Submitted by The Mahogany Coconut Group

The Mahogany Coconut Group (MCG), joins with all Barbadians in wishing the newly elected Barbados Labour Party government, all the best as it takes over from the badly beaten Democratic Labour Party, whose ten years stay at the wicket, is best described as anemic and unsuccessful. The former prime minister, Mr. Freundel Stuart displayed not only poor leadership skills but bad manners by scarcely having any meaningful dialogue with the public. He chose mainly to address constituency branches of his party.

The public therefore gave Stuart and his miserable group the severe beating it deserved by giving the then opposition Barbados Labour Party under the leadership of Ms. Mia Mottley, all thirty parliamentary seats. The Democratic Labour Party will have to find a way to make itself once again relevant to the political process.

We also congratulate, Ms. Mia Mottley on becoming the first female prime minister of Barbados. We know Ms. Mottley as a seasoned politician. She has gone through the hottest fires and has emerged as one made of the finest steel; we will now await her performance as a leader

The MCG having closely followed the election of May 24th, 2018, must sadly conclude, that both parties have determined that the real cure of the country’s economic ailments are to be found in the IMF’s medicine chest. Hence as expected the country will be heading straight to the International Monetary Fund, for some very bitter medicine. Fifty years after Independence, and with literally thousands of University of the West Indies (UWI) graduates occupying our Caribbean landscape, we still cannot get our economies functioning at any progressive level.

Barbados, to all intents and purposes, is a one sector economy, depending almost exclusively on the tourism industry to keep its growth in any proper shape. Over the last ten years the government of the Democratic Labour Party failed to devise any sustainable economic policy.

Ms. Mottley has been given a warm welcome by all the major players, including the Social Partnership, which includes trade unions, business organizations and other interest groups. While we wish the new Barbados government all the best, we fear that once the IMF gets its predatory claws into the affairs of the country, escape may prove difficult, if not impossible.

Ms. Mottley has already delivered a mini-budget, which was nothing more than an instrument to raise taxes and deliver some promises made by her party during the elections. These included reinstating payment for university education and an increase to old age pensioners.

However, citizens are waiting to see what kind of restructuring program the country will enter under the IMF. Any underperformance of the tourism industry will be disastrous to the island’s economy. The great irony of Ms. Mottley’s mini budget, is the fact that it attempts to extract money from the very tourists, who it is inviting to assist with the country’s current predicament.

We can only hope that she does not kill the goose that lays the golden egg.

323 responses to “Mia Mottley Government and the Goose”

1. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right who wrote ” reference to “under the table arrangements” euphemism for bribes and kickbacks ”

That will never ever happen with the BLP in power.

They are as clean as the driven snow in North Bay on January 1st.

2. Calypsonians, bids start at $500 for this chorus

You call fuh Mia
    You cry fuh Mia
    You vote fuh Mia
    IMF in ya gas
    IMF in ya mas
    IMF in ya a..

3. PUDRYR

I love the cartoon,,,,,your grandson is very creative.

4. ” The just released Financial Stability Report 2017 showed that commercial banks continued to hold the bulk of the assets in the system, representing 53 per cent ($13.6 billion), followed by the insurance industry’s 15 per cent ($3.9 billion).

Credit unions ($2.2 billion); finance and trust companies ($1.5 billion); mutual funds ($2.2 billion); and private pension schemes ($2.2 billion) each account for under ten per cent of the total assets in the financial system.

Although the stability index showed a slight decline in profitability and liquidity last year, the commercial banking system remained stable.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2018/06/15/still-stable/

5. http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/167513/creditors-concern

Creditors’ concern
    SHAWN CUMBERBATCH, shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

Added 15 June 2018

…and complained that “the decisions taken thus far by Barbados have been unilateral in nature, and did not involve prior consultation with or input from members of the committee, the external commercial creditor community at large, or other key stakeholders…

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Guest

Just yesterday de ole man was here commenting on the the remarks by Mr Bernard Codrington about the financial advice that was being used by Leaders of this administration

Look, the thing is this.

Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley HAS TO GET BREATHING SPACE to stop all the sweetheart deals the other demons made

(Ooops I said other but I need to remember to come back and delete that word)

So she HAS NO CHOICE BUT TO STOP THE FOREX STREAM

What she should have done was to

1.Call every one of the creditors personally ask them for a meeting. She would have apprised them that she would not have been able to come to those meetings right away but she would have been sending her centurions who had her pescatorio.

2.assemble a series of high level teams who would have met each player IN HER STEAD

3.ask, beg, beseech them for time to manoeuvre

4.Do the same thing with her overseas creditors while using VOIP teleconferences

Reserve herself for Lagarde and the other high flyers

Here is the thing

Mottley is not a real strategist AND SHE IS SURROUNDED BY CHVNTS who haven’t got a clue about what sovereign debt negotiations entail

Her WoodOak restructuring cuntsultants ARE OUT OF THEIR DEBT and at this moment it is evident that NONE OF HER TEAM IS CAPABLE OF ADVISING HER WHAT TO DO.

She is floundering but in classic David Thompson style, WILL NOT REACH OUT FOR HELP, cause that would be weakness and such is not a characteristic of a human. CERTAINLY NOT A MOTTLEY

She has one of two choices.

Rely on the idiocy that is obviously being fed to her and “rough it out” hoping thst local creditors and international lenders will take compassion on the “first female Prime Minister ” and leh she and Barbados the 2×2 rock “pass through with these defaults”.

Or she can reach out to more seasoned warriors who DO NOT WANT TO RAPE HER OF THE RESOURCES IN THE TREASURY but want to build (note that de ole man did not say rebuild cause that presumes such existed previously) want ONLY TO BUILD THEIR COUNTRY.

But that too is “a bridge too far”

7. How can it be that the new gov fixes Bridgetown sewage plant so quickly and the slaveholders from the DLP did NOTHING for TEN years?

All the arrogant DLP-beneficiaries. Just look at the very arrogant and selfish former so-called Senator so-called Reverend Dr David Duran. His apalogy is not enough. He should drink sewage all day long. He and all the other cronies including all judges and state secretaries appointed by the DLP should scrub the sewage tanks and pipes from dawn to dusk.

However, Barbados is still a plantation since all these known crimes are not punished. As long as governmental crimes are not punished, Barbadians are still slaves and treated like 3rd citizens.

PM MAM must fire the police officers and the DPP who obviously refuse to investigate the corruption from 2008 to 2018. Until then, Barbados is no state with rule of law, but a banana republic.

8. Fixing. The bridgetown Sewer

Another Pr job to distract and to cover up the economic mess of poor inadvisable decision Mia has made so far.
    The fact that it is now revealed that Mia made no contact with international creditors before defaulting on barbados debt would leave a bitter taste in the IMF mouth and long term consequences for the island
    Mottley needs to understand that dealing with international creditors needs more than PR job but accountability and transparency which would be the first order of the day to renew trust and goodwill

9. @tron.

How can it be that the new gov fixes Bridgetown sewage plant so quickly and the slaveholders from the DLP did NOTHING for TEN years?

I am not sure it was in that state for ten years, but if that statement proves accurate then what a mess the BWA must have been in for those years. I will say probably more than ten years, but i have no prove of that.

Putting aside the excellent job that was done on the tank itself, it just shows how capable Bajans are when they do their jobs(work). We have a talented work(not job) force. I once heard a statement made by a company executive, he said ” we don’t have employees; we have workers”. The big two trade unions have the word “worker(s)” in their official names. How much better a place Barbados will become if we replaced all of those “job” , “position” , “titles” holders” with plain and simple “workers”.

The real question is who going to get dismissed for the neglect that was forced on the BWA from outside or inside when i am sure that this boils down to simple preplanned maintenance. Not rocket science by any stretch of the imagination.

No foreign person were required to make it happen, no special equipment had to be ordered. Case in point the other tank appears to have been kept in working order. I hope the BWA does not give contracts to severely short-sighted or almost blind (no jabs intended against BARNODs community) contractors or work orders to employees (they are definitely not workers); cause whoever was responsible could not see that there were two tanks on the compound.

