I frequently wonder if those who guide our tourism industry really understand the basics which make it work, at all. Arriving on schedule at 9.45 pm the American Airlines flight last Monday, we dutifully filed off the plane and took our place in the queue for immigration.

The flight was close to full, so on a B737 Max 8, this amounted to around 172 passengers plus crew. Just after 10 pm, one or more immigration officers simply left their post and went off duty, leaving a skeleton staff to process the remaining 50 per cent or so off this flight.

This flight was not a one-off charter, but a scheduled service, where all involved know that it is going to arrive daily at close to the advertised time.

When my turn eventually came, I respectfully asked the immigration officer if there had been a shift change at 10 pm and she stated yes, adding that at least some of those finishing their term duty had to get a bus.

Not at all unreasonable in my humble opinion given the knowledge that if you miss one bus there may not necessarily be a later option to ensure they get home. But surely this is a critical consideration for management, who have to ensure the ‘system’ works, given the available resources?

With the hundred or so remaining passengers still waiting to clear immigration there is plenty of time to gaze in wonderment at the rows of still idle Automated Passport Kiosks. The actual cost of installing and possibly maintaining these machines still remains a mystery to the taxpayer and we cannot blame the current administration. However, the decision to purchase or lease them and the subsequent dismal failure to ensure they are fully operational must be somebodies responsibility.

Nearly four months ago the current Minister of Tourism was quoted in the media as stating ‘the effect as I understand it is that there should be an 88 per cent faster throughput in the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA), once this is implemented, than there is at present’.

A very impressive improvement in anyone’s estimation should this prediction, become a working reality.

Another factor, often ignored, is that the majority of our visitors do not live on the doorsteps of the airports which service us.

In my case last week, I left a sleepy Essex village at 5 am with three changes of train and underground, involving nearly 40 station stops to first reach Heathrow. Then a ten hour flight to Miami followed by the much improved passenger processing through US immigration and customs, before another 4 hour flight to reach Barbados, So nearly 24 hours before deplaning at GAIA.

While this may not be typical for many of our visitors, the vast majority have substantial pre-airport travelling and the last thing they want to endure, especially at night, is to be further delayed at immigration, baggage claim and customs checks.

It already seems to take an extraordinary amount of time to retrieve arriving checked baggage and with the ongoing closure of the customs Green Channel – ‘Nothing to Declare’ option, our cherished guests are being subjected to further delays.

Let us hope that these long running challenges will be fully remedied before the upcoming peak winter season, especially in light of announced increased airlift.

Otherwise even the most patient visitors may be tempted with their feet and perhaps next time, choose an alternative less hassle destination.

109 responses to “The Adrian Loveridge Column – Stalled @GAIA”

1. You are too kind with your commentary on this GAIA constant indication that we are a turd world cuntry.

You are too kind to say that the officers at the GAIA and the seaport are not fit for purpose and should be rerouted to the Ministry of Planification that I see the Prime Minister is building for them to “SCAN IN DOCUMENTS”

You are too king not to call Humpty Dumpty and Stacia waste foops who have occupied these slots for too long while the world is fast passing them by.

You are too kind not to call a spade a spake as Mia in one breath talks bout increasing tourism throughput yet the eye of the camel, or these gatekeepers cannot handle the current load.

I am sure that you know that each worker at Barclays PLC in New York has a timed metric given the nature of the transaction being managed and the amount of time the client is in front of them?

But such is a Bridge Too Far Loveridge so you are encouraged to keep being kind heheheheh

2. Will Barbados ever become a service oriented country? Visitors do not come to countries where the attitude is to make you feel unwelcome.

3. Travel to many of the islands in the region and the service delivery is in stark contrast to Barbados.

4. The fat layabouts at GA are a disgrace and have been for decades. A reminder of who pays their inflated wages would be timely, as would a shakeup of management who seem unable to arrange that transport be available as needed.
    What a shower of shite.

5. Adrian, I can tell from your article you must REALLY ENJOY living in Barbados to continually endure this kind of widespread and continually government incompedence, only a true patriot would remain.

Like Wily you and I will not likely live long enough to see any improvements in our lifetime. Government incompetent management is engrained in the Barbados society that it is unlikely to change and the result is going to be the countries continued detoriation.

Besides lining up is a favourite Bajan pastime.

6. It is almost everywhere in Barbados……….’lining up’ ….. Airport, Banks, BRA, so called ‘Fast-Food’ outlets, & so on………… in many cases, you see more staff drifting around behind the scenes, pretending to be working but mostly talking to each other and avoiding any eye-contact with the customer.

I’ve been overseas and witnessed a Supervisor exit her office, see a line-up of barely 3 customers, then proceed to an empty cashier space and call customers over to assist them. In Barbados, she would probably be castigated by her superiors!!

