For eight years the country has been gripped in an economic recession – negligible growth notwithstanding in a quarter here and there – although it feels like a lifetime, an unaccustomed position for thousands of Barbadian if we count from the last major economic crisis of the early 90s. Clearly Barbadians- judging by how we have responded (not responded) to the economic challenge- must legitimately question our leadership and management abilities as a nation. We have reached the point instead of leading the region, an accustomed position since Independence, we have retreated to comparing our current state with the base of the base in the region. The boast that Barbados is a model Black country boxing above it weight class has become an idle one.
With less than a year to go until the next general election bell is rung AND weeks after the minister of finance Chris Sinckler delivered a ‘budget’ he promised will create a surplus on current account by reducing the deficit by 567 million dollars in the current financial year –the country’s major trade unions have decided that now is the time to pressure the government to modify the rate it has applied with the implementation of the contentious National Social Responsibility Levy (NSRL) from 10% to 5%. BU SUSPECTS the NSRL issue is a ruse by the BWU, NUPW, BSTU and BUT to give impetus to a bigger objective, that is, to force a change in government. Such naked affiliation by the major trade unions to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Opposition does a disservice to the movement. This will be a blog for another day.
If a student does not study well in the school year, cramming one week before promotionals will not make a difference. Using the same analogy -how will it be possible to reduce the deficit by 567 million dollars in less than a year before the next general elections IF the government has been unable to implement policies to achieve same in the last eight years? What is magical about this year?
To the apolitical Barbadian it is evident the economic model that has served Barbados for the last 40 years has run its course. The tourism goose is laying eggs, however, not in the same quantity or quality. An ageing population, unsustainable cost of social services, a burgeoning middlecalss manufactured on rising household debt, means that it is all beginning to collapse because we have not been able to match production with spend. As important is that as a people we have to adopt the right behaviours to collectively guide the country in the direction that will reasonably sustain ALL. What should these behaviours be?
It is laughable that trade unions are calling for a wage hike for employees in the public service and the wage bill by the same sector by any measure has been identified as the reason for the worrying state of government finances and has resulted in the printing of money. The end result is that domestic debt to GDP is ranked at one of the highest in the world. BU cannot ignore the fact that there continues to be haemorrhaging in government’s finances outlined in every Auditor General’s report since 2007 to the present. BU’s comment should not be taken as an attack on public sector workers. If we are honest we should be able to agree that the public service has become a place that the political class has padded to satisfy narrow interest.
What is playing out in Barbados gives currency to the Orwellian view that all the tenets we should adopt to protect our fragile democracy we seem happy to jettison in favour of alternative facts, incompetence and corruption from the entrenched political class and the partisan political minions. The foregoing made all the more ironic if we continue to boast of being a highly educated nation. The national budget allocation to education supports it.
The trade unions will again impose a go slow on a nation and what will be achieved? There will be enough workers who feel intimidated to ensure the public service remains somewhat productive and the country will limp along. This is where we are a country limping along.

245 responses to “A Country In Limp Mode”
Paula,
If there is a national strike which cripples the nation, the military will become involved, supported by the RSS. We are playing with fire.
The strike is four years too late.
All Bajans worth more than what Paddy shot at should be in support of such strike.
The strike should continue as long as the DLP remains in office.
A country worth its salt would act SWIFTLY to send:
Message to the BLP:
Same shiite in store for wunna asses if wunna don’t come with ITAL
Same shiite in wunna tails if wunna get back with that teefing and wuk-4-wuk shiite…
Message to ALL high officials:
Bajans will no longer be tolerating incompetence or mediocrity. If yuh CANNOT do de WUK do NOT tek the PICK….
…but brass bowls sit around waiting for Clement Payne to come back….
Hal
Stop talking piss!
What are we witnessing in Barbados over the last few days ???
Well I will tell you. Uncle Toms akanni and Toni are seen groveling in supplication to Massa Harbert and the Mullato Mary.
I thought that we said massa days done ??????
People of Barbados wake up the decendants of the former slave owners trying to make a political comeback. Beware, beware, beware.
