Submitted by Tara A. Inniss. PhD (UWI) MSD (UNSW) BA (York). Department of History and Philosophy, Cave Hill Campus, The University of the West Indies, Barbados, innisst@yahoo.com, The History Forum Blog

When Gabby wrote ‘Jack’ in the early 1980s, he was responding to hoteliers asserting their rights over beach front property. Some almost 40 years later, Barbadians have felt secure in the notion that ‘The Beach Belong to We’. But no more. Many downplay beach access issues proclaiming that beaches in Barbados are public. However, we have witnessed increasing tension among property owners, watersports operators and beachgoers over the past 5-10 years with property owners asserting their rights over beach space above the high-water mark. But, to me, a disturbing trend has been the use of lines of (usually empty) beach chairs that create an artificial barrier (like a wall or fence) between beach users and properties. One only has to look at the aerial drone footage of beaches like the Crane, Mullins and even Carlisle Bay for evidence of this phenomenon. I believe that it is a way for property owners or even beach chair operators to conduct a ‘land grab’ at the expense of beach users. Although some complain that watersports operators harass their patrons, which is a legitimate concern, the majority of beach users pose little harm to their businesses.

In the context of access to recreational space, Barbados’ beaches have historically been the one of the few refuges that Barbadians have had access to for sporting activity and relaxation since Independence. Given the high incidence of Chronic Non-Communicable Diseases (CNCDs), these spaces are very important to providing access to free physical activity such as swimming, beach cricket, running, walking, etc. which Barbadians need to prevent diseases such as diabetes, obesity and hypertension. Access to these spaces and activities should not be limited because of predatory business practices which privilege the needs of the visitor over the Barbadian. Also, given that beach chairs are being used in this way, we should ask ourselves if a lazy day at the beach for the visitor should be prioritized over the potentially active lifestyles that we want Barbadian families to pursue.

Moreover, given our changing coastline, beach erosion is a severe and ongoing problem for property owners and insurers. We only have to look at the high surf conditions experienced in recent weeks to see the damage that is done to coastal properties which extend their structures on to beach spaces because the high water mark has altered over time. Carlisle Bay is a good example. When the Deep Water Harbour was built in the 1960s, it changed the entire coastline of Carlisle Bay with now increasing land accretion due to sand depositing in the Bay — but that is only one hurricane or storm surge away from changing and given the threat of Climate Change, Government should be making a move to ensure that coastal properties are protected — not expanded into beach zones! There is an economic and environmental cost to all of us when unregulated coastal development occurs.

I have done some quick research on how this matter has been dealt with in some jurisdictions. When concerns are raised, the use of beach frontage can be curtailed or regulated by the state through by-laws or other legislation.

In 2015, in a Florida town, residents complained about a similar phenomenon being promoted among condominium developments along the beach. The City intervened and only a percentage of beach frontage could be used for the purpose of beach chair provision. Since then, tensions have decreased significantly. http://www.nwfdailynews.com/1.488270 In Barbados’ case, we may wish to pursue a similar provision which allows only a certain percentage of beach frontage to be reserved for beach chair use and only when that is satisfied can property owners put out more chairs within the boundary of their properties.

Other jurisdictions go much further. In Phuket, Thailand, officials conducted a ‘Beach Clean Up’ meaning that ALL structures, temporary amenities (beach chairs, etc) were to be removed from the island’s beaches leaving them clutter free http://www.phuket.com/phuket-magazine/phuket-beaches-clean-up.htm. In Australia, nothing permanent is allowed on beaches including beach chair rental although some jurisdictions are experimenting with this kind of rental enterprise within regulations. http://www.bobinoz.com/blog/18397/whats-really-different-about-the-beaches-in-australia/. I think these measures might be too restrictive especially to the small beach chair concessionaire, but they do indicate that some major popular tourism destinations take a hardline.

