Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

To: All Barbadian Workers and Managers

Are you being managed properly?  Are you managing others properly?

There are various ways of managing customer’s complaints, including.

• fear, intimidation and murder (North Korea).
  • embarrassed by being shouted at by the manager.
  • bored with a conversation with the HR department.

However, the most effective method at permanently solving customer complaints is the ISO 9001 Quality Management System.  It is a customer-focused international standard that has been successfully implemented in public services for the past 20 years.  It is time that Barbados also benefitted.

If you are unsure of what the ISO 9001 quality management system is all about, then you are invited to attend a free public town-hall meeting this Wednesday 29 November 2017 at 6:00 pm at Combermere School hall, where it will be explained to you in detail.

You will learn exactly what it is, how it can benefit all public workers and everyone else who uses Government services, and how you can start to implement it in your organisation and department.  At the end of the meeting, you will have the training and tools necessary to start implementing the system the following day.

After this, Boards, CEO’s and Managers of public services will have no excuse fr the: long lines, delays, late responses, misplaced files, downed computer systems, critical person is at lunch or is not at work, non-payment by credit card, deadline of 3:00 pm for receiving payments, unwritten regulations known only to the regulator, inconsistent regulations, not-at-this-branch responses, staff shortages, broken equipment, supply shortages, potholes, water shortages, sewage in the streets of Worthing, the same excuses, uncaring attitudes, and so on.

Do not delay in providing the public, and your fellow employees, with the relief that they desperately deserve, when it is now within your power to do so.

Grenville Phillips II

Cell: 232-9783

157 responses to “Town Hall to Train Managers and Workers ISO 9001”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Nextparty246:

GP, if you can come up with an emergency solution to the South Coast sewage fiasco we would back you 100% in your bid to become the next 246 PM.

We are tired of the vacillation, deceit and prevarication from the authorities.

If Barbados does not solve that shitty situation before the start of the upcoming winter season it can kiss the only remaining forex cash cow goodbye.

Do you guys think that white people would pay all that money to come to Barbados to walk through sewage and put their health and safety at serious risks?

We leave that kind of low-class shitty behaviour to the likes of Lowedown Sealy Boyce and Fumble.

2. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lol……..Bushman.

well look at that Ha, Ha jumped in…,despite everyone knowing he wrote those emails and he knowing that he wrote the emails and that it is HIM….not me…gotta live with it…lol….still cant sleep well at night, you poor thing.

Miller….those you named might decide to walk through the stinking sewage to show tourists…it cant do them a thing…

3. @ Miller
    What a simple challenge to throw down to Grenville.
    Of course he can come up with a solution to the South Coast sewerage fiasco. The man is an engineer – not a damn lawyer.

Why not give him a REAL challenge like…
    If he can get some level of JUSTICE returned to the land;
    If he can deal with the unrepentant political crooks who have brought the country to its knees
    If he can restore HOPE among our young people…

South Coast Sewer shiite!!!
    Easy pickings…
    …except of course for a bunch of shiite lawyers and economists…

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Miller….I thought the winter season started at least a month ago.

Now if any of the new political parties were really sincere, they too would be looking at the ISO standards, so that best practices would have a fighting chance on the island….if Grenville is not elected…or if there is a coalition government…at least ISO will remain an option…they all need to work together on this…

Cause ISO will not be of any interest to the 2 old corrupt parties….that is a fact of life…it defeats their purpose of the old bribery corruption racket.

5. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar
    BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP)

All of you who trying to push ISO before, during or after election……..
    Better be sure the unions are on board! If not you are wasting time talking bout firing people.

Not even a PM cannot fire a civil servant because he does not conform to ISO standards.

Barbados already has laws and rules regarding the firing of civil servants.

All this ISO “dream” will only lead to a more militant union/s and more work for the tribunal and law courts and in all cases the government will NOT win.

You want to implement ISO then you have to get the workers/unions on board first.

6. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

BF…you just made it worse, I very vaguely recall the process for firing civil servants, and it may involve the GGs office, what I remember….so you are saying Grenville does not know this, or did not before announcing those firings, once elected.

7. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar

@ Miller

I am no Engineer. Now for a real emergency solution – rip out the choked length sewer and replace it with new one.
    Just like fixing a burst water main.

8. Steupsss.. what rot!!

Did the DLP not just fire THOUSANDS of people?
    ….WITHOUT ISO? …or even first in last out?

