A Heather Cole Column – People Get Ready

Steven Weare, murdered in Barbados

People get ready, there’s a train a comin’
You don’t need no baggage, you just get on board
All you need is faith, to hear the diesels hummin’
Don’t need no ticket, you just thank the Lord! – Curtis Mayfield

I now have a firm belief that the Commissioner of Police is a praying man. I can even picture him on bended knee, night after night talking to God. We all Know that God answers prayers in the strangest way his wonders to perform. For the strangest of things has happened to cause one to marvel especially when we thought that nothing would happen.

Sometime ago in the midst of criminal problems facing the island, the Commissioner of Police lamented that his hands were tied. One could have taken his statement to mean that political interference was preventing him from undertaking his constitutionally bound duties of solving crime, apprehending criminals, fighting corruption and raging a battle against illegal fire arms and drugs.

One can now recall that since the national conversation again turned to illegal firearms, murder and violence that some politicians have been noticeably quiet. Even the Prime Minister of Barbados did not address or bring to the table any solutions that would impact or negate the action of those who were importing drugs and firearms into the country.

Then all of a sudden, an Englishman was murdered and it was not just a crime. It was a crime that exposed several crimes. The murder of the Englishman opened Pandora’s Box not only in Barbados but internationally as it is alleged that all involved are now connected to a ring of drugs, fire arms, car theft, bribery and money laundering. The sex, lies and video tapes are yet to be discovered. What is unfolding seems reminiscent of a script of some movie on an exotic island but alas it is not; it is unfolding right in Bim.

The Commissioner is now the most powerful man in Barbados. Along with the burden of Pandora’s Box came the relief of a Scotland Yard investigation. This crime can be the leverage that he uses to his advantage to untie his hands. It is he who is responsible for gathering evidence. It is he who will decide if the guilty will be brought before the Court of Law and be prosecuted. Most of all, it is he who will have to decide that his words and actions are not egregiously misaligned. One will therefore find out if he has the balls to untie his hands or sweep this muck under the carpet. One hopes that he will remember to show no mercy to the merciless and unscrupulous persons who are bent on destroying Barbados for personal gain.

We all know the facts that have been reported in the newspaper. Five men have been arrested for the murder of an Englishman who was residing in Barbados. It is alleged that the Englishman was importing stolen vehicles for resale onto the Barbadian Market. It is also alleged that he was involved in the guns and drug trade as well as money laundering. Furthermore, there are allegations that recently, 7 vehicles were imported by the Englishman for 2 members of the ruling Administration. It is alleged that no duties were paid on vehicles imported by the deceased thereby defrauding the government of import duties.

Then there is the politics of this all. How does and will this impact politics in Barbados? With eight months to go one would have believed that DLP would have held onto power until elections were constitutionally due. Now I have my doubts. All is in crisis. An Englishman was murdered and his death has turned Barbados upside down. Will this all lead to a constitutional crisis? What if anything does the Constitution say about such actions if the allegations bear fruit? Will the Prime Minister open his mouth to utter a word about corruption at the heart of his government or is he too consumed making allegations of elitism against the Leader of the Opposition to have discovered what has been happening under his watch? One cannot help but wonder what would happen if we had an extradition treaty with the UK. Could the conspirators be somehow extradited? When will the Cabinet implode? When will the election be called?

Now the Commissioner of Police does not hold appointment but this fate can be sealed by the politicians just as occurred to the previous holder of his position. But this Commissioner now has Scotland Yard at his disposal. He does not have a crystal ball to see the future in terms of predicting what will happen but for now he now has the ability to shape it. To shape his future with respect to having his hands free of political interference to perform his duties. The guilty will seek cover. While they could have prevailed in home grown inquiry where the outcome would be swept under the carpet, not so with a Scotland Yard investigation.

While I do not know the extent or the context of the investigation, one can only envisage that the opening of this Pandora’s box may well be like the tip of an iceberg. How could the nation have elected persons who have placed a yoke of economic strangulation on the necks of their children and willfully fed then a steady diet of drugs, guns and violence? At the end of it all, the Commissioner must report to the people of Barbados regarding his investigation and bring the guilty to justice. When all is said and done, I firmly believe that the Commissioner said “thank the Lord” so let us get ourselves ready for the general elections.

303 thoughts on “A Heather Cole Column – People Get Ready

1. On Clico , further, what analysis has been done to examine what excess cash has come out of Clico, to the parent company, above and beyond amounts needed to support local investments and insurance contracts?

And after that, what efforts have been made to sue the parent company for recovery?

Those two points would surely highlight more issues.

2. @ Bajans

You are a jackass.

Who gives a fu*k whether you have a qualification from Oxbridge or not you White asslicker.

Doesn’t give you the authority.

No one on this or any other blog should be concern with how they write once it can easily be read and understood.

You are indeed a true Bajan johnny.

Get off the people’s blog if you have nothing positive to contribute.

3. Surprised Bajans never heard the slag…wheel and come again…. with so many Jamaicans in UK, any white brit could tell ya they use it all the time…lol

4. I’ve also seen one of the resident yardfowls repeatedly using the expression.
    Today is the first time I’ve seen ‘reel’.

