The following was extracted from Senator Tricia Watson’s Facebook Page. Senator Watson before being elevated to the Upper Chamber had cemented a reputation in a public advocacy role specifically as it pertains to appearing as an intervenor at public utility hearings before the Fair Trading Commission (FTC).

Dear Bajans

This is not too long for you to read!

I encourage you to view this sitting of the Joint Select Committee of Parliament that is reviewing the Cybercrime Bill 2024 👆🏾.

Do not ignore this Bill. As presently drafted it will have a profound impact on public commentary, digital communication, and dissemination of information in Barbados. You should participate in this public consultation which came about because of criticisms of the Bill by ordinary citizens and by experts like Niel Harper!

At the sitting, the Chairman of the Law Reform Commission spoke for 2.5 hours in defense of the Bill drafted by the Law Reform Commission. He did say that the LRC can only recommend.

The Bill was passed by the House of Assembly on 6th February 2024 and was sent to the Joint Select Committee on 14th February 2024 and the Committee was given 3 months to submit its report. The public notice inviting submissions was first published on 12 April 2024. I have attached the corrected version.

The deadline for written submissions is Friday, 26 April 2024. At my request the Committee is receiving submissions by Zoom – you should write and indicate if you wish to make an oral submission in person or by Zoom. The Committee (at my request) will also publish notice of its meeting dates more widely (not just on Parliament’s website). The next meeting of the Committee is 6th May 2024.

[Edit] From the public notice: Written communication also includes email. Mailed responses should be addressed to the Clerk of Parliament, Parliament of Barbados, Parliament Buildings, Trafalgar Street, Bridgetown.

E-mails should be sent to parliamentbarbados@caribsurf.com.

See link to BGIS website to discover more information on – Joint Select Committee On Two 2024 Bills Formed

107 responses to “Bajans, ignore Cybercrime Bill 2024 at your peril”

1. Weee wid yuh on this one.

However, this is a transnational trend in which few levers are available to Joe public.

A function of the wealthy elites not wanting anybody to cuss them.

The United States regime is forcing TikTok to a force sale sold using the canard that data are being collected by a foreign government when its held in Texas.

The real problem is that TikTok, widely used by young people, is not controlled by or offers the American intelligence agencies back door access to their systems.

Democracy?

2. Bajans have short memories!
    Remember when the Owen Arthur government came under heavy criticism from the media and a minister mused about banning the blogs? The minister is now the PM and is about to get her wish albeit in a roundabout way. Ms Watson may fight the good fight but passage of the bill is guaranteed,meanwhile six years in there is no Integrity in Public life, a republic without a constitution is a fiction but a cybercrime bill is a necessity.
    Better shut up now don’t want to be a future target of the cybercrime police.

3. Truth be told the computer misuse act shelf life has expired. The manner the internet is used today by John and Jane Citizen is unbridled. The blogmaster has no problem with laws enacted to confront defamation but citizen concerns must be allowed to be ventilated and amended as required to feed peace of mind.

4. You are getting there. Almost there but a bit short.

The purpose of the act is to introduce fear and to silence people. Our policemen cannot be seen as independent of the political setup. A few ordered arrests (they will obey) and most political commentary will stop.

The shelf life may have ‘expired’ but having it on the shelf will still be a fearful tool in the arsenal. Fear and silence are the outcome.

The ‘heart man’ never was, but he scared quite a few people

5. A majority of countries have cybercrime legislation. We need to stop the emotional arguments, read the bill and unpack those areas we think need to be amended.

https://unctad.org/page/cybercrime-legislation-worldwide

6. It is a White World,
    Cybercrime will be used to identify those who do not comply with their Masters.
    The inherent prejudice against China, Russia, Africa, Asia, Middle East will continue.

The first stage is setting up infrastructure for spying and then the monster will grow.

7. Pacha..i know what information is out there on every member of the cabinet. Many people know too…it’s all documented, it’s also time to make sure international police and other agencies do their jobs and permanently shut down that decades old syndicate…

..using fear as a weapon ensures they are now ALL HELD ACCOUNTABLE. …

That would be OUR CRIME BILL..

