I frequently wonder if those who guide our tourism industry really understand the basics which make it work, at all. Arriving on schedule at 9.45 pm the American Airlines flight last Monday, we dutifully filed off the plane and took our place in the queue for immigration.
The flight was close to full, so on a B737 Max 8, this amounted to around 172 passengers plus crew. Just after 10 pm, one or more immigration officers simply left their post and went off duty, leaving a skeleton staff to process the remaining 50 per cent or so off this flight.
This flight was not a one-off charter, but a scheduled service, where all involved know that it is going to arrive daily at close to the advertised time.
When my turn eventually came, I respectfully asked the immigration officer if there had been a shift change at 10 pm and she stated yes, adding that at least some of those finishing their term duty had to get a bus.
Not at all unreasonable in my humble opinion given the knowledge that if you miss one bus there may not necessarily be a later option to ensure they get home. But surely this is a critical consideration for management, who have to ensure the ‘system’ works, given the available resources?
With the hundred or so remaining passengers still waiting to clear immigration there is plenty of time to gaze in wonderment at the rows of still idle Automated Passport Kiosks. The actual cost of installing and possibly maintaining these machines still remains a mystery to the taxpayer and we cannot blame the current administration. However, the decision to purchase or lease them and the subsequent dismal failure to ensure they are fully operational must be somebodies responsibility.
Nearly four months ago the current Minister of Tourism was quoted in the media as stating ‘the effect as I understand it is that there should be an 88 per cent faster throughput in the Grantley Adams International Airport (GAIA), once this is implemented, than there is at present’.
A very impressive improvement in anyone’s estimation should this prediction, become a working reality.
Another factor, often ignored, is that the majority of our visitors do not live on the doorsteps of the airports which service us.
In my case last week, I left a sleepy Essex village at 5 am with three changes of train and underground, involving nearly 40 station stops to first reach Heathrow. Then a ten hour flight to Miami followed by the much improved passenger processing through US immigration and customs, before another 4 hour flight to reach Barbados, So nearly 24 hours before deplaning at GAIA.
While this may not be typical for many of our visitors, the vast majority have substantial pre-airport travelling and the last thing they want to endure, especially at night, is to be further delayed at immigration, baggage claim and customs checks.
It already seems to take an extraordinary amount of time to retrieve arriving checked baggage and with the ongoing closure of the customs Green Channel – ‘Nothing to Declare’ option, our cherished guests are being subjected to further delays.
Let us hope that these long running challenges will be fully remedied before the upcoming peak winter season, especially in light of announced increased airlift.
Otherwise even the most patient visitors may be tempted with their feet and perhaps next time, choose an alternative less hassle destination.
You are too kind with your commentary on this GAIA constant indication that we are a turd world cuntry.
You are too kind to say that the officers at the GAIA and the seaport are not fit for purpose and should be rerouted to the Ministry of Planification that I see the Prime Minister is building for them to “SCAN IN DOCUMENTS”
You are too king not to call Humpty Dumpty and Stacia waste foops who have occupied these slots for too long while the world is fast passing them by.
You are too kind not to call a spade a spake as Mia in one breath talks bout increasing tourism throughput yet the eye of the camel, or these gatekeepers cannot handle the current load.
I am sure that you know that each worker at Barclays PLC in New York has a timed metric given the nature of the transaction being managed and the amount of time the client is in front of them?
But such is a Bridge Too Far Loveridge so you are encouraged to keep being kind heheheheh
Will Barbados ever become a service oriented country? Visitors do not come to countries where the attitude is to make you feel unwelcome.
Travel to many of the islands in the region and the service delivery is in stark contrast to Barbados.
The fat layabouts at GA are a disgrace and have been for decades. A reminder of who pays their inflated wages would be timely, as would a shakeup of management who seem unable to arrange that transport be available as needed.
What a shower of shite.
Adrian, I can tell from your article you must REALLY ENJOY living in Barbados to continually endure this kind of widespread and continually government incompedence, only a true patriot would remain.
Like Wily you and I will not likely live long enough to see any improvements in our lifetime. Government incompetent management is engrained in the Barbados society that it is unlikely to change and the result is going to be the countries continued detoriation.
Besides lining up is a favourite Bajan pastime.
It is almost everywhere in Barbados……….’lining up’ ….. Airport, Banks, BRA, so called ‘Fast-Food’ outlets, & so on………… in many cases, you see more staff drifting around behind the scenes, pretending to be working but mostly talking to each other and avoiding any eye-contact with the customer.
I’ve been overseas and witnessed a Supervisor exit her office, see a line-up of barely 3 customers, then proceed to an empty cashier space and call customers over to assist them. In Barbados, she would probably be castigated by her superiors!!
It is either deliberately planned or sheer ignorance on the part of management that this type of service exists in Barbados. Competition can assist in change but when your job is safe because “dey can touch you, cause we wood strike’ attitude persist ….. heaven help us!
The glorified yardfowl ready to push other islands ahead of Barbados. Under the Dems the glorified yarfdfowl and Loveridge encouraged tourists to by pass us and vacation in nearby islands. That crusade took a back seat to the effort to unseat the Dems. Change was achieved but the yard duck cant help himself despite his Dictator Queen being PM. The behavior of airport workers in the islands isn’t different to here. They aren’t fond of Bajans and it shows. Would you believe the glorified yardfowl has the nerve to say he is a patriot.
Here is waiting with the same tired lines which resulted in a 39 zip cutass.
Hard ears wunnah wont hear…
What do expect from people , who upgraded the airport and refused to put in landing docks, on belief that when tourists , get of the plane, they want to walk in the sun?
Not a failed country yet but…..
Passing thru, what you is, a turd? Keep passing, we hands pun de chain.
William
Who said a survey wasn’t taken.
I am not a tourist but I like it when I come back from NY after a trip in the winter.
It is a different kind of feel from north America.
That’s what I was saying. I thought they were looking for a Barbados experience. Maybe not the business travellers but the pleasure seekers.
@ David,
30 to 0
The error was deliberate, for emphasis.
A TWO MINUTE walk in the sun is not a problem. However walking in the rain from the plane to the building is a problem.
BLP got this.
@David,
I expect politicians to lie for emphasis not my favorite blogmaster. lol
@ John 2 and DonnaI
I think people who spend their money want comfort. You get the sun or rain while you are on the islands .
What about those who are physically challenged.
@Wiliam,
There is an obvious tourism market for Barbados (the Caribbean) and that is the young people of Caribbean heritage who want to visit the homes of their parents/grandparents, but do not want to live there. There is an assumption that these people want to live to relatives when they visit. It is a market widely ignored.
@ Hal
They don’t have a clue and BTW , if you live outside you are not really a Bajan. Yuh supposed to let David run the country.
Not a failed state yet but ……….
I understand that most will not like walking in a heavy downpour. In us the USA rain don’t stop the locals from walk around doing their business and most without an umbrella.
