Jeff Cumberbatch - Columnist, Barbados Advocate
Jeff Cumberbatch – Columnist, Barbados Advocate

โ€œA successful president need not have a degree in constitutional law. But he should understand the Constitutionโ€™s grant of executive power.โ€ โ€œHe should share Hamiltonโ€™s vision of an energetic president leading the executive branch in a unified direction, rather than viewing the government as the enemy. He should realize that the Constitution channels the president toward protecting the nation from foreign threats, while cooperating with Congress on matters at home.โ€ –James Yoo, University of California (Berkeley)

I feel almost a sense of compulsion to apologize to readers of the Barbados Advocate for returning for a second week to a commentary on the any matter associated with the neโ€™er-do-well Trump presidency in the US. This is even more keenly felt when locally there is much fodder for a columnist; last weekโ€™s launching of what claims hopefully to be a third political way; an unseemly public disagreement between Board and Governor at the Central Bank; and an overdue determination from the Prime Minister as to the viability of the controversial Bridgetown Hyatt project However, todayโ€™s effort is concerned only tangentially with what is swiftly morphing into a U S kakistocracy and pertains rather to the ongoing battle between the Trump administration and the courts for the constitutional governance of the republic.

A few columns back, I had tentatively advanced the thesis that President Trump, having been abandoned by some of the leading lights of the Republican party under whose banner he ostensibly campaigned, might have adopted an attitude of โ€œI-canโ€“and-will-do-it-myselfโ€ and thereby assume the role of a latter-day monarch. While I am not prepared to argue whether or not this has become an actuality, his attitude towards judicial rulings that have been adverse to him leads one to conclude that he is behaving less than merely a disgruntled litigant and more like one who regards the prudential application of the law as an officious gadfly to his overweening ambitions.

To bring the point closer home, if this were a game of cricket in the road and the bat and ball were his, he would have long ago taken both up and gone home in a huff after disagreeing vehemently with the umpireโ€™s verdict that he was clearly out.

Readers will be reminded that both the โ€œso-called judgeโ€, as Robart J. was so irreverently termed, and the three judge federal appeals panel have rejected President Trumpโ€™s attempt to prohibit entry into the US of nationals from seven largely Muslim nations. These rulings have driven a ZR through a major plank of the presidentโ€™s efforts to โ€œmake America great againโ€, the appeals court ruling stating that the Trump administration had shown no evidence that anyone from the embargoed nations had committed or were likely to commit terrorist acts in the US. Mr Trumpโ€™s bold openly voiced discriminatory threat to ban Muslims as a whole could scarcely have helped his cause since such a sentiment clearly betrays an intention to discriminate on grounds of religious affiliation, a patently unconstitutional act, and relegates to an afterthought the consideration of national security.

The matter now moves to the Supreme Court for consideration. However, an initial hurdle for the governing administration is whether the case will be taken at all by that body. In a brilliant and well researched article, โ€œControlling Inherent Presidential Power: Providing a Framework for Judicial Reviewโ€, published in the Southern California Law Review, Professor Edward Chemerinsky of the De Paul University College of Law argues that โ€œmost suits to have a Presidentโ€™s act declared unconstitutional never reach the Supreme Courtโ€ฆโ€ He references in support a number of instances among dozens where this has occurred, including disputes as to the authority of the President to impose wage price guidelines on government contractors and as to his authority to impose a 10% surcharge on most articles imported into the United States.

Even if the Supreme Court should decide to try the matter, however, the current jurisprudence is woefully unsettled. The author notes no fewer than four approaches to the question of whether the opening words of Article II of the Constitution to the effect that โ€œthe Executive Power shall be vested in a President of the United States of Americaโ€™ are to be construed as vesting the President with powers not enumerated in the Article.

There are those, doubtless including Mr Trump himself, who hold fast to the interpretation that the Presidentโ€™s powers are untrammelled and that he is permitted to exercise authority not specifically granted by the Constitution, while others are, contrastingly, of the considered opinion that such plenary authority would be inconsistent with a Constitutional ethos of a government with restricted authority.