8. Today’s BT Editorial.

No shields from abuse of Cybercrime Bill
    Today’s Editorial
    It is fair to suggest that Barbadians have become more socially and politically engaged, but the form of that engagement is shifting away from the traditional indicators such as mass meetings and face-to-face interaction.
    People are making greater use of digital platforms to interact with those in power and among themselves. Just a few years ago, the Arab Spring which led to major political changes in places like Egypt occurred online, with organisers using smartphones to reach their audiences and plan demonstrations.
    In recent weeks, attention has been focused on the Cybercrime Bill 2024 and the companion amendment, the Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters Act.
    The administration has tried to redirect the public’s attention to the parts of the bill for which affirmation is unlikely to be rejected. Protecting young people against pornography, grooming, as well as unlawful access to computer systems with the intention of doing harm are all areas for which most right-thinking Barbadians would agree need to be codified in law.
    There is no support for bad actors at home and abroad who use their knowledge of and access to cyber space to disrupt the lives of people by disabling the functioning of banks, credit unions or healthcare institutions.
    At the same time, there are some areas of the bill that have justifiably come under heavy criticism from those who operate in the media, and who want the liberty to use the online spaces to share their views, criticisms, and support for the things and situations about which they feel strongly.
    Parts of the bill that are highly problematic include Section 19 (1) which makes criminal “a person who intentionally or recklessly uses a computer system to publish, broadcast or transmit computer data that intimidates a person”. Intimidation within the legislation means to cause “in the mind of a reasonable person, injury to himself, any member of his family or any of his dependents”.
    To “disseminate any image or words, not caring whether they are true or false, and causes or is likely to cause or subject a person to ridicule, contempt or embarrassment. . .” would be a criminal offence.
    It would be a crime to use a computer for “causing annoyance, inconvenience, danger, obstruction, embarrassment, insult, injury, humiliation, intimidation, hatred, anxiety or substantial emotional distress to that person”.
    Some of these areas highlighted may seem innocuous but they have the effect of frightening people into self censorship and worry that criticism of the powerful could land you before the courts with a criminal charge hanging over you for possibly a decade before the case is heard.
    We are not suggesting that the cyber space should be the Wild West, but using police officers as a tool to manage insults and hurt feelings is not what Barbadians expect. The civil court system is there to address such issues, not Dodds Prison.
    Under Part III of the bill relating to search and seizure, police will have sweeping powers which open a new realm of authority that Barbadians have never experienced.
    While one can understand the need for such powers when seeking to investigate matters like child pornography, computerrelated forgery, and sophisticated cyber crimes like attacks on institutions and critical national assets, one finds it difficult and highly unreasonable to include in that cause words and images in online postings that may serve to insult, annoy, inconvenience, obstruct, embarrass, insult, humiliate, intimidate or cause anxiety to another person.
    Most important, there remains nothing in the current legislation that provides protection for individuals against abuse of the legislative power.
    Where are the built-in protections for privacy of those being investigated? When police seize computers, laptops, smartphones, and devices of people they are investigating, what are the limits to what they can do with other confidential information, photos, passwords, banking and financial information, other important data that may be stored on those devices? Where are the protections against how long police can hold on to seized devices, which a person may be using in their business operations? One can understand why some groups, including those operating in the media, regard parts of the Cybercrime Bill as tools to hinder free speech.
    Given the current concerns being expressed, one would expect that Barbadians will take part in the Joint Select Committee’s reviews of the bill and ensure their concerns are reflected.

9. A good editorial, but it is mostly a regurgitation of what was written here. However, the author pays a great deal of attention to the issues that can arise by involving the police and not having the necessary checks in place.

For those who failed to do comprehension at school here is how to look at the bill:

It is like creating a law that makes eating a banana illegal and then adding in child pornography and murder. If you oppose the bill then some will say you support perverts and murderers when all you want to do is eat your banana ..

10. Indeed, we have focused on the ills of the bill but has the role of the police been fully described.

Does this bill increases police powers in anyway?
    And has this increase eroded rights that we take for granted?
    Do our police have the expertise required for the exercise?

As the author of the editorial queried …once they have your electronic device, can they set off on a wild good chase…
    Can they
    Look at your bank records
    Tell your wife about your side chick
    Tell your priest about your porn collection
    Share your 3-inch pics

I also worry about someone urging a second person to take action on a comment the first person would have ignored. We might have some ‘carrying water’ for others.

Looks like I may have to get a second phone and I can hear my wife asking… “Why do you need two phones. All you do is lay on the sofa. You gun call de fridge”

The AG (acting goat) with his many redos has not established himself as a legal authority. In fact, out of an abundance of caution, we should automatically oppose any new law that is proposed or amended by this administration

11. It is amazing to hear folks talk of “world popularity” even as her ‘local popularity’ is vanishing.

I cannot understand how with so many failures on her belt some still come here and try to make this miniature person until a world giant. Girunt is my favorite word (would like to think I coin it) and there is no word more applicable than that.

For those of you who are seeing a giant, look in the mirror and see your Lilliputian self. I was told that at 4ft 6in, Gulliver was not a giant.