To quote another of BU family –let google be your friend

5. Me too Gabriel.

So I googled the two expressions.

You know what, I could only find one with a definition

… and I will leave you to guess which one it was.

6. As Bushie would say, we can only be pure brassbowls. Us and the people in T&T who allow it to continue unabated

The problem is the ideology that directs CLICO is the same ideology that directs Barbados and other Caribbean Nations.

… the self same half ass, lamefoot racist ideology.

So Governments and CLICO are joined at the hip.

It is really communism but the cowards could never come right out and like Guyana embrace communism because they needed the subsidies from the Mother Country to survive.

What is yours is mine and what is mine is mine … that’s how they think …. even though that is not supposed to be the communist ideology!!

They are just thieves, pure and simple.

I am guessing that in 1962 when the Penny Bank franchise collapsed in Barbados, that Barbados was strong enough to resist the infiltration.

Since then, our resistance has been undermined.

7. The laugh is always on you..John…when you google wheel abd come again….the first lines give a definition..it is Jamaican patois….in case ya did not notice, get over yaself.

Definitions of “Wheel and come again”

Wheel and come again
    Thumbs Up 2Thumbs Down 0

Definition
    Try once more, come with a better story, or I remain unconvinced. This is generally used as an expression of disbelief.

Example Sentences
    Patois: Wheel and come again, kaaz wah yuh a seh nuh mek nuh sense
    English: Come with a better story because what you are saying doesn’t make any sense

And they both actually mean the same thing, although the former is more widely used worldwide, the latter is little known….ya so deceitful one must always double check what you post.

“To be in a confused state as if from being twirled around. Come again is a synonym of reel. Sometimes you can use “Come again” instead a verb “Reel”.

8. John September 23, 2017 at 9:58 AM #

I somewhat agree. But liken it more to a Plantation. Everything in it is for a few, not for all. Sure the tenants can eat and drink, but that is it.

Bajans have to get permission or a license for everything practically but the outhouse visit.

And the new massa decides if and when they can do whatever.

Look at this, just one little example. A driver needs to buy a license for ZM, something like $25,000. And I believe that such licenses are limited. Same for ZR’s.

Really now. I buy a van and pay road license I should be able to transport who and when I like, as long as insurance covers it.

Who has a right to deny me a living and why should I pay for a right to earn a living?

Real joke.

Lock down, is this plantation. One big plantation.

9. Bushman…do you think those affairs you talked about the people getting in order, will be done in time, I know like me you know more…lol

10. Even if one does not agree with Heather you cant help but admire how she is able to get her view out on social media. Four days now and her blog is bouncing around social media -WhatApp, Twitter,FB etc.It just shows how with a little effort Barbadians with concerns can leverage the education they have been exposed to enlignten and push folk to change.

11. dAVID WHAT IS NEEDED IS TO FOLLOW UP practically

WE HAVE EVOLVED AS A NATION OF MICE
    YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO BE NICE AND WELL BEHAVED
    ONLY THE FAVORED ARE SUPPOSED TO EXCEL OR HAVE GOD IDEAS
    SUCH FOLK ARE BANISHED, HATED AUSTRACISED
    HERE IS AN EXAMPLE

in 1991 i told the senior medical officer in the polyclinic where i worked.. why not let us train our post men {who at the time visited every home in Barbados or at least close to every home on a daily basis] to report possible illnesses in our elderly folk in our catchment areas.

in 2001 i learned that though he laughed me to scorn to my face, he took my idea higher to the minister of health

today we have a set of postmen who are established who do very little work in th villages to days gone bye

was it not last year that we read in the local papers of an eldrly who had been dead for a whole year before she was discovered?

• GP

It would have been a good idea for the times i.e. maximizing limited resources IF the unions would have agreed. And at the same time signing off on being a caring people. Ironically with the rise of electronic media the postman is fast becoming a redundant occupation.

12. @Insider
    Your English is not as good as you think. The expression is “reel and come again”, not wheel. The expression refers to people who are fishing, literally or figuratively. Well, you say you have CXC English, good for you but that is no comparison to Oxbridge which I have.

@ Bajans, What does Oxbridge know of expressions of Jamaican origin?

“Wheel and come again”

Definition
    Try once more, come with a better story, or I remain unconvinced. This is generally used as an expression of disbelief.

Example Sentences
    Patois: Wheel and come again, kaaz wah yuh a seh nuh mek nuh sense
    English: Come with a better story because what you are saying doesn’t make any sense

13. I somewhat agree. But liken it more to a Plantation. Everything in it is for a few, not for all. Sure the tenants can eat and drink, but that is it.

Here is the difference, production.

If you look at the list of slaves on any plantation in the Returns from 1817 to 1832 you will see a whole range of ages.

The oldest I found in 1817 was 114 years old.

The plantation fed, clothed, housed and provided medical care from cradle to grave.

Sort of like a state within a state.

A social security system if you like.

The plantations of yore could only do this because they produced food and sugar to sell..

