Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart and Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite both admitted that they spotted voter irregularities during the last general election. Up to now they have done nothing to address it as promised.

“…new found fellowship” between employers and the labour movement, warning that cats and mice, lions and lambs, and mongooses and chickens make strange bedfellows” – Prime Minister Freundel Stuart

Barbadians continue to be awestruck at the public wrangling between two partners of the tripartite Social Partnership. Several Protocols were agreed between the three groupings of union, private sector and government since 1993 to ensure a harmonious climate was maintained in the county as was practicable.

After the 20,000 strong protest march on Monday that defied the attempt at intimidation by the Prime Minister in his harangue delivered at Almond Bay the day before, members of the BU household monitored the debate in parliament yesterday full in the expectation the government would retreat to conciliatory language given the perilous state of the Barbados economy. The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) invoked Standing Order 18 of the Standing Orders and requested the disgraced Speaker Michael Carrington to allow debate on the request tabled by the Opposition to debate and ultimately urge the government to convene a meeting with the Social Partnership to defuse the escalating industrial climate that could lead to social unrest. The resolution was unsuccessful as far as the government indicating that it will meet before the next scheduled meeting on the 18 August 2017. What was revealed by the Prime Minister is that the next meeting of the Social Partnership will be publicly televised.

The BU household like many social commentators has a problem with the position government has taken post march on Monday.

If the government is ONE stakeholder of three that compose the social partnership how is it respectful to the other two around the table to arbitrarily decide the format of the next meeting without soliciting consensus? Bear in mind we have TWO members of the three asking for a meeting with the one.

The Prime Minister indicated there were note takers (someone from GIS) present as is the practice when meetings are held with government officials, it is also the practice in the private sector. Why not allow officials downstream from the three sides meet to compare notes instead of allowing the emotional and political temperature of the country to rise at a time we should be unifocussed on growing productivity?

After meetings where more than one party meet to discuss issues that are contentious or have the potential to be it is not unusual for a joint communiqué to be issued or the official minutes of the meeting circulated and approved between all the parties to ensure all are aligned with decisions taken. This is not rocket science.

With less than a year to go it boggles even the average mind why the Stuart government with dissipating political stock would display the level of intransigence it has so far. When Sinckler in his contribution to the debate yesterday mentioned that he recommended to the Prime Minister to make the next meeting with the Social Partnership public, members of the BU household sniffed the stink smell of a rat. It didn’t take long for Prime Minister Stuart in his 42 minute wrap up for the trap to be laid for the two estranged stakeholders of the Social Partnership. Prime Minister Stuart confirmed that the next meeting will be a public affair. It is worthy of note Speaker Michael Carrington allowed the prime minister to exceed his allotted time by 22 minutes for which he apologized. What credibility does Stuart and this government have when it has refused to implement integrity legislation AND to act on voter irregularities Stuart admits to witnessing last general elections. To much politics!

What is the trap?

The private sector has been pushing government to cut public sector jobs. The Unions will obviously resist any attempt to cut jobs for reasons we know. The government in this scenario sits at the table and plays the hand dealt based on the interaction between the Union and Private Sector. An amateurish attempt to make political capital leading into a general election.

Is there a government anywhere that would see almost 10% of its population or 20% the eligible vote march in its Capital and decides to ignore it less than 9 months from a general election?

Yet another intuition about to be destroyed by this government.

280 responses to “Government Levels Assault at the Social Partnership”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

So since 2012 the Integrity Legislation has been sitting there waiting to be made law via proclamation for…… 5 long years.

And peoole are ready to take sides between government and private sector when it’s very clear they both are still colluding to keep corruption alive to benefit both of them….oh please.

Definition of proclaim…

pro·claim
    prəˈklām,prōˈklām/Submit
    verb
    announce officially or publicly.

That’s all it will take. ..for the useless GG to do, how many laws have been awaiting proclamation for 9 years or longer.

2. This yardfowl less than 12 hours ago advised Stuart to stand his ground. Hal do you understand the difference now bbetween a yardfowl and a supporter? The

3. It is amazing that Freundel that would want to have the meeting televised but put every obstacle possible to practically shut down the Public Accounts Committee………….