According to Professor Chemerinskyโ€™s analysis, the approaches used by the lower Courts range from a clear denial of any inherent judicial power at all and that he must act pursuant to constitutional or statutory authority only, to the existence of a broad and substantial inherent authority, especially, interestingly enough in the current context, in the field of foreign affairs.

In accordance with the first perception, there is no room in US governance for a โ€œpresidential prerogativeโ€ equivalent to the โ€œroyal prerogativeโ€ claimed by British monarchs of yore and still claimed by some to extend to the local Governor General, itself an office created by Constitutional provision and thus inherently of limited authority. On this approach, if there is no condign constitutional provision authorizing the presidentโ€™s action, then it is unconstitutional.

As for the broad authority in international relations approach that the lawyers for the President will doubtless be hewing towards in their arguments, this limits the narrow approach to internal matters only. In one 1936 decision, the judge wrote:

โ€œ The two classes of powers (domestic and foreign are different, both in respect of their origin and their nature. The broad statement that the federal government can exercise no powers except those specifically enumerated in the Constitutionโ€ฆis categorically true only in respect of our internal affairsโ€ฆโ€

This approach reminds us โ€œwe are here dealing not with an authority vested in the President by an exertion of legislative power, but with such an authority plus the very delicate plenary and exclusive power of the President as the sole organ of the federal government in the field of international relationsโ€ฆโ€

Nonetheless, as if presaging the current dispute, after these dicta acknowledge that this power does not require as a basis for its exercise an act of Congress, it concludes ominously for the Trump administration:

โ€œโ€ฆbut which, of course, like every other government power, must be exercised in subordination to the applicable provisions of the Constitutionโ€ฆ.โ€

The right to due process before any abrogation of an existing right is one such entrenched therein.

To be continuedโ€ฆ.

368 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – The Rule of Law and Presidential Authority”

1. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

How about writing about the crooks in the BDLP and lawyers, Ministers in Barbados,

The Rule of Law in America will be applied and tested, We can not say the same of Barbados,

Show more than one lawyer in court in Barbados, The Ministers and lawyers of Barbados are against the People and the Law, No Rule of law there, Who pays you to side track the topics, Everytime you never fail,

People are watching you, Stand for something and stick to it, America and Americans do not need your help in law,
    The People of Barbados does, Write how they can be helped with the mess in your own country unless you also hold a British Passport, ESQ,

Its election time, Help the People . FOUR SEASON, HYATT, SAM LORDS, BUTCH, COW, BIZZY, CHELTENHAM, RICHARD BYER, MIA, OWEN, FUMBLE, MOF , UDC, VOTER FRAUD, seem More like you want to replace Sir Hilary Beckles,

2. @ Jeff
    Apology NOT accepted….
    Why keep on harping on US kakistocracy when we have the original version right here in Bay Street….?

3. “Arrest Jeff Cumberbatch” would be Trumps Twitter response to this article

Trump has the most power despite his madness

==

Searching for love

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Just a matter of time before the illterate realizes him and his kakatocracy has very limited powers and he does a major cockup that will get him blessedly impeached, no president has absolute powers, the constitution itself and the judicial branch of government with its wide ranging reach of checks and balances takes very good care of that wild, obnoxious idea.

5. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The illiterate things his battles have just started…wrong, Obama warned him, but trump is yet to learn that the constitution is a many tentacled octopus and he will be squeezed..lol

6. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Jeff
    Good article, maybe, you should email it to the White House, but then again Trump can’t read.

7. Anonymouse -TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse -TheGazer

Geezus! At least make an attempt to see if a site pushes alternative facts before posting a link.

8. Anonymouse -TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse -TheGazer

That is my sole comment on all things American (or one of my very few comments)

9. @Caswell

Jeff seems to be attracted to the Trump story, like flies on ***** :-).

What Bushie is suggesting to Jeff is that some of us wait with rising anxiety the FTC SOL BNTLC decision.

10. @Jeff, amusing how you presaged the BU ethnocentrics with the reference to local issues. This US kakistocracy has the most overarching impact on all our local deliberations….as the US and UK political action always has. Alas. But to the point.

A few questions and a comment.

Even if SCOTUS accepts this appeal, would they not be ruling on the narrow aspect of whether the appeal can be upheld rather than the supposed ‘merits’ of the order?