When there is NO MONEY to pay with
    you won’t even have to fire them…
    They can go to work for free.. or for monopoly money…

Also, after elections, when the IMF of last resort is taken,
    The IMF will fire people as they like…
    They don’t hand out HARD CURRENCY as yardfowl rewards…

You had better wake up to the REAL world BF/PP…
    before it collides with your donkey.

9. Hall

Cool yuh self….not worth getting palpitations of the heart over the topsy or their sidekicks…..leave them in their fraudulent ignorance and rest yuhself.

10. ….rip out the choked length sewer and replace it with new one.
    Just like fixing a burst water main.
    ++++++++++++
    is the ‘FIRST’ in the name related to your current form level in school …by any chance…?

11. Wuhloss…..fire who Bushie……not civil servants……yuh boy stop postin jobby.

12. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar

@WWC

I said exactly what I meant to say. I do not know about what Grenville know or doesn’t know.

13. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

According to what Moody’s said….there may no civil servants left for Grenville to fire…things are coming to a head very quickly.

Speaking of IMF….yardfowls are extraordinarily quiet today since Moodys said the government is a dud, with a track record to match….not one yardfowl showed up today to dispute the Moody’s allegation…lol…only Angela Yardfowl yammering on and on about foolish Owen….

Yeah….cool yaself “Hall”….it wont change a thing.

14. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar

@ Bush

Please learn the difference between “layoff” and “firing”

Then also avail yourself to what happen when the DLP laid off workers without following the correct protocols. Didn’t some end up and won at the tribunal? Did not the unions acted up?
    didn’t some ended up in court?

Please go back and read what I said.

15. @Bush Tea

Is Grenville in the race to win?

Could he have scripted the message to be more receptive to that group?

16. BARBADOS FIRST/PATRIOTIC PARTY (BF/PP) Avatar

@ Bush

What is your emergency solution?
    Or can you not come up with one?
    Is it because you did not make it as far as the grade you asked of me?

Thank you.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

Please Bushie….’has gone on to a big-donkeyed job in business’
    “After stepping down as leader of the party, Tim was granted the position of CEO by majority vote passed by the Board of Directors of the Ontario Real Estate Association (OREA) and currently remains as acting chief executive officer of said Association”
    This a fu**ing ASSOCIATION, they are one of many real estate associations. And folks dont “act” like in Bim. This is a ‘favour job’.
    As far as the OLG goes, you will also know he represents the riding of Fort Erie, home to Ontario’s #2 thoroughbred racetrack. The OLG had been yanking their chain, so he yanked back. A few years later, the OLG would cut Fort Erie loose.
    He isn’t an idiot, he just made some BAD political decisions. One of which was promising to fire a bunch of civil servants. You don’t promise that, you just do it.
    Where is CF to slap ya LOL

18. @ David
    Is Grenville in the race to win?
    How do you define ‘win’?

One ‘wins’ an asset, or money, or the love of a maiden, or a vacation, or a cricket game.

How, pray tell, does one ‘win’ the responsibility to look after the welfare of 250000 complete, useless, unproductive brass bowls – all under the FALSE impression that they somehow DESERVE to live like kings and queens.

Who sees themselves as ‘winning’ the responsibility to stop faeces from running down Hastings like a river?

How does acquiring the challenge of repaying millions and millions in hard currency debt to international hard-ball players – when there is NO INDICATION of where the original loan went – and certainly no INCOME being generated to offset the loan payments…?

What ‘win’ what?

That word ‘win’ is only used by the parro political class – whose ONLY reason for seeking office is the fleece the last remaining substance that the country has – FOR THEMSELVES …as the spoils of war….

Grenville is offering to GIVE UP his current life of relative luxury (as compared to Vincent, Artax … even enuff – affluent as he is) – to OFFER his services to his country -because he cares …and because he feels honestly, that he has a contribution to make.

Of course he is wrong about his ability to turn the Titanic around, ….but shiite man, all Grenville needs to doin order to ‘win’, …..is drop the whole SB shiite- and go back to his life of luxury in his mansion and enjoy the last moments on the Titanic….

