Four transformational truths are Timing, Innovation, Strategy and CollaborationThe Elements of Transformation Strategy

There is the proven that individuals and businesses who continually adapt to the environment in which they operate will likely succeed. If we try to fit how the local public sector has been managing its business compared to the private sector and the world it gives currency to the use of the word anachronistic. Prime Minister Mia Mottley has been a frequent user of the word of late.

Unfortunately as part of government’s objective to modernize processes in the public sector, hundreds of low level, low skilled workers have been retrenched. Understandably concerned Barbadians have inquired why send home workers from the bottom if the exercise is about cutting cost? We have to protect the most vulnerable and we will be holding the government to its word that BERT has an adequate safety net included.

Honest Barbadians will admit  however if the public service is to operate efficiently in the current environment there must be a job redesign. We have listened to successive governments braying about improving business facilitation. It is not the fault of the workers although the blogmaster will suggest this is where trade unions- the workers representative- have failed in the last 25 years to strategically add value to the process of nation building.

It is an indictment on the leadership of Barbados that in 2018 government departments still record transactions in ledgers- documents still require the ‘lick’ of a stamp. The blogmaster supports the requirement to urgently transform from the analogue to the digital. Leveraging technology to efficiently deliver services is a no-brainer.  What is difficult to understand is how come successive Barbados governments have invested billions in education per capita and lag scores of other countries that have expended less!

During a recent press conference Sir Hiliary and Eudine Barriteau of the University of the West Indies (UWI) highlighted that the regional university was ranked 591 out of the 1,258 in the  Times Higher Education (THE) World University Rankings. Of interest is that both of them touched on the ‘technology and innovation park‘ which is promised to open in Bridgetown in January 2019.

In the link provided we are informed the facility will house classes to support a Bsc. Software Engineering degree programme and also technology start-up bushiness to conduct research and development in conjunction with students at the UWI. She also revealed that talks have started with Gabriel Abed of Bitt Inc about supporting new tech start ups.  Beckles also shared this is being done with the cooperation of Chinese Universities.

In BU’s most recent blog – Senator Rawdon Adams Sobering Intervention in the Debt Restructure Debate  Adams asked what kind of Barbados do we need to build now that we have dismantled what was to deliver on the kind of life we want (words to this effect).
Barrow presided over an agrarian economy, Tom Adams shifted to a mix of agrarian and services and Owen Arthur went the whole hog by switching out to a services economy. Given the suspicion how the world views jurisdictions that provide services for international business companies there is clearly an urgent requirement to incorporate new business lines to diversify and hopefully spur economic growth. Feedback so far is that the RERE programme is only a baby step in the right direction, it has to go a lot further.  Making Bridgetown a smart city is a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) manifesto promise. Ronald Jones had responsibility for Human Development and innovation. What was achieved in this regard is not worth mentioning. Pushing more ‘coding‘ in schools is a national imperative.
Although mentioning China is a hot button word for many- a hegemonist is a hegemonist- a look at how it has been integrating technology to create opportunities for its people is instructive.

396 responses to “Time to Build Barbados Silicon Valley”

1. I have a relative who does this already as a part time gig on top of her regular job.

There is probably a limitless market for Bajans to teach English, especially spoken English to the children of wealthy Chinese.

And export “product” which does not even require Bajans to leave their house.

2. So here we are at 3.11 am Monday October 22nd with some 200 plus comments and you have one Simple Simon, now returning from her workplace, using the minibuses, make the single most critical statement in response to Bush Tea’s question

Here is a person who by her own admission knows no code nor does she know about Silicon Valley nor all the big talk of Peter lawrence Thompson bout incubator models that can be copied from the internet, coming and answering that question that was posed at the 77th? submission by Bush Tea.

Wunna really understand the extent of this plauge of “class idiots” that Barbados is beseiged with?

When all the big guns can come here with 5 year solutions and a Simple Simon can come and speak to a solution that can be employed tomorrow?

Yet she is not AND I REPEAT NOT one of the people whome the Constitution was changed to IMPORT

And the sheeple go “baaaaaaa….”