And if adjudicated would it not be sent back to the district court for further and more complete arguments?

Yes, no way… The law is a ‘so called’ pain in the comb-over???

And why – international law rights notwithstanding – would there be a “… right to due process” for non-US citizens not domiciled in the US in the face of US National security and terrorism?

The issue of standing was an interesting one and likely you read or heard the various comments on this point with those of the Harvard Law Professor Emeritus Alan Dershowitz high on the commentary list.

And the comment in that regard. If the Trump team had issued this Ex. Order with very simple but practical changes this would likely never have been overturned despite the due process argument.

For all practical purposes the order could have simply said that immediately all travelers and nationals from those seven countries will be subject to a comprehensive new ‘extreme vetting’ of their credentials and security background.

That could have been used as the basis to review, reject and possibly return travelers; stall their arrival in the US over the 90 day period and effectively stop all new visa issuance.

Frankly it would be ludicrous that Trump has not already ordered the Customs and Border Patrol, Homeland Security et al to effect just such an operational ethos now.

Had they also carefully removed all mentions of any religious tests like that ‘minority religions’ palaver and added all the other detailed legalese necessary this would have been plain sailing because as you note the President does have effective power to legally ‘trammel’ the system on matters of immigration.

11. @ Jeff

Those who lives in glass houses should not be throwing stones but look inward at their own affairs.

12. @Jeff,

Thanks for the intellectual stimulation.

Trump needs to learn how to be a President.

He would have been a good dictator.

13. @Dee Word

Isn’t Trump rewriting the Executive Order?

14. kakยทisยทtocยทraยทcies. Government by the least qualified or most unprincipled citizens.

15. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“And why โ€“ international law rights notwithstanding โ€“ would there be a โ€œโ€ฆ right to due processโ€ for non-US citizens not domiciled in the US in the face of US National security and terrorism?”

That has always been written into the constitution, it was meant for all Europeans, but never specified others cant enter……”give me your huddled masses”…etc etc…it is still part and parcel of the Constitution. …ah want to see the illiterate one removing it.

16. Well Well

Trump has yet to understand a fundamental tenet within the American jurisprudence, called the Supremacy of the Law.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Trump will always be a ka-ka-tocracy..lol

Besides…immigration law dictatates anyone entering the US has alll legal rights to apply for asylum, whether it will be granted is another long and drawn out story…..so ya cant just turn back a traveller without showing the federal distruct judges just cause backed up by nuff evidence.

18. @Hants

Is that it or Trump is doing it his way read a president who was not a player in the beltway.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey….maybe you can teach him, many of them love to chant bragging and boasting “I am an American” and are totally clueless to what that entails or what it means under the constitution.

20. David, I suspect he is, in the inverse way as Stuart is not revisiting an EIA…if you get my point: the first one should NEVER have been issued; just as a second EIA should have been done or results from any previous one (tangential) or otherwise discussed publicly.

In short, two different sides of an administrative public an operational process cock-up. We can’t afford that in Bim and surely the world can’t in US either.

Yesterday DRNK did their Chad45 imitation. But can you imagine the absolute mayhem if while the WH doofuses (all very smart people based on standard academic achievement) were doing this circle self-adulation that US lone-wolves had been activated by ISIL rather than the other narcissist playing to the world stage.

I am Bajan and I appreciate ever little thing that happens on the rock as it relates to my families’ lives, their property or mine, but this US stuff is very instructive and guys like Jeff enlighten as they shine their wisdom thereupon.

BTW is Hyatt a Russian conglomerate or are their owners now Chinese…again you get the point !!! LOLL

( I read here on BU I believe that an EIA – not directly related to the Hyatt project but city development generally – had been done. Thus my commentary above. I stand to be corrected)

21. Well Well

Congress has the right to restrict immigration from various parts of the world! And yes, green card holders are entitled to due process, so long as the green card holders do not reside outside the United States for more than five years.

22. @Dee Word

What tripped Trump was his wish to hit the ground running and this resulted in amateurish drafting of the Order. There was likely his request for confidentiality.