We love to blame the “elected thirty”; but the other 300000 plus are often accomplices in these matters.
    The civil service(permanent opposition) is more powerful than we want to accept, they need reforming so that Barbados and transform into the country we all want it to be.

10. sirFuzzy your comment is riddled with assertions that can be challenged. To make a long story short, we have to overhaul our governance framework.

11. @bu.

I know you have the right to disagree if you chose, with what you call “my assertions”.

Putting politics aside and looking at in in a cold professional manner, as the BWA teams manage an organisation so critical to national well-being.

So tell me what reasonable minded person will disagree with what i said about the BWA not having the tank in working order for soo many month weeks or years? And what it could have done if they wanted to address the sad sorry situation that it allowed.

Its much more than a governance framework that needs updating its the attitudes of many towards work; especially work in the SOEs and central Govt. Honestly, whatever happened to our “pride and industry” national motto.

Maybe our national motto is in need of an upgrade as well. “No pride and No Industry”? what says you?

JMT

12. Does anyone have the answer to this question? The Gov’t (PM) said that the Gov’t was in contact with the IMF prior to announcing the recent Financial recalibrations, why then did the IMF summon the PM and her crew to the US for consultations? Remember the PM said her trip was not in her daily planner when she woke up that day.

To paraphrase Iron Mike Tyson “Everyone has a plan until the IMF punches them in the mouth”

13. @sirfuzzy

You have focused on the symptom. In Barbados we have a situation where we are unable to hold managers accountable, the fact that same managers were unable to maintain the upkeep of two tanks critical in the efficiency of the sewage process should therefore not be surprising.

14. “pieceuhderockyeahright June 16, 2018 2:27 AM /…What she should have done was to…”

Or perhaps she could have followed in President John F. Kennedy’s footsteps when he said “…We choose to… and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard; because that goal will serve to organize and measure the best of our energies and skills, because that challenge is one that we are willing to accept, one we are unwilling to postpone, and one we …” and go after the individuals and companies that have brought us to this point – those that owe millions in taxes: vat, income tax, corporate tax, property tax – those that are holding millions in foreign exchange in overseas accounts – those that imported products to trade and have not paid millions in duties, … But no, the PM first targets the investors. The PM applied and fought for the job for ten years and she knew it would not be easy, so why expect to take the easy way out. We want the hard decisions that will inure equitably to the benefit of all.

15. Does anyone have the answer to this question? The Gov’t (PM) said that the Gov’t was in contact with the IMF prior to announcing the recent Financial recalibrations, why then did the IMF summon the PM and her crew to the US for consultations? Remember the PM said her trip was not in her daily planner when she woke up that day.

To paraphrase Iron Mike Tyson “Everyone has a plan until the IMF punches them in the mouth”

@ Sargeant:

I often enjoy watching the play we call national politics. I pay close attention to USa politics especially since DJT is president.
    DJT has a worship crew behind that cleans up whatever bowel movement he may deposit during the day. The worship team will even chastise you(non kool-aid drinkers) for not enjoying the smell and taste or the feel of his bowel movement in your nose, mouth and between your toes.

Its the biggest boxing match promotion in the world(digital and analogue) . Bowel Movement aka DJT vs the Truth. It round number (fiil in the blank___) the two opponents are in combat; going toe-to-toe, punch for punch. DJT and his worship crew don’t look a bit tired they are even looking invigorated. I say no more.

North American politically styles are often adopted by local parties and politicians. Its the narrative you create, the talking points you repeat. Sometimes its the lie you repeat so often that it starts too sound and feel like the truth.

I am confident that the PMs worship crew will provide us with a narrative regarding the issue you have raised. It is for us to see the trees from the forest. As Morpheus in the matrix showed us; either u drink the blue kool-aid or drink the red kool-aid.

