Submitted by Tee White

The decision of the new BLP government to seek the support of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for the implementation of its comprehensive economic reform programme has provoked reactions from all sides.

Those who support the decision have argued that the country had no alternative, given its poor credit rating and high level of indebtedness. Prime Minister Mia Mottley put this at over 170% of GDP and stated that, measured against GDP, Barbados is the third most indebted country in the world, placing it after only Japan and Greece. The supporters of the move further argue that with an effective negotiating team and negotiating strategy, there is no reason why Barbados might not benefit from engaging with the IMF. Finally, they argue that the IMF of today is no longer the big bad wolf of previous years.

Those, who oppose the decision, point to the country’s previous engagement with the IMF, in the early 1990s, when job losses and cuts in public sector wages led to protests and the downfall of the Sandiford DLP government. They also point to the experience of Jamaica which has been entangled with the IMF for the last 40 years and is still considered to be in need of IMF support.

The key aspect of the current situation, as it is presented to the people of Barbados, is the government’s fiscal deficit. While the government collects BD$2.7 billion in taxes, it spends BD$4.4 billion, of which some BD$1.5 billion is used to service the existing debt of BD$15 billion. In order to cope with this situation, the previous government are accused of running down the foreign currency reserves. According to Prime Minister Mia Mottley, on 31 May, these stood at BD$440 million, or the equivalent of seven weeks’ worth of import cover. This is the main problem that the government’s comprehensive economic reform programme with IMF support is intended to address.

However, it is clear that there are numerous ways to solve a problem of a government’s budget deficit and the choice of option will indicate the political preferences of those making the choice. For example, the people of Barbados remain in the dark about the origin of this BD$15 billion of public debt. For each individual loan within the portfolio of debt, Bajans need to know, who borrowed it, how much was borrowed, what the interest rate was, what it was used for, how much has been repaid and how much is still outstanding. Bajans need to demand that the government make this information public so that we can judge for ourselves our responsibility for the repayments. Obviously, if money has been borrowed and used for purposes other than those stated in the terms of the original loan, then we are looking at the issue of odious debt for which Bajans should not be held responsible. Furthermore, if money has been borrowed and used to enrich politicians and private interests, then those who benefited from the loans are the ones who should take the responsibility for the repayments.

Another important point to bear in mind is that looking at the government’s finances alone does not give us a clear and all round picture of the state of the economy, since government revenue accounts for only some 30% of Barbados’s GDP. We also need to know what is happening to the other 70% of the country’s GDP in order to be able to make informed decisions going forward. Recently reported statements from Mr Eddy Abed, President of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI), that there is some BD$8 billion sitting in the banking system in Barbados also needs to be factored into any solution. Bajans may well ask how it is that in ‘dire economic times’ the ‘private sector’ aka the local elite have the equivalent of 80% of the country’s GDP sitting in the banking system. If this is the case with the local elite, what is the situation with the foreign elites? We need information on all of this to be in a position to make informed judgments about how best to address the budget deficit.

With regard to the IMF, a careful reading of its Article IV report which was recently released by the government indicates that it is focusing its attention on attacking those streams of government spending which benefit ordinary people, such as public sector pensions. Bajans need to be aware that other options exist. A budget deficit can be reduced by increasing government revenue as well as by cutting government expenditure. For example, the government could increase its revenue by charging corporation tax on companies’ income rather than on their declared profits. It could also place a temporary moratorium on all tax concessions which are currently in operation. The important thing is that various options exist and the ones that are chosen reflect a political choice about whose lives and interests are important. The question is should decisions favour the working people of Barbados or those of the local and foreign elites.

In the new situation, it is essential that ordinary Bajans demand that their views and interests be fundamental in shaping any agreement with the IMF. This means being given access to information which allows us to make informed choices and demanding that any agreement reached with the IMF be put to a binding referendum in which the people of Barbados have the opportunity to make a decision on this crucial issue for the well-being of the country.

