[Barbados Underground] The information shared in yesterday’s press conference by Minister of Energy and Water Resources Wilfred Abrahams that the South Coast Sewage Plant AND the Bridgetown Sewage Plant are in a state of sorry repair- although improved functionality pre 24 May 2018 have been reached- should continue to be of concern to ALL Barbadians.

The revelation that there was no transparency around the procurement process to sink the ‘injection wells’ at Graeme Hall, confusion about the depth of the wells tax dollars paid a contractor to sink…and so on.

Listen to the unbelievable revelations by minister Abrahams.

125 responses to “Wilfred Abrahams’ Press Conference: Disposal Wells NOT Injection Wells, National Crisis in the Making”

1. A national crisis was in the making from the time the sewage system was built!!!

If you want to apportion blame go look in a mirror to see who deserves the most.

If you want to fix it then roll up your sleeves and get cracking!!

2. Coral is porous … try injecting a sponge ….. hence the remark NUTS!!

3. A useful discussion that was had back in May to inform this discussion.

https://www.facebook.com/krystle.marshall/videos/10155843103791488/

4. At about 45 min into the video of the press conference sums it up!

5. If the government had not change would Barbadians have been apprised to the seriousness of what confronts the country concerning the sewage problem?

6. Is Estwick vying to lead the DLP tomorrow?

7. i want to know and perhaps Caswell Franklyn can answer, are politicians in Barbados technical officers or civil servants now?

i see creeping into our politics especially in this administration politicians speaking and behaving as though they are experts or have a technical background in the department over which they set policy. yet the job of a policy is to set policy and the civil service are the technical officers who carry out that policy

besides that, these BLP politicians are calling pressies at a drop of a hat. it is becoming annoying. solve the problem and when it is solved or on its way say what unnuh have to say. after all unnuh had all the answer during the campaign

8. A reminder- these pictures tell more than tanks not being maintained. It says a lot about our lack of leadership and management skills as a people, a lack of probity by a blissfully ignorant citizenry.

9. Why does Halladay still have a job? Wasn’t he part of the decision making process?

10. @David

yes. this issue was well ventilated before and during the election campaign. you had Adrian Donovan and myriad of so called activists (BLP paling cocks) crowing all over the place. Estwick with the same Halliday next to him said the injection was just a stop gap measure until a more viable solution can be put into place. and the Bees saying that is not going to work and they have the answer

every one knows the issues: inadequate system to begin with, little or no maintenance, adding too many people to an inadequate system and people putting all manner of disposables down the drain.

11. Thanks to you Sargeant and PUDRYR for the suggestion to carve another blog on this issue.

12. Boo haaaaaaaha
    Another distraction does the public who are out and about looking after personnel business got time to listen to another PR Stunt about wells
    Another stage distraction to removed the awful.smell of stench that is following Mia and govt around through out the Caricom commuinty after Mia aggression against the Dominican people
    How disgusting of this govt to using barbadians to front as fools to cover up the govt seeping sores

13. mariposa is right get that pipe from graham hall swamp out past the break water and overflow headed to dominica or that stench will always be here

14. Unfortunately it will take time. It continues to boggle the mind why the inaction by the last government to address the issue. Why allow it to escalate on the South Coast not forgetting the Bridgetown plant that is operating below efficient level also.

15. Mariposa lol…did Dennis kellman and mark Adamson teach you ? your attention seeking replies irritate me…you remind me of a certain politician who was always begging for attention and ended up with an ankle monitor

16. I dont care . For ten years Mia say she can Fix the dam thing
    All u BLp morons go help Mia push some of the sh.it into the ocean.
    Wuh loss
    Fix it fix it

17. I only wish Minister Abrams got the attorney general portfolio instead since he strikes me as a hands on person that gets things done….propagandist like you mariposa sicken me

18. U built a plant on hallowed ground
    The swamp is relentlessly unforgiving and would payback those who practice agression against it
    Mother nature would have the last word
    Fix what . ?

