DLP’s War on Labour

Henderson Bovell

The Unions like to say, ‘where there is no vision the people perish!’ Perhaps then, it is because of ‘the ageing process’ or even ‘failing eyesight’ that they seem unable to read the signs and take appropriate evasive action, despite the visible early warning indicators, which are blinding the rest of the country.

This could very well be the end of the line for trade unions as we knew them. However, there is hope!The more you listen-to and read Caswell Franklin’s contribution on behalf of labour, you cannot help nodding your head in approval that he embodies the trade union leader of the future: “sound academic and common sense  judgment;” fresh; knowledgeable; energetic and committed to the cause of workers.  In recent times, union leaders have selected a shortcut to a destination, which is not in the workers’ or the national interest and therefore – a path, which clearly does not make sense to workers.

‘Declining membership and influence,’ is never in any union’s interest, given the very interpretation of the word: “union.” This shows that the crisis, which was triggered by the failed-DLP-Government, is spreading.

In coming months, unions will see the Social Partnership, as their only life-support, but may find what they are trying to hold dear (in desperation for relevance) may no longer be important to, or in the interest of Government and Capital. Because the unions have been rendered “weak” they can no longer be regarded as a “partner” by capital, even if good company for the DLP. In fact, while the DLP is pushing-around labour unions and their leaders like “ponds” it is begging the private sector and capital to “bail-it-out” and invest more. No guessing where the DLP feels ‘real’ power and relevance reside!

High unemployment because of the large-scale and reckless massacre of workers by a Government (which gets it wrong and has lost its way) is never going to help the unions, which are already making themselves vulnerable.Starvation of dues because of high unemployment is one thing but when’ breach of trust’ and ‘loss of confidence’ are added to the brew – the unions will know that they have a serious crisis, for which they too will need representation and someone to bargain on their behalf. And, like the DLP, the number of people who are taking them seriously, is diminishing, rapidly.

As a further blow to the unions, while they were waiting for some “list” the IMF was the one who was telling the country that this failed-DLP-Government has so far axed 1800 persons, who were engaged with the Public Service. Then a most bizarre thing occurs: instead of criticizing the DLP for firing or slaughtering so many, the NUPW launched an unprovoked attacks the IMF, which is merely the messenger – announcing the provision of the DLP’s “secret deal!”

Even more troubling for the union is the sad fact that the DLP has disarmed it of its “collective bargaining ability,” and “stripped-it of its right to negotiate.”  As an example, without a word being said in any negotiation, the IMF has already delivered the final position of the Government – that there will be a further “2-year wage freeze.”

What are you left with:? Unions with declining membership; robbed of dues, as a result of massive firings; disarmed of the ability to bargain collectively; stripped of the right to negotiate and powerless to do anything for workers (despite an Employees Rights and a Public Service Act) and even while people employed 10-years and more are being fired, while those employed as part of a oppressive fatted calf doctrine of 2008 – remain employed.

It is always a dangerous thing to play Russian Roulette and even more horrible would be “IF” old men whose acts and omissions convey being tired and having had enough on behalf of 10,000 or less – would now be offered and accept duty on behalf of 267,000, despite suggesting that they have no more energy or fight! If you cannot secure a victory for workers locally how then will you add value to Barbados, internationally, when even more energy (which you now suggest you no longer has) will be required?

In this regard, a foreseeable cost overrun should never be entertained by taxpayers, especially with Barbados already having a serious expenditure crisis! The only thing more disappointing than the way the union has conducted itself is the current Prime Minister causing over a half million dollars to be spent on a Commission on Alexandra School, simply to tell the country what it already knew and then – despite his awesome power and everything he could have done in the interest of Barbados – he commits the country to unnecessary and unjustified cost, by engaging an alarming number of rejected DLP candidates, in his large unproductive Cabinet, and at a time when the DLP is slaughtering workers to safeguard themselves, while the union remain silent, perhaps in anticipation of their own serving of the calf!

Meanwhile, the DLP’s war on workers and Barbadians, continue but the union cuss the IMF!

34 thoughts on “DLP’s War on Labour

1. No End To DLP’s Madness. A Strong Case For Workers – Only If The Unions Were Seriously Interested

There do not seem to be any end in sight to the DLP’s madness and Barbadians are running-out of safe places to hide from this failed-DLP-Government, they no longer want and which is not in the country’s interest, to keep!

