Grenville Phillips II, leader of Solutions Barbados

The slavery experience of our foreparents has left a legacy that we still struggle with today.ย  It is a legacy that everyone who has tried to improve a situation has felt.ย  Over the past quarter-century, I have talked with many persons who saw something being done incorrectly, whether on a construction site, or at a social function, or in a business, and they said nothing.

Why are we so reluctant to identify a problem, or stop an injustice, or stand up to a bully?ย  Why do so few Barbadians speak or write or act when we see something that ought not to done?ย  The typical reason that people give is that they did not want to draw attention to themselves by getting involved.

Challenging unfairness or recommending improvements will get you noticed.ย  During slavery, being noticed could mean getting raped if you were a girl, or being beaten if you were a man.ย  So everyone learnt to keep their heads down and just try to finish their work without being noticed.ย  This attitude has persisted, and I have found that it requires a conscientious effort to change.

In my youth, I used to enjoy watching kung-fu movies at the cinemas.ย  There would typically be some unmannerly adults in the audience who would put their feet on the chair in front of them and shout obscenities and insults across the room, but no-one ever said anything to them.ย  I learnt to keep my head down in order not to attract their attention, and just enjoy the movie.ย  By this time in my life, I had seen numerous instances of injustices, and wondered why responsible adults were never around during those times.

In my late teen years, while waiting for a kung-fu movie to start, and listening to the familiar string of obscenities and insults, I remember making myself a promise.ย  I told myself that when I reached 30 years of age, I would be the adult that I was hoping for during my youth.ย  When I was 30, I kept that promise and continued to keep it for the next 2 decades to this day.

Over the past 51 years of our independence, Barbados has had no shortage of competent persons with high integrity.ย  However, we were starved of persons who were willing to actually do something meaningful to bring about the much needed change to the benefit of all Barbadians.ย  We have had political columnists, moderators, commentators and calypsonians who would entertain us by giving voice to what we felt, but were too intimidated to say.ย  However, their efforts rarely resulted in national improvements.

There are two likely methods of solving national problems.ย  The first is to convince a ruling political administration to pursue effective and economical solutions.ย  The second method is to form a political party, assemble a set of highly competent persons of high integrity, and provide the electorate with a competent alternative.

I have tried the first method for almost 2 decades.ย  It is akin to sitting up and being noticed, much like the columnists and calypsonians, and like them, I was tolerated to a certain extent.ย  However, like them, I have seen no national improvement from my efforts.ย  Had our arrogant politicians not brought us to the brink of economic ruin, I would likely have continued to simply sit up and lobby for change.

I am now back in the Plaza cinema, the unruly fellows have their feet on the back of the chairs and are shouting their now familiar string of obscenities and insults at their targets.ย  Most of the audience have their heads down, not wanting to attract their attention.ย  The bullies are arrogant because they have intimidated the crowd for the past 51 years and the audienceโ€™s fear has sustained them.ย  However, this time, I stand up, and turn around, and face them, and whatever will happen will happen.ย  Barbados, you decide whether I face them alone.

Grenville Phillips II is the founder of Solutions Barbados and can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

156 responses to “The Grenville Phillips Column – Keep Your Head Down”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger.

While an interesting article, sorry you did not remain on the….SILENCE IS ACCEPTANCE….part, when you say nothing about corruption, bribery, disenfranchisement of the majority and dishonest ministers and politicians, you accept that behavior to your own detriment, that is where the island has reached….covering up wicked acts against the people and country, keeping silent and accepting these wrongs, instead of shouting them out to the world and exposing the criminals.

2. Just heard geometry and math are racist now. LOL

3. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lawson…that is the cross you have to bear..lol

4. Extremely well said and well put Grenville.

5. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

EXACTLY.

Further, as I’ve typed many times, most of the people we need to run this country will never lower themselves to an election podium.

So what is the solution?

