Submitted by Charles Knighton
High Commissioner to Barbados, Marie Legault

Just when you think it would not be possible for Minister of Education Ronald Jones to trump some of his previous foolish utterances, his suggestion that Canada’s High Commissioner to Barbados, Marie Legault, be recalled for “meddling in the domestic political affairs of Barbados” for having the temerity to offer the completely innocuous suggestion that “Barbados was ready for a male or female leader” moves to the top of my list. Is there a third option, or is the Minister suggesting only the male option is correct for Barbados in perpetuity?

Every Barbadian Prime Minister has had a penis. The possession of a generative member is, in fact, the one trait they all share. They may have had differing religious or educational backgrounds, or hailed from different parishes. Yet all have been men. But with the prospect of Mia Mottley becoming the first penis-free prime minister, it’s not surprising that her DLP rivals want to remind Barbados and the delegations doing business here that their genital anatomy is the norm. When your party has made a hash of the country over 10 years, evidently tradition becomes your last resort.

134 responses to “Ronald Jones Against a Penis Free Prime Minister”

1. NorthernObserver Avatar

“what we are used to” is not what “persons living in Barbados are used to”.

And with a lady vying for PM, one can expect all kinds of shots to be taken at her, and her orientation. Also expect her to be linked to anybody or anything which can be as scoring points. And expect her to do likewise. It’s silly season.

2. If the Barbados government has evidence of ” interference ” there is a diplomatic protocol that should be followed.

Minister of Foreign Affairs

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

On the topic of foreign interference, I see we have a Professor at a Cdn University taking shots at the level of “democracy” in Barbados among other topics. My advice to the good professor is address his comments to his OWN politicians, in his own backyard. They are very applicable there.

I also recall some weeks ago in a sub-thread by the Blogmaster, a story of new BDF vehicles in the Port. One rumour at the time is they were a gift from Canada. I recently read on the GIS, they were actually a gift from China, specifically the People’s Liberation Army.

http://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/bdf-receives-equipment-from-china/

4. Some time ago I came across a quote attributed to Gloria Steinem, the famous American feminist, she said something like this, ” For a woman to gain based on her femininity is to make serious inroads in the gains women have achieved.” With the exception of MAM, how many other women out there are leading the charge for political high office? There are those here who have gotten caught up in this woman at all cost mentality and have totally overlooked the fact that we need the best person for the job whatever that position be. As a young man growing up in NY I also had this attitude of BLACKS by any means. Later on in life I got out of this black power mind set because the bloody blacks weren’t doing shit for themselves, but seem to want it handed to them. Look at the women in Barbados, with the exception of attended some institution of higher learning, what the hell are they doing but bitching and whining. Its been decades since the women stopped specializing in home economics and secretarial short hand and typing. Have they looked to start some business, have they looked to empowered themselves by being business persons? Have they looked to pool their resources other than fooping and wicking each other and buy a small hotel? The god damn women wouldn’t even look to be the importers of their remy hair or school uniforms for their children since they are the majority breeders on the island. Look at the many women owning automobiles, should the Indian men be bring in auto parts for the women? Why not seized upon that market. So now, every shit must be handed to them since they have the real pokeys. Get up off your ass West Indian women and demonstrate its for more than wukking up. For those who think I’m a male chauvinist can go kiss my ass. Like I said earlier, I was all for my black people then I saw the same thing in them, always looking for Rass hole hand outs.

5. Looka how Jonesie and his cohorts fraid a pussy cat ! He fraid he fraid, he fraid pussy bite he !

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

@whiteHill
    “With the exception of MAM, how many other women out there are leading the charge for political high office? ”

Several. Ms Eastmond is leader of the UPP, and has Ms Agard as a candidate. SB has 11/12, the BLP 7, and the DLP 6(??). There are a number of senior female public servants, and women are well represented at senior levels in the Unions. The judiciary seems to be evenly split, and one former judge, Dame Mason is now the GG. Prof Barriteau is Pricipal at UWI, but I don’t know the gender split among its faculty. If their is a glaring weakness, it is in the Private Sector. I don’t know of the International Representatives the gender split. Any of these can feed to higher political office.

Specifically in political high office, any party member with a higher profile, can become leader? And/or hold a significant portfolio if part of the Government. They don’t even have to be elected, as is the current case with Dr. Byer or Ms McLean.

7. @ islandgal,

check de Diaspora corner.

8. whiteHill go take your meds.

