Steven Weare, murdered in Barbados
People get ready, there’s a train a comin’
You don’t need no baggage, you just get on board
All you need is faith, to hear the diesels hummin’
Don’t need no ticket, you just thank the Lord! – Curtis Mayfield
I now have a firm belief that the Commissioner of Police is a praying man. I can even picture him on bended knee, night after night talking to God. We all Know that God answers prayers in the strangest way his wonders to perform. For the strangest of things has happened to cause one to marvel especially when we thought that nothing would happen.
Sometime ago in the midst of criminal problems facing the island, the Commissioner of Police lamented that his hands were tied. One could have taken his statement to mean that political interference was preventing him from undertaking his constitutionally bound duties of solving crime, apprehending criminals, fighting corruption and raging a battle against illegal fire arms and drugs.
One can now recall that since the national conversation again turned to illegal firearms, murder and violence that some politicians have been noticeably quiet. Even the Prime Minister of Barbados did not address or bring to the table any solutions that would impact or negate the action of those who were importing drugs and firearms into the country.
Then all of a sudden, an Englishman was murdered and it was not just a crime. It was a crime that exposed several crimes. The murder of the Englishman opened Pandora’s Box not only in Barbados but internationally as it is alleged that all involved are now connected to a ring of drugs, fire arms, car theft, bribery and money laundering. The sex, lies and video tapes are yet to be discovered. What is unfolding seems reminiscent of a script of some movie on an exotic island but alas it is not; it is unfolding right in Bim.
The Commissioner is now the most powerful man in Barbados. Along with the burden of Pandora’s Box came the relief of a Scotland Yard investigation. This crime can be the leverage that he uses to his advantage to untie his hands. It is he who is responsible for gathering evidence. It is he who will decide if the guilty will be brought before the Court of Law and be prosecuted. Most of all, it is he who will have to decide that his words and actions are not egregiously misaligned. One will therefore find out if he has the balls to untie his hands or sweep this muck under the carpet. One hopes that he will remember to show no mercy to the merciless and unscrupulous persons who are bent on destroying Barbados for personal gain.
We all know the facts that have been reported in the newspaper. Five men have been arrested for the murder of an Englishman who was residing in Barbados. It is alleged that the Englishman was importing stolen vehicles for resale onto the Barbadian Market. It is also alleged that he was involved in the guns and drug trade as well as money laundering. Furthermore, there are allegations that recently, 7 vehicles were imported by the Englishman for 2 members of the ruling Administration. It is alleged that no duties were paid on vehicles imported by the deceased thereby defrauding the government of import duties.
Then there is the politics of this all. How does and will this impact politics in Barbados? With eight months to go one would have believed that DLP would have held onto power until elections were constitutionally due. Now I have my doubts. All is in crisis. An Englishman was murdered and his death has turned Barbados upside down. Will this all lead to a constitutional crisis? What if anything does the Constitution say about such actions if the allegations bear fruit? Will the Prime Minister open his mouth to utter a word about corruption at the heart of his government or is he too consumed making allegations of elitism against the Leader of the Opposition to have discovered what has been happening under his watch? One cannot help but wonder what would happen if we had an extradition treaty with the UK. Could the conspirators be somehow extradited? When will the Cabinet implode? When will the election be called?
Now the Commissioner of Police does not hold appointment but this fate can be sealed by the politicians just as occurred to the previous holder of his position. But this Commissioner now has Scotland Yard at his disposal. He does not have a crystal ball to see the future in terms of predicting what will happen but for now he now has the ability to shape it. To shape his future with respect to having his hands free of political interference to perform his duties. The guilty will seek cover. While they could have prevailed in home grown inquiry where the outcome would be swept under the carpet, not so with a Scotland Yard investigation.
While I do not know the extent or the context of the investigation, one can only envisage that the opening of this Pandora’s box may well be like the tip of an iceberg. How could the nation have elected persons who have placed a yoke of economic strangulation on the necks of their children and willfully fed then a steady diet of drugs, guns and violence? At the end of it all, the Commissioner must report to the people of Barbados regarding his investigation and bring the guilty to justice. When all is said and done, I firmly believe that the Commissioner said “thank the Lord” so let us get ourselves ready for the general elections.
@Simple Simon September 22, 2017 at 2:27 AM “So since we know that you are not a university professor, and since we know that you are not too smart, then who the hell are you?”
Understand people that I have no interest in knowing who Insider is.
However I am questioning his integrity.
Because the truth is, a person is willing to lie publicly about something as defining as his profession, as the way he earns his living, who knows what he are willing to lie about and to do in private?
So no my response is NOT simplistic. It is in fact a well REASONED response, based on an understanding of human behaviour.
I am neither “B” for “D”
I don’t know Caswell. I’ve never met him, not even in passing on Broad Street.
The truth is, if money is the life blood of the political class, only the business class can cut off the blood supply of the politicians.
And BOTH the business class and the political class must stop blaming the ordinary, decent hard working class of Barbadians.
If drug dealers and drug users are caught in a destructive marriage, the question is who will initiate the NECESSARY divorce?
If the political class and the business class are caught in a abusive marriage, the question is who will initiate the NECESSARY divorce?
“Griffith will not go after corrupt politicians because the DLP put him in office. By all accounts, he is a very loyal man.”
And that blind, misdirected loyalty is destroying the island, despite being put in office by a corrupt government….it’s the taxpayers pay Griffith’s salary, not the ministers, not government….his loyalty should be to the taxpayers of the country….the citizens, someone has to be loyal to them, because the government is not,.
The truth is, if money is the life blood of the political class, only the business class can cut off the blood supply of the politicians.
Here is another way to look at it.
Taxes supply money and they come from everybody.
We are now witnessing the obscenity that our taxes will be used to revive CLICO.
The argument is that it would be a pity to watch a “black” business fail.
The 10’s of thousands of Caribbean people who have been shafted will be shafted again.
The Ministry of Fine Ants recently complained that people need to pay taxes otherwise GOB can’t respond to the crises of a major hurricane.
It is true !!!!!
