Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

The slavery experience of our foreparents has left a legacy that we still struggle with today.  It is a legacy that everyone who has tried to improve a situation has felt.  Over the past quarter-century, I have talked with many persons who saw something being done incorrectly, whether on a construction site, or at a social function, or in a business, and they said nothing.

Why are we so reluctant to identify a problem, or stop an injustice, or stand up to a bully?  Why do so few Barbadians speak or write or act when we see something that ought not to done?  The typical reason that people give is that they did not want to draw attention to themselves by getting involved.

Challenging unfairness or recommending improvements will get you noticed.  During slavery, being noticed could mean getting raped if you were a girl, or being beaten if you were a man.  So everyone learnt to keep their heads down and just try to finish their work without being noticed.  This attitude has persisted, and I have found that it requires a conscientious effort to change.

In my youth, I used to enjoy watching kung-fu movies at the cinemas.  There would typically be some unmannerly adults in the audience who would put their feet on the chair in front of them and shout obscenities and insults across the room, but no-one ever said anything to them.  I learnt to keep my head down in order not to attract their attention, and just enjoy the movie.  By this time in my life, I had seen numerous instances of injustices, and wondered why responsible adults were never around during those times.

In my late teen years, while waiting for a kung-fu movie to start, and listening to the familiar string of obscenities and insults, I remember making myself a promise.  I told myself that when I reached 30 years of age, I would be the adult that I was hoping for during my youth.  When I was 30, I kept that promise and continued to keep it for the next 2 decades to this day.

Over the past 51 years of our independence, Barbados has had no shortage of competent persons with high integrity.  However, we were starved of persons who were willing to actually do something meaningful to bring about the much needed change to the benefit of all Barbadians.  We have had political columnists, moderators, commentators and calypsonians who would entertain us by giving voice to what we felt, but were too intimidated to say.  However, their efforts rarely resulted in national improvements.

There are two likely methods of solving national problems.  The first is to convince a ruling political administration to pursue effective and economical solutions.  The second method is to form a political party, assemble a set of highly competent persons of high integrity, and provide the electorate with a competent alternative.

I have tried the first method for almost 2 decades.  It is akin to sitting up and being noticed, much like the columnists and calypsonians, and like them, I was tolerated to a certain extent.  However, like them, I have seen no national improvement from my efforts.  Had our arrogant politicians not brought us to the brink of economic ruin, I would likely have continued to simply sit up and lobby for change.

I am now back in the Plaza cinema, the unruly fellows have their feet on the back of the chairs and are shouting their now familiar string of obscenities and insults at their targets.  Most of the audience have their heads down, not wanting to attract their attention.  The bullies are arrogant because they have intimidated the crowd for the past 51 years and the audience’s fear has sustained them.  However, this time, I stand up, and turn around, and face them, and whatever will happen will happen.  Barbados, you decide whether I face them alone.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

156 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Keep Your Head Down”

1. We hold politicians accountable at the polling booth. We vote them out when they become ineffective. We do not hold petitions. After we have got 600, 6000, 60000 signatures, then what?
    In the UK, if a petition gets 100000 the issue must be debated in parliament. Then what? It is PR, marketing, cheap publicity.

2. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

I was wondering what former chief justice was saying the anti corruption legislation was a joke, he himself did npt address that joke legislation as a politician, as attorney general nor as Chief Justice, he used that joke legislation as a prop to allow Peter Harris to destroy the supreme court, now he knows it is a joke legislation after decades, since the 80s….vile disgusting, corrupt creature he is…

he knew from in Barrow’s days they were playing around instead of passing anticorruption legislation into law to protect the people and country,…he sat on his ass for years as AG and as Chief Justice and never righted that wrong, no wonder he now has to confess.

https://www.barbadostoday.bb/2017/10/26/its-a-joke/

It’s a joke!
    Sir David dismisses Barbados’ Prevention of Corruption Act

Added by George Alleyne on October 26, 2017.
    Saved under Local News, Politics
    0Save
    Former Chief Justice Sir David Simmons has dismissed this island’s Prevention of Corruption Act as nothing more than “a joke”, while accusing successive Democratic Labour Party (DLP) administrations of “window dressing” on the issue of corruption.

Addressing a public forum on the topic of Corruption: Cost, Consequences and Remedies, Sir David, who is also a former attorney general, warned that the legislation, which was passed in Parliament back in 2012, was yet to be proclaimed into law.

He also cautioned that it was so full of holes that “you could drive a cart and ten donkeys through it”, while contending that successive DLP regimes, dating back to the one led by the country’s founding father Errol Barrow, were not interested in having integrity legislation on the statute books.