9. lol…..unfortunately for Whitehill..it’s the same male chauvinists in leadership roles from government ministers back down, for the last 50 years, continually restricting opportunities for Black women unless they can get sex or some other equality exploitative methods of demeaning and degrading black women and giving the opportunities away instead to minorities for bribes.

any females in positions of business power had a serious battle to fight to get there given all the obstacles and barriers maliciously put in their way by black chauvinists or other equally weak-minded black women.

so yes, the chauvinist should increase his meds intake.

Dumbville got a thorough trashing on
    Facebook this morning by Heather Cole ad others re his reaction to the truth spoken by the Trini Canadian professor, I thoroughly enjoyed the beat down he got.

10. So in plain lingo, Black chauvinists in both governments have been stagnating the progress of Black women and young people for 50 years to appease and enrich the lives of minorities and for that they should be punished severely.

11. And just to expose the hypocrisy of the male chauvinistic ministers of parliament, Butch Stewart of Sandals is being called out on facebook for among other things, ripping off the Antiguan government and interfering in elections, the citizen’s lives etc….

Stewart tried that destructive interference in Barbados’ welfare system and until he demands a retraction of his low class, insulting and disrespectful comments about the citizens, from Barbadostoday which to date he has not…..he said those nasty things.

Neither Jones nor Inniss ever called out Butch Stewart for his interference in Barbados affairs despite him and Sandals being a 40 year welfare recipient of the people’s money and taxes.

And. none of them see anything wrong with that, but got mouth for those who have positive opinions and advice for the dumbest ministers the island has ever seen.

12. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Caswell Franklyn March 14, 2018 at 1:25 AM “Hatred for Ronald Jones has clouded the majority of comments on this post.”

Now why would you think that we hate Ronald? I certainly do not. I love the man. I love that he is a straight [verbal of course] shooter. But just because i love him does not mean that I will always agree with him.

Just because I love you does not mean that you are [always] right.

13. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Caswell Franklyn March 14, 2018 at 1:25 AM “I can imagine those that support her saying to themselves, she is white so she must be right.”

I imagine that you are etting your imagination run away with you.

Agreeing with the high commissioner has nothing to do with her whiteness, nor with her femaleness.

She is right because she is right. Barbados is more that ready for a female Prime Minister, and if you doubt me, ask the majority electorate, that is ask the women what they think.

14. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@whiteHill March 14, 2018 at 2:05 AM “For decades now women have been occupying many positions in area once dominated by men, what the Rass hole have they done to show that they will be any different than their counterpart? Just give a woman a position so she can strut around as if she has now grown a dick and two?”

Your misogyny shines through.

I trust that you did not mean to say that men make decisions with their dicks? I trust that both men and women make decisions with their brains…you know that thing which is located between our two ears.

15. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Tron March 14, 2018 at 9:20 AM “Whenever I am in Bridgetown I have to climb over all the beggars in Broad Street.”

Sad but true.

But also true in Ottawa, Toronto, New York, London, Paris etc.

A toxic combination of mental illness and mind altering substances.

16. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

If you doubt me, then ask any Ryerson University (Toronto) student. The homeless people who lounge outside of the Victoria building are very likely a part of the problem. BUT every country has its vulnerable people.

https://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2018/03/13/bed-bugs-reported-in-ryerson-university-classroom.html
    Bed bugs reported in Ryerson University classroom
    Ryerson University is investigating the presence of bed bugs in the schoolโ€™s Victoria Building.

17. A next post where I am unable to contribute

18. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@whiteHill March 14, 2018 at 2:19 PM . “Look at the women in Barbados, with the exception of attended some institution of higher learning, what the hell are they doing but bitching and whining.”

You are being emotional and irrational, typical man. Lol.

The women of Barbados are still reproducing and raising the next generation of Bajans, the next generation of leaders, the next generation of those who will drive the economy forward, and the women of Barbados do this even when the Bajan men take off and pretend that their children (especially disabled children) are not theirs. You may call it fooping and breediing.

We call it raising smart healthy daughters and sons.

The women of Barbados are still looking after the elders, some do it for pay, and some do it for love, and they continue to do it even when those who have migrated pretent to forget that they have left elderly mummies and daddies behind.

And in addition the women go to work, some for themselves, and some for other people.

And when the women are reproducing, looking after the elders and the children they are still participating in the paid work force and a far higher rate than women of many other countries, certainly at a higher rate than American women.