102 responses to “Bajans MUST Demand Final Word on IMF Deal”

1. @Tee White

Are you advocating an egalitarian state?

Did the BLP not receive a mandate at the polls just over a week ago after Mottley indicated an IMF would be an option if she were to win government?

Did the DLP not enjoy high and sustained levels of revenue in their years at the helm?

Is our public wise in the ways of public finance to appreciate policy prescription options? Isn’t it up to the Prime Minister after being advised to sell the way forward in a believable manner to the people?

#askingforafreind

2. Tee White

As always thank you for a very balanced and insightful article.

We the taxpaying public have to rely only on the ‘say so’ of respective governments – Bee and Dee ,and given broad,general positions.However like you I think it is time we be given the respect we deserve as intelligent people – and be told in minute detail how that Bds $ 15 billion was incurred

For example:

$8 billion from the former BLP administration – what were the loans for and the various amounts and were the loans used for that purpose;

$7 billion for the last DLP admin – the same break down – amount of loans,purpose etc

Also we need to ask if the DLP argument of cash versus accrual accounting methods really was a factor resulting in high debt showing up on their side.

Good start enough of the fudging by politicians.

3. he administration does not have the luxury of time to forage government books to detail how monies were disbursed at a granular level. Yes this must be done to satisfy standard audit practice but there are time sensitive matters to attend. Foreign loans to pay, public workers to be paid, huge current account deficit to manage, maturing government securities to service etc.

4. David

What are you talking about the DLP ‘enjoyed high and sustained levels of revenue in their term at the helm?’

Didn’t you hear the then Min of Finance and even P.M. stuart speaking in mid 2013 about the sudden flight of over two hundred million in earnings in one go as a result of the Canadian new Tax Law?

How corporate tax and income tax showed a sudden massive drop around the same time?

The DLP never enjoyed the high earnings the Arthur administration earned at a time when there was no world wide recession,a fall off from tourism in the early years after 2008 and the increase in debt to the UWI Cave Hill because of Beckles policy of letting students who couldn’t get in at Community college – now be accepted with CXCs and make up the year at Cave Hill – which of course would be at a much higher cost than Secondary school .

The dems were always fighting a rear end attack – paying off for the New Dodds prison,Kensington Oval,Highway,Supreme Court Bldg,UWI, etc

5. David there are 3 ministers in the ministry of Finance now,Mia,Caddle and Straughn.Then their is an Ambassador in Finance – Clyde Mascoll – then there is another financial Consultant- Avinash Persaud;

And you tell me one of them cannot detail the National debt but they can detail waivers for a car and who contract get extended,and a contract at the port etc?

I think priorities must be in order here.

6. Included is the 1million waiver for Mia father how did this all happen and with whose authority
    After all it was taxpayers money being floated to Mia family member namely her dad

7. Comrade Tee White,

Did you study economics in Venezuela?

There is still a small offshore financial industry in Barbados. If Barbados tries to fight Credit Suisse Cayman Islands and Deutsche Cayman Islands, the last forex earner beside tourism will leave the island next week.

The effects of the default are already felt in the Barbadian financial industry. Many people had to work day and night the last few days …

It does not matter anymore who spent which money in the past. What matters that the forex reserves are ALREADY depleted. Bajans have the strange habit to add foreign loans to the forex reserves – which is against all accountant standards. If you subtract all loans in forex reserves (capital + interest), Barbados has now negative reserves.

8. @T.Inniss

You need to check your facts. Sinckler enjoyed high revenues comparable to earlier years. The problem the DLP had is not controlling expenditure. It is there in the records, go an check, we have discussed exhaustively in this forum over the years.

9. ” Furthermore, if money has been borrowed and used to enrich politicians and private interests, then those who benefited from the loans are the ones who should take the responsibility for the repayments.”