Walk from plane to building is no more. You get a coach after you get down the steps from the plane.
Landing docks will also take special maintenance. MAINTENANCE…which seems to be a bad word in Barbados.
The words “landing docks” is being bandied about but they are mostly termed “Jet Bridges”. I remember the last Gov’t indicating that it wanted to upgrade the airport with these but it was a question of costs.
and they have mobile jet bridges, a.k.a. mobile boarding lounges. They have hydraulic lifting arms like the vehicles used by flight kitchens. Many are not self propelled but towed (important in Bim because maintenance is always an issue), this way you can have several lounges but only a few tow vehicles. You can have one mobile with other typical stairs at any flight. Those who are unable/unwilling use the mobile, others use the stairs. In Dulles, I think they called them moon buggies. Mirabel had them too. And I saw them in S.Africa a few years back.
Didn’t the prime minister and minister of tourism have a meeting with airport workers weeks after winning office? Is it fair to say that the issue of staffing and rotation cannot be improved within the existing structure?
Go watch the video at nationnews.com. Kerrie pontificating
Jet bridges and the vexed question of building a super Airport facility planned in the late 60’s early ’70s minus those jet bridges caused questions to be asked when the airport was opened in ’78 or ’79.Well known downpours called tropical showers which start and stop without much notice and wheelchair bound passengers who were lifted bodily down a flight of passenger steps should be sufficient reason to have included the bridges which I was told at that time would have cost $90,000.00 each.The wise thinkers of that period did not think it worth the expense.A humongous error.
Drive by shootings, thats good for tourism.
” American Airlines has announced that effective today, October 22, the airline will be going cashless at Grantley Adams International Airport (BGI).”
So who collects the departure tax ?
The decision by AA is about how customers pay read plastic versus cash.
I would further guess, the Transport Board has several bus bodies which they don’t know what to do with. I expect these, minus the engine, could be transformed into mobile boarding platforms.
” American Airlines has announced that effective today, October 22, the airline will be going cashless at Grantley Adams International Airport (BGI).”
So does that mean free airline travel?
In Barbados cash(legal currency note) is king because the currency notes says sucH “THESE NOTES ARE LEGAL TENDER FOR PAYMENT OF ANY AMOUNT” . As long as the transaction IS DOMINATED IN Bajan currency you should not deny “legal currency as form of payment.
Or maybe i am missing g the plane with m thinking. Maybe Jeff can help me out on this one.
@sirFuzzy
Are we not living in a cashless/digital currency world? Isn’t the government a sponsor of the change to digital from analogue processes? If what you have raised is a legal hurdle we expect a 29-1 government to solve.
🙂 Yuh all shouldda lissen to Kellman and build an “international airport in St, Lucy ….. 🙂
It’s how we run things.One govt decides against the bridges. Thirty years later the next government remodels the airport andmakes the same mistake. And on and on the merry go round goes…….
Lack of vision in the 70s; lack of vision in the 90s; lack of visions in the 2000s
@ John 2
WOW ! Americans shop in the rain so why the hell they can’t walk through the rain when they come to Barbados- the world’s only tourists destination.. Yep , they spend their money to get soaking wet!!
Not a failed state yet but………
Bajans can envy Jamaica it two very modern airports. I have travelled through Montego Bay and Kingston and feel like I am in a first world country on entering those ports.
@TheoG
Yuh all shouldda lissen to Kellman and build an “international airport in St, Lucy
++++++++++++
You really want to avoid the ABC highway, if you want to get home early get a parachute and jump off when the airline is positioned above North Point.
William
I never said shop
I said they go about ther business
As far as I am aware it not the American that are complaining it the bajans
Although there may be a few but not the majority
Americans don’t hude from rain like we Bajan do
A two minute walk to terminal ?
Although said in jest that …“You really want to avoid the ABC highway, if you want to get home early get a parachute and jump off when the airline is positioned above North Point”…
… I offer that the same (worst really) can be said outta Pearson in Toronto on a rush hour or a ‘date night’ highway cruch and surely heading outta JFK or La Guardia or Miami International north on I95 …traffic can be a itch wherever u are!
@ John 2
Are you aware that there is some designation our airport does not have because we do not have the bridges?
If that is so , we need to get the bridges although with the current shortage of money ,this may be a bit much. Perhaps we can use the new taxes/levies.
William
I never said to not get the bridges.
You are becoming like Marposa
Switching from one thing to another to try to validate you original point
@ John 2
Stick to the point. I am not comparing you with anybody. Just deal with the simple fact that if we are competing with international products and services, we need to bring our products and services up to international standards.
If you desire to turn this into some nonsense about others you would find me a very unwilling participant.
William
You are not comparing me to anybody but I am comparing you to mariposa, I really don’t care if you participate willingly or not. I have already stated my view on the bridges.
All agree it was a lack of foresight not to have installed the jet bridges. The talk about tourists experiencing tropical island weather with a walk across a busy tarmac is PR spin. The issue is prioritizing the installation given lack of resources.
The issue is really yet another case of strategic decisions about national projects being taken by jokers who are not qualified to make such long term decisions.
This has been the COMMON denominator that defines the place we now find ourselves.
Lawyers and economists (whatever the Hell those are…) taking decisions about complex matters that they clearly do not understand …using short term analyses that are completely subjective… and interested ONLY in the short term POLITICAL consequences….
These jokers then go off the scene (like Stinkliar has…) while the brass bowls in the country suffer the consequences of their idiotic decisions.
We appear to like it so….
It continues as we speak…..
@Bush Tea
Clearly the days of politicians allowed to make key strategic decisions that should involve an impartial and qualified professional class is now required.
#urgently
Once upon a time the Immigration Officers were Police Officers, people with discipline and authority. For some time we have had Cicil Servants – some know them as Uncivil Servanhts, most with no discipline and excessive authority – and excessively loud steuppssssing. The Airport Manager, the Immigration Chief and every other Manager will tell you it’s “not their Department”, and there will be no change, so don’r expect any. It’s just one more example of how bureaucracy in Barbados is bringing the country down to Fifth World status.
Why would Barbados need to bring its products and services up to international standards? Aren’t we punching above our weight (and we obese to boot too!)?
I suppose my first question should really have been what time those Officers are supposed to finish their shift? If that is 10:00pm that is a matter of scheduling, but if they are supposed to work until midnight and are rushing out the door at 10:00pm then there are pertinent questions of discipline, over-pay and attendance to be asked at every level of their “blind eye” management and supervision – not to mention Union – and perhaps a whole new look at how Immigration services should really be provided in our country.
@bimjim
Let us not forget Barbados has not been able to qualify for a CAT 1 status under successive governments.
https://barbadosunderground.net/2011/05/15/barbados-jurisdiction-gets-category-ii-rating-explained/
@bimjim
Many companies in Barbados make arrangements for employees to get home if they are working the late shift, it is not rocket science. The immigration and customs people are providing am important/essential service read tourism is our only sector paying the bills.