To forewarned is to be forearmed. More to come no pun intended.
Thanks, Enuff, for your dispassionate analysis.
@ Hal
Enuff’s admonition is one of immense value and logic. It comes no doubt, after lengthy contemplation and reflection of your contributions on Bu over the months.
The only difference that Bushie has with Enuff in this case, (and Bushie does usually tend to differ with Enuff) … is in the state of solidity of your mouthing….
Stop talking shiite.
Fractured
You are right about the threat of Massa….
BUT…
It comes from Froon and his bunch of “baloney house niggas”, who have – over the past 9 years- systematically forced bajans back to the baloney plantations….
Even the little savings we had accumulated in CLICO …wunna thief for the massa…
Wunna tax the very shiite and water to hand over to bizzy
Now wunna come with NSRL (New Set of bRassbowl Levies) to squeeze the last drop of blood from the Bajan brass….
A pox pon wunna donkeys….
Paula. You said “This March is not about the good of the economy or workers rights or political parties. It is about putting those wild boys who think they are in charge back in their place by those who really run things.”
If it is not for the above three reasons/ Do tell me….Is it for putting those wild boys back in their place? Who said it and what occasion the language of “Wild Boys was used”
Maybe Paula. In your rush to decry the march you also insult the populace calling them “mindless masses” and the Union Leaders as “Weak”.
Paula and Hal your rhetoric ain’t working. Why are you looking at Civil Society trying to start unrest with military intervention? It is a simple march with human beings led by Unions and the same businesses that can pull Barbados out of this financial rut.
Fractured. This march have nothing to do with Massa Days. This is about survival since you cannot keep on taxing the country year after year talking about home grown remedy. Let me state. If you are in doubt, check it out.
Someone posted on Facebook, once KFC and Chefette fast food outlets remain open on Monday who cares if the country is shut down.
There is a lot of truth in that statement. What is missing is the lack of leadership as we go in to what can turn out to be a breakdown of social order. No one knows how the strike would turn out, unless of course they can see the future. With the best of intentions these things can get our of hand.
Of course this government is incompetent, but we must consider the unintended consequences.
There is a call to exempt the hotels. Why? How about the QEH joining the strike? And the refuse workers? And undertakers and cemetery staff? How about the banks, NIS staff? The rest of the civil service, bringing the nation to a stand still?
Bush Tea July 22, 2017 at 7:41 AM #
Excellent post.
Keep marching bills still gotta be paid. Last election cycle they were a barrage of marches from bridgetown to baystreet. Nothing new here just a bunch of old warm over soup to strike fear and the PM would not budge.
The truth of the matter lies in the fact that some in the private sector are longing for the days when they could have called the shots and were able to control the taxpayers money
Hence those days are now long past and private sector is using every means available like siding with the Unions to get back their share of monetary control.
Some of them who are squacking abou taxes iwes govt millions of dollars in taxes. What govt needs to do whike some if then march send the bailiff and pace a demand niteon their propteries fir moneies owed to taxpayers.
Barbados debt lies deep within the bowels of some in the private sector who belives that getting rid of govt would give them a right of passage not to pay what they owed to govt
Hahahaha……..The truth of the matter lies in the fact that some in the private sector are longing for the days when they could have called the shots and were able to control the taxpayers money……………………..
…………………………………………………………
Somebody help me to understand exactly what this govt has done with the tax payers money over the nine year period they controlled it?
Take note the ones who are vehemently calling for IMF intervention are those in the private sector who belives that govt extension of borrowing to pay bills would be a good exit strategy opening a new playing only for the purpose of reliving them of having to commit to govt homegrown strategies which would mean long term burdens placed solely on the most vulnerable by the IMF which would not necessarily affect or impact the private sector lifestyle
@Hal Austin July 22, 2017 at 7:33 AM
“If there is a national strike which cripples the nation, the military will become involved, supported by the RSS. We are playing with fire.
So who is playing with fire? Certainly not you living comfortably from a safe distance in Willesden or wherever in N. London!
Was the British army involved in the Notting Hill and the Brixton riots?
