Submitted by Tee White

The decision of the new BLP government to seek the support of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) for the implementation of its comprehensive economic reform programme has provoked reactions from all sides.

Those who support the decision have argued that the country had no alternative, given its poor credit rating and high level of indebtedness. Prime Minister Mia Mottley put this at over 170% of GDP and stated that, measured against GDP, Barbados is the third most indebted country in the world, placing it after only Japan and Greece. The supporters of the move further argue that with an effective negotiating team and negotiating strategy, there is no reason why Barbados might not benefit from engaging with the IMF. Finally, they argue that the IMF of today is no longer the big bad wolf of previous years.

Those, who oppose the decision, point to the country’s previous engagement with the IMF, in the early 1990s, when job losses and cuts in public sector wages led to protests and the downfall of the Sandiford DLP government. They also point to the experience of Jamaica which has been entangled with the IMF for the last 40 years and is still considered to be in need of IMF support.

The key aspect of the current situation, as it is presented to the people of Barbados, is the government’s fiscal deficit. While the government collects BD$2.7 billion in taxes, it spends BD$4.4 billion, of which some BD$1.5 billion is used to service the existing debt of BD$15 billion. In order to cope with this situation, the previous government are accused of running down the foreign currency reserves. According to Prime Minister Mia Mottley, on 31 May, these stood at BD$440 million, or the equivalent of seven weeks’ worth of import cover. This is the main problem that the government’s comprehensive economic reform programme with IMF support is intended to address.

However, it is clear that there are numerous ways to solve a problem of a government’s budget deficit and the choice of option will indicate the political preferences of those making the choice. For example, the people of Barbados remain in the dark about the origin of this BD$15 billion of public debt. For each individual loan within the portfolio of debt, Bajans need to know, who borrowed it, how much was borrowed, what the interest rate was, what it was used for, how much has been repaid and how much is still outstanding. Bajans need to demand that the government make this information public so that we can judge for ourselves our responsibility for the repayments. Obviously, if money has been borrowed and used for purposes other than those stated in the terms of the original loan, then we are looking at the issue of odious debt for which Bajans should not be held responsible. Furthermore, if money has been borrowed and used to enrich politicians and private interests, then those who benefited from the loans are the ones who should take the responsibility for the repayments.

Another important point to bear in mind is that looking at the government’s finances alone does not give us a clear and all round picture of the state of the economy, since government revenue accounts for only some 30% of Barbados’s GDP. We also need to know what is happening to the other 70% of the country’s GDP in order to be able to make informed decisions going forward. Recently reported statements from Mr Eddy Abed, President of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry (BCCI), that there is some BD$8 billion sitting in the banking system in Barbados also needs to be factored into any solution. Bajans may well ask how it is that in ‘dire economic times’ the ‘private sector’ aka the local elite have the equivalent of 80% of the country’s GDP sitting in the banking system. If this is the case with the local elite, what is the situation with the foreign elites? We need information on all of this to be in a position to make informed judgments about how best to address the budget deficit.

With regard to the IMF, a careful reading of its Article IV report which was recently released by the government indicates that it is focusing its attention on attacking those streams of government spending which benefit ordinary people, such as public sector pensions. Bajans need to be aware that other options exist. A budget deficit can be reduced by increasing government revenue as well as by cutting government expenditure. For example, the government could increase its revenue by charging corporation tax on companies’ income rather than on their declared profits. It could also place a temporary moratorium on all tax concessions which are currently in operation. The important thing is that various options exist and the ones that are chosen reflect a political choice about whose lives and interests are important. The question is should decisions favour the working people of Barbados or those of the local and foreign elites.

In the new situation, it is essential that ordinary Bajans demand that their views and interests be fundamental in shaping any agreement with the IMF. This means being given access to information which allows us to make informed choices and demanding that any agreement reached with the IMF be put to a binding referendum in which the people of Barbados have the opportunity to make a decision on this crucial issue for the well-being of the country.

102 responses to “Bajans MUST Demand Final Word on IMF Deal”

1. As expected the DLP defenders will come with all types of rationalization to defend poor management. Fact is the DLP administration left this country in a TOTAL MESS!!!