De ole man also expects that this comment will not make it to the blog until it is retrieved by the version of the BU BORG who is on duty at this hour (mind you that my comments are being posted immediately on the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch’s blog heheheheheheh)

3. And “no” I don’t have a copyright on my idea. I don’t want one. I am not interested in money. Truthfully, never was. And what am I going to do with money at my age? Make my children and grandchildren so rich that they become bored, aspire to nothing, do nothing, and fill their bored heads qith drugs?

If anybody who loves money more than i do, take the thing and run with it do.

4. And by the way I am wondering if Hal stills feels the same way about the Saudi human rights record as he has expressed in the past?

On August 2nd Canada’s Foreign Minister tweeted “Very alarmed to learn that Samar Badawi, Raif Badawi’s sister, has been imprisoned in Saudi Arabia. Canada stands together with the Badawi family in this difficult time, and we continue to strongly call for the release of both Raif and Samar Badawi.”

Yesterday (Sunday) she has said “The explanations offered [by the Saudi government] to date lack consistency and credibility,”

Angela Merkel said Sunday that her country will halt all exports of weapons to Saudi Arabia while uncertainty surrounds Khashoggi’s death.

I trust that Ms. Freeland and Ms. Merkel are not the only people with balls.

But I want to hear what Hal has to say about the murder of Mr. Khashoggi, and the statement’s of Saudi officials, including the Saudi king.

5. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Simple Simon & Piece,

I have got to disappoint both of you. I know a number of people who teach english as a foreign language both in the UK and outside. A small minority of them are black and they all have the same story. It is a fact that foreigners do not want to learn english from blacks even though their mother tongue might be english. You will be hard pressed to find a black english teacher in China, Japan or in the middle east.

Trust me.

Conversely, for decades we have seen a sizeable number of foreigners who have emigrated to Jamaica to be schooled in reggae music and rastafarism.

6. “Graduates of the University of West Indies Cave Hill campus were today reminded of their responsibility to develop their island states and the Caribbean.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/20/uwi-graduates-urged-to-develop-their-island-states-region/

7. @ Talking Loud Saying Nothing

You have obviously missed the point that I have been making about the “class idiots” which again goes to underscore the same “calss idiots” concept.

Bust Tea some almost 200 posts ago on this article made the salient point about being able to deploy a solution in a way which he likened to geing able to take one of his already growing breadfruit trees as opposed to waiting for 3 years to get the tree bear fruit.

Are you following this?

Concommitantly, with all of the brimlers in the rumshop posting jobby, de ole man asked the questions which was, “when Bush Tea makes reference to the decreased gestation period for his tree how does that parlay into this silicon valley context.

Are you with me still?

250 Plus people have posted here AND THE ONLY PERSON WHO HAS GOTTEN THE IDEA IS SIMPLE SIMON even though she spke to a Chinese/Mandarin/English Instruction by a virtual encounter session, she is the only person who understoood the truncated gestation period that Bush Tea references

Are you still following me?

Please , do not come in at the end of a discussion and put in your mouth IF YOU DO NOT KNOW THE PARTICULARS because it makes one look very stupid amongst the “class idiots” (those are the words of the Honourable Blogmaster not my own ok?)

8. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Piece, I was on my way to work. I had a busy Sunday and was not really following BU. I will check Bush Tea’s comments later on. Have a good day.

9. ” It is a fact that foreigners do not want to learn english from blacks even though their mother tongue might be english. You will be hard pressed to find a black english teacher in China, Japan or in the middle east.”

Ain’t that the truth…I thought that was well known and understood.

I have a friend who speaks french fluently and teaches english as a second language EASA.. via the internet to people in various countries, has been doing it for many years and encounters so many problems that for large stretches of time just tells the clowns to f…off. ..and ignores them.

These days there is no need for online language teachers when Duolingo and Rosetta Stone and etc.., takes care of all of that…I use them daily to keep my language skills current, or to learn a new languagr without having to interact with anyone…one on one…and all the stress that entails.

I could swear when encouragong others in here to briaden their knowledge base…I mentioned Duolingo, more than once,.

The only language I am interested in that they don’t offer is Yoruba….but Africa has its own provisions for access to its languages.