But your prognosis is spot on. The local soothsayer Ronald WeJonesing Nostradamus Minista of Edikation predicted very early in the current term of governance what you are ‘expecting’.
So who cares if a few heads are cracked open and innocent marchers shot in their black backs similar to what took place at the Sharpeville massacre?
But there is only one way to avoid the potential bloody outcome which both Jonesing and your good self have seen on the horizon.
Let the Bajan whites and money-class leave their air-conditioned offices and join the black masses and you would see how far a distance your enforcers of physical violence would watch the marchers and proceedings.
Injure just one whitey and see what would happen!
Jethro,
There is no mass event more peaceful than kadooment, yet the defence force is always on standby. Do you think if there is a breakdown in law and order they will not be called out?
millertheanunnaki July 22, 2017 at 12:12 PM #
Interesting to see how monday is shaping up.
From all the feedback it would appear that the Poor and the Rich will be the ones marching while the Uni. educated middle class debate if the right reason was arrived at for a march and if the all the I’s and T’s are dotted.
Has always been so as the those have a lot in common especially commonsense which tells them enough is enough….we cant take this anymore…..the march will as Herbert stated prove if the country is really fed up or not…..if not let the govt carry on smartly.
They have gone for the jugular now,desperation has set in.
Presently circulating on social media 97% blacks being led by 3% whites,etc,etc,a big post.
…….the race card has been played….the last card in the pack……wuhloss
@ Hal Austin July 22, 2017 at 12:24 PM
“There is no mass event more peaceful than kadooment, yet the defence force is always on standby. Do you think if there is a breakdown in law and order they will not be called out?”
What breakdown in law and order?
Was there such a break down in previous marches held by the unions under the military orders of Trotman the Grand ole Duke of York during the Sandiford administration struggling under an IMF structural adjustment programme?
What about the recent marches held by the BLP and most recently the unions?
BTW, is this the same woefully unaffordable “Defence Force” you would wish to see disbanded as a priority in the inevitable fiscal restructuring programme and some of the disbanded members migrated to the Police force?
It is one sure way to spur flight of capital. It is a fact the economic wealth and power is controlled by the minority.
Jethro,
You are not very good at this English language thing. A pity because St Giles had very good teachers. I said ‘if’.
By the way, yes, the defence force is something we cannot afford as a nation. Replace it with a volunteer force.
@Jethro,
Your anger and bitterness is getting the better of you. Whatever your failure in life it had nothing to do with me.
From the Morris lecture on friday to the this race card which is the supposed ACE in the pack,shows how they are unravelling.
They dont even realise the damage they are doing to themselves far less the country.
Has Morris opened up himself to a defamation law suit from the target?
@Tell me Why July 21, 2017 at 10:49 AM I am sick with people stating the Union leaders being inexperience[d]. ”
Me too.
Frank Walcott was 24, yes twenty-four when he was out there organizing workers. It was a hard fight because back in 1941 the planter class owned the land, the money, the Parliament, and damned nigh owned the workers too. It wasn’t easy, but the young inexperienced [but intelligent and passionate] Frank fought the good fight.
Some people seem to believe that he was always the white haired, gentlemanly Sir Frank…he wasn’t. The political/economic class of the day would have been glad to see him permanently silenced.
Up de ting!
@Hal, [Fair] comment [on a matter of public interest]?
Section 8 (3) -The defense of comment in an action for defamation shall not be limited or otherwise affected by the fact that dishonorable or corrupt motives have been attributed to the plaintiff.
@millertheanunnaki July 22, 2017 at 12:46 PM “Defence Force”
I can’t believe that we have a Defence force shining their boots with taxpayers money, even while the police force is short of 200 men/women.
And rascally young “boys” shooting old ladies for $40.
We does make some bad, bad decisions hear!!!
@Fractured BLP July 22, 2017 at 8:22 AM “People of Barbados wake up the decendants of the former slave owners trying.”
We all know that the current “political class”/DLP “Leroy Parris is my friend” are the intellectual descendants of the former slave owners.
Blasted turncoats.