Ministers got lawyer to block any appearance to answer questions and account for what they had done.

What a farce for a man!

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

@CCC
    you are tight with the current GoB. Post a copy of the letter?

5. The government should resign if it cannot run the country.

This bullspit about sitting down to talk with the Business community is crap.

Government should sit down and negotiate with the trade unions representing civil servants.

The private sector can negotiate with their employees.

I repeat…..The government should resign if it cannot run the country.

6. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

That is why the cockup with the private sector took place…

…. Fruendel was trying to avoid accountability for the missing millions and ran into another wall.

7. The yard fowls have egg all over their faces………up to the morning they were here scoffing at the march, even saying that they planted dems in the march to swell the numbers and that the PM should stand his ground and were still cussing the unions and private sector……….

Now at 12.30, the PM will bring forward the meeting and I was hearing on Brasstacks that there will be no cameras…………..

What a come down if true!

8. Would not be surprised when it comes clise for the call if the meeting one or the other of the two groupings ask for more scheduling time

9. Well Well

I do not think that it is that the government is negotiating with the private sector as such.

After Freundel turned down Stinkliar’s proposal to hire OSA as the economic adviser, Fumble went to the private sector as I guess was his idea of eminent persons and his way of sticking it to OSA.

He asked them to come up with ideas to help the inept incompetent government save Barbados. They came back with proposals which the PM and Stinkliar seemingly ignored as the budget was already done.

The meetings of the much touted private sector partnership ensued……..hence where we are today.

10. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The government is indeed useless, sitting on 2 pieces of legislation that has already been passed and only needs to be announced to turn into law to stop the corruption and thiefing by business people and government ministers…..of the people’s money and land.

Seems to me that government and business sector were both blackmailing each other….

sprry they did not totally destroy each other, they are both worthless.

But Karma rules.

11. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Prodigal…they both had nasty intentions…..

.Fruendel did not want any advice…or he would have took it….all of this happened very recently…they had other nasty games in mind….now the whole filth is exposed everywhere.

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

It’s very clear that though some in the business sector are frustrated with Fruendel and his cat and mouse games…there is a bigger reality here with the Mangoste numbers in the private sector…a carrot and stick scenario.

They should all go to prison for the thieves that they all are.

Watch how quickly they will make up.

The people need to wake up.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants July 27, 2017 at 2:07 PM
    “I repeat…..The government should resign if it cannot run the country.”

There is no “If” here. The report card covering the managerial performance of the current administration will show “F” in all areas except in the field of graft and corruption where there will be one big fat “A” for ‘Accomplished’.

Do you expect a country with a minister responsible for finance and economic matters who is incapable of knowing the difference between 70% and 0.07 to be managed effectively unless the mission is to achieve 19 credit rating downgrades in less than 9 years?

14. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Hmmmm……seems like the right hand does not know what the left hand is doing,thus leaving all the agente provocateurs scrambling with egg on their many faces.

The Brasstacks programme was a good example and now on here.

I will have to re-think and put him upfront as PM….the only PM not to inform anybody including agents before he acts a singular trait.

15. @Prodigal Son

During the debate yesterday Sinckler indicated that the recommendations from the special committees was discussed.

16. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Astor B. Watts Lunchtime Lecture Series

Title: Astor B. Watts Lunchtime Lecture Series

Location: The Errol Barrow Gallery, DLP Headquarters, George Street, St. Michael

Description: Astor B. Watts Lunchtime Lecture Series

Friday, 28th July, 2017

By Hon. Denis Kellman, M.P., Minister of Housing and Lands

Topic: “Housing and the NSRL- The Facts.”

The Errol Barrow Gallery, DLP Headquarters, George Street, St. Michael
    As usual lunch will be served from 12.30 p.m. and the lecture will start at 1.00 p.m.

Live streaming http://www.facebook.com/DLPBB

Start Time: 13:00
    Date: 2017-07-28
    End Time: 14:00

An invitation is extended to all to attend and be edified.

