[BARBADOS UNDERGROUND] It is official, Verla Da Peiza was elected president of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) at the 63rd Annual General Meeting. The blogmaster extends congratulations and wish her every success in the task of resuscitating a party that was rejected in an unprecedented way on 24 May 2018.

Both major parties have females at the helm, we wait to adjudge if this will translate in better governance of the country.

Da Peiza has something in common with Prime Minister Mia Mottley, both logged public utterances which are uncomplimentary to social media. Da Peiza labelled the blogmaster a traitor for posting the voluminous Cahill documents that exposed malfeasance and mismanagement at the highest level of the former government. The blogmaster will write off her comment as a DLP Senator toeing the party line.

Again Congratulations Verla!

209 responses to “Verla Da Peiza is President of the Democratic Labour Party”

1. I thought barbados wasnt ready for a female prime minister

2. @ Hal

i asked the question- why in this day and age why should uni be free? no one answered

3. @ T Inniss
    Pray tell me what are the accomplishments of Cynty forde,Ronald Toppin,Kerrie Symmonds,Dale Marshall,George Payne,Glyne Clarke,Joseph Artherley and of course Mia Mottley – after spending time in government as a minister
    Actually this is an excellent question.

Unfortunately the answer is very simple… relativity.

Compared to people who actually would impose a tipping fee – that makes it profitable for unscrupulous people to dump their garbage into gullies …rather than the national dump….

…or to brass bowls who would buy an abandoned hotel for hundreds of millions;
    – pay millions to knock it down
    – then borrow hundreds of millions to rebuild the thing
    ….and then propose to GIVE it to a foreign “Paradise Beach pisser” ….

Boss – even Hal Austin looks like a refreshingly viable option in comparison.

4. i asked the question- why in this day and age why should uni be free? no one answered
    It is NOT free.

The correct question is “why should taxpayers be paying for tertiary education in a society where most parents of university students can afford to give them vehicles to drive to class….”

…and at what stage are Bajans expected to stand up like adults ..and accept personal responsibility for the TRULY important things in this life?

5. Piece
    Will Verla and Andre Worrell battle over the St.John candidacy?☕

6. James Greene,

It is unsustainable in every way. The BLP government introduced it as a cheap form of PR, but it will prove very expensive in the long run. First, do graduates get graduate-type jobs? Will it lead to a brain drain, with many young graduates moving to the US and Canada?
    The truth is that Barrow made the statement as a political slogan and his believers followed through on it in 1963. If we really want to get to the root of it just read the minutes of government and the DLP executive from 1961 to 63, somewhere in that bumpf we will find notes on the discussion within the party and Cabinet. But Bajans do not like evidence, since those minutes should be in the Archives – after all they will be over 50 years old.
    The elephant in the room with ‘free’ university education is that it hides the failure of government policy and the gross incompetence of our ultra-conservative insurance companies.
    Government can introduce education bonds, locked in for 18 yrs and formed from taxed income, tax-free growth and tax-free withdrawals. Likewise the insurance companies can offer such savings products. It means at the age of 18 young students will be able to pay for their tuition.
    Of course, other forms of payment such as bank loans, family savings, etc would do very nicely.

7. Georgie Porgie,

You are speculating. Until we study the problem we will not know for sure.

8. Jesus Christ the dlp won two elections beating two leaders of the blp
    1 win against Owen the master economist “” wink wink”
    The other against Mia the person who Oowen called an embezzler
    Ten long years in the blp languished and prayed in the wilderness
    Now all if a sudden tge blp yardfowls belives a 30- 0 is a huge accomplishment
    An accomplishment of winning after ten years might be as far as the blp might go
    Now all wait to see the final result of barbados economy when the IMF have their say p

9. @ Hal

that notwithstanding i will go further and say that whilst free at point of service uni education was brilliant for a time- to create a black educated middle class to serve the civil service with excess going to the private sector- its time is up. we can no longer afford it.

in 1996 the Arthur admin commissioned a study head by Dr Shorey which recommended that student pay their tuition fee. MAM was minister of education and she nixed the recommendation. here is the newspaper article- http://www.ipsnews.net/1996/02/barbados-education-to-pay-or-not-to-pay/

10. @Jamea Greene

Verla is choking the airwaves today. Took careful note that VOB went to Guy Hewed for comment and he noted the point made by the blogmaster that Stuart et al is damaged goods. George Belle is of the view Verla is transitional at this early stage. She is a caretaker, point again made by the blogmaster.

