Submitted by Tara A. Inniss. PhD (UWI) MSD (UNSW) BA (York). Department of History and Philosophy, Cave Hill Campus, The University of the West Indies, Barbados, innisst@yahoo.com, The History Forum Blog

When Gabby wrote โ€˜Jackโ€™ in the early 1980s, he was responding to hoteliers asserting their rights over beach front property. Some almost 40 years later, Barbadians have felt secure in the notion that ‘The Beach Belong to Weโ€™. But no more. Many downplay beach access issues proclaiming that beaches in Barbados are public. However, we have witnessed increasing tension among property owners, watersports operators and beachgoers over the past 5-10 years with property owners asserting their rights over beach space above the high-water mark. But, to me, a disturbing trend has been the use of lines of (usually empty) beach chairs that create an artificial barrier (like a wall or fence) between beach users and properties. One only has to look at the aerial drone footage of beaches like the Crane, Mullins and even Carlisle Bay for evidence of this phenomenon. I believe that it is a way for property owners or even beach chair operators to conduct a โ€˜land grabโ€™ at the expense of beach users. Although some complain that watersports operators harass their patrons, which is a legitimate concern, the majority of beach users pose little harm to their businesses.

In the context of access to recreational space, Barbadosโ€™ beaches have historically been the one of the few refuges that Barbadians have had access to for sporting activity and relaxation since Independence. Given the high incidence of Chronic Non-Communicable Diseases (CNCDs), these spaces are very important to providing access to free physical activity such as swimming, beach cricket, running, walking, etc. which Barbadians need to prevent diseases such as diabetes, obesity and hypertension. Access to these spaces and activities should not be limited because of predatory business practices which privilege the needs of the visitor over the Barbadian. Also, given that beach chairs are being used in this way, we should ask ourselves if a lazy day at the beach for the visitor should be prioritized over the potentially active lifestyles that we want Barbadian families to pursue.

Moreover, given our changing coastline, beach erosion is a severe and ongoing problem for property owners and insurers. We only have to look at the high surf conditions experienced in recent weeks to see the damage that is done to coastal properties which extend their structures on to beach spaces because the high water mark has altered over time. Carlisle Bay is a good example. When the Deep Water Harbour was built in the 1960s, it changed the entire coastline of Carlisle Bay with now increasing land accretion due to sand depositing in the Bay โ€” but that is only one hurricane or storm surge away from changing and given the threat of Climate Change, Government should be making a move to ensure that coastal properties are protected โ€” not expanded into beach zones! There is an economic and environmental cost to all of us when unregulated coastal development occurs.

I have done some quick research on how this matter has been dealt with in some jurisdictions. When concerns are raised, the use of beach frontage can be curtailed or regulated by the state through by-laws or other legislation.

In 2015, in a Florida town, residents complained about a similar phenomenon being promoted among condominium developments along the beach. The City intervened and only a percentage of beach frontage could be used for the purpose of beach chair provision. Since then, tensions have decreased significantly. http://www.nwfdailynews.com/1.488270 In Barbadosโ€™ case, we may wish to pursue a similar provision which allows only a certain percentage of beach frontage to be reserved for beach chair use and only when that is satisfied can property owners put out more chairs within the boundary of their properties.

Other jurisdictions go much further. In Phuket, Thailand, officials conducted a โ€˜Beach Clean Upโ€™ meaning that ALL structures, temporary amenities (beach chairs, etc) were to be removed from the islandโ€™s beaches leaving them clutter free http://www.phuket.com/phuket-magazine/phuket-beaches-clean-up.htm. In Australia, nothing permanent is allowed on beaches including beach chair rental although some jurisdictions are experimenting with this kind of rental enterprise within regulations. http://www.bobinoz.com/blog/18397/whats-really-different-about-the-beaches-in-australia/. I think these measures might be too restrictive especially to the small beach chair concessionaire, but they do indicate that some major popular tourism destinations take a hardline.