DAVID you can bring along HERBERT to attend as well, he will learn a lot.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son July 27, 2017 at 2:21 PM #
    “The yard fowls have egg all over their faces………up to the morning they were here scoffing at the march, even saying that they planted dems in the march to swell the numbers and that the PM should stand his ground and were still cussing the unions and private sector……….
    Now at 12.30, the PM will bring forward the meeting and I was hearing on Brasstacks that there will be no cameras…………..
    What a come down if true!”

He is no longer dealing with the union barking dogs but a man with real clout.

Look and see how fast that physical deficit the Jester Ince was cut down to his obsequious size.

The PM is just getting a taste of the medicine to shrink him to his intellectual size.
    Herbert let him off lightly or he could have read the commercial version of the Riot Act.
    “Resign or else you will be forced to do just by hook or crook”.

18. I would rather have my teeth pulled than listen to Kellman

19. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Also before I forget:

IT’S A BLUE & GOLD AFFAIR “RALLY DEM!” A CROP OVER CRUISE

ABOARD THE M.V. HARBOUR MASTER

FRIDAY, 28th JULY, 2017

“RALLY DEM!”

A CROP OVER CRUISE

FRIENDS AND SUPPORTERS OF THE DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY

ABOARD THE M.V. HARBOUR MASTER

LIMITED EARLY BIRD TICKETS: $65

REGULAR PRICE: $75

BOARDING 4PM – 5PM | SAILING 5PM – 9PM

TICKETS AVAILABLE AT- DLP HEADQUARTERS, GEORGE STREET| FROM DAMIEN AT 246-821-5385 | AND http://WWW.TIXPROCARIBBEAN.COM

20. No doubt he will plug Moontown.

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Fruendel is disgusting…he invited the Mangoste into a partnership, what did he expect was going to happen….he thought they were not going to make sure they have the upper hand if they saw his pissy little boy games.

Carson…all of you want drowning.

22. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

THE GOVT. HAS TO DEAL WITH SOME REALLY DUMB PEOPLE

Government consulted and explained NSRL to stakeholders at meeting after the budget in June (before the increase came into effect).

…So once the tax is introduced once the rate was increased we took the decision that since there should be no misunderstanding on the part of businesses or workers or anybody else we would not make the tax effective on the first day of June or at any time in June. We would give a whole month so that we would consult with all of the state holders in the economy explain to them what it intended remove all of their doubts remove all of their anxieties remove all of their fears although they should have no doubts anxieties or fears because the tax was not new it was just an increase in the rate of an existing tax. So we did that. We met with the Private Sector and we met with the Unions. I did not attend the meetings with the private sector I left that to the Ministry of Finance, the Minister of Finance and his staff and the Central Bank people and so on. But I determined that I was going to attend the meeting with the Labour movement.

Extracts from a speech given by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart at the DLP Christ Church West Luncheon on Sunday, 23rd July 2017.

23. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

You will not plug it for him . you will plug for HERBERT.

24. @Old Baje

You are so right, to listen to Kellman is nauseating……….and he is a senior member of Parliament?

When the man speaks, one cringes that such an idiot could be a minister………no wonder Housing is in such a mess more so after Michael Lashley did as he liked for the first term of the dlp decimating Barbados.

The brightly painted match boxes near St Philip Parish Church are still rotting while poor poor families are pleading for help in the Nation for a place to lay their head.

And these people want to be re-elected?

25. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Fruendel does not have to meet with the private sector, he only wanted to draw them into his little game….and they gladly accepted.

It’s the unions he should more be dialoguing with…the fraud.

All of a sudden, they are Mangoste and snakes and lions, because of a little partnership created a couple months ago.

Well if you believe that…lol

26. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Barbados poor, Barbados pissy, Barbados does not have any money.

That is the chorus of the Private sector, trade unions, BLP.

Yet the banks in Barbados have over $6billion catching rust in the bank vaults.

27. His Excellency The Right Honorable Errol Barrow is alleged to have once said the he would like to take a certain set of Barbadians on a boat, tow them out to sea and sink the boat. Anyone remember that allegation?
    Well I am wondering if the boat cruise that Carson C Cadogan mentioned at 3:27 PM is that boat and if EWB will return from the depths and do what he wanted to do with the hierarchy of the DLP who will be on board. Please sir, take us out of our misery.

28. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

DAVID

Let me ask you a question.