… but, if the taxes go to CLICO, then the GOB is still in a mess, Barbados is in a mess … and CLICO ….. smiling all the way to the bank.
A way to look at is that GOB is the conduit through which flows the real money in Barbados.
The “business man” understands this and looks to get some of it diverted to him through fair means or foul.
Turns out Duprey been doing it to all governments in the Caribbean for a couple of generations!!
The ideology that we have to help the poor black man out is at the root of the corruption.
@Caswell “Bushie…once said that he slapped my head at Combermere. There were only two such persons and I beat the crap out of them. (Nobody dared after that). I think that I must have given Bushie too many blows about the head, that might be responsible for what he writes.”
The damage that blows to the head can cause
http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/football/aaron-hernandez-fiancee-suing-patriot-nfl-article-1.3511905
I am beginning to see why there is so much bad decision making ’bout this place, from the political class, to the business class, to the boys on the block–many, many of wunna received way too many blows to the head during childhood, and blows to the head ESPECIALLY in childhood can cause irreversible brain damage.
No wonder the women are leffin’ wunna behind. The women have never embraced this foolish colonialist practice.
Why would anybody with sense strike a child on the head? And why would any parent or any teacher, principal, Minister of Education, or Ministry of Education condone this practice—unless they too suffered multiple head slaps in childhood.
I am going to posit that most of those we see on here preaching race are agents of this process.
Some became devotees during the brainwashing phase in the 1960’s and do actually believe it passionately and don’t understand the process.
But its real reason is to divert the taxes Governments in the Caribbean collect to activities that do not work for the common wealth.
“The ideology that we have to help the poor black man out is at the root of the corruption.”
The ideology that the government has to help the minority business people out with contacts read, Coe, Bizzy, Bjerkham, Maloney etc, subsidies, taxpayer’s and pensioners money by the hundreds of millions of dollar IS AT THE ROOT OF ALL THE CORRUPTION IN Barbados…..stop lying John…you lowlife…
The fact that the same minority business people use that same money they tief from taxpayers and pensioners, to re-bribe the same black governments for more corruption and bribery, each and every election…is destructive.
That corruption has been ongoing for over 3 decades…that is what destroyed the island, extortion, bribery and corruption…ya lying sack of shit.
The same ones being question, if they had a gram of intelligence, would call every name involved in criminal activities in the minority and majority population…. particularly in government….all the greedy rats who partake in stealing from the population, trafficking and committing crimes, destroying black communities, just so they can buy yachts and houses and hide their tiefing money in overseas accounts in Argentina and everywhere else.
@John September 22, 2017 at 9:05 AM “We are now witnessing the obscenity that our taxes will be used to revive CLICO.”
I agree that it is an obscenity that the political class plans to use our tax money to revive CLICO, the business of the Prime Minister’s friend. I have a close friend, a black WOMAN who was separated from CLICO well before the sh!t hit the fan. She is NOT nor does she want to be Leroy’s friend, Freundel’s friend, or the late David Thompson’s friend. This fren-fren thing is at the root of corruption, not as you think the black skins of Barbados’ majority people. The separation came about because she REFUSED to break the law and sign off on CLICO’s Flexible Executive Annuities. At the time she had two children in university. Still she refused to break the law. At the time David Thompson was Prime Minister and Leroy Parris’ best buddy, now he is the best buddy of our Prime Minister. Still she refused to break the law. She did not let herself be intimidated by political power, or by financial power. Somebody needs to ask why were decent people leaving CLICO, and then all of us need to listen to their response.
@John September 22, 2017 at 9:08 AM “The ideology that we have to help the poor black man out is at the root of the corruption.”
Disagree with this. You cannot locate the problem in the black community. Even when there were few black people in business the white business community existed in a cesspool of corruption. What can we call slavery John except state enabled corruption? And up to 1951 John, the STATE was the white Barbados business community. So no. We the decent hard working black people of Barbados WILL NOT TAKE the blame. The political class so much wanted to be just like wunna, the powerful land owning, law making class and now that they have become just like wunna, you complaining?
Behold your children.
However there are plenty of poor black men, and poor black WOMEN trying to start up and run decent profitable businesses.
@ John September 22, 2017 at 9:11 AM #
I am going to posit that most of those we see on here preaching race are agents of this process.
Confession is good for the soul.
@John September 22, 2017 at 9:08 AM “A way to look at is that GOB is the conduit through which flows the real money in Barbados. The “business man” understands this and looks to get some of it diverted to him through fair means or foul.
I have ZERO respect for so called businessmen–and yes they are mostly MEN– who seeks to divert the taxpayers money into his bank account through foul means.
That behaviour is INEXCUSABLE.
I have a bright idea: How about spending the taxpayers money on the taxpayers and on their children?
They are coming for your wicked ass John, you and your ilk..
“John Mark Annel spent the last fews days sleeping in a jail cell there in Barbados. The guns and ammunition found at his home is a small matter. The big questions are:
Will he tell all he knows (and he knows a lot)?
Will he give up the names of politicians and the names of the white minority criminals on the island?
Is John Mark Annel linked to the deceased/murdered, Steven Weare?”
Disagree with this. You cannot locate the problem in the black community
I am not.
The ideology is a falsehood.
It is a means to an end, a tool to destablise and divide.
Governments in most Caribbean states have done more damage to their respective economies than any Category 5 Hurricane could ever do.
Look at Guyana.
More have got up and left that Caribbean State than any other … then there is Jamaica!!
…. and Guyana gets no hurricanes!!
Long ago the late Pierre Trudeau referred to such businessmen–and here I include the Canadian banks which charge up to 22% interest rates in a captive market–as corporate welfare bums.
A mother on welfare at least produces and nurtures a living human being who may grown up to be of some use to the world.
What the hell do tiefing “businessmen” and their equally tiefing political “friends” do to add value to Barbados?
“understands this and looks to get some of it diverted to him through fair means or foul.”
The hypocrite John should call it what it is, the minority business people and others have been using criminal means to tief the people’s money for decades, time to put them in handcuffs, by fair or foul means…..once and for all.
