drakes
Opposition Senator Crystal Drakes – Economist

The blogmaster listened to the contributions of Opposition Senators Caswell Franklyn andย  Crystal Drakes yesterday and it caused the blogmaster to pause about the state of the country in 2018.

No surprise that Caswell’s response was pro labour and questioned why public sector workers are being sacrificed by BERT instead of pursuing other options. Caswell also made the point that the BLP made all kinds of unrealistic campaign promises despite the perilous state of the economy. Senator Caswell you negated your argument with your observation.

Senator Crystal Drakes clinically used numbers which her training as an economist influenced to question the decision to default on debt and the validity of revenue projections based on BERT extracting one billion in taxes from the economy by her calculation. Again Senator Drakes although earning points for being articulate failed in her presentation to connect some important dots. What are the underlying issues that caused Barbados to be the third highest indebted country in the world Senator? Has BERT addressedย  those underlying concerns?

caswell_franklyn
Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

A suggestion from the blogmaster to the Prime Minister and her Jong led Communicationsย  Team is to go back to basics with the message. What are the key performance indices we have to turn around and the behaviours at the household and business level that must be modified to trigger real change to sustain a quality of life.

The blogmaster is a fan of the Financial Stability Report 2017 and lifted a few of the graphs that capture the economic performance of Barbados in recent years.

Commercial bank spreads - 2017
This graph is interesting given the accusations levelled at banks and exorbitant fees being charged. 1)Interest income on loans dipped a ‘little’ since 2012. 2)The interest spread moved UP since 2015 which coincides with central bank’s decision to not set a minimum rate on savings deposits. 3) Interest expense on deposits dropped to 0%.

credit card transaction - 2017
A central bank report confirmed that Barbadians racked up 347 million in debt up to 2017. This graph supports the spectacular rise in debt from 2008 which correlates with the value of credit card transactions in both the personal and business sectors.
credit cards issued - 2017
A picture is worth a thousand words who said? See the spike in credit cards issued from 2015!
currency in circulation - 2017
The upward trend of currency in circulation rose from 2005 to coincide with the cooling off of the global economic boom cycle and continued more aggressively in the post 2008 period to covers the start of the global recession in 2007/8.
International Reserves - 2017
It is worth mentioning the former government inherited 1.8 billion or 20 weeks of import cover in foreign reserves and when they were booted from office the reserves had dwindled to 6 weeks and about 400 million dollars.
net interest margin - 2017
This graph is interest for a number of reasons. Will allow the BU intelligentsia to share why this is the case.
total credit card debt % of toal loans
Another interest graph when we plunk a trendline on it. What can we say about household behaviour in Barbados from 2007?
public debt
See what happens when the printing press doesn’t switch off?

The adage a picture is worth a thousand words holds true.

227 responses to “Barbadians Wake Up, Time to Take Back Our Country from Ourselves”

1. Dishonest Bajans

Why would you encourage the youths of Barbados to leave their nation rather than stand and develop It up? You think you could say that to the youths of America?

2. Some of you insist of trying to hijack every topic with USA issues. The blogmaster has no problem with giving commenters latitude to discuss other issues but there is a limit. This applies to those who are employing multiple monikers believing they are smart. Final warning.

3. David

The blog ought to be the marketplace for the free exchange of ideas, so therefore, any digress from the topic before deliberation must not be view as distraction by the blogmaster or anyone, but as a means of enhancing the collegiate discourse.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

I am agreed with your sentiment vus a visit all the American cross chatter unless it is germane to the subject matter

@ Brother in Arms Bush Tea

We have moved from 75 comments to 150 comments and the brimlers still are tied up with idiocy and have not come to the meat of the matter.

Peter Lawrence Thompson sought to advertise his services during the exercise but not a feller sought to use the BU platform to share and concrete ideas so the ole man will submit some critical elements for any Creativity and Innovation engagement.

The first step in the Intake process is a “SCOPE OF ASK” between the provider and the client(s)

The following is solely for instructional purposes only but should define and detail what the client has asked the Innovator and Creativity Provisioner for I.e. to assist them with a variety of conceptualization and intellectual property matters.

Such may include helping the client to create, protect and commercialise their rights variously and should also cover any future general intellectual property and related advice.

