Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

Some are of the mistaken view that BU is anti-investment because we have advocated against projects like Cahill Energy and of most recent, the Hyatt Hotel project. Let us be pellucid as the English language allows, we are NOT. Instead all we ask is for our government to be forthcoming with relevant and timely information to ensure the citizenry is kept informed as is our right under our system of government. Pages of Auditor General reports support the scepticism of citizens that successive government have surrendered to corrupt behaviour and lazy management practices. If there was doubt the the recent Cahill Energy fiasco with a preponderance of  evidence confirmed the Stuart government made many questionable decisions. How are citizens expected to be confident in this government to implement large projects? Of recent there is the Del Maestro transaction which provokes the obvious questions: what would have motivated the principals of Deltro to freight millions of dollars in equipment to Barbados –stored at the Barbados ort Authority -BEFORE approvals from the Town Planning Department and the relevant government ministries  are approved?

The Hyatt hotel project continues to generate a lot of chatter. At first many reacted to the fact that Mark Maloney, a principal in Vision Development Incorporated responsible for mobilizing the project, was again the face of a major project in Barbados. Of recent, the conversation has rightly shifted to the fact Bridgetown is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and therefore the Hyatt hotel should blend with the surrounding environment.

After waiting months on Prime Minister Stuart to approve the Hyatt project when the Town Planning Department kicked it upstairs, it was reported last week that the the green light was finally given.  Surprisingly,  the media report claimed that  an Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) was vetoed for the project after the government was advised by lawyers it is not required. Who are these lawyers? Are they from the Solicitor’s Office?

Commonsense supports the expectation that an EIA is absolutely necessary to be conducted to support a project given its mooted footprint. The footprint is defined as a hotel with 237 rooms, to be built on 3 acres of beachfront land. We will have to wait for information to trickle to the people of the number of storeys approved. To be expected the government read Prime  Minister Stuart has not called what should be the obligatory press conference to update Barbadians . This is the scant regard these educated members of the political class hold Barbadians. This was confirmed recently in parliament by Minister Steve Blackett who questioned why a town hall was necessary.  BU will resist the temptation to go low, JA.

If commonsense was not enough to support an EIA as a condition for approval for the Hyatt hotel project, the BU family was directed to the Draft Physical Development Plan (DPDP) dated February 2017 posted to the Town Planning Department website. Not only does the DPDP call for an EIS to be used as a tool to assess proposed development and a condition for approval, also, Heritage Impact Assessments (HIA), Agricultural Impact Assessments (AIA), Traffic Impact Assessments (TIA) where deemed relevant. Here is a quote from the DPDP:

Where ESIAs, HIA, AIS or TIA (Impact Assessments) are required, they shall be completed to the satisfaction of the Chief Town Planner, prior to approval being given. Approvals of development subject to Impact Assessments may contain certain conditions of approval to ensure that adverse impacts of such development are mitigated.

We have the report of last week that an EIA is not required for the project. We have the report extracted from the DPDP that supports Impact Assessments to be completed as condition for approval by TPD. Will anybody inform the citizens of Barbados what the hell is going on?

83 responses to “Draft Physical Development Plan Calls for Impact Assessments –Hyatt Hotel to be Built WITHOUT Impact Assessment Studies”

1. David

Power makes no concession unless forced to, given a demand (sic) Frederick Douglas.

Certainly not begging, on your knees, like you are.

2. Thank you enuff.

3. Violet C Beckles CUP Avatar
    Violet C Beckles CUP

Hyatt talk is nothing more than Vote buying talk, As was expected right before election in the PM St Michael South,
    He will wave and ride this Donkey up to Elections, if the voters go for it then we all will know the level we are dealing with,
    I think is call balls to the wall,
    Barbados first not Hyatt or the crook PM .

4. fortyacresandamule Avatar
    fortyacresandamule

Which right are you talking about? There is nothing enshrined in the constitution that say the government or the executive must furnish information with regards to investment project.The constant anti-investment protests have me thinking that some of the cries are probably not about TRUE governance or tranparency but rather political point scoring and idealogical stance.