11. @David

i have to ask- what is your point?

12. James Greene,

Barbados cannot afford it. You are right about the creation of a black middle class. That was also the origin of the Barbados Scholarship and the various Exhibitions. The Barbados Scholarship has been going for approaching 100 years. Has there ever been a study f the programme? Do we have any empirical evidence of the benefit to taxpayers from the exorbitant cost? We continue doing the same thing every year, from BLP to DLP, without any regard for the cost/benefit. Even the huskers selling peanuts keep better accounts.

13. It made for good Opposition politics for the BLP to oppose the imposition of UWI fees on students. It found its way into their Manifesto and now the country is stuck with it. The Gov’t indicates that students will be required to complete some Community service to partially “offset” the cost of University education. That should be more fun than a pratfall of clowns.

It boggles the mind that a Gov’t can approach the IMF for assistance and still insist on “free” University Education for its citizens and it makes one repeat the McEnroe of tennis fame shout “You can’t be serious”

14. @ Hal

agreed. the Bim Scholarship like the free education system was to enable the indigent – at the time a large portion of Bim- to be able to go beyond secondary school by excelling at A levels now CAPE or whatever they are called these days. i like the idea that such achievements are lauded and they should be but should they be rewarded? especially when those benefitting are not the original target population.

i once looked in depth of the scholarship winners and save for one all came from well to do families who could afford to pay uni fees or were in a better position to do so than other bajans.

if university is to be free at point of service maybe it should be means tested?

15. HAL

RE The Barbados Scholarship has been going for approaching 100 years. TRUE
    Has there ever been a study f the programme? WHY?
    Do we have any empirical evidence of the benefit to taxpayers from the exorbitant cost?
    WHAT EXORBITANT COSTS SIR?
    PRAY TELL US, HOW MUCH DOES A SCHOLAR GETS NOW………..AND FOR HOW LONG
    HOW MUCH DOES AN EX-POLITICIAN GET FOR THEIR PENSIONS…AND FOR HOW LONG?

16. Horace,

Barbados Scholarship should be left alone. It gives our young people a goal to work towards and produces excellent scholars. I disagree with your post most vehemently

17. Pretty soon the mind would be in total confusion when the IMF directives tek stick and knock down the unsustainable free education plan
    Mia has proven that mock stick is a great game of make belief

18. If you must ask, a strong democracy in Barbados is riding on strong opposition parties. People have a right to discuss the political system as it is unfolding. The change we want to see happen will not if our political parties are weak.

19. RE the Bim Scholarship like the free education system was to enable the indigent – at the time a large portion of Bim- to be able to go beyond secondary school by excelling at A levels now CAPE or whatever they are called these days.
    WHERE IS THIS WRITTEN DOWN ANYWHERE AS FACT?

i once looked in depth of the scholarship winners and save for one all came from well to do families who could afford to pay uni fees or were in a better position to do so than other bajans.
    GO LOOK AT THE BOARDS IN HC HALL
    TAKE DOWN THE NAMES FROM THE BEGIINING
    CHECK OUT THE PEDIGREE OF THOSE WHOSE NAMES ADORN THESE BOARDS
    COME BACK AND TELL ME WHICH OF THESE WINNERS WERE INDIGENT

20. Trust fraudulent Fruendolittle to blame social media for his own inadequacies, incompetence, arrogance and that of his ministers and their corruption.