Totally agree…

In addition, the constitution provides for freedom of information, the people should at lest know the terms and conditions of engagement with IMF and how negatively or positively or for how long their lives will be impacted…by that engagement.

10. David BU

Where this T. Inniss came from…..all of a sudden……. after the election….to push a DLP narrative, while shamelessly trying to appear “balanced.”

I have often mentioned in this forum that the political party apologists do not conduct relevant research, but come to BU spew party political propaganda or what they “feel” is correct…….and not based on research or facts.

T. Inniss “is no different.”

The following information gives a detailed analysis of Barbados’ tax revenues from 1990 t0 2016.

If you peruse the years 1994 to 2007, during the BLP’s tenure…….and compare with the DLP’s tenure from 2008 to 2016……..

………you would recognize that your question re: “Did the DLP not enjoy high and sustained levels of revenue in their years at the helm?” is not only VALID…….but CORRECT as well.

https://stats.oecd.org/Index.aspx?DataSetCode=REVBAR

David BU, could you please suggest to the DLP that they should recruit more informed “apologists” to represent them in this forum?

Clearly, Mariposa and T. Inniss are performing poorly.

11. Also the same can be applied to the blp where audits showed unaccountabilty over spending on projects that never seen the light of day. andpresent govt having to overcome unforseeable challenges not to mention the lawsuits of million dollars plus which had to be paid to barrack
    Plus legal challenges mounted to stop projects
    Plus fixing the delapidated water system
    Plus the Alexander saga and the 3.5million to resolve the sewer problems
    All which required monies on a limited budget

12. @Artax

We have to hope the DEMS learn from mistakes, so far it is more of the same. Was surprised to hear Bobby Morris admit the DLP now has to examine the use of social media. The party has to updting as far as exploiting social media platforms is concerned.

13. Fractured BLP Avatar

This emerging saga is surely

It’s

Mia’s

Fault

I M F !!

14. Just take the few comments by DLPites on this particular blog for example, piffle. We are all hunting for good debate, instead rubbish!

Unlike David Ellis, David BU can call it what it it. Empty head nonsense. Hard ears wanna wun learn.

15. bajanfreeparty Avatar
    bajanfreeparty

Well Well, @ Freedom of Information would Expose the Land Fraud PONZI, And all would be over and a start to corrections,

16. Good article, Tee, I am glad you mentioned the pressing issue of odious debt…I would add the issue of interest rate analysis in which one compares the actual debt instrument with the prevailing terms so as to gain an appreciation for how the borrower has fared as against the average…it can be fascinating, believe me…

17. “it is essential that ordinary Bajans demand that their views and interests be fundamental in shaping any agreement with the IMF. This means being given access to information which allows us to make informed choices and demanding that any agreement reached with the IMF be put to a binding referendum in which the people of Barbados have the opportunity to make a decision on this crucial issue for the well-being of the country.”

Pure shite!!!

18. The decision of the new BLP government to seek the support of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for the implementation of its comprehensive economic reform programme has provoked reactions from all sides.

Here is the flaw in your article.

There is no Parliament.

Until we get a senate, there is no Parliament.

At the moment, Cabinet is winging it!!

19. Artax Steupse really! because the blp win an election after ten years dont become arrogant with your self serving score card
    Mia has already started out wrong with promises which she cannot deliver. The most likelihood sceanario would be one of punishment if she does not deliver
    Far from delivery she has resorted to taking all of the barbados population looking like beggars at the door steps of our debtors .

###::#:mia the big Liar

20. Final word on departments that should be closed
    1. https://www.nisebarbados.org/our-structure

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Inniss June 3, 2018 11:29 PM
    “……$8 billion from the former BLP administration – what were the loans for and the various amounts and were the loans used for that purpose;
    $7 billion for the last DLP admin – the same break down – amount of loans,purpose etc

Also we need to ask if the DLP argument of cash versus accrual accounting methods really was a factor resulting in high debt showing up on their side.”