@ Hal Austin July 22, 2017 at 12:54 PM
Why are you resorting to ad hominems? I do not refer to you as the ‘big ugly idiot’ squatting in the white people land.
My anger and bitterness is the fuel used to expose hypocrites and intellectual frauds like you.
We shall never forget your attacks on the deceased “Guyanese-born DPP and Muslims living in Barbados and the UK.
Now what were/are the bases of those attacks if not the same anger bitterness you ardently display to many on this blog who dare to expose your intellectual shortcomings of not being the high-flying financial journalists you foolish boast about.
You are nothing more than a full-blown bullshitter.
But we leave you to Pachamama.
Jethro,
Give me a single example of a personal attack on the late DPP? Also give me a single instance of my boasting of being a high-flying financial journalist or intellectual? Me, who did not go to school?
You are a sad man. Bitter and twisted. If it is not true, you are prepared to make it up. You speak as a man who has wasted an entire life.
Your only truth is that I am ugly.
The private sector could not care one rats a.ss about public servants getting a wage hike for them they see the march as a golden opportunity to vent against a homegrown policy which would affect their pocket book
The issue at hand is govt finding ways of blancing the budget and securing public servants wages without further printing of money
In the intrium the private sector pursuing methods which would deplete and erode the economy would hurt them in the long run
As i say the bills must be paid .
@Hal Austin July 22, 2017 at 10:03 AM “How about the QEH joining the strike? And the refuse workers? And undertakers and cemetery staff? How about the banks, NIS staff? The rest of the civil service, bringing the nation to a stand still?”
If the government does not talk then you will see those other workers coming out as well. In fact NIS has already come out briefly.
The nurses association this morning already issued a statement saying that although they are not marching on Monday they however are in full support of the march.
The unions and the private sector are being forced by the government’s recalcitrance to use any means necessary to get the government to [engage in dialogue] talk.
If the government is foolish enough to force the NIS and the nurses to come out, then so be it.
Somebody, maybe you, needs to remind the government that it does not own the people, nor does it own the people’s labour.
It the government has already threatened to “break some heads, and shoot some people” even while imposing unbearable tax burdens.
Somebody needs to tell the government “massa day dun dead”
@angela Skeete July 22, 2017 at 10:33 AM “Some of them who are squacking abou taxes iwes govt millions of dollars in taxes. What govt needs to do whike some if then march send the bailiff and pace a demand niteon their propteries fir moneies owed to taxpayers.”
Dear angella: Has anybody ever told you that you cannot get blood out of a stone?
@ Hal Austin July 22, 2017 at 1:35 PM
“Your only truth is that I am ugly.”
I never described you as “ugly”. The few occasions I happened to see you on the V29 your features were of no interest to those on board.
That’s Pachamama’s perspective and your reality.
But we are glad to see you have finally looked into the mirror and see an image which you have finally come to accept and which reflects your reality.
Now that you have been taken down a notch or two off your intellectual high horse you can find a place where you really belong in this world; just another ‘has-been’ who uses BU to vicariously live a life of intellectual stardom through your xenophobic and Islamophobic rants.
Jethro,
You are still on about the intellectual thing. Give me an example of my claiming to be an intellectual. I see your aim in attacking me is to bring me down a ‘notch or two’. What a sad man. You are so confident of yourself you are hiding behind a mask. Shame.
What a conundrum…
According to the provocateur the the scenario faced by the unions is one of being used by big business but my posit is as follows:
An inept govt….an inept union…..a savvy but divided private sector.
Both aiming for the unions……so who will screw the Unions first??
@ Hal Austin July 22, 2017 at 2:16 PM
Shallow Hal what’s up with you and this unmasking thing? You and this unmasking business again??
As soon as you are exposed as a fraud and hypocrite you resort to your anti-Zorro behaviour.
Your name is Hal Austin; mine is Jethro Miller. What more do you want to know that your sister cannot fill you in on?
You are the one who ought to be wearing a mask, given how you see yourself.