12. The people have some work to do, they know they have the power to make changes and take control of the government. Wuh iz you fund them int it.

13. I Spy (Spying Glass) Avatar
    I Spy (Spying Glass)

14. A gangsta bill meant to protect the political class and wealthy from the eyes of scrutiny
    What govt did was sprinkle few bread crumbs inside the bill as an appetizer for the protection of children
    However when that section of the bill is placed against the IDB survey a survey where the rights of the child was blatantly infrigned the intented law written into the bill doesn’t pass the test of concern for the children rights but makes a mockery of a govt pretending to care
    This is a govt of smoke and mirrors
    Now yuh see now yuh don’t
    Go figure

15. David,

I haven’t really been paying attention, simply because people are inclined to blow everything out of proportion these days and I find it tiring and tiresome. I am a woman, but emotional outbursts are not my preferred first response. ☺️

So, the problem I see is not what was highlighted, “without regard for whether it is true or not”. Surely our government could not expect to disregard truth as a defence!

The problem is the loose language that follows with respect to harm and damage. This absolutely must be fixed!

Even more importantly, it did register vaguely before that we had moved from the civil sphere into the criminal sphere and hence to a cybercrime bill.

Now that DOES raise alarm bells, except when it deals with protecting children and other vulnerable folk from predators and the like.

I suppose it is way past time to engage with this topic. Even though I’m almost certain that there would be ways to get one’s information across without getting arrested or perhaps more definitely, convicted, it would require skills obviously lacking in many people.

In the US, I believe there is a higher bar when public figures such as members of the government are involved. Seems like you can say almost anything about them with reckless disregard for its veracity.

As usual, I prefer balance. We must investigate how that has been accomplished in sane jurisdictions.

This bill definitely needs fixing!

16. “The law is there to rein in some of this conduct and some of this behaviour . . . without trampling on the rights to free speech. You can speak freely but that does not mean you have the right to curse somebody beyond their burial ground by telling a bunch of lies on them.”

– Sir David Simmons, chairman of the Law Reform Commission, defending the contentious Cybercrime Bill before a Joint Select Committee of Parliament in the Senate Chamber on Monday.

17. Agree with your dispassionate last comment Donna.

18. “What David Simmons did in the Senate was not his finest hour . . . . The bill cannot be defended in the way that he is saying – that Barbadians are free to transmit data as long as it did not defame or cause any of the distresses listed in the bill. It doesn’t say defame . . . so even if it doesn’t defame you but your comments on the computer can cause the person distress, then you can find yourself in jail for seven years.”

– Trade unionist Caswell Franklyn, also a former personal assistant to Sir David.

19. It’s way too late to tell politicians/lawyers to clean up their act, they have operated with IMPUNITY, pretend power and immunity for far too long…especially when arrogance supercedes intelligence.

They can try to cover, pretend, and hide as much as they want but ALL THE EVIDENCE IS THERE.

20. “A majority of countries have cybercrime legislation. We need to stop the emotional arguments, read the bill and unpack those areas we think need to be amended.”

Some of the same countries many here repeatedly offer up as examples of where Bdos should aspire. Let the select committee meet and report to the Parliament. It seems to much ado about nothing like the two children’s bills.

21. How about the Freedom of Information Act
    That is another “tell” drawn upon a line of protectionism for the political class
    How is it that govt makes headway in writing a cybercrime bill which hinges on abandoning some aspects of people’s Freedom but can’t do the same for a FOI law that gives way to transparency and accountability within a given frame work as a testing model for politicians to adhere

22. Take your time ac, these things take time. Do not forget Covid, ash fall and Elsa. Not ignoring the fact many hands make light work.

23. Many hands make light work is a story unto itself when one counts the number of consultants on the govt payroll
    Covid and ashfall both gone so much so that govt boast about the high tourist numbers so much so that govt have 5 million dollars to renovate the tourist hot spot call Oistins
    Here once again the intent which is that of pleasing the big hotel chain who can piggy back on the entertainment out of Oistions in a false and pretentious manner knowning full well that when tourist flocked in one hot spot the others hot spots throughout the country would die giving one side the whole hog

24. “You can speak freely but that does not mean you have the right to curse somebody beyond their burial ground by telling a bunch of lies on them.”

Can we fact check this. I am no lawyer. I go by my gut feeling of what is right or wrong. Perhaps, the learned jurist should expand on the paragraph.

See below, but bear in mind that things may be different here as our lawyers may wish to continue the battle even when the plaintiff and defendant are both dead.

“Can You Defame & Slander a Dead Person?
    This page has been peer-reviewed, fact-checked, and edited by qualified attorneys to ensure substantive accuracy and coverage.