#jesus
@ Ping Pong
Bushie always took that comment to say that Bajans were foolishly reaching BEYOND their actual capabilities.
The man was just being polite – and since we are a bunch of vain brass-bowls, we incorrectly interpreted the warning as a compliment…. as is the won’t of brass bowls.
This is why Bush Tea uses a whacker…. no lotta shiite talk…
Cut straight to the roots of the brass bowlery…
(least they think that bushmen are here to bring peace and prosperity….)
We will soon be punching below our own donkeys….. in de grass.
That is an oxymoron.
Politics is such that competent, ethical, professionals – almost by definition – CANNOT be politicians.
Frustrated Businessman made that point far better that Bushie ever could.
If the stupid politicians had even enough common sense to recognise their glaring incompetence, they would simply hand these responsibilities over to competent professionals in the society …and sit back and enjoy the positive results that would result.
But you must know that the hallmark of an idiot is that “he knows not that he knows not…”
So they will keep on punching above their own dismal competence ….until we all reach the grass….
@Bush Tea
Understands the point you are making, however, the blogmaster remains optimistic that a leader will emerge from the political class to see the value in co-opting/outsourcing services for the good of the country from the professional class. Surely the oxymoron can be found in the billions sunk to educate Barbadians and then allow them to be fat middleclass cats ?
@ the Rt Hon Prime Minister Mottley,
It is noted that Minister Oblong Head Kerrie with what phrenologists would call a compressed hippocampus (heheheheh Dr. GP looka de ole man heah practicing medicine without a licence) cannot see the importance of rapid processing at the airport AND TOURIST SATISFACTION
DE OLE MAN FEELING GENEROUS TODAY CAUSE I SEE WUNNA IS NOT GOING ANYWHERE REAL FAST.
I had shared with the Sage Anunnaki dat de proposal for a Rihanna branded fuselage was a good idea but just a part of a bigger picture
So I going give an additional part of that picture here which other Caribbean jurisdictions are going to steal.
But I will leave you with that last paragraph Prime Minister for I have to speak with the BU BORG on another element of this topic that would not be if any interest to you.
i have been telling you the Honourable Blogmaster that putting ideas here on BU is tantamount to divulging concepts to local regional and international competitors.
But here ya go.
I proposed (PAST TENSE) branding a card with the Rhianna brand (yes Sage Anunnaki much more thought has been placed in the idea. And much effort too, but that is another story)
The “card” will have multiple uses, many of which one will not state here on BU, but a few of which anyone who has a branded card can extrapolate from.
Stay with me for a little while Honourable Blogmaster and your “class idiots” (not my words but your own Honourable Blogmaster)
The most immediate use of the “card” is for the issuance of a rapid immigration pass which would tie the subscriber to a Quick Customs Processing service FOR AN ANNUAL FEE OF US$150.
Now de ole man would repurpose the waste foop Barbadian embassies and consulates and tourism marketing agencies to assist with the dissemination and intake of these specially designed cards.
Concomitantly, instead of Humpty Effing Dumpty and Stacia sitting down in the Immigration Department doing nothing (or collecting back door fees for illegal guyanese extensions) they would be actively involved in this pre boarding and dissembarkation backend functions of the tool.
The card would use a kiosk at the ports of entry/exit as opposed to an officer who gone go catch a badword bus.
Now Honourable Blogmaster this concept has several other elements but since wunna brainiacs are lost for ideas Teacher John says he going give wunna sheeple a few.
Suffice it to say that this is quasi sovereign data and tourism derived data so there are certain requirements for the processing and management of the database.
I could provide you with a Stoopid Cartoon of the product but the tin foil is too tight on my temples right now.
Now do you understand the downside of “stimulating national discussion” of these ideas?
It looses any competitive advantage AND AS PEARLS BEFORE SWINE de old man will bet you one million dollars IT GOING GET FVCJED UP
Where oh Honourable Blogmaster can one market an idea like this within the existing corridors of government, as a private public sector partnership, have it rapidly and more importantly be ably compensated, without the oblong head minister giving it to his friends?
And the sheeple will gather and say “baaaaaa”
And dear Honourable Blogmaster IF DE OLE MAN TELLS YOU THAT THIS COMPONENT IS PEANUTS COMPARED TO THE REAL APPLICATION, would you believe me
Steve Jobs is alleged to have said “It makes no sense to hire smart people and tell them what to do: we hire smart people so that they can tell us what to do.”
Barbados probably has more civil servants with BA’s, MA’s and MBA’s than at any time in our history. How many of them are encouraged to “tell us what to do” in order to improve the service, procedures and systems for better government?
@FearPlay
What role can the social partnership play to harmonize the two groups, politicians and technocrats?
So Honourable Blogmaster
You asked the question and I quote
“…What role can the social partnership play to harmonize the two groups, politicians and technocrats?…”
Not a fellow responded to you but de ole man will attempt to do so
NONE!
you seem to be pretending to misunderstand (cause we both know that you do understand) what Fear Play said.
Say I am an idiot like that PS Barker from the former BLP administration was an idiot or PS Edison Alleyne is an idiot (and if you doubt me ask Senator Caswell Franklyn) do you think that I would ever promote or hire someone around me who is more intelligent that I am?
NOT FOR BADWORD!!!
Because Honourable Blogmaster DEM IS GOING TO SHOW ME UP.
Looka, lemme tell you why i posted that item above.
Not to show dat I am Teacher John AND DAT I GOTS DE ANSWERS TO SOME OF THE PREDICAMENT THAT THE “class idiots” (your words not mine) are experiencing but to underscore for you that creativity and innovation exists in and about Bim.
Dere are fellers in Barbados who 10 to 20 times as bright as de ole man but you see the problems dat de ole man does explain heah pun a day? Unlike de ole man whose Salvation comes from the Almighty GOD and who relies on NONE OTHER BUT HIM for my succour, dem fellers and ladies DOES GET BEATEN DOWN SO REGULARLY that they dry up and die!!
When Jesus the Christ approached Jerusalem it is said that He Wept.
Do you know why the Christ Wept Honourable Blogmaster, because HE saw the sins of the people there, he discerned in His Spirit ALL OF THE TURPITUDE, sinfulness, perfidy, unrighteousness, ungodliness that was, is and would be there.
That is a serious weight to carry and you and I will never reach that point but what I do know well is the weights that weigh on so many of the creatives in Bim who have so much to offer, BUT DIE SLOW DEATHS, at the hands of these so called leaders and negrocrats whom you incredibly suggest we must build a bridge to in a place where The Bridge is Too Far.
What has to happen is that these so called leaders have to be ignored and made to follow.
And how do I propose that that be done?
I shall show you how SOON heheheheheh
@PUDRYR
PSs are responsible for hires in the public sector?