These are matters that should be taken up with haste with the National Conservation Commission (NCC) and it would not be the first time that they were asked to help regulate the beach chair situation. With increased tourism development along the islandโ€™s coastline and our current economic, social and health challenges, regulation of beach spaces is an important consideration.

Photo credit of featured image: ecaribonline

331 responses to “‘The Beach Belong to We’”

1. @PL

“Sorry Wily, but Iโ€™ve already won the HISTORY discussion.”

haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa, in your warped mind, History is facts not imagination.

2. Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 7:57 PM #
    History is facts not imagination.

Exactly… so I’m waiting for you to cite a single fact…

I’ll be patient while you go look one up…

3. Wily…the minorities are self absorbed thieves and it is about time they are cut loose from surviving off the majority population, most of whom have not been able to grab any opportunities in their own country because of the avariciousness and greed of a small minority of parasites, enabled by two week governments in the last 51 years.

now that the majority population is waking up to the reality of what was done to them, their children and grandchildren….yall will have to go out and find real jobs, do real work and stop living off the legacies of centuries long dead evil racist slave masters…the opportunities they had, you will never have, different eras.

4. I see at today’s Beach Chair Love in, apparently you used the Cranes Resort facilities to leave the beach, park your car, why didn’t you ask the beach chair vendors for assistance to clammier over the slippery rain soaked NCC Controlled Beach Access and give you a lift to your car. Did you at least pay one of the beach chair vendors to use one or more of their chairs while you were on the beach. Putting your money out front always helps with an argument, just as the GOB DLP/BLP voting machine.

5. @PL

Here’s a little HISTORY for you……….

“The first English ship, which had arrived on 14 May 1625, was captained by John Powell. The first settlement began on 17 February 1627, near what is now Holetown (formerly Jamestown),by a group led by John Powell’s younger brother, Henry, consisting of 80 settlers and 10 English laborers. The latter were young indentured WHITE laborers who according to some sources had been abducted, effectively making them slaves.”

Go figure the first slaves on the island were WHITE from ENGLAND. Not BLACK and NOT FRO AFRICA.

6. @Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 8:08 PM #

I’m glad we are back on topic.

I parked my car on Crane property, had a drink at the Crane bar (Dark & Stormy to match my mood), chatted extensively with the bartender about the beach controversy (he said he was confused by it), then left him a 36% tip for wasting so much of his time. I took the stairs down to the beach, not the elevator. I’m often a patron of the Crane because I live in the neighborhood (been there about a dozen times in the past year).

What’s your point??

7. @Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 8:14 PM #

Sigh.

As you yourself point out they were indentured servants, not slaves. The distinction is important; under British law indentured servants were human beings, under British law enslaved people were chattel, like cows or sheep. Children of indentured servants were free human beings, children of enslaved people were enslaved, even when they were the master’s own children. And so on…

So being abducted and forced into an indenture contract did NOT make you a slave.

8. Wily…stop with the nancy stories already…they are played out and proven to be false by the same british.

9. @Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 8:14 PM #

And of course, after their period of indenture, usually seven years, the indentured labourers became free.

10. @PL

“Whatโ€™s your point??”

Point is, use the provided NCC beach access and stop complaining about Mr Doyles issues with the beach vendors to which is his and the vendors problem and mind your your “Beach belong to we” business. I see you like to use the Crane amenities, likewise I’m there several times a week, have you ever taken the time to talk with Paul Doyle about this situation before he took the action of confiscating the vendors chairs in order to bring the issue to the NCC’s attention. Mr Doyle has apparently tried dialog on numerous occasions over the past several years to no avail with the vendors and NCC. He obviously run out of options because of NCC inaction, a little national PRESS “may” spur some government of Barbados appropriate authorities into slow motion action, then again since NCC closed all the washroom facilities for the Easter Holiday one can assume all GOB authorities are also CLOSED.

