John Hunte

Which country that you know of, would host CARIFESTA, and would organize a major international Dance exposition as the central event of the Festival, but would refuse to include a single one of their local or national dance groups in the said Dance exposition?

Well, if you guessed that the country is none other than Barbados you would have guessed right!

Would you believe, that Dr. John Hunte — the “artistic coordinator” of CARIFESTA –is seemingly proud to be able to announce that the “Signal Dance event” of CARIFESTA  X111  will be a major international dance show at the Garfield Sobers Gymnasium on the 24th of August, and that the event will feature dance groups from Trinidad and Tobago, Martinique, Guadeloupe, Jamaica, and Haiti, but none from  Barbados!

According to Hunte, this ultra prestigious show is designed “to use modern concepts of Caribbean identity to unfold visions of ourselves and our common legacy”, but the only Barbadians that he deems  fit to include in the show are two female ballet dancers who reside and practice their craft in the European countries of Germany and Hungary.

Now, I have nothing against these two overseas based daughters of the soil– both of whom I know and admire– but somebody needs to tell Hunte , Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley, and the rest of the CARIFESTA Secretariat that this is just not good enough.

If the Minister and his Secretariat are truly interested in exploring “modern concepts of Caribbean identity” and “visions of ourselves”, then how can they fail to include at least one of the best Barbadian dance groups that, year after year — at the annual National Independence Festival of Creative Arts (NIFCA) — creatively explore the boundaries of what it means to be Barbadian and Caribbean?

How can they– for example — fail to include such a quintessential and consistently excellent Barbadian and Caribbean dance group like Dancin Africa?

Is Minister Lashley and John Hunte really telling us that a group like Dancin Africa is not fit to grace the major dance stage at CARIFESTA — even though the Festival is being held in Barbados, and is being financed by the Barbadian taxpayers?

I have personally witnessed dance shows all over the Caribbean — from Cuba and Haiti in the North to Guyana and Suriname in the South– and I can affirm that some of the most compelling and impactful dance performances that I have ever witnessed have been delivered right here in Barbados at our annual NIFCA dance finals.

Indeed, the Dancin Africa troupe possesses a brilliant twenty-five year NIFCA gold award winning repertoire that is based upon at least two dozen  profoundly insightful and moving dances crafted by such outstanding Barbadian choreographic talents as Gene Carson, Kelvin Carvalho, Tyrone Trotman, Oral Welshman, and Aisha Comissiong.

Is Dr. Hunte and Minister Lashley really telling us that none of these Barbadian master works are to be showcased to the rest of the world on the biggest and most prestigious CARIFESTA stage?

What a travesty! What a pathetic expression of a national inferiority complex ! What a shame that something like this can still be happening after 50 years of Independence!

112 responses to “A Carifesta Dance of Shame!”

1. I tink dem girls should stick tah soca, though I wah give dem aa A for effort! But I was emphasize that those girls watch America Got Talent to see what real dancing is all about…some of those moves were poorly executed

2. You ent lying atall… with he smartest… he could be hold down one of the best job …with nuff dollars in de bank …driving de top of de line, and flying to any destination in de world. But yet he settle for dah miserable existence…

3. Bush @3.31pm
    You en know yuh rite like sheet.That shortkneecrotch man every two words ‘of course’,’I believe’,’as you know’,’as I see it’……rastaman talk….I-man talk…He’s nothing but a little preek.
    Reminds me of Selma…irrrespective of the % of humidity,Selma will get in her favourite word…”saturated” and the other weather presenter Kelly-Anne is still talking of the Sun “expected” to rise,but firm that it will set at the given time.Then there is Stetson Babb,the VOB news finder of honours…up to today he maintains there is still a Highway 2A,as though Ronald Mapp has done him something.Where is the Pride and Industry Bushie.Public speaking is not for the ignorant nor the stupid.

4. Brother, you can’t fight for people who do not/ doesn’t want to be fought for. There is a certain gravitational pull that directing dem attention from the structural to the trivial, and caging dem moral imagination as well as it is diminishing dem civic powers, and until you can find a way to teach the Barbadian people how to utilize their civic powers, all your efforts will be to no avail.