PUDRYR
iT SEEMS THAT YOU HAVE READ AND UNDERSTAND THESE VERSES FROM ECCLESIASTES CHAPTER NINE:11, 13-16
11 I returned, and saw under the sun, that the race is not to the swift, nor the battle to the strong, neither yet bread to the wise, nor yet riches to men of understanding, nor yet favour to men of skill; but time and chance happeneth to them all.
13 This wisdom have I seen also under the sun, and it seemed great unto me:
14 There was a little city, and few men within it; and there came a great king against it, and besieged it, and built great bulwarks against it:
15 Now there was found in it a poor wise man, and he by his wisdom delivered the city; yet no man remembered that same poor man.
16 Then said I, Wisdom is better than strength: nevertheless the poor man’s wisdom is despised, and his words are not heard.
CONSIDER ALSO THESE VERY RELEVANT VERSES FROM CHAPTER TEN
There is an evil which I have seen under the sun, as an error which proceedeth from the ruler:
6 Folly is set in great dignity, and the rich sit in low place.
7 I have seen servants upon horses, and princes walking as servants upon the earth.
10 If the iron be blunt, and he do not whet the edge, then must he put to more strength: but wisdom is profitable to direct.
11 Surely the serpent will bite without enchantment; and a babbler is no better.
12 The words of a wise man’s mouth are gracious; but the lips of a fool will swallow up himself.
13 The beginning of the words of his mouth is foolishness: and the end of his talk is mischievous madness.
16 Woe to thee, O land, when thy king is a child, and thy princes eat in the morning!
17 Blessed art thou, O land, when thy king is the son of nobles, and thy princes eat in due season, for strength, and not for drunkenness!
18 By much slothfulness the building decayeth; and through idleness of the hands the house droppeth through.
@ Dr. GP,
of the things that you said, of which all seared my soul, i will repeat to you one thing that stands out..
“…Now there was found in it a poor wise man, and he by his wisdom delivered the city; yet no man remembered that same poor man…”
I guess that I have long time since moved to that realization of what one’s greatest pretensions on this world ultimately become – fodder for the grave where we all will go.
I am not capable of seeing what Christ saw but there are some lesser pitfalls that I have been shown that make me weep.
The first is the chasm of despotism which is being pushed on our people WHEN ALL MUGABE has to do is THE RIGHT THING and that will bring her a REAL LEGACY
THe second is the propagation of the killers and the drive by culture that the Commissioner of Police and the slothful Attorney General Dale Marshall dont have a clue how to solve and which the Church, Communities and social partners are lost to bring pause to.
THe third is the spiritual turpitude that we are wallowing in while we still have the Word of GOD and the Comforter to rely on.
I going try to do me likkle part Dr. GP and to let Him who has given me life, shine through from in my life.
I will continue to do what i can to help those less fortunate than myself. People need real options that are not based on clouds and smoke blown in unspeakable places.
Dr. GP, you know exactly what I am saying, cause you lived this thing for a long time so noyone can hoodwink you. You have seen this configuration ALL OVER THE WORLD, irrespective of colour, or clime, or caste and standing in society.
You can recite chapter and verse what it is to have to converse with “the dull and the IGNORANT’ while knowing them to be dull and ignorant but being orally paralyzed so to speak cuase you simply dont know what to say to them.
If you give them guidance you are considered “too bright for your own good”, if you seek to motivate them and speak to them as equals you are accused of talking to the “class idiots” and if, like you, you speak to them rough, dem does call you all sorts of things.
Of course when you keep quiet as you did for this last week some are genuinely concerned for your health while others pray dat de hurrincan mash you up or dat you jes dead off.
lolol.
So we must continue to put of Hope in Christ and His Father, now our Father through Him, knowing that He will see us through this game and shadow of existence.
God’s blessing to you and yours, I going back heah and see what de class idiots talking bout heheheheheheh (i do love that term though, you see how regular i does be using it in the Rum Shop)
Good quote…
“The words of a wise man’s mouth are gracious; but the lips of a fool will swallow up himself.”
PIECE
In the passage in chapter 9, the lesson Solomon learned was “wisdom is better than strength.” Even though the poor man’s wisdom outwitted the powerful king, the poor man’s wisdom was despised and rejected even though the poor man saved the city . His proven wisdom was forgotten, because he is poor. Unfortunately, the rich and powerful are listened to and obeyed with little discernment, but the poor are ignored without consideration.
We must learn to discern based on truth and godliness, not based on worldly standing.
Quite probably, credit for saving the city was given to another man, possibly the “ruler of fools”. By not crediting the poor man for his wisdom, “much good” was destroyed, for the city forever lost the benefits of the poor man’s wisdom
Solomon said that there is nothing new under the sun, so we must not be surprised that the scenario he describes here is being witnessed today in our beloved Barbados.
Off course, “the poor man” today is not necessarily poor at all. He is just not in the ruling party or close to those who have a say, or as Solomon calls these persons , the “ruler of fools”.
If you call the current Government, or the last, the “ruler of fools” on BU, ONE MIGHT HAVE TO RETRIEVE YOUR BODY FROM THE CAREENAGE—–DESPITE THE FACT THAT YOU WOULD BE TELLING THE TRUTH.
The swift, the strong, the wise, the learned, all would seem to have it made. But, alas, life is unpredictable. One might think that success and joy in life would depend on our abilities, but, as Solomon points out, even having great talent or ability is no guarantee of success.
From man’s point of view, there is always an element of unpredictability: “Time and chance happen to them all.” “Time and chance”, bad timing and the whims of chance, can mess up the best of plans.
Given this, we would do well to learn not to trust in our own abilities, in our own wisdom, for we cannot, even at our best, conquer “time and chance”.
We would do well to put our trust in Him who is the Master of Providence, the Master of “time and chance”.
If we trust in God, we are no longer at the mercy of “time and chance”, but at the mercy of God. We should say to God, with David: “My times are in Your hands” (Ps. 31:15).
Paul tells us that, for His children, God manipulates the whims of “time and chance” for our favor: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose” (Rom. 8:28).
I gone……..for now.
@David 09:43 I offer another quotation in answer to your question, :”Leaders who don’t listen will eventually be surrounded by people who have nothing to say “.
There was a time when Civil Servants were looked up to and respected. Permanent Secretaries literally ran the country and ministers were only the political face of government. Then along came the “new” politician who thought that he /she “knew” all that there was to know about everything, literally “A Donald Trump” type politician. Look at what it got us. The Civil service became politicalized, ministers became hands-on managers without vision and in many cases (if not all), without a great skill set. An unsuccessful attorney as PM, a failed economics neophyte as MOF, a nondescript individual as AG, a MOE whose greatest achievement was being unable to speak as though uneducated, and the list goes on.
This new government has moved with alacrity to undertake the challenges left behind by the last government through its incompetence, and they must now guard against becoming intoxicated with their election success so as not to believe that they, and they alone are the salvation of this country and that they, and they alone have all the solutions to our problems.
My appreciation to “Piece” for taking my place as I stepped away from the table for a short while .
@FearPlay
You have said a lot.