11. The myth of Irish or English or Scottish slavery is spread by racists who seek to pretend that the enslavement of African peoples was not the crime against humanity that it clearly was.
    https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/17/us/irish-slaves-myth.html

12. @PL

“NANCY” stories, well I should have expected an asinine answer to HISTORY FACTS.

Peter your flogging a dead horse, historians RULE, the “oh yes but” argument has played out many times before you were born and its always been LOST.

13. @Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 8:39 PM #

I use whatever access to the beach I damn well feel like.

Of course the NCC is incompetent… I have been one of the first to point this out on this and similar threads.

Yes, I’ve talked to Paul Doyle in person about this (we happen to sit on a board together) and have had an extended WhatsApp conversation. Yes he is frustrated with the NCC, but his actions have not hurt the NCC at all, he has hurt the vendors temporarily and the Crane brand much more substantially and probably permanently if he persists with his ill considered court case.

The controversy might spur the government to put in proper beach access, but that will involve acquiring land from both Doyle and his neighbor Melnyk by the Crown in accordance with the Land Acquisition Act. If that is accomplished within a decade I will be pleasantly surprised.

14. @Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 8:46 PM #

Yeah, me and all Irish academic historians are flogging a dead horse ๐Ÿ˜‰

I hope someday you learn to sort out fact from nonsense on the Internet…

http://www.newstalk.com/Irish-historians-add-their-names-to-open-letter-criticising-the-racist-propaganda-of-Irish-slavery

15. @PL

“he has hurt the vendors temporarily and the Crane brand much more substantially and probably permanently if he persists with his ill considered court case”

You’ll have to explain your rational here, its not obvious to me.

16. @PL

Whats all this nonsense about IRISH slaves(indentured servants), my historical quote stated that they were in fact ENGLISH. You have real issues if you are confusing the Irish as English or the English as Irish.

17. @Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 8:46 PM #
    the โ€œoh yes butโ€ argument has played out many times before you were born

Actually Wily, if you do the research you will find that the Irish slavery lie was invented in 2008 by John Martin, a man with no training whatsoever in History. His aim was to sell a lot of books, and he achieved that. So it never played out before we were born… you will find no reference to it pre 2008. It’s popularity tracks the resurgence of White supremacist ideology and anti-Black racism particularly in the USA and UK.

You can read about the actual history of this racist idea here:
    https://medium.com/@Limerick1914/open-letter-to-irish-central-irish-examiner-and-scientific-american-about-their-irish-slaves-3f6cf23b8d7f#.y8vhhbflq

18. Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 9:05 PM #

The same lies circulate with the claims being either about the Irish, English or Scottish. They are all lies, but the Irish lie is the most widespread.

19. @Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 8:59 PM #

He has hurt the Crane brand much more substantially and probably permanently if he persists with his ill considered court case. This is because he will lose. The law is unequivocal: the NCC controls the beach. Period. They even have the authority under law to make Paul Doyle remove his own beach chairs.

So all he will achieve is to enrich some lawyers while generating copious negative publicity over an extended period and devalue what management geeks call his “social license,” the acquiescence of the community around him to his expansion plans and general business conduct. It is an intangible asset which is nonetheless reported on the balance sheet and when negotiating with the Hilton that negative press coverage and publicity will cost him millions.

20. @Peter

Your comment begs the question who are the lawyers providing the opinion on this matter to Doyle.

21. @PL

Obviously your not aware of the “oh yes but” argument phrase, its often used by people making arguments to which there are stating facts based on emotion rather than facts, more myth than facts.

Its like when your mother told you “don’t go out in the rain you’ll catch cold”, limited facts mostly motherly emotion.

I see your true BAGAN to the bone, historians are now lairs. Sweep slavery under the rug and it never existed, good theory, however history is not this easily erased.

Don’t get me wrong my ancestors were part of the slavery problem and I’m not proud of it, but its history and I have to live with it. The black slave descendants keeping the slavery issue in the foreground is not helping their cause, much the same way as you feel Doyle taking the vendor issue to the courts will be detrimental to his business.

