Today’s speech by Prime Minister Mia Mottley at the Bitt Conference is one that we would never have heard under the former government. The disruptive explosion of Fintechs across the globe is well documented – the race to transform Barbados from an analogue to digital space finds Barbados playing catchup.

Many will criticize the prime minister for daring to assume risk by integrating emerging technology into the way we do business in Barbados. The blogmaster commends her leadership to digitally transform Barbados. The reality is that we have to or continue to slide to the bottom of the pile on the indices which log competitiveness.  It is noteworthy that in the sub region the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) has rolled out a blockchain pilot with Bitt Inc.

424 responses to “Prime Minister Mottley Talks Digital @BITT Conference”

1. “@WW&C
    you mission Mia, should you decide to accept it, is a full review of the NIS .As always, should you or any of your Force be caught or killed, the Secretary will disavow any knowledge of your actions. This tape/disc will self-destruct in ten seconds. Good luck, Mia.”

lol..good one NO.

2. All of that is their problem, both governments, they did not do the pensioners any favors, the pensioners and taxpayers were the losers, in those corrupt little arrangements that no one but them knew about… not the corrupt politicians/ministers…and Cow want pissing on..

When ya sleep with Cows, ya get Cow ticks..

3. Now that the NSL has bern removed every Tom and Mary will be buying more USA items as the doors of the port became wide open making it easier for bajans to buy and bring oversess products.God help the small business man

4. This is above my pay grade but I think focusing on Rawdon and Bitt is a waste of time. Games are being played with us..
    My question is this….

“What does Ovesrtock sees/knows/want?

At the end of this exercise Mia, Rawdon and a few others will be richer than Bushie.

Tron exposes the big lie from the economist when he states
    “But why should the users of such a platform accept a lousy BBD as DIRECT payment? What can you buy for a BBD? No local oil, no local food, no local furniture … There is no industry and there are no natural resources in Barbados. It is very naive to assume that users in other jurisdictions sell you valuables for hot air aka BBD”

5. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

I am back.

Let me get the exact information for you regarding Paypal and its fees

“…Buying is free with us (PAYPAL) when you purchase in the U.S. When you sell with us, you get some of the most competitive rates in the business. It’s 2.9% + $0.30 per transaction. The proof is in the percentages below.

The give that caveat “in the US” because various jurisdictions inflict sorry insert certain fees.

But let me again stipulate that from a US PAYPAL CARD when you receive funds as a merchandiser you incur no fees but the sender incurs that 2.9% fee which can be passed on to the customers ultimately.

So you have a minimum deposit chequing/savings account with a debit card attached.

You then set up your Paypal account which is free and link that account to your US savings account.

You then create an API that is linked to your paypal account and effect your own or subsidiary transactions for other parties.

Note that i have not even mentioned local transactions because they dont even come on scope when I am using my debit card anyways

Why is Toys R Us closing? Because Online shopping has made it become the dodo bird so to is the monopoly that the merchants have on these products/services.

Spotify is one of my mobile GUI apps or my Amazon Store added to my back end Paypal permits me to sell any product for anyone and pay them for their purchases/sales.

And I can do this from my one account. Thereafter they can pass on that 2.9% fee and all the Bdos Jurisdiction fees to their consumers

Mia has dug herself into a hole with this one and is being advised badly.

So she falsifies the credentials of White Oak and bigs up some professionals who in their own rigght as Consultants are well respected.

Then she promises a meeting for them with the other Leader of the Opposition (the one that is taking my salary) and that meeting has never manifest.

Then, the same man that you change the Constitution to Bring him back to barbados, is the same man who is the CEO of a company that you are now giving the sole rights to launch a pilot in Bitt coin?.

Little uninportant things Honourable Blogmaster. That just stating the truth will be enough.

What are the optics on that one?

While at the same time Rome burns and Avanash, the Snake oil salesman, telling people to take back 75% of their investments of loose all. (I ent even read that document because I dun know that it contains pixels to spy on my computer so i am developing and acute vision for these sorts of things.)