10. I have a friend who speaks french fluently and teaches english as a second language EASL.

11. “Talking loud saying nothing”

The responsibility is upon every citizen of Barbados to development his or her island state and the Caribbean, and not those with academic credentials exclusively”

Dr. King, said over five decades ago that: “One does not need a college degree to serve, or to make his or her subject and verb agree to serve … all he or she needs is a heart generated by love …” And I am paraphrasing now…

12. William Skinner Avatar

@ WARU

Is it amazing that we Bajans always feel we can just jump into things?
    Rather than spout stupidity like “ the lost decade” , we should just admit to the “lost five decades “
    We always seem to think the world was waiting on us or we had some unique right to turn up when and how we like.
    Poor inferior party posturing and inept leadership have been our undoing not the lack of foreign exchange.
    Not a failed country yet but……….

13. Talking loud saying nothing

And I am talking about a man who left the state of Georgia in his early 20s, to pick tobacco in Glantonbury Connecticut to pay for his college education during the summer months.

14. “Poor inferior party posturing and inept leadership have been our undoing not the lack of foreign exchange.
    Not a failed country yet but……….”

The leaders STILL don’t get it, despite Mia’s past I thought she would be the one to hit the ground running, free the people from the 1950s styled mental bondage and free them to get on with the business of growing the country…but 5 months in, no such luck….poor leadership…..so far we are only seeing more of the same, nothing new.

The only upside, they cannot blame the last government, everything going forward will be their cockup…AND SHE ALREADY STARTED WRONG….and the people know it.

15. And if yall think I am joking about Duolingo..

“Duolingo
    duolingo.com
    Duolingo is a freemium language-learning platform that includes a language-learning website and app, as well as a digital language proficiency assessment exam., the language-learning website and app offer 68 different language courses across 28 languages. The app has about 200 million registered users across the world.”

16. No one is waiting for Bajans to decide to finally do something for themselves… the world has long moved on…the task at hand is now for the electorate to free themselves from the their last remaining hold back to growth, progress and free enterprise….the BLP.

One 5 year term is quite sufficient fir this present government and DO NOT EVER give any government going forward longer than 5 years unless they can guarantee the majority population controls their own destiny, their own access to nation and business building, their own tax dollars and pension fund.

…..if a government cannot enable wealth in its own people….but continue to enable THEFT INSTEAD….do not give any government more than 5 years to get any pension…cause they are enabling the THEFT of your PENSION. by their thieving friends, fellow lawyers and crooked minority masters.

Owen the jackass made sure, through legislation, that as long as a government served 2 terms even if they ROBBED the people they still get a pension..

,,. well there is a way around that…if a government serves no more than 5 years in that parliament..,, not one of the ministers can get a pension….no work to uplift ya own people…no pension for any ministers….straight up.

17. Doubt very much that Caswell would be a welcomed guest again on VOB after his acid tongue lashing of govt and a well known “call in” blp supporter
    Lol .Also interesting enough is the deafening silence on BU on Caswell comments from the mouths of blp supporters
    One can’t help but remember when Caswell vocal dislike for govt policies were heard how the blp pounced on Caswell every words as confirmation that past govt was incompetent
    Btw not a fan of Caswell however i enjoyed listening to the lashes he gave present govt

18. I heard some of what Caswell said and it is amazing to me that VOB can have people like Sanka Price masquerading as OBJECTIVE MODERATORS.

When Caswell and Verla Depeiza started to throw licks in the government and show up the lies they were telling – Sanka Price bong in and started loudly putting the argument for government.

SHAME !

Is that the job of a Journalist/Moderator? Well,well,well.

ALL DEY PANTIES EXPOSED.LOLLL

That station needs to clean the stables of the talk show line -up – bring people who can produce,honest,credible information to the public.

Caswell said some things I was hearing for the first time about how the Transport Board was being turned around by the foreign consultant who was brought in .This guy apparently was achieving cost saving benefits through the sourcing of bus parts – but he was being sabotaged by BLP hold outs within the Transport Board and the BLP when they came in was adamant he must go.

Caswell also spoke to the lie by Mia Mottley that the ‘last – in -first -out’ principle would be applied.He said persons who were employed for 12 years were being sent home ahead of junior employees – and these dismissals seemed based on their apparent affiliation to the DLP.

He also said that these were not the typists and stenographers nor only Temporary persons that MIA said she was sending home.