22. @Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 9:26 PM #

I have stated only facts:
    The English indentured servants were indentured servants. Fact.
    Indentured servants were not enslaved people. Fact.
    The myth of Irish (or Scotish or English) slavery was made up relatively recently by people who were not historians. Fact.
    There are no professional historians anywhere who accept the myth of Irish (or Scotish or English) slavery. Fact.

Where are you detecting the emotion?

23. @PL

I have to agree with Davids sentiment, who are the lawyers advising Paul Doyle, they obviously think he has a case.

” The law is unequivocal: the NCC controls the beach.” the words intent appears to be clear, however only the courts will determine if the words, as you are interpreting them, are indeed correct. Every day countries undergo constitutional and legal challenges that the courts decide, some are won some are lost, that’s the purpose of the justice system.

Let justice play out. Its a fact that one or both parties will have to make concessions.

24. @ Wily

By the way, the Revolvy.com site where you got the quote about English indentured servants who “according to some sources had been abducted, effectively making them slaves…” is NOT written by historians. It is just a site pandering to tourists. The “according to some sources” should have been a dead giveaway… actual historians always cite their sources.

25. Peter Lawrence Thompson March 31, 2018 at 7:35 PM #
    Wily Coyote March 31, 2018 at 7:32 PM #
    The plantocracy at no point constituted as much as 1% of the Barbados population during the era of sugar. If you think less than 1% of the population is representative of Barbados I understand why we disagree.

There you go talking foolishness again!!

26. …. and a little trivia for you did you know that the word plantocracy only came into being after the abolition of slavery!!

All the slave returns I have seen say the slave population was about 77K.

Registered slave owners numbered around 6K of whom about 10% were Free Negroes or Free Mulattoes.

Did you know that any property, large or small was referred to as a “plantation”?

So a 1 acre spread for instance was a plantation!!

27. BLT

Have you read the report you quote?

It is pretty scathing of the entire population.

Here is an excerpt.

From September to November 1916, the Barbados public health system came under
    outside scrutiny when George Paul of the Rockefeller Foundation International Health Board
    visited the island to survey hookworm incidence. Paul was scornful of both the Barbadian health system, as well as Barbadian themselves. In a private letter, he criticized white Barbadians for their conservatism and opposition to change. While he recognized the problems with sanitation in the colony, he also blamed black Barbadians for their own poor health. According to Paul, โ€œBlacks as a rule have no sense of responsibility, dignity, or honor.โ€41

Paul found significant rates of infection throughout the island, but the highest rates were in the eastern parts of the colony. St. Andrew, St. Joseph, and St. John had infection rates as high as 65 percent due to unsanitary disposal of excrement.42

Two years later, Dr. Howard, the head of the Rockefeller Anti-Hookworm Campaign, visited Barbados in an attempt to address the hookworm problems in the island. The Rockefeller Foundation offered to help free of charge if the government made moderate sanitary improvements to help prevent recurrence. Like with other reform attempts, though, none of the parishes agreed to cooperate because they did not want to pay for the improvements.43

28. peterlawrencethompson March 31, 2018 at 4:34 PM #
    I told the Crane manager that I was giving Gabby and his kids a lift home and that my car was in the Crane parking lot. He graciously walked there with us and we chatted cordially. It was good to chat with Gabby and his kids as I drove them home.

I am glad to see you took my advice and brought Gabby through the hotel.

Had he gone the scenic route he might have fallen.

29. John,

What about adapting your Trumpian text to the present situation?

“he criticized black Barbadians for their conservatism and opposition to change. While he recognized the problems with sewage in the former colony, he also blamed white Barbadian business magnates for their own poor integrity.”

30. John March 31, 2018 at 11:36 PM #

The article at globalresearch.com has this at the bottom “Copyright ยฉ John Martin…” John Martin is the completely discredited charlatan with no historical training who made up this nonsense in his 2008 book which has been proven utterly false.

31. Oh boy!!

BLT

You saw the public access provided by I assume NCC!!