100% true!
Does Mia and team have the capacity (balls) to turn things around?
The Social Partnership is s political group as well. It’s a true case of the blind/ corrupt leading the blind/ corrupt.
@William
Agreed.
Did I just read that the government has moved with alacrity to undertake the challenges left by the last government through its incompetence?
Would that undertaking of challenges to improve the incompetence of the last ones – include the hiring of the weather presenter Selma Greene as a new Deputy Permanent Secretary ?
Is that what the role of permanent and Deputy permanent Secretary have come to?
Is that supposed to engender confidence and efficiency – picking one of your girls from your private close knit circle of female groupies.
@T.Inniss
Who is responsible for hiring Deputy Permanent Secretaries?
Ultimately in this type of governance model – Mia motley has the final say so.
How do you think Selma Greene moves from presenting the weather in the 7 0’clock news on CBC – to that of Deputy Permanent Secretary ?
You think one of Mia’s inner circle just got that job by chance huh?
You sure you really want to defend that move ?
Where is Caswell when you need him most ?
Calling Senator Caswell Franklyn !!!!
Gimme the vote and watch muh ! lol
Up de ting Mia .
@T.Inniss
The question posed stands.
Who is responsible for hiring Deputy Permanent Secretaries?
My comments above stand.
No amount of obfuscation would work.
How and why did a friend who is part of that intimate group of girl friends of the prime minister move from presenting the weather news @ 7: 0’clock to being the new DEPUTY PERMANENT SECRETARY. in a ministry which portfolio Mia carries ?
Solve that one for me David.
Yo continue to miss the point whether deliberately or otherwise. If what you say is true then the head of the civil service- who are career civil servants- need to grow backbone or balls. It is not a problem for the political class to solve.
David BU
The “advent” of Deputy Permanent Secretaries came under the previous inept DLP administration.
And Selma Greene’s SUBSTANTIVE POST was that of MANAGER of the Youth Entrepreneurship Scheme (YES).
Selma presents the weather……… similarly to Sophia Cambridge (who is the Group Public Relations Manager of the BHL Group), reads the CBC TV8 NEWS as a “side job” on weekends…….
………… or Assistant Programme Manager of CBC, Jewel Forde……….presenting Lotto numbers.
So….. I guess if Jewel was promoted as General Manager of CBC…..rather than check her credentials….. the “dull and ignorant”…… thinking they have a “solid political point,”……. may likewise mention: “Is that what the role of manager have come to?”
And is this the same Caswell Franklyn who was cussed “left right and center” by the DLP operatives assigned to BU……for criticizing the appointments of these deputy PS and the number of them that were “acting”……..
………..who to them, has suddenly become a “hero” and “knight in shining amour?”
But David while it may be true that the head of civil service should get a backbone – you need to first look at the abuse of power by the leader of the country who would seek to enforce that position.
First ask yourself – what does it say about Mia?
Is there no bridge too far?
This is what happens when persons who have dictatorial tendencies are given carte blanche or such large mandates by voters through their action or inaction.
YOU MEAN AFTER HEARING THE OBJECTION TO HER BRINGING ON HER FACEBOOK CAMPAIGN MANAGER – CHARLES JONG AND PUTTING HIM IN THE CIVILSERVICE AND PAYING HIM HIGHER THAN THE SCALE HE SHOULD BE IN – YET SHE DID NOT CARE – HE IS STILL THERE RIGHT NOW.
THAT IS WHAT YUH CALL ‘IN YUH FACE BEHAVIOUR’ BY A DICTATOR.
@T.Inniss
In the moment the blogmaster prefers to attack the problem by asking why are our checks and balances not working. This is the level of accountability we need to exact from our officials. If the civil service hierarchy does its job it nullifies attempts by the political class to interfere. This does not mean we are giving Mottley a pass if there is a case for her to answer. The blogmaster is aware of people employed at CBC and elsewhere on the instruction of Mottley last time she was in government.
Ah yes I deliberately didn’t mention YES Entrepreneurship programme with young people.
If you want to reel them in – you put out your bait and you watch them nibble and then swallow the whole thing lol.
So lets see – running the YES Programme gives her the experience and expertise needed to be the second in command of the ministry and the person who acts as Permanent Secretary in the absence of the P.S – THAT YOUTH PROGRAMME QUALIFIES HER TO BE DEPUTY P.S. IN DEFENCE & SECURITY. Hmm
Interesting .
Now that Post I can live with.
“…….put out your bait and you watch them nibble and then swallow the whole thing”……WHAT!!!!
“So lets see – running the YES Programme gives her the experience and expertise needed to be the second in command of the ministry and the person who acts as Permanent Secretary in the absence of the P.S – THAT YOUTH PROGRAMME QUALIFIES HER TO BE DEPUTY P.S. IN DEFENCE & SECURITY. Hmm”
Tch, tch, tch, tch…….
The above comment is clearly INDICATIVE of your IGNORANCE of the role of a PS or Deputy PS.
The PS or Deputy PS in Defence & Security does not have to be a SOLDIER, POLICEMEN or SECURITY GUARD.
The PS is essentially the CEO and ACCOUNTING OFFICER of a ministry, charged with the responsibility of MANAGING the ministry and IMPLEMENTING Cabinet policies of the minister under whose portfolio the ministry falls. The Deputy PS assists the PS in undertaking these functions.
Sooooo…. YES!!!!…….”Running the YES Programme gives her the experience and expertise needed to be the second in command of the ministry and the person who acts as Permanent Secretary in the absence of the P.S.”
Mind boggling appointments prevails BOTH administrations, whether at PS level or line management level.
If I were to “go by your silly, un-informed logic,” then your administration appointing an accountant as Deputy PS of Parliament and subsequently as PS in the Ministry of Education was nonsense.
Can you explain, for example, how a trade unionist became UDC’s director?
T. Inniss….you’re struggling…..
MANAGING the ministry and IMPLEMENTING cabinet policies
CEO and ACCOUNTING Officer
So let me see – you move from running a small programme for ‘At risk’ or other young persons – no more than 20 or 25 YOUNG PERSONS – as well as introducing them to topics about small business etc
AND
Later in the evening you go and present the weather news.
Then all of a sudden you are catapulted into the position of second most senior civil servant in the entire ministry – as DEPUTY PERMANENT SECRETARY – by your ‘special’ friend who is the prime minister of the country.
As Deputy Permanent Secretary you will be required to Act as permanent Secretary in his/her absence and you assist him/her in the following roles:
Managing the day to day operations of the entire ministry of considerably more than 20 or 25 young,impresionable youths;
You provide important advice to the Minister
You implement the policies of the Minister
You assist in the formulation of policies
You must be knowledgeable of the rules & regulations governing the Civil Service so to avoid violating them when acceding to a request made by a Minister
You must be knowledgeable of and strictly follow the rules governing Public Procurement
You implement the appropriate processes to prevent the incidence of fraud,embezzelment or misappropriation of public monies
Coordinate the preparation of the budget submission to the Ministry of Finance
And on and on
So for the faithful BLP yardfowls on here, who defend the indefensible – A youth group coordinator – turn weather Girl – fits the bill entirely for a Deputy Permanent Secretary.