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Dr. Simple Simon March 14, 2018 at 6:56 PM #
    โ€œYou are being emotional and irrational, typical man. Lol.
    The women of Barbados are still reproducing and raising the next generation of Bajans, the next generation of leaders, the next generation of those who will drive the economy forward, and the women of Barbados do this even when the Bajan men take off and pretend that their children (especially disabled children) are not theirs. You may call it fooping and breediing.
    We call it raising smart healthy daughters and sons.โ€

Be careful how far you wish to try to stretch your ‘feminist’ argument.

For one can counter-argue that your โ€˜Boadiceanโ€™ army of parental Joan(s) of Arc are also directly responsible for the high level of the obvious anger and violence and obesity/diabetes/allergies among Bajan children raised by these same โ€˜femaleโ€™ parents.

What do you have to say to that other than to blame absent dead-beat sperm donors (aka biological fathers) in spite of the fact that Bajan women have had access to free and equal education for over 50 years with the same females making up more than 70% of the student population at University level.

20. @Dr. Simple Simon March 14, 2018 at 6:38 PM #

Simple,

Yes, other places are nasty as well. However, I want my beautiful little island back! I believe in Barbados and that Barbados deserves a better future than that.

This vision keeps me alive besides the rum and the beach … ๐Ÿ™‚

21. truly amazing that in spite of the centuries of challenges thrown at women by mostly uncaring males, they still manage to be the largest population in universities, a worldwide phenomena…and most never fail to rise to the occasion.

22. Bushie is surprised that anyone is surprised that Barbados is fully ready to be led by women.

After all..
    Isaiah 3 explains the whole thing in minute detail….
    -Why we have been saddled with shiite men as leaders…
    -Why our children have become vagabonds and ‘capricious’…
    -Why hard (very hard) times are clearly inevitable…
    -Even why shiite flows on our streets… (vs 24)

A people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.

(Quote)
    Woe to the wicked! It will go badly with him,
    For what he deserves will be done to him.

O My people!
    Their oppressors are children,
    And women rule over them.
    O My people!
    Those who guide you lead you astray
    And confuse the direction of your paths.
    (end quote)

Why fight the inevitable…?
    Bushie therefore nominates Dr Simple Simon as assistant leader…..

23. @ Bushie,

I guess you busy preparing the campaign strategy for ?

24. OTTAWA โ€” Foreign Minister Chrystia Freeland is standing by a senior Canadian diplomat accused of interfering in another countryโ€™s election.

http://nationalpost.com/news/politics/canada-supports-senior-diplomat-accused-of-interfering-in-barbados-election-after-comments-on-women-in-politics

25. Legault was โ€œin no way endorsing any candidate in their upcoming election,โ€ said Adam Austen, a spokesman for Freeland.

โ€œOn the contrary, she was (speaking) to Canadaโ€™s well-established feminist foreign policy as the keynote speaker at an event highlighting gender issues in the Caribbean on International Womenโ€™s Day.

Canada is proud to support the greater participation of women in all spheres, including politics and government, around the world.โ€

26. All of Barbados’ problems can be traced right back to
    Mia Aman Mottley!!

She as Barbados’ first DESPOT. .. has not allowed the country to settle down over the last 25 years !

Her latest act of fraud is to encourage a female voter to take a picture of her ballot – to prove that the vote was cast for MAM !

Btw , has anyone heard MAM deny this allegation !

Barbados deserves better !!!

27. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

And to think that this whole thing started with Maureen Holder, a known DLP hardliner , make a silly suggestion that Barbados needs a debate about female leadership.

No wonder Ronald (who ain’t the Minister of Foreign Affairs) jumped in right behind Maureen. Isn’t Ronald a know DLPite?

Barbados doesn’t need a debate about female leadership. Barbados needs an election, and the sooner, the better.

Stupseee!!!

Note that the the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Senator the Honourable Maxine McClean, ain’t have a single bad word to say about the Canadian High Commissioner

That should tell us something.

Lolll!!!

28. Look how a broke ass country is allowing a few JAs to undermine the relationship between two countries have have enjoyed a cordial relationship gong back decades. Almost every thing this government appears set on destroying whether through incompetence or ignorance.

29. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@Bush Tea March 14, 2018 at 8:23 PM “Bushie is surprised that anyone is surprised that Barbados is fully ready to be led by women.”

Because of late the men ain’t doing such a good job, are they?

30. David

You through this blog site – have caused tremendous harm to Barbados!

You promote;

Homophobia !

Xenophobia !

Mia !

31. real real Bajan slang ” I ainโ€™t going up there and tell anybody to vote for he.โ€ lol

32. @Hants

We give you our minister of Education.

