Dear Brothers and Sisters,
Please see the attached video taped conversation on REPARATIONS between Dr. PEDRO  WELCH, the chairman of the Barbados National Task Force on Reparations, and DAVID  COMISSIONG in his role as host of the University of the West Indies REGION  TALK television programme.

1,349 responses to “Reparation Talk With Dr.Pedro Welch and David Comissiong”

1. It is all in the head!!

2. We are mostly ALL Slaves to the Banking Empire today. When they CRASH the system the vast majority will suffer. The most critical question is—

Are U prepared????????????

Those waiting for some payout regarding Reparations are Deluding themselves regardless of how justifiable it may be. So please focus on the very real problems today in Bim and globally, your survival may well depend on your preparation.

3. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

MoneyB….that`s the crux right there, will they be prepared for the next big con game, the next massive scam created by the robber banksters to continue enriching themselves for the next 8 generations…200 years into the future…

the debt slavery scam is fading…cant last much longer.

4. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

reparations in dry leaves paper money will be useless, they will just switch the scam, these dudes need to use brain power instead, to stay ahead of the next scams, so they and their people are not used for the self enrichment of others.

Hal…try to keep up, ah know this is above, beyond and decades ahead of you…lol

5. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

Here is an even better reason to ban all Europeans from ever entering Africa again and kick all the ones presently there…out.

“Africa demands reparations from European colonisers and the European parliament responds with “BOOOO’s” demonstrating their true feelings !!!”

6. John

Two of the most widely cited studies on the PROFITABILITY and ECONOMIC BENEFITS of slavery by Nobel prize winners in Economics are:

Robert Fogel and Stanley Engerman, Time on the Cross: The Economics of American Negro Slavery. Little Brown, 1974

Douglass North, The Economic Growth of the United States, 1790-1860. Harper & Row, 1961.

7. WW,
    What about the Africans that made money selling other Africans?
    They still selling OUT the peeps today, we know the C’bean/ Bim.

What about European DRs and Medical people working for Africans?

8. Vincent Haynes Avatar

MB

Brainwashing along the colour divide has worked well with very few realising that the nebulous wealth that everyone likes to talk about is realy a means to an end by the few to control the many.

Its gone from tribes selling out and killing each other to the amount of melanin in a person and no doubt in a couple more centuries after some have settled in distant planets leaving the rabble behind in a desolate world it will start all over again …..the climb back up.

9. Chad,
    Both are studies of the development of chattel slavery in the US. I have Fogel and Engerman’s, but not North’s. What about the British Empire? On a wider note, when you first raised this issue I asked for clarification, which you declined. Protesting that you did not want to be my tutor.
    I am in the forum to learn, and believe the best form of learning is by discussion. If you do not want to share knowledge, why then are you in the forum?

10. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

MoneyB…..What about the Africans that made money selling other Africans?

that is an escape clause….those Africans, scum that they were, did not force enslaver countries to run a slave triangle for over 300 years to UK, US, Caribbean, it`s a very weak argument….

…and then practice racism to keep the trade alive for self enrichment…lets focus on the criminality of western countries, most slaves were not sold by Africans…most were kidnapped by greedy whites…yall will not get away with rewriting history.

are you saying there are no capable doctors in Africa…

11. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

we should not even mention the little petty sell outs for government ministers politicians lowlifes in BIM, it is such a shame and disgrace, they will die off one by one.

12. Vincent Haynes Avatar

No appreciation of our own….Eric Williams in his 1944 publication posited that slavery created the industrial revolution which in turn destroyed the trans-atlantic slave trade.

