Ronald Jones, Minister of Education

“There are persons who have no respect for democracy, they have a right to talk, but when they believe that right spreads to the creation of a groundswell to breed insurrection Mr. Speaker you will be calling on the military forces of Barbados, the Royal Barbados Police Force to bring back law and order,” he said.

“Who will be the Complaints Authority then? There will be thousands of complaints because by necessity in order to restore order you have to crack some heads, you have to shoot some people, let’s understand this reality. Nineteen thirty seven in this country many persons died, some that we can’t account for even now, so let them speak – .” (more of Ronald Jones’ statement which has sparked debate in the country)

Several interpretations can be placed on the VIDEO. The fact that BU received it from a White person only serves to add another dimension to the interpretation. BU’s simplistic view is if you place ‘power’ in the hands of someone who is operating way below a level of competence then that person will ‘ape’ what they have observed from others.

BU understands what Jones tried to communicate, although some believe it was a poor attempt at exploiting a Machiavellian principle.  BU believes it was simply an ignorant statement by a minister of the crown who is responsible for Education, Science, Technology and Innovation who became afflicted with a heavy bout of verbal diarrhoea.

Jones’ statement must be taken in the context of a post colonial Barbados where there is no precedent to support any proposition that Barbadians will rise up  akin to the Arab Spring.  Successive governments have vested billions to educate our people who see recourse in a modern Barbados is to engage in dialogue versus violence.

The statement to crack some heads and shoot some people must be also be interpreted in a prevailing climate which has become increasingly polarized along political lines. It is a country where the central stakeholders have shown great reluctance to come together to pool ideas and resources to confront the global enemy in the interest of Barbadians. Minister Jones is minister of education and by his mouthings has demonstrated that he is uneducated.

For those who do not agree Jones did any thing wrong BU believes there are several other grounds to dottin him.  In 2010 Minister Jones banned   the use of cellphones by students at all schools. A casual observation any day of the school week of the streets or school complexes across Barbados, Jones’ directive continues to be ignored. The Prime Minister publicly rebuked Jones for not making the Alexandra King Report available to Cabinet in a timely manner which led to the heavily publicised and bruising Waterman Commission.   And it is not coincidental that Jones was demoted from acting as Deputy Prime Minister soon after the Prime Minister intervened in the AX matter. Lastly, and there are other performance issues, Jones was fingered as a lead member of the E11.

What is evident is that Prime Minister Stuart has little wriggle room to discipline his charges given the narrow mandate coming out of February’s general election. At a time when we should be building a culture of meritocracy to confront global challenges we are left with the same old same old – cronyism, nepotism and decisions driven out of political expediency.  With the Opposition Barbados Labour Party engaged in yet another internal conflict  now is the time for Stuart to make some calculated decisions to signal a new way of doing business. A good place to begin is to dottin Jones!

70 responses to “Ronald Jones Should Be Dottined”

1. @Oilman

Hunte is the party Whip who is probably worth his weight in gold given his pugnacious bent. Todd is drab and brings little or nothing to the table as far as moving the country forward. Here is another example by your logic of political expediency trumping the will for change. Regretabbly you are probaly bang on in your read of the situation.

2. It appears our good BU friend Jeff Cumberbacth agrees that Jones’ utterance is no big deal given our way of life:

Take the recent speech by the Honourable Minister of Education, Science and Technology for instance. I am referring to the one in which he spoke of the horrors of the disciplined forces cracking heads and shooting people. Granted that from what I have read of the speech, it appears to be regrettably disjointed and given that the connection between the subject matter of the parliamentary debate, the Police Complaints Authority (Validation) Act and the quelling of civic rebellion does not immediately strike me as obvious, nevertheless the call for a public apology for his language seems both excessive and politically a-cultural.

Here, in contrast to the more developed jurisdictions where it is accepted that it takes a big man or woman to apologise, the political mea culpa is perceived rather as a self-belittling of the individual. Hence its unlikelihood especially when demanded in the main by one’s political opponents and absent any popular outcry for its utterance.

http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=columnists&NewsID=31208

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“FIRING LINE: The silence is silly”

Another BLP operative to the defence of her masters!

4. @David
    Nepotism, favoritism, underhandedness and lack of a meritocratic culture is the order of the day in Buhbados; yet you somehow expect Jones to rise above it all and give into the wishes of the Mary Redman just so; you right in your head? I don’t know if Jones got chick or child – can’t say I’ve ever seen him in the company of such people; but how you gine mek de man responsible for school children bad behaviour and by extension Teachers leaving the profession as a result? chupse!