How is that kool Aid tasting Sir ? Sweet Huh ? LOLLLLLLLL
IS Selma Greene THE SAME PERSON AS SELMA HUSBANDS?
Yes G.P.
PUDYR
@9:24 YOU SAID
i have been telling you the Honourable Blogmaster that putting ideas here on BU is tantamount to divulging concepts to local regional and international competitors.
I FOUND THIS TO BE TRUE WHEN I VISITED A POLYCLINIC IN ST LUCIA IN 2012 WHERE THEY HAD IMPLEMENTED THE SERVICES I DETAILED HERE ON BU AS FAR BACK AS 2008, INCLUDING XRAYS ON SITE
This individual does not possess the ability to think rationally……but that’s an attribute often associated with yard-fowls.
YOU ARE STRUGGLING!!!!!
Based on your comments, it seems as though you’re of the misguided opinion that Greene’s job at YES meant she dealt SPECIFICALLY or ONLY with potential young entrepreneurs. AGAIN YOUR IGNORANCE IS ON DISPLAY.
YES is funded by government and as manager, Greene is essentially the CEO of that entity.
Therefore, as manager, she would be ultimately responsible for:
………….the COORDINATION and PREPARATION of YES’s estimates of expenditure, which she and the accountant have to defend when heads of sections of the departments under the particular ministry meets with the minister.
…………..“developing and implementing strategic plans, objectives, work plans, , project/programme proposals and operating budgets and assumes responsibility for coordinating and guiding relationships with mentors, facilitators, technical staff and partners and other agencies to deliver quality business development support services to young entrepreneurs.”
………….providing important advice to…….. and implementing the policies of the minister;
Similar to any other Managers, Directors, CEOs or any other heads of departments in the Civil Service, Greene MUST BE:
…………. knowledgeable of the rules & regulations governing the Civil Service so to avoid violating them when acceding to a request made by a Minister;
…………knowledgeable of and strictly follow the rules governing Public Procurement;
Since she would be held accountable for the disbursement of government (taxpayers) funds…….
………..she would OBVIOUSLY implement the appropriate processes to prevent the incidence of fraud, embezzlement or misappropriation of public monies….which is “STANDARD PROCEDURE.”
So what are the significant differences?
Only a silly DLP yard-fowl……hoping to score cheap political points…… would interpret the presentation of FACTS as “defending the indefensible” and “drinking kool aid.”
Maybe now you will be prepared to answer the following question:
Do you see the wisdom in appointing a trade unionist as director of UDC?
I’ve heard an American say about Barbados’ rain, “this is not rain, this is liquid sunshine.”
Still I’d like the jet bridges.
Although I love that blast of heat which hits me as I deplane.
Home, home, I’m coming home.
I am home.
Glorius.
I thought that during their process of rebuilding the party, the DLP would recruit more suitably qualified individuals to represent them in this forum and articulate political points reasonable and rationally.
There isn’t any well thought out strategy….rather than conducting the relevant research and developing their points accordingly…….
……..these “idjuts” see an issue and jump on it…. to spew senseless rhetorical party political diatribe, as the basis of informed and intelligent discussion.
Continuing with weak individuals such as the likes of T. Inniss, Carson C. Cadogan and Mariposa as the DEMS “voice” on social media……is doing the party more harm than good.
After all…..Kellman was posting so much shiite on facebook…… that Donville Inniss asked him to take a vacation from the keyboard.
@ Artaxerxes
I am going to ask you a question.
This is not “in support” of T. INNISS but may highlight his stance inadvertently.
It is the same question that de ole man asked the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch on another thread.
It deals with publications but on this occasion the metrics and financial details and output of YES for any period of time.
How much money did they get, how many beneficiaries have they served and what have been the results of these interventions over the period?
Anything other than that is pure speculation since this information points to what the specific party has been able to produce in that her substantive post.
The posts of PS and Deputy PS have traditionally been doled out to the politically lackeys of the day as opposed to the most competent public servant who will manage his/her post responsibly.
Without any published targets and published reports these fellow have managed to “vampire an existence” for consecutive years AND WHEN THEY GET RELEASED FROM SUCKING sorry service they exit with a sizeable gratuity AND HET CALLED BACK AS CUNTSULTANTS to suck us again.
There are a few PSes who have been really good in their posts like the two Martin’s who served at the Ministry of Finance for a while but when these guys do their jobs too well they get shifted.
But I digress.
What has been Selma s performance report as opposed to her “performing” report?
@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here thank you
pieceuhderockyeahright October 23, 2018 9:24 AM
@ the Rt Hon Prime Minister Mottley,
It is noted that Minister Oblong Head Kerrie with what phrenologists would call a compressed hippocampus
PIECE KERRIE AINT GOT NO HIPPOCAMPUS MAN
THE HIPPOS LEFT HIS CAMPUS LONG LONG AGO!
So is Artax saying that since the DLP appointed shitehounds to senior Public Service positions …he has no problem with the BLP appointing shiitehounds to senior Public Service positions?
How are these appointments being justified when thousands of public servants are being sent home?
Bad enough that there is NO HINT of meritocracy in selecting Permanent Secretaries and deputies, but yet Bajan brass bowls expect a a turnaround in performance of the economy….
Madness is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results…
But those who hand their national business over to incompetents …and expect success – are plain brass bowls.
Bushie REALLY thought that since Mia made such a ‘balls up’ when she appointed all her incompetent girlfriends last time around… that she would have been a bit more discrete now….
But shiite…. it looks like Bushie lives at the same address as Sirfuzzy….. in HOPE….
false hope that is…- with grass
“So is Artax saying that since the DLP appointed shitehounds to senior Public Service positions …he has no problem with the BLP appointing shiitehounds to senior Public Service positions?”
The Honourable Bush Tea
Perhaps I have to improve my writing skills because my contributions always seem to be subject to misinterpretation.
Could you please indicate to me where in any of my contributions it was (directly or indirectly) suggested or implied I “have no problem with the BLP appointing shiitehounds to senior Public Service positions” because it was a common practice with the DLP?
Let’s assume you’re referring to Selma Greene…..and in all FAIRNESS to the good lady…….is there any evidence to substantiate the lady is a “shiitehound?”
During her tenure at YES, was there any occasion that her leadership abilities or integrity came into question or under scrutiny?
Does reading the weather news as a “side job” disqualifies her from being appointed as a Deputy PS (if it is true)?
SMH!!!! One must have an extra level of patience when walking through the halls of BU.
RE One must have an extra level of patience when walking through the halls of BU.
THAT IS A GREAT UNDERSTATEMENT SIR!
