Dear Prime Minister

I find myself in the unenviable position where politicians from both political parties see me as an enemy. As such, I expect attacks from time to time. However I do not expect or appreciate being attacked or lied upon from the floor of the Honourable House of Assembly, by a minister of the Crown who knew that he was lying while he was speaking.

On Tuesday, December 5, 2017 Minister Stephen Lashley stated in the House that the Rock Hall Freedom Village Project is being held up by my brother’s refusal to move to allow completion. Further, he alleged that I bore responsibility for the hold-up.

Read full letter – Stephen Lashley is a Bold Faced Liar

111 responses to “A Caswell Franklyn Article – Stephen Lashley is a Bold Faced Liar”

1. caswell, he is not a bold face liar sir
    HE IS A NASTY STINKING BOLD FACE LIAR ah lie?

2. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

Oops!!

3. The DLP parliamentarians and Cabinet under Mr. Freundel Stuart have made Deception Lies and Propaganda priorities in governance. You just cannot trust DEMS!

4. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I cannot dispute you there. It is troubling when supposedly “honourable” could stand up in the House of Assembly and knowingly lie. But it is more troubling to know that he will suffer no adverse consequences”

5. dont worry man
    judgement coming soon and later if he continues like dat, more judgment at the great white throne

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Reblogged this on Caswell Franklyn’s Weblog.

7. UNESCO JUST SLAM THE SCUMBAG AN E MINISTRY…DEM BEEN LYING EVERY SECOND FOR 10 YEARS IN DE SLAVE HOUSE..CASWELL BEWARE OF DOGS!!!!

8. Tell me again was he awarded the silver crown of merit?

Was it just to rub salt in all the faces of all who said that Carifesta was a dud?

Something is up…..they have gone back to renaming every shiiite into dlp supporters names………but the condition of the roads is not important…

………..all of a sudden, CLICO is a priority and they are pouring millions of taxpayers money into CLICO while the people who raped the company are still high in the bosom of the party living high on the hog…….suffering no consequences……

…..all of a sudden even their MP’s were made JP’s

…..all of a sudden there is a rush to sell prime real estate………..wait did these morons not lambaste OSA for selling the family silver?

….all of a sudden merging KOMI with other entities is a priority.

…..all of a sudden selling the Hilton and BNTCL is not considered privitisation…..which they lied to the electorate about repeatedly.

What hypocrites and liars!

9. Imagine how stupid these morons are……..asking for UNESCO money for a project but in the proposal put in that you are hiring five consultants paying them over $800 per diems………

As Malik used to sing……only a madman!

10. @Prodigal Son

Wasn’t there an article in yesterday’s press that highlighted a similar UNESCO application was declined in Jamaica? Also Lashley attacked the Sunday Sun critique by proffering that the consultants fees factored in the Barbados application is from a reputable company. No mention of the name of said company was shared to satisfy transparency.

11. Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler said that it is the job of the Supervisor of Insurance to whisper to the management of a company that something is not in place, so fix it.

In other words, insurance supervision is falling down on the job. This in simple English spells incompetence.. But is the supervisor qualified enough to do tis with authority?

12. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I told yall house negros are the single most dangerous enemy of the Black race.

Neithe Lashley nor his namesake should ever sit in the people’s parliament again, they are enemies of Black Bajans.

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Sinckler, another house negro, who should never been hired, a pimp for Leroy Leper Parris, should never be returned to the people’s parliament either, liar, fraud and hypocrite that he is.

14. Caswell….
    You are a man after Bushie’s own heart…

Shiite fella –
    …. you DON’T mek sport with shiitehounds….

15. ” There comes a time when Dems become Dems AGAIN”

Words of Nobel Laureate in Economics Owen Seymour Arthur

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea December 9, 2017 at 7:41 AM

Isn’t your man Caswell complaining about one liar to another boss liar?

Isn’t that boss liar the same one who promised to produce a list of those greedy CLICO policyholders and investors in order to name and shame the lot?

This is the same boss-man who denied any knowledge whatsoever about the Cahill scam project.

Why do you think he likes to call himself “Mr. Integrity”?

Isn’t it a case of a pedophile Satan dressing up like Santa Claus at a children’s
    Xmas party held in a church?