De-politicise the senate and allow Barbados’ highest national institutions to hold internal elections and send forward representatives every year on a rotation basis.

The Senate should be our safety valve to prevent partisan legislation, it is not working.

The Senate should be providing gov’t and civil service oversight with the authority to hear citizens’ complaints, hold court and pass administrative sentence.

The Senate will never be any more than a rubber-stamping charade until we change the representation system and put non-partisan representatives in place.

6. Why are we so reluctant to identify a problem, or stop an injustice, or stand up to a bully?
    ++++++++++++++++++

But we do and we have!!!

Greenland is one instance that comes to mind.

Richard Goddard stood up to the PM and did it publicly!!

It isn’t the legacy of slavery that is the problem, that is pure BS.

The problem lies with the ruling elites and their intention to divide, rule and steal.

Watch how Richard Goddard was dealt with on National Television by a member of that supposed elite!!

… and Adrian Loveridge and Barney Lynch … and David Ellis!!

Watch and listen to Barney Lynch.

The problem we face is corruption now.

… and it has nothing to do with slavery.

Leave slavery out of the discussion, deal with the thieves.

7. Bushie, tooooo lite!

But on the other hand we are not blaming the author either

We think he means well and his starting point is not his area of specialization. If specialization is to be a good thing.

This mindset which the ruling intelligencia in the West Indies have foisted upon us, continues wrongly, to use the slave epoch as the defining point of departure.

Afrikan people have for tens of thousands of years owned and occupied all of these lands in the so-called western hemisphere.

We have up to 30 distinct types of evidences to prove this point beyond a shadow of doubt.

Recently an Afrikan settlement was discovered in Brazil carbon dating to 57,000 years.

We are will aware of the magisterial works of the eminent Guyanese anthropologist Ivan van Sertima and the Senegalese, multi-genius, Sheikh Anta Diop, the Father of modern Afrikan academia, who revolutionized our thinking.

Our question is why we are to be only defied by events of the last 500 years. Or by the shallowness of some Caribbean identification. This is nonsense. When a rabbit is born in an oven we don’t call it bread!

The singularity of taught has always been challenged. In fact, the great Nigerian, activist, scholar Chinwezu has been making the partially persuasive argument that instead of the slave model sold to us by western scholars there was a state of war between Europe and Afrika and that captives, Afrikan slaves, were a consequence of that war.

Of course, this is not mainstream thinking. It has monumental hurdles to overcome. Indeed Chinwezu could be partly right, just partly. Chinwezu has thus far taken little action to overthrow the dominant historical narrative.

We remain unconvinced that this narrow, dominant, historical view should remain the solitary point of departure, definition.

Grenville, if yuh start wrong, yuh end wrong

8. What Grenville Phillips is doing by bringing in slavery is perpetuating the evil.

Deal with the thieves!!

Forget slavery and don’t use it as a crutch as other politicians have!!!

In so doing he becomes the equal of the crappy people we have had to lead us.

Sad, we really need a change.

But all I am hearing is the same shit!!

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

This is the best you have written Grenville. Thank you.

There is more to it than silence and acceptance, however. The other side of the coin is the behavior of those in power. The “unruly fellows” at the back of the Plaza would intimidate and threaten any who advocated civilised behaviour; these “unruly fellows,” of both genders, now populate our parliament, trade unions, and businesses. This behaviour is also a legacy of the colonial system of slavery because it simply follows the ethic of “might is right:” power confers legitimacy upon itself.

Until we understand our history we will not be able to uproot and discard these destructive patterns of behaviour which are being passed from generation to generation.