19. One senses that Mia will not be averse to a cabinet reshuffle if ministries are not making progress after a period she has in her head, unlike Freundel.

20. RE you remind me of a certain politician who was always begging for attention and ended up with an ankle monitor

ARE YOU SAYING THAT THE PERSON WHO ENDED UP WITH AN ANKLE MONITOR HAS A PROBLEM WITH ONE OF HIS PERONEI OR HIS TIBIALIS MUSCLES? MURDER LOL LOL

21. What was the brief given to the contractor that excavated the disposal wells? On what basis was the 3.7 millions dollars disbursed? The exercise to measure the depth of the wells as they are being cleaned will be paid by the contract? Details please!

22. Blp? No idiot? Far from it…everything isn’t partisan or political…you mariposa sicken me because you remind me of all those dictators who used idiots like you to propel messages hateful and fact less rhetoric..blinded and unable to see that you are being used, only to flushed like used toilet paper…where is your house in Tampa? Where is your yacht? Ohhh

23. Mariposa August 11, 2018 2:05 PM

U built a plant on hallowed ground
    The swamp is relentlessly unforgiving and would payback those who practice agression against it
    Mother nature would have the last word

LOL MURDAH
    HAVE YOU EVER BEEN TO THE SWAMP? WHAT IS HALLOWED ABOUT THE SWAMP?
    WHAT IS UNFORGIVING ABOUT THE SWAMP? CAN A SWAMP FORGIVE? HOW? FOR WHAT?

MOST BAJANS DONT KNOW OR CARE ABOUT THE SWAMP.

MOST BAJANS DONT EVEN KNOW WHERE THE SWAMP IS.

WHAT DO YOU KNOW ABOUT THE SWAMP OR SWAMPS OR DISPOSAL OF SOLID WASTE.

YOU GETTING ON LIKE THE DUMBOCRATS IN THE USA

RESIST RESIST SEEK TO OBSTRUCT CRITICIZE

GIVE THE WOMAN TIME NUH
    GIVE HER THE CHANCE TO SUCCEED OR FAIL NUH
    EVERY DAY ALL DAY YOU WID DE SAME SHIT

THE LAST SET OF DEMS WERE GIVEN AN EXTRA FIVE YEARS EVEN AFTER THEIR FIRST FIVE YEARS OF FAILURE

24. What is the timeline associated with the SC injection wells?
    Were the wells completed before or after the May elections?
    Were the wells certified as completed and accepted before or after the May elections?

25. They remain silent letting an idiot like you mariposa let them instigate you to answer the charges on their behalf..they have eaten their fill and you are the bad smelling after flatulence barbadians have to deal with

26. @Hants
    Have you ever gone into the water at Toronto beaches? If yes you are a better man than I

BTW I used to work in the Beach about 30 years ago, got to know some of the artsy types and politicos who lived in the area, sorry I didn’t buy a little cottage in the area then as I would be sitting pretty.

27. @ Sargeant,

I went for a swim at Woodbine in 1984. Have not done so since.

28. So they don’t know the capacity of the new dug well? They don’t know the contractor that dug the wells? The don’t know what is going into the wells? They don’t know how to contact the contractor? They dont know where the wells are located? They don’t why the previous adminostration dug the wells? They don’t know why, the minister don’t know; why we don’t know?

You know what; i don’t care that you guys don’t know. I want it fixed. I am about to pay(with out my kind permission) extra in my august water bill for you fools or experts to know what the hell is the problem in Graeme Hall. If you know know i want my so in so money back. That is what i do know.