16. @ Sargeant June 16, 2018 7:54 AM

The outcome of the IMF talk in the States will decide the fate of Bim for the next 10 years. We need to pray to Goddess Bim, Esu, Oya, the spirit of the sea, the spirit of the caves and the hills and to the other ancient forces.

All the Christian prayers during the last 10 years did not work. Many pastors sided the DLP and helped to commit economic terror against their own ethnical community. Like the so-called senior pastor Durant. He was quite for 10 years and is begging for redemption now. Where was Durant when Big Sinck raged thorugh the island like a hurricane cat 5. Where was Durant when Barbadians committed suicide after the CLICO disaster? Where was Durant when young Barbadians couldn´t afford to study anymore?

How can Barbadians forgive when hardship is just beginning?

17. You have focused on the symptom. In Barbados we have a situation where we are unable to hold managers accountable, the fact that same managers were unable to maintain the upkeep of two tanks critical in the efficiency of the sewage process should therefore not be surprising.

@BU

Unfortunately, that is what we have today in lil ole Barbados. Just ask yourself this question. These cilvil servant are the servants or the bosses of the people who put them there. If they are unaccountable; then we don’t have civil servants; we have civil masters.

If we pay them to do a job cant we fire or dismiss them? Maybe the new labour laws have made them totally un-fire-able. Somehow i think they were acting this way long before the new labour laws were enacted.

Something went wrong on the way to heaven and the destination we are at is pretty hot with no air conditioning to alleviate the heat.

Somebody please say a pray for me, Send us a messiah, cause i cant tek the heat no more. We need salvation.

18. Who in Barbados made enough money during 1968 to 2000 to owe the Government a meaningful amount of tax?

19. Who in Barbados made enough money during 1968 to 2000 to owe the Government a meaningful amount of tax?

@guest

Please define what is a meaningful amount of tax? Please use a dollar figure or value to quantify this please.

20. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Guest

You said and I quote “…those that are holding millions in foreign exchange in overseas accounts – those that imported products to trade and have not paid millions in duties, … But no, the PM first targets the investors…”

Some years ago de ole man was returning through the Grantley Adams airport and saw a red cap rush to a shortish plump Indian woman with glasses.

We were all returning via Miami and were awaiting our baggage.

That Indian lady collected 13 bags and he and another 2 red caps escorted her to a specific line

I followed thereafter with my two bags and I watched from the aisle next to hers as many of those people preceding her had their bags search even after saying they had nothing to declare.

When it was her turn she said she had nothing to declare and she and her three red caps left the customs officers without being examined and certainly without paying a cent in import duty

Can you guess Guest who that Indian lady who ram sorry ran through the customs officers that way?

For any and all of this corruption to change you understand what type of Duterte stratagem she would have to employ?

You know how many of her close friends and relatives would have to get arrested?

You know how many people in that crew of summarily dismissed cases AG Dale Nuff Teets Marshall going dismiss are family to Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley?

If you can tell de ole man how this eradication going happen I promise to get de grandson do an honorary member Stoopid Cartoon for you.

In fact I would even see if he could do one of his Specials with AI for you dennnnn…

21. To write off amounts owed to the Government and talk about restructuring government debt is to take from the Government’s creditors and give to the Government’s debtors. It smacks of those ties that a now minister sang about in a previous life. I believe it went something like “…, the world around, is condoned, but in the background /furthermore, when we analyse, we see that it’s bound by….”

22. “sirfuzzy June 16, 2018 9:13 AM /…Please define what is a meaningful amount of tax?…”

Any amount, the write off of which is worth mentioning.

23. @Guest

You position is a facil one. Governments and citizens have historically written of bad debt for various reasons, we like to use Greece as a case study, that government wrote of billions because of bad tax collection policy_ sound familiar? People and companies that had become bankrupt, defunct, dead or otherwise unable to pay. What the government needs to do is be transparent by detailing the methodology rationale used to determine the number. The AG will need to do same when he recommends cases to jettison.

24. “David June 16, 2018 9:43 AM/…”

As I said, that is the easy way out.. the way that has to be repeated time and time again. Why, because the criminals do not bear the pain so they repeat their actions in the future.

