Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart and Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite both admitted that they spotted voter irregularities during the last general election. Up to now they have done nothing to address it as promised.

“…new found fellowship” between employers and the labour movement, warning that cats and mice, lions and lambs, and mongooses and chickens make strange bedfellows” – Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

Barbadians continue to be awestruck at the public wrangling between two partners of the tripartite Social Partnership. Several Protocols were agreed between the three groupings of union, private sector and government since 1993 to ensure a harmonious climate was maintained in the county as was practicable.

After the 20,000 strong protest march on Monday that defied the attempt at intimidation by the Prime Minister in his harangue delivered at Almond Bay the day before, members of the BU household monitored the debate in parliament yesterday full in the expectation the government would retreat to conciliatory language given the perilous state of the Barbados economy. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) invoked Standing Order 18 of the Standing Orders and requested the disgraced Speaker Michael Carrington to allow debate on the request tabled by the Opposition to debate and ultimately urge the government to convene a meeting with the Social Partnership to defuse the escalating industrial climate that could lead to social unrest. The resolution was unsuccessful as far as the government indicating that it will meet before the next scheduled meeting on the 18 August 2017. What was revealed by the Prime Minister is that the next meeting of the Social Partnership will be publicly televised.

The BU household like many social commentators has a problem with the position government has taken post march on Monday.

If the government is ONE stakeholder of three that compose the social partnership how is it respectful to the other two around the table to arbitrarily decide the format of the next meeting without soliciting consensus? Bear in mind we have TWO members of the three asking for a meeting with the one.

The Prime Minister indicated there were note takers (someone from GIS) present as is the practice when meetings are held with government officials, it is also the practice in the private sector. Why not allow officials downstream from the three sides meet to compare notes instead of allowing the emotional and political temperature of the country to rise at a time we should be unifocussed on growing productivity?

After meetings where more than one party meet to discuss issues that are contentious or have the potential to be it is not unusual for a joint communiqué to be issued or the official minutes of the meeting circulated and approved between all the parties to ensure all are aligned with decisions taken. This is not rocket science.

With less than a year to go it boggles even the average mind why the Stuart government with dissipating political stock would display the level of intransigence it has so far. When Sinckler in his contribution to the debate yesterday mentioned that he recommended to the Prime Minister to make the next meeting with the Social Partnership public, members of the BU household sniffed the stink smell of a rat. It didn’t take long for Prime Minister Stuart in his 42 minute wrap up for the trap to be laid for the two estranged stakeholders of the Social Partnership. Prime Minister Stuart confirmed that the next meeting will be a public affair. It is worthy of note Speaker Michael Carrington allowed the prime minister to exceed his allotted time by 22 minutes for which he apologized. What credibility does Stuart and this government have when it has refused to implement integrity legislation AND to act on voter irregularities Stuart admits to witnessing last general elections. To much politics!

What is the trap?

The private sector has been pushing government to cut public sector jobs. The Unions will obviously resist any attempt to cut jobs for reasons we know. The government in this scenario sits at the table and plays the hand dealt based on the interaction between the Union and Private Sector. An amateurish attempt to make political capital leading into a general election.

Is there a government anywhere that would see almost 10% of its population or 20% the eligible vote march in its Capital and decides to ignore it less than 9 months from a general election?

Yet another intuition about to be destroyed by this government.

280 responses to “Government Levels Assault at the Social Partnership”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C Cadogan July 27, 2017 at 7:30 PM
    “I have fought them at CARICOM over those programmes, and the Barbados delegation can confirm all of this because I say to them look, when you grant these people citizenship in your country and Barbados is not a part of the transaction those people become CARICOM citizens and have based on our freedom of movement arrangements the right to come into Barbados when they like and how they like although we don’t know them. ”

Was this man’s position arrived at prior to the Myrie affair or was he forced to accept the CCJ ruling on the matter?

It would have been of interest if he had at least mentioned whether the country granting those two citizenship status under the investment programme is a signatory (unlike Jamaica) to the CCJ.

The man should display the same hubris to the same CCJ as his pal Hal G.

Why not treat the CCJ with the same disdain as he displays to the unions and the private sector?

2. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

prodigal/Lorenzo/lorenza

Elections will be called in 2018. Even if elections were called Friday your lot would still be returned to the opposition benches. irrespective of how many millions the mongoose pour into your campaign like in 2013.

3. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Private sector welcomes proposed televised social partnership talks,

barbadostoday just carried this blurb.

4. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

DAVID

Another day draws to a close and you still have not posted HERBERT letter to our Prime Minister promising “social unrest”.

If in the letter which the Prime Minister wrote back to him he had promised to have him charged under the Public act as he should have.

Ten minutes later you would have had it posted here.

5. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

I don’t know how that is going to work for them.

The mongoose like to hide in the shadows and pull strings. Televised is not their cup of tea.

6. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

what i want to know iis, if the private sector was invited some months ago by government to form a partnership related to fixing the economy, an advisory role in the short term….why would the sector and so many others believe it was some kinda long term, involved marriage.

and all these shitty names government likes to come up with like….special persons committee…and other crap, just swells these already arrogant people`s heads.

yall lucky they have not yet hired a few mercenaries or import some nazi nuisances to get the job done right, it`s not too late though…lol

7. Once Bizzy and Herbert against you crapeau smoke allyuh pipe.These two guys are not afraid to speak and in a language understood by every bajan.If Bizzy and Herbert say Staurt and his cabinet are not to be trusted with another 5 year term because they messed up the previous 2,it all over bar the shouting.As Doug Hoyte used to sign off his newscast…the fat lady has sung.

8. It only now makes sense how, when Arthur jokingly sent that ice-breaking note about taking ‘Mia off his hands’ in exchange for assistance with the Eager 11, …. Froon could have responded in such a childish, asinine manner…..

The man is a humourless, retarded, brass-bowl JA.
    …and it shows in his face,,,,
    What a poor specimen of a loser….

…and how the hell does a one-off comment by a participant in a discussion, in the middle of a meeting, lead to the conclusion that “we will wait three months and see how the NSRL works…?

Are these people adults?

And to respond with the childish rant about having future discussions in public is beyond idiotic….
    In the first place, the DLP and Froon are walking dead brass bowls…. We ALL know that…
    …so who the hell wants to discuss with them anyway…?

Secondly, where else in the world do we see parties with such fundamentally DIFFERENT frames of reference negotiate in public – unless they are strictly looking to embarrass and belittle the opponents…? CERTAINLY not if they are seeking compromise and consensus.

What a collection if immature, illiterate brass bowl clowns….

Steupsss…
    URGENT OPERATION NEEDED…
    Dead tumour to be removed from Barbados…
    Some pain will be involved…
    Surgeon needed to conduct operation…
    Alternative medicines …OR DELAY … will mean death.

Does Clement Payne have any grand children…?
    …cause the pack of brass bowls bout here seem to be just like their grandparents….

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Lol..sensible people on the island know neither the minority Mangoste nor the government can be trusted, there will be no mistakes made there by the people, everyone will be happy if they would all disappear.

10. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Gabriel July 27, 2017 at 8:34 PM

I am enjoying this blog.

Things usually spoken by the mongoose in private are now seeing the light and glare of daylight.

I like this part the best.

“Once Bizzy and Herbert against you crapeau smoke allyuh pipe.These two guys are not afraid to speak and in a language understood by every bajan.If Bizzy and Herbert say Staurt and his cabinet are not to be trusted with another 5 year term because they messed up the previous 2,it all over bar the shouting.”

What you are saying to the whole world is, DEMOCRACY in Barbados is a SHAM.

IT IS WHAT THE MONGOOSE WANTS. IT IS WHAT THE 3% WANT. You can vote all you like but it is we who have everything stack in our favour and against you.

Bravo Gabriel, this is the best comment you ever written!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

11. Bushie

Why is your BBE not helping ‘us’ to get the rid of these people.

Or is He waiting for us to deal with them ourselves to usher in His kingdom.