It is critical to define a two way flow of Intellectual Property Assets AT COMMENCEMENT

I would go into further detail on this but it would get too heavy for the sheeple who around not are saying “baaaaaa…”

It is critical that the parties establish a “CONDUCT OF WORK” to establish roles and who will have overall conduct of The Initiative and will supervise all personnel on the project e.g. lawyers, or programmers, temporsry personnel with specialist skills. Essentially the construct must declare, in writing, who will facilitate internal activities and co-ordinate the initiative. The Provisioner MUST GUARANTEE a “consistency of approach” and take liability for all personnel involved.

Unlike fly by night entities like BIDC, Fund Access and EGFL, a provisioned must guarantee that consistency of personnel sjnce it will result in a better and more cost-effective solution for their clients.

I would continue to provide compensation schedule types but de ole man ent “fattening cockroach for fowl”

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item here that seeks to bring this Rawdone the Misguided, Imported one, back on topic.

Namely Creativity and Innovation.

6. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

bitt bybitt rawdone is expanding his reach aided and abetted by his legacy and Senatorial status.

Conflict of interest or a free pass.

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Brother Hants

MOUs are a dime a dozen and are bot worth the paper they are written on.

He and Bittcoin are nowhere in the league of PayPal and until they do what Neil Harper clearly delineated they needed to do, they wont pass muster for the movers and shakers

As to your comments about a conflict of interest Mia when she was in opposition dad a lot to say about Michael Lashley operating outside the boundaries of propriety when he was leading a Mercedes from the same company that was performing some other contractual service to a department he was responsible for

But here Mugabe will say that its okay cause Rawdone is family to Tom Adam’s so he is entitled to this privilege

And the sheeple say baaaaaa…

8. โ€œBarbados is filled with too many small and poisoned minds hence why you guys are in the shit figuratively and literally.โ€

โ€œOnce again I encourage (Barbadian) young people that desire a REAL future to leave Barbados and go to (USA) or (Canada where one can reach full potential based on your efforts instead of being strangled in the local crab in the bucket syndrome.โ€

โ€œI disagree strongly with somethings that Trump says but (USA) has never been better for Blacks willing to educate themselves and work to achieve their goals.โ€

Hmmmmmโ€ฆ..

Reading the above comments and subsequently watching the below videoโ€ฆโ€ฆ. was enough to convince me I should encourage my son to leave Barbados and go to the USAโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. herein lies his futureโ€ฆโ€ฆ..heckโ€ฆ..Iโ€™m thinking of moving there as well.

Yuh see, I live on the island (Barbados) and obviously (donโ€™t) believe everything portrayed in the media.

9. The Barbadian electorate will continue to grapple with the same problem of electing the wrong type of people to govern the affairs of the island, because it continues to elect people based on popularity rather than a proven track record of honest service to the society.
    Now there is no way John King should be a senator in this great country of ours because he doesn’t have the background to command such an office, but he does have the popularity so the people have chosen to elected him based on this one criterion. Sad…

10. The British empiricist philosopher David Hume writes: “The power lies in the hands of the governed.” But if the governed is/are ignorant, stupid and gullible what more can be expect from those we surrender our power to? We have but ourselves to blame!

11. Artax,

A picture is worth a thousand words! Enough said.

12. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

So horrible that millions each year are still trying to come in illegally

TECUN UMAN, Guatemala (Reuters) – Hundreds of Central American migrants bedded down overnight on a bridge separating Guatemala and Mexico, many squeezed against a metal border gate, as efforts to halt a trek north by a caravan of thousands of people gathered pace under U.S. pressure.

U.S. President Donald Trump has warned the Central American caravan must be stopped before it reaches the United States, and Honduras and Guatemala said late on Friday they were mobilizing to return Honduran migrants to their homeland.

https://www.yahoo.com/news/migrants-camp-bridge-between-guatemala-mexico-u-pressure-061659240.html

13. Didn’t Mottley say in her press conference that all the dismissed workers will be leaving their jobs with their severance package and all benefits in their hand the same day they were dis missed?