Haven’t you been warned previously that you must stop printing untruths?
    Have you taken over the liar’s baton from Stinkliar whose Pinocchio nose was completely broken off by the people of SNW?

Why can’t you let the BU forum know the source of your “$8 billion from the former BLP administration” since the Central Bank does not support your big lie?

The statistics from the Central Bank of Barbados (CBB) show that the Gross General Government Debt for the years 2008 and 2009 was approx. $ 4.9 billion and $ 5.8 billion respectively.

Like ac, your colleague in DLP yard-fowlism, you have been spinning the arithmetically unsound explanation for your DLP administration moving the debt to $15 billion is mainly as a result of paying off the debts incurred by the previous BLP administration during the period 1995 to 2007.

How can $ 8 billion plus $7 billion minus $8 billion equal $15 billion?

As for your foray into realm of Cash versus Accrual accounting we would strongly suggest you stay away from that subject you know clearly rather little about and ought to remain in the class taught by the accounting ignoramus called Teacher Duncy Denis from the School of Kellmanomics & Tacky Book-keeping.

The changeover from the Cash accounting method to the Accrual accounting method would have had its impact in the year of the changeover or possibly in the following financial year; but certainly not in 2010 and going forward.

So wield and come again!

22. Mariposa…….don’t burst a blood vessel!!!

You realize that it is because of the failed economic policies of an abysmal minister of finance, the liar Chris Sinckler, Jester Ince and Darcy Boyce loitering in the finance ministry…….Central Bank Governor Delisle Worrell “towing the line”…….. and an equally abysmal, iept PM Stuart…….that “eff up” the economy………..

……..is the reason why Mottley, according to you, cannot deliver her promises.

Ohhhhh………….I hope you read what David Thompson and Hartley Henry thought of Freundel Stuart. They agreed the man was unfit to lead Barbados.

However, it’s a good thing the efforts of the “Eagar 11” failed……..based on his abysmal performance as Finance Minister………….Lord help us if Sinckler was Prime Minister of Barbados.

23. Bank of Jamaica Governor pleased with Jamaica’s economic performance
    May 23, 2018

https://www.caribbeannationalweekly.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/BOJ-Governor-Brian-Wynter.jpg

The Bank of Jamaica (BOJ) is reporting continued improvement in Jamaica’s overall macro-economic indicators.

BOJ Governor Brian Wynter told reporters recently that inflation is low, the net international reserves (NIR) is increasing and the balance of payments, while projected to “widen somewhat” will remain at “sustainable levels.”

Additionally, he said market interest rates are at record lows and “still falling”, while fiscal performance remains strong.”

Modest econ growth projected

Wynter is projecting modest acceleration in economic growth ranging between 1.5 and 2.5 per cent per quarter over the next two years with inflation expected to remain contained. He said the expectation is for inflation to remain low and anchored at the lower end of the bank’s target of four to six per cent.

Wynter said the forecast is supported by buoyant conditions in the United States and some of Jamaica’s other major trading partners. He said the forecast also anticipates that domestic demand will remain restrained by continuous fiscal consolidation.

The Governor noted that the economy continues to show signs of gradual but sluggish recovery, pointing out that the estimated out-turn for the January to March 2018 quarter ranged between one and two per cent.

He said this is above the 0.1 per cent recorded in March 2017 and above the 1.1 per cent out-turn for December 2017, adding that the March 2018 estimate “reflects some growth in net exports”.

Wynter said improving economic conditions also spurred marked improvement in the labor market.

24. Really, was David Thompson fit to lead Barbados?

25. Georgie Porgie Avatar

THERE IS NO ONE, AND I REPEAT NO ONE, WHO IS AS CRITICAL OF BU AS I HAVE BEEN,

HOWEVER, AS AN OVERSEAS BAJAN, ONLY BU (THOUGH NOT A DAILY NEWSPAPER) HAS COME EVEN CLOSE TO BRINGING PROPER COVERAGE OF THE RECENT ELECTIONS IN BARBADOS AND THE AFTERMATCH, AS THE BU ARTICLES HAVE.