25. Piece,
    It is worse than that. As a matter of principle I buy my duty free at Grantley Adams. On one occasion I had bought more than was the legal limit; and the customs guy wanted to charge me. I pointed out I had bought it at Grantley Adams with the specific intention of keeping jobs in Barbados, rather than at Gatwick He insisted. In principle, I returned the booze and told him where to go.
    Even our officials are hard-headed. Since then I buy my duty free at Gatwick.

26. Can you appreciate the resources required to collect money from a bankrupt company? A person that dies intestate, a company employing 60 people and have no cash flow etc?

Do not have a brief for government, playing a David Ellis .

27. Mr. Extravagant refuses to pay his taxes to maintain his mortgage payments so that he and his son may live a comfortable life. In the course of doing so, he builds up an outstanding tax liability of $50,000.

Mr. Conservative, pays his taxes, lives a humble life and in the course of doing so accumulates a $50,000 investment in government debt to finance his son’s education and provide him with an opportunity for a better life.

If Mr. Extravagant refuses to settle his tax liability, should the Government auction off his house or default on the Government debt to Mr. Conservative?

28. @ Guest.

In the spirit of transparency, I hope that all the tax waivers recipients are made public. All the accompanying documentation that was presented by all parties and on what basis the BRA decided on the percentage(zero to 100%) of waiver that was granted.

29. Your ‘scenario’ no doubt is real but it is still a generalization.

30. You may not or may not wish to see it, but “the emperor is naked” whether you accept it or not. Same old approach, same old results.

31. Mr. Kings says it better…

32. No one can appreciate when the wealthy in ant society is given a free pass by govt to avoid paying taxes especially in an hostile economic enviroment when others are asked to tighten their belts
    Look how govt employees who had to make sacrifices are being handed the shitty end of the stick while those on the top tier of the economic ladder was allowed to feast off the bony calf given tax write offs

33. Guest,

Morally and ethically you are right. Mr Extravagant should lose his home. But in the Barbados where each person believes s/he is entitled to a free ride, the government (whether BLP or DLP) will waive the debt. Moral decay. Barbados is a failed and corrupt state.

34. The point is guess, until you know the details of the write offs you are blowing in the wind.

35. We are in a hard place. We seem to be always looking back and never realising that the past is paved with the efforts and decisions we make in the present. However i think as an educated bunch that we are we can do both. Learn from our mistakes in the past , but making fixes in the present to build the future that will eventual be seen as our past.

The tribal mindset and partisan political culture seems unable to do this. We talk lot and really do nothing about fixing things that we say really bother us; when we don’t have the keys to the treasury. “Lock them up” when you regain the Govt., but have mercy and forgive us of our sins when you fall outta Govt..

Thats why we want to maintain a two party political environment. Doing this merry- go-around thing with three or four strong political parties would required brain surgery. Not to mention the idea of a coalition Govt.. We are in a digital world, “ones and zeros”, it “off or on”, so why not stick with b or d labour party.

36. Guest,
    Write offs are a matter of principle.

37. sirfuzzy there is hope. History is replete with damascene moments.

38. The PM’s statement has turned the fixed income market on its head – with bids of 50 cents on the dollar – and you cannot see anything wrong.

http://bse.com.bb/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/BSE-Trading-Report-June-15-2018.pdf

39. Didn’t we know something was wrong before the general election or were you hoping for a miracle?

40. Can you appreciate the resources required to collect money from a bankrupt company? A person that dies intestate, a company employing 60 people and have no cash flow etc?

Do not have a brief for government, playing a David Ellis .

@ david

If the professionals that make up the civil service(permanent opposition) did their jobs or were made to work as required under the contract we gave them as our employees. many of these debts will have been collected years ago.

if i know that i can count on the incompetence of a civil servant or their systems. That i will not have to pay the taxes, then i will wait. Better yet be in a position to collect (VAT)money that was never mine. That is the capitalist thing to do. I can use that money for another purpose. (Thank you auntie Mia; God Bless Barbados. The land of free money). Furthermore if i have the confidence that in a few years my legal obligation will be completely removed by an act that waives my tax debt and interest; the better for me.