So what is this crap we are reading and hearing that some workers were given termination papers,a lot were dismissed verbally – and none were given any separation packages.It seems to be a case – not only of last in first out,but of spite,victimisation etc.

Every day Mia Mottley’s words prove her to be a liar.

Why hasn’t the Nation newspaper,Barbados Today, VOB,CBC (which the bees were cussing as DLP tv) even the Advocate – reported on this obvious lie by Mottley – which was spoken boldly in a Public Address to the entire Country – that they when the workers go home – they will have everything in their hands?

Cover up after cover up after cover up by this country’s leading media houses.

This is a dark day in this country’s existence – when the defenceless citizens cannot rely on the 4th estate to play the role they were created to do.

14. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

T Inniss

Why fret you live in a totally honest island paradise ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ง with no corruption and deception.

Where everyone is treated fairly and no victimisation or nepotism.

15. Yeahโ€ฆโ€ฆ

We know Barbados is a โ€œfailed stateโ€ and young Barbadians should be encouraged to leave the islandโ€ฆโ€ฆ..

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. โ€œso horrible that (hundreds of immigrants from territories such as Guyanese, Jamaicans, Vincentians, Lucians, Grenadians, Trinidadians, Dominicans and soon Haitians etc.)โ€ฆโ€ฆ

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.each year are still trying to come in illegally.โ€

I guess these Caribbean nationals are also convinced their respective islands are โ€œfailed statesโ€ as wellโ€ฆโ€ฆ. and โ€œfilled with too many small and poisoned minds hence why (their fellow countrymen) are in the shit figuratively and literally.โ€

Perhaps those Caribbean nationals are likewise encouraging their younger compatriots โ€œthat desire a REAL future to leave their homelands and go to Barbados where one can reach full potential based on your efforts instead of being strangled in the local crab in the bucket syndrome.โ€

The irony of this situation isโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. it seems as though what the USA, Canada and the UK means to you lotโ€ฆโ€ฆ..Barbados means to these CARICOM/Commonwealth nationals.

They were prepared to take government to court to enforce their right to vote in the May 24, 2018 general election and the have a say in the affairs of their adopted homeland.

But what the heck, after allโ€ฆโ€ฆ.on the basis of information received from โ€œsourcesโ€โ€ฆโ€ฆ..Iโ€™ve been exposed as an appallingly ignorant, arrogant, hypocritical, lying bullshitterโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.. so yuh know yuh gots to โ€œtake what I write wiff uh pinch of salt.โ€

16. SHOW WE THE MONEY

“The layoffs have started and so has confusion. While some workers received their walking papers on Friday, many others were unsure of their employment status as they were only terminated by word of mouth.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/206123/layoffs-mess

17. Dishonest Bajans

It is the actions of someone leading the country yet carrying on like a dictator – where they can say one thing to the Nation in the morning – and supposedly seek to soften the blow of termination from their job – and then their evening actions don’t match up – that bothers me the most.

Of course all of this is done boldly and unashamedly without fear of retribution because Mottley knows she has the media in her back pocket – and can do what the hell she wants.

The chickens will come to roost one day for these journalists and Media Houses I am sure.

18. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

@ Artax
    appallingly ignorant, arrogant, hypocritical, lying bullshitter
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Glad to see you have taken a good long look in the mirror.

19. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

T. Inniss

The chickens will soon come home to roost.

20. Hants

Exactly.This is where we are right now !

Now good gracious – you are telling me that proper reporting would not suggest that along with that article – the Nation newspaper could not carry verbatim the P.M’s words when she afddressed Barbados last Sunday – and held her feet to the fire?

Where is Stetson Babb of VOB breaking news fame – where under the DLP he searched out persons to give some negative comment about the last administration ?

Where is new media like BU – in this situation?

Why isn’t this a story in the media interviewing persons like Wayne Waldron Deputy General Secretary of the NUPW or seeking out outspoken trade unionist Caswell Franklyn’s views on all this?

Instead Stetson Babb or the Nation newspaper will seek out well known BLP stooges like Akanni Mcdowell and Toni Moore.

Let us see what senior journalist David Ellis has to say on this – something wishy washy as usual – so that Mottley will not come out looking bad – and his pay-off will be secure I suppose.