These are matters that should be taken up with haste with the National Conservation Commission (NCC) and it would not be the first time that they were asked to help regulate the beach chair situation. With increased tourism development along the island’s coastline and our current economic, social and health challenges, regulation of beach spaces is an important consideration.

Photo credit of featured image: ecaribonline

331 responses to “‘The Beach Belong to We’”

1. High tide tomorrow is 4:30 pm!!!

Go take a look and get a photo!!

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I told the Crane manager that I was giving Gabby and his kids a lift home and that my car was in the Crane parking lot. He graciously walked there with us and we chatted cordially. It was good to chat with Gabby and his kids as I drove them home.

3. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Who cares, I was at that Crane res/bar only last year, Mother Nature knows best and neither Doyle nor Melnyck can question her or they too will be washed away in the middle of the night leaving only stone, just like Port Royal in Jamaica, half of it still buried under water. …it was the most wicked city in the 1600s…and then what….thousands drowned, yall power and ownership are only in ya diseased minds.

4. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Hal,

Busy day. Just clicked onto this post and noticed your contribution at 3:34 PM. Many years ago i mentioned that we should have installed a ring road around the island that followed the coastline. We have this in part along the east coast; where the views are magnificent.

5. What is the point of it now? What is done is done. We have to make the best of it given the decision to crowd the coastline.

6. peterlawrencethompson March 31, 2018 at 4:34 PM #
    I told the Crane manager that I was giving Gabby and his kids a lift home and that my car was in the Crane parking lot. He graciously walked there with us and we chatted cordially. It was good to chat with Gabby and his kids as I drove them home.

Invite Gabby and his kids to take a little tea at the Crane Restaurant tomorrow!!

Try and be there between 2 and 6 and watch how the beach changes.

Take some photos and make a time lapse sequence.

High tide is at 4:30pm!!

7. It will be an education for the kids

8. …. and you and Gabby might learn something too!!

You are never too old to learn.

9. Talking Loud Saying Nothing March 31, 2018 at 4:38 PM #

The biennial Diaspora Conference was meant to encourage ideas such as this. What it has become is a talking shop with Maxine McClean and others talking down to people much better informed than she is about financial regulation.
    I remember a couple years ago a young man, based in New York, drafted a paper on financial regulation which he had hoped to present to the Diaspora conference. He did not get a chance.
    It is the same with tourism and leisure. We seem to have an ide that tourism is only about the number of hotel rooms; when they are told they must also develop a leisure industry alongside that, that once tourists come off the beach they need something to entertain them, people scoff.
    Tourists do not come to Barbados to eat in our local restaurants; they do not come to visit our museums; they do not come to enjoy our architecture. Yet we have three or four tourism-related statutory bodies. Why?
    @Talking Loud Saying Nothing March 31, 2018 at 4:38 PM # You seem to be a very clear thinker, but this would not be welcomed in Barbados.

10. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

John on March 31, 2018 at 4:51
    You are never too old to learn.
    +++++++++++++++

I wish I could say the same about you.

11. John March 31, 2018 at 4:47 PM #

You are flogging aa dead horse. Whatever you say the keyboard warriors will come out to attack you. Keep going.

12. This man is on about the tide and the beach belong to the sea when the issue here is how- in this case Crane and others- should treat with vendors on the beach. For the love of mike what are some of us missing?

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

At least Gabby got to discourse with the tourists and explain the situation to them, just like the sewage mess, they would grasp the filthy underbelly of what hoteliers try to do, process it in their heads and get a better understanding of why the people are demanding that these nasty attitudes are dismantled permanently.