29. For those that can remember Brian Bumba Payne; when he sung “They want to know?”

30. What is hallowed about the swamp. it does more for the enviroment in a positive manner than your useless baddle would and could ever do
    Lakes and swamps are all a collective body of water that forms protective barriers against everday toxins that can wipe out cities
    They work are endless and also works as a constant support system acts as a cooling system for the earth
    The idea of building a sewer plant on swamp land had to be formed out of theccollective brains of mad men
    GP go fix it

31. during the election campaign the BLP was up and down the country telling all and sundry they know how to fix the problem.

well fix it now and stop talking

32. We should wonder if these operators prefer to have the beach open and suffer the consequence of the swamp purge.

Beach closure hurting business

SHERIA BRATHWAITE,

Added 10 August 2018

http://www.nationnews.com/IMG/712/84712/gideon-and-trevor-0811180447-450×303.gif?1533956931

Beach operators Gideon Consigli (right) and Trevor Browne walking past one of the signs. (Picture by Lennox Devonish.)

The extension of the temporary closure of Worthing Beach, Christ Church, is hampering business for some who ply their trade there.
    Related articles

On Friday a group of beach operators told THE NATION that they were losing out on hundreds of dollars.

Following discussions by a Cabinet Sub-Committee, the beach was to be officially closed from Saturday, July 7, to Monday, July 20, to facilitate an environmental exercise which aimed to lower water levels at Graeme Hall Nature Sanctuary. However, a Press release by the Barbados Government Information Service on Friday, August 3, stated the time frame was extended because of technical difficulties.

The statement did not indicate for how long.

“Nobody is meeting with us to inform us about what is going on; we should not have to wait until a report comes out in the paper to know what is happening where we work.” said David Hutson, a water sports operator.

He said beach operators should be called to a meeting with state officials and other stakeholders when things occur that could affect their livelihood. (SB)

Please read the full story in the Saturday Sun, or in the eNATION edition.

33. You cannot be naive not to understand that promises on an election campaign do not equate to the pragmatism required when in government.

34. Fuh God sake Fix it or shut to f..k up
    Morons

35. it is a waste of time walking backwards into a battle telling your foot soldiers to follow you and how many battles we have won or lost. The battle is in front of you. Turn around look into the future and shape it to your liking. Looking back at the past does not have any bearing on the future battle ahead.

Any of us that have been lucky enough to change doctor or mason or builder mid-stream are always treated to how the previous non-professional did i all wrong etc. That is why you are here and the previous non-professional is not. I hired you to fix it, as you promised me when i said i was looking for some help with problem…..!

Honestly after day one about how bad a job the previous “non”-professional was is enough for me. I am paying you to work not yap for hours on ends about how i am better and can be better than what i got before. after a while i would think u are better at yapping than fixing my problem.

On May 24; we hired a new team; that sold us that they know what they can do. I listened as you talked long and hard about what u can do. Time for talk is done; do what you can or say what you can do, we looking for action. enuff of the long talk about the the previous professional.

36. Contributing factors to the issue at both plants are the extraneous elements that have been introduced into the sewage lines. The Minister spoke of rags, grease and other items that have been found in the sewage. The previous Minister also identified some of these (but that is neither here nor there), although the Minister said that the issue is a “crisis” I didn’t get the impression that they were approaching some of the problems in a crisis like manner. It seems like they are appealing to the goodwill of businesses and customers to get their connections up to scratch and hinting at punitive measures etc. if they don’t comply.

We are well past the crisis stage, they should be “throwing the book” at all the scofflaws who have made changes to their connections or blatantly broken the law where these connections are concerned, how do rags, towels etc. end up in a sanitary sewage line? It should also be mandatory for inspections to be carried out at all commercial enterprises with connections to the sewage line on an annual basis to ensure they are complying with regulations.

When/if people break the law, name and shame them but this is Barbados and the powers that be are afraid (or don’t want) to “mash” certain people’s corns.

37. @sirFuzzy

As stated there was the campaign talk now a PR campaign has to be crafted to manage the expectations arising. This government will have two years tops to show progress or the weight of public opinion will fall like a tonne of bricks. Currently the government continues to enjoy public goodwill but Mia and her team need to hurry along. Bear in mind the country has been gripped in ten years of economic hardship and social decay.

38. I could tell you how deep the wells are likely to be by just knowing the elevation above sea level from which they were dug and locating them on a geological map of Barbados and reading off the basal contour level under the wells.

Add the two numbers!!