“In 1975 before the elections of 1976 integrity legislation was brought to Parliament by Mr Barrow, and never saw the light of day.

“In 2012 just before the 2013 election the same thing with this [Barbados Prevention of Corruption Act that was] brought to Parliament, [but] has not yet been put on the statute books,” he said, adding that it “seems to me to be a lot of window dressing”.

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Heather Cole has actually started a movement and gotten 800 people to sign a petition…this is new for Barbados, people aremso fed up they are learning how to assert their rights as citizens……we have moved pass the point of discussing and dusgussing and someone actually acted again, this time with a measure of success.

Ha, Ha Austin. …what is your contribution to help in that regard, besides misleading the blog….your jealousy is showing, so instead of being critical….use your brain to improve on what she is doing, men tend to only want to sit and discuss and discuss, women tend to act…

Put your stupidity to better use….it might turn into genuis.

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Could it be David Simmons’ conscience, I doubt it, given the opportunity, he would be just as corrupt again….but only now does he see the light…and is sharing.

Butch Stewart is a crook who should be in prison and never allowed near Barbados again after he destroyed Paradise with his evil mind, but those in the government who are just as crooked as he is, allowed him into the island again.

“But while comparing the Barbados situation with that in the TCI, he warned that “the Barbados Act doesn’t begin to come close to what is needed.

“It has several serious deficiencies,” Sir David said, while suggesting that the major weakness with the domestic legislation was that it does not provide for investigative officers.

During last night’s forum which was hosted by the so-called Integrity Group, the respected Barbadian jurist pointed out that it has been a requirement in the British overseas territory since 2012 that 90 per cent of public officers and politicians declare their assets and gifts to self and organizations.

He also reported that the TCI had managed to recover US$24 million in dubious transactions, some of which involved the Butch Stewart-led Sandals hotel chain.

“You cannot function effectively unless you have investigators who will go and chase up things, who are skilled investigators. We have four in Turks, three of who are British, out of SOCA [the Serious Organised Crime Agency], ” Sir David explained.

“Ours [investigators] have powers of arrest. When we arrest you, we hand you over to the police to take the matter on from there,” he added, while suggesting that the same was needed in Barbados.

He also pointed out that the local Act had failed to make provision for funding for a commission when it finally becomes law.”

5. @Hal, and what’s wrong with ‘cheap’ publicity. I am sure you know how much it costs to have an ad published daily for days endlessly in one of your broad sheets …so not so sure generating all the buzz of a petition drive can be ever seen as ‘cheap’.

Of course the real impact for Cole or anyone else is turning that expansive advertising into a closing deal…that election change of which you spoke.

Based of what going on in US, Australia, Europe and even your beloved UK it’s fair to say that the populist ‘petition’ drives as evidenced by vociferous social media, various ragamuffin other citizen jounalists media sites and similar its arguable that results are encouraging (or daunting, if one prefers more order).

Your looming Brexit debacle with all its complexities was also initiated in many regards as a cheap ‘petition’ not so !

6. William Skinner Avatar

@ Well well & Consequences Observing Blogger

“I was wondering what former chief justice was saying the anti corruption legislation was a joke, he himself did npt address that joke legislation as a politician, as attorney general nor as Chief Justice, he used that joke legislation as a prop to allow Peter Harris to destroy the supreme court, now he knows it is a joke legislation after decades, since the 80s….vile disgusting, corrupt creature he is…

he knew from in Barrow’s days they were playing around instead of passing anticorruption legislation into law to protect the people and country,…he sat on his ass for years as AG and as Chief Justice and never righted that wrong, no wonder he now has to confess.”

Sir David Simmons believes that we are stupid ! What on earth did he do as Attorney General to get Integrity Legislation on the books ? This is the most ludicrous thing I have heard in recent times. He has absolutely no credibility on this matter at all. His speech was nothing more than a pre-election plug for the BLP. Bold faced inferior political grandstanding. A pure case of the pot calling the kettle black. Typical BLPDLP hypocrisy.

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ de pedantic Dribbler October 27, 2017 at 7:11 AM
    “@Hal, and what’s wrong with ‘cheap’ publicity.
    “Your looming Brexit debacle with all its complexities was also initiated in many regards as a cheap ‘petition’ not so !”

A rather salient point to prick Hal Austin’s convenient memory.

Let us see if he would attempt to explain away the ‘difference’.