Comparative advantage would require this Government to do more of what it is good at, in the national interest! Unfortunately, if the DLP were to follow that principle, Barbados would be in even greater peril! The DLP is good at lies, ‘unfairing;’ ‘harassing;’ ‘bullying’ and treating Barbadians badly, deception; betrayal; bogus logic, dangerous mismanagement of the economy and causing unnecessary pain and human suffering.

The latest dems to disturb the “public quiet” with ‘trademark DLP froth’ and bogus logic (but a DLP truth) is senior Cabinet Minister Kellman – hand-picked by none other than Prime Minister Stuart himself (perhaps as an ideal example of DLP’s definition of “eminent” person) for elevation to his huge “unproductive Cabinet.

Minister Kellman spoke and immediately, my point for a new politics, and the appropriate ‘private members resolution,’ which will pave the way for Cabinet Ministers to be regulated by something similar to the Responsible Corporate Officer Doctrine (“RCO doctrine”) was made.

When a Cabinet causes as much “destruction” and “brutal devastation” as the DLP has and within the record time it did – there needs to be a law, which would impose vicarious and strict liability on Ministers, to either speak-out; take appropriate action to correct the public wrong or be held “collectively-liable for criminal negligence and reckless endangerment of society and the public’s interest!”

If there was any doubt that the DLP’s incompetence has resulted in an undisclosed number of thousands engaged with the Public Service being savagely axed “wrongfully” and without “just cause” – (perhaps) simply to preserve the large DLP’ Cabinet and guarantee access to a pension, which they have no ‘right’ to – confirmation came recently when Minister Kellman spoke.

Kellman could not hold-back and (speaking for the Cabinet of Barbados) he announced that the DLP was firing workers who were temporary in order to give them permanent jobs, later. The only public comment more vulgar than his – was the prime minister saying that “temporary” means just that and the unions joining “the DLP’s circus of hogwash” to tell temporary workers that they do not really have a job but only changed tune when David Commissiong said dismissed temporary workers may have a case in law.

There are several things wrong with the DLP selective cleansing: The present Government told those same workers that if they voted for the DLP, their engagement with the Public Service will be “safe” and there will be “no layoffs” and “no privitisation.” It then told them (and the entire country) that the economy was “stable.” We now know (thanks to the IMF and not the Barbados Central Bank) that the wild allegation about the economy being “stable” was a horrible lie because it was shrinking since 2008.

But, having no reason to doubt the DLP (then) people made plans! Why not! Citizens have every right to feel that they can trust their Government! So that when there was ‘disquiet’ about people engaged with the Public Service being dismissed, the Prime Minister reassured that firing people was not part of the DLP’s agenda and naturally Barbadians believed that! There are Offices, to which Barbadians attach tremendous “trust” and “respect:” the Office of Prime Minister; Leader of the Opposition; DPP; Chief Justice; Chief Medical Officer and Commissioner of Police. It is understandable why Barbadians (including dems) will no longer be reckless and trust or believe anything the Prime Minister or the DLP say.

The country was further re-assured that no one was being dismissed that it was a ‘computer glitch’ and then ‘Smart Stream,’ was blamed – and even though that payment-system did not apply to the category of workers affected – Barbadians accepted the Prime Minister’s words!

But trusting the DLP is a serious error of judgment because, based on what Minister Kellman is now saying, the Cabinet and everybody therein, would have known from the outset, that (a) the economy was not “stable” and (b) it was always the DLP’s intention to fire all temporary workers and since no sound reason alleging incompetence or wrong-doing on the part of such workers – has so far been advanced – then such dismissals seem “wrongful,” “criminal” and “discriminatory!”

Wrongful; criminal and discriminatory because: On one hand you have workers being fired “without just cause” and on the other – Barbados has a “huge, unproductive; incompetent Cabinet,” that lied; caused the economy to shrink; to be downgraded to “junk,” endangers the strength of the Barbados dollar; causes the foreign reserves to disappear; made Barbados weak and vulnerable to withstand attack, it is causing businesses and enterprises to fail, it is creating an environment of doubt; has caused a lack of investor and consumer confidence; mistrust and uncertainly and yet – the DLP still keep its job as the Cabinet and Government but ruthlessly fires an undisclosed number of thousands, to hide its crime. On top of all of that, it will now seek to withhold what workers are entitled to, until they reach the age of retirement. So that, if you are age 40, do not look for anything until age 67, even if you qualify. This is the society the DLP is creating.

