Chris Rogers (l) Walter Prescod (c) Charles Herbert (r)

The news that approximately 3 million dollars worth of illegal drugs was discovered on a boat owned by Goddards Enterprises – a successful and respected international company domiciled in Barbados – continues to be the talk of the town. A few high profile names are reported to be assisting the police force read Charles Herbert the Chairman of Goddards Enterprises and Chris Rogers a non executive member who were reported to be on the boat when the interdiction was made by Barbados Customs Officers.

Information coming from the police about the progress of investigation has been slow as one would expect when prominent individuals are involved. Then add high profile lawyer Andrew Pilgrim to the mix. The blogmaster joins many expressing an interest in who will be charged and incarcerated for the crime. The tangential story is that there is an intense lobby with the charge in government to legalize marijuana for medicinal purposes.

The blogmaster ask commenters to be smart when posting comments. On behalf of the BU household we appeal to all those out there to continue to tip off the authorities so that we can arrest the scourge of drugs, guns and other illegal activity pouring into our little island. Feel free to email BU also with tips by completing the Contact List that will be forwarded confidentially to the blogmaster.

BU’s Featured image is Charles Herbert, Chairman of Goddards (l) and Chris Rogers, non executive board member (r).

778 responses to “Goddard’s Yacht Ecstasy Busted!”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    From reading their annual reports, it would appear that GEL has both a pension and health benefits plan, and has had for many years. And several of the photos available online show pictures of events for pensioners. This company went public back in the 1970’s.

2. Employers have to take due diligence when employing people. Committing an offence and being punished does not mean that person should suffer a life sentence. People go to prison as punishment, not released to be punished. Employers are not social services.
    In a little island such as Barbados everybody knows everything about everybody else. Employers employ the best person for the job available – be it drug smuggling or driving a taxi. The morality of our criminal justice system is questionable. Where is the attorney general?

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HAL
    WHY DID YOU NOT FACE THE ELECTORATE AND CONTROL THINGS?

Where is the attorney general?
    TRY AT LUNCH
    ON AN EXTRACURRICULAR ESCPADE
    MINDING HIS BUSYNESS
    ENGAGED IN MASTERLY ACTIVITY IN ORDER TO DRIVE YOU NUTS
    ALL OF THE ABOVE

4. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Who are the sureties for the two GEL men? Why could that person(s) not stand surety for Prescod? In any case, anyone accused of a serious indictable offence should be remanded in custody. It is a fallacy that the court can guarantee an appearance if someone is given bail. Remember the retired priest who was remanded in custody by that fretful woman?
    There is no condition, unless they are handcuffed to their front doors, of guaranteeing a remanded person appearing in court. It is a middle class myth.

Hal, with all due respect, this is nonsense on stilts!!

5. Jeff,

What is? A single person can stand bail for two accused. By the way, I dislike heights.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    ‘Barbados is a failed state’.
    Why do you hate Barbados so much?
    I don’t recall exactly, was it you who had an issue with a timeshare?
    What other distasteful events may have shaped your dislike.

7. @MoneyBrain July 27, 2018 2:41 PM “Charles is Chairman of the Board and NOT an operating officer at the organisation on a daily basis.”

Understood.

But my general point was that highly successfully companies ought to look out for their employees.. All of their employees. Not just the ones at the top of the company, but the gardeners, the maids, and the labourers too.

As in: “Is there a connection between workers feeling well-treated by their employers, and the bottom line?
    There’s lots of evidence the answer is yes. Here’s just one example, tracked for 15 years: Stock in Fortune magazine’s “100 Best Companies to Work For” way outperformed both the S&P 500 and the Russell 3000 indices.”

https://www.cbsnews.com/news/are-companies-that-value-employees-more-successful/

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW
    Told you this would play up your alley whatever the outcome.
    Btw…it would seem the majority of the senior management at GEL are persons of colour. I dodge the black/ white classification as the CEO Ali, is of colour, but I don’t know if you would classify him as black or ???. All the rest are black, except a Latin American person and Massiah, whom I am unsure of his ancestry.

9. And so not to let the point of why the Speaker of the House not be involved in this matter here is a Stoopid Cartoon for all the senators and lawyers and MPs and big up society peeples among you

https://imgur.com/ASCxRKU

10. We must remember that just last week Ninja Man complained in court about being remanded in custody for almost a whole year for the “offense” of “sacrilege” whatever that is at St. Michael’s Cathedral.

In court the Ninja stated that everybody knows that he lives on the streets of Bridgetown (a very small town)
    and that the authorities can easily find him. I can vouch for that. The Ninja can usually found near to the Treasury Building, and he never seems to be hiding from anybody, or hiding anything, in fact sometimes he is as naked, and presumably as innocent as a new born babe.

He was further remanded for another month.

