What the hell is going on in this country….can town and country planning explain this to the people of BARBADOS please

– The following video posted to Barbados Wall of Shame Facebook page.

117 responses to “What’s UP With the Fence?”

1. ” no gate, fence, wall or other means of enclosure shall be erected closer than thirty feet 9.14m (30ft.) from the High Water Mark.”

Did the property owner adhere to Town Planning law ?

2. “But u cant be serious? back to do what; who will believe his creds? Maybe back in time retire from the ……”

I did not say anyone will believe a word he says when he comes back..lol

3. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar
    sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore)

WARU August 30, 2018 3:48 PM

I am sure he will have his believers; even the devil i hell has his believers unfortunately. lol

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Grey Jay August 30, 2018 3:34 PM
    “Did the property owner adhere to Town Planning law?”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Probably; subject to an accurate survey. But the question is whether he is in compliance with the National Conservation Commission Act, which states in part:

“5. (1) The functions of the Commission are
    […]
    (c) to control, maintain and develop the […] beaches of Barbados;”
    […]
    ““beach” includes the land adjoining the foreshore of Barbados and extending not more than 33 metres beyond the landward limit of the foreshore;”

National Conservation Commission Act CAP 393 http://extwprlegs1.fao.org/docs/pdf/bar19684.pdf

5. I think the time has come to change the law and stop using the ” High water mark ” as a boundary.

Surely the braniacs and maguffees with their multiple degrees and certificates can suggest a way to determine

boundaries and lot lines.

From November 30th 2018 to November 30th 2019 all beach front property will be surveyed and the seaside lot line will be determined using GPS locations.

6. White people act, Black people talk and talk and talk and ….

7. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Ping Pong August 30, 2018 3:54 PM
    Powerful people, Black or White, act with impunity because they can get away things even if they act in a grey area. Those of us without power need to use words to recruit enough of us so that we attain a critical mass to wield enough power. So, Ping Pong, which side are you on??

8. Talk to. George and Dale those two would show wunna talking heads how to take down the fence and secure and own the land
    Wunna meking nuff mock sport

9. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ Ping Pong August 30, 2018 3:54 PM

It this why they call it a “talk shop” and that “talk is cheap” and “when money talks all including the the deaf pay attention”?

10. @ peterlawrencethompson,

TCP and NCC lawyers managers and planners need to develop a plan to revise the laws and eliminatenconfusion.

From TCP website http://www.townplanning.gov.bb/content.aspx?c=25&s=beach

” What about building on the coast?

No structure should be sited closer than 30.5m (100ft) from the High Water Mark or in the case of a cliff frontage, 9.14 m (30ft) from the most landward undercut of the cliff.

In addtion, no gate, fence, wall or other means of enclosure shall be erected closer than thrity feet 9.14m (30ft.) from the High Water Mark or 3.0m (10ft.) from the most landward undercut of the cliff.

In cases where development involves beach land a current certified surveyor’s plot, not more than two (2) years, must be submitted with the application.

11. Different day, same shit. Some politician will come along with a bunch of platitudes and we will be back here in six months.

To those who had confidence in any politician, “Hope springs Eternal”

12. @peterlawrencethompson August 30, 2018 2:57 PM

It’s a question of the neighbours keeping up with the JONES.

“But the question is whether he is in compliance with the National Conservation Commission Act”
    BNC Act is nothing more than toilet paper floating on Worthing Beach, speaking of Worthing Beach, THE BEACH IS MINE, ha, ha.

PLT does a lot of complaining, no action though which is typical of Barbadians. When the likes of PPT wake up, if ever, it’s going to be too late, if it’s not already too late. Corruption in the GOB is endemic and probably irrreversable. Latest BLP government blowing lots of hot air but little substance.

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Wily Coyote August 30, 2018 4:33 PM
    I’ve done no complaining at all… I’ve simply been pointing to relevant legislation, asking questions, and asking other people’s opinions.

14. Since independence the prime minister has been the minister under which the town and country planning department has come under. That we still do not know if our beaches are opened to the public is another example of state failure.

15. What compliance. No body in the upper echelons of barbados society comply to any rule of law

Ask George Payne and Dale Marshall
    Wunna mekkng nuff spirtt

16. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Pure mock sport in Bimshire. Why do we allow these foreigners to come into our country and impose their will on us? Hal, forget about Dave the communist coming to the rescue. How much planning and organisation does it take for a couple of hundred bajans to hire a JCB and demolish all of those barriers that are located on this section of the beach?