Why is it that when we talk about the private sector or have to deal with the private about half a dozen old white men always turn up?

29. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Is this what the Mongoose is planning?

Is this a part of the “social unrest” which was promise?

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson….yall invited them, ya did not want Owen’s advice yall wanted to hear from the Mangoste cause ya know why….and when yall realized that they are playing for keeps, ya got scared and tried to pull back, but it was too late.

But it is not the place of the Mangoste to punish you, that is the right and entitlement of the majority population…your bosses….for all the many times yall sold them out and still keep trying to sell them out by not proclaiming the Anti Corruption Act and Integrity Legislation….to stop the corruption between government and Mangoste,

Ya planned one last scam before election and it blew up in both the private sector and government’s faces.

The electorate will punish the government, kick them out, never to return…next year…as they deserve, unless Fruendel got the backbone to call elections.

31. The banks have liquidity because there is a lack of confidence in the economy and as a result there is no appetite for borrowing.

#JA

32. If banks do not lend, then why are they in business?

33. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle…..ah love it……the operatives stirring de pot good an proper….. keep it up…..hahaha…..ah too like the distinction made by using the word old….hahaha….cant antagonise de young ones.

They are really rattled with all these posts but they are earning their keep…..all must live…..best wishes to them.

34. @Hal

They are lending to who want to borrow. Another part of the equation is that they are buying government paper to soak up liquidity. Also note it is not just the banks, credit unions and even payday operations.

35. ”Old Baje July 27, 2017 at 3:27 PM #
    I would rather have my teeth pulled than listen to Kellman”

Sport, hit for four. Lol. Really, he is quite something.

Not sure what though.

36. ”Carson C Cadogan July 27, 2017 at 3:27 PM #
    Also before I forget:
    IT’S A BLUE & GOLD AFFAIR “RALLY DEM!” A CROP OVER CRUISE”

Careful the Kracken does not come looking fuh wunna.

37. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Every measure to correct economic challenges harshly criticized.

…one stage we introduced a municipal solid waste tax about which people marched we also introduced amendments to the Barbados Revenue Authority Act to get people to acknowledge those persons who owe the government taxes to acknowledge that they owe the government taxes and to agree to pay 10 cents out of every dollar in the short term and to enter into arrangements how they are going to pay the remainder and there was a threat to shut down the country over that whereas everybody else gets paid in full the government was saying if you owe me a dollar just pay me 10 cents, agree that you owe me pay me 20 cents and the other 90 cents you owe let us agree how you are going to pay it over time. And the place we nearly shut down over that. The lawyers complained, every body complained … and then more recently in the year 2016. In the year 2016, the budget of that year we introduced a National Social Responsibility levy charged at 2% on imports into Barbados and on goods manufactured or produced in Barbados and we exempted from that tax any manufacturers or any production that touched the manufacturing sector, the agricultural sector and the tourism sector in their urge and in their remit to earn foreign exchange for Barbados.

Extracts from the speech given by Prime MInister Freundel Stuart to the DLP Christ Church West Luncheon on Sunday, 23rd July 2017.

38. David,
    Banks, and shadow banks, build up liquidity because they are not lending. The people to lend to are the small businesses. There is evidence they are not getting the loans, that is why they are using VAT and NIS contributions to ease cash flow. An incompetent government aside, banks and shadow banks are largely to blame for the economic crisis. They are not innocent.

39. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Carson….drowning.

40. David

It seems your compadre has learnt a few things about modern banking.

Maybe a few things are now on Google. Or the mainstream ‘thinkers’ in London are becoming courageous enough to properly interrogate this phenomenon.

Now it is still you will not give up the old and irrelevant economic language.

We’re not however convinced that he really understands what he’s talking about.

Just throwing around language about ‘banks’ and ‘shadow banks’ is not convincing to us

After all, when years ago we were using this language he was like you. Up to recently!

41. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Pacha
    “BS&T was largely controlled by the Mutual.”

here is the last BS&T report
    http://www.bsandtco.com/files/2008AnnualReport.pdf

Sagicor owned 11.5% of the outstanding BS&T shares, down from a maximum of 13.7% some 3 years earlier. While Neal and Massy owned 28%, up from the 19.5% they owned for many years.