I DO NOT KNOW WHAT IS PRINTED IN THE LOCAL PRINT MEDIA IN BIM, BUT THE ONLINE OFFERINGS HAVE BEEN SPARSE AND PARTICULARLY POOR!

THE ONE AND ONLY AND AUTHENTIC GP

26. The bank of Jamaica pleased but what about the population that has to bear the brunt of the draconian policies
    Yuh guys are already forgetting the 70% who put the blp in office for better and not bitter

27. BFP…it’s. not like they got a choice…FOIA..must be legislated, there is a provision for it very clearly written in the constitution..

28. Guest in my view none of the two neither mr Thompson nor Mr Stuart were fit to lead Barbados .Mr Thompson was full of style and little substance,while being very good at spreading half truths and Mr Stuart just seem to want to be PM,but showed zero leadership skills in controlling his Ministers in terms of shuffling or firing them based on performance.His was a laid back don.t carish type of leadership,which some people praised as his style,but it clearly did not work for the betterment of Barbados,in my opinion.

29. @David

“The administration does not have the luxury of time to forage government books”

Your wrong, it’s JOB #1 at the present time. You have to determine with a degree of certainty of what the present financial situation is. Jumping with some knee jerk reactions without a sound understanding of what’s what could easily make the situation worse. Barbados is famous for making these knee jerk reactions without full evaluation and thought. Greenland, Private business concessions, printing money, Prisons contracts, highway contracts etc are but a few that immediately come to mind.

Time to STOP, evaluate, listen to outside expert advise, in depth evaluation, long term consequece evaluation and only then decide on the route for the future.

30. Once again Wily Coyote I want to thank you for your excellent common sense response.

Strange how persons who were seeking truth and transparency when the Dems were in suddenly don’t find it necessary to expose EVERYTHING bare.

I wonder what some are afraid that we might find when we dig deep into :

1) What moneys were borrowed

2) What was the purpose of the loan

3)What was the money borrowed actually used for

4) Which administration borrowed for which individual loan etc

31. Thompson dead idiot !and no where in History would it be told or can be proven how good or bad was his leadership.
    However what will be said Thompson delivered a devastating election win against a blp govt whose economic performance was stellar in its 14 year reign. Yet was unable to stem the flow of tide and resist the telling allegations against that govt.
    Stuart yes his devastating loss after a ten year reign history would conclude that the population got tired and weary of helping to pull the economic basket at a time when Barbados was unprepared for globalisation and its effect on small nations
    Yuh know the blp has already spelled out an agenda in its manifesto that cannot bear fruit and for what it is worth or worth while the fruit so far that it has produced is an election win wborne on lies deceit and unrealties as Mia herself all but admitted when she asked barbadians to help bear the pain while she take them down the driven path of draconian policies

32. @Wily

Reread BU’s point, we have foreign loans falling due in days, we have to take some top level decisions NOW. It does not mean a full investigation will not be carried out, however, we will have to run with provisional numbers in the short term until detailed audits are completed, isn’t it obvious?

33. Amazing, here we are as a country, once a model for others in the WORLD, NOW the laughing stock after 10 years of economic and social decline – and what are some debating?

#hardearswunnawunlearn

34. The provisional numbers provided to the new government last week by the SOE heads and Accountant General (apparently not including suplementaries, additional cost to fix the Bridgetown sewage plant and south cost and other items) may push the deficit to 1.5 to 2 billion we are hearing?

35. @David

Re-reading does not change anything, loans coming due are not going to be repaid on time in any case, default is guaranteed.

LISTENING TO SOE heads, civil service, BCC etc. are bound to be full of inaccuracies if not outright lies. ACCURATE Accounting in Barnados (spelling correct) is non existant.