The very same bajans that you are taxing out their royal behinds you now telling them crap

Steupseeeeee

#WunnaReallyTinkPeopleStupidInTruth

6. You can use the papal account how compared to what is possible with a digital currency as proposed?

7. Mottley is a millionairess and unlike Stuart who is happy to retire to Marchfield to read books without a care in the world, Mottley intends to work hard to secure her legacy. This is how the blogmaster has read the tea leaves.

8. @ David,

Paypal has adopted the wait and see about Cryptocurrencies, though they have applied for a patent for creating a faster settlement system using a “secondary wallet” or second tier security enabling user accounts to transact in any currency with special keys that will move assets equal to those in the wallet.
    At present the account allows for normal transactions, that is, buy, sell or receive. The account is free and require only an email address to open, on the inside you can set up the account to your specifications and adding your credit card details. If on the receiving end, you will have to add all Merchants that will be sending funds to your account. To withdraw, funds are sent to your Credit Card.

9. @Piece

Unlike Paypal, and the Credit Unions cards et al, Bitt provides the opportunity to trade in a Cryptocurrency (Bitcoin) on their Platform/Exchange, yet all charge a nominal fee per transaction.

10. David September 20, 2018 7:34 PM /Mottley is a millionairess and unlike Stuart who is happy to retire to Marchfield to read books without a care in the world, Mottley intends to work hard to secure her legacy. This is how the blogmaster has read the tea leaves.

The millionairess is naked!

11. For those who need to see the value of faster, efficient, transparent and secure payment gateway in the Crypto space in changing and developing economies…. its implications.

Here is a partnership with ASIAs largest economy…launched today.

https://www.livebitcoinnews.com/another-feather-in-ripples-cap-saudi-arabias-national-commercial-bank-joins-ripplenet/

12. Read these tea leaves.

” China talks rule of law with Marshall ”

“The rule of law was a major talking point when Ambassador of the Republic of China to Barbados, Yan Xiusheng, recently paid a courtesy call on Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Dale Marshall, at his Wildey, St Michael office.”

13. Hants,

You know what Emperor Xi does with corrupt politicians and bureaucrats …

Maybe the COP and DPP need some training in China.

14. @nineofnine

Reading the info available about the pilot it is not a cryptocurrency project.

What they need to legitimize the pilot is a financial institution to act as clearing house for transactions. Read the comment of an IT expert elsewhere who is of the view that the high IT security standards of FIs will work against Bitt. It is hard to think that they would have come to the market making noises about the banks with a weak IT system. This is where Bush Tea’s credit union can partner with Bitt. Ideally Bitt will prefer a bank with a regional footprint for obvious reasons.

15. Tech Bureau, the operator of Japanese cryptocurrency exchange Zaif, reported on Thursday morning that hackers had stolen 6.7 billion yen ($60 million) worth of digital currencies.
    Of the amount stolen, about 4.5 billion yen belonged to exchange customers.
    The exchange was hacked between 5 p.m. and 7 p.m. on Sept 14. Three types of digital coins — Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash and Monacoin — were stolen from “hot wallets,” which are connected to networks at all times.

The company did not detect the hack until Sept. 17, after which the exchange immediately stopped all transactions. Tech Bureau confirmed the hack on Sept. 18, reporting it to the Financial Services Agency and investigative authorities.
    In order to compensate customers for their losses, Tech Bureau will sell a majority of its shares to a group company under financial services provider Fisco.
    The group company will inject 5 billion yen into Tech Bureau as the two companies work to complete an agreement by the end of the month.
    Tech Bureau has also contracted with system consultant Caica to beef up security.
    In January, Japan’s cryptocurrency markets were rocked when Coincheck lost 58 billion yen worth of NEM digital currency in a hack, which also targeted hot wallets.
    Tech Bureau was one of 16 FSA-licensed exchanges. The agency directed cryptocurrency exchanges in March and June to improve their business operations.
    “We are gathering intelligence concerning the breach,” said police investigating the hack.
    From January to June this year, Japan’s National Police Agency had learned of 158 cryptocurrency thefts totaling 60.5 billion yen. This compares with 149 thefts totaling 660 million yen for all of last year.
    Among the thefts in the first half this year, Bitcoin saw the largest number of cases at 94, worth about 860 million yen. Ripple is next in line, at 42, leading to losses of about 1.52 billion yen, followed by Ethereum at 14, totaling about 61 million yen.
    Large hacks receive the most attention, but most thefts are from accounts held by individuals with low awareness of proper security.
    The NPA has warned cryptocurrency users of the danger of using the same ID and password across online services and phishing emails aimed at luring people to fake websites to steal their password and other sensitive information.(Quote)