Once these structures are demolished in full sight of the owners the dye would have been set. Might will overcome law, whilst providing conclusive prove that the law has its limitations.

What is it that holds us back as a people to say “not in my back yard”. What a scurrilous, mendicant and a feeble-minded bunch of people we have residing in Barbados. A people who are gripped by fear and apathy in equal measures.

This story coincides with today’s news that foreign companies were mistreating their Barbadian workforce.

17. The two pictures Peter referenced have been updated above to the blog.

18. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Whilst you are at it boys take a good look at how Boko Haram was formed. Can we make a case for a similar domestic organisation rising in Barbados? In its earliest formation, Boko Haram, defended the interests of its local citizens.

19. WUNNAH HAVE BEEN TALKING ALL DAY

IS THE FENCE STILL UP?
    WHAT HAS ACTUALLY BEEN DONE TO TAKE DOWN THIS OFFENSIVE FENCE BESIDE TALK?
    WHAT WILL BE DONE TOMORROW…OR THE NEXT DAY….OR THE NEXT…BESIDE TALK?

20. Talking |Loud,

I am trying to stay on the right side of the law. But as you say, the fear of Bajans is that the New Barbadians and many of the traditional whites are heavily armed and may inflict violence on them. It is basically cowardice. Bajans can talk a lot but they fear any violent outcomes. If the state fails, and it has, ordinary people have the right to march on these foreigners and remove them with their feet not touching the ground. Bajans get aggressive with each other but run away with their tails between their legs when faced with foreigners or white people.
    Do you remember two recent incidents: the wife of a wealthy man walking in to a black woman’s boutique, accompanied by thugs, and dumping rubbish on the floor. In the real world that woman and her goons should have been given a good thrashing. And the other, a white woman went missing and a posse of thugs, no doubt armed, went in search of her. They too should have been ambushed and sorted out. They could not do that in the Asian or Jewish communities.
    However, I believe in the rule of law and the state has a duty to step in and resolve these rows

21. ‘Lady’ Mary-Anne Williams is it really you?
    Posted on December 28, 2013 by David 531 comments

Submitted by the Owner Hooliganism, Bullying, Intimidation, Moral Decay All of the above, in my opinion aptly describe an experience I had recently. I remember in my youth and even to this day hearing persons muse about the fact that Barbadians are a docile people. One of the favourite things we like to say in times of despair is “if
    https://barbadosunderground.net/2013/12/28/lady-mary-anne-williams-is-it-really-you/

22. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Hal,

I hear what you are saying. Do you believe that the government are on the side of the people?

A new’s story broke this morning from South Africa. Take a look at how this incident was created and what reprisals were taken.

Sadly, the only lesson that these “Johnny-come-lately-foreigners” will understand is that they would be on the receiving end of “a bloody good hiding” should they dare to act against the interests of the Bajan population. The great GP is right in his above views.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-africa-45354977

23. William Skinner Avatar

No real opposition; country on a begging spree; activism basically absent; all the fancy talk is now finished and the gates are going up. Not a word from the Minister of Home Affairs or the MPfor the area- votes done count ears missing……..

24. @William

There was Cabinet meeting today, we are hoping that this matter was mentioned and will be addressed later. Prescod is not known to suffer this kind of thing gladly.

25. Barbados depends on Tourism and foreign investment .

That is why there has been a lot of talk and no action.

26. William Skinner Avatar

I know Comrade Prescod, I honestly agree with you. Let’s wait and see. Comrade Glenroy Straughn and I had similar battles trying to defend beach vendors almost thirty years ago.
    We need to put a stop to this nonsense immediately.

27. “Prescod is not known to suffer this kind of thing gladly.” Who the eff cares? Wuh he going do? Tek the Israel Lovell drummers down there and beat de bongos till the Jones run away screaming?!

@PLT, I am quite poor and powerless. Am I not on BU?! I am tired of being powerless and supporting a losing side! So why not support the rich and powerful even if they would piss on me given a chance at least I am not deluding myself that I matter but hey don’t let me rain on the parade!

I would bet that not one person who is bothered by this fence has brought it to the attention of the authorities i.e T&CP office or the NCC. It’s easier to moan on Facebook and BU.