How was race used in Guyana to destabilise?
@Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 22, 2017 at 9:22 AM “That corruption has been ongoing for over 3 decades.”
What 3 decades are you talking about?
Corruption has been going on in Barbados since 1627.
Barbados was birthed in the corruption of slavery, indentured labour, greed, and political corruption when the state/plantocracy, for hundreds of years one and the same, used its might to brutally exploit the majority black people.
@ Watchman September 22, 2017 at 7:51 AM
“@ Caswell Franklyn
You are getting slow ,” The Insider” businessman /importer, check Gibbs by Cheapside market, and connect the …………..”
You are not called “Watchie” for nothing. With the eyes of an eagle and a lighthouse for a spotlight you are fully deserving of your moniker worn like a mask befitting the phantom of the foxy Zorro.
You have connected those dots to the very ‘G” spot of double-dealing in the nasty game political party funding to ensure ‘even odds’ of a loaded head or guaranteed tail in the roulette wheel of government contracts.
No wonder the same “Insider” sees the writing on the wall for his last beneficiary of vote buying largesse but is still not prepared to squeal on his porcine-looking friend in case he too is exposed as a ‘commercial’ facilitator in the Red Sea scandal of ‘alleged’ drugs, guns and vehicles smuggling.
There is no Bro(o)m (e) so well made as to sweep out the corners of corruption in Barbados from the very top of the surveillance pigeon co(o)p to the dirty gutter leading to the boys on the block.
It is amusing and at the same time sad, to see two supposedly intelligent contributors spend so much time, effort and energy attacking each other. Rather than invest their intellect in commenting on the matter under discussion and offering commentary and insight for the benefit of us lesser mortals, they have chosen instead to bicker.
We are not the problem people so don’t let us attempt to destroy each other.
@John September 22, 2017 at 9:08 AM “A way to look at is that GOB is the conduit through which flows the real money in Barbados.”
You don’t have to tell me this. Hundreds of thousands of MY MONEY have gone into that bottomless pit. And contrary to what the Minister of Finance said lately that none of us like to pay taxes. Some of us do LIKE paying taxes. However we become very, very angry when our money is used to enrich the political and business class, instead of being used for the upliftment of the taxpayers and their children.
It makes me sick to think that this government has created policies which have excluded thousands of young Bajans from university education and yet the political class can use our tax money to rescue the businesses of their friends.
Why do you think that in my old age I am catching the ZR’s and have Bush Tea on here constantly laughing at me for doing so.
Simple Simon, not of the political class, not of the business class, but of the tax paying class.
The fact is that Tyrone is still acting Commissioner of Police.He is therefore serving at the will of the political paymaster.He has to do as told.This lot couldn’t do it to Dottin.Ask Mayers who got a big pay day writing some crap with a price tag of $300,000.00!He ain’t no Pro Roy Marshall who worked for zilch!But back to Tye P.He has been made pliant and compliant by the indecisive ugly man from bob marley vale.Awaken me when this lot get their asses kicked out of Bay Street.If Ann Hill get arrested,they better make sure she don’t spill her guts at Dodds.
Many are called… but a few are selected….
I suspect you have been reading your Bible!!
Not very original!!
We are not the problem people so don’t let us attempt to destroy each other.
When you begin to appreciate the way the politics of division you will realise what is really going on!!
He is a superintendent with the queen's police department. He's the MAFIA head involved in the Guyanese prostitution ring in Barbados, which caught the steady gaze of the American FBI.
if he is being looked at by FBI…that is the best thing that could have happened for him and the island, it may just save his life, he better call every damn name, leaving out none.
When you pass MTW, look at the equipment that is lying down in their yard below the old BWA building.
I haven’t done so for a while and perhaps they have scrapped it all by now but imagine the fate of any private sector business that treated its expensive moneymaking equipment like that.
I have been all over Barbados walking.
In my early days I came across all sorts of Caterpillar Tractors abandoned in the Scotland District …. the Soil Conservation Experiment.
The waste has been obscene.
@Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 22, 2017 at 9:22 AM “That corruption has been ongoing for over 3 decades.”
What 3 decades are you talking about?
Barbados was birthed in the corruption of slavery, indentured labour, greed, and political corruption.
When the state/plantocracy, for hundreds of years was one and the same and used its might to brutally exploit the majority black people, and the white indentured servants–Rihanna’s people–I know some of the descendants of the white indentured servants and they are decent hard working people.
John… stop talking rubbish, the day stupid black governments on the island realize it is not in the people
s or the island
s best interest to give minorities subsidies, contracts or loans when they slither up to ministers with fake smiles, scams, cons and lies, while holding out begging bowls…the quicker they will see the majority population and island prosper to unimaginable heights….yall are parasites and thieves and should be treated as such.
`Corruption has been going on in Barbados since 1627.
Barbados was birthed in the corruption of slavery, indentured labour, greed, and political corruption when the state/plantocracy, for hundreds of years one and the same, used its might to brutally exploit the majority black people.`
it has since been refined Simple,what we are seeing is modern day corruption with overt racism, minus the physical brutality, outside the rare physical attack like with Bizzy
s white savage manager on the black customer, or when the white female made herself scarce by going into a black man
s house for couple day`s, the halfassed minorities attacked a plantation worker….the corruption we are seeing is well orchestrated by black ministers and white, indian, syrian minorities, that ist he only thing they can agree on and like about each other….robbing the majority population blind.
@Bush Tea September 22, 2017 at 4:59 AM “Steupsss…and which policemen would solicit a bribe from a silly woman who catches the ZR to and fro…? ”
I hate to distract from the seriousness of the discussion…but lest you forget know that 50, 40, 30 years back I was a beautiful, sexy young thing.
And no. NONE, NOT ONE of our police officers have EVER indecently propositioned me, never asked any favours of me,
Some in the business communities behave like whores [acting as if their integrity is for sale] and then act surprised when they are treated just like whores they are.
who is Ann Hill..
We would like to know how anybody in Barbados could have any semblance of personal ‘integrity’ when all the national institutions have been corrupted, for decades, by official corruption.