#anembarassment

33. But wdf I reading–garters popping? A total emabarrassment and further proof why we should not be surprised that we have ended up with less than 4 weeks of forex, sewage on the south coast, piled up garbage and a litany of other woes, while parliament has dissolved and an election date is unknown. The Cabinet is incompetent and duncey. How could anyone with any commonsense interpret Legault’s comments made in a speech on International Women’s Day as telling people to vote for Mia? Who was it that attended or wanted to attend Obama’s 2008 inauguration?

34. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

Check out the link below

” Australia considers visas for white South African farmers”

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-africa-43403408

35. Fractured
    Every week you wid a different kite, and every week it does pop.๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ You really think Bajans gine buy that story? Stupse! Go off the RH blog do๐Ÿด

36. Dr. Simple Simon Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon

@whiteHill March 14, 2018 at 2:19 PM . โ€œ…the women in Barbados, with the exception of attended some institution of higher learning, what the hell are they doing but bitching and whining.โ€

Look here to see what the women of Barbados are doing:
    https://data.worldbank.org/indicator/SL.TLF.CACT.FE.ZS
    Labor force participation rate, female (% of female population ages 15+) (modeled ILO estimate)

According to this World Bank data, 62% of Barbadian women who are 15 or older are in the paid labour force. For some other countries the numbers for female labour force participation aare:

Rwanda 86%
    Yemen 6%
    Canada 61%
    Trinidad 51%
    Jamaica 57%
    The United States of America 56%

So it would seem that the women of Barbados are doing more, much more that bitching, and whining, fooping and breeding.

37. #anembarassment

A diplomatic war of words may be developing between the government of Barbados and government of Canada through their representatives, the Minister of Education, Ronald Jones, and the north American countryโ€™s High Commissioner, Marie Legault.

https://www.caribbeanlifenews.com/stories/2018/3/2018-03-16-ga-diplomatic-spat-barbados-cl.html

38. Canada will be the first to help Barbados if a ” natural disaster occurs ” so this little spat will blow over.

39. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Ronald Jones like all his fellow ministers are a major embarrassment to the island, they are wicked to women and young people , they still live in the dark ages and expect every female on the island to live there with them, it is high time for the electorate to rid the parliament and themselves of these non progressive, chauvinistic male parasites…..to save future generations of females and young people in the majority population.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2018/03/14/canada-supports-senior-diplomat-accused-of-interfering-in-barbados-election/

“Canada supports senior diplomat accused of interfering in Barbados election
    Added by Barbados Today on March 14, 2018.

Canadaโ€™s foreign minister Chrystia Freeland is standing by a senior Canadian diplomat accused of interfering in Barbadosโ€™ election, according to an article published in the National Post online.

Canadian High Commissioner to Barbados Marie Legault raised the ire of Minister of Education Ronald Jones, who said in fiery terms Tuesday she should be recalled to Canada for suggesting the country is ready for a female prime minister โ€” and, in his view, implying that citizens should vote for a change in Government.

Canadian High Commissioner to Barbados Marie Legault and Canadian Foreign Minister Chrystia Freeland

Opposition leader Mia Mottley, of the Barbados Labour Party, is challenging incumbent Prime Minister Freundel Stuart of the Democratic Labour Party. The countryโ€™s parliament dissolved last week but an election date has not yet been set.

Legault was โ€œin no way endorsing any candidate in their upcoming election,โ€ said Adam Austen, a spokesman for Freeland. โ€œOn the contrary, she was [speaking] to Canadaโ€™s well-established feminist foreign policy as the keynote speaker at an event highlighting gender issues in the Caribbean on International Womenโ€™s Day. Canada is proud to support the greater participation of women in all spheres, including politics and government, around the world.โ€

In her address, Legault, a career diplomat, outlined percentages of women in the legislatures of other Caribbean countries and said, โ€œI think every country is ready for a male or female prime minister. Gender does not have an impact.โ€

40. @ Dr Simple Simon
    …Because of late the men ainโ€™t doing such a good job, are they?
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    The new understatement of the decade!!!
    You got that right Sis.

We so-called ‘men’ have been such shiitehounds that the poor women are now called upon to be our mothers, caretakers, protectors, educators, providers and -obviously – our leaders.

The current subject of this moot is the classic case in point.
    Easily one of the biggest jackasses in public life in living memory, this moron has achieved nothing, destroyed all that he came and found, and yet is allowed -by an even dumber jackass- to continue to imperil our national future with his antics.

Compared to what we now call ‘leadership’, ANY woman would be an immediate improvement.

