We are well aware of the position of TNT as provider of corporate capital to Bajan business. We even wrote a paper about it. What you are doing however is helping us make our point. BS&T was largely controlled by the Mutual. Any undervaluation was a direct thief of workers interests. And the Mutual itself was owned by workers.

The larger point is that an historical opportunity was lost in the period around the early 1990โ€™s. When you fail to learn from history you will be forced to repeat it. The only difference is that workers are not the owners/controllers of capital they could have been. But we continue to have feckless governments, unable to read whatโ€™s happening in the world and enslaved by self-imposed limited options.

Pachamama

During his post-march presentation, President of the NUPW Akanni McDowall to tens of thousands of Barbadians from all walks of life promised that the NUPW will sit with the other partners in the days ahead to plan next steps. It is always interesting to observe when labour and capital come together with shared objectives. In the Barbados context it is all the more interesting given the touted tripartite arrangement which consist of theย  private sector, government and union. Clearly todayโ€™s demonstration is a blow to the social partnership that was born out of similar economic challenge of the early 90s.

We agree with Pachamama that representatives of workers need to change the narrative at the negotiating table in Board rooms across Barbados. We need to change the mindset that we have to be takers and not makers. It cannot be about percentage of wage increase, paternity benefits, tweaking grievance procedures, demanding coping subsidies and so on.ย  If the human element is promoted as the most important resource in any enterprise the owners of capital should have no problem agreeing to employees having a stake in the enterprise. Very few companies in Barbados have created employee stock ownership plans. Although Pachamama shares the view that the opportunity was lost in the early 90s to sensitize the Barbados market for workers to become significant owners of capital, it is never too late to redress.

The successful collaboration between the four largest trade unions and the Barbados Private Sector Association exposed the weakness of the social partnership. The union and private sector groups will always be treated as lesser stakeholders at the table when this government is present.ย  A prime minster gifted with leadership skills will mask the flaw.ย  When BWU withdrew from CTUSAB it weakened the optics of the social partnership because BWU as the largest trade union at the time did not need the clout of other trade unions to demonstrate power. It must be stated that the private sector in Barbados has seen a shift in the ownership mix in the last decade.

Is it possible that the union and private sectors can see more utility in forming a partnership bloc with the objectives being workers able to negotiate a share of the capital? In return the private sector is guaranteed greater productivity? A win win for Barbados?

156 responses to “A Failure of the Social Partnership | Government Out of Step With Civil Society | Time for Workers to Rise Up!”

1. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Are these 3, Brathwaite, Jones and Boyce a comedy show, I cut off Boyce’s nonsense speech..

Someone said, the shirts they were wearing said it all…lol

Such disrespect for the people’s right to march…did Jones March in 1991…ah bet he did.

Itโ€™s madness!
    Government condemns public/private sector strike

Added by George Alleyne on July 25, 2017.
    Saved under Politics
    Members of the Freundel Stuart administration are not at all amused by Mondayโ€™s protest action by members of the public and private sectors.

In fact, Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite has termed it as nothing short of โ€œmadnessโ€ while Minister of Education Ronald Jones has labelled it a not so veiled attempt by supporters of the Opposition Barbados Labour Party (BLP) to overthrow the Government, which has been desperately seeking to avoid sending home thousands of workers amid worsening economic challenges.

โ€œSo you have a situation where you have as much dialogue as possible . . . [and] all throughout Barbados you are hearing that we have a revenue problem, we need to cut our expenses . . . . [And] so you have taken a decision, because you donโ€™t want to send home workers from the Transport Board, [but] you know they gone and strike for us taking a decision to keep them employed. You donโ€™t want to send home people from NHC, but you know they gone and strike for us keeping them employed,โ€ said Brathwaite, while asking: โ€˜What kind of madness is going on in this country?โ€

Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite
    During a Facts meeting convened by the ruling Democratic Labour Party in St Michael East Sunday night in support of its new candidate Nicholas Alleyne, the Attorney General also refuted suggestions made by both the unions and the private sector that Government had been reluctant to hold discussions with them in light of the $542 million austerity package announced by Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler on May 30 with a view to addressing a $537 million deficit.