2. The dlp govt left bajans working social services in tact offered the NUPW a wage increased
    Now what Mia has put on the table is a huge bowl of crow for bajans to eat . Go figuren

3. Tommorow is the big day when the IMF tells Mottley what must be done and Mia BIG LIE WOULD FINALLY BE sealed in history

4. Nonsense! Eight paragraphs of intense fantasy, in particular the final one,

“…it is essential that ordinary Bajans demand that their views and interests be fundamental in shaping any agreement with the IMF. This means being given access to information which allows us to make informed choices and demanding that any agreement reached with the IMF be put to a binding referendum in which the people of Barbados have the opportunity to make a decision…”

A. Dullard

5. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

The Financial Forensics IF THEY ARE IMPLEMENTED will do one of two things SHOULD THEY BE ALLOWED TO DISCOVER THE TRUE TEIFS

They will either determine the amount of the theft and who the teifs are and lock them up

OR

Do some fancy footwork incredulously not find who the teifs are AND AFTER THE CUSTOMARY BAJANS ATTENTION SPAN FOR SENSATIONAL NEWS (9 days), ALLOW DE teifs to slink away in the darkness FREE

CAUSING WE DE NEW GUYS GOTS TO TEIF OURS TOO

But de ole man is not too concerned about that cause I dun know the outcome NOTHING

Here is what I would say bout dem tings.

“It doan mek much sense to be pulling wunna private parts over imaginary nooksie”

BAJANS CANNOT “demand” a ting from nobody but it will be interezting to see how far (and how long) this transparency going last

But now to more substantive things LIKE SERIOUS SUGGESTIONS TO RUN A GOVERNMENT

You T.Inniss said and I quote

“… . A budget deficit can be reduced by increasing government revenue as well as by cutting government expenditure…”

Some time in 2006 going into 2007 UNDER THE BLP ADMINISTRATION and again in 2008 going into 2009 de ole man is led to understand the Faculty of Social Sciences UNDER THE THEN DEAN DR GEORGE BELLE, proposed a UWI led project for Electronic Vehicle Registration which would have generated between $60-100 M per annum

Two administrations sought to thwart the FSS project and in fact one *** quit the job or is that retired and then bid for said project on *** under the name of ***

Now de ole man ent want to get sidetracked by giving out de details in full but one would genuinely wish to axe you this question

How do you see this type of decreasing of Budget Defecit programme being implemented when state agencies become competitors against pribate individuals and academic entities that seek viable revenue generating partnerships with said facilitator governments?

Do you not think that a duplicate portal A SORT OF VIRTUAL OPPORTUNITY KNOCKS PORTAL, listing these types of DO NOT COMPETE initiatives to safeguard the University would be useful?

Suppose one could create said virtual transparency, residing here at Barbados Underground might that now be a step in the right direction?

But den again de ole man ent too bright like Rawdon Adams nor Kay McConney nor does de ole man gits any unnerstanding of your big up topics bout iincreasing government revenue…

By de way who you willing for?…I going gots to do a likkle Miami Vice or NCIS profile pun you to find out who you representing here

6. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please…

7. @Mariposa

Your party had it’s chance the past 10 years, While you can continue to comment, it falls on deaf ears. The citizens of Barbados have soundly dismissed your ideas, and want a new path, no matter what you, and your other DLP yard fowls may think. At east doing something has given the country hope, something FS didnt because he was never a leader. So lend your support for recovery, and in 5 years your voice maybe be heard in opposition if things have gone south. “It is better to keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool, than to open it a remove all doubt!”

