Since Adam was a lad talking heads in Barbados have lamented the lack of cooperation, planning and collaboration between various players in the sectors to GROW strong relationships. The evidence has been a lack of horizontal ‘integration strategies’ between agriculture and other areas of the economy.

Our inability as a collective was exposed after Sandals Barbados received carte blanche to import several commodities, including rum and furniture, after receiving a washpan of concessions by government. Here was an opportunity missed to insist Sandals agree to procure specific commodities from local suppliers. What is equally disappointing is that actors in the private sector tamely accepted the arrangement.

Another example of our lack of commitment to maximise opportunities for local industry was exposed this week. CEO of the Barbados Agriculture Society (BAS) James Paul was in the news BEGGING various players in the retail and hospitality sectors to meet with the BAS to ensure suppliers of local product can efficiently plan for the increase demand with a major cricket event to be held in Barbados in June.

Paul made the good point that there has been a laissez faire, reactive approach (blogmaster’s words) historically shown by retailers because successive governments have been quick to approve import permits for items that are produced in Barbados – and with commonsense planning demand could have been met. Surely relevant government ministries and agencies; Agriculture, Small Business, Finance should seize on being proactive in the national interest.

Then again, there is reported (boasted about by the talking heads) of over 3 billion dollars in international reserves, why bother, easy come, easy go. Does the average Joe Bajan understand the price Barbadians have had to pay to accumulate 3 billion in reserves? Think 2018 debt restructure, think mismanagement and lack of accountability and transparency of national resources. The Mottley government and supporters pat themselves on the back BUT it is the taxpayer who continues to pay the debt price.

The challenge we continue to experience in Barbados is the non existence of LEADERS in the public and private sectors. There is a crisis of leadership. A leader’s main job is to inspire others to get the job done, a job that is hitched to a relevant vision driven by well managed objectives. In this case in the national interest. Every Barbadian must develop a mindset that elevates national interest at the expense of narrow silly partisan perspective and self interest. It must be replaced by innovative, creative and dispassionate thinking, for the sake of the children.

In a related matter – why in February we are hearing that sugar workers, through the Barbados Worker’s Union, are about the ensure the 2024 crop season is further delayed? Why is the matter of remuneration a pain point at this late stage? Isn’t 2024 meant to be a transformative year for the sector taking on new ownership? What the hell is going on!

33 responses to “We have to hold hands, we must!”

1. https://ageconsearch.umn.edu/record/263668/?ln=en

The yam (Dioscorea!l!1!) is a staple, low priced carbohydrate foodstuff in Barbados and currently some 15,000 tons are produced annually as a cash crop from land which is in preparation for sugar cane. An export trade has been started, which has considerable potential. Planting of yams has hitherto normally been at 5 ft. x 5 ft. (25 sq. ft. per plant), the same as for sugar cane, but experiments in the 1965-66 season have clearly demonstrated that on a wide range of soils and under a 􀀀r􀀀a􀀀~􀀀g􀀀e of rainfall conditions, closer spacing would give higher yields per acre. In fact, no competition between plants could be detected until the territory per plant was reduced to 15 to 20 sq. ft.: at higher planting densities the yield per plant and the size of tubers was diminished (the smaller, better-shaped tubers resulting were more desirable for export), but the yield per acre increased within the, range of the experiment, i.e. 1,400 to 8,000 plants per acre. In commercial practice it appeared that anywhere in Barbados a density of about 3,500 plants per acre would be practicable for preparation land and would give substantially higher yields than are currently obtained.

15,000 tons of yams per year in the colonial period and 200,000 tons of sugar!!

“The production of yams of Barbados fell gradually from 7,766 t in 1973 to 989 t in 2022.”

We scrape a little 10,000 tons of sugar per year these days!!

What a disaster Independence has been for Barbados!!

2. And there I was thinking you were in useful mode, but I see that you are in racist mode still!

We are, almost all of us, living better than we were before independence. So I see no disaster here. A people struggling to free the mind of the horrors of white domination and colonialism is what I see!

And, from what I see going on in England, the myth of white superiority will soon magically disappear like so!

England is a right ruddy mess! Nothing is working. Parliament is almost as silly as the House of their American allies. Corruption and scandals are EVERYWHERE!