16. Bitcoin is run by clever scam artist who sits behind computers as faceless crooks waiting to gobbled up vulnerable and unsuspecting people money
    Only a dummy like Mottley would fall for that form of electronic thievery
    The level of her mindset begs to ask WTF

17. Is the pilot about Bitcoin? Is it about crypto currency? You do not even know.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Are you for real?

You said and I quote “…It is hard to think that they would have come to the market making noises about the banks with a weak IT system…”

Hal posted ghat article from Japan a first world country that happened a few days ago and yet you are here talking bout Bitt wigh this reverence!

Especially mindful of things Bajan and ***?

Steupseee…..

19. As I said since last year, world class programmers/web developers both front and back end engineers know a hell of a lot better than to get involved with a fly by night operation like Bitt Inc..whether it’s digital currency or bitcoins….and that is the reality.

Many programmers were the FIRST to suffer massive losses from these highly insecure digital services when they were first introduced by their inventors, the others who were watching to see how it went learned not to get involved…it will end in thefts to those who use the services.

Blockchain has much better and productive uses as a staging platform.

20. Piece,

David’s ignorance knows no bounds. The US SEC, the most powerful financial regulator in the world, has repeatedly refused applications for ETFs in Bitcoin. We also need to ask why dealings in cryptocurrencies are prevalent in Zimbabwe, Venezuela and Argentina? Put simply, cryptocurrencies are borderless and can avoid exchange rates, they are the favourite payment methods for international criminals, hit men and terrorists.
    But David (BU) daily swims in his ignorance, genuflecting to people he believes are his social and intellectual betters. He has got the mind of a plantation worker.

21. Ok..let me spell it out, they were trying to recruit those who are close to me.., but Bitt Inc is very weak and IT deficient and would not attract the best programmers.

..how would those close to me know that…because among their very first contracts..,while in top class universities years ago…Japan was their head recruiter…..and trainers.

22. You continue to outdo yourself on the blog. Because someone post an article what does it mean? Banks and other FIs have strategic partnerships with Fintechs to deliver all kinds of services every hour of then day. There is risk associated with everything we do in life. Databases are hacked, money is stolen from armoured cars etc. It is always about summing the risk over the rewards. We are discussing a pilot to promote a digital currency yet many have not taken the time to research the difference in the terms i.e. bitt coin, cryptocurrency, digital currency etc. Y

23. “But David (BU) daily swims in his ignorance, genuflecting to people he believes are his social and intellectual betters. He has got the mind of a plantation worker.”
    This from a low intellect JA who is constantly on the blog talking about ‘good manners’ and ‘high quality debate’.

Bushie KNOWS that Hal has ALWAYS been a mindless, low-self-esteem-afflicted moron.
    Having to exist in England where he would have been made to feel even more despicable for 40 years cannot have helped,
    but shiite man…
    …at least he can ADMIT to being just as bad as stinking Bushie..

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Most of the arguments about Bitt’s mMoney stem from misunderstanding what it actually is and is not.

1) mMoney IS NOT cryptocurrency. It is irrelevant therefore to point to cryptocurrency scams as a reason to avoid mMoney.