21. Everybody, please relax, do not fight each other!

There won´t be any new debts in foreign currency in the nearer future anymore. Problem solved. Barbados is so bankrupt and tainted, nobody will lend the island a single US- oder EU-Cent anymore. I do not wonder that there is no resolution with the IMF yet.

Before the IMF hands over any USD to the island, MAM must fire lots of clueless civil servants and must privatize or shut down half of the state corps. Alternatively, she can opt to devalue the local Mickey Mouse-currency to a sustainable level where the formal value matches the very low productivity.

22. @James Greene August 13, 2018 12:29 PM “free at point of service uni education was brilliant for a time- to create a black educated middle class to serve the civil service with excess going to the private sector- its time is up. we can no longer afford it.”

I put it to you that we need it even more now.

And who the hell do you think is paying for this “free at the point of delivery”education if not the same black middle class? In my last 20 years at work I was paying between $16,000 and $24,000 per year in income tax, plus property tax, plus VAT. For that kinda money you don’t think that my little Susie and Johnnie deserve a “free” education?

If the government don’t spend the money collected on the tax payers and the tax payers children, we know that the political class will find a way to steal the money and deposit it in American and other foreign bank accounts, so that that money is available to Americans and other foreigners to educate THEIR children, while our number of college graduates drops, and drops, and drops until Barbados in back in the 1930’s again.

I don’t know if some of the old men on this blog understand MORTALITY, that is to say some ALL of the 1930’s scholarship winners are dead, dead, dead, and so are most from the 1940’s. So we have to constantly replenish the stock, that is we have to replace the old people and the dead people.

No point talking about the scholars Adams, Barrow, Adams, Thompson etc. and their collegues in medicine, law, engineering etc. Those generations are dead or dying. [the life expectancy of a Bajan man is 74.]

WELCOME TO THE 2018 SCHOLARSHIP AND EXHIBITION WINNERS.

You are the young people. We need you badly. We cannot survive without you and your youthful classmates.

23. @Mariposa August 12, 2018 11:36 PM “ask Mia how much money she is paying Jong from the public purse to spread fake news and propaganda”

Maybe ’bout $5,000 per month, which if the Americans are right about Donville would have be enough to pay a Jong type for 14 months. Maybe if the DLP had paid a good man or woman $5,000 per month, the DLP would not now be crying in its collective soup.

So the DLP=not only incompetent, but cheap as ass too.

24. @Looking on August 13, 2018 11:54 AM “I thought barbados wasnt ready for a female prime minister.”

i waiting to hear from Maureen Holder of CBC fame on the election of Verla.

Maureen Sweetie: Where art thou?

25. Tell them Simple..don’t know who these clowns think pay into their pensions, what they need to do is put pressure on the Mia government to stop allowing the greedy business people to force the government ministers through bribery to marginalize and sideline these scholars when they return to the island to contribute and open businesses or the jealous minded lowlifes in the civil service and elsewhere who tend to drive the scholars out when they attempt to contribute via job placements to make a difference and roll back the 1950s mentality by bringing meaningful changes to the minds of those who are yet to climb out of their slave mentalities.

26. @William Skinner August 13, 2018 5:55 AM “The now hated Owen Arthur a few short years ago said that Mia Mottely was unfit to be Prime Minister and she will not find favour with the electorate. Today Mia Amor Mottley is Prime Minister of our country. Errol Barrow almost three or more decades ago made a statement about Gertrude Eastmond regarding sex. Kerrie Symmonds when a Dem, now minister of Tourism as a Bee, once insulted Mia, Liz Thompson by reffering to them as 1000 pounds of fat , or words to that effect or some other insulting adjective. Mia was kicked to the curb and back stabbed by the men in the BLP a few short years ago. So both parties have a history of despising and insulting women.”

What Owen Arthur may not have understood is that we women, the majority of the electorate, did NOT share his views of Mia.

What Errol Barrow did NOT understand is that when he insulted Gertrude Eastmond he was also insulting us, our mothers, our grandmothers, our great grandmothers, our daughters and our granddaughters. They say that elephants and women never forget. 30-Love in the DLP’s tail. And tell Barrow and the old boys that that “love” has nothing to do with sex.