8. Yes ten years of free social services which would soon be dismantle and leavebbajans fending for themselves
    How is that for A Covenant of Hope

9. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV & Radio) Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV & Radio)

@ Maripussy….Barbados is already drowning in a sea of debt according to that graph posted..complements to the DLP..or are you too much of a yardfowl to even comprehend that…..@Theo you are right to dimiss John…which cabinet Mr Atherley is in… i would like to know….The Leader of the Opposition and opposition members do not become members of Cabinet…In fact, the whole point of an “Opposition” is to oppose the govt side….usually opposition members form a “shadow cabinet”.
    As an aside Ralph Thorne made a pertinent point that MOST MPs run FIRST to represent their constituency…there is no guarantee they will become ministers..so the belief that MPs sulk when not selected is MOSTLY a fallacy…..i guess most will be disappointed but in a now 29 seat govt..it would be unreasonable for all to be in cabinet…the current cabinet is too large as it is.

10. The GG is showing her true colours of yellow and blue,confirmed by GP’s recall of an encounter outside a gym a few years ago.So far some well known Dems have been clothed in similar apparel and cast in the ‘Independence roll’.Somebody or bodies have been working the phones feverishly over the past few days and have succeeded in exposing the Emperor’s clothes for all the public to see.A wardrobe malfunction indeed.Have no fear, sooner or later we will see their true colours coming out in the debates.

11. President Mason has spoken and she has appointed the sons and daughters of the Bajan aristocracy to the senate. Bees and Dees, six of one, half a dozen of the other.

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item submitted this morning around 10.30 a.m

Don’t think you caught it yet

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

This blog by AfraRaymond is to be noted for 2 reasons

One.

It shows the currency that BU has with its Trinidadian counterpart blog to merit his attendance

Two.

The nature of his contribution

“…I would add the issue of interest rate analysis in which one compares the actual debt instrument with the prevailing terms so as to gain an appreciation for how the borrower has fared as against the average…”

A $10 loan at 5% per annum and a $5 loan 15% per annum presents an interesting comparison ESPECIALLY WHEN THE AGENT OF THE BORROWER IS GOING TO BENEFIT FROM THE FLEECING THROUGH THIS INTEREST HIKE IN A US ACCOUNT

14. Sorry PUDR, that one must have disappeared in the clutter.

15. Disgusting lies
    And by the time Mia and the IMF get their way it would be drowning in a red sea of joblessness and poverty

16. Rapy Waxy Iz Fun Avatar
    Rapy Waxy Iz Fun

What Bushie what ? Shirt murdahan ah lie?

17. Definitely time to set up boundaries and put legal requirements, laws and powers of arrest, recall and removal in place for all individual politicians, ministers etc who see their entry into parliament as a get rich quick scheme.

Suppose Reverend Joe to be recalled by the constituents who voted him in, the Bees!!

Than the mock leader of the opposition or the leader of the mock opposition would cease to exist!!

But it would not matter at that point if there is a mock senate and mock parliament and mock cabinet, a by election would be called.

The BLP would not run a candidate and an opposition party or independent would waltz in!!

The real government arrives tomorrow …. that party is called the IMF and it has been waiting quietly until it has a mock government to give it its legitimacy.

18. @ Gabriel June 4, 2018 1:17 PM

As Tron told on BU: The GG is working on behalf of Big Sinck, the destroyer of Barbados.

The GG was not good enough for the CJJ. THAT IS A FACT. And also the other judges at the Court of Appeal were not good enough for the CJJ. That is a FACT too.

The GG: Mediocrity at its best!

19. @ Gabriel June 4, 2018 1:17 PM

Didn´t I tell before the GG is simply a DLP mole? She is more concerned about shopping in London that the fate of Barbadians.

She was not good enough for the CCJ. As ALL OTHER judges at the Court of Appeal. That is a FACT.

Barbadian mediocrity at its best. As usual.

20. It does not make sense to shut yourself out of the credit market by defaulting on a loan.Then to rely on the debtor to refinance the debt with draconian demands
    The better choice in such a scenario would be that off selling some assests to pay down the debt while securing the chances of establishing the creditworthiness
    Mia emotional rants and raves by way of phto op have placed this countries creditworthiness out of reach for years to come while holding on to a few assests that luck would have giving a financial breakthrough which would have necessary for barbados to start an upward trend in decrease its debit
    Now Mia has shoot barbados in both legs and have called in the IMF to construct false hope for the people