11. Northern Observer,
    I am sure I have never used the word ‘hate’ in terms of my relationship with the country of my birth nor is it a word I often use in normal speech.

12. Horace Rollins Avatar
    Horace Rollins

@Hal

the Bim bail act closely resembles the British bail act. it begins with a presumption that everyone coming before the courts are entitled to bail unless certain circumstances so prohibit.

your terrorism act and criminal justice act address some of those. in addition you can be bailed to return to a police station pending further investigation where on return you are charged to attend court with bail or not, released, or further bailed under limited circumstances-there is no police bail in Bim only bail to a Court.

i have outlined other circumstances that would militate against bail and those have to be strong enough to defeat the bail presumption

13. This company went public back in the 1970’s.

In other words, Bajans and foreigners of all colours own GEL.

It is profitable and its shares are sought after.

While I am sure there will still be Goddard shareholders, I am also sure they will be in a minority.

Those shares were turned into cash when they were offered to the public.

… a win/win situation for both the Goddards who owned shares and the public who bought them.

14. @ the Honourable Blogmaster

Your assistance please with an item that furthers the point about what going happen in the Courts with this 1/2 million haul.

It is understood that the policemen that gave the information to the Newspaper went to the Garsun and sat next to Stinkliar.

Apparently it was disclosed that said policeman used to copy answers from off Stinkliar’s maths books

“I must not copy from Cris Stinkliar…”

The exercise book of the officer is available for review of interested parties

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

@SS
    On this topic you are full of shit.
    You may only have a few cents in your bank accounts, but there is nothing wrong with your internet connection as evidenced by the number of links you post.
    Like me you could have searched GEL and seen if they had a pension/benefits plan?
    Instead you CHOSE to toss out questions which brought the business standards of GEL into question. Why?
    Nuff said.

16. Northern..it’s quite the story.

The employee composition of the company is no surprise, the salary level would be a huge factor…blacks would accept half the amount paid in salary to anyone else…they come cheap.

Ah know of an Adrian Ricardo Moore, but ah want to confirm is the same person as the former manager at Herbert plantation..it will take me another week to get the info.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    I never said you used the word hate.
    ‘Barbados is a failed state’
    What emotion does that conjure. Love? Pity? Sorrow?
    Or merely a fact, based on your assessment of the island?

18. Horace,

Absolutely. The major objections to bail are: the likelihood of interfering with evidence or witnesses; or absconding. A bail condition reporting every Wednesday before 10am is a mickey mouse condition. That could not stop Ninja man from absconding. You know and I do that you can report at/by 10am and at 10.05am be leaving the country.
    Taking travel documents from the accused is further mickey mouse stuff. Wealthy business people can travel on numerous passports and, in any case, travelling on a private yacht does not need a passport and visa for every country visited. If not how would seafarers travel?
    By the way, as you probably know, police bail restrictions have recently been reduced following the historical sex allegations.

19. … blacks would accept half the amount paid in salary to anyone else…they come cheap.

Not Leroy Parris or DT over at CLICO!!

20. Northern Observer, 3.01pm

Why do you hate Barbados so much?(Quote)

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

WW
    I know nothing about compensation, other than despite what many want to believe, senior employees in Barbados, get compensated very well by any standard. Black, white or Blue. I would be more likely to believe pay equity between the sexes is more an issue than skin tone.

22. Talking Loud saying Nothing Avatar
    Talking Loud saying Nothing

“All political lives, unless they are cut off in midstream at a happy juncture, end in failure, because that is the nature of politics and of human affairs” – Enoch Powell on Joseph Chamberlain.

Mia’s buddy appears to be in a spot of bother. What must she be thinking as she places her head on her pillow at night? From the sheer ecstasy of been elected the first female Prime Minister of Barbados, to this! Sadly, I fear that she has become tarnished by her association with others.

Mia is relatively young in age but she remains part of the old vanguard of Barbados politics. The country requires new and younger blood.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@HA
    Exactly…I used the word, not you.
    So what emotion are you trying to convey to a reader?
    Via Barbados is a failed state.
    You have been using it long before the partial default.

24. Northern..you could be right, worldwide the unequal pay between males and females is more of a problem than unequal pay among others.

25. But here i the thing about the hastily decreased value of the Drugs seized and the size of the bail set.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/57552/wilkinson-prison

That item reads “…BUSINESSMAN RODNEY LEVI WILKINSON will have to wait until next week to secure his freedom.

The former chief executive officer of GEMS Hotels was granted $1.5 million bail on Thursday but according to reports, his sureties were still busy today getting paperwork ready, in order to sign his bail.

Wilkinson of Friendly Hall, Jackman’s, St Michael is accused of committing 67 fraud offences involving close to $4 million….”

So if the drug amount had be placed at $3 million ir would have required a much more substantive amount to have been placed on the three accused.