Ah yes Kerrie and the 1,000 pounds of blubber. We waiting fa Kerrie. We have not forgotten, although we did punish him in the 2013 election. Did he think that we fat women did not feel insulted when barbs were thrown at Mia, Liz etc. We heard. Election defeat in 2013 in ya tail. And we still waiting. We are patient. Very, very, patient.

And as for the short (and tall) men in the BLP. We ain’t faget ya neider.

27. @T.Inniss August 13, 2018 9:16 AM “Chris Sinckler valiant efforts in keeping the bdos dollar’s parity with the U.S. dollar intact – ,the reduction of the national debt, – his success in holding together the various arms of government and ensuring that public servants salaries were met,- our foreign and local debts were paid, – the Hospital was funded, – schools and school meals systems were provided for.”

Valiant my ass.

We have not forgotten that Chris as Minister of Finance raised VAT from 15% to 17 1/2% for an 18 month period he said. Nearly 10 years later we are sill paying 17 1/2% as the VAT bleeds us dry.

We were paying for everything Chris did, AND paying his salary and now his pension too. Don’t you start patting him on the back yet. We are still bleeding money.

30-LOVE in ya tail.

And that LOVE has nothing to do with sex.

Lolll!!!

28. Simple Simon, still neither “B” nor “D”

29. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ All Who Are of The Opinion that the IMF Will Be Implement a Punitive Regime

For there to be a “buy-in” by the IMF for a BLP spearheaded recovery programme, THE BLP GOVERNMENT MUST HAVE SOLID RECOVERY INITIATIVES which show the clear pathway to recovery.

It cannot, as Brother In Arms Bush Tea has posited, be the traditional “shifting of the chairs on the deck of the Titanic”.

The IMF going see through all those smoke and mirror schemes AND WILL NOT GIVE A FELLER A CENT.

So all those ingrunt schemes of “resizing the Public Service” OR “moving people from one ministry to another” JES AINT GOING CUT IT

Mia and HER THOUGHT LEADERS have to bring tangible realizable projects to the IMF table.

Projects that have reasonable, realizable turnaround times.

And not air fairy speculation like “making aquaria from the rusted bodies of old fridges” sort of idiocy that certain of her 1st Eleven team is ONLY ABLE TO PRODUCE.

And this is where the rubber hits the road

So all the posturing that her mouf giants been selling her with the snakes skin oil dat going gots to go.

30. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please

31. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Simple Simon

Many of these commentors here DO NOT UNDERSTAND, NOR CAN THEY IDENTIFY WITH, the poor people that are going to the University of the west indies.

They think that WHATEVER THE ARBITRARY FEES THAT ARE COOKED UP FOR THE UWI, the sheeple must pay.

Now of the many commentators one (or is that two ?) spoke of a means test to determine if a party should be made to cover the full economic costs which has yet to be calculated by a means other than pulling a number out of the behind of one Ronald WeJonesing and Chris Stinkliar and one Head Boy Boyce.

BUT HAVING SAID THIS, we still arrive at the same endgame of shifting chairs on the titanic if all we are producing are lawyers and civil servants and have no plan to diversify the economy AND WITHOUT THOUGHT LEADERS who know how to do this, we still doomed arent we?

32. @Sargeant August 13, 2018 9:33 AM “If a week is a long time in politics what is a year or two? Two weeks ago, the odds favoured Donville taking over the reins of the DLP and look where we are now.”

But, but, but, a week ago we did not know what the Feds had on file. I did not hear about the charges against Donville until after 7. p.m. of Monday 6 August, 2018.

So what do we know about any others of the political class?

i say virtually nothing.

So how do we predict their political futures? Right now we can’t.

33. @James Greene August 13, 2018 10:35 AM “why in this day and age should uni be free?”

Because as I said before it free because it int free.