Who is correct? Monroe-knight, or Jeff Cumberbatch as to the level of public outcry over Jones statement? At least Munroe-knight has one up on Miller regarding her understanding of the System of Government in Buhbados. But really though she shouldn’t try to speak on behalf uh bajans regarding bajan police, cause some may argue that they have beared the brunt of the “Force” in the name of the institution and could care less about what befalls Dottin. I for one don’t care bout him, he is not the entire Police department. I gine wager a bet that once the truth is known we all will have a different take on his “take down.”

5. ha ha Bush Tea don’t do mrcorrecto suh bad. LOL

6. Adrian you are correct in your summation of what is the state of Barbados. However the system of meritocracy means holding people accountable; in this case Jones. Some of us will live in hope.

7. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Jones is just another ignorant jackass in power. my only question to him is if he believe crack heads and shootings only apply to some and not all.

it is truly shameful and hurtful to see where this country is heading.

8. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

9. Sometimes I really ask myself why Barbadians boast about its country’s literacy rate. The argument against Jones is only valid once the damning phrase is taken out of context. “In order to restore order you have to crack some heads, you have to shoot some people” does sounds very threatening and worrying – but only out of context. However, if you listen to the speech in its entirety, you realise that BU and the Barbadian public are simply overreacting. While I agree that Jones should have chosen less graphic words all the man saying is dat when certain people instigate [probably Sir Roy] and a protest get outta hand then the police gine got to take measures to restore order. Reference to the riot in Turkey or even the UK riot a few years ago.

10. I fear Ronald Jones … There is no doubt in my mind that Ronald Jones’ opinions are shared by EVERY other Parliamentarian in Barbados, even his comments about the existence of demons. The difference between Jones and his colleagues is that Ronald Jones understands his market well enough to know that he can get away with his comments. Ronald Jones is ushering in an age of verbal indiscretion, and it will only be a matter of time before more join his choir with their neo-conservative chants as Barbadians are returned to a time of complete servitude and despair.

11. Ronald Jones seems like a frustrated man, hence is outburst. His DLP supporters say we are taking his remarks out of context. How in God’s great name can anyone take what he said out of context?

As usual, the Dems think they can get away with anything. They say this is a DLP country. All he has to do to make this go away is to say…..look, I was frustrated, things are not going well for us after we bought this victory, I lost my cool, I am sorry, even if he does not mean it. But Jones is too pompous and arrogant to ever apologise.

For the first time on BU, I can agree with Bush Tea, the man is out of his league, he is a square peg in a round hole. Even at the primary level where he was, he was hardly on the job. Just like now, I pass this man’s house everyday around ten and he is still at home. I ask myself everyday, what time does this man go to work? Mind you he is at home most evenings by five. No wonder the ministry is in such a mess. Many senior officers whom he came and found have gone off elsewhere……cant work with the man.

I fear for our country. In a few weeks when the Central Bank Governor releases the half year report, we will know what God we are serving!

12. @Mike

You epitomize what Bajans have become good at; over analyzing.

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Prodigal Son | June 23, 2013 at 5:42 PM |
    re Ronald Jones seems like a frustrated man, hence is outburst.

Jones and company must be frustrated and afraid with their slender majority.
    If they rebel too much Fumble will do them a Sandy 1994.

On the other hand, Fumble has to be quiet, otherwise they guys will cross the floor.

These guys remind us of Macbeth, who said …….To be thus is nothing,
    But to be safely thus.

14. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS

Monkey see monkey do..

15. All the games played will look like child’s play when the mountain of crap falls on these politicians, they gotta remember they are not even considered part of the equation in the grand scheme of things.

16. Seems that Ronald Jones can’t control his mouth, he must be possessed by demons :-)) .

17. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

Another good crook is dead R . H on the 23rd

18. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

Plantation Deeds

You are a heartless cold bitch. De mortuis nil nisi bene [dicendum]

19. The Dummy @ Dumo Avatar
    The Dummy @ Dumo

You should do the right thing and apologize for that ill tempered statement.

20. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926-2013 AND SEE MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS Avatar

The Dummy @ Dumo @We call it as i see it , Those are your words and these are mine, When crooks do you and yours wrong then you may sing a different tune.
    God dealing with them one at a time and we are watching.
    ill tempered statement , like the one you just used , Very funny. take you own advice , None needed , enjoy your freedom.