@ Brother in Arms Bush Tea
I am in full agreement with you relative to these appointments
Ok so let’s say that you have to appoint your girlfriends because of pudendal benefits
And let’s say you have obligations to the lackeys who underwrote your political campaign
Since they all need job security, given that you are firing 2500 by xmas and rehiring 5000 0f your own, what you do is create the Ministry of Planification de ole man talk about, locate it in that nice building de DLP build in St Thomas, give dem nice titles for some sort of Overshite Committee and loss dem way where they can do no harm
Then find the more progressive sniveling servants and put them where they can do advance the country.
But that would indicate true progress wouldn’t it? And we cant have that from leaders who are really fvckups themselves.
Ammmmm Bush Tea, you remember when we was growing up and you step pun a cobbler how candle wax or pee used to trk it out?
When we get de primplers in we botsie cause we ass is grass, what would you recommend to remove de primplers?
And please, diane tell me piss cause not a feller ent giving de ole MSN golden showers at my old age…
PUDRYR
T. Inniss did not have any meaning stance……..his comments were the rantings of a political yard-fowl that believed he had “ammunition” to score cheap political points.
And by your intervention, you ably proved that he did not have any.
If you’re suggesting that there isn’t any available information to use as a benchmark for one to determine if an individual is qualified for a job……
……….then, in the absence of that information, how does one conclude the individual is NOT qualified for the job?
As such, the conclusion is essentially based on assumptions or speculation.
Perhaps you should teach T. Inniss how to strategize before hasting to post rubbish.
Thank you Bush Tea and Piece for your posts.
All that BLP fool Artax did was go on the website and list all the grand sounding things the CEO of YES is supposed to do.
Selma husbands/Greene has no SIGNIFICANT achievements to show of in that position at YES and the BLP Yardfowl Artax CANNOT POINT TO THE TANGIBLE DIFFERENCE SPENDING THAT MONEY TO PAY HER A SALARY OF CEO – MADE TO THE YOUNG PEOPLE OF BARBADOS.
Don’t study the puffed up windbag – he just drunk on the kool Aid and like to come on BU always pompasetting how he is not a BEE – yet always exposing he BLP UNDERWEAR.
In the matter of a few days he with his imaginary brilliance – has accused about 4 bloggers here of being fools – ‘Dishonest Bajan,Mariposa,Hal Austin,T.Inniss and if I had the time to waste and scroll through his posts – I am sure you would find many more.
I usually ignore him because he is what he is and he can’t change and I have low tolerance for fools.However I couldn’t let this nonsense he spouted go unchallenged.
I will not spend my time in no back and forth with no BLP Operatives on this site.
I remember well Caswell Franklyn on this very site – telling us how most of the new permanent Secretaries who David Thompson came and found in 2008 – were hand picked BLP supporters who were placed in that Job by Owen Arthur.
That is why the civil service has been declining so rapidly.
Imagine plucking Selma Husbands out of reading her weather news and placing her as Deputy Permanent Secretary.Shite man soon Ninja Man could put on a red Tee shirt and get there too.
The practice of neutrality in the Public Service rather than appointments based on political considerations is one of the tried and tested principle ( and practice) in the West minister System of governance that has been slowly slipping away.
Men like Sam Headley ,C.E. Edwards etc – Permanent Secretaries who their mere demeanour alone commanded respect – and their breath of knowledge of the operations of the service imbued confidence – yet you had to guess as to whether these men supported the Bee or Dee.
And now we have a girlfriend of Mia – Selma Husbands/Greene as Deputy Permanent Secretary – Murder – wuhloss – and the BLP Yardfowls say – that is a good thing.
“Tourism is our business…..” the slogan says. In today’s Nation newspaper , we read that since we do not have a certified kitesurfing instructor, an application will be made to recruit a non national.
In these days of austerity and widespread job losses , we need to train our people , in all areas of our major industry and try to save every possible job, from the top management to the water sports operator.
Get moving peoples !!!
Not a failed state yet but ……….
RE Imagine plucking Selma Husbands out of reading her weather news and placing her as Deputy Permanent Secretary.
THEN YOU TALK OF “Men like Sam Headley ,…………..– yet you had to guess as to whether these men supported the Bee or Dee.
YOU APPARENTLY DO NOT KNOW THAT SAM HEADLEY WAS PLUCKED FROM TEACHING AT HC BY MR BARROW AND THAT HE WAS A STRONG DEE FROM ST JOHN!
OF COURSE MR HEADLEY’S LEADERSHIP ABILITIES WERE HERALDED FROM HIS DAYS AT THE LODGE SCHOOL…THOUGH NOT NECESSARILY KNOWN TO THE PUBLIC AT LARGE.
WHEREAS SELMA IS WELL KNOWN FOR THE MINUTES SHE PRESENTED THE WEATHER NEWS, OVER THE YEARS……..HER OTHER ABILITIES AND FUNCTIONS ARE SIMILILARLY NOT NECESSARILY KNOWN TO THE PUBLIC AT LARGE.
Sam Headley originated out of St John – and many suspected he was a Dem – but I have heard of instances where he earned the ire of the great skipper Barrow – because he butted heads with him on policies – and no one can truthfully say he operated as a dem – or that he did not maintain the traditions of the Service.
Sam Headley was brought to prominence from his young days at Lodge when he was selected as the head boy – the first black to do so.He was a stubborn old timer – but like him or hate him – no one questioned his competence during his stint in the service.
That is not the reports coming out with Sema’s promotion.
Same can be said of C.E.Edwards who some suspected of being a BEE but was a top class civil servant.
There are many more former P.S. that can be named but those two were the ones that came to mind at this time.
@T.Inniss October 24, 2018 6:44 AM
“All that BLP fool Artax did was go on the website and list all the grand sounding things the CEO of YES is supposed to do.
Selma husbands/Greene has no SIGNIFICANT achievements to show of in that position at YES and the BLP Yardfowl Artax CANNOT POINT TO THE TANGIBLE DIFFERENCE SPENDING THAT MONEY TO PAY HER A SALARY OF CEO – MADE TO THE YOUNG PEOPLE OF BARBADOS.
Don’t study the puffed up windbag – he just drunk on the kool Aid and like to come on BU always pompasetting how he is not a BEE – yet always exposing he BLP UNDERWEAR.”
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Isn’t this a classic case of a ‘yellow’ pot marked “D” calling a ‘red’ kettle branded “B” “black”?
So if Artax has been a “Bee” all along, how should the BU old stagers label you then?
A yellow-belly johnny-come-lately who has just out of the ‘blue’ jump on the bandwagon of permanent criticism of the current ‘red’ administration?
Where were you prior to May24th when the former band of incompetents including their cowardly public sector managers who prostituted themselves by becoming aiders and abettors in financial crimes against the people which have led to the current dire state of fiscal and financial affairs?
Where was your loud-mouth when $300 million of foreign reserves just went missing just after the 2013 general elections and neither the now overly-garrulous Guv nor the MoF could find out which window the money went out as smoke while Greenverbs parked his unlaundered lucre in the same bank for a good cleaning?