How about those Do – Good-ers in our society who were always finding their voices to speak about the poor citizens were being burdened under the last administration.Where are they now ? Where are the columnists who had 20 – 20 vision.

Johhnyy Nash sang the song – ” I can see clearly now the rain is gone” – but that does not seem to be the case here in Bim these days.

21. Its the small foxes that spoil the grapes.

When we allow ourselves to be distracted by red herrings like Bitt coin or RE- RE or any of the other smoke and mirrors that are thrown up – and we allow these step by step erosion in honesty, transparency or accountability to occur – then its like the drip by drip leaking of the moral solution .One day we look in the bucket and there is nothing there.

All the while as is said in the days before the coming of the Son of Man – some will be feteing,some will be marrying and being given in marriage,and engaging in all things under the Sun – without paying attention to the dark clouds that are amassing.

Hitler started with small steps – and the German people cheered and said what a great Man he is !

NO GOVERNMENT – NONE SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO GOVERN WITH SUCH FREE REIGN..A HONEYMOON PERIOD CAN BE A DANGEROUS THING WHERE PERSONS WITH SINISTER MOTIVES AND A TOTAL MAJORITY CAN DO IMMENSE AND IRREPERABLE DAMAGE TO A COUNTRY.

BEWARE OF DEMONS IN WHITE !

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss October 20, 2018 9:58 AM
    โ€œNow good gracious โ€“ you are telling me that proper reporting would not suggest that along with that article โ€“ the Nation newspaper could not carry verbatim the P.Mโ€™s words when she afddressed Barbados last Sunday โ€“ and held her feet to the fire?
    Where is Stetson Babb of VOB breaking news fame โ€“ where under the DLP he searched out persons to give some negative comment about the last administration ?
    Where is new media like BU โ€“ in this situation?โ€

T. I., you are beginning to sound so nauseatingly โ€˜parrotyโ€™ like an earlier incarnation of yourself aka โ€œNationNewspaperBLPโ€.

Why not use the โ€˜Advocate’ to tell the Truth on the other side of the โ€œMia Caresโ€ hypocrisy?

That โ€˜used-abused-and-now discardedโ€™ DLP mouthpiece will soon be either closing, ‘reportedly’, its commercial doors for good or be put up for sale by its creditors when its AB controller sheds, imminently, the mortal coil of political prostitution.

Why not join with your DLP friends and save from pending oblivion that invaluable mouthpiece of democracy and free speech and, like G S Mayers, try to rescue the DLP from a similar fate?

You can always sue David of BU for copyright violation. LOL!!!!

23. What kind of argument is this? Thousands of people try to come here every year and so it must be a great place. No, it need only to be a better place than where they are coming from or at least perceived to be a better place.

P.S. I am not desperate. Most Barbadians are not desperate. There is still much that I enjoy about living here. There is work to be done and there is joy in good work.

Signed,

NOT Dishonest Bajans.

24. For a man living such a great life you sure sound bitter!

25. NorthernObserver Avatar

So in the QnA post the last Astor Watts speech, former trade unionist and DLP senior member Bobby Morris explained the LIFO. He said most of the new hires (last in) would be DLP supporters, and their “newness” would mean they were not yet full union members, hence the union ‘wouldn’t care about them’.
    While possibly true, what does this say about the hiring procedures in the public service.

26. Allow me to comment on this Barbados/America matter.

I am fill with admiration for those who remain on the island and keep the fires of nationhood burning. They continue to see what Barbados can be. Sadly, many of those whose hearts are in the right place must always play second fiddle to those who have the right names or connection. If we (Bajans) could get our act together, life on the island would be sweet, sweet, sweet and those of us who stationed in other countries would be making the journey back home.

Where Barbados could be and where it is are miles apart. We have seen mismanagement, corruption and lies paraded as government policies and actions. We have seen politicians assailed the administration in power and when those same politicians take the helm they are transmogrified into the old masters (like the Animals in Animal farm).

There can be a call for patriotism from those who are overseas, but sometimes the view from where we are is not a beautiful one. The lawyers, the willingness to separate you from your money using every trick imaginable. Some of us have relatives who can shield us from evil, and some have relative who are evil.