“Under common law and according to the definition of this defamation, deceased individuals cannot be defamed. Defamation is defined as an act or statement that damages one’s reputation. The dead do not have reputations to damage. The memory of a deceased person can be damaged, but this is not addressed under the tort of defamation.

Survivors or descendants of the dead have no legal claim on behalf of a deceased relative’s good name, nor can they collect on behalf of their own interests relative to that person’s reputation. Likewise, the estate of a deceased person cannot be liable for the defamation of the dead. Survivors, relatives or friends of the deceased may, however, have a cause of action if the defamation reflects on their own reputations and they have, in fact, been defamed by the statements.

Generally, pending court action on a defamation claim does not survive the death of the plaintiff. However, this can vary based on a state’s survival statute. For example, the Ohio Revised Code 2311.21 states that actions for libel and slander will end upon the death of the plaintiff.
    1 This was upheld in Oakwood v. Makar, 11 Ohio pp.3d 46 (1983).
    2 However, in Georgia, common law has held that a pending libel action may be continued by survivors upon the death of the plaintiff.
    3 You will need to check your state’s survival statute to understand your legal rights.”

He needs to be fact check.

25. Theo…it’s all distraction…trying to confuse people with words, only their dumb supporters fall for any of that.

I just saw an area in Maxwell occupied by Chinese only, no Blacks…that is segregation, people are wondering how they managed to displace the Black people who were there.

26. “A majority of countries have cybercrime legislation. We need to stop the emotional arguments, read the bill and unpack those areas we think need to be amended.”

Allow me to unpack the nonsense in that sentence. I will do so with hard examples but a level of comprehension is required

When you see …. read that as ‘a majority of countries have’
    …. courts but I suspect they function better than ours
    …. the bar association, but I suspect they are active in attempting to regulate their members
    …. teachers that will not allow strangers to push them out of the classroom and allow others to administer surveys
    …. have an association that will monitor medicines coming into the country and not have it done by fly by night operators
    … lawyers

Should I continue?

Do not make the mistake of saying A is a country and we are a country so things are the same. I have already seen some attempt to equate Mia with Macron or even equate the USA with Barbados.

My point is simple.. I make no claim of who is better or worse, just don’t equate unequals.

27. Intent is very clear. Don’t know why they are even bothering to pretend anymore….upside…there is prison and whatever else in THEIR FUTURE….

….downside…..the people are the ones who will bear the brunt of the treachery if they don’t push back, no on can do that for them.

28. If Maxwell has become a Chinese enclave, Bajans only have themselves to blame. We turn a blind eye to the elephant in the room and relish receiving money from China.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aUTT0qbg658

https://www.express.co.uk/news/royal/1528689/barbados-republic-future-china-investments-barbados-cut-ties-queen

29. “Barbados’ New Republic: A Win for China?
    Centering Barbados’ decision to end ties with the British monarchy around China only underscores the problem: The U.K.’s lack of interest in Barbados and similar countries.
    https://thediplomat.com/2022/01/barbados-new-republic-a-win-for-china/

30. Chinese got there eyes on Barbados land that is crystal clear
    Chinese knows that by using back room tactics to bring in their people to work on projects govt cant object
    Agreements count

31. Why do we post so much nonsense?

The Chinese have been here from the days when Queens College and the Gymnasium were built by them. There are minorities living here, Indians, Syrians, AMERICANS, Caribbean people etc. in fact just like some of you living in the UK, USA, Canada etc.

32. Weeeee would have thought that AC had more ‘material’ matters on her plate.

Maybe …………. the confusion at George Street?

But still, there is only a simplistic comparison between the role of Bajans In Cañada, the USA, the UK to the function of Chinese in Barbados.

For there are no Bajans living and working in those countries, except embassy staff, who have the might of a sovereign country far less a 20 trillion dollar economic power behind them.

In this circumstance such comparisons reside within the sphere of the irrational.

As much as we support China, and weee do, especially when they are up against the White people.

However, weeee are neither prepared to criticize them for its own sake nor deny easily discernible realities.

33. It is a no surprise that despite our challenges like many countries around the world you and others from the diaspora would label us a failed nation. You may have the last word.

34. I don’t see a group segregating themselves. from the majority black population as nonsense, that door is now open for more displacement, more segregation experiences for the population…

Apparently some already forgot what segregation did to South Afrikans and Black Americans…how quickly they forgot..

…seems like Malcolm X, Martin Luther King, Medgar Evers etc all died for nothing..

.but they can guarantee in this new beginning, not a fella int dying for them so they can remain comfortable slaves. Weee learned our lesson..

