there for Pharma and Health Insurance corps to lower prices and make health care more affordable. DONT KNOW EXCEPT FOR LEGISLATION

Affordable may have the effect of lower profits for all industries involved.

THIS IS NEEDED
    A LOT OF UNNECESSARY COSTS EXIST IN THIS INDUSTRY

50. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

THEY CAN USE FOREIGN MEDICAL GRADUATES WHO HAVE PASSED THE USMLE IN RESIDENCY TRAINING IN THESE AREAS.

+++++++++++++++

Will these foreign medical graduate be welcomed? With all the noise about immigration we are hearing in the US?