41. What those that have not paid their share of taxes and those that have held the country’s foreign exchange overseas have done to the country is no less than treason. These people do not love Barbados, they love what they get from Barbados.

42. I expected a leader that would go after the criminals, not ask others to pay their debts as done in the past. Same old ways, same old results.

43. Didn’t we know something was wrong before the general election or were you hoping for a miracle?

@david,

I dont know about you my boy; but i am a true believer now, God we truly need a miracle, I know u allowed the hurricanes in the past to miss us, and you kept us safe from all the other things that affected countries.

But Dear God let your abundance pour outta heaven on this rock i call home. I know we need some rain but i kinda hoping you will shower us with nuff nuff US dollar bills. I don’t mind if it don’t fall over every parish cause we got nuff ungodly folks bout hay and them doan need no more money.

If your going to let it rain you can do it over the Church Village area in the city. No No no not the other Church Village in Saint farlup. Just Church village in the City. Tell Mr Haynes that you delivering on the pleads that a humble servant was asking on the country’s behalf

44. Theophilius Gazerts 250 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 250

@Guest
    Thanks. Sometimes you hear a song that you might have forgotten and hearing it takes you back down memory lane.
    ——————————-————————-*

So Mia show you all a nice high powered automobile and instead of admiring it you all want to see the engine..
    *If you can tell de ole man how this eradication going happen…
    *In the spirit of transparency, I hope that all the tax waivers recipients are made public.

45. Agree sir fuzzy, we must be careful not to conflate the issues. There is a more relevant and robust governance framework that is required that would ensure tax collecting is routine, like cleaning those sewage tanks. Than there is an operational decision to shed dead weight to give room for the system to correct, not unlike the reprofiling approach the encumbant has embarked to create fiscal sp@ce to resume development projects.

46. Theophilius Gazerts 250 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 250

You all guys move foo fast for old Theo. I way back there with old issues.
    Is the sewage problem fixed or is it still ongoing?
    Constitutional amendment done?
    Court cases already purged? This truly demonstrate that justice delayed is justice denied.
    So much chum being thrown into the water., it seems as if they understand
    1. our short attention span
    2. the fact that we cannot chew gum and walk at the same time

47. “David June 16, 2018 11:14 AM /…not unlike the reprofiling approach the encumbant has embarked to create fiscal sp@ce to resume development projects…”

I now clearly see the problem that we have in Barbados. The Bees and Dees are the same IAHs.

48. Theophilius Gazerts 250 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 250

I just love how Bajan talk.
    Big words and long sentences.
    Two weeks later and we will be having the same conversation, but with even bigger words.
    Analysis paralysis
    Iz dem two big wurds.
    I iz goud. Me bajan

49. @ Theophilius Gazerts 250 June 16, 2018 11:11 AM

It just crossed my mind. “transparency my big toe”

The next time you on the road walking, driving or being driven or shunning a madman trying to kill yah on the same road.

Be conscious and aware, take a look at the high powered high end vehicle on the road.

The tint on those vehicle seldom allow you to see the driver or the occupants. There is no transparency for them when it comes to vehicles i doubt there will be any transparency in these waivers.

It maybe be promised, but the know how busy the civil service folks are, and how often they meet the deadlines given to them.
    Like how timely they are in presents SOEs financial statement to parliament.

I am not holding my breath i gine watch the WorldCup football action instead.

50. “Furthermore if i have the confidence that in a few years my legal obligation will be completely removed by an act that waives my tax debt and interest; the better for me.”

No different from waiting for land and property owners to die to tief their properties or money, these days some don’t even have that patience, they just use the supreme court to stress their victims to death…….or……use the Supreme Court to prolong cases in the hopes that claimants will die and no compensation will ever be paid….

.a vicious gang of lodge demons who need to be systematically dismantled and made defunct also, just like the exgovernment….while exposing all of them so that they go down in infamy worldwide..