What does Caswell think the letters “DLP” stand for? Dear Loving People of the Barrow era or Dangerous Lying Party which started in 2008?

When an honest person complains to one liar about another is like asking ac to speak the truth about the South Coast sewage project. Expect only ‘lying’ filth.

Next minute we will have Stinkliar complaining to the same boss liar about Pitbull Estwick’s failure to take the money to fix the South Coast shitty fiasco aka ac’s own pit toilet.

17. @ Miller
    look and see who Caswell sent his complaint to….

Besides..
    Yuh GOTTA complain to a brass bowl…
    Name a fella who is righteous enuff to accept complaints about brass bowls…

18. Miller…
    …unless of course you know someone in Bushie’s adopted family….???
    ha ha … no anunnakis qualify…

19. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@Prodigal Son December 9, 2017 at 12:22 AM “…hiring five consultants paying them over $800 per diems…”

https://aoprals.state.gov/web920/per_diem_action.asp?MenuHide=1&CountryCode=1045
    $618.12 BDS from April 16 to December 14 that is the low tourist season
    $860.52 BDS from December 15 to April 15 that is the high tourist season

I am not sure if Prodigal’s statement is correct, but if it is, I would question how Barbados can afford to pay per diem of $800 BDS when the U.S. State Department pays between $618.12 BDS and $860.52 BDS depending on the season (see link)

Surely our economy is not as robust as that of the United States? So why would we arrange to pay essentially at the top of the scale, that is what a “rich” government can afford to pay?

20. Theophilius Gazerts 233 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 233

“No mention of the name of the said company was shared to satisfy transparency”.
    This man could write comedy…

21. Theophilius Gazerts 233 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazerts 233

One of the major problems that confronts Barbados is tHe lack of transparency. 95% of corruption could be rooted out if information/transactions had to be published in local papers.The need for sunshine laws,

22. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Honourable???

Caswell, honey. Have these Democratic insulting misfits showed bajans that they are honourable men? Every opportunity they get they speak out of turn. No sensitivity for the plight of others, just defending their shite. I hope we can get some investigations going. A lot of cover up shite needs to be exposed.

23. Per diems of US$862.50 repeat US DOLLARS 862.50 a day.!!The foul smelling Dems don’t make sport when it come to corruption.Axe black lip ugly Denis Lowedown den!

24. We now have a minister saying that flexible annuities are a Ponzi scheme. Can you believe it? What is government for? What are regulators for? What are insurance supervisors for?
    Our problem is incompetence, not corruption.

25. A dirty( or a la bree a sti…kng Dem) was “awarded” a contract valued at $300,000.00 to produce some regulations which are properly the remit of the the ministry of the AG and Home Affairs.When you are dealing with the political scum of Barbados aka wild boys, expect corruption and incompetence.

26. There is only one way to get rich within the Plantation called Barbados, when you start from zero: become a cabinet minister, a judge, a high bureaucrat, a consultant, a member of the lodge or act as a proxy for their business donors.

Everybody else has to emigrate or to face prices three times as much as in developed countries for milk, water, cars and everything else. There will be no happy ending for this island after Barrow started the social experiment called independence.

27. By the same token the NIS can be termed a Ponzi scheme.The principle is the same,new entrants allow continuity and the seniors reap their just rewards but only if the laws and the enforcers are obeyed.When the Supervisor said desist to the leper,the leper responded by writing 800 new ‘policies’.When the supervisor moved to the high courts accompanied by the commissioner of police,this DLP government protected the leper at the expense of innocent policyholders.The supervisor and the commisssioner were removed from office by sleight of hand manoeuvres and the leper remains at large,being a friend of the primate of bay st.If you doubt me ask the king of st. john church yard who put stinkler there.Stinkler knows what he is talking about,being a comrade in arms of the leper and the king ‘o st john,a backward kingdom still to experience a renaissance.

28. Gabriel December 9, 2017 at 2:38 PM #

Is Barbados a leper colony?

29. Wunnah still braying ?

The Dems has skillfully resolved the Clico debacle !

The Dems had to resolve the Barrack debacle !

The Dems had to resolve the 3 S debacle !

All of these in a constrained economic environment. But that’s what Dems are for …..we are the solutions oriented party .

By the way has Liz finished GREENLAND as yet after dumping $ 50 million down there ???