And a whole lot of ugly men in dresses are legally stalking little girls in bathrooms, changing rooms and showers.

If we were still a colony, nuff nuff Bajan fathers would be getting lock up fuh murder!

3. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

@DAVID

If you thought the world was going to hell in a pan-cart – spare a thought for “EUROPE” as can be seen in the VT below:

CHAOS>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

4. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

MAYBE THIS UPCOMING “CRISIS” WILL CAUSE CARIBBEAN LEADERS TO GROW SOME GONADS & SAY “NO” TO THE GLOBALISTS – IF NOT, WE WILL BE SEEING SIMILAR PROTESTS IN CARIBBEAN COUNTRIES & AROUND THE WORLD…

#WatchFoodPricesIn2024

#StayTuned

5. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

The #MockingbirdMedia is in a state of rigo-mortis (the #4thStageOfDeath) when supermarket shelves are “EMPTY” and MMM does not report on it…

If as predicted, 2024 will be cataclysmic year for the world economy – why are insufferable “HUMANS” being lulled ack to sleep???

European Central Bank is predicting “BANK RUNS” this year…

Jerome Powell (FED CHAIR) declared that USGOV spending unsustainable as the economy is in trouble…

90% of banks are “CASHLESS” and at serious risk of potential #JunkStatus (2008/9) all over again – this time on anabolic steroids!!!

MASSIVE LAYOFF* & almost 140% decrease in the US jobs market!!!

Western “BANKSTER ELITES” looking to seize $300 Billion of Russian/Vladimir Putin’s assets that will instigate “ONE OUTCOME” – #WW3 & a #NuclearStrike (either on OTAN/NATO Europe or United States)!!!

Everything is being “TURNED ON ITS HEAD” – EVERYTHING” is #Going2Hell

6. It’s really frightening as a farmer. No seed depository. Low economies of scale. Even Bajan cruise ship companies taking over plantations to provide food to home porters, leaving local farmers blue. Inadequate access to loans. Extremely high interest rates for loans after putting up major security. Poor seed varieties. Thanks to fogging beneficial pollinators are decreasing. Spoilage and massive wastage due to seasonal gluts in the absence of agro-processing.

While Massy buys IGA for US$49M.

7. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

OFF-TOPIC

#BreakingNews

The #9SupremeCourtJustices weigh in on the Colorado Supreme Court Decision to “STRIKE” Trump from the ballot…

8. Donna on February 8, 2024 at 12:07 PM said:

And there I was thinking you were in useful mode, but I see that you are in racist mode still!

Flattery will get you nowhere!!

9. Trump should be vindicated, we’ll find out next week Friday.

Mark Levin called this months ago when the 14th amendment was first mooted so I wouldn’t be surprised if the Colorado decision is overturned 9-0.

10. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

#BreakingNews

OFF-TOPIC

The long awaited “INTERVIEW” between #TuckerCarlson & #RussianPrez_VladimirPutin streaming as we speak…

11. At least Putin looks healthy!!

He has a different take on the start of WWII and the Stalin/Hitler pact.

12. @TB

Reading the tea leaves in the global market how can small open economies like Barbados navigate the turbulence to ensure best results? This is where some of our grey matter should be focused as well?

13. A man who was well ahead of the game.

What he has been saying for ages has come to pass.

He is a constitutional expert so knows what he is talking about and knows when others are talking tripe.

14. William Skinner Avatar

Sometime, when we wake up , we would realize the unique culture of the Caribbean and realize, perhaps reluctantly, that our only hope is a Caribbean state.
    For all the juxtaposing, pseudo intellectualism and other distractions, we are still borrowing, genuflecting and selling our political and cultural souls, to our former masters, ignoring the old adage: once bitten twice shy.
    We have literally abandon the real and obvious challenge, and pretend that we are moving forward when in fact , we seem to be regressing at an alarming pace.
    But, when confronted with the simple question: have we escaped physical slavery and replaced it with mental slavery, we fumble rather than answer.
    A clear analysis , will show that the divide and rule foundation , is still being used and we appear to ignore that simple fact.

15. A United Caribbean Avatar
    A United Caribbean

A United Caribbean should also become a member state of a United Africa.
    Freed Black English and French speaking nations who are no longer slaves to a culture from a Lilly White Brotherhood.