This vulgarity is clearly not what YOU – the people of Barbados expect or expected when YOU voted for the DLP a year ago. But, having done all of this inexcusable public wrong, the DLP now expects to be allowed to loiter even longer and creates enough distractions, daily – in desperation to buy more time to qualify for its own pension.

The DLP has a major problem! It held the “truth” captive and “MAY” have also had the Central Bank and trade unions as allies but not the “eminent people” at the IMF, who are “addicted” to telling the truth! The IMF spoke and Barbadians now know the truth! As a result, trade unions, the church; the Government and the Central Bank Governor are all now being seen in an entirely different light.

The self-confessions (accidental and or deliberate) that the people have been wronged by a Government they trusted – are coming fast. First, discreetly from union leaders but in recent times – more openly from Ministers Estwick and Kellman. This is why this failed-DLP-Cabinet needs to be held to a higher standard. A new politics and a new law, which prosecutes, and embraces the spirit and intent of a Responsible Corporate Officer Doctrine, makes sense. To his credit, Dr. Estwick contends that the DLP is firing people unnecessarily. Minister Kellman has now proven him correct!

Meanwhile, there do not seems to be any end in sight to the DLP’s madness! It is firing an undisclosed number of thousands and withholds what they are owed by deceitfully hiding behind a ruling of the same CCJ, which tells this same DLP to pay Ms. Myrie but it arrogantly does not. You would think that this wicked DLP Government would adhere to the IMF’s sound advice and pay its outstanding debts. Instead, it stupidly and stubbornly creates more debt and saddles a future Government and generation with the burden of having to clean-up the mess it continues to make daily.

But, Minister Kellman has now spoken (even if committing taxpayers to further cost) and immediately, there is a much stronger case for ‘temporary workers’ but ‘only’ if trade unions were interested. I mean: the DLP’s incompetence has no limit and continues with tremendous energy – on a rolling-basis! I have never seen anything like this before! Even a savage austerity programme, which is suppose to significantly reduce expenditure – could now end-up being another DLP- cost overrun!

This DLP Government is ‘shockingly vulgar’ and shameless! It is now “blue-vex” and angry with the people-friendly Mia Mottley and the BLP just because they ‘WILL NOT AGREE’ to conspire with the DLP and commit a horrible crime against the society; the economy and Barbadians – by amending the Constitution and changing the law so that this ‘reckless and indiscipline DLP Government,’ could “choke-and-rob” Public Servants out of their pay, by way of yet another savage DLP salary cut!

2. On sending home

It was a tragedy. No person with any compassion could do other than grieve for these people, whether it was an economic necessity or not, and express whatever they wish to say for them sensitively and caringly . My views about suggesting that workers are unproductive and lazy IN THESE CIRCUMSTANCES are now well known and I will NOT retract them. People are worth more than that.

OK. Yes you can talk about the sin of ‘sloth’. It is also our right to talk about the sin of ‘pride’.

3. You are either Old Onion Bag or a clone thereof.How pathetic is it for the writer to make the first response to his own piece? But carry on smartly. ..Perhaps this time self serving leaches like you and yours would turn off enough voters so that it does make a difference.

4. I have never worked out what Mr Bovell hopes to achieve with his postings.
    It certainly does not do the BLP any favours and to the rest of it it is self-indulgent nonsense.
    I am sure in the mess is a legitimate contribution.