23. Well Well

Give me your huddled masses was written on the Statue of Liberty by Emma Lazarus, and I’m not quite sure if it is part and parcel of the Constitution.

Dompey…..Ya need to read it and see if it’s there Dompey and if it’s in that same language or cloaked in more legalese, the document is available to be read, knock yaself out.

Where is Chadster this morning, he is usually the first out the block on Sunday mornings to challenge Jeff’s articles.

25. One ought always to take into consideration the that within the American system of government, there is always checks and balances liken to the American civil liberties Union- which challenge the constutitionality of every piece of legislation enacted the federal and state legislatures.

26. Lol everything is happening as it should, mexican illegals are being deported , illegals are running to canada , and will be replaced with documented aliens from trusted countries, Venezualians are heading for US in droves there is no shortage of people wanting to come in legally so there goes the argument that american will go bankrupt if criminals, and scofflaw aliens are ejected. Trump should up the anti for every third rate actress or entertainer that leaves the country he will allow two refugees to come in, and lets see how many of those loud mouth liberal cretins will give up their pampered lifestyle.
    Liberals cant seem to get it, what trump campaigned on is going to happen and if it doesnt they are going to be painted into such a corner it will look like there at fault even if it is not.
    Trudeau has to go to the mountain next week after having lied to the canadian people and the ones who supported him because of his campaign promises and tell trump he should not do what he promised the people ……. beautiful ….what a putz

27. Well Well

I have read it entirely and can say to you without any equivocation that it isn’t part and parcel of the Constitution because had it been, we wouldn’t have had acts such the: Chinese Exclusion Act etc.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/lW97308VsEn

Oh well, one less stain on the earth.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/donald-trump-state-visit-london-midlands-a7575716.html

And ah dont think we want the illiterate even visiting London either.

29. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Dompey….that Act for Chinese Exclusion was during a time of war…interment camps were built as they have been built in recent years… and the Act did not come with the constitution….it was an added Act…any president can add an Act.

And since you read the constitution in its entirety….how come you never told us that trump could not bypass the judicial government with his bogus executive order, you never said a word but now it’s over you want to challenge.., look for someone in ya own league to challenge Dompey.

And ya lied, ya never read the constitution or ya would have seen the reference.

How long did it take you to read the constitution…Dompey.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson….ya just jealous of Justin….lol

31. Jeff,
    Trump is making a fundamental error. He must learn that for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction. No one is afraid of the U.S. any more. any item produced in and by the U.
    s. can be produced elsewhere, and does not have to be purchased fr0m the U.S. Tariffs can be applied to U.S. goods by other countries, Boycotts can be used effectively, and BANS AND RESTRICTIONS CAN BE PLACED ON U.S. citizens and travellers equally. But the greatest lesson he has to learn, and be taught, is that he may be the chief executive officer; issuing executive orders, but there are checks and balances governing those executive orders. And even though he may have been able to fool all those who voted for him, that HE (all alone) could make America great again, the harsh reality is that his mistaken impression that all power resided in the Chief and his Executive orders, it is now the understanding that he cannot do it alone. The boast that he would repeal Obamacare, within the first week of his swearing in, has been shown to be empty. The protests, the marches, the disruptive, and disrupted, Town Hall meetings, have brought home the harsh reality of what can and cannot be done just by his sitting at a desk, signing an order, and, after showing everyone, that he can sign a page, expect to have the order obeyed immediately, is beyond reality. He has not yet realized that he lives in a real world. We await further reports on world reaction to his presidency. It will not be pretty. I said very early, the man is dangerous, because he does not know.

32. Lawson

You’re correct mass deportation has begun here within the last three weeks! And as matter of fact:a Dominican man in my state who have been in America illegal for 31 years, has just been deported even though his wife has cancer and daughter a brain tumor. The Democratic senator of the state Blumenthal, tried to help the guy but to no avail; he was deported last week.

33. Yes David unfortunately. I would say this. I have prepared (template based as I am not a lawyer) or signed a few confidentially agreements in my time related to significant programs and projects but there has NEVER been a connection between maintaining secrecy and the proprietary data and operational excellence! NEVER.

When cock-ups happen it ain’t got a pang to do with confidentiality. Just saying bro.