When you were that high-flying investigative reporter for the Daily Mail rag sheet (as you proudly and constantly boast about) did your reveal the identity of your sources of sensitive information on insider trading, white collar crimes and underworld gang activities?
Jethro,
Now you have revealed yourself you remain the same anonymous person you were with your nom de plume. As I have said, your bitterness and anger come over rather strongly and obviously you have failed to achieve whatever your ambitions were. You are potentially a very violent man.
By the way, I am not shallow, I am semi-illiterate for which I blame the world.
@ Hal Austin July 22, 2017 at 3:28 PM
“You are potentially a very violent man.”
You mean like Pacha, Chad and Bushie to whom you append similar curses when you are forced to succumb to their superior intellect?
I am in your age group and will soon be departing this orb, like your dead nemesis the Guyanese-born DPP.
May be I will return in my next life as a Islamic Jihadist just to look you up.
Jethro,
You are sick, quite clearly. You have a problem with intellects and intellectuals. When you look back on your life you are obviously a failure, so you want to bring me down ‘a notch or two’ for thinking I was a top notch investigative reporter at a tabloid rag. What a sad man.
@Frustrated Businessman: enact Facilitation Martial Law! July 21, 2017 at 7:44 AM “Money runs every aspect of life on this planet.”
No it does not.
Without labour money is nothing.
@Tell me Why July 21, 2017 at 10:49 AM “I am having mixed signals from the two learnt economists. Firstly, Dr Marshall…”
But isn’t he a DLP sympathiser?
@ Hal Austin July 22, 2017 at 4:04 PM
“You are sick, quite clearly. You have a problem with intellects and intellectuals.”
If only you knew!
No Hal, I don’t have a “problem with intellects and intellectuals” but with hypocrites and frauds like you.
Your xenophobic contorted and contradicting contributions to this blog are adequate evidence to classify you as such.
@Prodigal Son July 21, 2017 at 4:21 PM “Esther Byer…I heard her ranting in the Senate this week that people who get laid off dont want jobs before the 6 months is up and that they are taking the government money instead of taking a job.
Only a complete idiot would take a $200 a week job instead of $400 a week from NIS.
We the people whose money it is have bills to pay too.
Jethro,
You are using words you do not understand. You are filled with hate and anger and it is showing. Like most things, you make claims, but cannot produce any proof. Me a hypocrite?
You need help. You are drifting off to your grave with nothing to show for a life’s work. You are not the only one who gets satisfaction out of intimidation. It is the action of a scoundrel.
David. It seems that the more Private Sector operations getting involve in the March. We here Williams Industries, Cave Shepherd, Automotive Arts….plus others I am trying to get confirmation. Would appreciate you filling in the blanks.
Automotive Arts has advised staff in writing that they can march.
The simple farmer on CBC Evening News tonight is a remarkable Barbadian. His wise counsel more sensible than anything ever spoken by McDowell, Moore, Redman ,Herbert, Tell me Why, big idiot yard fowl miller or scores of crooked lawyers. The man is a true role model . He posited he would be working on his farm on Mon, he doesn’t agree with the march and dialogue was the only way forward. Every penny the government pays MacDowell and Redman should be put on this farmer’s bank account. He spoke without hostility just calm, and unbiased. A love of country was obvious.
At Crop Over when there is millions of dollars to be made by businesses the focus is misplaced to war in the streets. The country misses out on millions because of industrial action and uncertainty at a time when money is freely spent. BU and Tell me Why gladly list companies closing their doors to customers with money to spend. Nothing will be gained from this illogical Venezuela form of demonstration. Much will be lost with another setback for the economy. Barbados cries out for more citizens like the simple farmer on CBC.
Up de ting.
Those in the private sector planning to march would be bushwhacked
Plans are on to boycott them
An interesting tactic the DLP is playing regarding ‘hate the white people’.
Firstly, it insults all the black business people in Barbados.
Secondly it paints all their loyal supporters as racists as well.
It is such an amateur and desperate tactic that even the most sceptical wouldn’t have expected it.
The writing now seems to be on the wall. There is no way the BPSA can sit across a meeting table from this scum, even if the unions would lower themselves to.