Let’s have Dr. Simple Simon on the ballot..
    The mock LEC is better than the shiite male lawyers with their LEC…
    and the mock Doc could only improve our eddykashun system.

41. Talk what wunna like….

But if Froon has the balls to land in Eng’a’land for the Queen’s dooflicky
    – calling heself “PM of Shiitebados” after this article hit the streets in London …..
    …then the man either got REAL balls
    …or he is a complete dumb-donkey.
    Cause…
    Those English journalists ain’t easy yuh….
    and most of them are familiar with little England…

Could be ‘history-making’ indeed…. LOL

42. Mike Romock (engineer) and Albeen Oโ€™Centrick Avatar
    Mike Romock (engineer) and Albeen Oโ€™Centrick

Jesus Harold Christ in a sidecar, you really are this phucking stupid, arenโ€™t you, dickhead?

Earlier, you spent 200 words explaining to what you perceive as your tribe how to behave on the basis of one spectacularly uninteresting Levantine desert nomad from the Bronze Age. Now that, Bushie, is funny. Er, lol.

Know what I like about the Bush, Bushie, and indeed the whole internet? No eminents. Me, Harold Hoyte, Patrick Maxwell, Bobby Pitcher, Jeff Broomes, a judge, and you, and Welly.

43. Pussy mania is on the loose in the DLP! Fractured go and tek yuh meds and put on a depends. Yuh shitting all over the place and yuh smelling badddd!

Bushie dahling how you? I miss yuh badddd! I gine pon de ballot ticket, wuuna menz cahn even balance de chequebook. Cahn even wipe wunna asses properly in CH CH. Imagine MOT Sealy was salivating about the amount of Tourist Barbados gine get because of what the hurricane done to the other islands. But he forgot to clean his house toilet that did overflowing wid shite. Now the shite has hit the fan up in London town. Now tell me if a woman was in charge she wudda mek sure the house clean and de toilet wukking. Smooches mah dahling Bushie!

44. islandgal March 15, 2018 at 3:27 PM #

โ€œNow tell me if a woman was in charge she wudda mek sure the house clean and de toilet wukking. Smooches mah dahling Bushie!โ€

Hahahahahahahahahaha

45. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

What Fruendolittle dont realize is because of that Telegraph article, when he arrives in UK all pompous and ready to genuflect and prostrate himself in front the beast of buckingham palace, the press will converge on him like flies on…well….shit…lol

The press is relentless for such stories of corruption, incompetence and neglect, they are nothing like the shitty, useless, coward political pimps for press on the island.

Yep …Fruendolittle will make history alright…lol

46. Theophilius Gazerts 270 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 270

Whenever I shadow box, I punch above my weight…. ๐Ÿ™‚

47. @Hants

Barbados Today boy.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants March 16, 2018 at 12:20 AM

Natalie makes a ‘night living’ through satisfying the urges of men (and some women).

All she is doing is climbing the career ladder by joining the political ranks of those who make a daily living by lying to the electorate and screwing the financial daylight out of the taxpayers in their orgasmic urge to get rich quick.