5. @ Hamilton Hill

That is the idiocy of Henderson Bovine

Not content with the substantive blog the female rabbit or cvunt returns to his vomit to write an equally long and rambling asinine piece uh Shi*e

@ Caswell

You need to be very careful considering that Bovine has ascribed to you any compliments which, worthy as they may be, are coming from “He who was once the Herald of the Now Dead David Thompson

6. @ Henderson Bovell
    “The country was further reassure that no one was being dismissed”
    Well, welcome to the real world where people breathe and have their being Mr. Bovell. There isn’t anything written in stone as far as the political affairs is concern. Everything is subject to change without prior notice as far as the institution of government is concern. And you ought to know this given your assumed knowledge of government. One would think. But I nonetheless, understanding your inability to look beyond superficiality of the economic climate in Barbados in an effort to truly understand the rudiments of the economic vicissitudes which militates against the quality of life of the average Barbadian.
    Moreover, I don’t know of any administration in human history that hasn’t said or done something that it hasn’t regretted upon ascertaining the true reality of its particular situation. Politicians whether in Barbados or the United States of America are real people with human faults and failings. Who are subject to some of the same indiscretions that those of us in the general populace are guilty of? So let’s not put them on a pinnacle because in so do we’re only deceiving ourselves to the true realities of our human nature.
    All in all, this isn’t quantum physics or philosophical dialectics but pure common- sense that you ought to and should be cognizant of, given the age of enlightenment and the advancement in academics. You know, it is quite easy for those of us to analyze, hypothesize, and speculate without ascertaining underlying currents that has given rise to the current political reality which makes it self-known in human terms in the small island of Barbados.

7. @ Henderson Bovell
    At the end of the day, we elect people to our highest offices that are programed with human shortcomings. And even if their intentions are honorable initially, who knows whether or not there will change during the course of their tenure in office. So in essence, it is the luck of the draw when we elected these men and women to represent our collective interest in the institution of government. Honorable men as well as has fallen from Grace throughout the course of our human history. This is the human condition and we might as well get used to it, if we haven’t already.

8. End of discussion. So let’s us aim for the better good and sidestep those corrupted elements which seek to undermine our confidence in the institution of government. We have forgotten that when we plan to elect people who we believe will represent our collect interest honorably in the institution of government, that we must do so with the Devil in the details.

9. Caveman thinking in a modern world, does little to change the political equation in the infinitesimal island of Barbados. The critical thinking skill is the academic tool we ought to sought after if we’re to inform our thinking in an expansive way.

10. Question here.
    I’ve got to ask this.
    Are we paying attention to the large numbers of ex-pats whom are occupying the top positions in LIME and other technology centric companies?
    Technology is the way forward and the only way that we can “quickly” emerge from this financial state we created for ourselves.
    So do we need to place our future in the hands of foreign entities whose singular role is to enrich themselves at any cost and rape the country of its finances?
    Why is the new CEO of LIME an Irish accountant whose experience was garnered from Digicel?
    Cant another Barbadian do that?
    Lets keep playing good house slaves and see if this madness ends!

11. @ Mark Fenty

You said and I quote “Moreover, I don’t know of any administration in HUMAN history….”

THe CAPS on Human are mine and i remarked that you used that same word in the adjectival context, twice.

Just wondering, given the qualifying adjective, if there is logically any other type of history… like dog history or cat history.

Yes, yes I have heard of the “history of man, or the history of the motor car, Russia, etc and nuff other animate or inanimate things but human history seems to suggest a state of juxtaposition e.g. like the gray aliens history, you get my drift?

Forgive de ole man dese questions but I just had a few too many ovaltine biscuits, de madam din looking, and I is jes rambling a little

BTW ( i get that from de gran chilren) David [BU] appoint you as night watchman or sumting causing whu cause you to say “End of Discussion” so emphatically?

DAAAAVIIIIDDDDDD [BU] first it is Alternating Current den Cocky Locky den Bovine now …….. whu lawsie man whu gine on??

12. @Piece
    If you haven’t heard of the term human history, then perhaps there is an urgent need for you expand in the area of your reading. This term has been tossed around in the political as well as the religious circles for many years now. And just because you haven’t heard of it, doesn’t make it erroneous to use. Your lack of knowledge just tells me that your vocabulary is limited and in need of development.

13. Human history – Definition

History is often used as a generic term for information about the past, such as in “geologic history of the Earth”. When used as the name of a field of study, history refers to the study and interpretation of the record of human societies. The term history comes from the Greek “ιστορία” historia, “an account of one’s inquiries”, and shares that etymology with the English word story.
    Historians use many types of sources, including written or printed records, interviews (oral history), and archaeology. Different approaches may be more common in some periods than others, and the study of history has its fads and fashions (see historiography). The events that occurred prior to human records are known as prehistory.
    Knowledge of history is often said to encompass both knowledge of past events and historical thinking skills.
    A criticism of history as a field has been that it has too narrowly focused on political events or on individuals. Deeper more significant changes in terms of ideas, technology, family life and culture have received too little attention. Recent developments in history have sought to redress this.