From the ‘vacuousness’ of his argument against such a ‘direct’ technique in participatory democracy we can easily conclude he is also not a fan of the Swiss model of governance despite the people enjoying one of the highest standards of living in Europe, if not across the globe, primarily due to their outstanding high level of productivity in the workplace (as exemplified in its well-known pharmaceutical industry) and in the general society as proud, committed and participatory citizens of their individual cantons.

8. William Skinner and Well Well

Are quite right.

For David Simmons is a fairly decent man, the system says.

But when men/women who have this kind of ruling class perceived decency refuse to take firm actions to better direct the country, we have real problems.

Their lack of action opens up the country to all kinds of political degenerates.

David Simmons must have known that suspects are routinely beaten to force confessions.

He must have known the illegal methods of campaign financing

He must have known how the treasury is looted to win political office.

He must know how the corporate elites and senior civil servants have corrupted the economic system.

He must know how local corporations have little respect for small shareholders, continue to deny them their economic rights.

Yet he has never distinguished himself as a defender of the public, at the centre.

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol….William…..that is why the blogs are taking Simmons to task today, he thinks he sounds good for election purposes and to impress UK……

…… he thinks we did not notice that UK sent 3 british investigators down to Turks & Caicos….and only one investigator is local…..or the corruption and tiefing by the likes of Butch Stewart will never end on Turks & Caicos…..he should have mentioned.

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Pacha….he was at the centre of helping them all beat the system and enrich themselves how else do you think he was able to purchase Neil’s plantation, remember when they get rich from bribery and corruption and thiefing….they all lust and crave to be owners of a plantation, just like massa.

Miller…a real journalist would know of the Swiss form of succesful government…the people govern, one thousand names on a petition by the people….can change the government. …any day of the week.

I believe Jeff once said there is a framework in place under the island’s constitution, that allows the citizens to be more involved through referendums, of course the selfish ministers and politicians would not want the people to know…

Jeff can correct me.

11. de pedantic,
    After we have gathered the projected 10000 petitioners, what happens next? Tell me the next step after achieving the signatories. After venting our anger, do we march, compel the government to take action, what|?
    On Brexit, most of BU got it terribly wrong. I suggest you go back to the links. Most people on BU thought the referendum result was an instruction to government. I said no, only the 650 members of parliament had that authority – not the executive, not the referendum.
    I said the same thing when Gina Miller took the case to the Supreme Court. There was only one way for the Supreme Court to go, that was to back the sovereignty of parliament.
    That is the system of government we have in the UK under the much vaunted Westminster/Whitehall system that Bajans like talking about but do not fully understand, parliament rules. Not referenda, petitions, or shouting aloud.
    I suggest you read Walter Bagehot, still the outstanding constitutional expert – and he was a journalist, not a lawyer.
    I remember as a youngster we have an O level subject called British Constitution, it was also done at A level. Then the A level became Politics and Government. I suggest the CXC should re-introduce it.

12. @ Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

FACT CHECK. Please tell us when David Simmons bought Neil’s plantation.

I thought the plantation was subdivided into large lots and he and a few others built their homes on these lots.

13. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Do you have proof he does not own Neil’s plantation, I am not asking about what you thought.

I am talking about if you even know people who works or worked on the plantation for him…or seen any documents to the contrary.

14. If these claims are bogus, I hope Sir David will sue. We must drain the swamp of smears and malice.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“If these claims are bogus, if these claims are bogus, if these claims are bogus”

But they are not and these claims have been made many, many times before….

So go find something else to sue for.

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

No wonder ya are a failed journalist.

17. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

Seems I could be mistaken.

I might have been drunk when I went to visit one of my acquaintances at Neils.

He stopped at a house and we chatted with a fellow who look like David Simmons.

He also show me where a famous late Bajan jockey live too. It was Challenging to see all the horses .

I just thought that Simmons, like my acquaintance and the others bought lots and built their “luxury houses”

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

So which means everyone’s address is Neil’s Plantation Hants…or is Simmon’s address different to the others….did you check the size of that plantation.

19. Hants

You are correct,despite being drunk…lol…..the plantation was sub-divided into 4 acre lots of which to the best of my knowledge he owns one as does a number of other individuals that I know.

20. I have been to Sir David’s house in Neils. It was certainly neither a plantation house nor a mansion. I don’t even think it was two storeys.

21. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

his property is much more than one or two acres and the address is Neils Plantation...and i know the size and acreage of the plantation with everything combined...all themansions....using Hants description…..it`s huge.

i call them plantation houses on Neil`s Plantation…. cause in reality, that is what they are, because the name was NEVER changed and they all got the same massa attitude…

…or the island would have adequate anti corruption legislation which would have been LAW in the the 26 years that SIMMONS traversed the parliament and the legal system, having the knowledge that there was no such law to protect the people post 1966….in 1975….and there is still none in 2017, even after his terms as attorney general and chief justice.

that is the issue.