Since I made my tongue-in-cheek post there have been 20 posts, most confirming that we are just full of hot stale air!

28. Both governments were and are all useless jokers allowing a bunch of white boy bullies to do as they like on the island for the last 52 years…..where is the self awareness and self respect…all these government ministers and lawyers know to do is thief and mostly only from their own people.

29. sirfuzzy (i was a sheep some years ago; not a sheep anymore) Avatar

@ Hants August 30, 2018 3:53 PM

The problem may not that we switched to GPS landmarks, the issue may be that we have not switch the lawyers or the enforcers?

30. @Hants August 30, 2018 8:29 AM “There was a guard wall at Greensleeves that was almost in the sea. The owner was a billionaire who seemed to be able to buy anything he wanted in Barbados.”

Isn’t Greensleeves on the land side? Not the seaside?

31. @ Simple Simon,

Greensleeves became part of Luxury home of Hans Rausing and includes a beach front mansion.

http://www.architectsmorrison.com/index.php/work/greensleeves

32. Ah yes.

And things did not work out too well for his son Hans Kristian Rausing, the one who when his wife died was too drugged up to make a single simple phone call to the undertaker, and left her body in the house to rot, to become a stinking, rotten mess.

More money than sense.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/08/08/one-britains-wealthiest-families-bitter-row-book-eva-rausings/

33. The National Conservation Commission has advised the public that Heywoods Beach (North), St. Peter, will be temporarily closed until Saturday, December 15.

34. Did the useless police in Barbados ever check this mansion for drugs like they chase down their own people for every marijuana leaf and seed.

The wealthy use heroine, cocaine etc…drugs that can never be legalized…right in Barbados …so when the wife was held at the US Embassy in UK with drugs.heroine, cicainr ..did the nuisance drug squad in Barbados search their mansion…I bet not..the coward wusses only know how to harass and lock up their own people.

35. so when the wife was held at the US Embassy in UK with drugs.heroine, COCAINE…

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Ms. Peggy Green

I read what you said and i quote

“…A judge, also not believing, sent him to the Green Gates for psychiatric evaluation and observation – his story was also not believed here. He said he became so scared after no one listened to him that he could not speak…”

Let the ole man talk to you a second about the phenomenon of the terrorist and the inadvertent radicalization of a clean skin jihadist

Your response is going to be like many others here “what the badword…” But I have a purpose albeit a dual one, and I will share it with you.

When Islamic men are incarcerated in the populations of 1st word countries many are beaten and raped.

Beating is “psychologically acceptable” for any man. We sit and plot revenge. And sometimes get beaten again.

Raping IS NOT and culturally this is anathema for such individuals and breeds a venomous hatred against the societies these guys find themselves in.

If an examination is made of these specific examples it will be found that the radicalisation of certain of these persons has taken on a specific profiling to attract the silently venomous…

That said let me continue.

That young man is perfect material for radicalization

He was “raped” by this system and has every right to go to Marl Hole to the nearest “***”, engage the services of Smith & Wesson as his attorneys and Judge and exact a poor man’s justice.

THEY know who then can do that to.

IF THAT HAD BEEN THIS OLE MAN I WOULD NOT BE HERE WRITING THIS DRIVEL BECAUSE I WOULD HAVE *** THE HOMEOWNER WHO CALLED THE POLICE AND THE ZEALOUS JUDGE.

IF YOU TAKE WHAT IS MINE, LIKE THE JIHADIST YOU CAN BET I WILL TAKE WHAT IS YOURS.

And if you doubt me just ask Mariposa and she will tell you that de ole man ent lie.

So there we have it.

A word to the wise is sufficient.

I got the grandson to create a Facebook account so de ole man got de grandson composing a 60 minutes video for the Ermine Atwell family members.

It will take some time BUT …once it is finished…they can start to publicize the affair with a different more ammmmmm emotive video

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item for Ms. GREEN

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Peter Lawrence Thompson

Do you have a measuring tape?

Do you have a can of red Kevlar spray paint?

Take said spray can and go to that referenced Beach, or any offending beach in Barbados, and measure that permitted distance and show video of the infraction.

Take pictures too of the same measured distances as eell as pictures of the property, and send de ole man a link to those uploads via the confidential exchange on BU

Not Dropbox folder items though.