Human history – Definition

History is often used as a generic term for information about the past, such as in “geologic history of the Earth”. When used as the name of a field of study, history refers to the study and interpretation of the record of human societies. The term history comes from the Greek “ιστορία” historia, “an account of one’s inquiries”, and shares that etymology with the English word story.

Historians use many types of sources, including written or printed records, interviews (oral history), and archaeology. Different approaches may be more common in some periods than others, and the study of history has its fads and fashions (see historiography). The events that occurred prior to human records are known as prehistory.

Knowledge of history is often said to encompass both knowledge of past events and historical thinking skills.

A criticism of history as a field has been that it has too narrowly focused on political events or on individuals. Deeper more significant changes in terms of ideas, technology, family life and culture have received too little attention. Recent developments in history have sought to redress this.

Human history – Definition

14. @Piece
    I hope you do not take affront to what I am about to say to you regarding one of your comments above because my intent isn’t to vitiate your academic stance in no way shape or form. But I am quite certain that I have heard you referred to yourself as an old man. And judging from your above comment, I must surmised that either you’re in the early stages of cognitive decline or you have been taught the critical- thinking skill during your former years of education. No fault of your own of course.

15. @Piece
    When I used the term no administration in human history, I am in essence saying no government in the history of humankind. The term administration when used in the above context is simply the psychological equivalent as government. That where the critical thinking skill comes in brother. Have a great night and stop sleeping with the both of your two open like there is some kind of a bugaboo in the corner of your bedroom.

16. @Piece
    When I used the term no administration in human history, I am in essence saying no government in the history of humankind. The term administration when used in the above context is simply the psychological equivalent as government. That where the critical thinking skill comes in brother. Have a great night and stop sleeping with the both of your eyes open like there is some kind of a bugaboo in the corner of your bedroom.

17. Fenty….LOL (your last remark). But remember that the more you write the more there is for people to misinterpret and, as I’ve recently discovered, entering into what one hopes will be a meaningful discussion, in good faith and in the interests of truth, is so often a waste of time. I speak generally not referring to anyone here particularly. I guess it is a blog not a meeting of a learned society.

18. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad on said:

LAY OFF 10,000 to 15,000 workers, use that money to pay down the debt ,The we need not take any slave loans from anyone, Then they can be ready to buy more votes.. Maybe they will just get rid of the BLP persons that MIA and OWEN hired for votes to stay in office so long.
    PONZI and Land Fraud musical chairs to see when the music stops who wil be standing .NO to Slave loan to put us in to Slavery. Remember Greece , their Leader refuse to take slave loan on his people , Some Just dont get the cost and the price that will be paid ,

19. Fenty

You see what I mean? You can make a straight contribution but then some jerk comes along and thinks he’s made a smart remark which adds nothing other than to prove, if proof were needed, that there is no way he could possibly add to the fund of human knowledge, still less lead anything very much. Disgusting.

• @Ross

Predictable, now go complain to Carl Moore’s Nation newspaper AND don’t forget to use your moniker.

Hypocrisy at work oeople.

20. @ Fenty

I must admit a few things Fenty.

First of all the term human race is correct but when used in specific circumstances it is redundant and inutile.

Second of all i lost a bet with another BU-ian who knows you well. We were discussing you and he know you from the time you were a wee lad and said that since you got the internet in your home and the online thesaurus you would become the scourge of BU.

I bet that I would rankle your chain a little which I do admit was unbefitting of the ole man and i said that you would respond 6 times at least, I lost the bet, you only came back 5 times.

But in so doing you confirmed what i did share with him that you are an unconscionable nitwit who, being loutish, does not understand the etiquette of blogging.

To respond to five times and then to repeat yourself twice is indicative of what he calls “your new nigger on de block attitude”, confirming what he has long said you were a show pig with this new acquisition of the internet and the lexicon.

Dont quote the whole Wikipedia article try at least to precis it so that when you are in real, real company and people see you there, they may speak of you in revered tones and not quite rightfully say, “he be the oaf dat got all uh BU full up wid he inane comments, nuff nuff times!!