21. Mottley sold the country to the IMF and tommorow they will be in barbados to get their pound of flesh

22. The senate is a done deal?

23. @Mariposa
    May 23, 24, 25, 26, 27,28 , 29 30, 31, June 1, 2 , 3 4
    Election dun
    We in June
    Nation building is the new password

24. The election dun
    But Mottley aint but just started and look wuh she dun do sold barbados out to the financial one arm bandits that gonna mek barbados pay till kingdom come
    Wunna tek did fuh joke

25. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV and Radio) Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV (formerly CBC TV and Radio)

At Mariposer…you and the DEMS always thinking in an alternative reality. If the DEMS has Barbados to heart they would have implemented corrective measures ever since…but no….they operated and governed by stealth….trying to win an election and it horribly backfired. What the Rt Hon Mia Mottley has done is for the good of Barbados in the long term. To draw an analogy the DLP was fighting an economic war, has constantly lost and caused us to retreat into a corner. We are now boxed in and all we can do is surrender or die trying to fight. What Mia is doing is a negotiated surrender…so that we can all have a semblance of life in the long run. Ms Mottley has done it even if it causes her to lose the next election….but with a 30-0 victory it will hardly be likely. What Ms Mottley has done is smart thinking….within 10 days of wining an election she made a decisive move…something horribly lacking in the Freundel Stuart administration over 10 years. The BLP now has at least 5 years to allow this decision to work. Once she can get buses back on the roads, garbage being picked up….roads being repaired, the economy to start on a growth path..then the dog will already be dead for the DLP in the next election. The DEMS must understand it is not always about winning an election…it is to govern for the good of Barbados no matter how much yuh get criticize for it

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Disgusting Lies and propaganda TV (you name too long for de ole man to type pun de iPad heheheheh)

You are correct insofar as she has asked for “berating SPACE” AND WILL RECEIVE SUCH FROM THE IMF

I wonder ef de ole man should elaborate for you

[[SQUARE BRACKETS TIME – WHY DE OLE MAN TYPE BETWEEN HERE AND DE NEXT SQUARE BRACKETS ONLY YOU AND I GINE SEE

The Pause that Refresheth

De ole man was wondering about Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley’s use of the words “suspending All Payments” on debt

This is of critical import when you consider that there is a grace period associated with these loans that unless the country is already in that grace period then we are definitively in default ….AND THAT IS NOT A SECRET THAT THE DLP COULD HAVE KEPT TO ITSELF

So de ole man said to meself “meself what is Madamoiselle Prime Minister Mottley doing?”

And the answer came back “she is buying time”

Stay with de ole man a while

What payments are due? In what currency? Going (ostensibly) to whom?

You did de ole man yet?

I was did ask Mr. Bernard Codrington about if it was possible to not pay these contracts and kickbacks to contracted parties AND HE HAD TOLD ME NO BUT WHAPLAX…

You did de ole man?

Now why dis means in practice?

IT means dat under the watchful eye of the IMF de incoming administration is going to be able to examine ALL DE SOVEREIGN DEBT OF BULBADOS and see all the arrangements OFFUCIAL AND UNOFFICIAL of Credit Suisse officials and Darcy Big headboy and Chris Stinkliar

You did de ole man yet?

Now unlessing Credit Suisse and others of the funding agencies wish to compromise their reputation on the international markets hey all need to come clean on the details of their diabolical financial arrangement with the former GoB

As should all of the red of funders who want to have untarnished financing reputations (an oxymoron to be sure – a bank with a reputation dat be like saying David Come Sing Along is a lawyer with integrity and scrupples)

But de ole man only sharing this with you Disgusting Lies and Propaganda don’t let de rest of the BU population know what we talking bout ok ?

Man you ent even tell me dat I forgot the SQUARE BRACKETS]]

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please…

28. Some DLP supporters suffering from PTSD.

29. Mariposa shiite!!!
    Both ac and DeLiar Worrell are adding insult to injury by their continued shiite talk into the affairs of Barbados.

Here we have two shiitehounds who supported and encouraged the rampage of Froon and Stinkliar for ten long years …. facilitating and encouraging the most idiotic policies conceivable…. and now that the shit has hit the streets, and now that MUCH MORE INTELLIGENT people are trying to clean up the mess, …we have to endure these two ass lickers bitching about every little thing….