The most contentious measure announced in the package was a 400 per cent increase in the National Social Responsibility Levy, which moved from two per cent to ten per cent on July 1 and has been met with demands from both the public sector trade unions and the private sector for either immediate rollback or a coping subsidy for workers.

But with Government so far refusing to budge on those demands, the situation descended into protests led by the trade unions, with Brathwaite suggesting Sunday night that the action was totally unnecessary.

While stopping just short of calling the union leaders โ€œidiotsโ€, he stressed: โ€œOnly madmen would take the kind of decisions that have been taken over the last couple of weeks.

โ€œYour first order is protection of the most vulnerable, protection of the workers. We say to you that these are the alternatives โ€“ we either raise some additional revenue as we are doing, or we cut the expenditure, which means send home your workers and you say, โ€˜Letโ€™s go marching, Letโ€™s agree with the same private sector organizations whose only remedy to us has been to cut expenditure . . . [and] you need to send home workersโ€™ . . . and imagine now the workers representatives are planning to walk behind them [the private sector] because you canโ€™t lead these fellas, you have to walk behind them,โ€ said Brathwaite, in expressing his extreme disappointment over the decision by the unions and the private sector to hold a joint march.

โ€œI am very, very disappointed. You know sometimes I ask if we are getting good value for money in terms of education because some of our people who are allegedly in leadership positions, donโ€™t seem to be able to think through things carefully anymore and donโ€™t understand when they are being led.

โ€˜So the leader of the Opposition and her gang are sitting down quietly behind the scenes, but this is all part of the plan,โ€ he added.

Minister of Education Ronald Jones was equally caustic, while suggesting that there was an Opposition-led plot to overthrow the current Government.

Minister of Education Ronald Jones
    He made it clear that he was not opposed to workers marching for legitimate reasons as was their democratic right, but strongly condemned what he said was a โ€œhatch up set of situationsโ€ and a โ€œpull together, hodgepodge, wickednessโ€ with โ€œdisrespectful undertones and overtonesโ€ based on a โ€œdesire to manipulate persons who donโ€™t think correctly. โ€œThe motivation behind all of this is to bring down this Government,โ€ he told the gathering of DLP supporters.

โ€œThey rushed to say after the WhatsApps [message] and other little things start to leak out, โ€˜thatโ€™s not trueโ€™.

โ€œ[But] let us move, they said, for a vote of no confidence in the Government of Barbados and when you look at all of them and their names, and their associations, you know to whom they are associated โ€“ he, sorry, she who cannot wait,โ€ Jones stressed.

His comments came on the heels of a stern warning issued by the Prime Minister Sunday that his Government would not be blackmailed into rescinding its package of tax measures, in particular the National Social Responsibility Levy which the unions and the private sector have deemed repressive.

2. @Tell Me Why

We have the academics and intellectuals at the 11th hour making an attempt to fix their legacies. Before Sir Frank was Dr. Worrell.

3. Herbert is a snake of the Garden of Eden varity type Make a promise which he could not keep to the Unions. They Union head having a foolish and dootish mentality fell for the big lie. Now a day after the narch the Unions have not been rewarded by Herbert for all their efforts in an efficient module to destroy the social foundations of barbados.
    ## Only a fool break their own heart

4. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

That “snake” you talk about managed to organize thousand of people and unsettle the government by creating a cohesiveness among those who are fedup with a nonfunctional government.

Instead of all the long winded talk from foolish slave ministers and yardfowls, what will the government do to better the whole situation….

….and put economic power in the hands of the majority population to reduce crime.

5. Winner vs loser: Charles Herbert winner, Freundel Stuart Loser.
    As FB said “Charles Herbert is the leader we have been waiting on for 20 years”. He rallied the unions and the private sector into a peaceful protest (over 25,000). Does CH have the ability to pull Bdos from the economic decay and restore investor confidence?

6. Will make this simple for you as some one just did online, it was not BU.

8% of 275,000 = 22,000 (Barbados)

8% of 323,000,000= 25,840,000 (USA)

8% of 65,000,000 = 5,200,000 (UK)- it is reported about 60,000 people marched against the imposition of the Poll Tax, Hal will be able to confirm

Now to summarize it for you. Do you think if 25 million people in the USA participated in a march or 5,200,000 in the UK what would be the reaction of the respective government?

7. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

At the end of the day, all this really started because for years now arrogant Fruendel refused to dialogue with anyone regularly and consistently….you cannot manage a government without dialoguing with the people who elected you or the special interest groups.., unions, business etc…it cant and will not work..

Who does Fruendel think he is..

On another note, parasitic Bizzy, looking more and more like a parasite each day since he too skinny to look like a Mangoose, had this to say, whatever it means..

“They can call it whatever they like, there is no race card in me. I am not here to deal with any race issue. I am here because I love my country and I donโ€™t think you could accuse me of not liking black people or anything so because our company [Williams Group] is 900-strong and 99.8 per cent is probably black and a lot of them are shareholders.”

He is such a slug with his “99.8 is probably black”….

Probably, because he cant see them….a true lowlife racist.

8. Herbert the biggest loser his plan was to have a day of upheavel twenty thousand strong and it did not happen but look more like a rehersal to grand Kadooment.Moreover the PM did not budge what a blinking fool Herbert
    Today the govt is in tack but what would be interesting to see going forward Herbert now with egg on his face how his interaction and if he has any influence at all which would serve private sectors.
    By all accounts he has done irreversible damage to himself and disservice to the private sector and should be removed
    His jaw dropping actions of threats should leave a bitter taste of disgust in the mouth of any patriotic barbadian

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

On the surface I tend to believe the unions and private sector because we have seen first hand how disrespectful and full of disdain Fruendel is to his people when he boldfacedly lies to them on every issue with a strsight face and thst is only when he deigns to open his mouth and say something…

So on the surface…we know Fruendel has not dialogued sufficiently with anyone.., that is his own fault…no one else’s, he cannot lie his way out of that..

“Co-founder of Automotive Art Dereck Foster told Barbados TODAY it was important that his company show support for Mondayโ€™s march, which began and ended at Queenโ€™s Park.

He said the fact that Stuart did not seem willing to meet with the Social Partnership โ€œis highlighting the problem we haveโ€.

โ€œIt appears as though the Government is not willing to listen to the people who elected it and that they are quite happy to go about doing whatever they choose to do whenever they choose to do it,โ€ Armstrong said.

โ€œI donโ€™t want people to believe this is about bringing down a government. This is about engaging the Government to find solutions to the problems we have. That is what I want . . . we want it to work and we want to engage with the Government to try and find solutions to our problems,โ€ he said, adding that the NSRL was too onerous and would cause prices to skyrocket and people to lose jobs.

Businessman Andrew Bynoe, who closed both his Black Rock, St Michael and Six Roads, St Philip supermarkets until 1 p.m. Monday to allow staff to join the march, said a message had to be sent to Government โ€œthat it is high time that they sat down with members of the private sector association, members of the union and other stakeholders so that we can address the malaise that has crept into this economy over the last many yearsโ€.

He said the fact that the Prime Minister did not want to engage in an urgent meeting with the Social Partners was a demonstration of his โ€œlack of interest and understanding with respect to the problems that the people of this country are going through.

Executive Director of the University of the West Indies Consulting team Lisa Cummins told Barbados TODAY the turnout for Mondayโ€™s march meant โ€œsomething is wrongโ€.

10. You continue to demonstrate that you are nothing more than an idiot.

The unions and private sector agreed that they did not want to disrupt Barbados to the extent that workers at the QEH, Ports of entry and a few other places were not to be called out.

11. Herbert can consider himself a lost soul and a boat without a rudder that has been shipwrecked .Govt would never entertain a traitor at the social partnership table
    Govt would enage the Unions as agreed with the ground rules of further negotiations as was spelled out by the PM
    Govt knows that Unions were misled andmisguided and on that recognition the called for further talks would resume with an adherence to the various schedules giving forebearance to past meetings held betwen govt and Unions
    As for Herbert he can do himself and country and bury himself under ground. What a piece of sh.it

12. Talk whatever !Herbert sent a letter to govt stating that his plan of intent was one of disruption to country if his demands were not met by a timely date
    So David dont come here trying to cover up what was a plan on the table of disruption
    It was only after PMStuart responded to Herbert Threats with a strong warning that the plan was removed and as PM stated Herbert clam down
    Herbert is a traitor and should never be alliwed to sit at the social partnership table.
    By all reasonableness to why harm of plan and danger and to civility life can be connected to his plan of chaos.Herbert should be spending the rest of his days on this earth in Dodds.