We are a nation of crooks!
Then there are those who would presume to question the ‘integrity’ of a whistle-blower. This egotistical approach is the opposite of what happens in ‘developed’ countries where people like ‘Insider’ are paid handsomely for revealing corruption and cooperating with the authorities
to stamp it out. Sometimes tens of millions of dollars, and rightly so!
There can be no set of considerations where we would not side with the ‘Insider’. Where can he go to make a complaint? Only a fool would presume that the officials in our government don’t know what everybody on the streets already know, have known.
In fact making a complaint to any institution in Barbados about official corruption is no better than complaining to the Devil about Satan.
Certainly “insider’ nor any other businessman/woman should not now shoulder the entire responsibility of creating fair conditions for doing business. That job must be the responsibility of all the crooks in Barbados who benefit from the day to day systems of corruption, crime.
But instead of thinking about setting up a citizens run public tribunal to document official corruption and lay charges on the systems of crime in our country, people are more interested in proving they are holier than thou art. The only honest people in all of Gideon.
We have had successive governments which continue to raise taxes/levies to astronomical levels. To the point where they are now subject to the laws of diminishing marginal returns.
And one of the main causal reasons for these onerous taxes is the leakages, at source, caused by official corruption within the operations of government revenue collection agencies – the customs department, etc.
Barbados imports almost everything. Corruption at the ports of entry means corruption of the entire society whether we recognize it or not.
In these circumstances, not one fucking person in Barbados has any integrity.
Psychologists hears all of the stories of the wicked and confused, but there is the mattter of doctor/patient confidentially
@Insider Exposing the Local Underworld September 21, 2017 at 3:03 PM “For Caswell attention I am a University Professor at an International Institution.”
Let us hope that Insider’s international university is not Trump University or one of its clones. Something conceived by a poorly educated person, and designed to funnel money from the pockets of gullible people into the bank accounts of the rich white boys, or black boys, or “pelau” boys. Becausin’ when people are hungry for other people’s money they will do anything.
https://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/19/us/politics/trump-university.html
Donald Trump Agrees to Pay $25 Million in Trump University Settlement
@Bush Tea September 22, 2017 at 4:59 AM “we have holier-than-thou ‘saints’ ”
So you have a problem with me being a saint?
So wha’ happen? You think that your BBE only one adopted sons?
You don’t know that in his many mansions reside his daughters made in his own image?
@Gabriel September 22, 2017 at 9:59 AM “The fact is that Tyrone is still acting Commissioner of Police.He is therefore serving at the will of the political paymaster.”
No he is not.
But if he thinks so, then yes indeed we are in deep shit.
Ty-Pea I hope understands that he is serving at the will of the ordinary people whose taxes pay his salary.
Knew Ty-Pea when he was a little fella in short pants. I haven’t seen him in more than 40 years. I hope that he understands that WE paying HE.
BT
How much of Simple Simon’s tax dollar would you support being given to NLICO … New Life Insurance Company ….. or according to Afra Raymond … Nubian Life Insurance Company … to see it resurrected?
How an article defending colonialism was ever published is a mystery roiling academia
https://www.thestar.com/news/gta/2017/09/21/how-an-article-defending-colonialism-was-ever-published-is-a-mystery-roiling-academia-paradkar.html
The reaction was explosive, targeted at both the article and the journal’s decision to publish it. A petition calling for the article’s retraction gathered more than 10,000 signatures. On Tuesday, roughly half of the journal’s 34 editorial board members resigned in protest. Two researchers writing for a London School of Economics blog called the piece “a travesty, the academic equivalent of a Trump tweet, clickbait with footnotes. That it appeared in a respected journal devoted to anti-colonial politics, made it “the equivalent of a journal devoted to Holocaust studies publishing that the Holocaust didn’t happen,” according to Ilan Kapoor, a York University professor at the Faculty of Environmental Studies, who was one of the board members who quit. “Gilley says he is simply asking for an unbiased assessment of the facts, that he just wants us to take off our ideological blinders and examine colonialism from an empirical perspective,” writes Nathan Robinson in a scathing piece in Current Affairs.
“But this is not what he has done. Instead … (he has concealed) evidence of gross crimes against humanity.” For instance, he omits any mention of the first 300 years of Western colonization because it’s “impossible to spin it,” as beneficial to native populations, says Robinson. Or he quotes a Congolese man saying, “Maybe the Belgians should come back” and entirely bypasses Belgian King Leopold’s reign of terror in the Congo.”
This piece is for your enlightenment John.
And you too Vincent.
`Corruption has been going on in Barbados since 1627.
Barbados was birthed in the corruption of slavery, indentured labour, greed, and political corruption when the state/plantocracy, for hundreds of years one and the same, used its might to brutally exploit the majority black people.`
it has since been refined Simple,what we are seeing is modern day corruption with overt racism, minus the physical brutality, outside the rare physical attacks, like with Bizzys white savage manager on the black customer, or when the white female made herself scarce by going into a black mans house for couple day`s, the halfassed minorities attacked a plantation worker….
the corruption we are seeing is well orchestrated by black ministers and white, indian, syrian minorities, that is the only thing they can agree on and like about each other….robbing the majority population blind.
“”No he is not.
But if he thinks so, then yes indeed we are in deep shit.
Ty-Pea I hope understands that he is serving at the will of the ordinary people whose taxes pay his salary.
Knew Ty-Pea when he was a little fella in short pants. I haven’t seen him in more than 40 years. I hope that he understands that WE paying HE.”
My point exactly, what political paymasters what, if that is the case, the Yard should sit on his ass indefinitely, since he cant tell the differnce of who pays his salary….which means he is a mere garden variety yardfowl to ministers and totally useless to taxpayers.
What the government should be doing is start negotiations with the trini government, they own CL Financial at this time, the parent company to tiefing CLICO/NILCO, same difference, the trini government just got the right and green light to sell CL Financial….
.,,,,,the Barbados government should be negotiating how much the policyholders are owed by tiefing NILCO so that CL Financial can pay what they owe, reimbursing taxpayers their money currently earmaked to pay NILCO victims….