The POLITE thing for these two vermin to do would be to go home QUIETLY and commit suicide.

DeLiar had the GALL to suspend press conferences; to print money like some kinda parro; and to talk economic shiite about “international currency exchange protocols” that would be worthy of Dompey ….
    Now he come talking shiite about firing 15000 people so that he can keep his toy cars and big gratuity.

As Bushie has suggested LONGGGGG ago, It makes much more sense to change the STUPID law that Arthur passed about not cutting salaries – and to reduce salary levels across the board to a nationally affordable level – than to dump 15000 brass bowl passengers into the sea….

The press (and BU especially) should boycott De-Liar…just like he did to us when his short ass was in power….
    BB, ‘short-me-crutch’, moron…..

30. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Government debt becomes more of a problem if most of your debt is owned by foreigners coupled with a weak floating currency ( Jamaica is a prime example). Luckily for Barbados, most of our debt, around 70%, is owned by the domestic financial sector and the NIS. Also, we have a fix currency regime that serves us well for over forty years, so the risk of currency depreciation is very low.

The debt is high for sure, but the sky is not falling down as some would like you to believe. Jamaica is still in a more precarious situation than Barbados even with all their fiscal consolidation.

31. Go read barbados today editorial idiots
    In one week this woman has placed barbados in a serious economic manhole driven by political hamstring and self interest

32. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Bushman…don’t worry, I got a remedy for all their vicious, criminal asses, as outlined in the Blogmaster’s article above…

Ah got mysef a brand new broom and lots of sugar to make lemonade…lol

33. the tail dont wag the dog

34. “The debt is high for sure, but the sky is not falling down as some would like you to believe. Jamaica is still in a more precarious situation than Barbados even with all their fiscal consolidation.”

Such an attitude caused the insolvency of Barbados.

35. Forty also told us that everything is OK with the Barbadian offshore financial sector.

It is not.

36. Fortyacres,

But our monetary policy is decided in Washington by the Fed, not in Bay Street or Church Village.

37. Hal,

Most educated people in Barbados do not understand that a peg of 1:2 demands a productivity of 50% of the United States. The productivity in Barbados is next to 1:4.

The excessive import taxes and duties are a tool of deceit to keep up the grand illusion of a stable and valuable Barbados Dollar.

38. Government also announced that it had appointed White Oak Advisory Ltd. to act as its financial advisor in the context of the debt restructuring process announced on 1 June, 2018.

http://www.whiteoakadvisory.com/

39. Arrival Of IMF Mission & Appointment Of Advisor

bgis June 5, 2018 banner, Top Stories

http://gisbarbados.gov.bb/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/Prime-Minister-Mottley-meeting-with-IMF-team.jpg

Prime Minister Mia Mottley (right) in discussion with the IMF’s Bert van Selm (left) during a meeting at Government Headquarters today. To Prime Minister Mottley’s right are Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Ryan Straughan and Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Marsha Caddle. (C.Pitt/BGIS)

Government announced today that a team from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), led by Bert van Selm, had arrived in Bridgetown on a three-day visit.

The team will hold discussions with the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance, Mia Amor Mottley, Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados, Cleviston Haynes, other senior government officials, and representatives from the private sector and the labour movement.

It is expected that during this visit the IMF mission will update itself on the current economic and financial situation in Barbados, ahead of discussions with the authorities, over a potential programme in the coming weeks.

Government also announced that it had appointed White Oak Advisory Ltd. to act as its financial advisor in the context of the debt restructuring process announced on 1 June, 2018.

The financial advisor is in the process of establishing initial contacts with affected creditors, and is expected to soon commence creditor engagement on the basis of the medium-term macroeconomic projections to be finalised by the Government in the coming weeks. In the meantime, all queries relating to the announced debt restructuring should be directed to the financial advisor using the email address barbados@whiteoakadvisory.com.