Lef de ole man alone yuh causing you ent gots de intellectual capacity to cross swords wid me even now dat my “sell by” date, i.e. it is alotted unto every man 3 score years and ten to live, is past.

@ Robert Ross

He of the saccharin quote I realise that once someone has an opinion other than yours you are relentless in your tangential repartees. As ole as i am, once the specific is worthy of the effort, i can still rise up to any of your challenges, and therein lies the issue, we ole farts are supposed to dry up and die, you even cussing de blog master!!

Do you think that the young Fenty can assimilate the simple point of 5 sequential blogs?

21. David

“What is leadership/” – ‘Not-David’

Pieceuh

There are various ways you can say things without being downright rude. Think beyond the box……as “ole farts” are supposed to be able to do.

• @Ross

Your problem is that you alway must denominate everything to a pea size number. You can have the last word on this matter. Now that is leadership…lol.

22. The Watcher | February 22, 2014 at 9:51 PM |

Question here.
    I’ve got to ask this.
    Are we paying attention to the large numbers of ex-pats whom are occupying the top positions in LIME and other technology centric companies?
    …………………………………………………….
    It has gone further than at the executive level .It is now quite common to see 2- man (euros) crews driving about in the vans that the retrenched technicians previously occupied, after the BWU, more or less had sided with LIME to institute one-man crews. There are still some one-man crews in LIME, local Technicians operating bucket trucks, with no one to call on in case of an emergency with these sometimes temperamental Cherry Pickers.
    Yes,sir, we have not progressed beyond the evergreen tree in the plantation yard.

• @Colonel Buggy

Thòse Caucasians you spotted are contracted British Telecom personnel working on the LIME fibre laying project. Apparently they have the expertise.

23. @ Colonel Buggy

This probably is emblematic of the level of representation by the representative of the downtrodden in Barbados.

Unions led by knighted ole men, of which i am numbered, ole men that is not knighted) who only think in terms of dues and do not have teh slightest clue what representation means but who talk pretty particularly when in front of CBC cameras while abdicating their substantive duties.

But this is what we have voted for at the AGM etc, empty men and women who live on the per diems, and bring family and friend along for the ride when they go overseas on Union business and/or run up the phone bill to $6,000 for the Union to pay.

But Erine Philips Chief Immigration Officer down dey sleeping while pulling a salary that she in her wildest dreams never imagined that given her beginnings she would have achieved while these ex pats getting the Jobs that Trotman abdicate pun.

And we seeking repatriation yes siree wid dese waste foops leading we headlong into purgatory, teachers, farmers, lawyers, ministers, clergymen, policemens all over de place we being led by crooks scoundrels and inept leaders

24. Jesus H Christ…How long would one have to put up with the diatribe from this BLP operative. Please can you not write a balance discourse without making your agenda so obvious. Shite…
    David, I know you would not stop and limit freedom of speech but this man is relentless…Geeeeez

25. LOL
    HA HA… SHIITE MAN, somebody make Ross REAL vex den!! Wuh he sound like a little pot starver who recently got some licks from a big bushy tailed Doberman ….. 🙂

Look people…respect due to Ross. How the hell wunna expect to insult him just because he always insults others first….?

Stop it!

26. Perhaps Discredited; Compromised And Now in a Damage Control & Credibility Salvage Mode!?

“The purpose behind the introduction of a VAT is to evolve a tax regime which features a broader base with lower rates of taxes than that which it replaced. The experience, however, is that such a worthwhile intention is frustrated by the practice of weakening the base of tax by the introduction of a number of exemptions over time…” The Rt. Hon, Owen S. Arthur, M.P.,

Whenever the IMF is compelled to get involved and on the scale that it is now required to, in Barbados, that is confirmation that the appointed stewards and local economic doctors – namely: the Prime Minister; the Minister of Finance; the Central Bank Governor and other key economic advisers to the Government – have all failed and that there is a perilous crisis with which they cannot “cope” and it is obvious [even to them] that there is “no hope” for growth or recovery – except the IMF intervenes.