If he was REALLY smart, he would come and join Bushie on BBE’s team …in the ‘REAL REAL’ game of life… and let the BB dead bury their dead…

19. Answer the question Bush Tea!

20. @ Northern O
    Touche

Trust you to do the research to show that Tim was an ordinary brass bowl political pimp.
    …and to think that the analogy was coming together so damn well for Bushie…. 🙂

..anyway, there are RARE persons whose interest in politics and whose actual LEADERSHIP skills are such that it is not a question of what the position can do for them, but of what THEY bring to the leadership of the country /organisation…

Wise citizens are those who can decipher the difference….. because one is a beggar while the other is a saviour….

21. @ David
    Answer the question Bush Tea!
    Boss – that is a question for Grenville to answer…

As for Bushie, the answer would be NO!!!
    Who really wants to win a trip to Hell….

22. An expert in sophistry-Bushtea aka the kerosene whacker. dwl

23. It is TOO LATE David.

Our last meaningful opportunity would have been back with BU’s 10-point Plan
    and BUP … with Caswell….

We have since passed the point of no return.
    The ugly monument at the Garrison seals the deal….

Sorry…

24. @Northern
    He isn’t an idiot, he just made some BAD political decisions. One of which was promising to fire a bunch of civil servants. You don’t promise that, you just do it.
    The get tough talk worked for his mentor (Mike Harris) perhaps Hudak thought he could recaptuire the brand.

25. Where in any of my contributions I mentioned ISO 9001 would NOT work in the civil service?

All I’m asking that a systematical approach should be taken to changing the how people respond to change, before trying to force the system down the throats of employees.

Can we not take example from the difficulties encountered from “Public Sector Reform?

What is so difficult about this that cannot be understood?

26. @ Enuff
    Sophistry?

Do you know that there is a very thin line between ‘sophistry’ and ‘out-of-this-world brilliance’?
    An argument can only be deemed to be ‘false’ where the epistemological truth has been established. Since you DO NOT claim to know the truth, you are in no position to deem Bushies (admittedly complex) arguments as clever but false….

Any appropriate apology will be readily accepted…
    #orBushiewillsue

27. WW&C

Could you please PRESENT the EVIDENCE to SUBSTANTIATE your comment I suggested “if (Grenville) is elected and as pm implement ISO in the civil service that the workers will REFUSE to ADHERE to best practice standards?”

Hal Austin

I have proven on numerous occasion that WW&C is a fraud and liar.

28. Theophilius Gazert Avatar
    Theophilius Gazert

This song goes out to GP from the Barbados electorate…

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

Bushie….no research required….just a quote to show I wasn’t blowing air. The wife likes politricks, so I get an earfull, whether I like it or not!!!!

30. Theophilius Gazert 215 Avatar
    Theophilius Gazert 215

Two fly-by or drive-by artists Haha and VH.
    Two randomice – make random statements and then run and hide

31. David Mr Blogmaster, you first astutely suggested that no practical politician can piss off a key segment of the electorate and expect to win…yet Solutions have.

You then also wisely wondered aloud to BushTea whether ” Grenville [is] in the race to win”.

After much meandering chatter he responded in clear terms and said NO. A realization many of us had long ago. But there you now have it from the Oracle of Bridgetown.

Solutions cannot be seriously contesting this election to win by proclaiming that they will go to war with the NUPW and of necessity the BWU, BSTU et al by firing civil servants who do not embrace a best practices system he deems to be easy to implement… which it could never be for an entire govt system.

Mr Phillps almost single handed creation of the Solutions Party depicts that he is surely a man of ACTON, but as you have bluntly determined this action man has absolutely no appreciation of the simple common-sense needed on the political scene.

It really amazes me that he has got this far despite his absolutely impractical theories and proposals.

And this being the season of wild change in the guise of Mugabe and before him people like Trump, Macron and Tsipras maybe there is a method to his madness and SSS will have her victory party!

Million $$ lotteries are won every month some where in the world, after all.

32. The most effective way of being managed continues to be performing your role competently.

33. Hi David:

For the record.

We never said that we would fire any public servants. We will not. What I said is that we will not renew the contracts of CEO’s of statutory corporations and boards if they do not implement the ISO 9001 Quality Management System. How did your commenters misread this recorded statement so badly, and then irresponsibly spread their misinterpretation as fact.

We have discussed the ISO 9001 system with both CTUSAB and the NUPW who agree with it. The problem is with the CEOs and boards who refuse to grant the longsuffering employees and public relief.

So that they are without excuse, we invited these senior management to a training workshop tonight where we challenged ourselves to design an ISO 9001 compliant quality management system for the QEH. All statutory corporations can now modify it and start implementing it tomorrow if they care to.