We the parents of the students are paying for it through very high taxes. It is we money. We want it spent on education, and health. Not on fat salaries, and pensions and fancy houses, cars and holidays for the political class.

And as I said before if the government does not spend the money on us and our children we strongly suspect that some of the political class will steal our money and stash it overseas.

So spen’ it on we children I say.

34. We wait and see if the feds have anymore grand jury indictments or any other country has any other bribery, money laundering complaints against former ministers etc before doing anymore predicting..lol

35. David August 13, 2018 11:21 AM

Let them bray, hard ears they win hear…

The full saying is “hard ears you won’t hear; own way you will feel”.

Right now the 30-0 DLP feeling. On the morning of May 25th the look on Freundel’s face tell told me that he was feeling.

The bracelet on Donville’s ankle tells me that he is feeling.

Hard-ears, hard-ears, hard-ears.

The old people had no formal education, therefore they had to be very wise.

Hard-ears you won’t hear. Own-way you WILL feel.

36. @ Mariposa

Mia never lost any election to fraudel
    Check the fact in ur head

37. @Hal Austin August 13, 2018 11:43 AM “While we discuss rubbish in this blog about rescuing the failed DLP and read the nonsense the chairman writes, 11000 children from across the region have just failed to get any marks in their CXC exams. How many of these were Barbadians? If so, which are the guilty schools?.”

We need better parents, better students, and better teachers but unfortunately those things are not readily available in the market place.

Even so CXC did not say “11000 children from across the region have just failed to get any marks in their CXC exams.” What was said is that 11,000 did not get any PASSING marks. So if for example 50 is a pass, some got 49. Zero marks and 49 are not the same. The student who got 49 may return next year and mat earn between 50 and 70 next year.

Some of those students in formal public schools, and at “lessons” places will go on to earn the CXC’s needed for polytechnic, community college, or university entry. Some will then enter technical and trades schools, some will go into service industries where no CXC’s are required, some few may make a career as entertainers or sports people.

What we must not do is write off our young people because they failed to get passing grades on their first attempt. better to give the young people a second chance than to have so much money knocking around that the political class are tempted to engage in money laundering.

I say spend MY tax money on our young people.

No member of the political class–NONE–needs or deserves a Beemer.

38. During the BLP reign between 76-86 Tom almost gambled out Bim to Kow. Tom used to lose so much that in order to pay Kow he gave his contracts to build road etc. Drugs became prevalent during that time and vindictive Tom caused a certain school friend who used to work at a popular hotel on Bay Street not to work in Bim. Vic who was the minister of transport bought a plantation in St Lucy. Another Bold fella bought one in St Thomas and a certain Lammie said if you are not B you should starve or words to that effect. Lammie came thru the airport loaded with pharmaceuticals and nothing came of it.

single sex schools became integrated – one of the biggest mistakes i would posit

during the 3 term reign of Arthur the political includer the scandals are too many to enumerate but these are some-

The VECO bribery scandal to build Dodds. VECO was a tainted corporation that a internet search easily revealed yet it got the contract. The Feds had an operation on VECO and numerous recordings and documents. VECO confessed that it bribed ministers in the Caribbean for contracts

for political favours a prominent fast food owner paid minister huge sums

The Gems of Barbados project – Arthur bailed out the indebted hotels of longstanding BLP yard fowls and the same fowls went on to manage the statutory organization overseeing said hotels . well what happened… millions of dollars vanished with no one held accountable.

husband of a minister given the contract to build all the firewalls on government housing units, paying him up front and work never done. the same person got the contracts for asbestos removal from govt building

$700k spent on 10 x 10 public bathroom on Silver Sands

Minister got a Benz for purchasing old Benz buses from Brazil. Transport Board now have to spend $500k on maintenance on said buses

disappearance of files of prominent drug on alleged orders from the Attorney General at the time. Said drug dealers went to the opening of parliament.