Why not do like ac aka Maripokey, or even Fractured BLP, and stop the BU family from ‘assuming’ by raising upfront and centre your yellow flag of partisan political opposition in the air so that none would have any doubt about which choir you have been singing in and which party you have been jumping in all your political life.
We will respect you for that volte-face of honesty since the present administration needs every arrow of criticism in its backside to keep it on the ‘straight and narrow’ given the 30 to zero red wash.
A piece of ‘genuine’ advice from your friendly miller neither “B”, “D” or “SB”; ha-ha, ha ha, hum!!!!!
“Power tends to corrupt and absolute power corrupts absolutely.”
The point to consider is the continued practice of promoting friends and political supporters beyond their competence especially at this time when it is critical for the country to adopt a new way of doing things – by ensuring the most efficient and best suited persons and plans – despite perceived political affiliation – are the ones selected.
Money is scarce,time is limited – and genuine leadership is needed.
I am not yet seeing the things happening which suggest the seriousness at hand has gotten through.
Reading Bishop Artherley in Bdos Today – he is making some good points.
With Mia Mottley every thing is about staging this picture of ‘She Got This’ .So she rushes off and called Christine Legarde the day after elections – and what did she get in the end an insufficient amount of money that can help in turning Bdos around – that is 220 % of the quota to be paid over 4 years – instead of the 350 % of the quota which is normally given over 3 years.
Then as Bishop Artherley stated – this rush to go before the cameras and say we have this or that in place has resulted in major foul ups ;whether it is
1) the abolition of the road tax and replacing it with the Gas Tax – and the about face that had to be made about redunding etc
2) The claim that students effective the new term will get their Tuition paid – only to be told by the Ministry of Education and UWI – THAT NO SUCH THING HAD BEEN PUT IN PLACE
3) The rush to appoint Rawdon Adams and Kay Mcconey as Senators – only to realise they don’t confom to the constitutional provision as it relates to residency requirements – therefore again MIA HAD TO RUSH TO CHANGE THE CONSTITUTION TO FIX THAT
4) The rush to implement the sewage tax on the water bill even before the independent and opposition senators had been given time to read it properly
5) the haste to DEFAULT ON THE DEBT – AND THE RUSH TO CHANGE THE TERMS OF THE INVESTMENT TO THOSE RETIEES AND PENSIONERS WHO INVESTED IN GOVT PAPER.
I keep saying it – and this is made more evident – day by day – that Mia does not know have a clue what she is doing or what should really be done.
(1). “All that BLP fool Artax did was go on the website and list all the grand sounding things the CEO of YES is supposed to do.”
I did not get my information from YES’ website.
But it is clearly evident “All the DLP fool T. Inniss did was to go on a website and list all the grand sounding things a PS is supposed to do.”
(2). “Selma husbands/Greene has no SIGNIFICANT achievements to show of in that position at YES and the BLP Yardfowl Artax CANNOT POINT TO THE TANGIBLE DIFFERENCE SPENDING THAT MONEY TO PAY HER A SALARY OF CEO – MADE TO THE YOUNG PEOPLE OF BARBADOS.”
And likewise, the DLP Yardfowl T. Inniss CANNOT POINT TO anything contrary.
(3). “Don’t study the puffed up windbag – he just drunk on the kool Aid and like to come on BU always pompasetting how he is not a BEE – yet always exposing he BLP UNDERWEAR.”
Similar could be said about you being “ a puffed up wind bag drunk on the on the DLP kool Aid and like to come on BU always pompasetting how you are not a DEE – yet always EXPOSING your DLP UNDERWEAR.”
Whereas you are QUICK to criticize the current administration, while jumping to defend the former inept DLP administration……I CHALLENGE you to present any phrase or statement in any of my contribution that suggests I defend the BLP.
(4). “In the matter of a few days he with his imaginary brilliance – has accused about 4 bloggers here of being fools – ‘Dishonest Bajan, Mariposa, Hal Austin, T.Inniss and if I had the time to waste and scroll through his posts – I am sure you would find many more.”
Present the evidence to this forum where in any of my contributions I referred to the aforementioned individuals as “fools.” (Well, not you…..we all know you’re a fool)
Although, according to you, my brilliance is imaginary…….it far surpasses your level.
(5). “I usually ignore him because he is what he is and he can’t change and I have low tolerance for fools.However I couldn’t let this nonsense he spouted go unchallenged.”
It’s a good thing you don’t read my contributions.
(6). “I will not spend my time in no back and forth with no BLP Operatives on this site.”
But you will spend time writing shiite, which is obviously dictated to you by someone in George Street.
You DLP yard-fowls are weak and you would never take up a challenge.
Again to show how lacking in basic common sense – these ad hoc lay – offs seem to be ;
We have the head the President of CTUSAB – Edwin O’neale – himself a former police officer – who is pointing out that this Govt has proposed sending home some of the clerical staff in the police service – thus putting pressure on the already stretched police officers to take on these civilian,clerical duties.
Commisioner Griffith has already told us that he is 248 police officers short .
Even Mia ‘ I Got This’ Mottley had to admit they bungle this lay off process by sending home persons with over 10 and 12 years service – and had to recall them back to work.
She also admitted that many public workers were sent home without their financial package on the day they were sent home – as had been stated by her ( and is constantly being repeated by Dr Wodroffe )
Mia was preparing to be the FIRST FEMALE PRIME MINISTER – SHE WAS OBVIOUSLY NOT PREPARING HOW TO NAVIGATE THIS FINANCIAL CRISIS – A SITUATION SHE WAS AWARE OF AND HAS BEEN PONTIFICATING ON SINCE 2008.
Can we imagine how she would have had Barbados in an uproar if the last administration had fouled up and bungled up like this ?
A permanent secretary in a government department does not have to be a specialist officer/technician – that is the role of the technocrats. But it is important that the PS has an understanding of the department and its specialist requirements. The same way that a prime minister does not have to be able to do everything in government, but s/he must be able to manage.
In a transparent society, based on merit, ALL public sector jobs should be advertised. I remember a few years ago a young woman at a UK university was offered a public sector job within weeks of graduating. She had no experience. She was subsequently replaced with someone who was about to graduate from a US university.
It is this corruption lite that is a fundamental part of Barbadian culture – getting jobs for the sons and daughters of friends and friends of friends and mistaking qualifications with knowledge, expertise and expertise. A qualification is just the beginning of a career, not the end of learning.
A bigger question is: how can we be making such appointments when we are getting rid of people? Positions are made redundant, not people; who did the government consult before making positions redundant?
Barbados has drifted from an incompetent semi-democratic stat to an autocracy. Barbados is a failed state..
Prime Minister Mia Mottley announced on Friday that her administration would be creating a “level playing field” across the industry, allowing hoteliers to access the concessions the same way in which Sandals was accessing them.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/26/level-up/