Go to the Town Planning website and make a contribution to the DRAFT Green Paper.

At the risk of being accused by some on BU that the blogmaster has become a mouthpiece for Prime Minister Mia Mottley and the government, let us be clear – Barbadians have to accept a reality – we are in the deep South coast stuff, it behooves all patriotic Barbadians at home and abroad to become part of the solution or get of the way!

If as a people we are not able to come together on a 2×3 island in the interest of the country, we are going to fail our children in this and the next generation. We have steadily declined as a nation straddling political administrations. The minibus culture has been festering for nearly 40 years to cite one example of ineptitude.ย  We always blame the politicians for our woes but imagine if 20% of ordinary Barbadians were to become activists for change, become advocates for causes, become involved by accessing the several avenues that permit engagement in a democratic society. Why have we spent billions to educate ourselves to be sheep happy to just ‘exist’. Get up of from your lazy asses to do your civic duty!

Here is another initiative of the government the blogmaster entreats all to get familiar and participate. In quick time the government has deposited a draft green paper on reform of the town planning legislation, a first since 1965.ย  For the last 10 years many of us in this forum have railed against the lack of modern and relevant legislation, a dysfunctional public and private sector, the lack of productivity of our people and the list goes on. Here is an opportunity for some of you bright sparks to read the Green Paper on Planning Reform and make a contribution. How do we expect to attract foreign investment if our planning laws are from the buggy era. While following some of the planning sessions a few weeks ago the blogmaster was struck by the comment that Barbados lags the region as far as planning legislation is concerned. How the mighty Barbados has fallen.
Read the green paper and share your comments, be a difference maker!

141 responses to “Step up or Shut up: Barbadians Invited to Participate in Law Reform”

1. The draft paper has recommended the hybrid model approach which will see the minister responsible for planning approving certain classes of development. Why cant the decision on development be left with the statutory board which is made of of competent professionals? Let the political prepare a businesscase to be approved by the Board if they are confident about the social and economic value. Remove the politician from the equation. Is this an opportunity to democratize the this process?

page 2 & 3 of the green paper

2. @John and Nostradamus

The extract from the draft Green Paper should be of interest? The GHNS comes to mind.The blogmaster is concerned that public consultation linked to this kind of exercise is practised in the breach, tokenism only and the feedback from the public is mostly avoided. How can this be addressed?

Physical Development Planning

The Physical Development Plan provides the policy framework to guide development.
    The current Physical Development Plan amended
    (2003) is in the process of being
    reviewed with the revised plan awaiting formal consultation and approval.
    The PDPs have served Barbados well but there are issues around the legal status of the
    plan itself, its content, any lower tier local plans, the pro
    vision for public participation
    and the frequency of its review.

page 3 of the draft green paper.

3. With regard to land development, the blogmaster’s layman view is that urgent consideration must be given to addressing the type of housing stock being constructed given our limited land space. We should also impose laws to force/recycle vacant/abandoned properties into use. It is unproductive to have vacant housing/lots for whatever reason on a 2×3 island. The rights of individuals must be honoured but the efficient upkeep of the society should be the priority.

pages 4 to 6

4. First..rule of law must be introduced, bribery and corruption have to go, the Mia government must call this out publicly at EVERY level of government, it must be addressed or you are going nowhere.

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Every time one is led to believe that you guys are genuinelmy interested in building a Barbados that is going to be different you go and do someting which shows how much you are demon seed.

Every fvcuking time without fail be it BLP or DLP.

So what are your patriots to do? Those of us who believe in being a Credit to My Nation wherever we should go?

He guardeth in vain unless the watchman watcher the city.

It is not yours so it will fail not only because it does not come from you but because you really only see the vision passingly.

133 days left! Till Jan 31st 2019 then we shall all see

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

You said and I quote “…..Get up of from your lazy asses to do your civic duty!”…”

You rail most indignantly that you are not the mouthpiece of the Barbados Labour Party

Methinks the Honourable Blogmaster doth protest too much!

The fact of this matter is that you are a portal for the Ideas 4 Barbados and the “ear” on the ground for the Barbados Labour Party.