It is either deliberately planned or sheer ignorance on the part of management that this type of service exists in Barbados. Competition can assist in change but when your job is safe because “dey can touch you, cause we wood strike’ attitude persist ….. heaven help us!

7. The glorified yardfowl ready to push other islands ahead of Barbados. Under the Dems the glorified yarfdfowl and Loveridge encouraged tourists to by pass us and vacation in nearby islands. That crusade took a back seat to the effort to unseat the Dems. Change was achieved but the yard duck cant help himself despite his Dictator Queen being PM. The behavior of airport workers in the islands isn’t different to here. They aren’t fond of Bajans and it shows. Would you believe the glorified yardfowl has the nerve to say he is a patriot.

8. Here is waiting with the same tired lines which resulted in a 39 zip cutass.

Hard ears wunnah wont hear…

9. William Skinner Avatar

What do expect from people , who upgraded the airport and refused to put in landing docks, on belief that when tourists , get of the plane, they want to walk in the sun?
    Not a failed country yet but…..

10. Passing thru, what you is, a turd? Keep passing, we hands pun de chain.

11. William
    Who said a survey wasn’t taken.
    I am not a tourist but I like it when I come back from NY after a trip in the winter.
    It is a different kind of feel from north America.

12. That’s what I was saying. I thought they were looking for a Barbados experience. Maybe not the business travellers but the pleasure seekers.

13. @ David,

30 to 0

14. @Hants

The error was deliberate, for emphasis.

15. A TWO MINUTE walk in the sun is not a problem. However walking in the rain from the plane to the building is a problem.

BLP got this.

16. @David,

I expect politicians to lie for emphasis not my favorite blogmaster. lol

17. @ John 2 and DonnaI
    I think people who spend their money want comfort. You get the sun or rain while you are on the islands .
    What about those who are physically challenged.

18. @Wiliam,

There is an obvious tourism market for Barbados (the Caribbean) and that is the young people of Caribbean heritage who want to visit the homes of their parents/grandparents, but do not want to live there. There is an assumption that these people want to live to relatives when they visit. It is a market widely ignored.

19. @ Hal
    They don’t have a clue and BTW , if you live outside you are not really a Bajan. Yuh supposed to let David run the country.
    Not a failed state yet but ……….

20. I understand that most will not like walking in a heavy downpour. In us the USA rain don’t stop the locals from walk around doing their business and most without an umbrella.

21. Walk from plane to building is no more. You get a coach after you get down the steps from the plane.

22. Landing docks will also take special maintenance. MAINTENANCE…which seems to be a bad word in Barbados.

23. The words “landing docks” is being bandied about but they are mostly termed “Jet Bridges”. I remember the last Gov’t indicating that it wanted to upgrade the airport with these but it was a question of costs.

24. NorthernObserver Avatar

and they have mobile jet bridges, a.k.a. mobile boarding lounges. They have hydraulic lifting arms like the vehicles used by flight kitchens. Many are not self propelled but towed (important in Bim because maintenance is always an issue), this way you can have several lounges but only a few tow vehicles. You can have one mobile with other typical stairs at any flight. Those who are unable/unwilling use the mobile, others use the stairs. In Dulles, I think they called them moon buggies. Mirabel had them too. And I saw them in S.Africa a few years back.

25. Didn’t the prime minister and minister of tourism have a meeting with airport workers weeks after winning office? Is it fair to say that the issue of staffing and rotation cannot be improved within the existing structure?

26. Go watch the video at nationnews.com. Kerrie pontificating

27. Jet bridges and the vexed question of building a super Airport facility planned in the late 60’s early ’70s minus those jet bridges caused questions to be asked when the airport was opened in ’78 or ’79.Well known downpours called tropical showers which start and stop without much notice and wheelchair bound passengers who were lifted bodily down a flight of passenger steps should be sufficient reason to have included the bridges which I was told at that time would have cost $90,000.00 each.The wise thinkers of that period did not think it worth the expense.A humongous error.

28. Drive by shootings, thats good for tourism.

29. ” American Airlines has announced that effective today, October 22, the airline will be going cashless at Grantley Adams International Airport (BGI).”

So who collects the departure tax ?

30. @Hants

The decision by AA is about how customers pay read plastic versus cash.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

I would further guess, the Transport Board has several bus bodies which they don’t know what to do with. I expect these, minus the engine, could be transformed into mobile boarding platforms.

32. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

” American Airlines has announced that effective today, October 22, the airline will be going cashless at Grantley Adams International Airport (BGI).”

So does that mean free airline travel?

