STAFF APPRAISAL

30. Over the last decade, Barbados economy has experienced very low growth, and fiscal and external imbalances have gradually led to an unsustainable situation, with very high debt, and very low reserves. These challenges must be addressed by a combination of fiscal consolidation, measures to boost growth, and debt restructuring. The authorities’ Economic Reform and Transformation program seeks to address these long- standing structural imbalances and implement an aggressive front-loaded and comprehensive reform agenda – extracted from p.18 of the IMF Report 2018

The 77 page IMF package detailing the REQUEST FOR AN EXTENDED ARRANGEMENT UNDER THE EXTENDED FUND FACILITY; STAFF REPORT; STAFF SUPPLEMENT; AND STATEMENT BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR FOR BARBADOS was posted to the International Monetary Fund website on October 4, 2018. It is no surprise the traditional media has not seen the value in unpacking the details of the arrangement secreted in the voluminous and technically worded documents.

What has been widely communicated is that in record time the new Mottley government has been able to secure the approval of SDR 208 million or USD290 million. The government’s PR has been quick to point out that the draw down from the IMF represents 220% of Barbados’ IMF quota and is a ‘homegrown’ program.

Key elements of the program are:

1. Fiscal adjustment: increase primary surplus to achieve 6% by 2019/20
  2. Reform state owned enterprises (SOEs): reduce transfers to SOEs by 2%
  3. Structural reforms to support growth: improve business facilitation
  4. Debt restructuring: debt is deemed unsustainable and government has aggressively moved to administer ‘haircuts’ to bond holders

In the background section of the document (p.7) the IMF delivers a negative synopsis of the performance of the Barbados economy post the 2008 global financial crisis. One of the program objectives of interest to the blogmaster is item 8, p.9: “Increased investment demand can restore growth and increase its potential. Restored credibility in the macroeconomic framework is expected to increase investment. Higher net FDI inflows will contribute to improving the stock of capital and, through this channel, actual and potential growth could reach close to 2 percent by the end of the program“.

Other key deliverables of the IMF program:

• Fiscal discipline will help address external imbalances and rebuild international reserves.
  • Fiscal reforms over the program period aim to address structural weaknesses in Barbados’ fiscal framework.
  • Streamlining, restructuring, and privatizing SOEs will substantially reduce transfers to public institutions
  • Vulnerable groups will be protected by strengthening social safety nets
  • The authorities remain strongly committed to the exchange rate peg, which has been in place since 1975 and has provided a key anchor for macroeconomic policies.
  • The program will lay out a roadmap for normalization of monetary policy.
  • The CBB Act will be amended, with the help of IMF TA, to strengthen the autonomy of the CBB and the limitation on CBB financing of the government, among other enhancements
  • The authorities have made progress in identifying debt restructuring parameters that would provide debt relief without jeopardizing financial stability.
  • Significant progress has also been made in discussions with domestic and external creditors.
  • Debt management capacity will be strengthened.
  • To promote long term and potential growth, labor, product and service markets will be liberalized
  • The authorities intend to establish an Economic Program Oversight Committee (EPOC) to strengthen societal ownership and build public support for the measures in the program.
  • Data inadequacies continue to hamper understanding of key macroeconomic aggregates.

The part of an IMF agreement that raises the most concern are the condition or in the case of Barbados what are the targets we will have to meet to be able to draw down on the SDRs approved.

Quantitative performance criteria:

• Floor on the central government primary balance (excluding repayment of central government arrears)
  • Ceiling on the stock of Net Domestic Assets of the CBB
  • Floor on the Net International Reserves of the CBB
  • Non-accumulation of central government external arrears (excluding arrears resulting from nonpayment of debt service for which the government is pursuing a debt restructuring).
  • Ceiling on grants and transfers to public institutions
  • Ceiling on the stock of public debt

Indicative targets:

• Ceiling on the stock of central government domestic arrears
  • Floor on CG social spending Structural benchmarks

Structural benchmarks

• These will focus on SOE reforms, growth and business climate, CBB autonomy, tax policy and revenue administration, public sector reform, and public financial management (Table 2 MEFP). The structural benchmarks will be critical to underpin the adjustment effort.

The average citizen will not read the IMF report and others will ‘scan’ to satisfy a mild curiosity.  It is obvious to the blogmaster after reading the report that there are significant changes still to come that will drastically affect Barbadians from all walks of life. As a people are we ready to be that chanage?