Since when does 11.5% constitute “largely controlled”?

Memory suggests you lot didn’t know what a googly was either.

I have similar concerns about “understanding”

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C Cadogan July 27, 2017 at 4:34 PM
    “Barbados poor, Barbados pissy, Barbados does not have any money.
    Yet the banks in Barbados have over $6billion catching rust in the bank vaults…”

Does that figure include the millions of laundered money stashed away by Greenverbs Parris in the vault at the C B?

At least the BRA should demand from the mouse-man governor that the amount of taxes (plus interest and penalties) due on that $3.3 million stolen as a dirty gratuity must be withheld before any is withdrawn by the leper to buy more time from prosecution by financing the next DLP investment in vote buying.

You black jackasses have served your purpose. The whites and those well-heeled in the money circle are not going back your DLP washed-up expended two-term pony.

After Monday march supported by the ‘who-is-who’ in Bim, do you really believe Bjerkham, Tempro and more money Maloney would be throwing money down Maxwell pond by backing the DLP in the upcoming one-horse race?

The DLP is no longer an attractive loss leader and will be swiftly removed from their investment portfolio.

43. Northern Observer

Your circumstances produces this type of limited analysis, linear thinking!

First of all there were issues of ownership and control.

Meaning that you can own a public entity and not control it – like the workers, ordinary shareholders, policyholders in a mutual company.

And the reverse is also true – like the community of interests. The White people interest your response is tinged with

You have also ignored the role of interlocking directorates

BMLAS also controlled the workers pension plans at BS&T, at that time

Lastly, you don’t have to own much more than 10% of a ‘public’ entity to be able to demand seat/s on the board to control it. Because the distribution of shares is generally so diffused a 10% controller/owner becomes the dominant force generally

You need to consider all these and more and not be locked into a singular arithmetic formulation.

There is a lot more to this issue which we lack time to go into.

44. @Hal

Not sure you have the analysis right.

45. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

Citizenship by Investment for the OECS territories – their solution to the economic challenges.

…they have citizenship by investment programmes in some cases the persons who are granted citizenship do not even have to come to the country in order to get citizenship or be able to get a passport. But those programme keep them going and allow them to pay their bills from day to day, from week to week, from month to month and so on. I have fought them at CARICOM over those programmes, and the Barbados delegation can confirm all of this because I say to them look, when you grant these people citizenship in your country and Barbados is not a part of the transaction those people become CARICOM citizens and have based on our freedom of movement arrangements the right to come into Barbados when they like and how they like although we don’t know them. The most recent case of that according to the advice the security advice which I was given is that two persons from nowhere in the Caribbean but who became CARICOM citizens as a result of those citizenship by investment programmes came to Barbados to go to the American Embassy to get visas. The American Embassy turned down the applications for the visas but the persons involved said no we are not going back to where we came from we have a right to six months stay in Barbados and we what to stay here under our six months stay under the freedom of movement regime. I am not going to call the names of the countries from which they came I will only say this, you have to catch about six or seven different aeroplanes to get to where they came from but that is what is going on in the Caribbean because all of the countries of the Caribbean are under pressure.

Extracts from the speech given by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart to the DLP Christ Church West Luncheon on Sunday, 23rd July 2017.

46. “Barbados poor, Barbados pissy, Barbados does not have any money.
    Yet the banks in Barbados have over $6billion catching rust in the bank vaults…”
    +++++++++++++++++++

Lend it to Duprey, Parris et al and let them get CLICO back on the road!!!!

47. No one is interested in anything you post……….far less what the arrogant PM said to party faithfuls………..

Call the election that is all Barbadians are interested in. Time for talking with the dems is over.

48. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Fruendel should worry more about the Mangoste he invited supper to be his partners…and they nearly overthrew his government….had yall asses scrambling for real.

49. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

John…i would think you would want them to lend it to the local Mangoste…what happen, the banks arent lending them anymore money.

50. Carson C Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C Cadogan

What I am really looking forward to seeing in this out in the open social “partnership” meeting is the ETHNIC composition of the Private sector.

I am wondering if I will see the same half dozen old white men as usual. But I will wait and see.