As cultural theorist Ngลฉgฤฉ wa Thiongโ€™o has put it:
    โ€œColonialism tried to control the memory of the colonized; or, rather, in the words of Caribbean thinker Sylvia Wynter, it tried to subject the colonized to its memory, to make the colonized see themselves through the hegemonic memory of the colonizing center. Put another way, the colonizing presence sought to induce a historical amnesia on the colonized by mutilating the memory of the colonized; and where that failed, it dismembered it, and then tried to re-member it to the colonizerโ€™s memoryโ€” to his way of defining the world, including his take on the nature of the relations between colonizer and colonized.โ€

10. The simple point is, we have had remarkable people who do put themselves out on a limb to stand up to bullies and thieves.

There are others besides the few I have shown here.

11. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John October 25, 2017 at 8:34 AM # said
    “Forget slavery and donโ€™t use it as a crutch…”

You trained as an engineer John, so let me put this in simple structural terms: we are now on the 8th floor (generation) and the building is unstable, but what you are advocating is to “forget” about the wide cracks in the foundation.

Slavery is not a “crutch.” It is an irrefutable historical fact that laid the foundation of our contemporary society. You are not stupid enough not to already know this; therefore the only conclusion that I can draw is that you seek to obfuscate the facts for other reasons, perhaps related to your white supremacist ideology.

12. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Next party 246:
    โ€œThere are two likely methods of solving national problems. The first is to convince a ruling political administration to pursue effective and economical solutions. The second method is to form a political party, assemble a set of highly competent persons of high integrity, and provide the electorate with a competent alternative.โ€

Very well presented, SB!

A most altruistically appealing call to the electorate to make the โ€˜rightโ€™ decision in picking the โ€˜cleanestโ€™ jockey in the upcoming race. The โ€˜onlyโ€™ challenge facing the selectors is in choosing one of Hobsonโ€™s horses.

We wish you well; but most of all good luck in your quest to create heaven on Bajan soil.

All you have to do in your Sisyphean task is to be the Bajan Hercules not only to clean โ€˜outโ€™ the local Augean stables of tons of droppings left by Hobsonโ€™s two black horses but also uncover the long trail of sleaze left behind in the form of the too many โ€˜falseโ€™ bookings made in the Auditor Generalโ€™s annual reports.

If you want to make the difference this time around the garrison-type political track you ought to make sure your jockey(s) are well emblazoned with the golden rule of โ€œNoblesse Obligeโ€written in the all-embracing โ€˜yellow, blue and redโ€™ colours of your โ€œSBโ€ livery of honest men and women whose rallying motto would be one based not only on the managerial principle of Total Technical Competence in ISO 9000 but also in their morally guiding adherence to the banshee cry expressed by a previous messiah called David:

โ€˜I shall never lie, cheat, steal (nor tolerate those who do).โ€™

Let us see if you can turn that pledge of integrity into the implementation of the following 2013 promise and possibly transforming it into an โ€˜objectivelyโ€™ measurable management achievement:

โ€œWhy Good governance? Good Governance is characterized by the principles of participation, consensus, accountability, transparency, responsiveness, effectiveness and efficiency, equity and inclusion, and the rule of law. It assures that corruption is minimized, the views of minorities are taken into account and that the voices of the most vulnerable in society are heard in decision-making and the allocation of resources.โ€

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John October 25, 2017 at 8:52 AM #
    “The simple point is, we have had remarkable people who do put themselves out on a limb to stand up to bullies and thieves.”

Correct John. So why do you think all their efforts have come to naught for 8 generations now? Could it possibly be some structural flaw in the foundation of their thinking?

14. Frustrated n Bushie, yes indeed the essay is beautifully written….a lovely turn of phrase and powerful summation: “The bullies are arrogant .. I stand up, and turn around, and face them, and whatever will happen will happen. Barbados, you decide whether I face them alone,” but many of Mr Phillips’ solutions have been shown to be impractical even as his energy, eloquence and passion are beyond outstanding.

Your remark that “most of the people we need to run this country will never lower themselves to an election podium” is also problematic.

If you perceive that the electoral process is for persons who are willing to ‘lower’ themselves into, I presume, the gutter-sniping of retail politics then pray tell why would you want to foist those who are too cultured and respectful into the mix as, let’s say, wholesalers!