. Not one Afrikan can go in China and do that…

35. Let David play the Devil’s advocate. Our political parties were happy to expose their population to an open economy with no bars in place. On a recent visit to Kenya whilst I was in the Masai Mara region, I noticed an encounter between a wilder beast and a pack of lions. Nobody needs me to inform them of the predictable outcome of this encounter.

I am afraid that Bajans are the equivalent of the wilder beast and are at the mercy of every nationality in the world. Just don’t say it too loud; you may be accused of being a racist.

36. They called me racist so many times already the word lost its effect, since they could never explain to me WHO am racist against. 😀

TLSN…if they can’t see what’s right in front of them…too bad…maybe they can raise Harriet Tubman, no one really cares. Ya help traitor politicians make the bed, dem iz de one gotta lay in it…not me…

37. Chinese have a good grasp of how poor nations react out of desperation
    While the Chinese masters a physchological component of patience
    Remember when Mia toss a Chinese flag out of her red bag telling the people that the children should learn Chinese
    An indication that the Chinese influence on Barbados would be economically sound as well as socially grounded
    Moving forward if Mia wins another election both China and Mia would get their own way while the natives remain silence
    Lots of land out there for China to include in sign agreements

38. Disturbing audio making the rounds as all the foul play is ecposed.

39. @TLSN

We can critique the current state of Barbados. The reality is that it is a country wholly dependent on FDI and tourism. Then we are in a situation where we need concessionary loans from sovereigns to support our current economic situation. We are therefore in a predicament where negotiating with hegemonists whether USA, China or is a reality.

40. As usual we are off on China and the substantive issue raised here on the cybercrime bill is forgotten.

41. These constant complaints but always absent the reasons why, even as in your mind, there must never be any departure from the central causal reason for such a condición.

But yet you can never stop supporting such a failing system.

This writer was never particularly given to talking about failed states, lost decades and fiscal space. These are memes given you by the very people responsible for your failed statehood, as described by you.

This language will never be particularly used by this writer because ours has always been concentrated on the rigorous interrogation of that system tooooo loved by you. Not to be distracted by these Orwellian terms manufactured by the marketing gurús in Washington.

BTW, people with sense and resources are beating a path away from Canada, UK and the USA, such is the state of financialized capitalist decadence. This data point alone exposes the color of your undergarment.

42. “GOOD MORNING MR PHELPS”!!!

“YOUR MISSION, SHOULD YOU CHOOSE TO ACCEPT IT – IS TO DESTROY THE CYBER-CRIME BILL & MALICIOUSLY DISBAND ITS PROPONENTS & AS ALWAYS, SHOULD YOU OR ANY MEMBER OF YOUR IMF FORCE BE CAUGHT OR KILLED, THE SECRETARY WILL DISAVOW ALL KNOWLEDGE OF YOUR ACTIONS!!! THIS MESSAGE WILL SELF-DESTRUCT IN [5] SECONDS”!!!

LET ME BORROW A “word” FROM @OG:

#IGRUNT*

That describes all these “CYBER-CRIME-BILLS” floating around in the “ETHER”, as if there is some “FIBER-OPTIC #god, SITTING AROUND ON A #Cloud (SERVER*), waiting to pounce on “KEYBOARD WARRIORS” for the sole purpose of catching them in an “ACT OF VANDALISM” – “CRUSHING & CRASHING” their rights to be “DISSIDENTS” & “CONSCIENTIOUS OBJECTORS” to the “MADNESS” of so-called demo-CRAP* GOVs!!!

C’mon GUYS*, it is a normal, human functionary mode of human psychology to “EXAGGERATE” the “WISDOM” of the choices we make on any given day, in regards to our own personal lives – while questioning the veracity & wisdom of the “DAMNED CHOICES” made for us by other irreverent “DUTTY BASTERDS”!!!

Here’s the folly in wisdom according to “SOLOMON”: am I the only one who ever notices how hard it is to do a 180-degree turn-around once you have embarked on traveling down a wrong road???

Contrast that same logic with the “ASININE CHOICES”, that we quickly question, given the benign wisdom of going down a specific “BLOODY ROAD” that some “FOOL” chooses for us, when even the slightest “FORK-IN-THE-ROAD” throws up choices we then struggle to make – not knowing where either road leads!!!

This is a very fundamental principle of psychology, where individuals want to feel a sense of cognitive, preferential satisfaction given that their own choices are not seen as lesser or less valued than anyone else’s, while “OTHERS” have this inane consciousness that their decisions are superior to those of other folks – thus this inherent bias within the decision-making processes of #GOVs distorts the true perception of reality!!!