The relationship between slavery, colonialism, capital accumulation and economic development has long been an issue that has exercised political economists and economic historians, though it is perhaps fair to say that it tends to be neglected in standard university courses for undergraduates. Kenneth Morgan’s booklet in the Cambridge New Studies in Economic and Social History series should go some way towards redressing this imbalance between academic research and undergraduate appreciation of recent work in this field. Indeed, it provides a useful and accessible introduction for undergraduates to what has been one of the most provocative modern theses relating to British industrialization, namely that articulated by Eric Williams in his most famous work Capitalism and Slavery. Published in 1944, Williams’s study set out the explore the impact of African slavery on British economic development, his most celebrated claim being that profits from slavery helped to fertilize the British Industrial Revolution. Although not the first to discern a connection between slavery and capital accumulation – Marx and Hobson, among others, had been there before him – Williams was perhaps the first explicitly to attribute British industrialization to the gains from enslavement of Africans in the Americas. A second, equally provocative, theme articulated by Williams involved the impact of industrialization on British attitudes and policy towards the slave trade and slavery and included the claim that, contrary to then received interpretation, it was economic self interest, not humanitarianism, that drove nineteenth-century British antislavery. Seen in the context of wider academic and political concerns in the West over issues relating to race, inequality and economic development from the late 1950s onward, it is perhaps not surprising that Williams’s work has attracted widespread and continuing interest among historians over the last forty years, provoking various debates over the impact of slavery on British industrialization and over the nature of British antislavery from the 1780s onward. It is on the first set of issues that Morgan focuses in his booklet.
    https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=8&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0ahUKEwj6hu-t4JDVAhUCMSYKHRtWAEcQFghWMAc&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.history.ac.uk%2Freviews%2Freview%2F259&usg=AFQjCNGoW8CWlTvj9wXaUJbS2KGpU-OEaQ

13. Speaking of dispassionate..

Courts are dispassionate… or should be

Peoples opinions like Money Brain, Vincent, John, Bush tea are irrelevant and it is is up to a Judge to rule and people to watch

Settlements can be made out of Court too

14. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Williams would have known personally of the financial enrichment from the slave trade for UK, US and others who played an active role….

…. if memory serves me, a hundred years or more before he was born, i believe the french side of his ancestors were directly involved in the trade,his information would be flawless.

15. 555,
    I would like the UK to build a brand new Hospital for the people of Bim.
    Does that opinion count?

WW, U know what I am saying, that they are whites dedicated to helping Africans in Medicine etc. Getting all excited and condemning all whites is silly and will not help solve anything.

16. Reparations , never will happen , never should happen. Is it really about righting wrongs , or promoting another scam , where the reparations advocates will be the very ones in full control of the ” goods ”, deciding who should get what , how much, and for what reasons . And I am sure newer injustices will be found as they go along, allowing for some very innovative accounting practices, looser qualifying requirements, special fees for the administrators, etc.
    I am yet to hear a coherent , detailed description of what they are seeking , and in what form.

In the USA , they are all kinds of ‘ entitlements’ , terrible word in my opinion. Medicaid, medicare, unemployement, social security, welfare, both contributory and non contributory. Then there is Affirmative Action , specifically for the benefit of minorities, blacks mostly. Have these served the black communities in any positive way ? Welfare is the modern day equivalent of slave wages, and ensuring that the poor stay poor . Who doesn’t like a freeness ? The very thing that these elite educated Ph.Ds and lawyer types should be trying to eradicate.

Two salient and pertinent questions: Should reparations be paid to the families of 650,000 white soldiers and thousands of civilians who dies in the American Civil war trying to end slavery ?

Secondly, why are the prospective black recipients of this proposal , worse off today than they were one or two generations after the abolition of slavery ? Should their condition not have improved over the six or seven generations we now live in ?

Is it not heavily sociological in today’s world? But no one likes to take responsibility for their own failings. Yes slavery was an abomination, so is laziness, although not to the same degree.

17. After 1793, slavery in the South made sense because of the invention of the Cotton Gin.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cotton_gin

It was a machine and needed to be fed by the efforts of many.

Just as machines made the processing of large volumes of cotton possible, it was always going to be only a matter of time that machines would replace slave labour in the fields producing cotton.

Slavery was never a long term economic activity and only made any economic sense for brief periods of history.

It simply makes no sense long term, plus, it is wrong.

Sugar Beet supplanted Sugar Cane and could be grown in Europe.

No transportation from the Tropics to Europe, no need for slaves.

I will leave you to figure out how and when sugar beet came to the fore.

18. Ph.D

The argument about what will be paid and how is secondary to the primary argument of whether it should be paid or not based objectively and not subjectively.

UK was so racist up to 5 minutes ago that a case would have been struck out on the basis that UK felt superior and others inferior and supported apartheid and racist colonies on captured land.

Human Rights laws make all equal (now). Part and parcel of Reparation case is proving and admitting that whites were not superior than non-whites and it was a dishonest specious duplicitous non-sequitur false justification

19. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

The civil war was not fought to end slavery, it was fought to keep slavery out of territories that had not yet become states.

It was merely a show of power.

“What caused the Civil War?

While many still debate the ultimate causes of the Civil War, Pulitzer Prize-winning author James McPherson writes that, “The Civil War started because of uncompromising differences between the free and slave states over the power of the national government to prohibit slavery in the territories that had not yet become states.