The highly questionable 3S contract to expand the highway by said minister

the contract to Barrack when Barrack had never built a building more than 2 storeys

the World Cup scandal. Instead of building a purpose built cricket oval for $5mil Kensington was refurbished for over $25 mil. Cruise ship was hired to house excess visitors for Kensington. Minister got a cut and the cruise house about 100 people made up of the crew and the minister’s friends. The minister then bragged and said he will never be poor again. He then brought a farm near Gregg.

the BIM public was assured that CLICO was a sound investment

Minister of planning giving permission to cut up agriculture land and zone 1 land for a price

Wuk fuh wuk

the hardwood scandal

the redirection / M/L of close to $1 mil of campaign donation

said man settled his divorce for over $2mil

minister diverting $5mil from the funds of a minister of prime

PM saying that he hired Guyanese who has no permission to be in Bim to work on his house. Nothing was done to the man who admitted he broke the law

it is during this time that land and house prices skyrocketed. wages never kept pace.

the population was told that land was only an asset when they complained about the wholesale sell off of the West Coast. Barbados’ priced assets were sold off in order to make Bim a first world country. the govt borrowed and spent and the average bajans followed suit. so drunk was he with selling off assets that he argued that Oistins police station should be relocated and that beach front property sold and even Coleridge and Parry it was rumoured was on the chopping block.

bajans shopped in Miami sometimes on a monthly basis. and slowly bajans turned into Americans. we ate American food turning our backs on stew food, cou cou and the local fare. we were well on our way to becoming first world with all the attendant problem- huge debt, greed and a voracious appetite for every American gadget and latest style including obesity from junk food. our goose was cooked. that is where our down spiral if not started was exacerbated.

according to Grenville Phillips the DLP tax citizen to finance Bim and the BLP borrow. there is sometimes this talk that when the BLP is in power White people spend and money circulates. Money is around is true because the BLP borrow and spend it but it is not spent by the White business sector it goes into their coffers. A lot of the 7 bil according to Phillips borrowed in Arthur’s time went to the same sector, which represents a huge transfer of wealth to the private sector from tax payers. and even with all this money in the air no black business of significance came about.

It is true that the last iteration of the DLP was an abject failure but the BLP hands are far far far from clean

39. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Simple Simon.

You know some days you does get it right spot on!!

“…What Owen Arthur may not have understood is that we women, THE MAJORITY OF THE ELECTORATE, did NOT share his views of Mia.

What Errol Barrow did NOT understand is that when he insulted Gertrude Eastmond he was also insulting us, our mothers, our grandmothers, our great grandmothers, our daughters and our granddaughters. They say that elephants and women never forget…”

My dear lady dese people do not understand what you are saying a-tall, a-tall, a-atall!!

And therein lies the rub.

If you go back to the week before elections you will note that de ole man made mention of stopping a specific thing.

And that was related to the Kerrie Simmons attack on women while on the BLP platform!!

It was distasteful and derogatory YET NOT ONE OF THE DLP COHORT was able to comment on this distasteful display.

Not one…mostly because dere sleeping giant was confident in his win.

And here they are talking about Verla being an interim leader until they regroup!!!

Simple Simon let me tell you something DEM GOTS ANOTHER THOUGHT COMING WITH THAT BADWORD BADWORD girl.

But we gine left dese big guts menses who does lie about de size of dem parts, (OF WHICH DE OLE MAN IS ONE) to their follies

Watch Muh Now!!

40. Which only goes to prove that they al…l DBLP cabal …want locking up for selling out the majority population who pay their salaries and pensions…and whom they have sold out to the minority parasites, crooks, thieves, drug and gun traffickers, bribers and money launderers, for the past 52 years..

41. Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right Avatar
    Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right

@ President of the DLP Ms. Verla Depeiza

You are not going to be any interim President IF YOU LISTEN.

Now mind you, remember that de ole man dislikes de DLP like poison but what has to be done is Barbados MUST SURVIVE ALL TWO BOTH OF YOU

Because in your current configuration WUNNA IS DE ENEMY OF THE PEOPLE

So Here is your game plan

https://i.imgur.com/Uo5bBMO.png

If you follow it, you will be there in 2023 AND REMEMBER DO NOT RUN IN ST JOHN.