16. 14th amendment second section Avatar
    14th amendment second section

The 14th amendment second section’s reference to “rebellion, or other crime” has been invoked as a constitutional ground for felony disenfranchisement.

Constitutional problems occur in AmeriKKKa when Supreme Court Judges are politically bent and ignore the underlying question of whether Trump committed an insurrection or not.

17. Sometime, when we wake up , we would realize the unique culture of the Caribbean and realize,

Xxxxxxxxxxxx

SIR WITH NO DISRESPECT THE ABOVE IS NONSENSE CARIBBEAN CULTURE WAS DEVELOPED FROM COLONIAL SLAVERY SAME AS BLACK AMERICAN CULTURE.

THE DISCONNECT IS WITH AFRICA. I AM CURRENTLY IN TANZANIA DAR ES SALAAM A CITY WITH MODERN BUILDINGS INCLUDING SKYSCRAPERS AND MALLS WITH A POPULATION OF 6 MILLION PEOPLE WHICH WOULD MAKE ANY ISLAND LOOK LIKE FIFTH WORLD AND CAN RIVAL ANY MAJOR US CITY.

THE STREETS ARE EXTREMELY CLEAN IN A COUNTRY OF 60 MILLION. I SEE GROUPS OF 20 MEN AND MORE IN MY LOCAL COMMUNITY ABOUT 45 MINUTES DRIVE FROM THE AIRPORT GATHER DAILY, NO FIGHTING CUSSING OR SMELL OF DRUGS.

SCHOOL CHILDREN WEAR UNIFORMS DEPENDING ON THEIR SCHOOL. ALL FEMALES LIKE THE BOYS GOING TO GOVERNMENT SCHOOLS HAVE TO WEAR THEIR HAIR SHORT LILE THE BOYS WHICH IS SEVERAL MILLION A YEAR BETWEEN THE AGES OF 5 TO 17/18. NO BAD BEHAVIOUR OBSERVED AMONG THEM AND ARE MOSTLY HUMBLE.

THEY HAVE EVERYTHING AND MORE THAN WHAT THE CARIBBEAN HAS INCLUDING BEACHES, SAFARIS AND RAW MINERALS.

THE PEOPLE ARE TRADITIONAL AND HUMBLE IN THEIR BEHAVIOUR.

WHAT IS LOST AMONG BLACKS IN The WEST IS THE DISCONNECT WITH THE MOTHERLAND HAVING BEEN BRAINWASHED BY THE WHITE MAN.

IF I DIDN’T COME TO TANZANIA I WOULD STILL BE LIVING IN THE SAME DARKNESS LIKE MOST OF US IN THE WESTERN WORLD WHO IS BLACK OR BROWN.

18. I SHOULD ALSO LET YOU KNOW THAT AMONG THE 60 MILLION BLACK TANZANIANS THERE ARE MORE THAN 150 TRIBES HOWEVER UNDER A FEMALE PRESIDENT THEY BEHAVE AS TANZANIAN FIRST AND LIVE AMONGST THEMSELVES HUMBLY AND PEACEFUL.

IN MY COMMUNITY THERE ARE PEOPLE FROM AT LEAST 20 OF THOSE TRIBES ONE CANNOT TELL THE DIFFERENCE AS THEY ALL DRESS THE SAME AS WE DO IN THE WESTERN WORLD.

WITH THE EXCEPTION OF THE ZULUS WHO MOSTLY WEAR THEIR TRIBAL GOWN CLOTHING WHERE THEY GO.

HOWEVER EVERYONE BEHAVES IN A RESPECTABLE AND PEACEFUL MANNER WHETHER DAY OR NIGHT AMONGST THEMSELVES AND I HAVE FELT VERY WELCOMED AS A FOREIGNER EVERYWHERE I GO.

I AM YET TO GO ANYWHERE AND HEAR LOUD MUSIC WHETHER IN PUBLIC OR COMING OUT OF ANY VEHICLES.

LESS MURDERS PER 100,000 THAN ANY ISLAND IN THE CARIBBEAN.

ONE FEELS SAFE WHEREVER EVER ONE GOES IRREGARDLESS OF DAY OR NIGHT. MODERN HOUSES, MODERN CITIES, TECHOLOGY AND EVERYTHING ELSE WE ARE USED TO IN THE WEST YET HUMBLE PEOPLE.