@Well Well & Consequences at 9:33 AM….drum rolllll.. this is NOT intended to be an aimless argument with you…just a ‘gentle’ brush-back pitch. LOLL

If a law Dean writes an informative, fact based, purposeful piece and you post an ALTERNATIVE FACT that ” ‘give me your huddled masses’โ€ฆetc etcโ€ฆit is still part and parcel of the Constitution. โ€ฆ” don’t you think that YOU should be the one to advise which part of the US Constitution therein lies your ghostly factoid.

Blogging is fun and filled with wild claims but geezus if we condemn Trump and his troupe of characters like Ms Conway for their alternative facts surely we should avoid that sinking sand of hypocrisy ourselves.

Now remember Michelle…LOLL.

34. This link is useful for persons like you who operate under the mistaken belief that the illegal population is madeup only of Mexicans.

http://cis.org/immigrant-population-record-2013

35. Back in December I predicted that KAKISTOCRACY would become Miriam Websterโ€™s word of the year and it seems to be well on course.

We often bemoan the group of politicians who can be lumped as โ€˜professionalโ€™ who more often than not become leaders in our democracies. We are being quickly reminded that there is no substitute for experience in any field, Barack Obama was derided by Republicans as being inexperienced when he ran for the Office but one thing that Obama had going for him was that he was a good student who was a quick study and familiarized himself with his role.

The current President is more of a CEO who is President or vice versa and expects his every word to be law and who believes he is unanswerable to anyone but himself and is fond of reminding us that his mental acuity is second to none (an alternative fact if ever there is one) and the fodder for countless jokes. This is not how it works in politics even at the highest level; the current Administration is like a major car wreck where automobiles keep piling into each other as either the brakes keep failing or the drivers are distracted by the endless communications that come from their leader about the current pet peeve that occupies his attention.

If this was a minor country, we would all snicker and go about our business but the US is still the worldโ€™s premiere economic and military power whose every misstep affect us in ways that are mostly unapparent on the surface but with ramifications that are long lasting.
    We canโ€™t even hope for saner heads to prevail as the Republicans have a stranglehold on Congress and the Senate and are mainly concerned that their vision of the country is implemented. One Democratic Senator joked that some of his Republican colleagues think that that the President has a mental issue and others had opinions that were much harsher.

If only it was a joke.

36. Trump should not go to britain if they move it actually if you haven’t noticed he seems to want bilateral agreements with the east, the brits need him since the EU is going to play hardball. I dont think it will move, they are smarter than that
    WW is that car for sale

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

No Pedant….I dont owe anyone who has not read the constitution any explanation.

Neither you nor Dompey were actively commenting during the trump fraud order with hundreds of comments made by myself and others who knew the order was illegal., you held no position….because neither of you have read the constitution, now the hard work is over you want to challenge based purely on lack of knowledge. …just like trump’s bogus order due to lack of knowledge. …and illiteracy

Go find the refernce ya selves. …I have nothing to prove to legal illiterates.

And I want Dompey to tell me how long it took him to read the constitution….just like he knew Obama entered the whitehouse as a “poor boy”….and he had no evidence.

Vous affichez tous les attributs des alimentateurs de fond….

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lawson…he wants bilateral agreements with the east because he is either indebted to them, owes their banks millions or billions of dollars, lent his name to hotels built in those countries and borrowed heavily based on that…promised them the room if he was elected……or like Russia and what has been said about those who currently have compromising footage of trump in various compromising and ugly positions…lol….ya gitta understand the limited intellect of the illiterate.

May is trying to prostitute to the US, but Londoners aint having none of that….ha.

39. @ Mr. Jeff Cumberbatch

You know that I have great respect for you but after a while too far east is west…

I totally understand that the ground that you are treading on is very thin and in many cases there is no ground but…

Let me give two scenarios to make my point more clearly

A woman walks into a bajan court of law to answer charges that she did fraudulently obtain services or cash from the plaintiff in his case.

The woman does not have a lawyer given her pecuniary circumstances, but she is unable to secure Legal aid given the confines under which they operate.