How productive is the mega plantation of today?

14. Miller…what we were discussing last night has grown unbelievably long legs…much longer than we thought.

15. @ Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 23, 2017 at 7:38 PM

What are you on about, WW&COB?

Has the inside job of bribe-taking and corruption among the very senior guards guarding the law-breakers taken a turn for the worse and the WC already filled with shit over-spilling into the DLP and BLP living rooms and about to hit the fan in the HoA?

16. Miller…hit the fan it has…resoundingly…lol

we have not seen yardfowls in days, big, big sign…..

….they seem stunned, speechless..they cant pretend anymore, all pretense is gone, stripped way.

they are not even bothering to come out and cuss out us, it`s really that bad….

you have no idea how badly am waiting for that one Carson Yardfowl to appear.

17. David September 23, 2017 at 4:11 PM

It would have been a good idea for the times i.e. maximizing limited resources IF the unions would have agreed. but it was never even considered

IF IT HAD BEEN DONE IN 91 WHILE DOING THEIR DELIVERIES THEN THESE PERSONS COULD HAVE BEEN TRAINED TO DO SIMPLE THINGS

Maybe you and all your siblings live abroad. Your moma does not admit to you that she is going down.
    WITHOUT UNDUE EFFORT THE POST MAN COULD SEE THAT YOUR MOMA HAS NOT BEEN SITTING ON THE PORCH AS SHE USUALLY DOES yesterday and today also

HE COULD CALL AND ENGAGE HER IN CONVERSATION CALL THE AMBULANCE OR GET SOCIAL WORKERS TO LOOK IN AND CALL YOU. WHATEVER IS NEEDED

And at the same time signing off on being a caring people. Ironically with the rise of electronic media the postman is fast becoming a redundant occupation.

SINCE THEN THEY HAVE BECOME REDUNDANT BUT THERE SOCIAL SERVICE exprtise WOULD BE COMING TO THE FORE BY NOW

THE POSTMEN WOULD HAVE A BETTER SENSE OF THEIR WORTH AND OUR ELDERLY WOULD HAVE AN EXTRA CARE GIVER OF SORTS
    a WIN WIN SITUATION
    I WAS WELL AHEAD OF THE GAME IN MY THINKING IT SEEMS

18. @John September 23, 2017 at 1:07 AM “There are two generations of Dupreys involved.”

So, the fruit did not fall far from the tree.

19. Duprey inherited the company from his uncle who built it, if memory serves me, who was nowhere near as greedy as he is…

20. @Georgie Porgie September 23, 2017 at 4:06 PM “was it not last year that we read in the local papers of an eldrly who had been dead for a whole year before she was discovered?”

Yes but, there is always a but. Had she not isolated herself from family, friends and neighbours? Sure the postman idea was a good one and I am sorry to hear that your good idea was stolen, but nowadays people do so much business online that a lot more of us will die unnoticed. The pension will go directly to the bank, and the utility comes will take their automatic share, and we will die unnoticed.

What we all need to do is to speak to our neighbours, get out of our cars, walk up the gap and say “morning” to your neighbours.

Better is a neighbor who is near than a brother far away. PROVERBS 27:10

21. @Sargeant September 23, 2017 at 5:58 PM “How can a senior member of the RBPF be under arrest and the news doesn’t merit a mention on the CBC evening news?”

Because nobody in under arrest.

But various media houses did mention that a person or persons unknown are being questioned.

22. @ Jeff Cumberbatch September 23, 2017 at 7:00 PM
    “Patois: Wheel and come again, kaaz wah yuh a seh nuh mek nuh sense
    English: Come with a better story because what you are saying doesn’t make any sense”

Aren’t we just dealing with a question of linguistic adaptation involving the homophonic corruption or ‘bastardization’ of the English word ‘Wield” (like in wield your linguistic gun or machete to prove that ‘the pen is mightier than the sword) to suit a West Indian interpretation and rejection of a real ‘cock and bull story’?

Probably the same way Bajans might say “God blind muh ( for Cor (or Gor) blimey), yuh only talking bare shite fuh trute!”

23. @John September 23, 2017 at 7:05 PM “The plantation fed, clothed, housed and provided medical care from cradle to grave. A social security system if you like. The plantations of yore could only do this because they produced food and sugar to sell.”

Cuh dear John. You int get it yet.

If the plantation was taking labour and paying no wages, and if the slaves were the ones forking, and hoeing, and weeding, AND reproducing the labour pool, and if they had to do this for hundreds of years then the food and shelter had to come from somewhere…and that somewhere was the very blood, sweat, labour and children of the enslaved people.

You keep trying to make it seem as though the plantations were some sort of benevolent places.

There were not.

My own mother born in the first quarter of the 20th century complained about working hours and hours of unpaid overtime. The plantations would hold parties and expect the cooks and maids to work until after midnight and would expect them back on the job by 6 to prepare the master’s tea…while the mistress was still drawn up in her bed.

i told you already to stop telling lies.

And if you want to pay me my mother’s unpaid overtime send me your name and address and i will send you an invoice…because she exploited as she was could not.