I contend that you are truly part of the visionless Red Party and you are a part of the BLP Red Council which is now embracing the Peoples Republic of China.

And understandable partnership as we seek to quell all dissident opinions.

The Government of the United States will allow this partnership only up to a particular point ONLY as you would see if you are looking at the specific munitions purchases between Russia and the PRC.

I would say more but you would not understand me at any rate.

So let me remain on the substantive.

What does this thing call to arms meann about “..Get up of from your lazy asses to do your civic duty!..” Honourable Blogmaster?

What does it mean to you?

I eill tell readers what if means to me.

“Get in line to serve Mia Mottley or we will use the machinery of this government, our back door apps, our Facebook streaming encounters, our green papers our pdf invitations our survey monkey exercises to crush you a la acute vision and it’s guard.

I had asked elsewhere were you still committed to the George Linnaeus Banks line of speaking out for the UnderDog?

Or had you long ago abandonned that tenet and now live under the policy of the Chairman Mia Mao ZeJong and her ICT supporters.

I hinted then that they, as a customary act, upload pdfs and jpegs for viewing on their servers and now know (1) whose IP accessed a document, (2) who owns that ip, (3) how long they viewed it the document and (4) using the embedded “call home” code, continue to monitor that user’s usage on their personal machines.

I had asked you for your version of patriotism Honourable Blogmaster? Tell us readers whst it means to you?

Does it mean “I pledge allegiance to Mia Amor Mottley and to her Johnny Pads, to uphold and defend the chastity of this Prime Minister and to be her Ambassador Plenipotentiary, wherever I shall go?

http://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/rihanna-ambassador-extraordinary-and-plenipotentiary/

Will ee all be awarded tese types of honours Honourable Blogmaster?

It becomes increasingly obvious that the Barbados wunna, as in you personally, the BLP and the DLP seek to promote is based on thievery and corruption and manipulation of the sheeple

I for one will have no part in that.

I will however expose every single instance of your theft and that of your masters for all the world to see who you are and what you are prepared to do for your “legacy”

In one breath we hear this clarion cry of “to arms, to arms” and at the same time wunna scum sneak and subvert all rules and regulations.

Let me show wunna how this is going to play out @ 5.38 a.m on September the 21st 2018.

A publication is going to be sent to every major newspaper in the United States about this incident.

Certain IF NOT ALL OF THEM ARE GOING TO RUN WITH IF BECAUSE ***

You think I spend 3 years doin this chvunt at all this expense for wunna to play this game?

It shall neither be THINE nor mine

You are small men DEVOID OF ANY PRINCIPLES AND ABANDONNED BY MY GOD and that last thing my man is worse than any disease that will rack our worm’s-meat bodies.

For, irrespective of all the things you as spokesman for the BLP are saying it is obvious wunna are prepared to teif anything to bring this legacy into being

I want to know how wunna going Houdini out of death OR DO YOU HAVE A PASTOR DAVID DURANT who will stop death from taking you like David Thompson?

Houdini out of this one …

The second computer and the newest email heheheh will be used for this exercise…

Read it this evening in the news…

7. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item of little import.

But which will be of some import to all of wunna including Chairman Mia Mao ZeJong by close of business today

8. SQUARE PEGS IN ROUND HOLES. That is what happens in statutory boards. Boards put family and friends in jobs. Only if they had the quantification and competence to do the work. Now have to contract persons to clean up the mess. Have not submitted audited Financial statements since when. But the average barbadian who has the necessary qualification and experience would not see inside those offices because they do not have a God father politician. THAT IS THE REALITY.

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item that speaks to the very heart of your call to rally around the Mia flag.

Call Enuff of Lorenzo duo and Lorenzo you had Enuff cause all uh wunna gojng be wukking over time today.

Wunna mess did de wrong effing man dis time and it is neither going be mine or thine

I gone

10. Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN Avatar
    Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN

All is not well at VOB. Englishman Ronnie is running the show. Ratings have dropped below 19,000.ย 

11. Why don’t we just use existing laws to the fullest and get into the practice of practicing “the rule of law”

12. Why donโ€™t we just use existing laws to the fullest and get into the practice of practicing โ€œthe rule of lawโ€
    Are you crazy?