I would not urge a youngster to ‘automatically’ abandon Barbados, but I would tell him
    “If you are feeling frustrated or is being frustrated then make the necessary changes and if that mean distant shores, so be it”.

27. “No, it need only to be a better place than where they are coming from or at least perceived to be a better place.”

Well reasoned. Excellent riposte.

Venezuelans are flooding to Guiana, not because Guiana if Eden, but because it is a better place (at this time).

28. Dishonest Bajans Avatar

Definitely not bitter, but however a realist.

My life is stressfree. happy and bountiful which is what I would love for all locals.

The fact is I have lived on the island and know the reality and I was one of the really privileged ones.

@ TheOGazerts 11:08am
    You couldn’t have said it any better.

29. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Theophillus Gazerts

You know full well that, Had you and *** remained here, you would never have achieved 1/20th of what you have now in Barbados

And look at where you were when you uprooted self to go to ***?

Who would have done that given the view you had every evening when you got home? and that job?

It might seem cruel and non patriotic to recommend that fellow bajans leave and go elsewhere to make a way in life but…the truth is that Barbados has little to offer its citizenry in its current configuration

It has been and will continue to be a country that hates its citizenry who are different.

Most because those sheeple who go baaaaa automatically dislike a lamb that goes meeeeeak

Yet the substantive Prime Minister and others throughout the landscape that is Barbados would chant that they want the country to evolve to this higher level of potential BUT IN THEIR HEART OF HEARTS, THEY FEAR THAT CHANGE because it brings empowerment and breaks their mendicancy regimes.

Let me give you a classic example of what I am saying

Do you honestly think that Mia Mugabe truly loves Rihanna Fenty the New Ambassador Plenipotentary?

This unbridled Ambassador presents to the current Prime Minister the very bane of the latter’s existence.

RIHANNA POTENTIALLY CAN REPLACE MIA MOTTLEY!!!

Are you with me?

And with a good campaign manager Rihanna could do that in 2023 and seriously disrupt the Mottleyian train. But Rihanna did not see that, did she, she grasped the reflection in the pool.

It is not too late Robyn, do give me a call, YOU HAVE MY NUMBER

I wonder if the grandson would lef he job at the bank to do that one?

But you do understand my point about leaving the Rock Theophillus cause Rihanna would just be another pretty redbone if she had remained here…

This one is going to be held in suspense for a while but when it posts, it is going to make alot of people who understand where de ole man was going, very uncomfortable…

Wunna hands too short to box with GOD…

30. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with a post that i made to Theophillus Gazerts’ excellent post at 11.08 am and which, while i was posting it, i recognized that it was very controversial.

Grateful if you could retrieve it and post it thank you

31. I remember the PM saying that the retrenched workers would be leaving with their severance cheques in hand, now we are hearing reports to the contrary, this reflects my earlier concern about the โ€œfreewheelingโ€™ nature of the news conference. If the workers now have to wait for any payment the PM should know that her words have consequences, she is no longer the LOO and can pontificate on any subject without challenge. The days of the PM or any Minister โ€œwingingโ€ it at news conferences should be a thing of the past.

32. @Sargeant

We will have to wait for the official explanation but one has to assume the PM would have been given the assurance by the PAD that payments would have been disbursed. Will somebody be held accountable if the PAD messed up?

On Sat, Oct 20, 2018 at 5:14 PM Barbados Underground wrote:

33. Ya should have heard how the government was being cussed in the market…it warmed my heart..

34. Why should blame be apportioned to the PAD and not to Mottley herself.

Tell me if Stuart had said the same thing and instead the result is what we see happening now with the dis missed workers – would BU or its bloggers or anyone else be blaming the PAD ?

As a leader of a country your words should mean something else you would end up with a reputation like Trump. Nuff Pinochios.

Workers heard that addressed to the country and had their expectations raised.

So if you are able to stick to the date you promised to send them home – then the same way you should stick to the commitment you gave that you did not want them to suffer and leave on the day with nothing in their hands.Steupse.

She riding wunnah JA SSES real good.

Hold him Joe,

Hold him Joe and don’t let him go

Muh donkey want water – Hold him Joe

Muh donkey want grass – hold him Joe

Muh donkey want false promises and lies – hold him Joe

More to come.