5. Aisha Comissiong Avatar
    Aisha Comissiong

@Dumpy If you believe that America’s Got Talent is what real dancing is all about – you sir/ma’am are sadly mistaken. If you are solely impressed with tricks and acrobatics and so on well then that kind of entertainment may be the thing for you. Indeed there is a space in dance for that but that is not the be all and end all of the art of dance. Last I studied – art at its highest — including dance– should interrogate critical societal issues and in some way help the society to advance. In fact this is one of the most important roles the Arts play for any given society.

Also last I recall a dancer never stops mastering his/her craft. Whatever deficits Barbadian dancers may have in technique when compared to people who dance professionally in more developed countries, we often more than make up for in the content and impactfulness of the stories that we tell and the issues that we investigate through our choreography.

Signed,
    A LOCAL Dancer/Choreographer

6. Aisha Comissiong Avatar
    Aisha Comissiong

Just a few images of our “Technically Deficient” dancers (loaded with sarcasm). N/B I would never insult my peers who I know work extremely hard year in and year out to reach higher levels of excellence! Having studied in Jamaica, travelled with a Jamaican company and been a dance aficionado for pretty much my entire life – I have SO MUCH respect for the dancers in Barbados – the pioneers and the younger generations who continue to strive to take Barbadian dance to an international level.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BV0dG5knF19/?taken-by=riddimtribe

https://www.instagram.com/p/BVnUKntnkFD/?taken-by=riddimtribe

https://www.instagram.com/p/BVILhu3jxyo/?taken-by=riddimtribe

https://www.instagram.com/p/BVP1mZRHqga/?taken-by=riddimtribe

https://www.instagram.com/p/BTluGOzD7r1/?taken-by=riddimtribe

https://www.instagram.com/p/BTZzBXpjdIE/?taken-by=riddimtribe

https://www.instagram.com/p/BRbmupuDem0/?taken-by=riddimtribe

7. Great reply.
    Boy Dompy you gotta know who to fere wid.
    The gal cum out heah wid nice English and give you a proppa cut ass.
    Tek mih advice.
    Move on and let sleeping dogs lie.

8. Nice, you have skills AC!

9. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger

At least now Dumpy knows dance is an art from, he lost his African heritage somewhere between District A police station as a youth and Broadway shows in Manhattan,…you know like CATS….nice in theory for children, but not an art form.

10. AC above is Aisha Comissiong
    Silly me went looking for one of the ac/AC team

11. Retribution-things that make me go hum! Avatar
    Retribution-things that make me go hum!

Why is John Hunte past Dance Director of the NCF Directing CARIFESTA? Does the present NCF Dance Director have a say in CARIFESTA? I would like to hear from you on this matter Mrs. Payne.

12. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol….Gazer, not the same level of intelligence, or skills set.

13. We have people like Fran Wickham, Comissiong et al that can lend assistance with the dance planning.

14. Armchair psychologist

Should we assume because a highly educated national gains a position of prominence that the pride of nationhood run through his veins? That the fire of patriotism burns within him and will manifest itself? That he will support his fellow citizens and promote and encourage our artistes allow them to share in the work of nation building?

Or could it be that to him, it is just another job. You clock–in and clock-out. You go through the motions of thinking and decision making, but it is all a charade.

Or could it be that he has an inferiority complex. He believes that others are better than his own.

Or could it be that our education system fail to instill the pride of nationhood within in him.

If every Barbadian had their legs amputated, then a Bajan dance group with prosthetic limbs should take the stage. That is nationhood, promoting, encouraging and supporting your nationals.

Or to steal a phrase of another and put it more succinctly, “A BAJAN DANCE GROUP MUST BE ON STAGE AUGUST 24TH.”

15. @ David
    We have people like Fran Wickham, Comissiong et al that can lend assistance with the dance planning.
    Boss, you does REALLY mek Bushie laugh sometimes yuh know!!!
    Do you understand what you said…? …or are you being a damn gallows bait? 🙂

You KNOW full well that it DOES NOT WORK SO in Barbados….