24. And since we are talking about exploitation and unpaid wages, how come the people at Mangrove Plantation (St. Peter) kept my grandmother weeding cane ground until the year she turned 80 and would not give her the paper she needed to claim her pension even though the pensionable age was 72, and when my father had to take a day off work from his sugar factory job to represent his mother of course he lost a day’s wages, even when he had small children at home to feed.

I int dead yet John.

25. John and his nastiness trying to return black people to the days of servitude, he might yet find himself with a hoe in his hand and his ass in a field being whipped to work sooner than he thinks……if not him, his children and and grandchildren going forward.will feel the weight.

26. Simple Simon

John is not telling lies…..plantations even to my day with Pelau owners did the same thing……what Bimmers have to understand is the unfortunate class divide as opposed to skin tone……and we looked after our workers.

27. @ Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 23, 2017 at 9:16 PM

White people can never be enslaved by blacks.

Not as long as blacks see “God” through the lens of a ‘white, prism made in the image of post Constantine European story writers of religious myths and tall tales superimposed on paganism and Sun worship.

28. @John September 23, 2017 at 7:05 PM “The plantation fed, clothed, housed and provided medical care from cradle to grave. A social security system if you like. The plantations of yore could only do this because they produced food and sugar to sell.”

@vincent haynesw September 23, 2017 at 9:23 PM Simple Simon As Rudder said it happened…deal with it.life has never been fair…make sure your Grands can turn the table with education.”

I was responding to John’s statement that plantation slavery was “a social security system”

It was not. Don’t worry about my children or grandchildren. Like my grandmother who was a very, very smart lady but who had no opportunities, my children and grand children are very, very smart. Unlike my grandmother my children and grandchildren have been granted many opportunities in the last 50 years, and they have made good use of such opportunities. They can survive and prosper here or anywhere else in the world.

29. @vincent haynesw September 23, 2017 at 9:19 PM “John is not telling lies…..plantations even to my day with Pelau owners did the same thing.”

Which is why we need strong labour laws, strong trade unions, and strong ENFORCEMENT of those labour laws…because we can never depend on the [fake] benevolence of the Johns and Vincents of this world.

30. Check out this hypocrite….all we want to know is will the minorities, the indians, whites, syrians and lebanese involved in the guns and ammunitions running and drug trade in Barbados be arrested and charged……

….when customs do their part, we dont want to hear ministers calling up the police and telling them not to arrest this minority or that minority that brought the drugs and guns knto the island…the ministers, politicians and other officials are a big part of the problem in facilitating and protecting their indian and white friends in the business community who are drug and gunrunners.

…..yall know who they are, ya rub shoulders with and are seen with them…

………amd we have not even addressed the human trafficking and money laundering yet..

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/100783/stop-gun-flow

“As guns continue to filter in through the Bridgetown Port, the latest batch a few weeks ago, Minister of Finance Christopher Sinckler is urging customs brokers to play their part in stemming the tide of illegal weapons.

He has promised that the Ministry of Finance, under which the Customs Department falls, will be putting up “the appropriate level of resources” to help lawmen in their fight against the illegal importation of guns.”

31. Miller…never say never, after decades of disenfranchisement, there comes a generation who will retaliate, because of the brainwash, docility and self imposed mental enslavement….better knowledge will ensure it comes to an end.

…it may not be this generation nor the next, but there will come a generation that will not tolerate black sellouts in government or in any layers of the society and will definitely not tolerate the mentalities of the minorities like John’s and Vincent’s who believe black people should always work for mediocre wages and serve them in a Black majority country…..they will get a very rude awakening.

It would be nice if we could witness the transition in the next decade, but that might be pushing it…they are not as mentally prepared as some of us are and are not yet ready….but happen it will.

Vincent is the nasties of plantation rats, he believes blacks should be his plantation workers only.., but his day will end….take away the begging bowl subsidies and he will have to sell the plantation and crawl into a hole somewhere…or go work for some black business person on the island…or get some minority indians and whites to do the manual labor. ……or import workers from the other islands and pray they don’t slit their throats fir theur nasty ways.

but that day he wants to relive so badly will end…and instead, him and his will be subjugated, which of course he will not mind, because he wants it for others.

32. @John and Simple Simon

Is there any major difference between the “social welfare” of the historical plantation and present Barbados? Not for me. The only slight difference is the fact that the slaves had not to pay their master in the past. The Barbadian taxpayer in the present must work from Monday to Sunday to survive AND must feed the many ministers, judges, high bureaucrats, pastors, QCs, government consultants and their families and courtesans. Working for what? For a tiny Japanese car for 40,000 USD and for a concrete hut at Coverley for 200,000 USD? That is no live. That is hell and slavery.

The taxpayer is the new slave, golf courses and Sandals are the new plantations.

33. Miller…who ever thought that racists and white supremacists would ever be hunted down like the savages and animals that they are in the US, no less, complete with financial rewards for their identities and eventually arrested, that is why we can never say never..

This is something positive to copy and apply to small island states where a minority still feels comfortable practicing racism and other crimes against a majority population.