They must be displayed on your site and permit for screenshotting software to “record” the screen.

That is because the actual picture permit trojans namely ssh tunneling commands to be effected on receiving machines

heheheheh that technical note is not for you Peter. The party knows who they are.

De fellows waiting pun wunna doah, try a ting nuh?

Unlike Barbados where the Rule of Law is NOT OBSERVED unauthorized computer access is a crime punishable under Computer Fraud and Abuse Act 28 USC . 1029

GIVEN the incident with the erstwhile Honourable Pornville AND THE FACT THAT WUNNA FELLERS IS BIG BOYS why not try a ting nuh?

39. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Forgot to mention that it is the United States Secret Service fellers who do effect thus type of action and these fellers ore serious than Donvilles DOJ crew.

Do a ting nuh?

Steupseee you are enemies to the people and will either cease in these practices or be exposed by the mightiest country in the world AFTER RUSSIA? Heheheheh cause it is said Putin has A. Dump in his back pocket.

Stick to the plan of empowering BAJANS and not spying on us AND ALL WILL BE WELL.

Trust me on this one, I have not been wrong on anything so far and I gain nothing by lying with the shadows of the evening gathering around do I?

40. Thanks Hants!

Looks like Sargeant got his answer. There is waterfront work being done by a contractor commission by the NCC.

41. Talking |Loud,

No. I do not believe the BLP or DLP governments are ever on the side of the people. They see protests as being a nuisance. They are on the side of the dollar.
    On the other matter, you know and I know that a lot of these foreigners come to the Caribbean and get away with murder, things they could not do at home.

42. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Mr. Hal Austin

Hal, you may recall riding in a Rocklyn Bus with the conductor spanning the back wheel to take the fares of passengers in the 3 back rows (two of which faced each other)

Both the driver and the passengers were disposed to tell an conductor to come in their row when the bus was approaching a narrow walled area AND HE WOULD LISTEN!

These politicians remind me of the newer ZR rabble who when you tell the conductor that he is dangling dangerously from the overpacked ZM in the starwell, HE BUSES YOU YUH FADDAH AND YOUR MUDDAH badword as is recorded gy Dr Duguid in the house of assembly not too long ago.

Small minded men and women DO NOT UNDERSTAND CONSTRUCTIVE CRITICISM.

Have you ever attended a town hall consultation in Barbados?

From the time you take the microphone you are seen as the enemy!!!

And while you say that “protests are a nuisance” de ole man would say that “merely opening your mouth is seen as dissent AND FOR THAT YOU ARE TARGETTED”

You try it, and you will see that UNLESS YOU HAVE A GOLD SPOON IN YOUR MOUTH, you are heckled by the planted supporters of the administration that is represented on the podium AND THE CHAIRMEN (Mao) always smile and conveniently do not call anyone to order during the exchange

43. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

As a people we have to “eat” a different food.

So that when you come fact to face with this racism FOR TO CALL IT ANYTHING ELSE IS PURE IDIOCY, that we are able to recognise it for what it is.

Here is some of the “food” that de ole man advises you to “eat”

44. Piece,

Dem people still celebrate Columbus Day!

45. @ pieceuhderockyeahright,

Why don’t you suggest a better way to delineate beach front property than using a ” High water mark ” ?

46. @Hants the best way to delineate beach front property is to use Gabby’s suggestion: the first grain of sand belong to Barbados and Bajans. End of story. Everything will be clear after that.

47. Piece,

I travelled on Trotman’s buses and Harold ‘Zeek’ Tudor’s garage was in the Ivy (it is still there). So I had a good experience of the buses before the Transport Board was created. We used to ‘hop’ buses. I knew about the buses before Google came along.

48. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

I want you all to know the white racist in the video sent corrupt Barbados Police earlier today to the young lady’s house who recorded the Beach Fence video and posted on Facebook that he was threatened by her.

49. Why are you putting fences around white peoples houses and not letting them out

50. The young woman who filmed the video has stated that the man in question who has the beach enclosed sent the police for her stating that she has threatened him. I told her to file a complaint with the police and to provide them with a copy of the video.
    It is time for all to take action. This bold face man not only has the audacity to enclose the beach beyond the high water mark but to call the police with a set of lies that he was threatened. He is trying to play the role of victim.

Leave a Reply to DedawgsterCancel reply