Why would persons whose natural inclinations are albino-centric be interested in DOING THE RIGHT THINGS?
    There is NO SUCH interest.

It makes MUCH more sense (to them) to bamboozle us with a lotta shiite talk – while PRETENDING to be interested in lawfulness ….but actually intent on doing the SAME shiite as Stinkliar et al … (just smarter).

Otherwise, we would have seen CLEAR moves to apply BASIC EXISTING laws to address the OUTRAGEOUS criminality that we all know have gone on over the past 25 years…
    Otherwise they would have addressed the embarrassing accusations being made against their LAW REPRESENTATIVE….
    Otherwise the CLICO robbery would have been centre stage by now…..

13. @ David

Why do you HONESTLY think that the politicians (PM) feel the need to reserve to themselves the authority and right to make final decisions about land development – especially beachfront lands…?
    …ahead of professional, independent, PROFESSIONALS – who are following an agreed DEVELOPMENT PLAN….

HONESTLY….!!!

14. Donโ€™t have the time to go through the Green Paper at this time as I am starved for time but at a minimum I would like to see a ban on the building of all commercial establishments on beach front property.

15. Marshall believes all that empty bullshit he is spewing to the Chinese ambassador is fooling someone…maybe only useless yardfowls like Enuff.

Watch how this will play out in 4 years 8 months.

16. The RED BORG beating continues, I wonder why!

The so called GREEN PAPER has already assumed that the present documentation is FLAWED and needs correcting. Wily would expect the evaluation and input on the present documentation would determine if any corrective issues needed addressing and not pre determine there was an issue.

It’s once again shows Barbados government ineptitude in addressing any big, small or irevelent issue. Wagon leading the horse and RED BORG in facilitation mode.

17. Have you and others read the draft to inform constructive feedback to replace the tired BS?

18. “the tired BS” ON BU IS WHAT KEEPS BU TRUNDLING ON……uh lie?

19. Did COW, Bizzy and Baloney already consent to a reform? You cannot do any land legislation WITHOUT the consent of the men running Barbados economically and politically! That is a fact even you do not like their operations.

Same is true for transparency legisation. Without the “Grand Triumvirate” nothing will happen.

20. And why would any of them want land reform or transparency legislation when they have been tiefing everything in sight on the island with the help of dumb, greedy ministers and lawyers for decades.

All any of them want is dragging OFF the island IN HANDCUFFS and LEG IRONs.

21. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

@ Dentistry Whisperer (M. Pharm. D) LinkedIN September 21, 2018 6:48 AM

I guess VOB has encountered the real world of physicists? what goes up must come down? ๐Ÿ™‚

22. IS THIS STEP UP OR SHUT UP A PLOY BY NO PLAN MAM TO GET SOME SORT OF PLAN FROM SOME PERSON(S) IN THE POPULACE BECAUSE MAM & CO HAVE NO PLANS OR DIRECTION?
    JUST ASKING

23. David
    Like I said on a previous thread, we are good at talking but not acting. We are also good at talking about things we do not know about or understand. Many here on BU have an agenda, which is to oppose everything. Wily Coyote’s response exemplifies this practice. A quick read of the Green Paper easily shows that what we have is outdated. The fact is that our current system is grounded in development control and viewed as an administrative function/tool, it is not. Planning is a strategic function for achieving governments’ broader policy objectives. I can’t help but remind myself that a constant on BU is the obsolescence of our laws. It, however, seems that any attempt to update laws is met with “who says the existing is inadequate”. #twistmout#egofowlism

24. David you are sounding frustrated as the heat racks up on your tiny size pea brain
    All of Mia policies will fail
    A country of 275 thousand cannot bear the economic burden all by self

Also Mia made a promise to thr peoplec one to have an open and trans parent policy on ministers portfolio dealing with all matters principle to their financial holdings 100days and more have gone and not a peeking word has been uttered frim her mouth about that promise
    Maybe these portfolios are written in Chinese

25. @enuff

Yes, many of them are stuck in a groove, it does not matter what is being discussed it is the same nonsense. Their egos are bigger than their brains. One relish the thought of Barbados failing because they are comfortably out of the country.