2) mMoney IS NOT a digital currency… a digital currency is a currency which exists ONLY in digital form. mMoney is a digital representation of a normal fiat currency, the Barbados dollar. This is no different from the digital representations of Bajan currency embodied in the use of debit cards, credit cards, etc. Bitt shoulders much of the blame for this confusion because they try to appear cutting edge by talking about mMoney as though it is a true digital currency and the PM repeats this propaganda.

3) mMoney IS a threat to privacy in exactly the same way that debit cards, credit cards and bank accounts are a threat to privacy, but compounded by the ways in which mobile phones are a threat to privacy. If you want to preserve your privacy, don’t use credit cards, debit cards, bank accounts, mobile phones, or mMoney.

4) mMoney IS a mobile payment platform. Mobile payment platforms are not new, mPesa in Kenya is over a decade old. Neither are they untested under large scale deployment, Alipay and Wechat Pay in China process dozens of trillions of transactions each year.

25. David your crticism of anything said about this article is irrelevant
    Moreover it is fascinating to watch u endorse this type of internet scam even when commetators point u in a direction where the scam artist have been caught rehanded peddling illegal activity

26. Thanks Peter for trying to clear the fog but it is evident some will bring their agenda driven positions the discussion come what may. In another forum you frequent you would have observed that an IT specialist agreed that Bitt can be asked to certify to bank standards. This is all that is required.

27. Perhaps the head of the NIS could form a private company and contract it to assist with the financial reporting
    Perhaps the head of the BRA could form a private company and contract it to assist with the collection of taxes
    Perhaps the minister of housing could contract his legal firm to provide legal services to his ministry
    Perhaps the GOB could hire GOB Senator Adams’ company to provide mmoney services to the GoB
    Perhaps Barbados is just a banana republic
    Perhaps Barbados feels like a banana republic because our leaders think and act as if it is a banana republic
    Perhaps we are just as we think and act
    Perhaps we could think and act better
    Perhaps…

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea September 21, 2018 7:59 AM
    “Bushie KNOWS that Hal has ALWAYS been a mindless, low-self-esteem-afflicted moron. Having to exist in England where he would have been made to feel even more despicable for 40 years cannot have helped……”

LOL!!!
    It seems you know that awfully bloody duplicitous two-mouth hypocrite rather well.

Poor Hal, he projects himself as being unable to differentiate his broken English elbow from his Bajan annoying ass.

It he finds BU so offensively off-putting why, then, does he continue to participate in issues raised by the long-suffering blogmaster while engaging in debate with the despicable anonymous bloggers like the Maripoka; unless he sees himself as a reincarnated blow fly.

This is the same supercilious ‘jumped-up’ West Indian man who persistently argues that holding foreign reserves is a waste of time (and money) in a small open ‘imports-dependent’ state like Barbados.
    Yet he, from the other side of his shallow brain is proposing a Caricom-wide fund in which Barbados would be its major participant.

Poor Barbados! It cannot even find two forex cents to rub together.

Now where would it get that forex windfall to make such a worthy contribution to a fund ready for pillage by (as he Hal the xenophobe likes to dub them) the brash crime-prone Jamaicans, the Muslim and Hindu tricky Trinidadians, and his ‘hated’ Guyanese as they did with the Caribbean Multilateral Clearing Facility?

Is he proposing that Barbados cancel its membership with the IMF and use its SDRs as its share of initial capital into this Caricom Foreign Reserves Fund?

What a Lonely Londoner Hal has become!
    Oh, the rants and raves of a black madman who has been cursed by that dreaded English weather!

29. “This is no different from the digital representations of Bajan currency embodied in the use of debit cards, credit cards, etc. Bitt shoulders much of the blame for this confusion because they try to appear cutting edge by talking about mMoney as though it is a true digital currency and the PM repeats this propaganda.”

PLT..this is exactly what we are trying to point out…the SCAM involved.

30. What Hall fail to disclose was that Zaif was warned by the authorities prior to the hack to tighten security, they did not. Their system was way below par for Crypto management.