13. Herbert is a practitioner of evil deeds against this country and yesterday duri g the marches he should have been handcuffed and place in jail until time set by court for him to explain or defend that damaging letter against the country
    Using him as an example would send a stern message that govt takes acts of threats seriously by anyone who resides in this country
    The thought of such vermin living among the masses makes me want to puke

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

I guess the heat in AC’s kitchen has passed 80C. De fish and coucou cookin widout the stove being on. I guess Up de Ting means the temperature?
    But look, effing ya wanna make the country happy….jail Herbert, jail the Union bosses, and jail the entire Cabinet….den we wouldn’t even need Kadooment to wuk up.

15. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

And you AS are a representative of a level of scum never before seen in politics or business or labour in this country.

Scum.

Soon you will be washed from our history’s page.

The amount of DLP stalwarts in yesterday’s march was shocking. 20 years in opposition for you.

There was never going to be any economic or moral recovery under Fumble’s teefin’ fools.

16. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Angela…could we see Herbert’s letter, in the interest of being fair to Fruendel.

17. If twenty thoudand people made a difference today there would have been a special call of the House for review.
    The fact being that during the initial planningstages for the march they were certain demands which were called for govt to meet
    Now a day later the demands have not be recognized and govt and workers resume work as usual which protrays a dismal picture that the significance of the numbers were not productive “wise”to the cause or demand for change
    The reason being that theUnionand Herbert message was diluted with PM message on Sunday and the people strength upon which the union relied on to carry the union message forward was therefore erroded leaving a twenty thousand march limping towards the finish line without any accomplishments
    Numbers mean nothing if goals and demands are not met

18. Angela. You are doing more damage to the Government than the delay in dialogue with the Unions. You and Carson are destroying the moral fibre of the party.

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

You do realize that Herbert was doing nothing wrong by marching yesterday, he was not breaking the law, he was peaceful, you cannot handcuff someone for marching peacefully, no matter who.

If Fruendel has evidence that Herbert threatened the country in writing, bring it to the court of public opinion, let the people see and make up their minds…why is it a secret, if it exists.

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

See all that shit they told you to say, makes no sense, not even a little bit, bring the letter or next time Herbert will also shut down the seaport , QEH and airport for ya.

21. As a citizen i can speak just as those who have the mitigated gall to use threats against this country and does not fear reprisal
    The fact being i speak truth .The govt can speak for itself at any given time if necessary as PM Stuart did on Sunday while exposing the cancerous bowels of Jacob plans for this country

22. @ David

It is clear yesterdayโ€™s march shook the foundation of this inept DLP administration. If it did not, she would not be posting multiple contributions trying to convince us it was a failure.

Angela Skeete is an idiotโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ

angela Skeete July 25, 2017 at 9:19 AM #

โ€œTwenty thousand people showed up out if a nation of 275thousand and everybody applauding what am Ii missing here?โ€

@ Angela โ€œACโ€ Cox-Skeete

What you are obviously missing here is that youโ€™re an idiot.

Okayโ€ฆโ€ฆ Letโ€™s assume Barbados has a population of 275,000 as you suggested.

The amount of people registered to vote in the 2013 general elections were 249,024. Bearing in mind a general election is a NATIONAL EVENT, only 154,643 people voted.

Approximately 78,566 of the 154,643 voted for the DLP.

So what is your point, other than youโ€™re an idiot?

23. @David at 11:34 AM …Eight “points” in any political environment is a massive number…so if the 8% numbers for yday march are real then that’s a massive alarm to the DLP….thus the BU paling-cocks are crowing as they are to call attention away!

I have only one minor issue with the reference…. what will your BU cognoscenti say now…the folks who get piqued whenever references are drawn from the countries over-in-away don’t they poo-pah that it’s irrelevant, alien to our issues and all other manner of palaver!!! Oh lawd, LOL…. Can’t have it both ways, now can they. LOL.