49. Do we have a problem with confident women?

Alexandra Burke has battled more than her fair share of criticism in the last year – something she says is partly down to the way confidence is perceived in the UK.
    There’s every reason for Alexandra to feel on top of the world.
    The 2008 X Factor winner is fresh off the Strictly Come Dancing tour, has new music coming out, recently landed a role in the West End-revival of Chess and is going on her own solo tour later this year.
    But, as the 29-year-old gears up to release her third album The Truth Is, she is open about the turbulent time she’s had in recent months.
    “It’s so easy to get into a habit in this industry of, when someone asks how you are, you say, ‘Oh yeah! Everything’s great! So nice to see you!’ in a really high-pitched voice!” she tells BBC News.
    “And I fell into that autopilot trap of saying everything’s wonderful. And sometimes it’s not. And so I’m at a point in my life where I can just be like actually, if I’m not okay, I’m going to say.
    “Life has its challenges, but it feels like people can’t talk about it, because it’s like you’re scared of facing your own reality, and that was me.”
    Life certainly threw several big challenges at Alexandra towards the end of last year.
    Alexandra was partnered with Gorka Marquez on Strictly
    She took part in Strictly Come Dancing, a show on which celebrities queue up to appear and is normally described as a joyful experience by former contestants.
    Despite regularly receiving top scores from the judges, Alexandra often found herself in the bottom two as a result of the public vote and the subject of criticism on social media.
    But why? Several theories were forthcoming.
    The Guardian suggested “Burke’s surprising difficulties [were] linked to deeply rooted racial anxieties” – but acknowledged that was unlikely to be the sole issue, as Ore Oduba won the series the previous year.
    The Sun’s Dan Wootton, meanwhile, claimed Alexandra was “far too cocky”.
    In an article for The Guyliner which staunchly defended her and rapidly went viral, Justin Myers seemed to hit the nail on the head.
    “According to some, Alexandra is gushing, over complimentary, talkative, excitable, dramatic, theatrical, over the top, grating, mildly annoying, calculating, overly humble and modest,” he said.
    Many agreed that it can sometimes feel in the UK like celebrities, and women in particular, have to behave a certain way in order to be successful.
    Alexandra performing at Wembley Arena earlier this month
    Our biggest pop stars, such as Ed Sheeran and Adele, often making self-deprecating jokes or even play down their own success.
    But women who come across as a little more confident in their own ability are often said not to be “likeable” enough.
    Writing about Jessie J, who has faced similar accusations, Popjustice said: “In the UK we have a problem with what we call ‘showing off’, even when it comes to pop stars, musicians and people whose actual job is to show off a bit.
    “Sing but don’t over-sing. Collect an award but don’t look too pleased with yourself. That sort of thing.”
    “I find it bizarre, because women shouldn’t feel that if they come across as too confident it can be mistaken for arrogance. That’s a massive problem we have over here,” Alexandra says.
    “I got lost in a little bubble on Strictly. That minute-and-a-half where I had no cares in the world. I love to dance so it was a joy and something that I would look forward to if I made it through to the next week.
    “It was just a special moment for me to not do anything but dance and be carefree.
    Alexandra is engaged to Josh Ginelly, whom she met while starring in The Bodyguard
    “And that, yes, has been mistaken for confidence, and there has to be an ounce of confidence for you to go on the stage and do something out of your comfort zone. But I was trying to prove something to myself.
    “I wanted to learn Latin and ballroom because I’ve never done it before… if you get a challenge, why not try your best to execute it?
    “It’s a shame that some people mistook that determination and that will to want to do well, which everyone should have in life by the way, for arrogance or anything other than what it was.
    “And I’ve always been quite sad about how that came across with some people and what they would say on Twitter. But at the same time, people around me that know me well enough know what I’m like and how much effort I put into everything.”
    One thing that she was praised for during her time on Strictly was how she persevered with her show in the wake of her mother’s death.
    Melissa Bell, a former lead singer with Soul II Soul, died in August, just as Strictly was due to begin.
    Having gone through a period of what must have been horrific grief, I ask whether she has any advice for anyone else suffering a close family bereavement.
    “You know what, I’m probably not the right person to answer that now, because I’m throwing myself into work,” she says candidly.
    “Some people have said that’s not the right thing to do, but that’s just my coping mechanism, to just to be busy and not think about anything. So actually, I don’t know how healthy it is or not healthy it is.
    “So really, I would just advise people to be around people they love. If you want to cry, you can cry in front of them, or if you want to share great memories, be around people who totally support you whatever mood you’re in, and that’s the people I have around me.”
    Alexandra appeared on X Factor with Eoghan Quigg (far left), Diana Vickers and boy band JLS
    For now, Alexandra is focusing on her new album, which she’s been working on for five years. Among the tracks is a duet with Ronan Keating.
    “It’s been a long time, and a lot has changed in my life,” she says. “Some songs that I wrote in 2013 actually didn’t make the cut, because it’s not how I’m feeling right now in 2018.”
    Speaking about her future collaboration plans, she says: “I really want to do something with a female, because I haven’t yet. I really want to do something with Jessie J, Emeli Sande, Bebe Rexha.”
    And her other career plans go well beyond music. “I would love to one day write an autobiography, but for me it’s about timing and confidence,” she says.
    “Writing an autobiography is deep, you have to let every cat out of the bag. I’d love to do one, especially now it’s 10 years on from the X Factor, so I feel like soon would be a nice time.”
    Alexandra is clearly proud of her time on The X Factor, which has now come full circle thanks to a recent chance encounter.
    “I have amazing memories with Ruth Lorenzo, JLS, Eoghan Quigg… who I caught up with the other day! He’s a radio presenter in Belfast so he interviewed me. He looks so different now, he was so young back then.
    “But yes, it would be nice to reflect on the great times that I shared with all of those amazing people at that time.”
    The Truth Is by Alexandra Burke is out now.