Link to Barbados : Request for an Extended Arrangement Under the Extended Fund Facility-Press Release; Staff Report; Staff Supplement; and Statement by the Executive Director for Barbados

468 responses to “IMF Program Unpacked – Our Way of Life Will Change, FOREVER”

1. What I know for sure, sure, sure Guest…is that ALL of them in both DLP and BLP should be locked the hell up, they are all useless public nuisances, bribe takers, thieves, corrupt, deceitful, owned by minorities and can’t do one single thing to benefit their own people in the majority population, they cannot even sell a taxpayer entity without getting their asses robbed, tricked and the people ripped off….they cannot do anything without stretching out their hand for a bribe..

That I know for sure, sure..the clown lawyers and QC Crooks and MPs and ministers are all involved in the rip off of the people, they cannot negotiate anything to benefit the people who pay their salaries.

….this has not been happening now or yesterday it happened in the days of Barrow and all those who came after in both DBLP…whatever blight and curse they both carry, must be removed permanently …DLP was removed with surgical precision by the people on May 24th…one more to go.

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

“to sell the oil terminal for a song to SOL”
    you appreciate Rubis also bid? a song is an interesting term. Will wait and see if offered again, what offers are received.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

“And months later the police have not yet arrested a fella”
    you appreciate immediately after, the Police said it was a murder-suicide. The family kicked up a stink, hired numerous private investigators, and thereafter it was changed to a homicide. Next thing, it is announced the deceased Sherman has more outstanding legal actions than is humanely imaginable, and not just related to his pharmaceutical business Apotex.
    I wouldn’t wait for an arrest.

4. @Vincent Codrington October 11, 2018 4:41 PM “With reference to your second paragraph in the above cited submission, do you have any scientific proof of your assertion?”

A Simple Response: If a fortune is large enough the drink will kill you long before the fortune is gone. A liver can only take so much. And there are physical limitations to doing hanky panky. If the fortune is large enough exhaustion is likely to kill you first.

@Vincent Codrington October 11, 2018 4:41 PM “I agree with your third paragraph. Do you see signs of this happening too?”

A Simple Response: Alas I cannot see the future.

5. “you appreciate Rubis also bid? a song is an interesting term. Will wait and see if offered again, what offers are received.”

Only so far as it cannot pay not even one of the island’s debts, bills,…did the clowns who were thrown out weigh the value of the terminal and it’s future use when jumping at 50 million US.. just. because it sounded like a lot of money…did they do any research at all, if they had done their research they would have..found ..never mind….we all know none of them are known for doing any due diligence..

Yes indeed, we shall see, given the fact that as I said above they are incapable of negotiating anything to benefit the majority population who pay their salaries these ministers of government…they always seem to be in such awe of whom they are supposed to negotiate with…and end up taking shite money for state entities worth much more..buy we will indeed see.

Just remember that these are the same jackasses refused an offer of 11 million dollars for a hotel from a successful hotel owner and reputable business man to run off and sell it for 5 million dollars, less than half of it’s market value to a criminal like themselves who bribed them on the regular and who helped them steal 1 billion dollars in contracts complete with kickbacks…so anything is possible with that 50 million dollar US offer…from Simpson that is now looking shadier and shadier..

6. Companies in the United States and Canada have expressed an interest in starting medical marijuana projects.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/203566/american-companies-express-starting-local-marijuana-projects

7. Slow ass useless, trifling Caribbean leaders.

8. @NO
    I wouldn’t wait for an arrest
    Yuh got that right. Yuh know that there was mucho dinero in Insurance money depending on the cause of death? Murder by unknown persons will generate a fat payout vs murder/suicide and that is the reason for the “big stink”.

The Police was right the first time but the Mayor pushed his big mouth into the issue so they went along with the investigation and “findings’, John Tory just can’t shut up.

Every Tom, Dick and Harry has a video device on their premises and with all the upscale homes in the area surely the Police would have seen something but ……

9. Barbados looking to new suppliers following closure of oil refinery in Trinidad
    Friday, September 14, 2018

BRIDGETOWN, Barbados (CMC) – Barbados said Wednesday it is holding discussions with a number of suppliers with a view to employing a similar arrangement to that it had with the Trinidad and Tobago state-owned oil company, Petrotrin.

Petrotrin late last month announced the closure of its oil refinery blaming increasing financial losses. The closure has led to the retrenchment of more than 1,700 employees.

In a statement, the Barbados National Oil Company Ltd (BNOCL) said it currently imports gasoline from and sells its crude oil to Petrotrin, while diesel and fuel oil are sourced extra-regionally.

It said kerosene is imported by the oil companies Sol and Rubis.