You obviously realised at my prompting that Gabby as a senior … like ourselves … might have problems negotiating it at high tide.

What happens if a one of our guests/tourists falls and injures himself/herself and decides to sue?

Will the NCC claim that since it was on boulders the beach does not extend there and it has no control.

This begs the question … who put the boulders there?

Will Melnyck be held liable?

32. Tron April 1, 2018 at 12:12 AM #
    John,
    What about adapting your Trumpian text to the present situation?
    โ€œhe criticized black Barbadians for their conservatism and opposition to change. While he recognized the problems with sewage in the former colony, he also blamed white Barbadian business magnates for their own poor integrity.โ€

plus รงa change, plus c’est la mรชme chose

Dat dey is French!!

33. @John March 31, 2018 at 11:58 PM #

When we were boys in the early 60s hookworm was still a very widespread serious health problem in Barbados. My Dad did rotations in the Accident and Emergency where infants were brought in close to death and he talked to me about it.

George Paul exhibits the racist attitudes which were almost universal among his class and nationality at that time, but read carefully and you can clearly see that 99% of the problem was structural, not behavioural. The White Barbadians that he criticises for conservatism and resistance to change simply would not allow any public health infrastructure to be funded or built. The poor Blacks who were dying of diseases like this and cholera had no capital to invest and no land to move elsewhere. You will notice that improvements did not start until after Panama had injected some capital into Black communities and Blacks started to acquire a bit of political power. It still took many many decades however.

34. Peter Lawrence Thompson April 1, 2018 at 12:22 AM #
    John March 31, 2018 at 11:36 PM #
    The article at globalresearch.com has this at the bottom โ€œCopyright ยฉ John Martinโ€ฆโ€ John Martin is the completely discredited charlatan with no historical training who made up this nonsense in his 2008 book which has been proven utterly false.

Try O’Callaghan “To Hell or Barbados” … he been writing about it for 50 years!!

Died in 2000!!

https://www.amazon.com/Hell-Barbados-Ethnic-Cleansing-Ireland/dp/0863222870

That link will give you other literature on the matter.

35. When we were boys in the early 60s hookworm was still a very widespread serious health problem in Barbados

The “Red Legs” suffered badly from it.

36. Sounds from my reading like it was contracted by working barefoot “in dung soaked” canefields.

Did you know there was both a “white gang” and a “black gang” on some plantations?

Even today people get it.

Something as simple as sitting on a beach in the Caribbean or anywhere can cause it.

https://www.mirror.co.uk/science/beach-couple-left-burning-red-11863391

http://www.cbc.ca/news/health/travellers-health-tropical-disease-hookworm-infection-1.4512975

No travel advisories that I know of exist on hookworm but there is ample information on how to avoid it. when travelling to the for instance, Mexico or the Caribbean.

https://www.nbcmiami.com/news/local/Nasty-Hookworms-Invade-Miami-Beach-106294398.html

Hookworm remains a problem, though there are treatments available.

Not a bad idea to keep animals off the beach.

37. So it might be better to use a beach chair if you plan on lying down on the beach.

A towel may leave your vitals exposed as they seem to be able to penetrate bathing suits!!

38. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Willy Coyote

You see why de ole man does have so much to say bout wanna bukkra johnies with the masse mentality?

Looks how you done move from a hotelier ILLEGALLY CONFISCATING a black manโ€™s property to โ€œShut up you MORON, my ancestors settled this little god for saken island before your kind knew the new world existed.,โ€

Then you go on to confirm that โ€œwe are the world attitudeโ€ that we encountered with your type in Africa in Rhodesia โ€œIโ€™ve got hundreds of years of ancestry here, whats your Bajan ancestry.โ€

Wherever your type INFEST THE WORLD it is imperative that you are met with absolute force of heart and mind and whatever else is necessary.