……so that government ministers don’t tief and pocket the money when paid out by CL Financial…because so far….they are not saying a word about the repayment by CL Financial.., which means they are keeping it a secret, a big, dirty secret….to tief.
John September 22, 2017 at 11:35 AM “BT How much of Simple Simon’s tax dollar would you support being given to NLICO … New Life Insurance Company ….. or according to Afra Raymond … Nubian Life Insurance Company … to see it resurrected?”
Why you asking Bush Tea?
Surely you know that I am quite capable of speaking for myself.
I would prefer that none of my tax money, NONE be given to CLICO, the company of the Prime Minister’s friend.
And that NONE be given to the business community either, cut the subsidies, cut the transfers, cut the sweet heart deals. Let businesses succeed or fail on their merits or demerits.
However I am willing to buy good quality goods and services at a fair price.
And no I have never bought anything from CLICO. I had no faith in what they were selling.
Watch out for dirty businessmen, says former anti-corruption czar | Barbados Today
Watch out for dirty businessmen, says former anti-corruption czar
If there are corrupt public officers in Barbados, they are being facilitated by dirty private sector businessmen and women who are prepared to bribe them for…
barbadostoday.bb
https://l.facebook.com/l.php?u=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.barbadostoday.bb%2F2017%2F09%2F21%2Fwatch-out-for-dirty-businessmen-says-former-anti-corruption-czar%2F&h=ATOaLvYz_23gJnh59vfHiQpxW42ntHpnkgJ09NtKiU8j4E4K7x2TQ-rsppliDPO_ZlYxxb2C43Z5YxEX7eLwaBtw8vcv25iTBQcfPRaXDcP75CwmncD5rwQ6TbEE_rWk2HZ57m0gIGcG2mnevbygKm48ueslKVriecYnzRJE1T7RmfQp7IEyv4ymppMf2Uoq2TJV9IueMwxpm5BuR6Aa2dUBfogcKwax72CQ8zsHZp-556Y7f-yVTuJQmZRbvnr8H_WtM-jSmDfFQeyOyBKoNsCDV24
With one huge difference!!
No money in circulation!!!
So, the corruption was where the money was … duties collected on exports!!
I did find an example of petty corruption in the book by John Poyer.
Two MP’s in the 1700’s proposed a national lottery.
The assembly defeated the motion.
So they went and involved other members …. kind of like the modern day “politics of collusion”
Motion passed.
It was petty because people in Barbados at that time had little discretionary income.
I think Lascelles was an example and I suspect Harewood, no doubt there were others who dipped into the taxes and made fortunes.
Strictly speaking they did it out of sugar.
Point is, they went where the money was, kind of like today.
We have an over inflated Government which exists on deficit financing …. that’s another difference.
Why you asking Bush Tea?
Now, that is a very interesting question from which much can be learned?
BT’s answer will be more interesting!!
John and Vincent relish in the brutality and crimes against humanity directed at the African race, in their minds, as long as they and their ilk benefitted from it financially, still using scams to benefit from the black population today, it was ok….
But just as we see neo nazis, racists, alt right and white supremacists being locked up now, being denied jobs and chased out of society….so too will the Johns and Vincents be, the best way to start is to stop giving them welfare contracts, subsidies and loans from taxpayer and pensioners money, stop working fir them completely…..let them and their furture generations go look for work, manual labor…let them work for black business people, it will build character, they have none.
For those wishing for a return of colonialism. I expect that they think that other people’s children will be the victims, and they will be the victors. What if it is your 5 yaer old who gets her hand chopped off? What if it is your wife? Your mother/
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Congo_Free_State
Congolese children and wives whose fathers or husbands failed to meet rubber collection quotas were often punished by having their hands cut off
Simple Simon September 22, 2017 at 11:57 AM #
Chuckle…..I know you are not simple as my buddy does not associate with simple people and your comprehension skills are excellent based on how you analyse posts on this blog.
Question for you……why are you misrepresenting me?
Where have I ever supported the iniquitous,heinous,brutal,de-humanising transatlantic slave trade.
I know you read the Nation….look at todays pg 14 and read the letter penned by Michael Rudder,whom I suspect you know,those are also my sentiments…..especially the following:-
quote…..”We are enjoined to learn from history so as not to repeat the undesirable aspects of it,and so I and millions of others have moved on. Is it only those who keep holding up the rear view mirror of the past that want to keep us wedded to that part of our history?”…..end quote
I await your response.
Don’t know Mike Rudder although I think that we passed each other on Broad Street once.
I am not, repeat NOT, a member or supporter of the BLP.
Nor a member or supporter of the DLP.
Doan get tieup.
Will read Mike shortly.
Simple Simon September 22, 2017 at 12:27 PM #
Neither am I a member of the DLP or the BLP………what has your denial to do with your misrepresentation of me?
I am far from getting tie up……
WW&COB @10.19a&10.40a
Connect the dots.You are intelligent enough.
Just heard MAM on VOB news @12.30p.That is what leadership is about.I couldn’t help but wonder where these wild boys come from.They just have no effing class so Mottley would always be a target.Mottley’s grandfather was born into a labouring class environment.Like every intelligent bajan he was not satisfied to stay there.He moved and brought his off spring with him.If every black bajan did similarly,buhbaydus would have to import labour.
Back to Dominica,Barbados should have assumed a leadership role in getting Dominica back on its feet IMMEDIATELY.Stuart has proved time and again he is out of his element.
@Gabriel
Good point!
St. Lucia has taken charge with Grenada deputy.
As Fearplay alluded it sickens to read some of the BS being posted. Do some of you even try to make contact with the issue?
NakedDeparture
The issue……”solving crime, apprehending criminals, fighting corruption and raging a battle against illegal fire arms and drugs.”
Gabriel September 22, 2017 at 12:49 PM #
Government cannot even get Barbados back on its feet, how do you think they would fare with Dominica?