BNOCL said that at the time of the Petrotrin announcement regarding the oil refinery, Barbados was exporting annually 260,000 barrels of crude oil to the Trinidad-based refinery and importing 60,000 barrels of gasoline on a monthly basis.

It said the annual contract with Petrotrin entailed the exchange of the crude oil for gasoline, which aided in the reduction of the foreign exchange cost, as the value of the crude offset the outlay for the gasoline.

BNOCL’s said its storage capacity for gasoline is 80,000 barrels.

“As at Wednesday, September 12, 2018, BNOCL’s gasoline stock level was 53,582 barrels of gasoline, which is enough inventory for 25 days. Another shipment of 30,000 barrels is expected from Petrotrin on the weekend of September 15, which will provide inventory for about 38 days’ supply.

“BNOCL will receive its final shipment of 30,000 to 35,000 barrels from Petrotrin during the period September 24 to 28, and along with the previous shipments, will be sufficient to supply local consumption requirements until November 5 at a usage rate of 2000 barrels a day.”

The Ministry of Energy and Water Resources said that through BNOCL, it has been in discussion with a number of suppliers with a view to employing a similar arrangement to that with Petrotrin.

‘”The goal is to ensure that this country has a consistent supply of gasoline at an affordable price, while securing a market for Barbados’ crude oil. BNOCL has never had a stock-out of petroleum products and always has adequate inventory to service Barbados, and is ever mindful of the need to do so, particularly during the hurricane season.”

The government said it wanted to assure all Barbadians that it “is keeping ahead of the situation to ensure that despite the closure of the Petrotrin refinery, there will be no shortage of gasoline in Barbados

10. Vincent Codrington Avatar

It is a good thing that we have not sold BNOCL. Thank God for this SOE. There is more to these SOEs than the accounting line item profit.

11. @ mr. Vincent Codrington

Yu said and I quote “…History would testify to our ability to make the needed adjustments in our productive structure.

This is where the emphasis in any recovery plan should be.

Good management of the economy would have identified the reduced flow of foreign exchange from existing economic sectors and new industries introduced to take their places…”

Rawdone, McCunny and Wigfittings!!

THe 3 people that Mia Mugabe changed the Constitution for should have immediately on their importation, BEEN ON THE FOREFRONT OF A RE-INVENTED BIDC.

When I say re-invented I mean that as the first order of business, ALL OF THE FELLOWS DOWN THERE WHO HAVE FACEBOOK PAGES that announce that they are doing consulting services on the side SHOULD BE FIRED, with immediate effect!

Then, the second act is to examine the portfolios of the gentlement and ladies who do product and put them in positions where they can be more effectively used as opposed to using the suck poochists.

I have been recommending a Ministry of Planification BUT I SEE THAT THE IMF has gone a step further and called it Retrenchment Programming which is a euphemism for firing.

So what is being done right now is that

(a).mindful that the firing of 3,000 people WILL BE EFFECTED

(b).the names of all the suspected DLP supporters and the ones of the BLP supporters are being filtered out of the recent voters lists

(c).so that once the list of the soon to be unemployed is known what it will mean in 2023 when the Bajan public will relieve about 10 BLP waste foops of their jobs, the discontent will not be from BLP supporters and voters.

But back to Rawdone and Kay and Wigfittings

Mugabe is starting to comprehend the gap between talk from these Senators and what you have identified as “NEW INDUSTRIES TO TAKE THEIR PLACE”

This is where the rubber hits the road and January 31st 2019.

She is starting to see the cracks and it is starting to show on her face, the weight, and the disappointment of managing 21 idiots in her overweight House of Assembly.

But I want you to watch and see how this is going to pan out with her shadows of men and women PRETENDING TO KNOW EVERYTHING and delivering DIDDLY SQUAT.

12. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with an item here thank you.

Even Dr. GP, who sees my requests as “grovelling?” heheheheh, even though he is not computer literate in these matters, would call it strange that my 2 previous posts were permitted on this same IP 176.10.104.240 at gahndi.net yet, after said two submissions, the same IP gets filtered, just saying heheheheh.

I guess that a new BU Borg staff just came on duty and my “anti Mia Mao” remarks are ammmmm highlighting Mia in a non-complimentary way?