In Barbados cash(legal currency note) is king because the currency notes says sucH “THESE NOTES ARE LEGAL TENDER FOR PAYMENT OF ANY AMOUNT” . As long as the transaction IS DOMINATED IN Bajan currency you should not deny “legal currency as form of payment.

Or maybe i am missing g the plane with m thinking. Maybe Jeff can help me out on this one.

33. 🙂 Yuh all shouldda lissen to Kellman and build an “international airport in St, Lucy ….. 🙂

34. William Skinner Avatar

It’s how we run things.One govt decides against the bridges. Thirty years later the next government remodels the airport andmakes the same mistake. And on and on the merry go round goes…….
    Lack of vision in the 70s; lack of vision in the 90s; lack of visions in the 2000s
    @ John 2
    WOW ! Americans shop in the rain so why the hell they can’t walk through the rain when they come to Barbados- the world’s only tourists destination.. Yep , they spend their money to get soaking wet!!
    Not a failed state yet but………

35. @sirFuzzy

Are we not living in a cashless/digital currency world? Isn’t the government a sponsor of the change to digital from analogue processes? If what you have raised is a legal hurdle we expect a 29-1 government to solve.

36. Bajans can envy Jamaica it two very modern airports. I have travelled through Montego Bay and Kingston and feel like I am in a first world country on entering those ports.

37. @TheoG
    Yuh all shouldda lissen to Kellman and build an “international airport in St, Lucy
    ++++++++++++
    You really want to avoid the ABC highway, if you want to get home early get a parachute and jump off when the airline is positioned above North Point.

38. William

I never said shop
    I said they go about ther business

As far as I am aware it not the American that are complaining it the bajans
    Although there may be a few but not the majority
    Americans don’t hude from rain like we Bajan do
    A two minute walk to terminal ?

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Although said in jest that …“You really want to avoid the ABC highway, if you want to get home early get a parachute and jump off when the airline is positioned above North Point”

… I offer that the same (worst really) can be said outta Pearson in Toronto on a rush hour or a ‘date night’ highway cruch and surely heading outta JFK or La Guardia or Miami International north on I95 …traffic can be a itch wherever u are!

40. William Skinner Avatar

@ John 2

Are you aware that there is some designation our airport does not have because we do not have the bridges?
    If that is so , we need to get the bridges although with the current shortage of money ,this may be a bit much. Perhaps we can use the new taxes/levies.

41. William
    I never said to not get the bridges.

42. You are becoming like Marposa

Switching from one thing to another to try to validate you original point

43. William Skinner Avatar

@ John 2

Stick to the point. I am not comparing you with anybody. Just deal with the simple fact that if we are competing with international products and services, we need to bring our products and services up to international standards.
    If you desire to turn this into some nonsense about others you would find me a very unwilling participant.

44. William

You are not comparing me to anybody but I am comparing you to mariposa, I really don’t care if you participate willingly or not. I have already stated my view on the bridges.

45. All agree it was a lack of foresight not to have installed the jet bridges. The talk about tourists experiencing tropical island weather with a walk across a busy tarmac is PR spin. The issue is prioritizing the installation given lack of resources.

46. @ David
    The issue is really yet another case of strategic decisions about national projects being taken by jokers who are not qualified to make such long term decisions.
    This has been the COMMON denominator that defines the place we now find ourselves.

Lawyers and economists (whatever the Hell those are…) taking decisions about complex matters that they clearly do not understand …using short term analyses that are completely subjective… and interested ONLY in the short term POLITICAL consequences….

These jokers then go off the scene (like Stinkliar has…) while the brass bowls in the country suffer the consequences of their idiotic decisions.
    We appear to like it so….

It continues as we speak…..

47. Once upon a time the Immigration Officers were Police Officers, people with discipline and authority. For some time we have had Cicil Servants – some know them as Uncivil Servanhts, most with no discipline and excessive authority – and excessively loud steuppssssing. The Airport Manager, the Immigration Chief and every other Manager will tell you it’s “not their Department”, and there will be no change, so don’r expect any. It’s just one more example of how bureaucracy in Barbados is bringing the country down to Fifth World status.

48. Why would Barbados need to bring its products and services up to international standards? Aren’t we punching above our weight (and we obese to boot too!)?

49. I suppose my first question should really have been what time those Officers are supposed to finish their shift? If that is 10:00pm that is a matter of scheduling, but if they are supposed to work until midnight and are rushing out the door at 10:00pm then there are pertinent questions of discipline, over-pay and attendance to be asked at every level of their “blind eye” management and supervision – not to mention Union – and perhaps a whole new look at how Immigration services should really be provided in our country.

50. @Bush Tea

Clearly the days of politicians allowed to make key strategic decisions that should involve an impartial and qualified professional class is now required.

#urgently