19. I AM ALSO YET TO SEE ANY MALE WEARING THEIR PANTS HANGING BELOW THEIR ASSES OR THEIR HAIR PLAITED/BRAIDED LIKE A WOMAN LIKE I HAVE SEEN IN THE USA OR CARRIBBEAN

20. William Skinner Avatar

@ Baje
    All culture is evolutionary and the Caribbean has evolved into what progressive thinkers such ss Llyod Best and others have even referred to the Caribbean civilization that evolved and continues to evolve from what was , and in some cases remain, the slavery/colonial period of the literal destruction of our people. As you have correctly mentioned ; the similarities of the Black American culture, which is also historically correct ,but that culture continues to be evolutionary.

21. have even referred to the Caribbean civilization that evolved and continues to evolve from what was , and in some cases remain, the slavery/colonial period of the literal destruction of our people

Xxxxxxxxxxxx

AS EDUCATED AS I AM AND AS WELL TRAVELLED I TOO HAS BEEN A PART OF THE NEGATIVE BRAINWASHING IN THE WEST.

I THOUGHT AFRICA WAS BACKWARD AND INFERIOR.

HOWEVER EVERYWHERE I GO I SEE NICE MODERN HOMES, BUSINESSES ETC BEAUFUL CLEAN CITY & STREETS, AND LARGE COSMOPOLITON MALLS.

THESE PEOPLE ARE LACKING NOTHING THAT THE WEST HAVE.

YET THEY ARE VERY HUMBLE.

CARIBBEAN AND OTHER BLACKS NEED TO GET BACK TO OR AT LEAST VISIT THE MOTHERLAND.

THEN AND ONLY THEN WILL THEY FIND THE TRUE CONNECTION AND REALIZE WHY THE WHITE MAN WAS SO SUCCESSFUL IN THEIR DIVIDE AND RULE.

22. Whoever expected that Colorado disqualification decision to stand is a fool. I could have argued that case and won. Stupid! Notice that even left-leaning Ketanji Brown was on the right side.

But…..

I also expect that not even a right-wing looney Supreme Court will grant Trump the king status of total immunity.

As it is, unless the madman Trump is convicted of something, I expect that he will be president in 2025.

There is no denying that Biden has edged ahead of Trump in the dementia department.

I recall that he had said he would be a one-term president. I expected his wife to be sensible. Apparently, they have become addicted to the power and trappings of the White House.

We should prepare for a Trumpty Dumpty fall of America!

23. A good thing I never fell for the white supremacist narrative. Not since watching westerns on Saturday morning television.

It was always obvious that their tales were twisted.

24. Understanding the dimension of time. Is it linear or circular? Avatar
    Understanding the dimension of time. Is it linear or circular?

Is time a straight line or a circle?
    From the perspective of birth and death, time is a linear quantity.
    Western thought subscribes to the linear model of time.
    In contrast, Eastern traditions look at time as a circular concept, and this has been the case since time immemorial.

What is the circular time theory?
    Under the circular time orientation, in contrast, time is not perceived as a straight line stretching from the distant past to the far future, but rather, it is seen as a circular system in which the same events are repeated according to some cyclical pattern

American Civil War:
    12 Apr 1861 – 9 Apr 1865

1866 14th Amendment
    1869 15th Amendment
    1964 MLK/X Civil Rights
    2008 44th Obama
    2016 45th Trump
    2020 46th Biden

2024 America is on the brink of another civil war
    this one fuelled by Donald Trump
    boogaloo movement
    far-right anti-government extremists

25. Back to Africa Movement Avatar
    Back to Africa Movement

The first prophet for Black Empowerment was Marcus Garvey, with a Back to Africa Movement.

MLK was more about Blacks not going back to Africa and staying in America with equal rights.

While the civil rights movement fought against racial segregation, Malcolm X advocated the complete separation of African Americans from Whites. He proposed that African Americans should return to Africa and that, in the interim, a separate country for Black people in America should be created.