14. The issue is not how some uncouth Irish-Canadian treats vendors. It is about a clearly defined law and it enforcement. Again, it I the failure of our administrative class that is bringing pressure on ordinary people trying to make a living.
    Send this Irishman back where he belongs. Have the vendors reported the theft of their chairs to the police? Have the police spoken to the vendors and Doyle? Have local members of parliament visited the site and spoken to the vendors? Apart from Mr Commissong, where are our pro bono lawyers?
    We always take the easy way out by racialising and personalising these experiences rather than look at them seriously.
    We must also remember that the Irish fled from Ireland after the potato famines, many of them went to the Southern US, where they set about forming the KKK, those in the Urban areas joined the police and other law enforcement agencies (remember Bull Connor?).
    Others were sent to Australia where they released their venom on the Aborigines. The Irish have form.

15. @ David,

Doyle and every hotel owner would like to own or control the beach in front of their hotels.

A sensible solution would be for Doyle to negotiate a compromise with the vendors and the NCC.

Doyle probably don’t want anyone on Crane beach unless they are staying at his hotel or work

for him.

16. Hants March 31, 2018 at 5:37 PM #

You do not need any compromise. The question is what is the law? People, even the expat Irish, must obey the law or get out.

17. Haven’t you guys heard? Racism is no longer an issue anywhere but inside your heads! Well, there and in the USA where the bullets in the heads of black men are the issue.

18. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I cant believe we spent two days posting over and over on two separate blogs what the real issues are pertaining to hoteliers and this clown is still coming with stupid questions.

19. “Hants

Yes and no.

If you listened to the audio of the press conference posted to BU Doyle was clear to point out that the Crane Hotel has been in discussions with the NCC for the past 9 years!

As Peter has been clear to also point out ad nauseam the NCC has failed to administer in the matter based on the regulation that empowers that agency so to do. Blaming Doyle is asinine in this matter if the decision of last resort is with the NCC.

20. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Donna…even black people try your faith with their idiocy because they have spent most of their mentally enslaved lives in a lala land coccoon trying to escape from reality, the demons like Liesalot are bad enough, but when you have big old hard back black men who were treated like less than human in UK for their entire lives, still spewing that shit at ya….it makes you think that some blacks deserved the ill treatment they received at the hands of the most vile racists in existence..

… these same blacks were only just barely fortunate not to be born 200 years ago…or they would know what for when being stretched on the rack…..a jackass.

21. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght

@ Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 1:58 PM #

I was very much amused by your commentary and, regrettably, understand your “departure lounge” mentality.

The fact is that some of you, hidden away in your conjoined supposedly safe, condominiums, have been so isolated from the real Barbados, FOR SO LONG, that you are numb to the actuality of racism and the genetic mutation that it has undergone in Barbados.

let me brek this down for you. I am not promoting the “pointed response of killing a few non-blacks, during these encounters with thse beligerent denizens of our Bukra Johnnie population.

I am not promoting such acts of sedition or social unrest.

Mine is a dispassionate observation OF WHAT WILL MAKE THESE ISSUES GO AWAY!

You talk because you have a mouth, and claim your right to an opinion Willy Coyote, one which you espouse in the Nation and Advocate, with impunity, you always have and always will.

I unfortunately, being in the same departure lounge as you, do not talk because it is a fashionable exercise, but seek to provide solutions, HOWEVER HARSH.

Let me explain where I am coming from to your limited reasoning.

Mark Anthony Conditt is the most recent in a string of bombers in the US continent.

Do you comprehend the number of resources that were made available in his hunt? Do you comprehend why this matter received these resources? Do you understand the profile that Conditt presents to US authorities for trip bombs? do you comprehend what he did to the Texas region economically, socially…?

My comment therefore is not being made to promote sedition BUT TO ECHO, DEFINITIVELY, WHAT THE MINDSET OF AN OPPRESSED PEOPLE ULTIMATELY COMES TO if it is not addressed.

Pachamama and others here have spoken to what the ultimate sacrifices of an opressed people needs to be but de ole man ent see you lock swords wid Pachamama and seek he deaf heheheheheh but you is dat sort of a man…

I wish you, and others of you, who cowtow to these “massa mentalities” as is customary to your cunsultancies, to understand that WHEN THE RESPONSES WHICH I PREDICT HAPPEN, it is only then that people who are part of this “massa mentality’ will start to become interested in de-escalations and start to put resources out there to address solutions.