Amounts which prescod who is now seen to be struggling to pay his 1/2 million fine WOULD NOT HAVE BEEN ABOE TO GET without their being questions.

Of course he will be able to meet the $450K bail required after a few days.

It is only fair that this will happen to keep up appearances but now wunna unnerstands why de drugs decreased so substantially…

I wonder effing Goddards Enterprises would want to give de ole man a job in dem Marketing Department mekking dese Stoopid Cartoons?

Any one of wunna know Anthong Ali?

Call he and tell he dat de ole man looking fuh wuk…heheheheheh

26. Leroy Parris was CEO I think or General Manager or some such at CLICO, DT was Clico’s attorney…how do you expect to pay employees at that level pittance…and despite their huge monthly salaries , they still stole and found themselves in all types of mischief….explain that..

it is the lower level employees get pittance salaries.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

VERY INTERESTING U TUBE VIDEO FEATURING HERBERT ON THE NATION ONLINE

GO THERE AND RAMP UP THE MORONIC MOUTHINGS ALL

28. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - Leader of the Opposition cause Enuff of Lorenzo tell me so Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – Leader of the Opposition cause Enuff of Lorenzo tell me so

@ The Honourable Blogmaster 2 items languish in the suspense corridors

A picture rather a stoopid cartoon and an item that explains why the amount of the drug haul was mysteriously decreased. from $ 3 million or is that %4.34 Million if the US$ 1K per pound that The Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch spoke of is applied to the 267 lbs that were discovered euphemism for snitched on.

29. Horace Rollins Avatar
    Horace Rollins

@ Hal

all that may be true but how do you so prove in the present circumstances. all those men are Barbadians with substantial ties in the community. the surety will have to pay the amount if they do not turn up. the reporting conditions go some way in ensuring that they remain on island and are accounted for. the likelihood to interfere with witnesses or evidence is unknown if not remote. and 500k in drugs despite the hype is not majorly serious under the circumstances- at least not enough to deny bail

in short, as it stands, it would be unreasonable for a Court to deny bail

30. Sorry, nothing in spam.

31. Simple,
    I am a big believer in encouraging employees with Stock plans to give them a piece of the action and Benefits. Another option is to set them up as independent contractors eg you have driven a van for 25yrs and may want to run your own lil trucking ting, facilitate. Happy people who are included tend to work harder.

32. I have to remember not to post at anywhere or anytime when we are close to the multiples of 75 which is the maximum that one of BU ‘s pages hold.

Especially when the other two of the BU BORG are on duty because the items get held and placed on those pages AFTER THE PAGE HAS ELAPSED.

So that was while it cannot be said dat de ole man is being moderated de items jes aint being posted in response to the other blogs that elicited the thought

Note carefully that The OLD David of Barbados Underground DOES NOT DO THIS GAME but the other two are puerile and as supported of the BLP they have adopted this strategy as a way to prove their allegiance.

But that is ok lady and gent, it is wunna family ting and de ole man going abide by wunna rules.

Try therefore to hide these incidents of teifs and Drug dealers who are close buddies of the Prime Minister of Barbados from the eyes of 280,000 people.

Cause wunna is David Copperfield and can make the Statue of Liberty disappear too

33. Horace,

Out of over 10000 minutes a week an accused on bail is asked to go to a local police and report in – no more than a minute – once a week. That does not guarantee the person would be available the following week. Interfering with witnesses and evidence depends on the balance of probabilities ie the likelihood that enough irrefutable evidence would be uncovered to send the accused to prison for a long time.
    Th bail depends on the value of the contraband and the value of the accused to the operation.

34. Talking Loud saying Nothing July 27, 20183:34 PM “Mia is relatively young in age”

If 52 is relatively young.

At what age does middle age occur?

And at what age does old age occur?

The oldest person in Barbados is 111.

Fellows can we agree now that 50+ is well MIDDLE AGED?

And that most Bajans are dead, dead, dead before the age of 80.

35. @Caswell Franklyn July 27, 2018 5:54 AM “Did Prescod take a fall for someone in 2001, and if so who? This is how it usually works but I am not suggesting that this is how it worked in Prescod’s case: when the traffickers get caught a small guy, like Prescod, would take the fall for the bossman.”

Lord, Lord when will foolish black people realize that white people are NOT their friends?

36. TheoGazerts - Captain of the fishing boat - Aspririn Avatar
    TheoGazerts – Captain of the fishing boat – Aspririn

A few days ago $3 M was lunch money or pocket change to ACH, Today he get $400K in bail. Somebody is not reading BU or bail would be around $12M,

Have you all figured out how some think the man is innocent?
    1) He white
    2) He rich as shite
    3) He went to school with them

Poor me I went to school with them but I black and poor as shit…..

37. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Out of over 10000 minutes a week an accused on bail is asked to go to a local police and report in – no more than a minute – once a week. That does not guarantee the person would be available the following week. Interfering with witnesses and evidence depends on the balance of probabilities ie the likelihood that enough irrefutable evidence would be uncovered to send the accused to prison for a long time.
    Th bail depends on the value of the contraband and the value of the accused to the operation*

@ Hal, what do you not understand about the liberty of the subject being paramount? The denial off bail is an exception to the rule and not the rule itself. That is why the prosecutor objects. He must adduce reasons why the accused is not likely to return to answer the charge. Incidentally, How many cases on the constitutionality of the denial of bail have you ever read?.

38. “Fellows can we agree now that 50+ is well MIDDLE AGED?”

Middle age starts at 35, ask any doctor.

39. de pedantic goats dribbler o dat ilk, et al Avatar
    de pedantic goats dribbler o dat ilk, et al

Why is this even an issue? In a grown-up country, it wouldn’t be. Charge the guilty,free the innocent. Where’s the problem?

40. Jeff,
    Precisely. Only in exceptional circumstances should bail be withheld ie if there is a likelihood of interfering with evidence or witnesses, or absconding. In a recent case, I believe the accused would not abscond, however I think there is a very high probability of interfering with evidence/witnesses.

41. He is trying to spin the story and interfere with the case.

Playing the race card too..shamelessly.

42. What has shocked me most is just how far certain people are willing to go to ‘get back’ at a man. I knew that they were ruthless, but even then I underestimated just how had they are.

Barbadians made a decision recently that we already knew saved the country, but it is now dawning on me just how bad things could have been.

Burnham? No, Gairy more like. A few vipers in sheep’s clothing.

For the international readers and agencies reading this. I can assure you that this has all the signs of Herbert being framed. The only thing that he has done in the recent past to cause such vindictiveness is to come out very vocally against the previous government. Whomever would seem fit to frame him, we can only guess.

Barbados now has a government that is worthy of calling itself for the people.

Barbadians, be very careful about what you accept, many things on the face of it are not what they are.

To the current Government, be very careful, watch your moves and assess those who are working for you carefully. It does seem that there are vipers out there.

To those who are relishing this with glee. Grow up and realise that there are bigger issues at stake here.

Your (significant) prejudices are clouding your thoughts.

And for those who would seek to capitalize on this for their own gain, no, it does not make you any more electable than you were a few months ago. The last eight years the Barbados economy has undergone a mauling at your hands.

Get lost.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THANKS JOHN FOR BRINGING UP DE U TUBE VIDEO I MENTIONED ABOUT AN HOUR AGO THUS

VERY INTERESTING U TUBE VIDEO FEATURING HERBERT ON THE NATION ONLINE

GO THERE AND RAMP UP THE MORONIC MOUTHINGS ALL

44. TheoGazerts - Captain of the fishing boat - Aspririn Avatar
    TheoGazerts – Captain of the fishing boat – Aspririn

This black and white thing is nonsense.
    Seems like school the person went to and the amount of money is an integral part of the race equation in Barbados……

45. Simple Simon
    July 27, 2018 4:15 PM

Black , white, black, white, black , white.

Idiot, that is all you can bring to the discussion?

So, you do not like white people, we get it.

46. lol…praise the police for doing a fantastic job of collecting evidence..and being professional too..then cuss the DPP for charging ya and then cuss social media for speculating..

…did he say why he was on his company boat with a known trafficker/employee who is smart enough not to take the fall this time ???

47. @ Hal, what do you not understand about the liberty of the subject being paramount?

++++++++++++++++++

I know from my years in civil court (20 plus) that if a bail hearing comes up, it takes precedence over any scheduled civil matters.

… regardless of who the accused may be or what the civil matter is about!!

The first time of many times I saw it happen while waiting to be heard I was told that … by the whole lawyer … and I understood it instinctively.

Mr. Prescod has been granted bail.

Had he been refused, he could have gone to the High Court and he would have been heard before any scheduled matter was heard.

That’s what I saw repeatedly … people whose bail had been refused by a magistrate appearing in the High Court.

I seem to remember seeing one or two in the Court of Appeal too!!

I am only half a lawyer but that is my understanding.

48. Georgie Porgie
    July 27, 2018 4:35 PM

Georgie,

Realise that on this blog you have Mariposa, an agent of the prior government. Simple who is just cussing white people because, well, they are white and Well Well, who comes here to post because her blog does not get much recognition, although it is half shut from being so scandalous.

What do you expect?

49. “Whomever would seem fit to frame him, we can only guess.”

Crusoe..ya gotta convince me this is a frame by people who would not give up a 10% pay cut to save their own people from hardships and hunger, but would lose 1/2 million or whatever in drugs to frame Herbert…

…ah know yardfowls are still mad at him but that level of planning and calculating successfully is a little more than they are capable of…did I mention how greedy and selfish they are???