#JAs

26. RE Their egos are bigger than their brains.

VERY VERY INTERESTING

PLEASE KINDLY EXPLAIN HOW AN EGO WHICH IS ESSENTIALLY A PSYCHOLOGICAL CONSTRUCT CAN BE BIGGER THAN ONE’S BRAIN- WHICH IS ESSENTIALLY ANATOMICALLY REAL!

PERSONS WHO ARE COMFORTABLY OUTSIDE OF BARBADOS OUGHT TO RUN WITH PATIENCE THE RACE THAT IS SET BEFORE THEM AS THEY LOOK TO JESUS, THE AUTHOR AND FINISHER OF THEIR FAITH.

SUCH PERSONS SHOULD ALSO REJOICE IN THE TRUTH OF JUDE 24, THAT HE PREVENTS THEM FROM FALLING AND WILL PRESENT THEM TO THE FATHER AS FAULTLESS.

SUCH PERSONS SHOULD ALSO REJOICE IN THE TRUTH OF PHILIPIANS 1:6 THAT HE WHICH HAVE BEGAN A GOOD WORK IN THEM WILL CONTINUE IT UNTIL THE DAY OF CHRIST.

SUCH PERSONS SHOULD IN EVERYTHING GIVE THANKS TO GOD AND ENJOY IN TURN THE PEACE THAT PASSETH UNDERSTANDING

27. @ David BU

The reality is this Barbados Blog Underground has become through you the mouth piece of the BLP and it’s corrupt Ministers.

28. RE One relish the thought of Barbados failing because they are comfortably out of the country.

I KNOW ONE THING FOR SURE
    IF/WHEN BARBADOS FAILS, I WONT BE TO BLAME
    IF/WHEN BARBADOS FAILS, I WONT HAVE A HAND ………….OR A FOOT IN IT!

ALL CAN THEN SING THAT A VERSION OF THAT LOVELY GOSPEL SONG
    “TO THE BLP/DLP BE THE GLORY, NOT SO GREAT THINGS THEY HAVE DONE!”
    AH LIE? OH ME AM

29. @ David BU

You as the sole authorisation on BU can refer to other commentors as #JAs because they don’t agree with your narrative or Agenda.

You are not only arrogant but also very ignorant because you have sole decision making on BU..

Not everyone who comes to this Blog voted for or a member of BLP or DLP.

30. @ David,

It does not matter to me whether you are a B or D or alphabet soup as long as I don’t pay to blog.

If MIA really wants to know about how town planning affects the lives of Bajans she should ask OWEN an COW

I am too viscerally pissed off at what was done to a family member so I will not comment further.

31. @DAVID and ENUFF

Wily and numerous other bloggers are not against change or updates to statutes, however the track record of all previous governments have shown nothing but a LACK OF INTELLIGENCE in being able to come up with meaningful, constructive proposals.
    First of all whoever is presently in authority has to SHOW THAT THEY ARE MAKING CHANGES FOR THE GOOD OF THE GENERAL POPULACE AND NOT JUST popysetting which is normally the case. Barbados has many effective legislation rules on the books however most are not respected or inforced. The modus operenda is let’s make changes to make ourselves look like were actually doing something to earn our taxpayer dollars.

The present BLOG BORG ADMINISTRATION is heading for a VOB downfall unless they get off thier Rampant BLP agenda.

More Wily FORETHOUGHT and predictions. Time will tell the future.

32. @ Dr. GP:

RE One relish the thought of Barbados failing because they are comfortably out of the country.

I KNOW ONE THING FOR SURE
    IF/WHEN BARBADOS FAILS, I WONT BE TO BLAME
    IF/WHEN BARBADOS FAILS, I WONT HAVE A HAND โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ.OR A FOOT IN IT!