A la Kim Jong Un and US deliberations, read the writing ole man.

A DAY WILL COME WILLY COYOTE, soon, when an incident in Barbados against a black poor man by a bukra johnnie, or a white expatriate or a member of one of these elitist self appointed demigods, WILL RESULT IN AN APPROPRIATE REACTION of heretofore unknown magnitude on the Barbadian landscape.

Such action will get them to notice, and to publicly retract the status quo attitudes and truly acknowledge that massa day is done

If just to make my point in a more graphic way which will assuredly grasp your limited reasoning skills

When that white bajan woman went missing when she was out collecting doggie DID YOUR RECALL HOW MANY WHITE CONCERNED CITIZENS TURNED UP IN ST GEORGE WITH DRONES LOOKING FOR HER MELANIN DEFICIENT SELF?

De point being WHEN DEM IS THREATENED OR DEM GETS KILLED they engage!

De ole man is not a racist because “I also have some friends who is white” heheheheheh but as you should realize by now, from my comments, I abhor racists and I going be ‘black” till I dead

Oh by the way, I ent mind your decrepit threats ole man cause i is an ole man too…heheheheheh but wid some practicuum in dese tings heheheheheh.

22. @Hal A
    Send this Irishman back where he belongs.
    +++++++
    And then what? Is this your backhanded way of nationalizing the Crane? Or do you propose that the Gov’t then invite one of the numerous Russian oligarchs that populate Blighty to take over the business?

I actually have some sympathy for Doyle in this matter, he has economic concerns at risk and said that he has been trying to negotiate with the NCC for 9 years without resolution (which they haven’t denied). This is about par for any legal or other disputes in Barbados. If the NCC had given a definitive ruling on the matter they could have restated their decision at the outset of the issue instead of letting it escalate to a minor crisis.

23. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“When that white bajan woman went missing when she was out collecting doggie.”

BLACK “doggie” no less.

She made the racists real shame..hahaha. .

24. The Irish and other enslaved whites were treated as badly by the English as the said English treated the African,the Chinese,the Arabs and the Indian.I suppose the English were treated equally badly by the Norsemen,the French and the Romans.Power still comes out of the muzzle of a gun hence the USA is still in its Wildwest mode and the militia is interpreted and then whispered to be representated by the white man only.

25. @ David,

I have not been in Barbados for about 10 years so I will just STF(rance)U.

26. @Gabriel March 31, 2018 at 6:07 PM #

The Irish were never enslaved. That is racist drivel invented by the KKK and others. Do some research.

27. Sargeant March 31, 2018 at 6:04 PM #

Whatever the perceived wrong, you do not take the law in to your own hands. That contemptuous Irish man may have a few Canadian dollars invested in the Crane, Barbadians have their lives, their histories, their heritage invested in that tiny island.
    @Piece, if white vigilantes are frightening you now, then wait until the Muslims get going.

28. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

I am sure you are being provocative when you say that this is NOT about white and black.

Notwithstanding all that Peter Lawrence Thompson has said, and reasonably presented about high water marks, and NCC responsibilities, and abdications etc., we need to get serious about many of these issues.

I would hope that any of the criminologists who comment here on BU tell us how many white people are incarcerated in Barbados or have been incarcerated in Barbados, for any crime”

And perhaps, even before the data is provided, some (propably John) will say that, “with the exception of the perpetuator of fratricide who had his matter dismissed after fleeing the jurisdiction after commiting a crime” OR “barring the man who is the cause of the accident on the highway, “white people and bukkras do not commit crimes”

But suppose that criminologist were to provide data about the other felonies/crimes that blacks get locked up for,

Like “cock tax” (or is it that white boys ent got no doggie to get nobody pregelant and/or never say dem ent de father?

or do they ever teif money from their employer, or do theiy commit bodily harm an beat dem wife who tekking black boy doggie and put them in Bayview Private Clinics?