When Abraham Lincoln won election in 1860 as the first Republican president on a platform pledging to keep slavery out of the territories, seven slave states in the deep South seceded and formed a new nation, the Confederate States of America. The incoming Lincoln administration and most of the Northern people refused to recognize the legitimacy of secession. They feared that it would discredit democracy and create a fatal precedent that would eventually fragment the no-longer United States into several small, squabbling countries.”

20. John

You are hopeless. Slavery always made sense in the South, at least until the late 19th century. Before the cotton gin was invented, it made sense because there were acute labour shortages in many parts of the South.

21. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

You will get a lot of false stories coming out re reparations now no one, including those like Cameron, the buckingham palace parasites of UK and US families who still benefit directly from the proceeds of slavery, not wanting to be held accountable or paying the piper….even if non monetary…..but an accounting has to be held.

MoneyB…I dont see Médicos Sin Fronteras…creating scams to steal natural resources out of Africa, it’s private citizens and others need to be banned from the continent.

The first thing blacks are accused of is being lazy, it really is corrupt leaders causing problems not “lazy” citizens who work hard and aiding regression instead of progress, these citizens get robbed because of corrupt politicians…

….there is no one lazier than the white man, while others work hard…..eg slavery, they reap profits….so laziness is relative…..as we type ways and means are being brainstormed to rob the 7 billion people on earth, with very little effort and no hard labor…by whites,

22. I agree with money brain the one at black rock does not have enough room for all the people that should be in there.

23. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

And white men like Lawson are only interested in chasing down strippers….lol…not working hard.

24. WW,
    Whites are all so lazy? Check the list of inventions with special emphasis on the dogged work of Thomas Alva Edison. I am not discounting some of the darker gents who have excelled like Mr McCoy and others that are very notable as you show.

The desire for Laziness/ R&R leads to great inventions!

25. MB the only inventions bajans like are ones invented by john logie baird and robert furchgott. because they can be used together.

26. Before the cotton gin was invented, it made sense because there were acute labour shortages in many parts of the South.

… doing what?

What was the economy of the South Based upon before cotton?

“There was great wealth in the South, but it was primarily tied up in the slave economy. In 1860, the economic value of slaves in the United States exceeded the invested value of all of the nation’s railroads, factories, and banks combined. On the eve of the Civil War, cotton prices were at an all-time high”

https://www.nps.gov/resources/story.htm%3Fid%3D251

27. From the invention of the Gin in 1793 to 1860 was two generations.

Cotton only lasted for a short time as the principal pillar of the economy in the south.

28. No wonder they fought so hard and so long to preserve it and the slavery that went with it.

29. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

MoneyB……Thomas Edison could not go anywhere eith that light bulb without the black dude from Jersey who invented the filament to make it work….hence there is a Con-Ed tiday..he did not work harder than anyone else…if ya had said Tesla…I would agree.

Here is 300 years worth of inventions by Black men and women.

Everyone played their part, they still are, by the hundreds of thousands.

“THE BLACK INVENTOR ONLINE MUSEUM
    is the #1 resource on the web focusing on the ingenuity and accomplishments of the top Black inventors over the last 300 years. Their contributions are chronicled and the inventors are profiled, providing information for students and others interested in these pioneers of Black History.”

30. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Barbados is still a slave society, their black inventors are ridiculed, robbed, mistreated and sold out by the two governments….

…. they are still ashamed of and do not appreciate having outstanding, genius black talent, they prefer their young geniuses to pick up bottles like they are vagrants……remember the sow Mara Thompson.

Most geniuses have to leave the island to progress….or stay silently in the shadows and work from international platforms.

31. fee.org/articles/the-recipe-for-singapores-prosperity/

Bajans should learn from a very successful former colony.

32. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

MB

Chuckle….you enjouy getting cuss.

Bimmers will tell you that ….we not like them….dem does think different…..we dont deal with dictators(forgetting Forbes a Bimmer).

……and a long list as to why we the gem of the west indies colonial empire could not achieve what a backwater colony could have to the stage it is today,starting at the same time as EWB,Forbes&Manley.

We too like making excuses and cussing the ones with less melanin.

…..I wonder what would happen if the day came and all they could see was the same amount of melanin in each person what they would do…..who would they cuss?