WHAT ELSE DID SHE SAY ? THEY WOULD BE GOING HOME WITH THEIR SEVERANCE PACKAGE IN THEIR HANDS. LOL

She riding dem donkeys real good.

hold em Joe,Hold em Joe,Hold em Joe and don’t let them go.Hahahahaha

This is Barbados in 2018 under Mia Mottley – the one who everyone heralded as though she was the ‘second coming’.

MORE TO COME PEOPLE.

You know what you have but you don’t know what you will get. This is indeed a truism.

19. All those people who were not last in need to do is come forward. Give Caswell permission to publish their names.

20. When Caswell used to write his columns and throw his licks in the last government – everybody within the Blp circles (here and elsewhere) were cheering him on and laughing and clapping.

Now the tables turn and he exposing the wickedness of this lying,dictatorial government – the is not being heralded anymore – and further we are not seeing his comments being used as articles for blogs.Now the BLP yardfowls cussing him.

Signs of a true independent man.He ain’t singing for he supper – NOT FOR SHITE.

21. Even if the issues identified by you are valid, both Belle and Price are correct that we need to move the conversation to the developmental and strategic.

22. Who or what is Orive David?

23. The name was corrected.

24. Yesterday in the midst of Sunday morning traffic – a Coconut Vendor was shot in his stomach just above the Top Rock Roundabout.

Before the evening had ended a man riding his motorbike in Chapman street was shot in the closely built community in public – by assailants driving past him in a car

Where is loud mouth,empty vessel – Dale Marshall. Remember how he was always quick to latch on to any similar tragedy which happened in Barbados.

The hypocrisy of these people is so sickening.Now we can’t hear from Marshall.

But when yuh lie down with dogs yuh must catch fleas.

When yuh feel so emboldened by your 30 -0 win,that you boldly and unashamedly invite 5 known drug lords to the Official Opening of Parliament – to say thanks for getting out yuh vote – well yuh dun know the fellas understand you got dey backs – so dis is how it will be going down.

But we know yuh tell the people – I GOT DIS !

25. What can Dale Marshall say and do that Adriel Brathwaite could not accomplish? The crime we are witnessing is a symptom of a decadent society. It will get worse.

The solution will not be supplied by the political class. The nature of adversarial politics breeds what we are witnessing. We have Jamaica as a good case study.

26. And by the way I am wondering if Hal stills feels the same way about the Saudi human rights record as he has expressed in the past?(Quote))
    @ Simple Simon,

Are you bonkers are just plain stupid? Have you or anyone ever heard me talking about Saudi human rights, in public or private? This is not just a smear, it is a malicious and brain dead smear.
    Like lots of Bajans, you are jumping on something one of the B|U regulars missed interpreted and are repeating it without having read – or understood – the original..
    The original was by Sargeant, I think it was, relating to the Canadian foreign minister, a former Financial Times journalist and was connected to a specific intervention by the Canadians. Similar to the attempted intervention by the dozy Canadians and EU about same sex marriages in Barbados. Get your facts right, buffoon.
    I would normal ignore such nonsense, but as I said then, the Saudis are the founders of Wahhabism; would I in a month of Sundays ever talk about Wahhabi human rights, you stupid thing.

27. Who is the “We” Belle and Price is speaking of
    Govt has a deck full of high priced consultants whose job is to strategize and develop plans that would move barbados economy into a positive direction
    All other sh.it noise made yesterday to cover govt a.ss should be an indication that govt policies would not work
    Therefore Sanka and Belle mouthings come across as an appeal not to be crtical of govt

28. For God’s sake, the last administration was horrible! I voted for them and I admit they were HORRIBLE. Let us move on. We are assessing this administration and will surely admit that they are HORRIBLE if they so prove to be over a period of time. And I and many others voted for them not because we thought Mia would be a saviour but because we had to rid ourselves of these OBVIOUS FAILURES and make a new start. We thought that Mia and Co. could at least see that the golden goose was on her death bed and that they would therefore apply CPR until a new dispensation could be developed. We are under NO ILLUSIONS about the character of the RECYCLED ONES. We are watching and waiting AXE IN HAND!

For God’sake, let us move on!

29. “The app has about 200 million registered users across the world.”