Miller & Prodigirl …… need to explain GREENLAND !!!!

It’s a debt that Bajan taxpayers are still paying for .

30. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yeah….a Leroy Leper Parris colony..

Only a jackass would blame the insurance regulator when she did all in her power to have CLICO and Leroy Leper punished for thr Ponzi Scheme….the same house negros in parliament and Parris’ friends, refused to punish him or the company…

If anyone should know, it’s Owen Arthur.

Arthur says CLICO bosses to blame for company’s demise
    Added by Barbados Today on December 9, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    4Save
    Blame the demise of CLICO International Life Insurance Company on the leaders of the failed company and not local regulators.

That was the position of former Prime Minister Owen Arthur as the House of Assembly last night debated and passed the CLICO International Life Insurance Company Resolution.

Government is seeking to establish replacement companies for CLICO and bring closure for hundreds of policyholders and investors whose savings were at risk.

“There are other countries where people learn from their errors. CLICO was not an error of supervision. The supervisor and regulator, properly so, brought to CLICO’s attention and gave it a directive to stop writing a particular policy that it was not authorized to do.

“He sought to protect the public’s interest. He was not allowed to protect the public interest by having CLICO stop writing those instruments,” Arthur contended.

The former Minister of Finance said the assets of the old CLICO “would have been sufficient to cover life insurance policies”.

However, he argued the insurance company’s troubles revolved around the controversial Executive Flexible Premium Annuities (EFPAs).

According to the Independent Member of Parliament for St Peter: “Were it not for [the EFPAs] we would not be here today. If we had only to match the liabilities of CLICO in respect of insurance policies with the assets of CLICO, CLICO would be in surplus.

“The problem with CLICO is that the assets of CLICO would not cover simultaneously the life insurance policies as well as the [EFPAs].

“The point is the company was given a directive to stop writing the annuities that have now turned out to have caused the problem that puts this House in a position where we now have to guarantee hundreds of millions of dollars for a Government that is already too heavily in debt.

“The question is what remedies should now be put into the law where a directive is given to an insurance company by a regulator to stop doing something that can be invidious to the interest of the public and the interest of policyholders and shareholders,” he pointed out. (IMC)”

31. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Let’s see if BUs resident idiot finally understands that now it’s coming from the former Prime Minister….WHO SHOULD KNOW.

32. No investor other than those who have access to Bay st and to the NIS Funds…..read baloney,temple,sow,cow,lizzy,jerkpork and stiffin,are the “investors” this Dem govt must accommodate quid pro quo.Its now left to be seen if the 95% locals will allow these few albinos to sell their influence in General Elections ’18, just ’round de corner.

33. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

In other words..the usual 6 or 7 minority welfare rats…

Africa is trying to get rid of France…the biggest european welfare rat sucking the life and money out of some African countries.

Time for Barbados to get rid of it’s few minority welfare rats as well.

This cannot keep going on.

34. The crux of the ISSUE of this thread is that MR FRANKLIN wrote letters to BU as well as to the three so called local newspapers, in which he contradicted a cabinet member of telling a lie on his brother.

As far as I know, it does not seem that the three so called local newspapers do not seem to think Mr Franklin’s matter to be important or newsworthy,, or that he has the right to contradict the little runt, Lashley.

The BU posters dont seem to give Franklin any credence or support, either, in my view.

I believe Franklin, however, because I too observed the same phenomenon some 20 years ago, when I solicited the newspapers and the Leader of the then Opposition to intervene on the behalf of a young police officer whose livelihood was threatened by the then member for St James North.

The then member for St James North apparently broke the traffic laws at the junction of Trents and Highway 1, and was interdicted by the young policeman.

The then member for St James North then inquired of the officer if the officer knew he was , and drove his car over the young man’s foot.

In order to “cover his tail” the officer in charge sent the constable to the Police Medical Doctor, who reported on the injuries.

By then, the then member for St James North, had formally sought that the lowly constable be fired, apparently for knowing who he was.

On hearing of this malice, the Police Medical Doctor, who reported on the injuries.

35. Let the record show that BU David tagged Caswell and Minister Lashley on Facebook to afford him the opportunity for rebuttal.