Best regards,
    Grenville

34. Perhaps the new political parties should publicly take a position on the manner in which Cable & Wireless is forcing out the minority shareholders. What system is being used by Cable & Wireless and its consultants in this instance?

35. In fact, I believe that I have seen instances of the BLP and the new political parties commenting on the plan to sell BNTCL, but I do not recall the DLP, BLP or any of the new parties commenting on the Cable & Wireless attempt to force out the minority shareholders. So the new parties have the same old silent approach.

36. Looka Solutions/GP stop.
    First, most of the statutory boards are headed by Directors; and, secondly, most are not on contracts.

37. @Grenville

Thanks for the clarifications however the reality is that push back will come from the ordinary workers who will naturally resist the change. How are these people dealt with in the private sector?

38. @Alien

And is this done achieved in a culture and system that promotes meritocracy? In other words, managing competently as you say does not happen by accident.

39. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Grenville….you cannot blame any commenters…your words were quoted from your meeting by all the news media, both nation news and barbadostoday…all had the same words. ..and please admit when you have made an error and move on, instead of blaming commenters it will not go down well with us….be warned…if the news media lied or misquoted, just say so….one may have misquoted you, but not both.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/11/27/adopt-iso-standard-or-be-fired-phillips-warns/

“Adopt ISO standard or be fired, Phillips warns
    Added by George Alleyne on November 27, 2017.
    Saved under Local News, Politics
    1Save
    Chief executives of some of the island’s top statutory corporations are being put on notice that should the fledgling Solutions Barbados win the next general election they will be forced to adopt its recommended management system of face the axe.

Leader of the two-year-old party Grenville Phillips II is touting ISO 9001, the latest quality management system standard of the Geneva, Switzerland-based International Organization for Standardization, as the management system of choice for all government agencies.

Phillips told the public launch of candidates at Independence Square on Saturday night that ISO 9001 “can solve most, if not all, of our nation’s management issues”.

Therefore, he said it would be made mandatory for the Barbados Revenue Authority, Barbados Water Authority, Licensing Authority, National Petroleum Corporation, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Sanitation Service Authority and Transport Board to adopt this system.

Otherwise, those who refuse to follow this directive will be sacked, he said.

“You are all on notice,” Phillips said in reference to the top brass of each entity.

“I am calling on you to start implementing the ISO 9001 quality management system for the benefit of your long-suffering employees and the long-suffering public or your contracts will not be renewed in a Solutions Barbados administration,” he stressed.”

Art….nothing you say now can take away from how you mangled and misused my comment to serve your purpose of trying to prove yourself right….. that if Grenville implemented ISO in the civil service upon being elected…the civil servants would resist the change, which means exactly the same thing of what you again just cut and pasted.

………you spent 2 or 3 days going on and on about this civil servants resistance of ISO….arguing with me, SSS and Bushman, there are at least 80 posted comments about it with you aggressively arguing about civil servants resistance that you know will occur at the introduction of ISO…now you try to deny the existence of those comments…while looking for allies.

Deny your own posts all you want, but what you did yesterday proved who YOU are…

And I am certainly not going to dig up old posts like you do, when I dont see the importance since ya were as usual just arguing for arguments sake.

40. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

I dont know why Grenville wont see that those remarks will be taken as an affront by ALL civil servants….so clean it up.

41. @ WW&C

Writing shiite won’t you absolve you from NOT PROVING I wrote anything SUGGESTING the implementation of ISO 9001 WOULD NOT WORK in the civil service.

Now you “twist your mouth,” as you usually do, and in keeping with the FRAUD and LIAR you are…………

…………….to now mention that I wrote there will be RESISTANCE to the management system’s implementation, when that was my POINT from the BEGINNING.

Just to show how ignorant you are, Public Sector Reform was introduced to the public sector in 1997. Twenty (20) years later, there has not been any significant changes in the sector. The status quo and overall attitudes in remain the same.

Why???? Because of resistance to change………… and that is why I mentioned changes in these attitudes must be methodical and systemic, before trying to force any system “down the throats” of people.

What is so hard about that you cannot or refuse to understand?

You get on your “soap box” in Canada or wherever you are, to pontificate on matters in Barbados, with a self perceived level of accuracy, more so than those of us who live here. What does that say about you?