“GOOD NEWS!

At almost 2am this morning we properly identified Dennis Lloyd Mothersbaugh – a lifelong white supremacist and skinhead – as the man who violently assaulted a non-violent woman in Charlottesville. This is him. We traced his criminal history back nearly 20 years. He has been convicted for violent hate crimes in Portland, Oregon and has served time for dozens of arrests and convictions in at least three different states. He has open cases right now.

This makes him the third white supremacist we have identified. The other two, Dan Borden and Michael Ramos, have already been arrested. Now, we need make sure authorities arrest Dennis Lloyd Mothersbaugh.

Now, we need you to contact authorities to make sure that he is properly arrested. We’ve done this before, and it worked, now we must do it again. Here are your action steps:

Here is the information you need: His Dennis Lloyd Mothersbaugh, age 38, of North Vernon Indiana. He violently assaulted this woman in Charlottesville – wearing weighted gloves – which is a felony. He is a convicted felon – with a violent past – including hate crimes – and nearly 30 arrests around the country. “

34. WANTED:

“We are starting a reward fund to help us bring Neo-Nazis and white supremacists to justice. Since the authorities seem unable or unwilling to do this work, we will do it. We already found two people and have brought them to justice. Let’s get back to work.”

What never happened in 400 years, can happen in 4 seconds…

35. Dementia is a sad affair especially when coupled with an original lack of knowledge.

I wish someone could get in the brainbox of the poor soul called WW&C and explain that Bim is not the USA,nor is it dependency of the said USA but an independent free island state occupied by Pelaus and governed by Pelaus.

Whatever infelicities that exist with the present Pelau govt will be solved by the Pelau public and not by the rantings of a madman from the USA.

36. For some reason, it irritates the hell out of me when VH goes on about these pelaus…. I gotta let it go…. When he say pelaus, start counting sheep, one, two, three

37. Theophilus Gazerts September 24, 2017 at 8:53 AM #

The truth will always irritate,hurt,anger etc,etc

The bald facts are that Bim’s majority population irrespective of melanin content or skintone are neither fish,fowl or good red herring in true Bimmer parlance but a mixture of all and some more…..the ingredients of a Pelau.

Live with it….no amount of denial will change it.

38. @ Vincent
    This ‘Pelau’ shiite that you keep referencing makes no sense. What is the relevance?
    If you want to emphasise how much you feel yourself to be ‘white’ … GO RIGHT AHEAD BOSS… You don’t have to feel guilty. but stop with the overbearing shiite talk do!!
    Practically everyone all over the damn world is the result of a blend of DNA. …But THAT is not the damn point being made in general….

All you need to do – if the issues being discussed are beyond you …is to keep your fingers off the damn keyboards ..and instead, try reading and understanding … or ASK (..But NOT John)!!

“pelau, pelau pelau” … Steupsss…
    Bushie agrees with Theophilus…!!

Shiite Man!!
    Yuh letting down the school…..

39. @Tron September 24, 2017 at 2:52 AM “Is there any major difference between the “social welfare” of the historical plantation…”

My father a very, very intelligent man used to say that “if ya start wrong, ya have to end wrong”

John is making it seem as though the plantation system in the Caribbean and the Americas was some kind of prototype of the Nordic social welfare states. Plantations were not social welfare states. John and Vincent are wrong, lying deluded. HUMAN BEINGS, mostly teenaged children were trafficked across the Atlantic Ocean for hundreds of years for the sole purpose of stealing their labour and the labour of their children and their children’s children for hundreds of years. John’s thesis is wrong, so no wonder he, and you, have reached the wrong conclusions

40. And to think that Vincent who is my peer is trying to justify the exploitation of my mother, who was forced to work–at parties–until after midnight, and was commanded to be on the job by 6 the next morning to make breakfast for a big man who would get up and sit for someone to prepare food and to put it on the table for for him. Why couldn’t he say to my young mother “come in at 8 or 9 tomorrow, I will prepare my own breakfast” especially since my young mother was not being paid overtime. Whether she worked 8 or 10 or 20 hours in a day she received the same wage.

And John is trying to justify that behaviour which took place in 1940’2 Barbados, and my mother who died in this 21st century is scarcely cold in her grave, and thee idiots are attempting to justify her exploitation.

The plantation system was brutally exploitive and no amount of dressing it up as a prototype of Northern European social democracy will change that. I think that John and Vincent and their parents would like to fool themselves that our parents and grandparents did not speak the truth to us and that we have no spoken the truth to our children and to our children’s children.

41. @Tron September 24, 2017 at 2:52 AM “Is there any major difference between the “social welfare” of the historical plantation and present Barbados? Not for me. The only slight difference is the fact that the slaves had not to pay their master in the past.”

You complete idiot. Sorry David blogmaster I know that I am not supposed to curse other bloggers. But I cannot allow this idiocy to remain unchallenged. I need to ask this idiot how could slaves pay their masters when the slaves were never paid any wages by their masters, when all of their labour was stolen for multiple generations.