She is being assessed by the Master of the Court and she speaks plainly of her circumstances but the Master of the Court refuses to entertain her defence because he says that she MUST HAVE A LAWYER and he thereafter makes a ruling that is punitive to her interests.

What is that woman’s recourse? She still has no lawyer? and no money and now she has a judgement against her….

An old pensioner who has in his youth worked and saved and bought a property, built a house worth $250,000 by the assessment of the land Tax department currently receives about $1000 a month from the Pension Department.

He pays his light water and gas and is left with $200 per month to buy food and other necessities.

The man has no living relatives

Mr. Wayne Forde of the Land Tax Department sends him a notice that he has been assessed $2,000 for his land taxes and after 10 years of these requests the Commissioner of Land taxes asks for and receives permission from the court to sell de ole man’s land and house to pay the land taxes owed.

What are the man’s options?

He too does not have any money to pay a lawyer.

My point Jeff is that there are too many pernicious instances of injustice in the court system of Barbados that needs men like you to buckle on your armour and fight in the breach while other men do nothing.

THe Laws of Barbados do not allow for lawyers to do advertisements BUT there are so many of us who languish under the draconian weight of the Court who need help that, a few words from an Honourable Luminary like you, in this landscape of wicked incestuous thievery, would do more good that what, after a while, becomes a pursuit in excellent scholarly brilliance rom one as such as you but becomes much like “many a desert flower is born to bloom and waste its scent upon the desert air…”

Barbados is dying Mr Cumberbatch and needs a few good men, and while you cannot come here to speak to the shennanigans effected by the Fair Trading Commission a few of which you now see first hand, nor speak to those issues which are a conflict of interest, de ole man thinks that many here look to you as an azimuth of legal direction in this minefield of 1100 scamps and legal vagabonds.

With all respect from de ole man…

40. Trump may be smarter than you think, he figured out how to play a round of golf without hitting a nine iron.

41. @ David re “Is that it or Trump is doing it his way “.

Trump has been the OWNER of his business empire. When you own a business “yuh can do wha you like” even if it is wrong as can a Dictator.

In Bajan parlance….Trump is ah arrogant idiot.

42. @Trump

Understand your position but the people voted for change. The same change they voted for with Obama. Like Barbadians the people fed up.

43. Well Well

Reading the Constitution is haft of the battle, but applying the document as it relates to contemporary legislation, is the real challenge for both the federal, state and the nine members of the Supreme Court.

44. One day , our now departed street character, known as Gearbox, stood in front a leading commercial bank and held up a strand of hair. People stopped to see why Gearbox was staring at this strand of hair. Gearbox said: I have seen many of these around one vagina but never have i seen so many vaginas around one of these !!!!
    I say no more about the current occupant of the White House.
    NB: Gearbox did not use the word vagina but I still consider BU a family organ.

45. Dribbler and Lawson,
    Trump, as a puppet of Putin, was under the impression that he could “govern” like Putin. Different story. HE is governed. Congress is the deciding body, not him. The U.S., even though it had become a one party, banana republic, has not yet abandoned its restriction on presidential powers; due to the peoples’ strong support for the Constitution, and that is what he failed to understand. If he appeaLS TO THE SUPREME COURT HE IS IN LINE FOR THE SUPREME REBUFF, AN 8-0 REBUFF. Trump. in his amateur and petulant disparagement of the judicial system, made the fatal error of trying to yank his hand out of the lion’s mouth and kick the lion at the same time. He should have heard my mother’s advice to “ease your hand out of the lion’s mouth, when it is in the lion’s mouth.”

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Barbados does not have a functioning court system that benefits the majority, i have seen it furst hand myself, because it does not have a functional constitution that benefits the majority……or the judiciary would be functional….the few modern, intelligent laws on statute would be enforced. ..but they are not.

…… plus there are too many, small minded, petty minded lawyers that believe they are given a legal right, with a law degree to steal, money and properties from their own black people…..nothing more, nothing less.

I see I will have to keep a couple dummies on BU in their place when they are trying to upstage without a lot to offer….give something intelligent and then challenge intelligently.

Lawson….if only he was capable of applying a nine iron logic to the executive branch….but he blocked out all the windows so no one would see Japanese Abe beating him.