The point is that what you basically propose is exactly what has been jn place for the last half century: the wholesalers (some call them deep state, permanent govt et al) bank roll the charismatic retail politicians, and then get themselves appointed to influential positions to purposefully drive the agenda.

Practically speaking there is nothing inherently wrong with ‘partisan’ politics as different parties are expected to have different agendas towards success. The problem of course is when the policies support one set of people/group to the detriment of other average citizens.

We can agree that the Senate as setup has limited utility but it’s also clear that you are suggesting that a select gtoup of the electorate get the opportunity to parachute elected representatives onto the nation….there can be NO OTHER interpretation of the comment : “… allow Barbadosโ€™ highest national institutions to hold internal elections and send forward representatives every year on a rotation basis”.

You appear to attempt to codify a process where two elections take place…the ‘lowering’ mass podium one and then the high-brow one of these highest national institutions.

Is this not the animal farm redux of which you speak often…I thought we fought to rid ourselves of this VISIBLE two step process.

The system msy not be working but Bajans can dismiss partisan policies every five years if they so choose…just as we can elect Grenville with a set of difficult to enact solutions.

15. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

“This behaviour is also a legacy of the colonial system of slavery because it simply follows the ethic of โ€œmight is right:โ€ power confers legitimacy upon itself.

Until we understand our history we will not be able to uproot and discard these destructive patterns of behaviour which are being passed from generation to generation.”

Dont know why John who glorifies slavery every opportunity he gets dont want it addressed, to decolonize the minds of the majority population, on another thread I posted an article wgere there are call to decolonize Caribbean islands.

Seems he only wants to glorify slavery as a means to keeping the Black population mentally enslaved and permanently colonized, it was a weaponed to be used by colonizers for centuries, but it has outlived it’s usefulness and it’s continuing vile effects, must be addressed.

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

on another thread I posted an article where there are calls to decolonize Caribbean islands.

It’s all tied in, ministers and politicians lost their way from 1966 when they bought into the colonizer’s bullshit created for them and mimicked the colonizer’s every move for the last 50 years…and have found themselves in a hole because of it, one which they find difficult to escape…

It’s all tied in.

So he can post on every minister and politicians only to find that all roads lead right back to colonizers….and weak ministers who are greedy and corrupt and dont care to know themselves….they are still colonized.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. October 25, 2017 at 8:05 AM

โ€œFurther, as Iโ€™ve typed many times, most of the people we need to run this country will never lower themselves to an election podium.
    So what is the solution?
    De-politicise the senate and allow Barbadosโ€™ highest national institutions to hold internal elections and send forward representatives every year on a rotation basisโ€

Very good proposal much in keeping with my own views on political reform.

But I would recommend a biennial rotation instead of an annual exercise. One year might just be too short a period for the new reps to properly โ€˜cut their teethโ€™.

Of course there would be adequate provisions for โ€˜prematureโ€™ resignations, โ€˜forcedโ€™ terminations or replacements; even if for reasons of ill-health or death.

18. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

It’s along article, those who want to can read it in its entirety on the Heather Cole blog….but this is it in a nutshell….the facade of independence was a vile joke.

“Decolonize Sovereignty

The Caribbean is in need of food sovereignty, energy sovereignty, and land sovereignty. As it is today, decision-making about each of these key elements of life and livelihood has been determined from without.We must decolonize the Caribbean. This requires us to envision a โ€œnon-sovereignโ€ future, as Bonilla refers to it, requiring us to hack our understanding of what sovereignty means. Our understanding of the idea of sovereignty stems mostly from the French political theorist Jean Bodin, who in the late 1500s established that sovereign power is both indivisible and non-alienable. Under this understanding, talk about more than one sovereign in a single territory would be nonsensical. But we must hack our understanding of sovereignty. Instead of sovereignty, to decolonize the Caribbean, we must speak and write about sovereignties.