ANYWAY DON’T HURT YOUR HEAD – JUST GIMME DE VOTE AND WATCH MUH ! Lolll.

35. It does not matter what you expect BU et al would have done, what matters is what happened.

36. Oh I see. Aright then.

37. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

@ Piece
    It might seem cruel and non patriotic to recommend that fellow bajans leave and go elsewhere to make a way in life butโ€ฆthe truth is that Barbados has little to offer its citizenry in its current configuration

It has been and will continue to be a country that hates its citizenry who are different.

Most because those sheeple who go baaaaa automatically dislike a lamb that goes meeeeeak
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

I like your brutal honesty.

38. Wuhloss…is the UK still trying to find out why George Payne is still saying he is a solicitor qualified in UK…lol

https://www.facebook.com/jackie.stewart.965/videos/901072170102323/?t=30

39. Wuhloss…if Mia don’t privatize, she cannot draw down on the next IMF tranche..

“SSA, BWA, Transport Board earmarked for privatization
    CHRISTINA SMITH CREATED : 18 OCTOBER 2018 BARBADOS NEWS (File Photo)
    (File Photo)

Share to FacebookShare to TwitterShare to LinkedInShare to WhatsAppShare to MessengerShare to EmailShare to TelegramShare to More439
    As the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) program advances to Phase Three, a shake-up of state-owned enterprises (SOEโ€™s) will be undertaken which will see a number of them being privatized.

Restructuring of SOEโ€™s is expected to start in the next fiscal year and could potentially see a large number of public servants out of a job.

Speaking at a Nation Talkback townhall meeting on Wednesday at the Grande Salle of the Central Bank, Dr. Kevin Greenidge said the restructuring of the operations of central government and SOEโ€™s should result in a significant savings for government by year end and into next year.

Dr. Greenidge explained, so far three SOEโ€™s have being considered for privatization, the Barbados Water Authority (BWA), the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA) and the Transport Board, adding these will not be outrightly privatised but rather will have some of its services owned and managed by private individuals and companies.

โ€œFor example, if the workers at the Transport Board were allowed to, through some mechanism, to own the buses, that would significantly reduce the costs to government and create an entrepreneurial level of workers that will certainly drive economic growth.

If the Sanitation and Water Authority, if the workers repair trucks and own the process, you can see improvement in efficiency.โ€

He stressed the restructuring process of SOE’s is critical if government is to meet the targets set out in the BERT program which will allow them to continue to access funding from the International Monetary Fund (IMF) and other lending agencies.”

40. And the USA and most of the European countries are fast becoming places that HATE non-white immigrants. They say they should stay and FIX THEIR COUNTRIES! Did you not get that memo?

Best for me to stay here and fight for my country. Best for those who do not wish to fight to do what suits them. I wish them well. It has always been better for persons with certain talents or in certain fields to seek broader horizons. Rihanna is one such person. Still she has NOT abandoned Barbados. And she has shown that she KNOWS that the USA is NO PARADISE. Right now a black man has to fight to retain his voting rights. Right now a black man is being TOLD that he should not even protest or fight for matters that affect them. The justice system works faster than ours TO LOCK UP BLACK PEOPLE FOR EVER. Trump wants to bring back stop and frisk. Stand your ground laws are spreading fast. And we know how those things work! And BLACK LIVES MATTER is being labelled a terrorist group by the FBI while funds that counteract white hate crimes are being slashed.

The whole world is going backwards with respect to democracy, human rights and corruption in government. The rich are getting richer EVERYWHERE and the poor are getting poorer. Freedom is a never ending fight to achieve and maintain. This is not a Barbadian problem. This is a WORLD problem. Running from pillar to post is a short term solution for some people. But not for ALL.

By the way, I can pack up and go to England whenever I wish. I am entitled to full citizenship. I am Barbadian by choice.

41. @Donna

How can a true Barbadian abandon their country?

42. @ David,

Most Bajans in the Diaspora have not abandoned Barbados. You do not have to live and work in Barbados to support the place of our birth.