Time to step back, take a deep breath, do the evaluations and hopefully make informed decisions rather than the typical knee jerk disastrous decisions. Barbados is in Sovergien Default and a few more weeks to make an informed decision will not significantly make a bad situation worse.

36. David
    June 3, 2018 6:26 PM

Amazing, here we are as a country, once a model for others in the WORLD, NOW the laughing stock after 10 years of economic and social decline – and what are some debating?

Here is how ridiculous we are.

We haven’t formed a government of coalition parties, we have formed an opposition of coalition parties, the BLP and the BZeeP, the Barbados Zero Party!!

After long deliberations between members of the BLP and the BZeeP, it was decided that a Government minister/front Bencher, should cross the floor to the benches of the BZeeP.

There has been no notification to the contrary so it seems as though the leader of the BLP/BZeeP coalition opposition will in the interim continue to attend Cabinet Meetings in his capacity as Minister of I don’t know what.

He will continue to collect two salaries, one as a Government Minister in the ruling BLP discharging his duties as a Minister and the other as leader of the BLP/BZeeP coalition opposition.

That’s how ridiculous we are!!

And we are to believe a BLP Government will be able to negotiate with a wolf like the IMF when it is forming coalitions with imaginary parties!!

The DLP Government was a gang of thieves but the BLP Government in waiting is quickly turning into a gang of clowns!!

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ T.Inniss June 3, 2018 6:20 PM

You still don’t get it through your thick skull, do you now?

We already know from your detailed analyses what was borrowed under the previous BLP (OSA, by the way) administration.

You have already provided a litany of bad spending decisions made under OSA; from Greenland to Dodds and from Crab Hill to Kensington Oval to the hole in Crab Hill and even the Al Barrack cave.

What you ought to be demanding is the list of spending decisions that added to the $ 6 billion left by the OSA administration to end up at $15 billion and rising; unless you are prepared to call the Accountant General an incompetent fraud.

Why don’t you ask how much money the Central Bank printed under the OSA administration and compare it to the amount printed under Stinkliar and his chimpanzee-looking mate Deliar Worrell?

38. The chart is credited to Marla Dukharan, one she used in a presentation to ICAB in 2017. It shows even to the rabidly partisan the debt accumulation.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John June 3, 2018 7:11 PM
    “We haven’t formed a government of coalition parties, we have formed an opposition of coalition parties, the BLP and the BZeeP, the Barbados Zero Party!!
    After long deliberations between members of the BLP and the BZeeP, it was decided that a Government minister/front Bencher, should cross the floor to the benches of the BZeeP.”

Wrong, wrong! Just plain wrong!

The appointed Leader of the Opposition, the Honourable Joseph Atherley as designated by the GG, was never appointed by the same GG to serve in any ministerial capacity.
    He never swore an oath to that effect.

Neither was he ever a front bencher under the current government since Parliament has not yet been convened for such an act to take place and for your blindingly ignorant eyes to witness.

Get your facts straight and stop pushing a donkey-cart load of bullshit; hypothetically or otherwise!

The GG is the only one with the authority to sanction or resolve what has been transpiring since May 25th.

All you are doing is casting aspirations on the integrity and competence of the Queen’s Representative as provided in the Consitution.

What kind of Quaker are you, Sir John?

It’s time you swear allegiance to the God called “Truth”.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Millertheanunnaki June 3, 2018 8:20 PM
    “All you are doing is casting aspirations on the integrity and competence …”

Just aping, unwittingly of course, the ‘Best’ from the vocabulary of a past deputy Speaker of the said Parliament. A man who was rather fond of casting ‘Aspirations’ but not, as it should be, “Aspersions” at people’s good characters.

41. Actually let me use the exact words…..

It’s no fun when the rabbit got the gun…lol

42. BEAUTIFUL BEIGE Avatar
    BEAUTIFUL BEIGE

You all still talking foolishness.

The more things change, the more they remain the same.