33. https://youtu.be/29Zuf8ZMX7Q

Stand up and break the man’s hold

too long they have been given the black man’s home

by stealing your granddaddy’s own

he made himself a big bag of black gold

now you don’t have to brave but you’ve got to be bold

you’ve got to make sense from the crap you’ve been told

you’ve got to take a stand and fight like a man

or your life won’t be worth one grain of sand

come on and break the hold

or soon you are going to find out you don’t own your soul

34. https://youtu.be/29Zuf8ZMX7Q

Take a hold

Stand up and break the man’s hold

too long they have been given the black man’s home

by stealing your granddaddy’s own

he made himself a big bag of black gold

now you don’t have to brave but you’ve got to be bold

you’ve got to make sense from the crap you’ve been told

you’ve got to take a stand and fight like a man

or your life won’t be worth one grain of sand

come on and break the hold

or soon you are going to find out you don’t own your soul

35. Vinni,
    We would be much better off learning and adapting from Singapore, even if only a handful of lessons. Lee was the best leader of the 20th Century.

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ John July 17, 2017 at 9:27 AM
    “The true monuments to the Quakers’ memory walk around Barbados today with surnames like Rouse, Sandiford, Clarke, Ashby etc etc.
    … but they just don’t have the historical knowledge to realise they are in fact monuments!!
    They have been brainwashed.
    Slaves chose these surnames to honour the remarkable people who once ran Barbados and with whom they worked for the common good!!
    Their descendants are today, living monuments to a remarkable record.”

Well, well John, massively well done! Joseph Goebbels the 5ft. 5ins. Aryan superman would have been proud of you as his left-hand man in your unending quest to convince the Jews that it was better for them to be “transported” to Auschwitz to live in Sheol than to remain in their ‘blackened’ ghettoes in Warsaw.

So John, what about those slaves whose owners were not Quakers? Did they take the names of those other ‘Christian’ god-fearing Anglicans because of their genetic patrimony arising out of forced sexual exploitation?

You could ‘whitewash’ the past as much as you like but the fact remains that the same way the slave owners were handsomely compensated for the loss of their “human” property so too are the descendants of the slaves entitled to their ancestors’ back pay.

We know the quantum of the pay-out which must be at least pari passu to what their masters received expressed in today’s pound sterling value.

The question on how this back pay is to be settled is really up for discussion with no cash on the table for the blacks who would in true black West Indian politician style squander the legacy of the wicked white non-Quaker slave masters with all of it ending up in offshore accounts and in the hands of the greedy merchants of China, Japan and Korea.

So why not divvy up the proceeds from that evil past by first forgiving the international debts of those Caribbean countries still suffering from the deep mental scars of slavery like Barbados and Jamaica?

What about funding scholarships at the UWI and other British universities for ‘bright’ students who are the descendants of black slaves and white indentured servants?

What about building and outfitting a few hospitals as “Moneybrain” (an indentured servant descendant himself) suggested instead of prisons as former UK PM Cameron was proposing?

37. @ Miller

Reparations should also consider repatriation as a nod to rastas contribution to the cause and should also consider development schemes in Africa as a nod to black children carried beyond their borders to caribbean… but here’s the rub… the white man still does not want the black man to succeed and be powerful.

38. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Miller…you know that is not what John wants to see for majority blacks in Barbados, it would kill him…lol

39. @Ph.D
    Then there is Affirmative Action , specifically for the benefit of minorities, blacks mostly.
    ++++++++++++
    When whites benefit from Affirmative Action no one bats an eye; who gets “legacy preferences”? Who gains admission into preferred schools on the basis of “timely” donations to those schools from the Pater Familias?

40. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right - INRI Avatar
    Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI

To the lost proposer of this submission, he and the other fellow Pedro and their chairman Sir Hilary de ole man tell wunna scvunt on thing.

Keep wunna heads up the pooches of this Sisyphean task of Reparations.

Keep focused on this waste foopism while the same slave masters that let our black asses go because the machines could do ten times the work our lazy asses could continue to forge forward with Artificial Intelligence and Robotics.

AND, de ole man forgot to mention, the untraceable killing substances that they test every few weeks in Barbados on the ingrunt native and have the QEH doctors bout de place saying dat all de dead people dropping down all ovah de place is “normal”

So we are watching a pincers move where we niggers are being economically ostracised from our pieces of de rock world wide.

Need I mention de biological warfare that targets de nigger genes being perfected as de ole man speak

Need I mention – the ongoing rape of Africa UNDER the Chinese OR the French OR Belgium many of which regimes existe and are alive and well today.