ALL CAN THEN SING THAT A VERSION OF THAT LOVELY GOSPEL SONG
    โ€œTO THE BLP/DLP BE THE GLORY, NOT SO GREAT THINGS THEY HAVE DONE!โ€
    AH LIE? OH ME AM

I will drink to that. A glass of home made cassis on ice. Made with the pure juice and vodka. Right now I am having physio on the right arm from picking all those berries, cleaning them and crushing them. I am told it was repetitive action to which I was not accustomed.

I hope your relative was not that Mr. B. from Holders that was robbed by Owen for COW. lol. Barbados is a small place indeed.

33. ok small farmer/entrepeneur Bajans from good ole st joseph!

34. @ bajans,

Don’t know Mr.B from Holder’s Hill.

35. You as the sole authorisation on BU can refer to other commentors as #JAs because they donโ€™t agree with your narrative or Agenda.
    You are not only arrogant but also very ignorant because you have sole decision making on BU..
    Not everyone who comes to this Blog voted for or a member of BLP or DLP.(Quote)

Thank you, Bajan.

36. NOT ONLY THAT HAL& bajan,
    PEOPLE WHO COME TO THE BLOG ONLY WANT TO “JOIN IN THE DISCUSSION, CAUSE YOU NEVER KNOW HOW EXPRESSING YOUR VIEW MAY MAKE A DIFFERENCE. ah lie?

37. Different yards. Different fowls.
    And a paling cock.

38. Step u ir Shut Up

,………..

I guess most decided to shut up
    Cause de green in that “greenpaper” is nothing but more smoke and mirrors
    But why worry when completed everything gonna be written in Mandarin that only she an Chairman jong can understand

39. Is Mia a secret Chinese. Is she a BBC (Barbados Born Chinese)? Has she got Mao’s little Red Book?

40. @david BU so why have you deleted my previous post re: Government doing it’s own housekeeping first and clear out the corrupt politicians and corrupt judiciary before asking Bajans to “get up off they lazy asses” to contribute to law reform. Set an example and shake out the rotten apples first…tree might be bare doh!

41. @Hants

You are good man. Keep strumming.

42. David Shut up . Now yuh got me worried that you been fed a whole lot of Wong Ton soup that got yuh brains all frazzled

Have any one notice lately that Mia comments are tongue twisters
    Her comments on barbadians learning Mandarin because of reasons only that are rationale and makes sense to her
    Make for belive her tongue got twisted right in the back of her throat

43. @ David BU

The truth of the matter is that a clear vision as to what the physical landscape of Barbados should look like cannot be assisted by an email brainstorm. The approach is like bird shooting with a scatter shot gun. Town Planning is an engineering exercise . Not a discussion on the block.

The problem the public has is the long delays in getting approvals. A new act/ plan does not solve administrative deficiencies. Why should there be a new physical plan because the old one is 51 years old? How long was there a physical plan for New York and London? We are straining at gnats. Let things evolve,

44. @Vincent

Are you saying there is no room for public comment to the law reform exercise?

45. @ David BU

I am saying that the public has already spoken on these matters over a period of fifty years. It is time that those who have the expertise draft the Plan and that the relevant experts in the field review it. We got to be serious and cut all the long talk.

46. @Vincent

Thanks, appreciate your comment.

47. The voters are paying Mia and her band of consultants and ministers to bring answers that are fair and justifiable and that works hand in hand with the constitution
    The publlic not paying govt for at every whim and fancy they(govt) come knocking on peoples door looking for answers
    The lazy mental attitude of this govt shines brighter than a diamond everytime in pretense of peoples involvement they look across the House of Parliament close shop and looks outward

48. Who will Bell the Cat Avatar
    Who will Bell the Cat

@ Mariposa

The truth is when Mia appointed George Payne, Dale Marshall and many others involved in past corrupt Acts it was a VERY clear sign of business as usual.

As usual the only people who continually get shafted are the MAJORITY taxpayers.

Not the drug dealers, the white business owners or the Indians who all know how to beat the system set by Tweedledee and Tweedlebee.