People are NOT called to ‘lend assistance’ because they are “competent”..
    What do you think this is…??!!! . a meritocracy?

People are called..based on how the fatted calf is to be allocated….
    Bushie would not be surprised to hear that Hal Gollop was arranging that dance thingie for carifesta…..

….or that Minister Suckoo’s Richard brother was the lead dancer at a fee of $1/2M…. and that Mark Baloney was technical director…

No one cares about the results – except whose bank accounts are credited.
    Is that not why we are where we are after nine years of this idiocy…?

16. Aisha

Fantastic reply to Dumpey who don’t have the artistic knowledge to comprehend the Dance Form. Our dancers are far creative in all types of Dances – FROM CALYPSO which consists of pure intricate wukups with sensual moves and endless movementations TO BALLET which is based on grace and precision and employing formalized steps and gestures set in intricate, flowing patterns to create expression through movement.

17. TheGazer
    How you mean Dumpy don’t know nahting bout dance when he spend a great part of my youth dancing dah buller Tyrone Trotman, who used to offer free dancing lessons to de young men, and women in de neighborhood back in de day? Man you meking real sport, cause fah a little yah know Dumpy spend from age five tah ten dancing at dah buller house in Park Road Bush back in de day, but was lucky to leave he residence with everyting intact.

18. On a more serious note: I’ve spent sometime as young lad dancing with Tyrone Trotman who I have a great love and respect for because he exposed the young people in my day to a world other didn’t, though in reflection his motives may not have been pure, but that is an argument yet to be had. So I do have a knowledge as well as an appreciation for the art form because I had been exposed to at a very early age. I do recall with great admiration when Tyrone invited Africans from all over the African continent to teach the youth in my day the various African dances. So I have an appreciation for the art form and I do understand what the young lady is convey to!

19. Reading this thread, some of the rhetoric saddens me and a make me smile at the same time, I never knew we had so many dance/arts experts on the island. I have spent more than forty years in the dance arts and I believe have seen more countries, systems of cultural industries development in this art form than many will see in their lifetime.
    Valencia James is an international dance artist I met at NIFCA in 2003 when she was only sixteen and I am proud to have been a part of her artistic journey. There are not many who would have met me at 5:30 am at the University cricket grounds to train and explore the Bajan Body. I have mentored and coached her because she was the only dancer on the island in my eight years at the National Cultural Foundation who really listened and did not allow the bad mouthing, the usual hate jealously propaganda and such clutter to get into her head. Like me, she is inter-disciplinary dance tech artists and growing artistic thinker who will continually reinvent herself and go many places. There are those culture vultures who would like to use and claim her now to make themselves and their circle look good.
    The conversation about dance, the dancers and those who dear to simulate life in the visual and kinetic expression about our culture using choreography in this art form has yet to begin in Barbados. Calypso with its social commentary does for Bajans, what dance does to inform and stimulate in other spaces. Unfortunately, the art form on the island has not been allowed to have its natural development. We have evolved with a hierarchy in our artistic genres with music at the top followed by as aspects of visual arts, drama and somewhere further down is dance. It is within this pseudo-hierarchy that the dance artists are treated and mistreated.
    Many are blinded and perhaps captivated with the trappings of stage life and the dance world however while our cultural space allows for a reasonable education in dance, there are many other factors needed to sustain the life of a dancer/choreographer than just dance. It takes about ten years of intense training for a dancer’s body to be developed to be able to facilitate the movement repertoires of today’s hybrid choreographers/directors who have acquired a wealth of knowledge and skills in the performance/production process.
    In the arrogance of ignorance, we have come to a place in Barbados where this questionable decision making about critical aspects of our dance heritage is only possible in the absence of a timid, inactive and non-cohesive dance community. The dysfunctionality of a committee chosen from aspiring dance talent and senior pillars of Barbadian dance arts has been sadly missing for many years. Yes, there is no local Dance group for the CARIFESTA XIII signature dance night, but what about the disrespect of not inviting our national choreographers at home and abroad and dance makers to be part of the process to play their parts in uplifting and ensuring a certain standard is maintained. When we get serious about the dance arts we will not subject artists to proving that there are Barbadian with the work and move to institute a democratic process of selection and establish real biting criteria for how the country is represented and portrayed in dance.
    P/S the House of Re-Discovery and the Ian Douglas Foundation would like to make public that our Global Day of the Drum Night of dance at CARIFESTA XIII has been rescheduled…

20. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

These titled idiots are very disrespectful of their own local artistes, this is the same conversation we have been having from the 70s, each generation of titled idiot is more disrespectful than the previous generation.