The Caribbean is in need of food sovereignty, energy sovereignty, and land sovereignty. As it is today, decision-making about each of these key elements of life and livelihood has been determined from without.

Food sovereignty concerns establishing autonomy and equitable shares of food regimes, from agriculture to farming to fishing to imports and exports, that determine how and what we eat, and to whose benefit. A rapid glance at the diet of the average Puerto Rican, at the agricultural and food regime changes in Puerto Rico from Spanish to American colonial times, shows that basic decisions about foodโ€”what to grow, who to sell to, at what price, and what people eatโ€”are not organic decisions, but planned regimes that must be critically assessed.”

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

So…the penny ante stuff presented by detractors and those with agendas must be overlooked to view the real issues affecting Barbados and the Caribbean….the colonized mind of the leaders and people….which destroys all independent function or constructive independent thought.

eg…..Dumbville is in today’s papers complaining about the flooding caused by the clico properties in Clearview Heights. ….properties the government now control because the company is under judicial management with taxpayers footing the bill for everything.., which means it’s government’s responsibilty to eliminate the flooding. ..but that escapes a minister of government…, that cluelessness can only be coming from a destroyed, colonized mind….I bet he would have to go look for some crook, Maloney, Bjerkham, Bizzy or some foreign white to tell him what has to be done, since he cannot articulate a solution.on his own….then the whole episode and scenario will devolve into bribery and corruption.

Colonization continues it’s destruction unabated.

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

And to avoid complete and total irreversible disaster…this is what Barbados must do…as well as other Caribbean islands…release the land to the majority population or you are doomed.

“Finally, the Caribbean must establish land sovereignty. This concerns the regimes that determine how we use and develop land, who owns the land, the possibilities of communal ownership, the decision-making processes related to land, and associated tax regimes.

One central idea is to move beyond the current view, which holds that land must either be private or public. Instead, we must explore different alternative land-tenure and land-management regimes such as community land trusts, mutual housing associations, land cooperatives, land banks, intentional communities, conservation land trusts, among others.

Land sovereignty is at the center of debates in the island of Barbuda, for example; but in Puerto Rico struggles for land sovereignty have questioned land policy around beaches as it relates to the tourism industry.”

21. lawson October 25, 2017 at 6:28 AM #

You are normally a cynical Glaswegian-type of guy, but in the history of mathematics the Egyptians have largely been written out in favour of the Babylonians. Why is this? Just lok at how Euclid has taken over from Egyptian geometry; ore how the discovery of zero has taken centre place in the history (and operation) of maths.
    By locating Euclid and Pythagoras at the heart of modern mathematics the discipline has been moved from Egypt (Africa) to Greece (Europe). Apart from Al-gebra, the Babylonians do not even get a look in.

22. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John October 25, 2017 at 8:34 AM #
    โ€œWhat Grenville Phillips is doing by bringing in slavery is perpetuating the evil.
    Deal with the thieves!!
    Forget slavery and donโ€™t use it as a crutch as other politicians have!!!
    In so doing he becomes the equal of the crappy people we have had to lead us.
    Sad, we really need a change.
    But all I am hearing is the same shit!!โ€

Nice honest rant there, Sir John!

The only problem is that of separating the white thieving sheep from black receiving goats.
    When you able to identify the white cowboys and Indian shadows behind the curtains of electoral financing and undercover bribery in return for โ€˜sugaryโ€™ government contracts we will hearken your call for genuine change.

Donโ€™t you think that the โ€˜foreignโ€™ phrase: “Plus ca change Plus c’est la mรชme chose” has it local relevance precisely as a result of people of your ilk, slightly daubed with the tar brush, have meekly and cowardly withdrawn from the political cesspool thereby allowing โ€˜black-coloredโ€™ shit stained with the blood of corruption and fecal incompetence to float to the top of the โ€˜executiveโ€™ class?