42. @Vincent Haynes September 24, 2017 at 9:04 AM “The bald facts are that Bim’s majority population irrespective of melanin content or skintone are neither fish,fowl or good red herring in true Bimmer parlance but a mixture of all and some more…the ingredients of a Pelau.

Look at the Barbados census. The majority, that is 209,109 of Bajan people self identify as black. They have an option to self identify as mixed/pelau, but only 7,034 choose to do so. The majority choose to self identify as black. Nobody forces people to say black. And you Vincent cannot determine a person’s identity for them. You self identify as pelau. I and 209,109 Bajans self identify as black. The bald truth. Live with it.

http://www.barstats.gov.bb/files/documents/PHC_2010_Census_Volume_1.pdf
    See page 51

43. “I wish someone could get in the brainbox of the poor soul called WW&C and explain that Bim is not the USA,nor is it dependency of the said USA”

Vincent..Barbados was the clearing house and transshipment point for African slaves transported to USA…

it was also the stinking pit that created the slave codes to destroy millions of AFRICAN LIVES…IN THE USA……and the Caribbean, particularly Barbados..you evil sows cannot change that…deal with it…..

Condoleezza Rice can tell you her great, great, great x5…was a slave transported FROM BARBADOS…all African people in the US can say the same thing, except fir5 the indigenous BLACKS who were found in the US.

Deal with it..,

There is nothing called a pelau and never will be.., DEAL WITH THAT.

AFRICAN DESCENDANTS LIVE IN BARBADOS…not in pelau land….that is a figment of your racist imagination…, that will never come to fruition…until the day someone sells your sorry ass and that of your descendants, then it will come to fruition…but for you and yours.

44. And tobesides Vincent if I were you I would not feel so proud that my white male ancestors were mostly all child rapists. They forcibly had sex with teenaged girls in order to increase the labour force on their plantations.

That is nothing to be proud of.

Damned child rapists.

45. Vincent…you want throwing the hell off the island…you cannot determine how BLACK PEOPLE OF AFRICAN DESCENT SELF IDENTIFY…..just because you want to continue to tief their labor, their tax and pension money…….they are not children, they are adults with universal human rights.

……both you and BIZZY need to know your place.

The black governments need to enfirce laws to deal with you racist savages…there are International human rights laws in place that could lock up you minority racists on the island, they just need to be enforced…it’s time.

I

46. Vincent…you want throwing the hell off the island…you cannot determine how BLACK PEOPLE OF AFRICAN DESCENT SELF IDENTIFY…..just because you want to continue to tief their labor, their tax and pension money…….they are not children, they are adults with universal human rights.

……both you and BIZZY need to know your place.

The black governments need to enforce laws to deal with you racist savages…there are International human rights laws in place that could lock up you minority racists on the island, they just need to be enforced…it’s time.

I

47. Simple Simon September 24, 2017 at 10:21 AM #

I know you are not an idiot…..so why are you behaving like one?

How can stating facts be interpreted as agreeing or justifying something.

Kindly show me where I have justified the correctness of the dysfunctional system we grew up with or that I think this present system is any good.

It is for me to ensure that I and my progeny live by todays societal norms and the laws of the land.

You cannot right past wrongs as much as you try…….live with the facts…..move on as you have said your children have……the milk has been spilt…..finito.

48. Kindly show me where I have justified the correctness of the dysfunctional system we grew up with or that I think this present system is any good.

but i find it more than passing strange that neither you……. Vincent nor John…none of you are advocating to change the dysfunctional system….but would rather continue to misuse and exploit it to yours and your progeny`s advantage and to the disadvantage of the majority population and their progeny…well into the future…..explain that..

deal with that if you dare…… you cannot remake a whole population of people into the image you want them to be…… you will be violating the international charter of human rights….look it up..

and if Barbadoslazy governments with their endless useless lawyers would start taking the rights of the majority population seriously....no criminal minority could successfully violate the peoples right as a career from generation to generation…..for 2 generations.

this is something i will use certain quarters to push for…recognition of the universal human rights of the majority population in Barbados so those fundamental human rights can no longer be ignored, misused and abused by the minority population..

something good has to come out of this evil.

49. @Simple Simon September 24, 2017 at 10:04 AM #

All I am claiming is that the current economic situation in Bim is nearly as bad as in the 18th century. I am not defending ANY cruelty in the past. I am the first to advocate that the Brits must pay Reparation for their crimes against humanity.

However, the present disparity between the ruling black elite in their villas in the gated communities and their silver Mercedes with MP-plates and the black masses in their tiny huts at Coverley and elsewhere is nearly as big as between the white plantation owner and the black slaves in the dark past.

The Barbados black middle class is vanishing and will cease to exist within the next ten years. That is a fact.

50. Ah like the spin though…lol

It’s only going to get worse because it is worse…haha.

Ah wonder if trump did not come up with the term fake news…what would he be calling it., besides, the whole island already knows what is going on…even people in europe and north america already got the whole scoop…lol

“BLP smearing me and Lashley – Sinckler
    Added by George Alleyne on September 24, 2017.
    Saved under Local News
    Finance Minister Chris Sinckler has accused the Barbados Labour Party (BLP of starting a smear attack against him and fellow Cabinet Minister, Michael Lashley, that he said is part of an ongoing campaign to win the government.