And for factoid sake…. as we are going rouge with US and UK references…..Trump ‘lost’ the popular vote by 3 mil they say…approximating 3% of the voter turnout …. and Brexit was lost by about 7 points (%).

In sum, this 8% if accurate was of course a MASSIVE message to the DLP! That sort of number ABSOLUTELY purges ineffectual governments.

Incidentally, in further off-center light-hearted vein consider that if you look at the numbers of marchers as a % of the adult/voting age population (to exclude the youth contingent at the march) then the overall number as a % is even more freaking impressive.

24. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Chuckle…..I have not seen a govt so agitated as this one is,as shown by the behaviour of its operatives…..who every time they spit it lands back in their face.

Ah, just think back to 2008 when you had the adulation of this same public and all of you walked on water,oh, what heady times…….then you spent 9 nine years squandering it.

As Bushie is want to say Karma is a beetch

25. “Dee Word

Will allow your snide US reference to pass, we will give it to you.

BU used the gross number for population size because this is the number ac used and one she probably will better understand. Didn’t want to complicate by desegregating the number.

26. It is difficult for you to understand all that is unravelling in Barbados but here is an update.

The Speaker of the House has agreed to hear a motion after lunch on the concerns raised by the two part of the social partnership yesterday.

Also, the NUPW has promised that they will be pressing the others to keep the pressure up on government even if it means a country shutdown

Fight the people and you will always lose.

27. @Artax, spot on! Total voter turnout paints an ever more troubling picture.

It is fair to say that if you get out of bed and march in the hot sun then you will definitely get out and VOTE.

Although this is not a all-inclusive-to-the PM election system the DLP stat gurus can easily appreciate that 20K ‘angry’ voters spread around the country would yet be a dooms-day scenario for their candidates.

How the DLP power brokers react to this affront – besides the stupid paling-fowl commentaries – will be a clear indication of their smarts and how badly they want to retain power.

@David, all good. Just pulling you chains (and those of the cognoscenti) a bit.

Your numbers are also good. When the AC crowd drill down as Artax did above they will surely ‘shat their diapers’ and really ‘foul’ up the blog….. so let them be happy with the gross numbers.

We all know what that march signifies …Bajans are TOTALLY disenchanted with this lot.

And for my last US/UK reference (LOL)…let’s hope that the local pols can offer solid and meaningful alternatives and unlike Labor or the US Dems not just spew ‘against rhetoric’….otherwise all of this protesting may still get us less than desired!

28. de pedantic Dribbler July 25, 2017 at 1:28 PM #

โ€œAlthough this is not a all-inclusive-to-the PM election system the DLP stat gurus can easily appreciate that 20K โ€˜angryโ€™ voters spread around the country would yet be a dooms-day scenario for their candidates.โ€

And your above comments would be equally worrying to the โ€œDLP stat gurusโ€ as well, especially if we take into consideration the results of the 2013 election. The DLP was BEGINNING to LOSE popularity and โ€œangry voters spread around the countryโ€ caused DEM to lose 4 seats.

According to the 2013 election statistics, the DLP received 78,566 of the votes, while the BLP received 74,027โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. or 4,539 less than the DLP.

Fast forward to the 2018 elections, and also bear in mind the DLP has been CONSISTENTLY LOSING POPULARITY among the Barbadians over the past 4 years.

The 4,539 votes that separated the two parties would obviously increase and if we factor in your โ€œ20k angry voters,โ€ which (most likely) may increase as well, we can see why the DLP and its supporters in this forum will โ€œshit their diapers.โ€

This must be very troubling for Angela and Carson.

29. And when one includes Dlp supporters who where on lookers and spectators the numbers are further dilluted.this game of numbers supposedly benefits the Union that i do not belive . since the benefit of one for calling for a change of govt was not satisfied.
    However marching forward cannot wait to see whats on the agenda when private sector and union lock horns for the increased of wages for employees at the bargaining table

30. Not at all troubled or perturbed just amused at what can be described as a shalllow flow of entertainment can be in all seriousness be a reflection of electorate mindset going into 2018.
    After all hasnt this country not marched down this same road before with jubliant fanfare abd wishful thinking that a change of govt is gonna come

31. Debate in Parliament on the impasse between Government, Union and Private Sector convene this evening. Wondering if it will be live.

32. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I am more interested in the change of distribution of wealth shifting into the hands of the majority population to drive progress within that group, create more jobs and opportunities for future generations and in so doing, reduce with a view of eliminating poverty and crime in the majority population…

…that should be Fruendel’s priority at this time.

Redistribution of wealth and financial power to the majority population…..I cannot say this enough.

Then government could never find itself in such an ugly, awkward and embarrassing situation ever again.

33. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artax July 25, 2017 at 2:11 PM
    โ€œFast forward to the 2018 elections, and also bear in mind the DLP has been CONSISTENTLY LOSING POPULARITY among the Barbadians over the past 4 years.โ€

Added to that would have been the 2013 effective war of propaganda waged by the DLP which painted the BLP under OSA as the party of Privatization (Selloffs) & Job-Cuts (Layoffs) both of which have been subsequently undertaken by the current DLP albeit in a rather nasty and incompetent way and which have turned around and bitten them in their political backside unable to be used again as ammunition in the upcoming battle.

Vote Buying & Voter Apathy are the only options left for the DLP next time around.

34. Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim. Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman: Animal Farm sequel playing out in Bim.

WW, I think you grossly underestimate or simply don’t know how many Bajans are self-employed and operating micro-businesses; all part of our ‘private sector’.

In USA, supposedly the hotbed of private enterprise, it is estimated that 5% of new business startups survive 5 years.

In Barbados I would be very surprised if that number was not 50%. Every beach vendor, cloth van, food van, truck freighter, hair dresser, nail salon operator, carpenter, mason, landscaper etc. etc. etc. is a member of the private sector quietly going about his or her business providing goods, services or contracted labour.

When you talk about ‘wealth distribution’ in the manner of Czarist Russia it does not represent our current reality.

ALL of the current Bajan business people are at their wits end. Talk to anyone in the insurance business to understand how bad things are. There is no more money.

Fumble’s Fools haven’t destroyed this country by pandering to large private sector, small private sector, civil servants or the workers of Barbados. They have destroyed Barbados by gross mismanagement at every level and affected all of us.

All were represented yesterday. All have had enough of Fumble’s Fools.

35. Monday’s March Loser: The Race card propaganda

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Consensus between Gov & Unions- revenue needed to pay increases

But we said look at the end of September when we see how the tax is performing as long as it is performing in accordance with our cherished expectations we would be prepared to look at the issue of a salary increase. And I left the meeting, I told the Min of Finance look the Press waiting downstairs, go downstairs and just let the Press known where we are on this issue, the Unions would speak to the Press as well but I think we have make some progress on this issue. At least everybody understands that we need to get the revenue in order to pay salary increases but certainly also to narrow the fiscal deficit.

You have heard, I believe, that you are hearing all of this for the first time. You would not believe that this happened in the presence of the Minister of Finance, the director of Finance and Economic Affairs.

Extracts from the speech delivered by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart at the DLP Christ Church West Luncheon on Sunday, 23rd July 2017

37. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Frustrated…that was the old way of doing business which = FAIL.

It’s a whole new brave world out there…that does not include sucking the taxpayer’s or pensioners for decades on end….the young people will know how to start up and continue…indefinitely

Your business models are becoming obsolete….failures.

The new ways of doing business is financially sounder…..the old models are phasing out.

The government just needs to redirect the funding to the younger generation in the majority population and they will do the rest…..Barbados is way behind in everything, including servicing their debts.

38. @ Angela โ€œACโ€ Cox-Skeete

Yuh got BU hot, yuh!!!!

You are so ignorant that you are scraping the bottom of the barrel in a failed attempt to โ€œfurther dilute the numberโ€ of people who attended the march.

The police would have given a count of the people who participated in the march and obviously they would not have included those individuals on the โ€œperimeters,โ€ whom you referred to as including โ€œDLP supporters who where on lookers and spectators.โ€ So stop scraping the barrel.

The reality of the situation is you and your DLP cohorts anticipated the march would have been a failure. Judging by the number of people who were there to send a strong message to Freundel Stuart and the DLP, obviously the march was a resounding success.

It also showed that people were not intimidated by Freundel Stuartโ€™s childish threats and insults.