MY QUESTION TO THESE DAMNED FOLKS WHO ARE NOTHING MORE THAN CIRCUS CLOWNS WHO WANT TO LEVEL MORE INSANE, ARBITRARY LAWS UPON THE HUMAN FAMILY IS THIS:

WHY ARE YOU NOT GOING AFTER THE ENABLERS OF CYBER CRIME WHO ROB #OleLadies OF THEIR LIFE SAVINGS BY TAKING DOWN THE PLATFORMS & SOFTWARE PROVIDERS THEY USE???

For folks like your “HUMBLE” servant who has a #VPN’s as part of my “SOFTWARE BUSINESS PACKAGE” protects my online security – something, I hardly will ever use, as I do not need to disguise my location or ISP or other services that I also use – as there is no need!!!

YET HACKERS, MISCHIEF-MAKERS, KITTY-PORN DEMONS* & DEVILS*, & EVERY MANNER OF HUMAN EXCREMENT & VERMIN IS ALLOWED TO GET AWAY WITH HIDING BEHIND A VPN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

MAKE ME UNDERSATND THIS PIG EFFLUENT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WILL YOU TAKE DOWN THE VPN PROVIDERS OR NOT???

These so-called “EXPERTS” in the “MOTTLEY-CREW-GOV” knows what I am whinging about:

COMMERCIAL HACKER TOOL MAKERS (e.g.) – OS DISTROS MAKERS, CLOUD FILTERING, IPS SYSTEM SERVICE PROVIDERS & THE REST OF THE #DIRTY_BASTERDS WHO WRITE “CODE” ON CERTAIN “OPEN SOURCE PLATFORMS” AND USES THAT CODE FOR NEFARIOUS PURPOSES!!!

Yet we are told that we cannot “POLICE EVERYWHERE”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

#HorseManure

So blatant, in-your-face HACKERS, SPAMMERS, SCAMMERS, PHISHERS & THE OTHER NASTY SLIMY SLUGS* THAT OUGHT TO BE SALTED can in broad-daylight commit “ROBBERY, THEFT, EMBEZZLEMENT & FRAUD – using these “PLATFORMS” without even a modicum of straight-forward vetting – oftentimes by ignoring the vetting process will “OPENLY ALLOW ANONYMOUS USAGE” – while strictly protecting the said “USERS PRIVACY” by quoting the law as a “BUFFER”!!!

WHAT MADNESS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In essence, “CYBER-CRIME” is allowed to run rampant while the “EXCUSES” (a dime a dozen) purport that “TRACKING”, ARRESTING” & “LOCKING UP” “THESE VILE NASTY CREATURES” is harder for the so-called “AUTHORITIES & CORPORATIONS” who are NOT* willing to expend resources & energy on finding them & prosecuting them to the full extent of the law!!!

IN INDIA FOR EXAMPLE, WE KNOW WHERE THESE DIRTY BASTERDS ARE BUT IN A COUNTRY OF 1.4 BILLION & COUNTING – THE AUTHORITIES DO NOT GIVE A MONKEYS!!!

“SCAMMER PAYBACK” with over 7 MILLION subs – nicknamed “PIEROGI”, is a formidable YouTuber & Live Streamer who shows how they take down “SCAMMERS” – SEE: https://www.youtube.com/@ScammerPayback -involving the different arms of the state law enforcement, to shut down, lock up, recoup stolen monies, & assets from organized “DIGITAL” criminal cartels!!!

Tom Cruise in “MINORITY REPORT” was the first example that the “GOV” was coming for us!!! As is stated: “”We don’t choose the things we believe in; they choose us.” The main theme of #MinorityReport is the classic philosophical debate of “FREE WILL” vs. “DETERMINISM”. One of the main questions that film raised is whether the future is set or whether free will can alter the future!!!

THIS IS THE MISSION…

43. The people in Maxwell already had to call in the authorities for those illmannered anti-social race haters who carry their disgusting racist behavior everywhere.

The system is dead weight, it can go no further, the politicians are all expired…they have to go to prison given the numerous crimes they commit and their IGNORING the rule of law while legislating nonsense to HIDE THEIR CRIMES….and LYING TO THE PUBLIC…where they got CAUGHT again

…when that is understood, maybe changes can occur…people are not taking this seriously, still clinging to death.

IT’S OVER..

44. @David

Mornin’

A recent post did not alight on the timeline…

Thanks

45. NO WONDER BRITAIN, BARBADOS ET AL ARE PUSHING CYBER CRIME BILLS IN THE LIGHT OF ALL THE “NASTINESS” ENDEMIC WITHIN BOTH OF THESE SOCIETIES

We can’t “SCRUTINIZE” them but they can hang an “ALBATROSS” around our necks – in what “FRIGGIN’” world is that even plausible???