I would tell you where to run today but dat would declare what is the Seat Perilous to the BLP and yuh cant do that yet

42. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

Your assistance please with an item for Simple Simon.

@ Grenville II

By the way, this is also your game plan in fact this is the gameplan for any 3rd Party

43. The CXC registrar said only 20% of the region’s students get to do CXC exams. !3% of those entered to do CXC exams get no acceptable grades in any subject. That means that only 17% of the region’s children get a cxc certificate of any kind. Given the poor social and economic outlook of the Caribbean, which comes first, the low educational attainment or the poor economic state?

44. @Ping Ping
    Do we know what is the dispersion rate?

45. No. I haven’t read a book since I left elementary school in July 1967.

Should I have done so?

If so why didn’t you tell me this before?

46. David – “A person should have a basic resume to recommend for a job at first instance.”
    Quite. What a pity the disaster Obummer didn’t.

47. Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right Avatar
    Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right

@ De Honourable Blogmaster

Square Brackets Time

[[De ole man writing only to you.

You dun see Artaxerxes’ comment at 10.34 a.m?

He said “…Freundel Stuart has blamed the manipulation of social media as one of the contributing factors for the DLP losing the May 24 general elections and has asked for a regularization of these sites.

David……..you and PUDRYR immediately came to mind……but more so PUDRYR, because of his “not one effing seat” campaign.”

Whuloss and a next feller talk bout Cambridge Analytica and all uh dat!!

Man I ent know bout you but I got to tell me grandson

And Mariposa!!!

Cause you dun know dat de grandson Stoopid Cartoons WAS STARTED BECAUSE UH SHE

I was to ask you. When you pass dere pun Sunday did you see her in the audience waiting?

You cud imagine all de licks dat Fumbles got fuh she?

When you write me back use de square brackets ok?]]

48. Simple Simon August 13, 2018 5:49 PM

No. I haven’t read a book since I left elementary school in July 1967.

Should I have done so?

waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaait YOU LEFT PRIMARY SCHOOL IN 67? I THOUGHT YOU SAID YOU IN YOUR 70’S.

49. N women wearing tight weaves allowed.

50. Walter Blackman Avatar

David August 12, 2018 10:46 PM

“Walter how do you like the post general election DLP team? Is it the dream team capable of kickstarting your party from ground zero?”

Let me say up front that I am not a spokesman for the DLP.

Whether it is at the national level, or at the level of the political party, the process of change can be managed in a structured positive way, or it can become cataclysmic.
    Barbados and its major institutions have silently opted to go the cataclysmic route.

Just over a week ago, big men with big egos were getting ready to tout their big achievements in a big effort to become the big boss of the ” big able” DLP.
    Today, these men have become so small in people’s estimation, that they are now restricted to playing pool with atoms and molecules in our minds.
    How come that, in the darkest hour of the DLP, not one minister in the Thompson/Stuart administrations could stand up as candidates for a post within the party?
    Cataclysmic change at work, and a lot of Barbadians now suspect that it ain’t over yet..

From a harsh political perspective, the DLP is fighting for survival. The institution is struggling at a time when the results of the 2018 general elections show that thousands of DLP members and supporters turned their backs on the party in shame, disappointment, and disgust. Rebuilding will not be easy, and the notion of a dream team is nothing more than a luxurious fantasy at this time. Ground Zero? The DLP is in a hole. That is ground minus something, not zero. They now have to fight to get back to zero.

Yet, when all is said is done, at a time when not one big man in the DLP could rise and stand up against charges of bribery, money laundering, betrayal of the public trust and a wide range of infelicities, the weight of the institution fell upon a woman, with no opposition.

Recognizing that many political parties have died in Barbados before, those of us who would like to see the DLP weather this storm of political embarrassment and then rebound, must wish the new President and her team good luck.