Barbados is truly in the “underground” dead, buried and soon to be forgotten because we have a Barbados for foreign elites, a Barbados for foreigners (tourists) a Barbados for local elites (some of them black as the ace of spades lest we start playing that oh so famous “race card”) and then the rest of imbeciles who don’t want to see the TRUTH.

Oh No Don’t Stop De Carnival.

There are other countries who had a national image and unity and were able to endure hardships.

Do we have a national image and the unity to endure what is ahead and stop bitching about the job that has to be done?

The only thing missing is no one dare stand up and specify what the end result MUST be.

Without a vision people PERISH.

43. GP
    The Sunday Sun has a supplement today providing box by box results of the elections in the 30 constituencies.Arrange to have your Barbadian connections send you a copy.

44. Georgie Porgie Avatar

GABRIEL
    CBC had a page with that info online soon after the election (within 1-2 days)

45. Wrong, wrong! Just plain wrong!
    The appointed Leader of the Opposition, the Honourable Joseph Atherley as designated by the GG, was never appointed by the same GG to serve in any ministerial capacity.
    He never swore an oath to that effect.

Only half wrong, he is a member of the cabinet and like all 30 members has sworn an oath of secrecy!!

46. It is good that we are engaged in a vibrant discussion on how to find ourselves out of this fix. Part of our analysis must be an understanding of how we got here.

It does not make sense enduring the pain of fixation and finding ourselves in the same boat 10, 15, or 20 years from now. Part of the solution must be be to also fix our society and education system.

We need to find ways to differentiate between those who want to serve the country and those who just want to enrich themselves. A “deposit” must be a commitment to put the nation’s interest first and is not seen as a lottery ticket.

We need to go into the schools and teach pride, patriotism, nationalism, industry and serving the people. Anything else is applying plaster to a wound.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John June 4, 2018 6:32 AM
    “Only half wrong, he is a member of the cabinet and like all 30 members has sworn an oath of secrecy!!”

There you go completing the full circle of downright ignorance!

Who is this “he [who] is a member of the cabinet” made of 26 men and women elected to the Lower House (HoA) and appointed to the Upper House (Senate)?

Are you referring to the same Bishop Atherley or some other bloke who could be appointed a senator to replace one of the two who do not yet fully qualify to sit in the Upper House?

Which ‘’Cabinet’ are you talking about? Certainly not the one mentioned in the Constitution to ‘house’ the executive arm of the State of Barbados?

You must be referring to some cabinet in your grandmother’s house which was used to store the ‘china’.

Bishop Atherley is a duly elected member and has not been appointed to serve in any executive capacity in PM Mottley’s Cabinet unless you have appointed him as the Minister of Religious Affairs with special responsibility of getting rid of professional quacks and lying Quakers like you.

48. lol..wait, John the quaker is still going on and on with lies and misdirection and attempts to divide and conquer…he better ask back SB for his money if he made the mistake of funding that campaign which will never see the light of day in that parliament, not with its current candidate line up, unless someone feels sorry for Grenville and gives him a senate seat… ..we shall see in a day or two…

……they are all too desperate and chomping at the bit to make it into a parliament which will see them become immediate properties property of the crown…but they all know their agendas and so far I see nothing good coming out of that arrangement for the population as a whole..

the aggrieved with their sour grapes will be crying for a very long time to come.

Which part of perfectly legal the Opposition leader appointment…don’t they understand this time.

Definitely time to set up boundaries and put legal requirements, laws and powers of arrest, recall and removal in place for all individual politicians, ministers etc who see their entry into parliament as a get rich quick scheme.

49. Why has Mottley not asking the private Sector to pay their govt owed back taxes of over 650miilion dollars
    But rather use a policy of defaulting
    on debt
    Doesnt she realized that the principle on that debt would incuured late payments plus refinancing charges when again reopened for new renegotiations

50. The new path she has embarked would have barbados drowning in a sea of debt for years to come and always being beggars at the masters door.