And you are correct in saying that you wonโ€™t rather should not โ€œcomment on the blatantly racist aspect of this confiscation matter HAVING SO FLAGRANTLY EXPOSED WHERE YOUR HEADSPACE IS.

As I am on record as saying here AS RECENTLY AS THE Dr. Margaret Brito article here on a topic where she did an interesting parallel analysis of the Black Panther picture interwoven with her main topic which the ole man forgets, while one does in fact wish to see those in the Castle of Oneโ€™s Skin empowered the fact is that we fall short of the mark.

I know that the blog master can retrieve many of my observations which read as a self depreciating chant that speak to the fact that we black, even though so called leaders HAVE A SERIOUS PROBLEM WITH SELF GOVERNANCE.

TO admit such to a racist like you gives me double pains and that is and will always continue to be my chant.

I do not wish to detract from the central point of this blog but the overlying theme of โ€œThat Beach belong to weโ€ is lost on people like you Willy Coyote and my assertion as to that truth being an inalienable right of all Bajans of whom the 95% of us are black, AND WHO CONTINUE TO BE SYSTEMATICALLY DENIED SUCH RIGHT WILL BE LOST ON YOUR BACKSIDE FOREVER.

@ Peter Lawrence Thompson.

Willy Coyote speak the world โ€œthrivingโ€ not from economic empowerment of the collective psyche OF WHICH WE BLACKS ARE IN THE MAJORITY NUMERICALLY BUT CONFINED TO THE DOLDRUMS OF ECONOMIC WELLBEING, but from the perspective of the ENTITLEMENT that white people like him, would have experienced during the Barbados Yacht Club Days.

Remember Peter when you were a lad and fellows in your group, the Fieldsโ€™ and Carringtons and the rest of the guys used to have to walk into the sea when you came to traverse their big limestone wall on Bay Streetโ€™s beach?

Willy Coyote vex bout them changes that has made uppity niggers like you and the rest of you articulate educated niggers.

So he comes here and speaks to the fallacy of โ€œthrivingโ€ and the so called comparison with the other โ€œlow islandsโ€ where the white manโ€™s rule was similarly absolute tilll wanna niggers assume the reigns of power and ef up the economies as he rightfully underscores.

So on the one side ole menses like me will perpetually hate people like Willy Coyote wherever I encounter his type globally BUT whereas I can defend myself against his bukkra ass if I see him past my line mark late a night I ENT GOT NO DEFENSE WHEN HE TALKS BOUT HOW SUCCESSIVE BLACK GOVERNMENTS HAVE RAPED AND PILLAGED THE GROWTH OF OUR COLLECTIVE of which we niggers is 95%

39. Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right Avatar
    Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right

@ Willy Coyote

And for your limited understanding of the English Language “indentured servant” IS NOT SLAVE as your simple self would wish to have posited as the crux of your submission

“…led by John Powellโ€™s younger brother, Henry, consisting of 80 settlers and 10 English laborers. The latter were young indentured WHITE laborers who according to some sources had been abducted, EFFECTIVELY making them slaves.โ€

So now Willy E Coyote you, with your original English Roots with your undisputed claim to the founders of Barbados, uninterrupted and pure bloodline to the Progenitors ergo Entitled Ruler for Life over Barbadoes, now state with this YOUR ABSOLUTE INTERPRETATION of man indentured white labourer, such status made him the same as a black slave?

Hmmmmm…where you get educated again?

It is de ole man hope that Prime Minister Mia Mottley IS GOING TO DISAVOW ALL OF WUNNA PEOPLE WHO FEEL WUNNA “MELANIN ENTITLED” OF THESE THOUGHTS through a tenure that will present a new innovative, effective and accountable shift into what will be a truly thriving economy.

We really cannot afford to have BOGOLORDS and BADJOHNS LIKE IMPORTED JERKMAN AND DOYLE AND PEOPLE LIKE YOU FELL DAT YOU IN SERFDOMS because you can trace you lineage back to Powell ship as either one of the free sailors OR DE CAPTAIN or de indentured white slave heheheheheheh….

40. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“The black slave descendants keeping the slavery issue in the foreground is not helping their cause”

What cause…get over yourself…you are a minority on the island, just a few thousands in number, living off dead people’s legacy…which has to be dismantled.

Blacks will always be the majority population at over 260,000 people strong, they only need to get rid of WEAK BLACK GOVERNMENTS who sell them out to greedy minorities and understand that they are in charge of their own fates, lives and futures …and are not owned by a couple minority thieves.

Black governments have to be monitored by the majority population always to keep minorities in their place, stop pandering to them and indulging every one of their criminal, corrupt whims….and the island will run smoothly. …after 51 years of corrupt practices with minorities.

PLT…these wannabe historian frauds who are not historians at all…write these books filled with lies to live off the dead coat tails of those who came before them, they do not have any original ideas and try to resusitate the past evil committed against the descendants of slaves….they can be stopped….and fools who believe that evil against Blacks can be resuscitated are spending the balance of their lives spreading those lies and misinformation.

“tilll wanna niggers assume the reigns of power and ef up the economies as he rightfully underscores.”

Dumb black governments who refuse to stop enabling and colluding with minority thieves WILL ALWAYS EF up the economy.

Wily climbed too high like the monkey…and exposed his own tail…lol….he spent such a long time in here trying to hide what he really is and in one day….bam…it came out….there are more frauds on here just like him who have to work overtime to remain hidden…in the fantasy land of make believe and lies they created for themselves because they are ashamed of being descendants of criminal/prisoners sent to the penal colony prisons in the Caribbean and later becoming indentured servants..

..I know whites just like him now deceased who were so ashamed of their ancestor’s history of being prisoners deported from UK, that they lashed out at Blacks…just for that reason only.

… their pretend superiority to African descendants of slaves who will always have a better history, will always be a figment of their imagination and they still cannot live with that reality…it makes them unhappy and always will.

41. Does anybody know the status of the deal with Hilton or any other buyers for that matter?

42. Damage control?

Clarification from the NCC re the closure of washroom facilities.
    A number of our washroom facilities were closed on Good Friday (Only). The information that went out through GIS incorrectly stated that they would be closed until Tuesday.
    In an effort to execute some damage control I am hoping that you can facilitate some urgent PSAs to state the following:
    The National Conservation Commission wishes to advise the public that All washroom facilities will be open tomorrow Easter Sunday April 01, 2018 and Monday April 02, 2018 as customary from 8:00am until 5:00pm on both days. Please disregard any previous information or announcements

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John on April 1, 2018 at 12:36 AM

Sean Oโ€™Callaghan โ€œ… I am not a historian…โ€
    But thanks for letting me know that he preceded Martin and was spreading these lies since 1993 when he first visited Barbados.

44. Shaking My Head In Amazement Avatar
    Shaking My Head In Amazement

I noticed that John has been responding to this matter with a lot of irrelevant and racist nonsense as he usually does to all matters, and has been exposed by PLT as being more insecure than those he accused.

But what is more amazing is that a noted, award wining journalist told John You are flogging aa dead horse. Whatever you say the keyboard warriors will come out to attack you. Keep going.

This man should really use a nom de plume.

45. It is frightening to read the words of wily and john
    A re they representative of the mindset of ‘white’ Bajans?
    And are our black politicians representative of what the back think
    Amazingly the actions of these politicians fit hand in glove with this white think

46. Saw a side of Wily that surprised me
    Trying to figure out what PLT said that sent this roach scurrying
    Truth and facts… they can’t stand it

47. Someone needs to examine the role of schools like HC and others in producing black politicians who promote and perpetuate a white business class

When your sons and daughters are forming what they consider as friendships, their kids are laying the seeds for maintaining their dominance of our society

For Barbados to progress, political leadership must originate outside of those polluted test tubes.

48. But what is more amazing is that a noted, award wining journalist told John You are flogging aa dead horse.

Sorry … must have missed that one.