Piece…that is 200 million registered users like myself…who speak several languages,

30. Like Belle correctly stated the climate is ripe for partisans to be critical. We have to accept that there are people will criticize for the sake of it, it does not ignore the reality. If elections were held tomorrow the result would be 40-0.

31. William Skinner Avatar

Coupled with the apologists and decadent political class , that you (David) attempt to prop up on a daily basis, there is no hope to fix anything.
    The call for national togetherness , now known as : “ we are all in this together “ will fall on deaf ears.
    The country is highly polarized because we like it so.
    The simple truth is that if you tell a man wife to lef he because he is beat she and she lef and come with you and the licks ain’t stop and you tell she that she accustom to licks so she should not complain the next stop for dat woman is to kill you before she end up in the cemetery.
    Not a failed country yet but……..

32. A criminal trying to catch criminals make the devil laugh

33. A criminal trying to catch criminals make the devil laugh

34. The country is polarized because we practice a system of government that by design breeds adversarial politics. What is transpiring in Barbados is not unique if compared to other places. Even in the great USA where you live it is present. Stop making the challenges we face about Bajans being the most stupid people on earth.

#gadfly

35. And where do u David think we should move “onto” after fifty years of borrowing there is no where to move on to but a continual downward spiral of more borrowing and collecting huge debt
    The bottom line being govts have become masters of our own fate

36. This topic is about bouncing ideas where the opportunities for growth can be discovered. Are you able to add to the discussion?

37. @David
    The solution will not be supplied by the political class. The nature of adversarial politics breeds what we are witnessing.
    Whoa David yuh got me reeling, I can’t figure if you mean that yesterday’s incidents were due to adversarial politics or that we don’t expect our elected politicians to provide remedies to reduce crime.

Looking forward to your explanation……..

38. @Sargeant

We live in a time where the boundary has become blurred between the political class and citizens engaged in questionable (?) behaviors. You are smart enough to understand the point. Corruption is gnawing our tiny societies and we pretend it does not exist because our manufactured perception indices lust acceptable numbers.

39. If you have to compare Mia’s talk and no action – one simply can’t just move on – but one must look at what was criticsed and what was promised – and first show the deceit and the obvious attempt to pull wool over people’s eyes.

One must then boldly shout from the roof top – that you are pissing in my face and calling it rain.

One must seek to let holders of ministerial /parliamentary positions as well as aspirants to these positions understand – THAT WE SICK AND FED UP OF THE SAME OLE SAME ! Wasn’t this the cry Mia chanted like a modern day pied piper to the the gullible followers when she march them up and down like the Grand ole Duke of York?

The Media is covering up for this government and right now – we badly need people like Caswell Franklyn to expose the rot AND NOT JUST MOVE ON.

40. The media is doing what it always do, allow itself to be manipulated by people with money and influence. It does not change the underlying issues.

41. The media is doing what it always do, allow itself to be manipulated by people with money and influence. It does not change the underlying issues.(Quote)

Proof.

42. @David
    We live in a time where the boundary has become blurred between the political class and citizens engaged in questionable (?) behaviors
    ++++++++++++
    That is a very strong statement when related to Bim, if the two main political parties are courting known criminals then we are further along the road to purgatory than I anticipated. This is where I would expect caring citizens and/or civic/religious bodies to stand up and be counted. When is the new Dean Crichlow going to emerge?

43. @Sargeant

Sadly this is what it is. Have you ever wondered why we have never arrested anybody for money laundering? Why the political class has shown no appetite to pursue campaign financing discovery activities/laws?

44. @ David
    Occasionally I read a whole lot about Singapore and the USA on this blog. I guess those who comment , including you, live in those countries.
    You are the one who was preaching about accountability over and over. If someone says there is a problem in our country and you reply it is also rampant in Jamaica or USA, that makes no sense.
    It is people like you who think that others are stupid or oblivious to your puerile attempts to defend those, who are supposed be accountable.
    I have witnessed on this blog, your attempts to shutdown Mariopsa who is doing nothing more than her cousins on the other side we’re going for donkey years .

45. The media has fallen victim to the koolaid
    There is nothing much they can say to crticise govt

46. Your lack of comprehension is unbelievable. The comparison with other countries in our peer group is to show the enormity of the task at hand and that it is a regional challenge. This point counters your and the other gadfly who lose only line is that Barbados is a failed state. If it is then leave us alone.