5. If a man in Brittons Hill want to build on a little lean-to shed he does get planning permission. A small contractor/developer does want to build a few houses he does got to get planning permission and an EIA. How come this I’ll-conceived super-sized monstrosity don’t need an EIA and all the other studies typical for project of this nature, HOW COME?

6. Did you even read the relevant section of the draft DPDP?

7. Come on David…
    Asking a yardfowl to read …is like sending a Catholic to study the bible….
    It is not allowed.
    They are only allowed to read the dogma….as interpreted for them by the bosses…

@ Enuff
    Boss, yuh got Bushie speechless with the quality of your interventions here…
    Hard to believe that you cannot see the folly of CSME-type integration as a strategy for success…. after reading you on this Hyatt shiite…

You and your deceptive ‘one-liners….’ 🙂

8. @Bush Tea

It is why we have to cry for our country. When logic goes through the door. Just last week we listened to Glyne Murray expressing the same sentiment i.e. Bajans seem to be complaining against every project because of political motivation. Even if some are railing against the projects for such a reason it is how government responds that will quell the criticism and grow credibility in the minds of the public. So far we have Cahill Energy, the Andrews Sugar project and a few others that have helped to grow public skepticism. How can we achieve real change when we have these tired talking heads who are locked into positions out of step with reality?

9. Is it not obvious that an EIA is “not required” because the results will make the project a ‘no-go’? And is it not equally obvious that a ‘town hall’ is “unecessary” because we all know what happened as a result of the Cowan debacle? Clearly, there are far too many unanswerable questions. Better to bulldoze their way straight through and worry about the consequences after the money has been paid over.

10. Bushie continues to admire you David….
    Yuh mean you actually manage to listen to Murray….?

Shiite man, bushie can’t get Brass tacks listened to nowadays…
    Haffa turn off Murray as soon as he start. He has the EXACT voice and personality needed to kill off a good talk show,,,

Then we have your boy Peter…the pole-ster…. and bushie uses the word ‘boy’ advisedly..
    Then there is Mark Williams – the damn political pest…
    …and the flat-earth, left-brain, idiot who left his brain in the hospital at birth..
    Steupsss … between them, BBC radio wins bushie’s attention every time nowadays…

Anyway, Bajans are such brass bowls that most would probably just close their eyes and pray that whoever rapes them, will use vaseline …and leave a few dollars on the way out….

Bushie loves to cuss Caswell, but shiite man, it is easy to see why he don’t bother his head…

11. @mitchlans

Yes we know this is probably the case. We cannot allow them to openly take us for fools. How can the PM in his capacity as minister responsible for the TPD sign of on the DPDP yet approve such a massive project without Impact Assessments?

#JAs

12. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Did this man not sign off on Cahill and then pretend he did not know anything about it? Where this Prime Minister is concern you can easily put the dots together come up with a synopsis that says he is part of the wrong doing. Hyatt is a deal, When deals are to go down you have ignore all the things that can stop it. After all, is Hyatt not of significant national interest too important to not the DLP man Mark Maloney build up?

13. “Obviously because Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison has certain features about it, what we have insisted on is that the hotel should reflect what the architects call the architectural language of that part of Bay Street . . . is being incorporated into the design of the new hotel to be put there so that it will not be inconsistent; it will not stick out like a sore thumb in that general area where it’s going to be constructed,”

14. SMOKE AND MIRRORS……doan bother bout hyatt. dat covered.. other mo pressin matters to deal wid.

SQUATTERS AND those with illegal extensions to structures are not off the radar of the Town Planning Department, as the Chief Town Planner revealed the biggest challenge came from offenders in Zone 1.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/93502/illegal-structures-challenge#sthash.0eexbH1K.dpuf

15. I have three main objections. 1: No EIA; 2: The statement by the owners of Hyatt that no loocals will be hired for the top mamagerial posts at this hotel. This smacks of bigotry, and I wonder how Government can allow anyone who wants to set up business here to make such demands. This is an affront to all of the population of this country. 3: Most importantly, it will be in the UNESCO World Heritage site. I recall the city of Dresden in Germany having theirs – which was the same as Barbados’ – revoked becaused those in authority had the bright idea of building a modern bridge across the river there. For me that’s a warning to all like Barbados not to mess with the UNESCO stipulations.