22. @ Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger who wrote “i call them plantation houses on Neil`s Plantation…. cause in reality, that is what they are”

If I was like Bush Tea or if I was like GP or if I was like DavidBU I would be honest and tell you what I think but I not like them fellas.

By your reasoning I can tell my Canadian friends the I lived in a plantation house before I went to Canada.
    I just won’t tell them it was a “chattel house” on rented plantation land. lol

23. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

lol…ya friends might look at ya sideways if ya told them ya lived in a plantation house…because it`s a new era…

but try telling them ya were a politician for over 20 years, as well as attorney general, as well as chief justice and ya island still has no anti corruption laws to protect ya island and people….and see if they will take ya calls after that.

24. Well well

I keep telling you, you like too much commess and mix up. The issue is whether the gentleman owns Neils Plantation as you claim at 10:07 am. Yuh bactracking? lmao

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

I am not backtracking…I asked if Simmons plantation house address is called anything other than Neils Plantation…and you have not answered me…

I said I know how large Neils Plantation is….because I have been there, more than once…and everyone with houses on Neils plantation has the same address, whether they have 7 or 10 acres of plantation land surrounding each plantation house…it is Neil’s plantation.

I posted an article about the lack of anti corruption legislation in the years when Simmons was a politician, attorney general and chief justice where he not only never tried to make legislation law but also covered for corrupt, thiefing, dishonest lawyers and dushonest, thiefing CGI Insurance and it’s owners…which has returned to haunt him.

….you and Hants tried to make it about Neil’s plantation, Simmons’ address…if ya read the comments on barbadostoday…ya will see how he is being cussed……

…..because like you, he believes Bajans are too stupid to know he is being dishonest.

26. Like I said–commess and mixing. Carry on smartly.

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

What party supporters should be looking at is their turn at enabling corrupt government ministers might not be what they think it will be going forward. …these are different times.

Everything has to run its course.

28. Government & BL&P are killing Photovoltaic / Solar Energy with unfair rates & taxes
    BLP buys all your electricity for 42¢ & sells it back to you for 48¢.
    Government is taxing production of green energy.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

He also show me where a famous late Bajan jockey live too. It was Challenging to see all the horses .
    …..late?

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

At least pressure is being brought to bear on getting anti corruption legislation proclaimed into law, it is too ugly to just be sitting there.

“Attorney wants corruption legislation proclaimed
    Added by George Alleyne on October 27, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    1Save
    A local attorney-at-law is calling for the Prevention of Corruption Act, which was approved by both houses of Parliament back in 2012, to be formally proclaimed into law before the end of this year.

Alicia Archer made the call during a public discussion forum here on Wednesday night, at which she strongly lamented that five years after the Act was passed by both the Lower House and the Senate, “it continues to sit on a desk somewhere without being proclaimed by the Governor General”.

Pointing out that December 9 is International Anti-Corruption Day, she said it would be an opportune time for the 2012 legislation to be proclaimed.

“We are calling on the Government of Barbados to have the Prevention of Corruption Act that they passed proclaimed by the Governor General on that day. The significance should be apparent,” she told the gathering at St Gabriel’s School for the discussion on Corruption: Cost, Consequences and Remedies, adding that “we are lacking the political will to bring the thing to its natural conclusion”.

While noting that Barbados was a signatory to a number of international conventions, including the Inter-American Convention Against Corruption and the United Nations Convention Against Corruption, Archer also said it was baffling that Government would seek to keep the Act off the statute books since it “specifically identifies implementation of those treaties as the objects and reasons of the Act”.

31. @Northern Observer

Agree with you, a few on here continue to demonstrate a lack of respect for the other commenters by taking the discussion where they want, the same tired lines on every blog.

The 64k question or observation -does Donville Inniss feel any obligation to respond to the public why these fiscal incentives should not be withdrawn?

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Ah hope the enablers of corruption dont go cussing Alicia Archer fir putting pressure on governmeny, isn’t she a regular poster of Caribbean themed articles to BU, if it’s the same person, it means she been cussed before…right here on BU…..but these are different times.

33. David
    You mean the cut & psste queen?🤣🤣

34. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Why do you want to know who the blogmaster means…..

I read it as….it is time to up our game.

Some may be able to, some may not.

I read that earlier abd never attributed it to any one oerson….does “a few” mean anything to you.

Hope I dont have to teach you want up our game means, ya may nit like it.

35. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Corrections:

I read that earlier AND never attributed it to any one PERSON….does “a few” mean anything to you.