But wunna dun know that i am not drinking Mia’s coolaid

13. Reading the tea leaves in the article means more blows for the barbadians pocket books at the pump
    Also and indication of gas shortages

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

I finally read the document. I will be brief
    As I scribbled numbers with my black lead and did quick calculations, I got the sinking feeling, as with prior Big Sink forecasts, that projections were over-projecting income while under-projecting expenses.
    Overall, while I appreciate such political groups like to report numbers as a “percentage of GDP”, and in percentage variations in general, the seemingly small % changes hide the true dollar nature of comparative moves. In 220 mentions of GDP, only ONCE was it stated in real dollars.
    It is with great interest I note, the NIS has been excluded from any of the required reporting, and the Public Institutions referenced by the PM. Its primary mention is “address medium and long term challenges for the NIS stemming
    from the debt restructuring”
    This section below I found educational

Public debt relief. In 2018/19, an immediate reduction in the stock of debt (about
    33 percent of GDP) is achieved by: (i) lifting the guarantee on guaranteed debt serviced
    directly by SOEs in the amount of about 4 percent of GDP; (ii) by writing off CBB’s holdings
    of government debt in the amount of about 16 percent of GDP; (iii) by cancelling out debt
    held as assets in the central government Sinking Fund 6 in the amount of 3 percent of
    GDP (iv) by writing off external commercial debt in the amount of about 3 percent of GDP;
    and (v) by writing off NIS holdings of government debt in the amount of 7 percent of GDP.
    In FY 2019/20 and 2020/21, an additional debt relief of about 3 percent of GDP is achieved
    through write-offs of external commercial debt.

For $$ values, while the GDP fluctuates by year, I ‘believe’ that 1% GDP is +/- $96 million.

15. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ NO at 2 :07 PM

I suppose when one deals with an unstable and unsustainable metric, any number can play.

16. @Sargeant October 12, 2018 1:20 AM “Yuh got that right. Yuh know that there was mucho dinero in Insurance money depending on the cause of death? Murder by unknown persons will generate a fat payout vs murder/suicide and that is the reason for the “big stink. The Police was right the first time but the Mayor pushed his big mouth into the issue.”

So you telling that the cops have 42 men “working” on this case, wasting my tax money?

It is bad enough that my tax money gets wasted in Barbados, but they have to waste it in Canada too?

Stupseee!!!

17. But surely an insurance company won’t pay unless a warm body is actually arrested AND convicted?

I am not too sure how this insurance thingy works.

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

“the cops have 42 men”
    For one, they got nuff ladies wukking dere too!!!
    Every sense, de Chief put a bunch a dem on double duty, to try and quell the murder rate with municipal election pun de 22, all dem udder cases get put pun hold. Excepping the fella McArthur case, causin dem is nuff votes available from de LGBTQ groups. And de Chief cannot get de young fellas in de gangs to stop shooting randomly, even doh he claims to know who dem is and where dey at.
    I guess effin there is a $3 billion dollar policy and I got a year or 2 to live, for $20 million I will confess? I en know one sh!!te bout how dem died, but I did it?

19. Simple Simon talking “bare poop” what warm body conviction what? The insurance pays on the determination on the cause of death.

@NO
    The Chief is not very popular with the LGBTQ folks among others

20. @Vincent

How will this be achieved?

Barbados: Request for an Extended Arrangement Under the Extended Fund Facility; Press Release; Staff Report; Staff Supplement; and Statement by the Executive Director for Barbados; IMF Country Report No. 18/290, September 17, 2018 6 percent of GDP primary surplus target will be challenging, but feasible.

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    true…but the Chief isn’t running for re-election, only those who decide his ultimate fate

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 6 :42 PM

Achieving the primary surplus target is deflationary. It will reduce GDP.

23. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

You need to increase the Gross Domestic Product. Do you put the car in reverse gear to drive forward ?

24. @Vincent

The blogmaster is not an economist but significant economic activity must take place in a market where government will be retrenching and reducing transfers and subsidies.

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 8 :41 PM

So BERT did not identify where and how these redundant workers will be employed?

26. @Vincent

They are earmarked for receive training.

27. ” Minister Challenges Seniors To Go Into Business “.

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Training in what? After secondary school the only training an adult needs is on the job. He learns by doing. Every boss is a trainer.

29. @Vincent

Training is a euphemism on the checklist.

30. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Need not fear. All will be well. But we need to stop “poosharking” about this place. Barbadians are not impressed ; and they certainly are not amused. A word to the wise.

31. NorthernObserver Avatar

I asked before, but possibly missed the answer, “Wha ya gine do?”

32. @ Vincent Codrington,

““We had to send our guys to train first ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/05/a-major-breakthrough/

33. Thanks Sarge. Thanks Northern. I got it [I think].

But understanding about billion dollar policies?

Way, way above my pay grade.

34. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    just money…Sherman was a billionaire.

the next thing they need is a robotic sprayer, which can coat the pipe from the inside. Pretty basic once you get the sh!t out of the way.