They need to be educated to the appreciation of and respect fpr their own local artistes and culture before being trotted out uneducated and disrespectful…to embarrass the island…

….. the same islands being hosted….would never, ever even consider eliminating their own dance troupe from a regionally themed program like Carifesta……or NIFCA….

This is pure, small minded disrespect on Hunte’s part.

21. BU tagged Minister Stephen Lashley on Facebook this submission. We hope he sees the benefit to issuing a statement. All roads lead to the minister.

22. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Seems like Lashley gpt a lot of explaining to do this week, including for his Bad…Man….Wagon…luxury vehicle from McEnerney.

23. You should learn from canada we wouldnt think of having a dance competition without all our communities being represented even our smallest ones . In fact I would not consider going to a showcase of dance skills unless a pole was involved

24. Cud dear David … yuh may have to protect Dompey from himself sometimes…

First he gets into an argument with Aisha, …one that he was bound to lose – even before typing a single word….

Then he provides us all with FAR too much personal information about his upbringing in Bush Hall – spending his days in a bulla-man house ‘dancing’….and we already know that he spent his nights behind District A ….peeping at naked policemen.

You have to consider unfortunate observers such as Bushie and Miller ….who are wont to jump to malicious assessments when this kind of information is put abroad….

How can Bushie not now jump to conclusions about the Domps…..?
    Lord have mercy….
    David – yuh gotta help Bushie sometimes man…!!!!

25. Give us a break Lawson…. Canadians are so lukewarm that even if wunna organised a cockfight, hens would have to be represented – and all information would need to be published in french and english; and the Gay community cocks; and illegal immigrant fowls would all need appropriate representation – based on figures calculated by the home office in Ottawa…

Boss, if Dribbler ever decided to move to Canada …he will be automatic choice for PM

Lukewarm Inc.

26. Whuhlaw Bush Tea

your posts at 6:54 and 6:59 got me “deading wid laughter”. First visions of Dompey as “a peeping bulla” and then the accurate characterization of Canada’s political correctness!

Posts of the day.

27. Well Well & Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lol…

That is Canadian’s polite way of putting their hands in everyone’s pockets….with a smile.

There is a very succesful method to the polite correctness.

28. BT that was my way of saying the only dance fete I would attend would have strippers.But you are right about canada, my fear is the same as Edward long shank’s dilemma in brave heart when he couldnt send his son to meet with the scots in case they thought all englishmen were like him and would invade them. Our putz roaming around the world may make WW swoon him being so pink and soft, but a lot of us are counting the days till the next election

29. Don we celebrate Vern Best and Madame Yvette?

30. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Hal

El Verno del Congo is dead and forgotten and Madam Yvette is just forgotten.

At our age its interesting to compare what we grew up knowing and what is on offer now.

31. Vincent,
    I know they are both dead, I am asking if we celebrate them, or are they just forgotten?

32. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Hal

I was not aware of Madam Yvette’s death as I saw her about 3-4 years ago…..yes both are forgotten…..no tributes,plaques or recognition of any sort.

33. Says something about our society. We have no collective memory, yet we pretend to be Africanists. If we cannot remember what happened yesterday, how can we celebrate what happened centuries ago?

34. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Hal

I am not an Africanist nor a Europanist…..the only ….nist I am…..is a Caribbeanist…..a proud Pelau.

….not aware that we have any happenings that occurred centuries ago to celebrate.

….what it says about us is a lack of appreciation of ourselves.

35. The issue is that the vast majority of Bajans do not and lack the capacity to actively associate and promote others who identity with the African heritage. To increase the challenge is that Barbadians who have made the effort to promote ‘Black fundamentalist’ positions have died materially poor.

36. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Why do you have to identify with African heritage to appreciate culture/art/music as performed by Vern or Yvette.

….note El Verno offered up a fusion of cultures in his drumming.

…..we are who we are and cannot crawl back centuries into a womb or gonad of an African tribes man or woman.

We are not a member of any African tribe or speak any tribal language or can lay claim to any portion of the soil of Africa…….thanks to our ancestors both West African and European……live with the reality of life.

37. Without an anchor we drift as a people.

38. Our anchor is the Caribbean and our joint ancestry.

39. @ David
    Have you worked out yet that Vincent is symbolic of the problem…?

40. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

@ Dear Vincent Haynes July 13, 2017 at 1:17 PM,

I have to disagree with you. Are you aware that many of your African brothers and sisters who have been scattered throughout the new world have a strong connection to mother Africa? Do some research on Afro-Peruvians, or Colombians, or Haitians, or Jamaicans. Do you see where i’m coming from Vincent?

Take a listen to Grover Washington homage to the spirit of those Afro-Brazilians who were raised in Bahai – the region that gave us Pele. A part of the world whose inhabitants still speak the language of their African tribal ancestors: Yoruba. For the record Vincent, Bahai is to all intent and purposes an off shoot of Nigeria.

We should not be surprised that Barbadian dancers have been excluded from this gathering. I know of no other country with a black majority whose black population has become so disconnected to its African roots. It should be clear to all that we have nothing culturally as a people to offer. Certainly nothing that evokes our African heritage. We stand for nothing.

https://muse.jhu.edu/book/26400

41. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar
    Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger

Lawson…what are you complaining about, the banks are doing their jobs, they raised interest rates and the looney is rising.

there are enough grease poles and strippers in Canada, dont want you corrupting the young ladies of Bim.

Vincent…no amount of euro blood can ever be strong enough to dilute the African DNA, or spirit…it calls you…..if you cant hear Mama Africa, something is very wrong….

because the euro spirit and soul is dead, always has been.

42. To each their own,I am happy for those that can identify their ancestral roots to a tribe in west Africa,I am saddened that they never thought of reclaiming their lands and leave Brazil,a land which has not been kind to them.

Unfortunately none here in BIM can so do and as such I intend to make lemonade from the lemons that were left for us.I will always look upon the Europeans and west Africans as being responsible for the iniquity faced by my ancestors be they slave,indentured or master.

43. Bushie

Chuckle……go play wid yuh Wacker and BBE……dis way past de fork….way over your head.

44. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

I will always look upon the Europeans and west Africans as being responsible for the iniquity faced by my ancestors be they slave,indentured or master.

..as well you should, because they are all responsible and should be held accountable for their centuries old and continuing crimes.

45. WW no thanks to ya boyfriend just like we dont speak russian because the americans look after us because we look like them, our monetary gains are because of them as well. Dont worry just like the heads of crop over I would prefer to see you put a little more clothes on and while were at having it little kids bang wukking up on ya should be curtailed as well unless you can prove they are a dwarf.
    Please name a country that has never had slaves

46. Well Well @ Consequences Observing Blogger Avatar

Lawson….how can anyone name a country which never had slaves when yall spread ya poison and brutality around each and every continent for centuries and though much more refined, still engaging in the modern day criminality.

i know, i know, if US falls today or tomorrow all Canadians will die, so dependent are you on them….yall are yet to learn how to survive on your own without US…lol

….you wont keep away from Bim chasing strippers, you will get what`s coming to you.

47. Vincent Haynes Avatar
    Vincent Haynes

Is Bim taking part?

Launch of World Creole Music Festival 2017
    Presenting a link for live video coverage of the Launch of World Creole Music Festival 2017. This activity is scheduled for Thursday, July 13, 2017 to commen…

https://youtu.be/kFG780VEZHk

48. Trending on BU this morning, this blog.

49. camille navarro Avatar
    camille navarro

don’t forget Megan Navarro and Justin Poleon, of NIFCA fame……………..