Why arenโ€™t the likes of the Williams Bros, Bjerkham, Tempro and Maloney not openly throwing their hats into the political ring instead of hiding behind the scenes and pulling the morally weak strings of those black โ€˜hand-to-mouthโ€™ politicians?

Donโ€™t blacks in the UK and North America openly participate in the political process both at the selective and elective levels?

Massa days certainly arenโ€™t done since the old whips and the threats of starvation have been replaced by a financial menagerie of bribery and kickbacks controlled by the modern โ€˜off-coloredโ€™ puppeteers.

23. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ de pedantic Dribbler at 8 :57 AM

Your contribution in my opinion is clinically incisive and goes to the root of the problem. I find it strange that a people, almost 200 years after emancipation, and 50 years after political independence, can be using a ” slave model” and a “colonial model” of social analysis for current ills in Barbados.

It suggests to me that all the commentators who start off with these models as their analytical framework are the brain- washed who have bought into these systems. They are also perpetuating these philosophies. In short they are doing a better job than the colonizers and the slave owners in undermining the self confidence and independence of Barbadians.

24. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol…..nice one Miller.

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Bernard…you missed one item, dismantling the existing colonial system alltogether, decolonizing the mental and physical structure of colonization, is the only way out for people with African and other histories from the clutches of countries who still exploit, dictate and control……by..using crutches to keep others dependent.

Maybe this is too deep for some, can’t expect everyone to understand the nuts and bolts that others can clearly see…but at the end of the day…when you have unwanted people in your immediate surroundings who seek to control you and move every goal post for their own benefit., and to your detriment…ya get rid of them…you chase them away…

Cant make it simpler than that.

26. Bernard Codrington. October 25, 2017 at 10:27 AM #

Bernard, there is nothing more intellectually colonial than define our policy in terms of foreign reserves and growth. We must challenge the prevailing orthodoxy. That should be the role of BU.

27. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin October 25, 2017 at 10:11 AM
    โ€œBy locating Euclid and Pythagoras at the heart of modern mathematics the discipline has been moved from Egypt (Africa) to Greece (Europe). Apart from Al-gebra, the Babylonians do not even get a look in.โ€

Well, well! Never believe the bitingly harsh charm of our own BU Pachamama the miracle worker would have such a salubriously enlightening impact on our pseudo British pal.

And all along we were under the โ€˜blindinglyโ€™ weighty impression that the origin of the knowledge of that universal language called mathematics was some where in โ€œGrand Bretagneโ€ just like its linguistic sister called basic โ€˜englishโ€™ incomprehensibly spoken by an august pretentious prick called Austin in true Glaswegian prattle.

Poor Charles Babbage, Lewis Carroll or even Abraham Adelstein must be hanging their heads in deadly shame to find out that a black West Indian who grew up stupid under the Union Jack never knew of the moor Imhotep until Pacha removed the curse of the River Nile blindness from his Johnny-come-lately British eyes scarred on the stolen papyri pages stored in the archives of Oxford & Cambridge.

28. @ de pedantic Dribbler at 8 :57 AM

On point.

Bernard

It suggests to me that all the commentators who start off with these models as their analytical framework are the brain- washed who have bought into these systems. They are also perpetuating these philosophies. In short they are doing a better job than the colonizers and the slave owners in undermining the self confidence and independence of Barbadians.

Could not have said it better.

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Lol..that’s why I told Lawson…it was his cross to bear, it all originated out of Egypt, which has always been and always will be on the African continent…

The transition to decolonize the Caribbean will take place because it cannot be stopped, just like the relaxation of legislation of marijuana is growing like wildfire from country to country and is all consuming….events have already started the chain reaction that releases the islands from the grip of larger countries, these events are unstoppable.

30. Solutions needed for Barbados…….flooding

“Roads flooded all over the island. Long traffic lines snaking along major highways, byways and roads in and out of The City.”