46. IN THE LIGHT OF THIS MUD-SOAKED WORLD OF “POLYTRICKS” & WHY THERE ARE TYRANNICAL ASPECTS TO CYBER-CRIME BILLS

47. Impact of social media on privacy ‘huge’

By Antoinette Connell antoinetteconnell@nationnews.com

The case of Therese Ho versus cricketer Lendl Simmons is probably one of the best known Caribbean cases of revenge porn via an electronic device and for which the victim was able to get compensation.

Ho, an account executive, in 2015 sued the West Indies player after he electronically disseminated the private photographs to his colleague of their sexual encounters. She took the civil approach contending that Trinidadian Simmons contravened the law that protected confidential information conveyed in confidence.

It was the observations of Justice Frank Seepersad in his October 26, 2015 decision in Trinidad that very early on gave insight to social media’s potentially monstrous effect.

Sir David Simmons, chairman of the Law Reform Commission in Barbados, cited the decision in his recent submission before the Joint Select Committee examining the Cybercrime Bill, 2024 and the Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters (Amendment), Bill 2024 to determine whether there was merit in public criticism.

‘Destructive discourse’ Justice Seepersad noted: “The impact of social media and its consequent effect on our individual and collective privacy has to be acknowledged and addressed. There is a tendency for persons to hide behind the perceived anonymity that comes from using a ‘username’ and/or a user profile while sitting behind a computer screen or when using a handheld device to engage in offensive, hurtful, divisive and destructive discourse. These persons may feel that they are empowered but their actions can infringe upon the rights of others with the aggrieved persons having no recourse.”

In respect of online conversations and the dissemination of information over the internet, Sir David again cited the 2015 ruling of the Trinidad court.

“The impact upon an individual’s privacy is tremendous and the absence of clear and cohesive legislation to protect our citizens’ privacy and to punish those who violate the rights of others, can cause us to descend into a bottomless pit of anarchy . . . . The time for legislative intervention is long overdue.”

While he cited the decision, Sir David, a former Chief Justice and Attorney General, pointed out that Barbados’ legal effort at containing the emerging issue was not a response to the plea of Seepersad.

Budapest Convention

“. . . It is really the legal measure adopted by the Government of Barbados to establish certain criminal offences under our domestic law, but using the Articles of the Budapest Convention as the benchmark against which the Bill is to be tested for compliance with the Convention,” he said.

In making the case for the legislation Sir David also referenced the Editorial of the Sunday Sun of April 6 which reads: “The truth be told, some regulation is needed in Barbados if only to: protect our children from those who will wish to do them harm through sex, manipulation and violence; hold people accountable for what they say about others; shield consumers from unscrupulous business practices; protect our constitutional rights to privacy and the maintenance of people’s good names.

The internet is invaluable, but it does not provide an avenue to shout “fire” in a crowded place when there is no just cause”.

Sir David contends that the march of technology and the variety of computer systems have made the present Computer Misuse Act antiquated; that it is far too narrow to be an effective tool for the police and prosecutors to cope with contemporary criminals and the variety of cybercrimes spawned since 2005; that it is in need of substantial revision or repeal.

To buttress this point he gives the example of Section 14 dealing with Malicious Communications merely providing for: Where a person uses a computer to send a message, letter, electronic communication or article of any description that (a) is indecent or obscene; (b) is or constitutes a threat; or (c) is menacing in character, and he intends to cause or is reckless as to whether he causes annoyance, inconvenience, distress or anxiety to the recipient or to any other person to whom he intends it or its contents to be communicated, he is guilty of an offence and is liable on summary conviction to a fine of $10,000 or to imprisonment for 12 months or both.”

A major part of Sir David’s submission focus on the issue of Freedom of Expression linked to Section 11 of the Constitution that provides every person fundamental rights and freedoms including freedom of expression. However, he said it is explicit that such fundamental rights and freedoms are “subject to respect for the rights and freedoms of others and for the public interest”.

“The section also makes it clear that several sections, namely, sections 12 to 23, give protection to those rights and freedoms. However, such rights and freedoms are ‘subject to such limitations . . . as are contained’ in sections 12 to 23. These limitations are ‘designed to ensure that the enjoyment of the said rights and freedoms by any individual does not prejudice the rights and freedoms of others or the public interest’”, Sir David said during the oral hearing in the Senate.

The Cybercrime Bill, said Sir David, is reasonably required in the interests of public order and public morality and is reasonably required to protect the reputations, rights and freedoms of other persons but also regulates other means of computer systems communication.