Hope I dont have to teach you WHAT up our game means, ya may NOT like it.

36. William Skinner Avatar

David October 28, 2017 at 5:18 AM #
    @Northern Observer

“Agree with you, a few on here continue to demonstrate a lack of respect for the other commenters by taking the discussion where they want, the same tired lines on every blog.

The 64k question or observation -does Donville Inniss feel any obligation to respond to the public why these fiscal incentives should not be withdrawn?”

This is exactly what I meant when i said a few weeks ago that some people were hijacking topics and your reply to me was that I could read what I wanted to. The old saying comes back: “If you encourage your dog to suck your neighbour’s eggs, he would eventually suck yours .’

Ah gone….

37. William the difference between our two positions is that we promote self-censorship in the main.

38. Lat spring a bajan friend of mine told me from a child has always get his head down , and since the snow is gone you cannot believe how much money he has found

39. Mr Blogmaster the other difference is that ‘hijack’ as @William expresses it re the blog speaks to the different and sometimes unrelated strands that flow from an original essay.

Frankly, as any long conversation between interested folks will meander. There really should be no major issue with that.

However your hijack speaks to what you noted to be quite the annoying habit of “the same tired lines on every blog”.

In the latter case you can certainly award the BRAMMY — BU- R(espect) – A(ward) [for] M(indless)- M(onotonous) Y(anoberry) to your best actress in that arena…

You long ago awarded me the ‘Pedantic’ Blog award (and others much worst), so fair is fair….LOL!

40. The evidence speaks for itself. Posting every news clip, posting 2 & 3 comments consecutively and waging commess against your imagined enemies is surely not upping anything. The stuff I raise on BU very few, if any at all, speak on. Is anyone here talking about suds for example?
    #whodecapfit#cut&pastequeen#ctrl+c#ctrl+v

41. If ya don’t like what is being said then ignore the person.
    But when two or three form a tag team and start jumping on one person it is bullying…
    An then we have the de-anonymiser on his crusade…

42. I support the award of BRAMMYs, YARDFOWLSAMY, HAHAMMY (HaHa is the sole winner) and WHACKERMY (awarded by BT)

43. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Ah gotta correct me errors…

Enuff….. a blog that is fighting corruption is not a place to recruit yardfowls or….extol the virtues of corrupt politicians, corrupt FORMER AGs, CJs, lawyers….etc…

ah doubt ya will find any such blog worldwide either, never seen one yet and I have on been on quite a few…..tough for you.

44. BLP entrenching their legacy.

“The Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has 193 new members but not one of them can cast a vote in the next poll due within seven months.

That’s because the new Bees are between the ages of 11 and 16 and have joined the political party’s junior league.”

45. He is like a man who was in bed with a woman for 15 years, and after that walks about and tells the public that she is no good in bed.
    Bushtea said “You want your last Ex to lie…?” Bushtea I ent lying bout you at all! Yuh flagpole did always pon half mast!

46. BushTea …tell them your impotent ,there is always a woman that will try and prove a man wrong

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“That’s because the new Bees are between the ages of 11 and 16 and have joined the political party’s junior league.”

Don’t mind the young being exposed to politics at an early age to view the ugliness and weigh the pros and cons of political life themselves, but not as members of anything, they must be mentally free to make up their minds and able to speak freely later of what disturbs and/or negatively impacts them or the population…..and have the option to extract themselves from any lifelong cult like memberships.

…….mindwash/brainwash at an early age to train yardfowls is disturbing and dangerous, we see the long lasting destructive effects in Angela, Alvin, Carson and other BU based Yardfowls all the time…

…..and it’s very, very ugly…..lol

… I hope this is not what is happening here.

48. Mia’s word

The National Social Responsibility Levy will be a thing of the past;

an integrity commission rooting out corruption is in;

children will learn to swim and speak a second language and education at the University of the West Indies will be free again.

And above all else, the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) will be bringing an economic stabilisation package to the country six weeks after winning the next general election.

49. @Hants

Here is what Jeremy Stephens opines reacting to Mia’s promise.

https://www.facebook.com/jeremy.stephen3/videos/10159455350815361/

50. @ IslandGal
    Bushtea I ent lying bout you at all! Yuh flagpole did always pon half mast!
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Why don’t you explain to the blog that the reason for this was simply that you were unable to accept the full staff?
    …think Bushie wanted to be charged for ‘consensual murder’ or even ‘assisting suicide’ nuh..?

Bushie gave only what you could manage….
    ..yuh Jezebel-Delilah!!!

Wuhloss!!!