31. The best way for the Republicans to assess President Trump’s past and present actions is likely to do so on the basis that those actions were and are being undertaken by President Obama

Likewise, the best way for the BLP supporters to assess PM Mottley’s past and present actions is likely to do so on the basis that those actions were and are being undertaken by PM Stuart

32. And it is worth explaining why you keep a $10 balance ONLY in your mMoney wallet and not $5K, $10K, $20K etc..

33. PLT….
    That is the Crux of the matter…well put…some still talk of a Bittcoin, no such thing exist… BItcoin do.

34. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@WARU September 21, 2018 9:33 AM
    “And it is worth explaining why you keep a $10 balance ONLY in your mMoney wallet and not $5K, $10K, $20K etc…”
    1) because they don’t pay me interest
    2) because mMoney is not particularly useful with only 200 merchants participating
    3) because mMoney is not linked to my bank or credit union account to let me easily move money back and forth
    4) because if Bitt went out of business tomorrow I couldn’t care less

35. If I was cynical I would say that m ( mia ) M ( Mottley ) oney.

You all kno that I does write bare foolishness so doan mine me.

36. @ PLT – 9.41 a.m.
    Agreed…. small pickings…

Sounds like a nice little scheme to introduce to compete with the debit cards….
    So how does it get to be deserving of a National partnership.. with official government backing?

Secondly, you are an unusually intelligent man…. shiite – you even recognised that HC is a shiite place… from small..
    You probably did not lose any significant savings in CLICO
    You probably did not buy up Stinkliar’s bonds
    You probably don’t currently have any large debts… as we are about to undergo Hell…

But have you considered how ordinary Brass Bowls will respond to this shit bitt?
    Especially now that Bajans are hoping to get back some bonds as best they can….
    would many not see Bitt as the new frontier for ‘winning the LOTTO’?

Have you seen how easy it is for morons to fall for time-share scams,, CLICO scams, CAHILL scams and Canadian Solar plant scams in Brassbados?

…at least they can”t say they were not warned.

37. “Sri Lanka hands over port to China to pay off debt
    Hambantota port was signed over to Beijing on a 99-year lease because Sri Lanka cannot repay Chinese loans it took out to build the port in the first place.”

You have very weak governments, ministers who are not the brightest bulbs, who are also very, very greedy and corrupt to their very core…the people now have no choice but to look out for themselves..

38. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

@WARU September 21, 2018 9:33 AM
    “And it is worth explaining why you keep a $10 balance ONLY in your mMoney wallet and not $5K, $10K, $20K etc…”
    1) because they don’t pay me interest
    2) because mMoney is not particularly useful with only 200 merchants participating
    3) because mMoney is not linked to my bank or credit union account to let me easily move money back and forth
    4) because if Bitt went out of business tomorrow I couldn’t care less

=========================
    @P:LT so mMoney requires that you top-up the wallet via cheque/cash/debit card?

39. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

mMoney seems to have no real upward trajectory on its own.

With few merchants and maybe a rather clumsy process to topup your wallet; doesnot sound to convenient; as retail bankers for resistance?

Is GoB the saviour that will continue to make it sustainable?

The private sector backers need to real critical mass quickly. This will not happen by evolutionary market forces as the retail banks don’t need another player in the market to siphon fees revenue.

This sounds like insider trading to me; is MAM using the GoB to keep a float a rather dead or tired horse?

For all intents and purposes, MMoney is useless in the Barbados context. It sounds like reinventing the wheel but this wheel will roll in which direction to benefit who?

We got debit cards which offers the exact same functionality as the mMoney wallet. With island wide acceptance.

We got credit card that can function like a debit-card if you are “very discipled”.
    Credit card allow u to earn discounts; travel miles etc. Actually credits cards can address “cash flow shortfalls” when purchases are necessary etc. Credit card allow for cross border paymens etc.

Maybe mMoney is a way to get super cheap capital to finance other activity; without having to go to the commercial bank?

Maybeallow you to wash rinse and dry dirty money?