Far from doing your Lord’s work you are asking for more wickedness from MAM

You mean after all this time you can’t even get a meteorite to do something, somewhere near Bay Street. LOL

12. Bush Tea July 27, 2017 at 8:38 PM #

“URGENT OPERATION NEEDED…
    Dead tumour to be removed from Barbados…
    Some pain will be involved…
    Surgeon needed to conduct operation…
    Alternative medicines …OR DELAY … will mean death”

@ Bushie

It seems you are in urgent need of a surgeon. However, you’re forgetting this is Barbados, and when you take the “other” alternatives (Lynette, Grenville, Wendell, Mark Adamson and them) into consideration, you may have to post another notice re:

“Having received no suitable application for a ‘surgeon needed to conduct operation,’ we intend to apply to the Chief Immigration Officer for a work permit to bring in a non-national.”

“Wuh loss…………. oh shirt.”

13. @ Artax
    “Having received no suitable application for a ‘surgeon needed to conduct operation,’ we intend to apply to the Chief Immigration Officer for a work permit to bring in a non-national.”

“Wuh loss…………. oh shirt.”
    Boss….
    Why do you think Bushie was courting Clement Payne’s Trickidadian grandson…?
    Wuh loss!!!

Pacha
    Skippa… you think BBE ain’t got anything better to do, than baby-sit a bunch of Black Bajan brass bowl brats?
    If we are unable to pull off a BASIC operation to cut out a bit of shiite cancer, …then what BBE SHOULD do ….is arrange a good turnout for our sorry donkeys… probably via a big wave…

Growing up is about taking the best possible decisions, with the resources made available to you… not looking for foreigners from BBEland …or even Trickidad … to come to our rescue…. and if after all these years we have not matured enough to deal with this set of jobbies in Parliament, then we would all probably serve more useful purpose as fertiliser ….

Lotta shiite …hounds.

14. Charles Herbert of the BPSA agreed to the televised meeting with the Govt. BPSA pelt the unions under the bus. What a pity !!!The BPSA with the Govt will now design a short term plan to erase the fiscal deficit: including a reduction in taxes , added revenue from divestment and a retraining and small business development for displaced workers.

15. Wuhloss, bushie and Artax………you two are the best……your posts made me laugh…..though the shiiite going on is not funny any more!

16. This government has no wringle room to agree to any reduction in taxes.

The government is under strict manners with the IMF, they have to cut the deficit by a certain time.

Where are they going to get the added revenue from? Every worker in Barbados is under heavy pressure so where are they going to find the money to invest in buying into a new venture.

Secondly, as Frustrated Businessman blogs frequently…….no one has confidence in Fumble and his fools and there will be no investment under them………they have to go.

The two entities that the government wanted to sell are all tied up in court.

Strange that they wanted 100 million each for them, is the figure 100 million a magic figure for Stinkliar?

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha

A mutual company is a very separate issue.
    Owing a smallish %, and getting a board seat, or even 2 does NOT provide CONTROL. It provides a platform for them to extract value or try to ‘rock the boat’. Yes a diffused ownership allows this, but it rarely happens and only in the biggest of companies.
    Many times, what these minority owners with board seats do, is cut the a**hole out of the company to increase the share value and hence their profits. Sell off assets, send home people, alter the debt/equity ratio, etc etc. And they can do so, because many of the other shareholders are mutual funds, hedge funds, pension funds, etc…who without having to be vocal, like the money. And frequently, it is these other shareholders who voted to elect these small % shareholders to the Board, to do their work for them.
    Interlocking directorates are very common in small communities. Go check them out, same names and employers.
    Yes Sagicor demutualized in 2002, and they managed the BS&T employee pension plan. I believe said plan owned about 4%. Point?

Sagicor never came close to being able to ‘largely control’ or ‘smally control’ the BS&T. What you like, regardless of ownership amount, every shareholder has the same vote? Shiite we have that in politics here, yet they translate that into constituencies, and the majority wins.

18. Now that there is a mass movement of politically engaged people, how do we progress from here?
    Political activism is more than a marching about the repeal of a micro-policy issue; it goes beyond incremental change to a deep and historic paradigm shift.
    Where are the leaders to take people in to this new Jerusalem? Other people have pointed out that the cooperation between the BPSA and public sector trade unions is a marriage of convenient.
    To harness this energy takes more than a march, no matter how popular.