Distress

Under the cyber bullying section someone must intentionally use a computer system to publish offensive, pornographic, indecent, vulgar, profane, obscene data intending to cause annoyance, inconvenience, danger, obstruction, embarrassment, insult, humiliation, injury, hatred, anxiety, or emotional distress. The defence include bona fide scientific or medical research or law enforcement.

In every instance there must be intent said Sir David, who went on to respond to critics in this regard.

Where blogger Stephanie Chase, alleged threat to freedom of expression from State and Non-State entities and that the language was vague, Sir David cited some of the words contained in the law including indecent, vulgar profane obscene, menacing or annoyance, inconvenience, danger, insult injury, hatred and anxiety. The interpretation of the words were for the trained judicial officers to determine but the victim must first inform the police about how the action made them feel for someone to be charged.

Regarding social activist Marcia Weekes’ assertion that Barbadians believed their constitutional rights were at risk, that, said Sir David was an overreach since it is only when the action is an intentional or reckless that an offence is committed.

To his former personal assistant trade unionist Caswell Franklyn that a person can be jailed even when someone’s feelings is hurt by the truth, Sir David stated that was wrong.

He told the committee the legislation was doing what letter writer Michael Ray called for by protecting all kinds of Bajans “high or low” if someone uses a computer to propagate nastiness about them.

In relation to former political candidate Kemar Stuart’s assertion, Sir David said it is true that if bloggers commit any offences by malicious communications, they can be prosecuted. But, asked Sir David, why should a blogger wish to publish untruths about people and gain a reputation for disinformation?

48. The people’s voice has prevailed

The compulsory acquisition of Drax Hall Plantation is on hold. The voice of the people has prevailed. That voice is amplified and empowered today by the Internet and social media. It is not always a power that is used responsibly. But the solution is not to stifle it. Educate it and develop a more positive and responsible culture around it.

A Cybercrime Bill is definitely necessary. However, the proposed bill in its present form causes concern.

Anything can be claimed to cause annoyance, embarrassment or emotional distress, which the bill criminalises. The chairman of the Law Reform Commission says the courts will decide. Errol Barrow said if you want justice, stay out of the law courts. Most of us do not have the resources to manage should an annoyed person seek to take us to court. This bill could have a chilling effect on the voice of Bajans at a time when it is coming into its own.

The Government of Barbados halted its plans for Drax Hall due to the voice of the citizens of Barbados. Opponents of this administration will paint this as a mark of incompetence. Its supporters will paint it as a mark of responsiveness. For those who are less interested in political drama, the main take home will be the potential power that an awakened, active and involved citizenry can wield. It highlights a major task today, in the long liberation march, through emancipation, the 1937 uprising, Independence, republicanism and beyond, which is for Barbadians to take a more active and vocal approach to our own governance.

A populace which cannot find its voice is as great a problem as a government which stifles it.

Vocally aggressive

There is a common notion that Bajans are docile and/or don’t take anything seriously. While we may not be as vocally aggressive as some of our neighbours, or burn tyres in the streets like some others, these highly visible and emotive forms of expression are neither the beginning nor the end of effective action.

And, while we may not be as extravagant in our protest, it does not necessarily mean that we are less effective. It may be that rather than being docile, Bajans are measured when it comes to protest. This may be for several reasons.

This nation has a long history of brutally repressing its majority African population. In fact, this island is reputed to be the place where the art of coercing enslaved Africans into submission was perfected and exported to the rest of the world.

Slave code

In 1661, Barbados passed the first comprehensive slave code in the English Americas, “in order to better manage its profitable but unruly slave society”, according to Rugemer. It was updated in 1688 due to continued slave resistance and plots of rebellion.

It was not a docile and submissive Barbadian African population that necessitated structures to keep them in check. Quite the opposite.

These measures of control worked so well that the Bussa rebellion in 1816 caught the planter class totally by surprise. They were of the opinion that they had their enslaved population totally subdued. They were as caught up then in a myth of Barbadian African docility as some are today.

They were wrong. What appeared to be submission and docility was actually patience and restraint. Centuries of brutality and manipulation must take a toll on the personality of a people. Faced with the reality of an unprecedented level of state-sponsored domestic terrorism and, with little space to run, we learned to be more subtle, considered and measured in our resistance.

The task today, in the long liberation march, through emancipation, the 1937 uprising, Independence, republicanism and beyond is for Barbadians to maintain our considered and measured approach while becoming more active and vocal in our own governance. This is an approach befitting a people who understand what they’ve been through, how far they’ve come and how fragile freedom is. In this cyber age the abuse of the freedom of speech is a real problem.

But so is the abuse of the power to curtail speech.

Adrian Green is a communications specialist.