The issue…
Heather Cole wrote” It is alleged that the Englishman was importing stolen vehicles for resale onto the Barbadian Market. It is also alleged that he was involved in the guns and drug trade as well as money laundering. Furthermore, there are allegations that recently, 7 vehicles were imported by the Englishman for 2 members of the ruling Administration. It is alleged that no duties were paid on vehicles imported by the deceased thereby defrauding the government of import duties.”
Ideally it would be useful for traditional media and the Police? To address the circumstances of the death of the Englishtown. This is a matter that should not be swept under the rug.
Here is an example of corruption in the 1790’s.
You will see the difference between then and now.
Names named and people brought to account.
https://books.google.com/books?id=5wFtBQAAQBAJ&pg=PA34&lpg=PA34&dq=valentine+jones+fraud+british+army&source=bl&ots=ffAyS4YFfu&sig=bPADFttbhOrKvbu9xtVOuasWXuw&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwifxvPzpbnWAhWMKyYKHdt9DyoQ6AEIMzAC#v=onepage&q=valentine%20jones%20fraud%20british%20army&f=false
That Valentine Jones, was a member of the Jones family a member of which, Benjamin Todd Jones was buried in the Quaker Burying Ground in St. Philip, ie … a Quaker family.
This Valentine Jones abused his position as commissary, conspired with merchants and fleeced the British Army.
You will note this occurred in the period 1780 to 1834!!
Gabriel….this is one time the Acting Commissioner will have to produce results to satisfy the citizens of Barbados…
…..there is way too much information out there…and if what is being said is correct, more than 2 investigations currently in progress.
….that is kind of hard to lock away in a safe or sweep under any carpet…no matter how big.
All we need now is BT’s response to the question!!
… and instead of “certain intimations” we want the names to go with those intimations!! …. if you read the link you will see how the fraud was uncovered …. sounds like a whistle blower … making “certain intimations”!!
How many of these recent criminals have been hauled before the courts and brought to account?
@ David wrote, “Ideally it would be useful for traditional media and the Police?”
Ideally my next girlfriend would be 40 years old and look like Jennifer Lopez.
https://www.firstcitizenstt.com/about/history/the-trinidad-co-operative-bank.html
Sounds remarkably familiar to what happened here with CLICO!!
The Trinidad Co-operative Bank
The Trinidad Co-operative Bank (TCB) was incorporated in 1914 as a savings institution “to inculcate in the people virtue of thrift…and to provide a quick, easy, safe means for children and poor people to save …” In 1974 Sir Ellis Clarke, the then Governor General articulated “Essentially, the Bank stands as a monumental refutation of the many slanders of our people so readily inherited and glibly disseminated.”
Unlike the other Banks which accepted no less than a shilling (24 cents) to open an account, the Bank encouraged depositors to open accounts with as little as one penny. In this way, the bank became known as the Penny Bank. In those days the penny had some buying power and could even buy a treat.
During the 1920s, the Penny Bank shared the landscape with three foreign-owned banks. In the 1930s and 1940s, banks concentrated on consolidating and showed no signs of growth and expansion. But the next decade saw unprecedented growth in the economy and the banking sector.
On February 21, 1986 the Central Bank took control of the Penny Bank. The Inspector of Banks had conducted an investigation the previous year which led to a devastating auditor’s report by Price Waterhouse in January 1986. The Central Bank removed most of the Board of Directors and appointed a new CEO.
Under its new management, the TCB showed some recovery. The Bank reported a profit of $2.8M in 1991 and eliminated its accumulated deficit by selling properties and moving liabilities off its balance sheet.
In 1991 the Central Bank told TCB that it was in violation of Section 16 of the Banking Act, which stipulates that no bank should incur deposit liabilities of an amount exceeding 20 times its paid-up capital and reserve fund.
To maintain liquidity in 1993, TCB resorted to inter-bank borrowing and was frequently unable to make any of the required reserve deposits with the Central Bank.
Those who got a chance to listen to the talk show today heard from the President of the Customs Brokers Association who narrated a sorry tale of the quality of workflow and systems in use at the Port. Most startling is that several of the EC countries are ahead of us in this regard. Is it any wonder the flow of illegal activity and inefficiency that would be taking place at the Port?
It would surprise most Bajans that Customs and Excise as well as Land transactions are subject to outdated bits of legislation.To sell/buy land in Barbados takes ages,years.To do the same in Antigua I am told takes about 3 months.
I heard part of the discussion on Customs and the fact that Barbados is behind OECS countries on clearances.Barbados is also behind on many other things to do with Customs but Customs officers benefit outrageously from overtime so it will not change.How many people know that Customs Officers are by law only required to work 8.15am to 4.30pm Monday to Friday.And outside those hours they have to be paid overtime and transported to and from their homes any part of Barbados so god help the client who was given an officer who lives in belleplaine.You have to pay him the going travel rate per km or provide him with a taxi.And guess what.All these fees and impositions go into the cost of the good being sold.
More costly yet if the work is required on a public holiday.Taxi to and from home.And if the transaction is a simple straight forward one that would take 5 minutes,the officer and guard must be paid for 8 hours guaranteed at the very high bank holiday rate.
They are all keeping the country backward to keep it corrupt.
They should all be sitting in that jail cell with Superintendent Anell, he should not be in there alone.
@ Caswell
….otherwise I would expose Bushie. He once said that he slapped my head at Combermere. There were only two such persons and I beat the crap out of them.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
LOL @ Caswell. Stop with the tall tales…do!
Let’s analyse this…
You were in lower First (when heads were slapped…)
Two fellows slapped your head (‘Slappers’ were all giant-like descendants of Goliath …)
But somehow…this 45 pound, hungry-looking country boy from St Thomas beat these two vagabonds to a pulp….
Boss, all like now your name would still be inscribed in the Hall…were that to be the case…
The REAL truth is that, all the way up into fifth form – you were known as a ‘tell tale tit’, who ran to the form teacher for every perceived infraction.. (Please teacher, he Bushie tek way my bus fare… Please teacher, Vincent call me a yard boy… etc)
What beat what two boys what??!!
Daydreams DO NOT count.