19. The vacillation of the DLP BU campaigners by the news cycle is astounding. A complete capitualtion by the PM in less than a week is being hailed as a triumphant. All I shall say is that the DLP TRAIN OF MAMAGUY has finally and rightfully been fully exposed and will be decommissioned by the electorate.

20. @ Prodigal
    Strange that they wanted 100 million each for them, is the figure 100 million a magic figure for Stinkliar?
    No decimal points involved….

21. michael springer Avatar
    michael springer

The lion and the lamb may lie down together but the lamb would be in the lion’s belly to be finally excreted.

Scarface

22. @ David

Is there any particular reason why you’re allowing Carson C. Cadogan to free advertise Democratic Labour Party sponsored events and their Friday lunch time lectures……….

……….. especially after that yard-fowl has been extremely critical of you and Barbados Underground?

Don’t you think his actions are disrespectful?

23. @ David

Cadogan is a regular contributor to Barbados Today’s comments section and I’m sure he would not risk this nonsense in that forum.

The mere fact he continues to label this forum as a BLP blog and has the audacity to advertise DLP events here, clearly indicates he does not have any respect for you and BU.

This is a sporty thing for him.

However, if you do not have any problems with Cadogan’s behaviour, then who am I to be upset…

24. @ Chaucer
    Charles Herbert of the BPSA agreed to the televised meeting with the Govt.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss …this is like the ‘Prologue to Canterbury Tales’ that you wrote…

There can be no clearer sign that our ass is grass ..and that the gates of Hell are about to be fully unchained…

Herbert (as Bushie has tried to explain to wunna long BEFORE he became chairman) is one of the brightest and most ‘can-do’ persons in Barbados if not the region. Bushie made the point when explaining the mediocrity of SAGICOR (where he once worked) allowing Goddards to steal him away….
    The results speak for themselves.

When you see Froon come on TV talking his incoherent shiite and threatening about “having discussions in public”, (minding his gutter-boy Stinkliar) It was like a foolish, big-mouth green monkey up in a tree …threatening to come down on the ground and put some lashes in a big-ass rottweiler.
    IT WILL NOT BE PLEASANT….

The private sector people know WELL that any such ‘public talks’ can only be about playing to the public – and NOTHING to do with finding solutions. They will crush Froon’s pathetic ass – as he probably deserves, but in the process, he will be so embarrassed and humiliated that the full consequences to us all …may well be a destroyed economy….

Can you imagine the dirt these people must have on the various DLP ministers …mud that even David (BU) do NOT yet have….?

The problem with taking bribes is that you are FOREVER compromised…… and should REALLY keep your donkey closed…

25. @ Artax
    Boss … you is something else though…
    You does read Carson’s posts?

Shiite…. the only way Bushie would know that he advertises the DLP lunch is because you say so…

After initially reading three of Carson’s posts Bushie decided to ‘angela-ize’ him…
    That is …. do not read any thing that he post over one line long…

Works like a dream…
    David probably does too….

26. @Artax

Time longer than twine.

27. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

artax

Don’t get your knickers in a twist.

The blog owner has the right to delete whatever comment he choose to. It is his blog. My only beef with him has been the fact that he deletes only comment not in support of the BLP. Artax and bushtea write a whole heap of garbage which he some how always allows.

28. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Contrary to what yardfowls Carson and Angela says, Herbert is trying to bring reason to the situation to allow cooler heads to prevail….he does not sound like he meant to overthrow anything and understands he is an invited guest to any partnership……..

That stands until yardfowls can produce this unrest letter.
    as real evidence against Herbert.

It’d the real Mangoste, in the private sector, the minister’s masters who call them up and make demands and have for decades, Bajans need to be very worried about that partnership and criminal association..

Those Mangoste are the real reason the government refuses to announce the Anti Corruption Act and the Integrity Legislation into laws to be enforced to stop the corruption between government and Mangoste against the people.

And that is the real reason the government has finally nailed their own coffins shut and will be booted out of the people’s parliament….they dont want to stop the corruption between government and those in the Mangoste private sector.