“The development now has been left unattended and areas cut for roads in the extensive development provide a major path for water to run off the land onto the road, and quickly gets to the point where cars driving find it difficult to pass,โ€

Barbados needs Solutions……..flooding.

31. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Bernard Codrington. October 25, 2017 at 10:27 AM #

de pedantic Dribbler at 8 :57 AM was indeed clinically incisive, but you and Vincent appear to have completely misconstrued his words. Dribbler said nothing which can be rationally interpreted to mean that “a โ€ slave modelโ€ and a โ€œcolonial modelโ€ of social analysis for current ills in Barbados” is at all inappropriate. On the contrary he pointed the historical continuity of the colonial and contemporary periods and showed how nothing substantive has changed.

32. “A day after a taxi became stuck in a manhole opposite KFC Hastings, two more vehicles suffered a similar fate.”

“workers welded on the cover this morning.”

Solution to a sewage problem in Barbados……….sort of, maybe. but …..

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

you will like this one….filling de pot holes wid cokenuts
    https://www.instagram.com/p/BamrvrohPZPcUzpld9N5Mj5YlDxdAMsKMap0NE0/?igref=ogexp

34. @ Grenville Phillips who wrote “The second method is to form a political party, assemble a set of highly competent persons of high integrity, and provide the electorate with a competent alternative.”

Great!!!

Now you have to create the POLITICAL machinery to educate the people of Barbados most of whom are used to voting for the party that provides them with instant gratification.

You have to get the electorate to put COUNTRY before SELF.

Good luck. Miracles have happened.

35. @NorthernObserver ,

Your link did not work

36. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ PLT at 11:33 AM

Having reviewed d p D’s contribution to the discourse, I agree with the points made there in.

However, I never attributed the ” the slave and colonial analytical framework” to him. The preface to that remark is” I find it strange….”

The points I tried to make is that Barbadians should not blame the past institution of slavery nor the colonial experience for our perceived lack of progress. We are free and independent and must take responsibility for where we are at and where we want to go.
    Harping on the fact that our forefathers were either slave owners, indentured servants or slaves is no excuse for engaging in nonproductive and socially unacceptable activities.

The other substantial point I tried to make was; constantly repeating negative ideas subliminally / subconsciously brainwashes human beings. Is it our mission to demotivate our people?

37. @ Bernard
    You underestimate the nature of mental slavery.

Do you know it can reach the point where it is IMPOSSIBLE to free oneself from this trap – even into many many generations …if ever?

You mind John?

When you have lost your natural root characteristics through brainwashing and have become an ‘albino-centric character’ in a foreign body – you are but a brass bowl…. sounding a lotta shiite …and going nowhere….

Sounds familiar?

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bernard Codrington. October 25, 2017 at 3:01 PM
    โ€œThe points I tried to make is that Barbadians should not blame the past institution of slavery nor the colonial experience for our perceived lack of progress. We are free and independent and must take responsibility for where we are at and where we want to go.
    Harping on the fact that our forefathers were either slave owners, indentured servants or slaves is no excuse for engaging in nonproductive and socially unacceptable activities.โ€

Well said!

If only you can get the current political administration to stop blaming the previous political administration for every problem the country has been facing for the last 9 years.

What do you have to say about telling them to let go of those 14 years of the Arthur maladministration by letting loose the sleeping OSA dog to just curl up and die a natural political death?

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

When one attends a psychologist or psychiatrist with a problem, or even alcoholic or drug addictation problems, as many journals doctirs etc will tell you, ya tackle the problems at their root cause, many, many people do not know why they act the way they do and are unaware of the common link….to their past histories,

Politicians, ministers and those who bribe them are well aware why they act they way they do, it is out of selfishness, greed and corruption…they only want to productive when it suits and benefits them…..stagnating and destroying everyone’s chances of being productive….eg, they all make sure they enrich themselves onky each and every election cycle.