It makes no sense digging/drilling into the oceanics which will not transmit water so they will be dug/drilled to oceanics.

Whether the wells are labeled disposal or injection makes absolutely no difference.

The point of the wells could only have been to buy some time and get the sewage off the streets, which they did and are doing.

They are not a failure, an unnecessary expense, but not a failure!!

They could have just injected/disposed of or put the effluent into the swamp directly!!

The well digger/driller could have explained all he liked to the powers that be but all they wanted was to see the sewage disappear off the streets.

They got the result they wanted, the sewage is off the street and it cost $3.9 million to drill the wells into which it was injected/disposed of or put, all words having the same meaning.

Having bought the time we should see the pipe that takes the effluent to Needhams Point repaired.

The wells were delivered on schedule, June!!!

Imagine that, something getting done on schedule!!

39. @ David ” promises on an election campaign do not equate to the pragmatism required when in government.”

In other words don’t expect politicians to do what they promised.

40. When/if people break the law, name and shame them but this is Barbados and the powers that be are afraid (or don’t want) to “mash” certain people’s corns.

Some of the not so lucky NHC tenants are feeling the full weight of the laws! Maybe they are not part of the “powers that Be” clan?

But we must keep Hope alive. “One day coming soon the ppl gine wake up”? As Baggy penned.

41. The capacity of the wells is irrelevant, if you must get the full value of the $3.9 million, put what can go into the wells and the rest put in the swamp …. if not, just put all in the swamp.

That was standard practice from before 2008!!!

That’s why the salinity of the water changed and the GHNS commissioned a study on the swamp in 2010.

42. @Hants

The Latin scholars in BU can confirm where the word politician has its root.

43. … try googling!!

44. @John

Did you hear the plan to build an outfall line starting in two weeks to finish in about two months? Another bandaid?

45. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Sir Fuzzy 12.25

You asked and I quote “…Shouldn’t the minister be able to pickup a file and see the brief on the wells?…?

Among the 96 question online survey by the BLP as they sought to (i) secure the IP addresses and machine details of the respondents (ii) sought to determine the depth of their PR penetration locally and internationally and (iii) sought to deliver a payload to bajans machines there was a comprehensive description of the Drainage Unit as one of the departments that they are seeking to close down

This exerpt available on the internet reads “… Drainage Unit: belongs to the Ministry of Transport Works and International Transport is responsible of digging and maintenance of drainage wells, construction of dams and permits for drainage works….”

Now granted that the operative word is drainage BUT, and do forgive this ole man my idiocy, why would it not be that their remit was or is not also these coterminous INJECTION wells?

46. Let me ask a question tht none here might be able to answer,

Why is the SCSP south coast sewer project failing so badly. I don’t think it is 25 years old whilst the Bridgetown sewer project the older of the two seems to have less issues with the transmission lines?

Dis we get a badly designed and constructed project. I know Govt. never maintains anything so i not mentioning that part. Bridgetown was poorly maintained as wel i suspect.

47. Is it not obvious that the BWA needs a new General Manager preferably an experienced engineer with business administration training AND EXPERIENCE? Also there seems to be a need for some engineering experience. The engineering staff at the BWA appear to be operating like new graduates of the community college.

I think the BWA should be relieved of the responsibility to fix the South Coast Sewerage problem. The cabinet need to put together a team of experienced engineers and planners with the single job of resolving this problem. Start by asking the US Army Corps of Engineers for help.

48. Did you hear the plan to build an outfall line starting in two weeks to finish in about two months? Another bandaid?

david. Maybe we are tired of the blue water that surrounds or beaches; time to add another hue/pigment to the water? Thus an outfall? U tell me if u can

49. I think the BWA should be relieved of the responsibility to fix the South Coast Sewerage problem. The cabinet need to put together a team of experienced engineers and planners with the single job of resolving this problem. Start by asking the US Army Corps of Engineers for help.

What is wrong with asking the EU & Brits or the Canadians a well. The Canadians seem to be very interested in things local.