Or are they part of any illegal cocaine imports, or sell unlicensed guns, you understand de ole man drift?

As long as the person who is perpetuating the illegal act in Barbados is a non black, the crime is ignored and they get a free pass like Doyle and the rest of them irrespective of our mono-economy of tourism

We have to call a spade a spade…

29. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

PLT…they all keep repeating that lie that the irish were enslaved over and over hoping it will stick, it is well documented, they were prisoners of every variety from rape to murder to theft and more sent to various penal colonies in the Barbados/ Caribbean, US, Canada, Australia etc, just like the Scots and Welsh and all the other riff raff the british deported, their terms of penal imprisonment were no more than 7 years before they could return to UK…most chose not to return or did not have the money to return….that was in the late 1600s…

I could swear the potato famine was September 1845 – 1852…when most of them ran to the US to survive…and create mischief.

but yet you keep hearing all these elaborately invented lies, twisting the truth to insert themselves into the African slave trade, despite people posting documented information with the truth online every day…..these liars just wont stop.

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

No surprise, the hotel is massive and Doyle is still building, he will not be able to control such a massive compound, he has to offload a large portion of it to remain liquid..

…the private residences are beautiful, my family took a look at them, it’s worth an investment.

31. @Piece Uh De Rock Yeah RIght March 31, 2018 at 6:00 PM #

Shut up you MORON, my ancestors settled this little god for saken island before your kind knew the new world existed., I’ve got hundreds of years of ancestry here, whats your Bajan ancestry. I’ve got numerous relatives buried in various cemeteries on this island, those that have not been desecrated by what you like to call civilized individuals and corrupt BLACK GOB so called leaders since independence. The original independence leaders did have foresight, however their direction was quickly derailed by corrupt greed and your know it all attitude.

Its morons like you, with a know it all attitude, that need to read history, and understand history. Hundreds of years of history and you’ve managed to destroy a once beautiful economically thriving island in 51 years. You’ve obviously come from humble beginnings and that’s good so you know whats in your future if you keep on the path your on.

W Coyote is no longer going to comment on this racist dribble as some bloggers have an extremely narrow understanding curve, that is if they have a understanding curve at all.

32. @Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 6:52 PM #
    … you’ve managed to destroy a once beautiful economically thriving island in 51 years…

You are betraying an abysmal ignorance of history here. Barbados was NEVER economically thriving after British settlement. The Planters and their financial backers were thriving during certain eras, but the vast majority of Barbadians, both Black and White, never thrived economically. You need to actually go and study Barbadian history before embarrassing yourself further.

33. @Peter Lawrence Thompson March 31, 2018 at 7:00 PM #

Thriving is a relative term, go study history yourself a little closer and you’ll discover that Barbados in years past was the envy of the Caribbean countries. Maybe not up to English, French, Spanish, Portuguese aristocrat levels but thriving never the less.

34. Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 7:07 PM #

Bulshit Wily… look at the economic history not just anecdotes. The Bajan plantocracy was the envy of the plantocracy in other islands. the plantocracy is not and never was representative of Barbados or Bajans.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

I remain confused (what’s new?)
    Doyle had to know the laws and that confiscating vendor’s assets would erupt in a broo-ha-ha, and the vendors had the requisite right/license to operate.
    So what was this all about? It has to about more than he and the NCC? Did he have any expectation the NCC would revoke vendor licenses?
    What is the end game? The IDB project and the beach? Public beach access? Is T&CP blocking a proposal? Or is the timing (tourist season nearly over) have to do with elections?
    His ilk (developers) are 99% of the time about money. And they like big money. not little money.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    been beating the YVR-YYZ route for a while now, I never know what time of day or night it is.