36. On hearing of this malice, the Police Medical Doctor, who reported on the injuries, sent letters hither thither and yon, including to the Commissioner of Police . None of the letters were printed…..but the young policeman’s job was saved.

37. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Disgusting that the little runt would blatantly lie.

dont expect that dishrag barbadostoday to print the letter, they are political pimps for politicians vying to see what they can get by helping cover up real crimes, then the ministers will owe them and have to pay..

They are more interested in printing who stole 2 Shirley biscuits or a 13 dollar bottle of perfume, they are not real newspapers.

38. Dr. Simple Simon Phd. Avatar
    Dr. Simple Simon Phd.

@Georgie Porgie December 9, 2017 at 5:22 PM “some 20 years ago, when I solicited the newspapers and the Leader of the then Opposition to intervene on the behalf of a young police officer whose livelihood was threatened by the then member for St James North.”

Was Rawle Eastmond of the BLP the then member for St. James North? What has become of him?

39. I DONT KNOW

40. An attorney-at-law, Eastmond served as the Member of Parliament for St. James North from 1991 to 2013 on a Barbados Labour Party (BLP) ticket.

http://www.caribbeanelections.com/knowledge/biography/bios/eastmond_rawle.asp

41. Maybe he’s both a bold-faced liar

And a bald-faced liar as well

But these could be hard to do at one and the same time.

42. Fractured BLP December 9, 2017 at 3:54 PM #

“The Dems has skillfully resolved the Clico debacle!”

Fcuktured BLP

Sinckler is now advising Barbadians to be more circumspect when making financial investment. He said: “People have to understand if something is too good to be true, it probably is, in fact, too good to be true. I say to all Barbadians before they make investments that they do not know anything about, seek advice.”

But……..the DEMS are OBLIGATED to resolve the CLICO debacle………

Surely you’re PURPOSELY and CONVENIENTLY forgetting that your former candidate for St. George North, Senator Jeptar “Physical Deficit” Ince was INVOLVED in “the CLICO debacle.”

I’ll remind you that, in the year 2000, Ince ESTABLISHED the CLICO Balance Fund.

As Fund Manager, Ince was advising Barbadians to borrow from Mortgage & Finance Corporation to invest in the Fund, saying it was “DESIGNED to CREATE ECONOMIC WEALTH for individuals and families in the short, medium and long-terms,” then the fund would invest “throughout the region.”

I would be very interesting to hear his contribution in the Senate, on the CLICO issue and he if agrees with his colleagues in the Lower House on what they said about CLICO.

However, I hope Barbadians will not seek advice on financial investments from Jester Ince.

43. Vernese Brathwaite was sent on leave by Chris Sinckler after the file was sent to DPP and COP. Carlos Belgrave had not the guts and was on leave when the file was sent as well he was stalling. Vernese was the one was pushing and also got push back from William Layne the PS in MOF at the time.

44. Vernese Brathwaite was sent on leave by Chris Sinckler after the file was sent to DPP and COP. Carlos Belgrave had not the guts and was on leave when the file was sent as well he was stalling. Vernese was the one was pushing and also got push back from William Layne the PS in MOF at the time.

If true, this is clear evidence that the Listings Office, allegedly weak and unethical senior civil servants and the supervisor apparently intervened or declined to do their jobs in the process.
    Where was the union when an officer was sent on leave for doing her job?| Why was the politician’s alleged intervention not challenged in the courts?
    Blame the Clico debacle on those responsible.
    |I remember having a telephone conversation with a man identifying himself as William Layne, and was not impressed.
    Some years ago I persuaded the then director general of the Chartered Insurance Institute, Dr Sandy Scott, to actively promote his various financial advice qualifications in Barbados. He enthusiastically agreed, and was prepared to offer the courses’ materials free, but students would have to pay for the exams. . Further, he offered, at his own expense, to travel to Barbados to speak to the relevant authorities. I rang the ministry and spoke to a William Layne and explained the idea to him.
    He rudely cut the conversation short and directed me to the university and ministry of education. I tried explaining that these were more financial vocational qualifications with a fit in the ministry of finance, but he did not want to know.
    That was the end of it. Another opportunity for young Barbadians that went down the Swanee because of clearly arrogant and ignorant officials or an unforgiveable misunderstanding.