Essentially, the IMF is equivalent to: “an-economic-doctor of final hope and last resort!” Its heavy presence in the Barbados economy is therefore irrefutable proof that the DLP is now irrelevant to the lives of Barbadians and obsolete, as regards, the Barbadian reality! Everything the DLP and the Central Bank Governor says from now on (except they are announcing a FETE) – should be ignored because they have already been discredited as having failed Barbados. But what would you expect from a Government, which told the country that the economy is not important but is now forced to turn to the IMF for help because they just do not know what to do and simply cannot ‘cope?’

No sooner had the IMF issued its Report than there is ‘tremendous disquiet’ in Barbados! All along, the economy was said to have been “stable;” the Government’s policies were alleged to have been sound and there was ‘nothing’ anybody else could have done ‘different!’ Barbados was advised to ignore the IMF and Rating Agencies because the IMF gives “bad advice” while in the case of Rating Agencies – a downgrade to “JUNK” was no big thing. That ‘outlandish concoction of tropical hogwash and froth’ from the Central Bank Governor!

The Barbados Labour Party sounded the alarm but few listened. The IMF spoke and the country slowly begins to take note but only after thousands are fired, businesses and sectors have collapsed; the Central Bank’s obsession with printing money is exposed; there is a capital flight from the country; investor and consumer confidence has been smashed; the debt is escalating monthly, the economy has shrank and has been downgraded to “JUNK;” poverty has skyrocketed; the foreign reserves are shaky even when propped-up by a Credit Suisse loan and the country is staring devaluation in the face!

Perhaps as damage control and desperation for relevance – the same Central Bank Governor – who gets a failing grade in the recent IMF’s Report – now tells the country that VAT is an anti-tourism tax, some seventeen years after it has been in-place and tourism was booming under the BLP! But, according to the IMF’s Report, VAT is not the danger to Barbados – the Central Bank (as regards its monetary and fiscal conduct) and the DLP Government (as regards its incompetence) are! If the DLP and the Governor are looking for an excuse why the tourism numbers and spend are down – while up in other regional country – VAT is not a good excuse! Flawed DLP policies; its bad decisions and poor judgment, is to blame.

This is yet another reason why Barbados needs to go the route of: “The Responsible Corporate Officer Doctrine.” Because, instead of now trying to talk to Barbadians [after the damage has been done] ‘the DLP and its Operatives’ should be required to give evidence before a Committee, similar to that in America, on Capitol Hill.

Again, the Governor, like Minister Kellman did recently – proves why Dr. Estwick is justified in saying that the DLP policies are flawed and that those flawed DLP policies – have resulted in the country being on the wrong path. Incidentally, Minister Estwick’s “alternative fiscal consolidation strategy” is also a justified “vote of no confidence” in: the Cabinet, the Government; the Prime Minister; the Minister of Finance and the Central Bank Governor. Worrell’ instant outburst, proves why!

It is not the VAT, which is causing the local tourism industry stress but flawed DLP policies such as: a 60% increase in water rates; a 50% increase in Excise Tax on Petroleum Products, which resulted in increased energy cost; increased Land Tax and increased VAT from 15% to 17.5%. Imagine, the DLP would do all that demolition to the tourism industry but would then give Sandals a sweetheart deal – and on top-of-all-that – have the nerve to complain to Britain about an Air Passenger Tax!

For expert advise on the VAT, it is necessary to listen to the interview given by former Prime Minister Arthur in St. Kitts. According to Mr. Arthur, a VAT is the best option for the region in the age of trade liberalisation. Mr. Arthur said then: “it brings an assuredness to the collection of government revenues to enable you to have a sound fiscal position. The Value Added Tax allows you to broaden the base of taxes to include things that historically have not been subject to tax.”

Fourteen years of success under Owen Arthur, with the same VAT but “no DLP” and “no Delisle Worrell!” It is therefore not difficult to figure-out the source of the crisis Barbados faces. But, it is all there in the recent IMF Report. This DLP Government is simply ill-prepared to get Barbados out of the crisis it manufactured locally, and its inconsistent and phased response – adds to the uncertainty and panic in the country.The large; unproductive Cabinet – is further hampered because it does not feel the economy is important and does not have a clear grasp of the economy they are charged with overseeing, particularly in the context of the CSME and a global economy, which was in crisis! Barbados was therefore in serious trouble and already defeated – the minute the DLP was elected – because the enemy is within the gate!

Leave a comment, join the discussion.