The Government stated that it has held discussions with the rating agencies since last week’s announcement, and it is expecting that Barbados’ credit rating will shortly be adjusted down to Selective Default (SD), as is customary when comprehensive debt restructurings are announced.

Information for creditors will be posted periodically here.

Central Bank of Barbados

40. Look at Argentina: The country is approaching the IMF again after it defaulted in the early 2000s. So this might not be the last IMF programme for Barbados as well. A fourth and fifth might follow. Barbados is simply to small to survive as an independent nation without constant help of foreign lenders.

It will be interesting to see what happens if the government raises the pensions and wages of public servants and defaults on various international loans and bonds at the same time. They are already fuming on the Cayman Islands …

Is this the kind of – quote – “stimulating investor confidence” the GG outlined in her speech?

I don´t think so.

41. @Tron.You are too sophisticated not to know that the overall premise of my argument is correct. Most developed countries in this world as we speak, are up to their neck in debt. They are not that worried because most of their debt is issued in the domestic currency and they tend to have a stable currency. Japan is a good example.

I agree with you about our level of productivity. For sure, the fixed exchange regime has created massive distortion in the system and a false sense of economic success.

42. @Hal. Yes, Washington partially dictate our monetary policy. I used the word partially, because we still have some amount of capital control in place.

43. @ fortyacresandamule June 6, 2018 2:19 AM

Dear Forty,

Apologize for my huff and puff! I agree that most of the debts are local debts and this is good news, indeed.

However, given this fortunate position, I do not understand why gov defaulted on the international loans as well.

44. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Tron

Government has defaulted on its international loans as well so it can bring in its international paymaster White Oaks to oversee who gets paid what when.

This is going to put all external sovereign debt ON HOLD so that all debtors INCLUDING THOSE DEBTS THST ARE DESIGNED TO BLEED THE ECONOMY TO FEED STINKLIAR & HEADBOY QUISLING will now be on hold

This entity is now the de facto gatekeeper de ole man spoke to you about last week during Sunday C
    School classes.

IT was at thst time de ole man was asking Mr Bernard Codrington about not paying loans.

I do hope that you try to pay attention while you are in the RumShop else you will end up drinking piss from the new proprietor euphemism for the BLP under the guise of beer

45. Tron,
    With White Oak now giving external advice, and Caddle and Straughn being pictured meeting with the IMF, does this mean that Mascoll and Persaud have been sidelined? That their advice needs a bit more ‘external’ expertise?
    More important, what are White Oak’s fees for advising on restructuring our sovereign debt and what advice have they given. What expertise are they bringing to the table that Professor Persaud, Dr Mascoll, central bank technocrats or the taxpayer-funded academics at Cave Hill could not bring at a fraction of the cost?
    By the way, when I warned, that buying government bonds was putting ‘investors’ at risk, as usual, I was ridiculed. I mentioned the bankruptcy of the government and received an email from the late David Thompson chiding me for my view. Time is longer than twine.
    Government has now been in power for 13 days and apart from a respectable Queen’s Speech, filled with lots of flawed proposals and one or two good ones, has done no more than lots of PR stunts.
    I say again, and have been saying this since the scandal with Barrack, that the Bds$1.7bn domestic debt poses a totally different problem to that of foreign debt.
    With domestic debt we could just print money then manage the threat of asset price inflation. In the over-long speech, there was no mention of re-forming a Barbados-domiciled bank, another efficient way of managing domestic debt – with a balance sheet bank, creditors could be given current accounts limiting the amount of single withdrawals.
    Such a bank would also incentivise savers and retail investors, thereby a dynamic domestic operation. As to the foreign debt, currency derivatives could mitigate the hefty burden of that cost.

46. Apologies. I have now seen the Nation picture of the meeting with the IMF and both Mascoll and Persuad were there.

47. Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right Avatar
    Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right

@ Hal Austin

In sync as you forever seem to be with the statement “even a broken clock is right twice a day” you deliver some worthwhile material even amidst the rambling

WHITE OAKS

“…Opting for independence instead of a more bureaucratic structure has enabled White Oaks to thrive as a boutique firm with selective staffing, focusing on a high-touch experience for clients with more assets…”

There is something to be understood here about a firm that is a derivative of IDS American Express.