POSTING MULTIPLE CONTRIBUTIONS is an INDICATION you are DESPERATE.

And that reminds me of what I heard yesterday evening while was passing through Marhill Street. A group of men were arguing about politics and many of them expressed with certainty the Stuart โ€œdead in the Bay Land,โ€ meaning he will lose in that area.

Food for thought, AC and Froon.

39. Monday’s March Loser: angela Skeete.

Talk wuh wunna like….dat woman braids just got tight as shiite….

Bushie cannot recall the yardie even being so rattled…

…it is like a mongoose get let-go in her cage…
    Ha ha ha
    Wuhloss
    murda!!!

40. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Financially empowering the majority population does not have to go through the minority private sector…it’s none of their business…

….the money belongs to the majority anyway…empowering it’s members is a given….and very necessary moving forward.

That is a choice for any black government to make…if they dont want this continuous confusion between government, private sector, union and workers….

Time to phase out the middle man, leave him to do his own thing.

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol…Skeete got big problems.

And Frustrated…if ya still dont get what I am saying, here is what I mean..

Time for the government to create a new private sector……made up of majority black entrepreneurs, geniuses, creatives and visionaries…they do exist in Barbados…have existed for decades, but never given an opportunity because the parasitic Bizzys et al…made sure the slaves of parliament always had they full attention……..in Mangoose style..

A new black private sector going forward….the proper and fair destribution of wealth.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A Proposal from an NUPW delegate – Government willing to look at Salary increase after 3 months.

A proposal was then put on the table not by the Government, not by the Government. A proposal was then put on the table by one of the delegate of NUPW. That delegate said PM, OK, we understand you canโ€™t make a decision on salary increases now but after 3 month you should have some idea how the new tax is working would the Government be prepared after the end of September to have a look at giving Public Servants some kind of increase however small that increase may be. I said sure, sure, sure. That proposal did not come from the Government it came from a representative of the delegation, a delegation from the NUPW. We said look there are some issues that have nothing to do with salary, that the Trade Unions can continue to discuss with the Ministry of the Public Service and at the end of September we will look and see how the tax is performing and then once it is performing as we confidently expect it will perform we would be prepared to look at some kind of increase for Public Officers

Extracts from the speech given by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart at the DLP Christ Church West Luncheon on Sunday, 23rd July 2017.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan July 25, 2017 at 3:06 PM
    โ€œConsensus between Gov & Unions- revenue needed to pay increases
    But we said look at the end of September when we see how the tax is performing as long as it is performing in accordance with our cherished expectations we would be prepared to look at the issue of a salary increase. And I left the meeting, I told the Min of Finance look the Press waiting downstairs, go downstairs and just let the Press known where we are on this issue, the Unions would speak to the Press as well but I think we have make some progress on this issue. At least everybody understands that we need to get the revenue in order to pay salary increases but certainly also to narrow the fiscal deficit.โ€

Pity the liar didn’t make similar provisos when you bastards returned your 10% retroactively.

That is the same man who in the presence of the same MoF confirmed that the tertiary education at the UWI would remain free at point of delivery as long as he is PM. One of the main private sector players, in the recent march, Proper Pork, was a witness to his spoken affidavit of lies.

The same man who boastfully asserted there will be no Privatization or sale of state assets under his administration.

We will not even mention the cast-iron commitment to the policyholders whose names are still to appear on that promised list of greedy Bajans he has refused to submit to the honourable members of the House of Talk only.

The only word of his that can be relied upon is his promise not to go to the IMF, until he is forced to when the forex runs out completely.

44. @ Artax
    …many of them expressed with certainty the Stuart โ€œdead in the Bay Land,โ€ meaning he will lose in that area.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++
    They are correct in other areas too…
    The whole DLP is dead …and beginning to smell.

Bushie suggests that we stop speaking ill of the dead.
    let Carson give a last eulogy – and then we can gently shove him into the political grave with the rest of the corpses…and throw in the dirt.

Time to move on….

Bushie is calling for a national shutdown …and for ongoing protests around the courts until SOMEONE does some shiite about making that damn thing work….

Produce some kinda plan…
    Fire somebody’s ass…
    Give a full list of the backlog…
    Set targets for the next three months…. six months…
    Heads to roll if targets not met..