Addressing a Democratic Labour Party City branch meeting at the Wesley Hall Junior School last evening, Sinckler accused BLP members and supporters of putting out fake news about him and Lashley because he said the two are regarded as difficult to move from office.

“There are certain people that they have identified that they feel stand in the way of them getting government, and I am one of them. So, they have started this campaign against me and Michael Lashley,” he said, adding, “this is a ‘Get Chris campaign’”.

Without identifying a specific item of false news, Sinckler said, “they [BLP activists] intend to put out a lot of fake news, nasty lying information, starting in other places outside of Barbados and migrating into the mainstream social in Barbados … trying their best to link me and other members of the Democratic Labour Party to criminal activities”.

“It’s going to get worse. This is not the only thing. They’re going to put out other stuff too …They want to undermine public confidence and trust in people,” he said.”

51. Lol…..ah guess the only person who believes Sinckler is Carson Yardfowl…hahaha

“BaJan boy
    September 24, 2017 at 4:31 pm
    CHRIS,CHRIS,CHRIS don’t blame no BLP did Ware bring a white Benz for you yes or no? Did he bring a black Range Rover for Lashley with the P four digets number plate which he has been driving around for the past months and serviced at Transtec. Have you moved from your mansion in Sandford to a Luxury Mansion in St. George . Did you write a cheque to Ware which was found in the car he was driving. Come on man these are the questions bajans want you as Minister to answer not the BLP. When it comes to lies you and Freundel have been caught more times than all of the politicians put together. From the lay offs to University tuition and I can go on. You like Freundel can’t fool bajans any longer about how good and decent the two of you are. They have seen for themselves. It is also clear you have not succeeded in learning on the job neithe did Freundel and bajans paid the price. Stop trying to impress the two of you should be ashamed to come to bajans and beg for a vote. Just call the elections.”

52. Someone needs to remnd Sinckler that in order for it to be libelous or defamatory, it needs to be untrue. Someone also needs to remind him of the requirement for full disclosure if he wants to go to court, unless of course he plans on adding perjury to his litany of misdeeds.

53. “It’s going to get worse. This is not the only thing. They’re going to put out other stuff too …”

Really Chris? We never knew there was more, but thanks for telling us. We look forward to discovering what else you have been up to.

54. The electorate has to take away the diplomatic passports of these 2 next year election, they are deathly afraid of losing their diplomatic status, losing it will mean they can be picked up for whatever they have been up to for nearly 10 years…….

…..and as he is saying, there is a lot more, he said it….vote all of them out and we will then know what they been doing, get rid of every minister of government.

55. WWC

Imagine he blaming the BLP and calling people like me a BLP activist. He is real real shite fuh trute tho. He feels that everything must come down to BLP or DLP. Well Chris, there are people out there who despise the BLP as much as they despise the DLP. The BLP is not responsible for the rumour, or Weare (he dead) or the fact that you might not be as clean as you trying to make belief. People are waking up the ruthlessness of bajan politicians. You think you all lies will be easily forgotten. You will lose your seat and so will Lashley, unless you both plan to spend a wash pan of money in buying votes.

56. @ Tron The Barbados black middle class is vanishing and will cease to exist within the next ten years. That is a fact.>

Just black middle class. No need to state black and white, in fact, too much comment divides when there is no need. Black, white, red, who cares.

What does matter, as you infer, is that the ‘middle class’ and progressives no longer exist. Will cease to exist? Who can afford much now?

57. I wonder, where were the journalists to ask the MP as to what rumours linking him to what activities.

We want to know, I am clueless as to this matter.

Where were the journalists to put him on the spot. Not just to write down what he said. That is not journalism.

58. ”has to take away the diplomatic passports”

Speaking generally and hypothetically, in some cases, foreign countries can simply refuse to accept a person entering, even on a diplomatic passport.

And speaking hypothetically, if one was involved in a criminal matter and a foreign country was well aware, likely they would find it hard to enter some countries, regardless of passport.

59. SSS…that BLP talk is a smoke screen to fool government supporters, all of them including BLP are up shit street with this one, he knows exactly what they all got into over the years…

…..they like to sell out the people, their people, too much and ended up selling out one too many times….

…..the other party is too busy with their own shitty fan to be worried about his accusations, cause they know everyone knows he is lying..lol

Crusoe…when international crimes are committed, people who dont have diplomatic passports are easier to arrest….ya really will have to wait this one out, too much going on, it has to unravel….too many moving parts..lol

The gap between rich and poor will widen, best description, unless ya get rid of the greedy fools, dont just talk…act.

60. Heather…this information on the international human rights everyone is entitles to….EVERYONE…needs to be disseminated across Barbados, particularly to the majority BLACK population who are nit aware they exist, cause neither government, most of whom are lawyers….felt they needed to know.