Need I mention de effing wall dat Trump and his cohort are building – to keep wunna scvunts out WHEN THEY CLAIM the USA for CAUCASIANS ONLY.

But no enough of this, let us continue to talk about this waste foop topic of David Come A Long while he and his comrades exchange these kudos to each other we get hardons talking pup.

And let de ole amdn in closing quote THomas Gray again

“Yet ah! why should they know their fate?
    Since sorrow never comes too late,
    And happiness too swiftly flies.
    Thought would destroy their paradise.
    No more; where ignorance is bliss,
    ‘Tis folly to be wise.

41. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

John….no one is interested in the slave owning quaker bullshit….they were frauds.

42. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI July 17, 2017 at 10:37 PM #

Now yuh talking…..this the activism that is required.

Stop the use of fogging machines that killing all the beneficial insects.

Ensure that our testing labs are working so we know what is coming into Bim

Our learned institutions should be looking to discover cures for cancer,etc bearing in mind that our ancestors knew a lot about cures from plants.

Solar energy to drive the island,Greenhouses to feed the island,Hemp to clothe,care and house the island,make the Scotland District the heritage of our country,etc,etc

So much we could do in this country other than holding out the begging bowl.

43. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

millertheanunnaki July 17, 2017 at 8:06 PM #

So you are into this mendicancy as well……why not head for the Niger delta and claim some of the land that has oil on it,that rightfully belonged to your great,great,great,greatgrandfather.

After 50 plus years of UWI and the QEH and we are at this stage…..tell me how all those more universities and hospitals are going to help change the ignorant mind set that we are saddled with.

Our ignorant mindset of creating African heroes where non existed,of demonising all things of a melanin poor nature and still begging them and depending on them.

Of giving a free ride to all things of a melanin rich nature,which you will note presently has us in ducks guts.

Well join Sir Cav as Bushie calls him and carry on smartly with your refusal to open your eyes to the good and bad that exists in all of us and the understanding that we are one race the human race out of which many tribes who have been warring with each other from time immemorial irrespective of pigment.

The 400 year transatlantic slave trade was heinous crime committed on our ancestors by some African&European tribes…..either obliterate all of their descendants from the world,get even by returning the favour or lets get on with our lives……but stop this begging bowl foolishness.

44. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

What goes on in the scotland district Vincent, what does it produce, how does it benefit all the people on the island.

I ask because I am not too familiar with the area.

45. It is not unusual that the issue of if reparations will draw mixed positions, accept that the nature of the issue this is.reasonable. Why the constant labelling?

46. Vinni,
    I believe the key problem that some Afro people must overcome is their victim mindset. Negative psychology never works to produce the best. While we should educate ourselves about historical reality we should take the stance that we intend to develop ourselves and become successful by exploiting our individual talent. The mind is very powerful and we should use the stored negative info as fuel to drive maximum effort.

Some of my ancestors were Barbadosoed by Judge Jeffries because of the Monmouth Rebellion. What many fail to realise is that life was not sweet for the majority of whites in the old days, so frequently they had to rebel. The Establishment knew how to create havoc by positioning people against each other. Good case history would be New Orleans where the Irish immigrants were positioned against Afros for jobs etc. OR Montreal where the Irish were set up against the French.

47. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

MB

For us to move forward and develop like a Singapore we have to acknowledge the truth about our past.

….. our past comprises african seller,european transporter,slave,indentured,european&african owner with many spinoffs in between.

…….. and it is based on the conmingling of the european&african tribes to the extent that the majority of us are Pelaus.

………one will find a few pure descendants of european tribes mainly amongst the poor Martins Bay crowd due to incest or the Rich old plantation stock due to to imports.

Only after we get over the realisation that we are now a separate and distinct entity that can learn from the history of the world of our ancestors but have no obligations to it nor desire anything from it except vi et armis of brain as brawn will be very unlikely……can we move forward.

Total change of mindset that will take generations to achieve.

48. Vincent Haynes Avatar

WW&C

The Scotland District is 1/7th of Bim and married to it by a series of bridges,its coral cap was blown off millenia ago leaving clay and it has a hilly formation with loads of gullies and rivers…..its different to the rest of Bim.

Its produce for many years was all the building sand,clay tiles&utensils,natural gas,oil,Manjac,mica and material for the making of baskets and souvenir ornaments generally. Many fruit trees and the home of fat pork,cashews and sea grapes. The east coast of it is the tourist spot for locals during the summer.