But you love to come into this forum to argue about things you do not know about, while trying to give us the IMPRESSION that you know EVERYTHING ABOUT EVERYTHING, which manifests itself by your MULTIPLE CONTRIBUTIONS to EVERY TOPIC in this forum.

Any SENSIBLE human being knows it is IMPOSSIBLE for ANYONE to KNOW EVERYTHING……..

As I mentioned previously, you are “consistent being inconsistent” and the facts are there for everyone to read and prove for themselves that you are indeed a FRAUD and LIAR.

42. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

For Art’s benefit:

re·sist·ance
    rəˈzistəns/Submit
    noun
    the refusal to accept or comply with something; the attempt to prevent something by action or argument.
    “she put up no resistance to being led away”
    synonyms: opposition to, hostility to, refusal to accept
    “resistance to change”

One definition of challenges which is closest to Art’s explanation:

“chal·lenge
    ˈCHalənj/Submit
    noun
    plural noun: challenges

“dispute the truth or validity of.
    “employees challenged the company’s requirement”
    synonyms: question, disagree with, dispute, take issue with, protest against, call into question, object to
    “we challenged their statistics”

Because everything can so easily be misinterpreted, depends on who is doing the interpretation or in Grenville’s case making the comments or statements …I always double check everything.

43. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Yeah, yeah….and you still cannot defend what ya did to my comment yesterday….so if saying what ya are makes you feel better about what ya did….you have my permission to say it all day.

BUT..just remember, that like Hal..ha, ha Austin…..it’s YOU and not ME….will be the one who have to live with your actions.

So by all means…call me whatever ya want, ya have all day.

44. People that talk too much often forget what they previously said and are usually found out to be liars, mainly because their stories change overtime (i.e. inconsistency), and this can be described as a restricted and repetitive pattern of behavior.

This “prognosis” is also applicable to people that see the need to write too much (i.e. non-verbal communication).

WW&C has an obsessive focus on one topic (multiple posts to every topic in this forum) and performs the same behaviour again and again. Then, when challenged, she goes into a fit of rage, using insulting & pejorative statements to describe her critics (lack of social skills).

Is this Aspergers Syndrome?

45. “I too have a problem wuth using it as an election gimmick re “anyone who does not comply with the ISO standards, will be fired”…..and he is not yet elected, which means PUBLIC SERVANTS WHO ARE STUBBORN TO CHANGE THEIR EMBEDDED WAYS, will not vote for Solutions….there will be intense resistance, and they number over 25 thousand people/voters..”

The above comments basically MEANS that WHATEVER METHODS are used to implement ISO 9001 will be confronted with DIFFICULTIES because of an inherent OPPOSITION to CHANGE.

And that has been my point from day one.

You wrote the above comment, not me………… and now you are denying its meaning.

Shame on you!!!!!

It’s there for all to read………… I’ll leave you to contemplate your humiliation (but please try to do so with at least 3 post, rather than ranting and raving for the entire day).

46. Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service Avatar
    Well Well @ Cut and Paste @ Your Service

ya can even change ya ISO story several more times, i wont mind…lol

i told you already if you have a problem with my brain power or knowledge base….the problem is yours, not mine, no two people are alike…check your own problems in that regard.

you do not have the power to make me feel ashamed for what i know, or about my skills and intellect, you do not have the power to project your own shortcomings on to me.

stick with cussing me, trust me, it will work out better for you.

47. I CHALLENGE you to PROVE I “changed my ISO 9001 story several more times….”

….. and you can’t……….. you are liar and fraud.

48. @ David
    Grenville….Thanks for the clarifications however the reality is that push back will come from the ordinary workers who will naturally resist the change
    Incorrect.

The actual experience is that ordinary workers support quality management. It empowers them, and provides total transparency, and a degree of merit-based-fairness that ordinary workers like.

It however tends to piss off the big shots – who then find themselves constrained to operate transparently – and whose RESULTS are always highlighted upfront. A REAL challenge for shiitehounds.

@ Dribbler
    You could really learn to read ….or stop posting shiite…
    What Bushie said was that HE would answer NO for himself.
    Grenville would have to speak for himself..

Every damn body knows that Bushie is already committed
    to a political party with TWO ‘B’s and and ‘E’….

If a fella already playing for test cricket Australia, will he be interested in making your shiite marble cricket team for some sewerage beach party…at Hastings during high tide?