37. yep…..lol definitely a descendant of the penal colony prisoners, then indentured servant who believe someone gifted them the island. that twisted belief has to be dismantled,.

any new government have to make themselves unreachable to these mentally unstable minorities and just do the people’s work, stop fraternizing with those who seek to only look out for themselves, live off the majority population and rob the island..

38. @Peter Lawrence Thompson March 31, 2018 at 7:10 PM #

“the plantocracy is not and never was representative of Barbados”

Peter therein lies your problem, the PLANTOCRACY was BARBADOS like it or not.

I know the BLACK POPULATION of Barbados does not wish to recognize or relate to the Plantocracy Err, however its HISTORY LIKE IT OR NOT, history cannot be changed. All your rhetoric will not change HISTORY.

39. NorthernObserver March 31, 2018 at 7:11 PM #

I’m not surprised that you are confused. I talked to a number of Crane staff today; started with the bartender (ordered a Dark & Stormy to match my mood and left him a 35% tip because I wasted so much of his time). He was confused. I talked to the head of security; his body language was fascinating when I asked him why Mr. Doyle was doing millions of dollars in damage to the brand he worked so hard to build: he shrank away from me with a pained look on his face and mumbled something about “well people made representations…” I had a long conversation with the General Manager, a bright and professional young man. He talked articulately about the frustration of dealing with the NCC, about how it’s been nine years, about how they have not kept their word… but asked whether the decision to lock up the Vendors’ beach chairs had had any positive effect or only made matters much much worse he lapsed into silence. He was clearly confused>

My own theory is that the Hilton negotiations made Paul Doyle gamble on complete beach control to achieve a higher valuation. But he has lost that gamble catastrophically badly.

40. You are betraying an abysmal ignorance of history here. Barbados was NEVER economically thriving after British settlement. The Planters and their financial backers were thriving during certain eras, but the vast majority of Barbadians, both Black and White, never thrived economically. You need to actually go and study Barbadian history before embarrassing yourself further.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Wow ….. where did you get that from?

41. BTW …. its financially thriving I think you mean … they did well economically as I have shown you!!

42. … infact so well that they were able to put and end to the institution of slavery!!!

43. Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 7:32 PM #

The plantocracy at no point constituted as much as 1% of the Barbados population during the era of sugar. If you think less than 1% of the population is representative of Barbados I understand why we disagree.

44. John March 31, 2018 at 7:35 PM #
    … infact so well that they were able to put and end to the institution of slavery!!!
    +++++++++++++++

The British treasury (ie British taxpayers) payed the blood money to end slavery in the British empire. In fact the poor British taxpayers did not manage to pay off that debt until 2015!

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2018/feb/11/lets-end-delusion-britain-abolished-slavery

45. the illiterates always seem to miss the point, it’s a majority population supposed to be doing well financially, that means the country as a whole is strong and doing well.

when it’s 1% of the population doing well, that means they are parasites feeding off the existence and lives of the majority population, the country could never be doing well in such scenarios,…..not unlike during the slave trade.

that is a myth, not unlike descendants of penal colony prisoners and indentured servants from the 1600s, for the last 51 years pretending to be who and what they are not.

46. @PL

So now population percentages is your definition of a BAGAN, I can see your prompting yourself as an economic viable solution to the financial woo’s, infrastructure failures etc that Barbados is presently experiencing because you have a greater % of population. This same exact greater % of populace has got you into the present situation, perhaps you should be looking to the minority populace for better more structured guidance as a SAVIOR(not disrespecting the Easter Season).

Your disregard for HISTORY is laughable.

47. @PL

You cannot win this HISTORY discussion, history is in the past and well documented. Your warped idea of Barbadian history will not influence or change scholastic minds.

48. Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 7:48 PM #

You need to learn to read. I said that less than 1% of the population is not representative of Barbados; I did not say that they were not Bajan.

49. @Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 7:50 PM #

Sorry Wily, but I’ve already won the HISTORY discussion, because I’m the only one that cited any history.