43. ” Barbadians overseas sent back USD 108 million to the Eastern Caribbean island in 2015, according to the World Bank, the sixth largest amount in the entire Caribbean. Some 51,000 Bajans call the US home according to the US Censusโ€™ conservative estimates.

44. Bajans in the Diaspora always support the island and their relatives left behind, it is just that neither government ever appreciated it and always ill treat the people when they return home, cause they are always busy tiefing the money the people on the island generate through hard work and low salaries…

…but that crap too shall come to an end.

45. @Hants

That comment was directed at some of the gadflies on the blog.

46. Let me answer that question for you Honourable Blogmaster

A “true Barbadian” can abandon their country when they find that their country has, after making all sorts of fancy promises to the People of said Barbados when she was asking for their vote ON FRIDAY October 17th 2018 “abandons them” and leaves them jobless and penniless

https://i.imgur.com/5jeRVVo.png

47. Just for the record, nowhere did I state that everyone who leaves Barbados has abandoned it.

48. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

“Running from pillar to Post” what an ignorant comment to justify your argument for staying in IMF controlled ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ง where over the next several years locals will know sufferation and misery I wouldn’t wish on an enemy whilst the Politicians grow fatter and wealthier..

Where old people in good faith bought Government Bonds and being shafted, thousands being sent home with empty promises in ๐Ÿ‡ง๐Ÿ‡ง

No one asked you to go anywhere that is your choice.

My comments were addressed primarily to young people that yes the grass is a lot greener than the tainted soup with sewage being fed daily locally.

I have never met a black person in the USA who didn’t have a felony record prevented from voting same as occured with whites.

I have never been stopped and frisked or belong to any black lives matter or any such similar Political group.

As far as I am concerned ALL lives matter black, indian, white, asian etc.

It is easy to leave Barbados where MOST people are not valued, pitiful wages, used and abused, treated as brain dead and this is by blacks against blacks on the island.

Poor wages and salaries fit only for a turd world country and this was before IMF and will get worse.

Obama’s father came from Kenya Africa and created him via a relationship with a natural born American.

It is amazing you living outside the USA are more concerned with what the white mainstream media seek to potray from the reality on the ground.

This year alone in Chicago Illinois 435 murders of blacks killing blacks not a word by the mainstream media.

news/local/breaking/ct-chicago-homicides-data-tracker-htmlstory.html

I guess in that sense Black lives doesnt matter to the blacks killing each other.

Jesse Jackson, Al Sharpton or Black Lives matter has lifted a finger to stop this blacks slaughtering each other in Chicago.

I choose to live elsewhere in the most prosperous among the 50 States in the Country where most of the many blacks and foreigners I know are well educated and successful.

Levels of success unknown to local blacks in turd world Barbados.

Let me finish by saying I would never rank England which is why I left it out as it is easily one of the drearest places to live most of the year with maybe months of sunny days and much much fewer opportunities for blacks to thrive even though some have been successful mostly Africans, Asians and to a lesser extent Afro Carribbeans.

Comparing the USA 50 States to England is like comparing day to night.

You may have the final word as you seem to know more than myself who is living and succeeding on the ground daily.

49. David

Are you serious ?

Wake up and save which Barbados ?

Well starting from May 24, 2018 ……

Overflowing with GLEE !

Thousands trekked to the polls and voted for Mia MOTTLEY !

And as a thank – you for the people’s SUPPORT !

Mottley treated Bajans like GOATS ๐Ÿ !

Here is how she did it :

โ€ข On May 23, 2018 – Mottley declared – that Barbados brek !

By May 28, 2018 she appointed a 30 member Cabinet , 30 Permanent Secretaries & Deputies !

$ 10 million MORE – annually – on a brek country’s wage bill …..!

โ€ข Appointed 6 Consultants – all of whom are well off !

$ 4 million MORE – annually -on a brek country’s wage bill ……!

โ€ข Gave the public officers a 5% salary increase !

Then tek back 10% in increased taxes after !

Well I believe with that track record above ……it will be decades before Bajans WAKE UP !

With the advent of BERT

that PROGNOSIS is not far fetched !!!

B = Bajans

E = Expect

R = Rougher

T = Treatment

From the BLP !

Beating

Lowly

Bajans

BLP BLP BLP BLP