The population on the other hand, 90% know not that they know not. .., that is where education abd enlightenment.becomes importabt….not brainwash education, to connect them to their past and start the process if moving forward. ..at things stand, they just believe what piece of shit ministers and politicians tell them.

40. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Why would anyone believe anything a politician or minister of government in the Caribbean or worldwide say is still a mystery, they can take 55% percent of the blame for the current confused state of the population’s minds, they contribute to it with their colonial theme of mimicking the colonizing countries…and practicing lies, deceit and corruption simultaneously.

…… the schools and churches can take another 45% for contributing to the destruction of the minds of the people, by refusing to teach them their true history and perpertrating continuously, the centuries old lies.

Everything is happening in real time to show us where the problems truly lay, a minister is arrested in UK and instead of telling the truth, he omits the real reason he was arrested, gives a statement to the press with an embellished version of his own fantasy, nowhere resembling the truth……. until the agency responsible for arresting him in UK who it turns out can also press charges of bribery etc if the investigative need arises, released the truth themselves….

…..what this jumped up Antiguan minister did embarrassed all those fool enough to believe that he was above board and were falling over themselves to defend him.

Just compounds how many are still dumb enough to believe any minister or politician in this day and age, you do so to your own peril and detriment…the root causes of a nonproductive government and nonproductive society….runs very deep.

41. Could it possibly be some structural flaw in the foundation of their thinking?

Foundation Rock solid!!!

Fields, still there!!!

When we pass, they still will be there!!

Problem is for the past 50 years our builders have been building horizontally!!

They have been chasing rainbows!

All the cantilevering in the world won’t hold up their structures!!

They will all come crashing down.

… but, the Rock, … built over the past 300 years endures and will always endure.

Still love my idea of “every square inch a World Heritage Site”!!

42. Miller

Thanks man, but you are the main man here. You and Bushie

We have been watching you and am always in general agreement. We’re just trying to help you

But can take no credit for what you have suggested. LOL

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

my apologies. It was an instagram link, didn’t know it would show as a pic. 18 large coconuts filling a pot hole (large crevice?) in Bim.

44. NorthernObserver Avatar

suspect the observation for GPII is he has broached a topic, in a manner, which meets with the ‘almost’ universal approval of his electorate. His usual detractors are on-side. Even the ones who frequently oppose each other are finding a ‘common ground’.

45. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

Whichever political party is elected has their work well and truly cut out for them…direct aim is being taken at Canada’s finance minister Morneau who uses Barbados as a low tax jurisfiction for his businesses while shouting out in parliament how small businesses in Canada…do not pay enough taxes in Canada…

Well Canadians are fighting mad and ready to throw both him and Trudeau out of Parliament for his attemot to be slick, some people are calling for the banning of Canadians using Batbados as a tax haven, they are not concerned about any double taxation treaty…according to them, Canada got islands too PI etc…and Barbados is not one of them…..lol

So any incoming government on the island, not only has to get very creative, but immensely productive as well and push for productiveness in the society, by leading by example, enough with the dishonesty, lies, bribery and corruption already..

46. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. Avatar

It’s better digested in very small doses.

“Decolonization will not be easy, but the diasporas here in the United States, and in every imperial metropolis (France, the Netherlands, the United Kingdom) can and will play an important role.

Conversely, a decolonization drive in the Caribbean will only heighten the possibilities of decolonization in our own exile communities. This struggle, the push towards achieving multiple sovereignties, is of the utmost urgencyโ€”the future of our communities, our neighborhoods, and our ancestral homelands lies in the balance.”

47. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

@ Bush Tea at 3:33 PM

No I do not underestimate the power of mental slavery; that is why I am always at pains to point it out when it tries to reappear like a wolf in sheep’s clothing.
    Very often the promoters of the new enslavement are unaware that they are being used. But one can always recognize them by the fruits they yield. The good thing is that Barbadians as a whole are not deceived.