Many Bajans are not aware that they have universal human rights that are inalienable and irreversible,  maybe it’s time for the Black majority population in Barbados to research those rights under universal and international laws and if they realize their rights have been and still are being violated by the two uncaring black governments, when they allowed a minority population of people to violate the majority’s rights for the last 50 years for financial gain, the people should know they also have a right do something about it, to expose any violations of their international human rights and seek redress.

Appendix 5: 
    The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (abbreviated) 

Article 1 Right to Equality
    Article 2 Freedom from Discrimination
    Article 3 Right to Life, Liberty, Personal Security
    Article 4 Freedom from Slavery
    Article 5 Freedom from Torture and Degrading Treatment
    Article 6 Right to Recognition as a Person before the Law
    Article 7 Right to Equality before the Law
    Article 8 Right to Remedy by Competent Tribunal
    Article 9 Freedom from Arbitrary Arrest and Exile
    Article 10 Right to Fair Public Hearing
    Article 11 Right to be Considered Innocent until Proven Guilty
    Article 12 Freedom from Interference with Privacy, Family, Home and Correspondence
    Article 13 Right to Free Movement in and out of the Country
    Article 14 Right to Asylum in other Countries from Persecution
    Article 15 Right to a Nationality and the Freedom to Change It
    Article 16 Right to Marriage and Family
    Article 17 Right to Own Property
    Article 18 Freedom of Belief and Religion
    Article 19 Freedom of Opinion and Information
    Article 20 Right of Peaceful Assembly and Association
    Article 21 Right to Participate in Government and in Free Elections
    Article 22 Right to Social Security
    Article 23 Right to Desirable Work and to Join Trade Unions
    Article 24 Right to Rest and Leisure
    Article 25 Right to Adequate Living Standard
    Article 26 Right to Education
    Article 27 Right to Participate in the Cultural Life of Community
    Article 28 Right to a Social Order that Articulates this Document
    Article 29 Community Duties Essential to Free and Full Development
    Article 30 Freedom from State or Personal Interference in the above Rights

61. @Crusoe September 24, 2017 at 7:28 PM #

Agreed.

Everybody is sinking deeper and depper. The catastrophic status of the roads and sanitary services, the climbing prices for food, goods and services, the many downgrades, the capital flight and the Crop Over massacre damage the whole society.

Indeed, there is no black and white policy for Barbados, but only good and bad policy. The “plantation” of the 21st century is nothing else than a chiffre for the failed economic and financial policy during the last ten years.

62. Annel charged with various things, regarding unlawful possession of ammunition. Remanded in custody. Bail application will be made to the high court at 4 this evening. Johnnie Cheltenham is his lawyer,

63. @Crusoe September 24, 2017 at 7:28 PM “Again I ask, I want a plantation. Like the singer sung his song. How to get it?”

i want one too. When you figure out how to get one, let me know so that I can get one too.

64. Mark White of the Barbados police fraud squad left a money scent that was picked up by his comrades at the police department. With numerous complaints being made against Mark White and with him building a million-dollar structure, all eyes were on Mark and the police wanted to know where he got all his money! They opened a file on him and brought him in for questioning.

Naked, before things could really heat up, Mark got ‘sick’ and produced a doctor’s certificate and off to ‘sick leave’ he went. They can’t do a thing until he is cleared by his doctor.

So, in the meantime, taxpayers are paying his salary while he sits it out (for months on end now) at home and builds that huge church in Southern Heights … to the chagrin of neighborhood residents. If you ask Mark White where he’s getting all that money from to build that big church, the pastor in him would talk in tongues alluding to the fact that his god can work in miraculous ways.

The only miracle we see is Mark White not being in jail! The only miracle is how he’s managed to be the biggest fraud while heading the Barbados fraud squad.

People want to know how much longer that COVERLEY MEDICAL CENTRE doctor is going to provide Mark White gold tooth Pastor with a sick certificate to avoid police questioning. He is not sick and doctor(s) who provide(s) these certificates need to be in the spotlight!! Let the doctor working out of Coverley know that it is ILLEGAL and a CRIMINAL OFFENSE, punishable by a fine or JAIL TIME, to give sick certificates to healthy people.

65. LOL
    WHAT A NAUGHTY DR
    I NOTICE ONE OF THE GREAT SICK LEAVE DRS OF BDOS DR K R WAS BURIED RECENTLY

LEARN THIS AS I DID IN 1982 ……..IF YOU DONT GIVE SICK LEAVE SOMEONE ELSE WILL.. TRUE TRUE LOL

66. @Georgie Porgie September 25, 2017 at 7:14 PM “LOL WHAT A NAUGHTY DR”

What?

Ya lie!!!

There can’t be such a thing as a naughty doctor.

No way.

67. LOL SIMON LOL
    YOU BETTER BELIEVE IT MY FRIEND
    IN 99 3 DRS SEND HOME ALMOST THE WHOLE POLICE FORCE HEAR
    THEY LEFT 3 GAZETTED OFFICERS
    AT LEAST THAT IS WHAT I WAS TOLD BY THE MAN WHO WAS 3RD FROM THE TOP AT THE TIME

Leave a comment, join the discussion.