Lotta shiite.

This will all be aimed at letting the next government (coming to replace the duppies) know what they are expected to do …OR ELSE!!!

It is high time that Bajans done wid the lotta brassbowlery…
    Bushie knows for a FACT that some of those BLP boys only coming for the wuk4wuk and the easy pension money….
    We NEED to let them know UP FRONT – no performance will bring them NUFF stress…. and that we will bury their donkeys prematurely too… now being experienced BB grave-diggers.

…but cud dear angela, yuh sounding so heart-broken though!!!
    Please accept Bushie’s condolences in your period of grief..

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

EXPOSED

I am very pleased to be here today and I want to thank the Chairman and the members of the Executive of the Christ Church West Constituency Branch and the members of Christ Church West Constituency Branch for once again having me here at their annual luncheon, a successful luncheon every year, always coincides with Soca On The Hill and I have been this consistently for the last seven years and I do no allow anything else to collide with this commitment, very pleased to be here to share this afternoon with you. This year’s Christ Church West luncheon though comes at a time of some very intriguing occurrences in Barbados and I am very pleased to be here against that background because I have been observing what has been going on in Barbados. I listen very carefully to the things that are being said and observe very carefully the things that are being done and the things said and the things done remind me yet again, if I needed to be reminded, that in politics battles are never finally won you have to fight them over and over and over again as people in the United States of American who benefited from the Civil Rights Movement and the gains registered around the time of the Civil Rights Movement have realised that these Civil Rights were not to be taken for granted, you have to fight for them every single day because in politics battles are not ever finally won and that’s the context within which I want to evaluate what is happening in Barbados today. In the fullness of time, in my time, I will speak directly to Nation on a number of things but I am addressing a party branch occasion here today and I feel myself under a moral compulsion, a political compulsion too, to bring you up to date on events in Barbados on the 23rd day of July 2017.

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/exposed#.WXbfzuZYuC0.facebook

46. @ WW&C
    Why don’t you leave Frustrated B alone? The man is blogging like a boss…

It is not the government’s role to ‘create a new private sector’. it is for Bajans to drop the mendicant ‘give-me’ attitude that has been promoted and encouraged by the shiite politicians and union leaders that we have had in the past.

Already, many have taken the step because they were forced to…

You see those coconut salesmen? …dem fellows does make more money that the shiite-hound bank clerks with degrees that wukking like slaves for the Trickidadians and Canadians.

The PROBLEM is that the coconut men continue to project the image of ‘poor me’ … i ain’t nobody – cause no slave master won’t buy (hire) me….

Barrow identified it as a self-image issue long ago, and it has only got worse.

Frustrated B is shotting…. he got Bushie here wondering where he renting that whacker from…

47. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Frustrated is shptting for himself….he is one that genuises in the majority population would be going to work for instead of being given the incentives to create their own work force…

A black private sector is needed on the island..

You cannot promote self independence and still want Frustrated to hire ya grandchildren…

And dont let me get started on the hundreds of millions of dollars of the people’s money the current private sector get…many of them….to start and continue business on the island decade after decade..

Dont play ya forgetting now Bushman….

A radical dupistribution of that money is needed to the majority population..

I hope ya did not drink anything from anyone on that march yesterday…lol..

48. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Bushman…you sound like you want to be marching for the same shit over and over….except you wont be here……time to get this right.

Why would you want to hold on to the same players in the private sector to create the same bullshit for another 30 years…remember, it will not be you having to deal with the same shit from 1970…another 30 years from now.

Same disenfranchisement
    Same bad attitudes
    Same complaints
    Same greed
    Same backstabbing
    Same stagnant, non progressive bullshit

Time to upgrade. ..UP DE TING….a new private sector….a black one.

And here I kept thinking you had vision…steupps, make me mad Bushman.

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Bush Tea July 25, 2017 at 3:27 PM

If there one thing that you can on with you BLP brown nosers, is the fact that you like to count your chickens before they are hatched.

I have noticed too that your comments are now longer in length, I don’t know what that is symptom of .

You have suddenly now realised that your fellow Bajans are not brassbowls as you always refer to them.

What has brought on all of this old pensioner?