Remember they say if you cant beat em join em. Thus, you get your own Financial institution to do what the other financial institutions will not allow you to do?

just asking

40. Because Mottley is a self serving imbecile
    People that had an interest.in saving barbados from economic doldrums invested in bonds
    Now comes along Mottley with her maniacl plan to default on debt and all gets screwed
    As if default wasnt bad enough she racks up another mad scheme comprised of internet goons to rob poor people
    Go figure

41. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@PLT. correct me if i am wrong; but i think commercial/retail bank over some degree of deposit insurance for clients?

From what u have “stated” mMoney does not offer an deposit insurance on your mMoney wallet.

42. WARU September 21, 2018 10:26 AM /”Sri Lanka hands over port to China to pay off debt…”

MAM, super consultants et. al., this is all the debt holders would like – some assets for giving up their income – perhaps some land

Do you understand that under your plan debt holders receiving $600 per month in interest would receive less than $100 per month for the next three years

Do understand that this income was to help buy food or pay rent or send children to university

You made promises of free university for power and now using that power to bully investors into paying for your promises

You have certainly put a lot of time into planning how to deprive investors of their income

Have you done as much to collect outstanding income tax, VAT and property tax
    Have you done as much to investigate goods clearing the port versus the duties collected
    Have you done as much to investigate what caused the reserves to decline
    Have you done as much to reduce the cabinet by 50%
    Have you done as much to collect overdue amounts to the students loan fund
    Have you done as much to pass laws to reduce public servants compensation by an appropriate percentage

Have you considered making the difficult and fitting decisions rather than easily targeting the same people again and again and again and again and…

43. It would really be insulting if the GoB starts to sell GoB assets to friends, family and associates at preferential rates.

44. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea September 21, 2018 9:57 AM
    A mobile payment platform that works does not simply “compete with debit cards” it has the potential to entirely cannibalize the payment business. This is why the banks and card companies try to sabotage its introduction.

The infrastructure for merchants to accept cards earns the banks big profits: the merchant number, the card machine, monthly fees, etc. For a mobile payment platform the merchant uses the mobile phone that they already own. This changes the business completely!

Now every vendor in Cheapside would take mobile payments, every rasta selling coconut water by the side of the road would take mobile payments, the guy in the car park who offered to wash my car this morning although he washed it only three days ago would take mobile payments… why would I bother to carry a debit card (I long since gave up credit cards) if there were a good mobile payments platform?

I know that people think that I care for Rawdon Adams profits when I am on the side of a mobile payments platform, but this is not the case at all… it is simply that I’m not on the side of the banks. I’m really on the side of the Cheapside vendors, the coconut water guys, and the parking lot car washers.

45. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bush Tea September 21, 2018 9:57 AM
    “So how does it get to be deserving of a National partnership.. with official government backing?”
    +++++++++++++++
    I’m going to assume that this is a bit of a rhetorical question. (Have you noticed how uncannily Rawdon sounds like Tom?)

46. “MAM, super consultants et. al., this is all the debt holders would like – some assets for giving up their income – perhaps some land”
    fools and their money are soon parted.
    requesting security/collateral after the stable door is open is a joke. but fools like jokes.
    many complain about the banks and their charges….rightfully so….but calculate how much they stand to lose, and know those charges are only to help mitigate those losses. Plus the big spread, with floating (non-existent?) deposit rates. That, only helped lure in a few more fools.
    Ignore the ferners….rating = extreme high risk, default possible….wha de ass dem know, Bim never miss a payment YET. More fools. But polite and peaceful fools.

47. @NorthernObserver September 21, 2018 1:26 PM
    @fools and their money are soon parted.

Not sure of your point… are you saying that with the applicable tax provisions, it was foolish to roll pension plan refunds into GoB securities 10 to 15 years ago?

48. Perhaps you think that a CLICO or BA annuity would have been a better option.

49. “(Have you noticed how uncannily Rawdon sounds like Tom?)”

Well if they are going by the sentimental nonsense which makes absolutely NO SENSE…they learned nothing from the DLPs dumb sentimentality with Barrow…which he himself knew was counterproductive..

but we shall see.