Seriously though Caswell….You need to apologise to Insider and let us resume analysis of Heather’s posit.
Bushie has it on good authority that things are quickly coming to a head – in more ways than one…
Brass bowls are advised to get their affairs in order. Do not ignore the signs of the times… You can only be caught by a thief in the night if you are asleep at the wheel like Froon….
It cannot be mere coincidence that since the establishment of the Monument to Satan at the Garrison … all Hell has broken loose in our world….
Bushie WARNED wunna that wunna was doing shiite
The rain poured …and tried to stop the crap
But wunna persisted.
Worst traffic accidents and fatalities and still months to go…
Worse jobby flows through Christ Church and into the sea ever..
Worse hurricanes in 100 years – nearly grazing us
Earthquakes almost in a daily basis
Worse Government in living memory
Worse US president imaginable
Even worser PM of Bim…
Worse Speaker of the worse House of Assembly since time began..
…all left now is for the bell to ring – signalling the end of school… and that graduation time has finally arrived.
Bushman…we warned them about building that pitchfork monument, wasting money on satanic shit instead of fixing the sewage system, now even yardfowls are afraid to push out their heads abd crow.. lol…
“Bushie has it on good authority that things are quickly coming to a head – in more ways than one…”
Coming to a head does not even begin to describe…try many heads.
Where is Carson Yardfowl..lol
@ David September 22, 2017 at 2:26 PM
And this is all happening in a country whose ‘self-proclaimed’ citizens like to boast of being the most sophisticated, most highly-educated people in the region with the highest rate of university graduates per head of population making its public sector workforce the most productively efficient in the region; if we are to go by the standards set exemplified by the country’s Chairman of the Board Lord Fumble and his cabinet of managerial misfits and nincompoops.
As Frustrated Businessman is always affirming on this site: “There can be no economic recovery under Fumble and his fools”.
‘Edikation (book-learning) can’t beat commonnense’!
Or as the old-time wise Bajans would say: “Commonsense born before book!”
@Simple Simon
You have hit the nail on the head and I will drive it in.
Insider is writing like an Indian who learnt English as a second language. I worked with one, who had a Masters from a Canadian university, Sir Francis Xavier, and could not write to save his life. He wrote his English just like Insider. The Director used to give him such a hard time, that I would review and correct all his work for him and he was two levels above me.
Your last post is absolutely devastating, but right
On the matter of Pachamama’s divine judgement, do you anticipate more time for repentance could be considered?
@ Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger. September 22, 2017 at 1:31 PM
“….there is way too much information out there…and if what is being said is correct, more than 2 investigations currently in progress.
….that is kind of hard to lock away in a safe or sweep under any carpet…no matter how big.”
WW&C, is it fair to assume that some foreign force might have yanked the WC chain of a ‘targeted’ and very well connected member of the Bajan Bill?
You see what happens when you hit the balls of a small fish with a bat or a ‘broom’? It disgorges damning info on bigger fish hiding in the heights and terraces.
Are you hoping that the shit about to hit the fan does not spread to contaminate any hounds hiding in the cabinet?
Where there is a foul smell of sewage there must shit hiding some where.
Now where is the ‘threaded’ yard-hen Angela AC Skeete, the apologist Alvin Cummins and that doggone Carson Pimp Cadagon(e)? Hiding in that deceitful lying party cesspool on George St.?
lol….Miller…there may be a designated cell waiting for the yardfowls as a unit of Angela and Carson Yardfowls…lol
and if Alvin Cummins pushes his head out of Canada, he would make a perfect fall guy, yardfowl that he is..lol
..anything is likely to get caught in that net, a minister or two, a politician or two, port managers or 2 or 3, business people or 2, 3, 4, or 5….the possibilities are endless.
Miller…bottomline is, they all more than likely got caught up in an international investigation, those do not go away, ya cant wish them away or hide the evidence or they hang around forever, ya gotta see them through to their just and logical conclusions……
….that is what happens when you play fast and loose with justice, Karma is likely to pay ya an Irma/Maria like visit.
better them than us though…lol
@ Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger September 22, 2017 at 5:06 PM
The drama unfolding in Bim would make good material for that British TV series “Death in Paradise”.
Why not secure the copyrights for the 2019 series of murderous intrigue of how it took the ‘amateurish’ murder of a white British gangster to expose the depth of corruption rotting the fast ripening banana republic fallen from grace but once admired as the model of good governance in the third world of raging graft.
Formerly seen as the little ‘black’ princess of the colonies and the groomed product of ideal British governance overseas, Mother England must be crying tears copious enough to flood Westminster bridge.
the mother rat in the UK helped nutrure that corruption by being overly proud and boastful of the docile, compliant slave society they created, they cannot say they did not know what was going on over the last 5 decades, not with all the pimps and titled snitches they gave those fake titles to over the decades, who would run and give news so they can be recognized by the demons in that old dungeon…
these had more than enough rope to hang themselves..lol
The anti corruption movement seems to have scored a major victory if the news about Superintendent John Annel of the Royal Barbados Police Force is correct. That euphoria might be short lived when they announce that Annel suffered a heart attack and doctors were unable to revive him or that he was found dead, by his own hands, in his cell when the shift changed. The possibilities are endless but I won’t be surprised.
@ Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger September 22, 2017 at 5:35 PM
It is left to wonder whose name(s) would be on this year’s Independence roll call for the ‘sale’ of knighthoods to political pimps.
You can bet your last dollar earned from kickbacks and bribery that a certain frail-looking Hal the Constitutionally-supreme guru would be gladly rewarded as he ‘gallops’ into the sunset as a blackened knight of ill-repute.
Charlie Humpty-Dumpty Herbie and Akanni Mc.Dopey (the boy whom Fumble tricks all the time) for knighthoods! That should silence both as it did Sir Hilary.
Maybe the British dude should be posthumously knighted for his unintended gallantry in exposing the corrupt underbelly of the ‘royally’ black political class taking Barbados to social and economic Armageddon.
He should even be beatified and be called Saint Steven of Lancs twinned with Newcastle.