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The other tag team, Mia’s government in waiting, if elected, must never be given the opportunity by the majority population, to allow anything like this brouhaha. …so embarrassing for the island, to ever play out again, between government and their Mangoste masters.

They must all be watched carefully from Day 1…….any government and Mangiste private sector.

….particularly if Fruendel and his fools fail to publicly announce the Anti Corruption Act and Integrity Legislations….into law…before the election..

The government ministers with their slow intellects are not dealing only with the private sector Mangiste any longer, but also with their children and grandchildren, who also see the slave minded ministers…in the same light.

Eg…Abeds progeny and their bitcoin scam…got the former idiot of the Central Bank Worrell to endorse the scam.

The same goes for any 3rd party lucky enough to be elected.

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson…..ya want a real job?….

well then get Fruendel and foolish Adriel Nitwit, the nonfunctional AG….to request that the GG publicly announce the Anti Corruption Act and Integrity Legislation….turning them both into enforecable law.

Or I will correctly deduce, that yall scum are allowing these 2 pieces to legislation to remain inactive…..so yall sister and parliamentary partner Mia Mottley can continue all the corruption she and her ministers want, with yall private sector Mangoste masters……..against the people throughtout their terms in parliament.

Ya think I am buying into that act about Mia aint got no LLB and law certificate and all the other distraction tactics…hell no…

…. all yall are corrupt friends, business partners, bedroom buddies, god parents to each other’s chikdren and all round parasites on the majority population.

Announce the already passed legislations into law.

31. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Some people believe they were used by the unions to help the Mangoste in the private sector who do not even want their workers unionized…….the Mangiste tried a coup., many Bajans believe that…

The unions must not allow themselves to be used by private sector minorities.

“Sent via WhatsApp today. The mother is right. I made reference to this predicament this week in a hypothetical scenario. You don’t have to be psychic to see that this would occur. Who can her daughter, the employee, turn to?

“This morning my daughter told me not to make lunch for her. She said they still have food from yesterday at work. She said they had real food and drinks left over from the march.

The company told my daughter wear their uniforms and show up for the march. They were told they would be paid not to work.

They were expected to sign in and march. She and some friends went in town and hid from media cameras by dodging into alleys because they did not want their DLP MP to see them on tv or in pictures at the march.

Based on conversations they overheard among the bosses they felt it was an anti-Government march. Seeing Mia Mottley and her crew confirmed that for them.

Those young people had no clue what they were marching for. They showed up to keep their jobs.

And that is what got me vex as hell. To know that I send my child to get a skill to be an independent productive citizen and yet she is still a slave of these business people. They have the nasty mentality that Black people have no principles; all they need is a few cents a hot plate and a cold drink??

That is not how I raised her. I did not want her setting one foot in town. But she said she would get in trouble because you got to sign.
    All now I writing and still cruel.

The head of the Barbados Workers Union yesterday stood watch over the revocation of the rights of workers. I went to school too. I am no fool. Hundreds had to be in the same boat as my daughter.

Toni Moore allowed these people to coerce and manipulate my child and others to do something they had no desire to do.

They had no clue what it was about. All they knew is they wanted to keep their job.
    I do not want them victimised so I cannot call the company name.

But I can call Toni Moore name. I want her see that this Black Bajan mother wants to know if her actions and the company cannot be reported to any organisation bigger than them. She supposed to protect workers not *be silent when people exploiting them. (Language changed so nobody don’t sue me.)

The International Labour Organisation should know what they get down in Barbados and did.

The BWU should be exposed. It was unscrupulous.
    IT IS WRONG. TONI MOORE SHOULD BE ASHAMED.”

That lady said it all.
    Add: Lady is probably unaware that Ms. Moore sought support from companies that refuse to allow their workers to be unionized. Dale how in God’s name did the Executive Council approve of this action without outlining conditions under which both sides would participate?
    For example: “The BWU will join the BPSA activity as long as some of your anti union members agree to allow us to come into their organizations.”
    Sellout if ever there was one. One wonders what the true end was that justified this auction of the worker.”

32. Northern Observer

OK

On the matter of a googly. You are quite right. We are and mostly were armchair cricketers.

We gather that even the definition of the googly has changed over time.

33. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

and before the resident yardfowls start with all the excuses and blaming Herbert.

government invited a minority of the private sector into their house, fully aware that after decades of enriching themselves off the backs of the majority population, these minority Mangoste believe themselves to be a separate and white government, the low intellect black government know this and invited them anyway.

the government should have gotten it`s ass overthrown….too corrupt.

34. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son July 27, 2017 at 10:43 PM
    “This government has no wringle room to agree to any reduction in taxes.
    The government is under strict manners with the IMF, they have to cut the deficit by a certain time”

You have hit the bull’s-eye with that direct shot.

After taken the Bajan economy to the brink of collapse with social chaos not very far behind the man and his estimably eminent Cabinet is just playing for time so there will be no ‘openly’ obvious IMF takeover and direct control of the country’s fiscal and monetary management the during the current term.

Is this the same man who a few years ago rejected out of hand Mottley’s recommendation of an “Eminent Persons” group to help steer the economy away from the rocks it now find itself heading under the arrogant and incompetent crew of goons piloted by a man who even for the rounded sum of $100 million can’t tell the difference between his ‘factions’ elbow and his ‘percentages’ arse.

Aren’t the private sector, the unions, Owen Arthur and even their own kith and kin in the hypocritically backstabbing form of Donville Inniss performing the same functions as the flippantly dismissed “Eminent Persons” group?

We are still waiting on Donville to make his famous outburst come true:
    “We ain’t wonna hear nutting from wunna (BLP). Um is we time now and we gine do as we like”.
    A rant he has come to sorely regret after buttering up to OSA.

Look how Karma can bite the wicked in their backsides!
    Bushie’s BBE must be really looking down and laughing at those DLP brass-bowls for devils taking up space in a broken down Cabinet awaiting the divorce papers from the Bajan electorate.

35. @ WW&C

Carson C. Cadogan is a retired old man whose only job in life is to write shiite on social media blogs in support of the DLP and to see how far he can squeeze his head up Steve Blackett’s butt.

Political parties pick “horses for courses” and rest assured the DLP hierarchy reads Cadogan’s social media contributions. Hence, because of his level of intelligence, the DLP would never invite him as a guest speaker at any of their Friday lunch time lectures nor would they appoint him to the Senate.

One only has to read the first line of any of Cadogan’s contributions to conclude the man is an idiot and George Street is fully aware he is suitably qualified to perform yard-fowl duties. His role is specifically reserved for him to conduct himself as he does in this forum and as a “filler” to entertain the crowd at DLP campaign meetings.

And people like him do not require monetary compensation for these “duties.” He is quite satisfied with photo opportunities where he can be seen “up front and center” at the DLP’s lack luster constituency branch meetings and annual conferences, pretending to be listening attentively and applauding at the shiite Stuart speaks.

In actuality, Carson experiences tremendous difficulty in understanding and interpreting what his “DLP idols,” Stuart et al, are saying because those “heavy rollers” punch above his level of intelligence and pay grade.

However, WW&C…… don’t get me started on the other semi-illiterate idiot.

36. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

lol…

Art…just like the other yardfowl Alvin is proudly boasting he has been a DLP yardowl since 1963…..a whole lifetime of being the well heeled slaveminded.

no wonder the island, both governments, private sector and all yardfowls are stuck in a time warp, neither them nor the island can escape to progress.

what`s even worse, they all managed to make it generational, passing that blight on to their children and grandchildren in all their separate and destructive roles..

37. @ WW&C

How do you know that whatsapp message is true?

Judging from the rhetoric of the DLP because of the overwhelming success of the march, I’m more inclined to believe that message was maliciously and deliberately composed by DLP propagandist to negate the legitimacy of Monday’s peaceful event.

Read what the DLP has been saying about the march and you will realize the similarities in that whatsapp message.

Perhaps you may have read or heard about the whatsapp message allegedly sent to Popular Discounts in which issues of race were implied, as was being advanced by the DLP prior to the march.

So don’t be too quick to judge Toni Moore.

38. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

no Art…i am dealing strictly with the part where minority business people who absolutely are against their workers being unionized…

minorities like Cow and Bjerkham et al, whose workers are not unionized and who maliciously believe themselves to be the true white government of Barbados and slave masters to their employees, being invited to march with employers and their unionized workers…

i know for a fact that happened..

that was wrong….they could have held a separate march….to show annoyance with the government.

government tricks cant work on me, i been trained for years to recognize it.

the other stuff if it happened about employees being asked to sign and forced to march is easily verified, ask young employees, no employee should have to hide from these low intellect, corrupt ministers who created the environment for the march in the first place…

and the unions should never allow themselves to be used by minorities who refuse their employees the right to union membership.

ah bet ya Caswell wanted nothing to do with none of them…

39. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

that was wrong….the employers with non unionized workers could have held a separate march….to show their annoyance with the government.

it would have been much more effective and seem less like a conspiracy to overthrow the government.

they can still hold a separate march, the employers with non unionized workers.

40. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

see now, the minority private sector is not nearly a 1/4 as intelligent as those with agendas are trying to desperately make them out to be…including the dumbass government.

that is why all of this happened.

41. @ Well Well
    As far as I know, attempting to discourage employees from joining a union is illegal in Barbados.

42. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Old Baje, and that is what some in the minority private sector have been getting away with for decades, refusing their employees their rights as workers to be union members, and they are aided by both governments, so in effect, these employers of nonunion members were marching illegally, they were not part of any union,

we gotta ask Caswell if that is outside the edits of ILO.

in my opinion, they should have gotten permission for their own marching permits.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Old Baje July 28, 2017 at 9:12 AM
    “As far as I know, attempting to discourage employees from joining a union is illegal in Barbados.”

So too are money laundering, tax evasion and the blatant disregard to Town & Country Planning Office demands and instructions. Yet such illegalities are practiced by those who are estimable gents and the bosom buddies of the big boss man.

Isn’t such illegality in Barbados a case of putting a smart rat to catch a sly mongoose?

“Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?” (Who will guard the guards?)

44. We need some big systemic changes bout here. Got to get Mia’s commitment on the record before it’s too late.

45. Charles Herbert today’s Douglas Lynch; the PM will engage CH ( as opposed to OSA, Chris the MoF is hopeless )to design a short term plan regarding the fiscal deficit.
    @WWC
    The BLP needs a new guard.

46. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Miller…exactly..

this government has to be thrown out on their asses, particularly when they continue to refuse to publicly announce and pass into law the Anti Corruption Act and Integrity Legislation which now exists….

… they are still sitting and waiting for the next Mangoste scam to continue the corruption.

doing that nearly got them thrown out on their asses forceably by their Mangoste.

47. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

they certainly do Chaucer…Mia thought her wide smile in the background fooled everyone.

i will repeat…..

Old Baje, and that is what some in the minority private sector have been getting away with for decades, refusing their employees their rights as workers to be union members, and they are aided by both governments, so in effect, these employers of nonunion members were marching illegally, they were not part of any union…..

and the government knows this, but instead of telling the population, they still play nasty little mind games, still living in hopes of continuing the corruption when they make up with their Mangoste.

48. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CHAUCER July 28, 2017 at 10:06 AM #
    “Charles Herbert today’s Douglas Lynch; the PM will engage CH ( as opposed to OSA, Chris the MoF is hopeless )to design a short term plan regarding the fiscal deficit.”

Unless Charles Herbert can come up with a comprehensive practical programme to earn and save forex he will be spinning an economic tot in mud of social unrest.

The usual importing and selling to captured consumers at exorbitant prices with little real added value to justify such rip off markups is not going to save Barbados sorry economic ass at this juncture.

A country which refuses to look after its agricultural lands will always end up in the poor house and begging for its survival.

49. Well look at this. The Unions asked for dialogue that was there agenda .The govt gave way
    Now today the Unions are asking the govt for an agenda
    What am i missing here?
    Slowly but surely the Unions going to bring barbados to its knees because of avaricious self serving people

50. We must move away from the one-dimensional political debates we currently have. We have just had a young man, remanded in Dodds for five years, only to have the murder charge dropped by the DPP’s office. This attorney general is a joker. Barbados is in chaos, and it is not only about fiscal meltdown. When is officer Gittens going to face trial?