First you need to understand that IT IS NOT IDS and secondly this is a personal reference to a “boutique firm”

The things to be examined here are numerous but the ole man will focus on a few that need to be mentionned

1.Why the derivative and not the more stolid and solid parent?

Because IN THE SCHEME OF THINGS Barbados is small potatoes with IDS the parent AND IT DOES NOT HAVE ANY CURRENCY WITHIN THAT ENTITY since we would not have passed their due diligence standards

2.Cross Pollination Promises.

Because of the relative miniscule size of the firm White Oaks vis a vis IDS there is a personal leverage being applied here that time alone will disclose. This boutique was chosen because of someone that they knew in the current administration.

Certainly IF THE TRANSPARENCY POLICY THAT HAS BEEN ESPOUSED & COVENANTED TO DATE with the Bajan People, is going to be applied across the board, then we can expect to see the terms and conditions of the White Oaks Agreements.

Any financial planner registered with the Securities Exchange Commission of the USA (and by extension a financial planning institution) would tell you that they work on a fees based structure which according to regulations CANNOT DISCOMMODE THE CLIENT so White Oaks at least will be on its P&Qs with respect to its GoB client.

Notwithstanding any “promises” for unlike we jokers here in Barbados, de ole man ent say de FSC nor the FTC in green Hill, the SEC ent an entity to ef with

But we can only hope that the current administration WILL BE FORTHCOMING WITH THE DETAILS OF THE White Oaks engagement contract as IT HAS PROMISED TO BE WITH THE DECLARATION OF THE ASSETS OF THE NEW MINISTERS heheheheheh.

The second aspect of these “promises” can be imputed based on the relative anonymity of this firm in the spectrum that is the Movers & Shakers domain.

It is what White Oaks’ “high touch experience with clients…” portfolio has already delivered to the current administration specifically what it had brought to the cross polination table that has resulted in their being awarded this “pick”

You jes doan hire a Financial Planning firm pun a willy nilly feeling like how DownLowe was did doing wid dat white woman of (he-nevah-had-a-white-meat-yet fame)

Speaking of “picks” de ole man want to know effing any uh wunna cud put in a word with these people so dat i cud get a “pick” too but I guess dat dem Stoopid Cartoons dem presented “a bridge too far” heheheheheh

I shall lift up mine eyes unto the hills from whence cometh mine help, my help cometh from the Lord who hath made the Heavens and the earth, He Shall not suffer mine foot to be moved, yea He that keepeth Israel, SHALL NEITHER SLUMBER NOR SLEEP

48. The Honourable Prine Minister is now having to deal with the economic mess brought about by the Doolittle administration.It is worthy of note that Courtney Blackman referred to himself in his role of Governor of the Central Bank,as a ‘creature of the Minister’.That was a clear indication that the Minister was in control.Fast forward to post ’08 and the roles have been reversed.The Governor now has two superior unknowing officers to deal with and in recognition of that situation took it upon himself to assume control of both the fiscal and monetary policies of the doolittle government.A classic case of the tail wagging the dog,doing the dog,publishing his own labour statistics,denying the press a presence at the table,expending scarce funding to certain unproductive and free spending State Enterprises and when the economy refused to respond positively threatened to pull the printing machine plug on the clueless duo.The garsun boy had the last laugh on the harsun boy.
    It appears,given the earth shattering rebuke of their combined folly which some called called voodoo economics,the harsun boy has withdrawn until further notice.The current Ministry of Finance is now properly staffed with serious professionals.

49. Fractured BLP Avatar

The Madam PM administration has created another first !

Now 10 days into the life of her administration Madam PM has witnessed 2 downgrades from the rating agencies !

At this rate – Barbadians can reasonably expect that by General Elections in 2023 …….the country can be expected to record 20,000 downgrades !!

Which is not too bad ……when one considers :

A 30 member Cabinet !
    5 Finance Ministers in Mottley, Straughn, Caddle , Mascoll & Persaud !

Well ….

It’s
    Mia ‘s
    Fault

IMF !!!