A very interesting documentary from Aljazeera which looks at how the drug trade has impacted Peru’s economy and her society and how drugs are distributed via their ports, usually, undetected.
http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/specialseries/2015/11/snow-andes-peru-cocaine-151127074112351.html
lol…..Miller..they have no shame, at all, at all.
Caswell….they cant very well heart attack or suicide him now that we all know that they will ……
…..and with UK police and everyone else watching, it will be difficult to disappear him now everyone knows his identity, luckily for him…
they may have to let this death pass….and take one for the team, a real big one.
Well Well
I take it that you understand the intent of my comment. It might have saved his life but this is Barbados and I can assure you there are more than enough doctors out there willing to certify his death as resulting from coronary incident. You would recall that in 1985 an apparently healthy man died and a doctor jumped the queue to certify that he suffered a heart attack. As far as I know, there was no investigation and he was bigger than Annel.
@Caswell Franklyn September 22, 2017 at 5:54 PM “suffered a heart attack and doctors were unable to revive him”
The gentleman has a history or a family history of heart disease?
yeah…i know they got horrible track records for murders and those demon doctors want finishing off themselves…. with their evil actions splashed across the globe to embarrass their families.
Simple…he dont need one, being a threat to the corrupt timetable of those now under scrutiny….is enough history.
” PM Stuart to participate in overseas events
PRIME MINISTER Freundel Stuart left the island today, Friday, September 22, to participate in events in Canada and Jamaica.
Stuart will attend and speak at several functions, including the 10th Annual Errol Barrow Memorial Dinner; and the Ottawa Welcomes the World event, where he will meet with members of the diaspora during a walk through. He will also visit the High Commission of Barbados at Ottawa ”
Canadian bacon…poutine…. maple syrup….life is good.
Annel.
That is not a real, real Bajan name is it?
It is not like Alleyne, or Brathwaite or Clarke.
That is a foreigner name?
John September 22, 2017 at 1:53 PM #
Happened here with Clico??? Here? Clico’s issues originated out of T&T. Cash cow sucked dry.
I think that all of the alleged attention that the island is getting is not only a blessing for the COP. It is a blessing for all Barbados.
Clean house time.
By the way, what about the second Englishman who found himself hung, alleged suicide, a just a week after the first???
Somebody seems to be trying to shut tings down, but instead is throwing fuel to the fire.
But really, what can a man know, that would make someone do such?
What can a man know?????? Must be some heavy stuff.
More like Fruendel is making himself scarce as usual while shit hits fan, he wants none on him.
Simple..it’s a name unique to the Balkans, eastern, south eastern europe, odd to find it in the Caribbean, the name.
Crusoe..something really bad went down, it deserves to be exposed to the world…somebody, and I can name a few in the business community as well, fancies themselves world class assassins and gangsters of the Al Capone variety and it went too far…
……. the Acting Commish should know he has to keep this man alive or he will be the one blamed if anything happens to him before he can talk, it’s that simple.
@ Simple Simon
@ Bajans
It seems some Bajans are backward individuals if your comments on my English is to be believed.
It doesn’t say much for both the local and global Education system.
I passed the 11+ top of my primary school and then went on to one of Barbados so called elite high schools.
Later sat and left with a CXC grade 1 in both English Lang and Literature.
At University wrote a Thesis for graduate degree and later a dissertation all successfully yet you are in a position to judge my English and not the substance of any contribution I make.
I didn’t know you two were the absolute authorities on who can write good English or not, this is a blog not an essay which is being graded.
I guess unless the Newspaper prints an item on how corrupt the Barbados Police Force is that is when you believe that no one has to intentionally bribe a local policeman it is an acute part of the local culture.
Some years ago I was offered unsolicited a taser gun for $1500 from a Police officer locally and reduced to $1200 when I refused.
@ Watchman
You can keep fishing I don’t know the alleged businessman/importer name you mentioned and he certainly is not me so wheel and come again.
MEMBERS OF THE Drug Squad have charged a Canadian visitor in connection with the seizure of 13 kilogrammes of cannabis, with an estimated street value of BDS$104 000.
For those not familiar with the man bigger than Annel who died of a heart attack,it is common knowledge that he suffered the effects of rheumatic fever as a youngster and had a heart condition.He had an appointment the same month with a Harley Street specialist.
Gabriel
All that you said above is true……………but at the time I worked with two excellent Cardiac trained nurses who went to see the body and they were not impressed that the colour of his face evinced that he died from a basic cardiac defect.
@Insider
Your English is not as good as you think. The expression is “reel and come again”, not wheel. The expression refers to people who are fishing, literally or figuratively. Well, you say you have CXC English, good for you but that is no comparison to Oxbridge which I have.
Crusoe September 22, 2017 at 8:01 PM #
John September 22, 2017 at 1:53 PM #
Happened here with Clico??? Here? Clico’s issues originated out of T&T. Cash cow sucked dry.
I seem to remember something about the supervisor of insurance.
Clico was/is an insurance company, TCB was/is a bank.
What’s the link? … looks like Duprey
“According to the Caribbean History Archives, Cyril Duprey was President of both TBLA and The Penny Bank in the early 1960s, at the same time as he was leader of CLICO. That triple achievement contrasts with contemporary concerns over the destructive nature of CLF’s ‘excessive related-party transactions’.”
https://afraraymond.net/2017/08/30/cl-financial-bailout-the-caribbean-connection/
CLICO operated in Barbados
https://www.stabroeknews.com/2012/news/stories/03/02/spotlight-on-barbados-insurance-supervisor-over-clico-losses/
You could say that the link was from 1960.
There are two generations of Dupreys involved.
It goes way back!!
John,
Yes, you are quite right. And yes, technically it was Clico here. But, as you have referenced, when one looks deeper, the satellite here was just that, a means for getting cash.
As for the names you mention, I would not go within a mile of that name in business, seeing as how those companies were handled.
These things happen and yet these sort of people are still revered!
As Bushie would say, we can only be pure brassbowls. Us and the people in T&T who allow it to continue unabated.