35. @ NorthernO
    …a robotic sprayer, which can coat the pipe from the inside. Pretty basic once you get the sh!t out of the way.
    It may be pretty basic, but is it sensible? …and is it affordable?

Does this approach not depend on what caused the substantive pipe to break in the first place?
    If there is enough stress to break the whole pipe ..what makes anyone think that an internal sleeve will make a suitable repair?

Bushie would think that such repairs are applicable ONLY when no external stresses are assured – such as when the breeches are caused by corrosion or accidental punctures….

If the root problem is caused by foundational movements (for example) then such a ‘repair’ would be laughable at best….

36. @Bush Tea

Isn’t the long term plan said to be replacing the plant and or major restructure?

Where is the money?

37. Clearing blocked sewer pipes and repairing broken / cracked sewer pipes should be part of routine inspection and maintenance done by the BWA.

Why did a private company have to import equipment to do a job that the BWA should be doing ?

38. We need to become problem solvers. I have never visited Singapore and don’t think I would want to live there but I admire the attitude to solving problems displayed by Singapore.

https://youtu.be/OhsU-NXIRyY

39. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 9:25 AM

That is the level of management to which we have sunk. Lots of talk and no constructive action. Just post holders.

Please note that despite the training abroad,the trainer had to come to Barbados to do the training on the job.

@ David BU at 7 :29 AM

Has a decision been made vis a vis repairing / replacing the Sewage plant?
    Is it not clear to you that the problem was maintenance and abuse of the system.?

We waste a lot of money in this place as though it is free. The USA is gradually moving away from printing money and increasing public debt. We need to learn quickly that the wages of doing this is financial collapse.
    So stop repeating the empty mantra:.” Where the money coming from?” We need to ask who is falling asleep on the job. ? Who is not working?

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BT
    todays cameras can detect if and where there are any major structural shifts. The nature will determine if it can be repaired internally or if you need to excavate, remove, replace. The coating/sleeve technology which exists, can bridge many of the normally encountered issues. Do you know what the diameter of the sewerage flow pipes is? That usually makes the determination of options.

41. @Vincent

It is a matter of record that the design was questionable, not including primary treatment as well and contingency for if the main and only line got clogged as is the case presently. We don’t have to rehash these issues.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    what is the difference between sovereign default and bankruptcy?
    The more I read of the so-called ‘restructuring’, the more blurry the lines between what I associate with default, versus bankruptcy become.

43. @Vincent

The issue to assess with the SCS issue is the fact Stuart and his government were advised about 2 years before its collapse that it had reached a crisis position because of the lack of maintenance. As the government it had an obligation to act quickly and spare the balderdash from Estwick and company.

Too much talk and no action!

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Northern Observer at 12 :11 PM

Theoretically Governments cannot file for bankruptcy. Bankruptcy should be reserved for individuals and corporations. The latter is to give firms a chance to start fresh.
    So when a government refuses to honour its indebtedness it defaults. It declares inability to meet obligations as previously agreed. That is why the term restructuring of debt is used. Indicating intention to pay some time in the future. Or ask for debt write offs.
    Do not worry about it. Your orientation is Business /private sector; hence the nomenclature. But they are basically the same conceptually.
    I hope you realise that in effect the holders of Go B paper are being repaid less than they are due in real terms. The last administration had a computational deficit in decimals this one has a deficit in understanding the time value of money ….or so it would seem. LOL!!

45. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU at 12 :15 PM

Let us not play that DLP game. It did not work for them and it will not work for the current administration. Government is a continuum.
    This administration has the responsibility to do what ever is necessary to fix the South Coast Sewerage problem. They have levied a charge on all households in Barbados to fix it. Stop the bitching and get on with it.

46. @Vincent

You do not accept that the government is ‘ínsolvent’i.e. unable to bridge the annual budget deficit?

47. @ Vincent Codrington who wrote ” the time value of money “.

That is one reason why Pensioners should not have their life long savings in the care and control of Government.

15 years from now a light sweet bread could cost $15. or more.

Lawyers in Barbados will be very busy as pensioners holding Go B paper die.

But there is hope.

“https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/10/13/minister-challenges-seniors-to-go-into-business/”

48. Close the dam pit toilet down
    So far it has become a total loss of tax payers money not to mention the irreparable damage to our wetlands
    This useless govt keeps blowing smoke in peoples eyes under their pretentious banner “We got this”
    So far all govt has shown is Nothing

49. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

“a matter of record”? I certainly missed that inquiry, and announcement. I think it is more a matter of opinion.

50. @Vincent

You missed the talk show a few weeks ago when the BAPE engineers were on?