Recommended Television
    The fourth season of GENIUS will explore the lives, legacies and dueling philosophies of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Malcolm X. Under King’s visionary leadership. A frequent critic of King’s civic-minded approach, Malcolm X argued forcefully for Black empowerment, identity and self-determination. Though they came from markedly different backgrounds and met only once, King and Malcolm X are synonymous with the Civil Rights era they came to define, two sides of the same coin.

26. Donna
    on February 9, 2024 at 2:03 PM said:

I could have argued that case and won. Stupid! Notice that even left-leaning Ketanji Brown was on the right side.

You aren’t even licensed to practice up that side, you could only be fooling yourself.

The lady you refer to cannot even define a woman, complete idiot.

27. @J2, enuff, Lorenzo

Thorne
    I mentioned earlier that I like this man. I did not like the company he kept but I felt he had integrity. He stood firmly with those who elected him.

Being a good man is hard. At some stage your core values makes it hard to sleep with scoundrels.

28. Silly Johnny,

I’m not licensed to practise here either, but I remember getting it right with our dearly departed Justice Jeff on Sunday mornings.

All the valid arguments that were made by the lawyers were the arguments I made myself.

Obviously, I wouldn’t have been allowed to present them myself.

You believe too much in papers when all you need in some cases is to be able to read, understand and reason.

You should ask my own lawyer! I had to convince her of an argument in my own personal injury case which she researched and found to be completely valid. She even said she thought a seminar needed to be conducted because she knew many lawyers who were unaware.

Pure reasoning, Johnny!

Ain’t it funny how Alina Habba has papers, yet even Trump’s ex-lawyers call her a fool.

And Justice Jackson has more papers. Yet you call her a complete idiot!

You should learn to tell the truth, Johnny. The definition of what a woman is under the law is in a state of flux in the USA, and is therefore very controversial and contentious. Hence her reluctance to weigh in.

29. In the above argument / reasoning
    Donna is the man
    John is the woman

30. By the way, Johnny. are you licensed to practise here?

Yet you fancy yourself a constitutional scholar!

Murdaaaaah!

31. Dub,

I will take that in the spirit in which it was intended.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

You were referring to the stereotypes.

And yes, my emotions are usually born of reason, and not the other way around.

I think first and feel after.

32. Mottley wants Bajans to separate fact from fiction

BARBADIANS need to separate fact from fiction, says Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley.

Addressing a Barbados Labour Party Christ Church East branch meeting at St Christopher Primary School on Sunday, she made reference to those who staged a protest march last Saturday against sections of the Cybercrime Bill, 2024.

“None of us have stopped anybody from marching or talking in this country, that is our way, but the rules [concerning] libel and defamation have been there long before the Cybercrime Bill and will be there long after, because we live in a world which says we can live in a society so long as we respect each other’s rights.

“The golden rule is ‘do onto others as you would have them do onto you’ . . . but I understand some people need to create fiction to generate a following. That is for them to occupy themselves with, but we have a mission and we have purpose and let it be said that while we are not perfect, we have never abused the mandate the people have given to the BLP,” she said.

Mandate

Member of Parliament for Christ Church East Central Ryan Straughn added: “We will execute the mandate the people elected us to do. You will have disagreements and people protesting for things that don’t exist. They say they want freedom and are there in The City protesting, but nobody checking for them. It is the most bizarre thing – you are protesting, [you have the freedom to protest], yet saying you want freedom – the two things don’t mesh.”

Mottley also responded to those she said were calling radio programmes complaining about Barbados being heavily taxed.

Taxation

“You hear all this talk going about how this is the greatest level of taxation . . . but some people are looking to construct fiction from fact. We took a position that we would seek to put money back into people’s pockets . . . but you can hear on the call-in programmes that this is the most taxed time . . . . A handful of people given free rein on the radio,” she said, calling on party supporters to also take to the airwaves to help them separate fact from fiction.

The Prime Minister said they had unfolded a level of tax reform in 2019 which they maintained today, except for corporation tax, which was still lower than it used to be.

She said those who earned $2 080 or less a month now qualified for a reverse tax credit; those who earned from $2 080 to around $3 000 were refunded taxes paid; those who earned higher still benefited from tax cuts, and residential homeowners whose properties were valued less than $300 000 were exempt from land tax.

All this occurred, she added, during an International Monetary Fund programme, natural disasters and geopolitical factors.

(CA)