45. @ Hal
    Oh shut up do…!!!
    …always some shiite story about you telling someone ELSE what they should be doing…

Perhaps no one listens to you because everyone knows that you are doltish…

@ VerneseFriend
    Thanks for that clarification.
    Bushie always wondered exactly how that part of the CLICO scam went down.

All those bitches will pay … Bushie GUARANTEES it!! Thompson was just the beginning…
    If the incoming BLP government fails to bring justice to the situation with GREAT URGENCY, then the wickedness will ALSO be added to their account.

What a wicked, nasty, low-class set of wild boys and shiite women- who sit around and say NOTHING in the face of such national TREACHERY.

Tell your friend Vernese that Bushie promises her that she will enjoy a SPECIAL blessing for having suffered for RIGHTEOUSNESS’ sake.

46. “Where was the union when an officer was sent on leave for doing her job?”

You must first ascertain if the officer was a member of a trade union and if she sought representation.

If you are referring to the NUPW, then you must ask who was at the helm of that union………. Walter Maloney was president of the NUPW and Dennis Clarke was its general secretary at that time………. both men are known DLP sympathizers.

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin December 11, 2017 at 7:37 AM
    “He rudely cut the conversation short and directed me to the university and ministry of education. I tried explaining that these were more financial vocational qualifications with a fit in the ministry of finance, but he did not want to know.”

And you are still wondering why bloggers are reluctant to reveal their identities and prefer to remain behind veils of anonymity in making critical (if not always constructive) criticisms of the state of governance and public administration in Barbados.

Do you really think you are the only one who has found himself up against a brick wall of the type you have so aptly described?

This par for the course in dealing with a cabal of corrupt incompetent civil servants who along with their political masters who-for personal aggrandizement- facilitated the CLICO grand scam aided and betted by a Board of Directors fully cognisant of what was being done by the executive management but with confidence that nothing would befall them for the glaring breach of their fiduciary responsibilities because of their political and social contacts with the same political conmen in this fast ripening banana republic.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Bush Tea December 11, 2017 at 8:07 AM
    “Bushie always wondered exactly how that part of the CLICO scam went down.
    All those bitches will pay … Bushie GUARANTEES it!! Thompson was just the beginning…
    If the incoming BLP government fails to bring justice to the situation with GREAT URGENCY, then the wickedness will ALSO be added to their account.
    What a wicked, nasty, low-class set of wild boys and shiite women- who sit around and say NOTHING in the face of such national TREACHERY.
    Tell your friend Vernese that Bushie promises her that she will enjoy a SPECIAL blessing for having suffered for RIGHTEOUSNESS’ sake.”

Bushie, we can’t fault you on your perfect description of that lot who has hijacked the government and brought your once well-managed country to its moral and economic knees.
    The fecal overflow on the streets on the south coast is the crowning glory of retribution for that shitty lot.

Your BBE needs to do some penitence for allowing such a dastardly act of vindictiveness in the pursuit of exposing evil to befall such an innocent committed public servant and must bring about some measure of Karmic restitution for Vernese nee Drakes.

She is from a quiet respectable Christian Bajan family with one of her male siblings (a contemporary of yours at Waterford the fount of decency and fair-play) and really is not deserving of such shabby and disrespectful treatment.

Moreover, she is the only person justifiably deserving of any national award for the last 10 years.

With respect to the possible reaction of any incoming BLP administration the miller also is awaiting to see if justice would again be thrown into the sacrificial fire to appease the god of political convenience and brotherhood, patron saint of the political class.

49. That was the end of it. Another opportunity for young Barbadians that went down the Swanee because of clearly arrogant and ignorant officials or an unforgiveable misunderstanding.
    ++++++++++
    Here we have Hal maligning a public official who probably will not use this medium to respond, there are always two/three sides to a story but “Hal’s” report is treated as gospel.

William was probably the recipient of so many hare- brained schemes that it was impossible to keep track of them. I seem to remember William’s position against some of Parris’s action vis a vis CLICO but the political die had been cast and we know what followed.

Hal is always writing about journalistic “purity” but he gets into the slop with the best of them.

50. Why do we always blame the politicians? The time has come for public servants to grow some spine. There is the whistleblowing option. This group is in a position to force change instead of slavishly abiding the status quo.