Who is shutting down ac? The blogmaster will run the blog based in our best judgement. No apology!

47. Now to you, Piece,

This sheep has simple suggestions that have already been touted ALL OVER THE PLACE by rum shop people and experts alike. I leave you non sheep to come up with revenue earning activities. I can see many areas that we can cut our expenditure. These are SIMPLE, COMMON SENSE SOLUTIONS that have never been acted upon and it seems WILL NEVER be acted upon because they require a change in mind set and thinking that will require not a “GLOBAL EXTREME WEATHER DAY” (Good one, Bushie!) but a sustained, co-ordinated grass roots campaign that goes on long after the cameras have gone away.

We have cultivated bad ideas and hence habits that need to be be broken. We want to be the USA, Canada and other large European countries. We don’t want to be Barbados. We have “champagne tastes on mauby pockets.” We want to live a lifestyle beyond our resources. And we don’t want to work for it! We want a clean environment but we want somebody to clean up the mess after us. We want government to help us after the flooding we helped to cause etc. etc. etc.

Habits don’t change overnight so I do not have a breadfruit tree ready to bear. But I believe that instead of having a ‘GLOBAL….. DAY” we could have an imaginative, SUSTAINED, community campaign just a few workers in EACH parish building relationships of trust for as many years as it takes instead of the sporadic efforts that land us right back where we started. These workers would go TO the villages and not wait for the villagers to come to them.

The same goes for our expenditure on chronic diseases. An imaginative, SUSTAINED, community campaign with just a few workers in each parish getting people more active for as many years as it takes to change the culture. These workers would come to the villages instead of waiting for the villagers to come to them. They could organise and facilitate the activities.

We should also be seeking to reduce our food import bill and switch to renewable energy.

This is, of course, on top of grass roots workers getting out there trying to encourage us to think about our national identity – where we came from, who we are and who we want to be. Regular village events seeking (over a period of time) to emancipate us from mental slavery because I find we black people still believe white is better. We still see the world through their eyes and we define success from their perspective.

We are NEVER going to be as good as the white man at being white. We have to be who we are.

Forgive me for being a bit disjointed but I am tired of long-winded talk that produces nothing.

48. Did any one see Patrick King live meltdown Live on social media in his verbal attack on Caswell
    Enough to make one vomit.

49. Extracted from Facebook page – Social Accountability and Education in Barbados

Duane Burke shared a link.

At a recent networking session I met a Bajan who went to Canada during his pre-teen years. He is trying to start a blockchain Company here. He was having major trouble setting it up here. He had to leave and go back to Canada without a company here. He is launching this month in Canada and basically advised that he does not believe here is the place for his business.

Last year when we did the session with Shannon Clarke and Gabriel Abed I believe it was about 5 ICO’s which had to source a different location.

Since then Bermuda saw fit to enlist the services of Gabriel. There are quite a few very knowledgeable guys in this field from “‘bout hey”.

One day we will be ready for Prime Time and not be overweighted by layers of Bureaucracy and Red Tape. Hopefully it won’t be too late and the only thing left is sea water and sand.

About This Website
    venturebeat.com
    Bermuda’s pro-crypto government is winning over startupsBlockchain innovators are finding sanctuary in Bermuda thanks to the…

50. I recall some people calling Caswell a BLP yardfowl.

Try criticizing without always making mention of how this government compares with the last. I understand your position on pointing out the measures taken to date perhaps conflicting with promises made, but you come across like a partisan hack. I too have some issues with the way things have unfolded thus far. For instance, I think restructuring is a much broader exercise than the dismissal of random people. I will await the proper restructuring of the SOEs. I await the relief for the pensioners who invested their life savings in Government instruments. I have not done the calculations necessary to determine if the Government has voted an increase in ministers’ salaries after taxes and so I cannot yet comment. I wait too to see if those dismissed workers will be assisted in a way to allow them not to fall into poverty. That is, as long as they are willing to help themselves. But mostly I await the publishing of the list of corruption as alluded to by the Prime Minister. Whose contract was renewed on the eve of the election long before it had expired? Whose million dollar invoice was settled on the eve of the election? Whose invoices were obviously inflated? Only then would I believe that they are serious about dealing with corruption.