16. I must add that that building cannot blend in with the surrounding buildings, such as Bethel Methodist church, as Mark Maloney said. It would have to be well camouflaged!

17. @SSS

We wait for the traditional media to catchup by first highlighting the DPDP and second -tell us about Vision Development and how the financing will be done.

18. Hyatt will not stick out like a sore thumb. It will be a thing of beauty.

It will become a heritage building 100 years from now.

19. You assume the government is not prepared to lose the UNESCO world heritage designation?

20. Delisle Worrell is about to become the DLP’s worst enemy and their attempts to oust him will go down as the beginning of the end?

21. Whenever the total amount of credit being extended by the Bank to the Government, its institutions, agencies and statutory boards by advances under section 45, the acquisition of evidences of indebtedness under sections 32 (b) and 46, and the acceptance of securities as collateral under section 32 (c)(i) (D) threaten either-
    (a) to exceed the amount agreed under section 47 (a) ; or (b) to endanger monetary stabilitythe Bank shall submit a report to the Minister drawing attention to the situation, analysing the causes which have led thereto, and recommending measures which it deems necessary to fore- stall or otherwise remedy the situation.,

22. NorthernObserver Avatar

On the BU thread on the recent Economic Forum
    NorthernObserver February 9, 2017 at 12:42 PM #
    Hmmmm….GoCB’s swan song?

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

Yes Mr.Blogmaster the financing deal is of interest.

But where is this group?

From Unesco….http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/1376

“The management plan, which was formally adopted by the Barbados Cabinet in 2011, defines that the Barbados World Heritage Committee forms the central plank in the administration of the property and oversees adherence to the principles of the Convention.

The Chief Town Planner has been identified as the Site Manager for day-to-day management concerns in the framework of the urban development plan and planning permission procedures. He also chairs the Barbados World Heritage Committee which meets on a two-monthly basis. Thematic subcommittees meeting at shorter intervals are dedicated to specific areas of management, including education and capacity building, conservation of architectural heritage, interpretation and tourism management.

24. NorthernObserver…………chalk one up for the GoCB, he has really put a good slap on Sinckler and Stuart tonight. Like Trump, the Courts have powers which supersede the PM and MOF.

25. Section 48 report in them backside tomorrow. Gotta give it to Guvnor, he ain’t short on balls.

26. An injunction for the Hyatt will be granted too. Them don’t own bout here.

27. I am beginning to believe the Prime Minister was serious when he said he doesn’t concern himself with numbers. He reportedly said the 15 story Hyatt could be the same height as the 10 story hotel which was previously planned. This Hyatt must be planned for pygmies – lol

28. The whole Board should resign if as reported they are unable to work with Chairman Worrell.

29. The Governor will expect that these yahoos will not attempt to damage his professional reputation whether you agree with his approach or not. Interesting to see how this plays out.

30. What an ignorant comment without knowning all the facts. “The whole board should resign”

31. ac,

The goodly doctor got wunna by the balls. Wait for the report that the monetary stability of the country is threatened and that the currency is about to free fall. How exactly is the Government going to pay civil servants if the GoCB refuses to print money and buy GOB paper??

32. Today is a funny night.The Shaving Cream is about to hit the fan!When asses like the retard from Sen Lucy could say that printing money is not always a bad idea….never mind the evidence of Guyana and Jamaica should suffice to warn the intelligent among the country.When another retard can suggest that with the court decision to grant an injunction protecting the Governor notwithstanding that the board of the CB do not see it incumbent on all of them to resign as a sine qua non,in protest if they want to maintain any integrity,which we know they lack.

33. Yesterday on Brasstacks,Jeremy Stephen called for a cut in public servants salaries once again.Stuart in potter as always.

34. David Ellis cant find somebody other than this man Avinash Persaud to bring on BT…that man is speaking with a forked tongue.He was Thompsons emissary to find investors for 4 Seasons since ’08..9 years ago and counting and all I see at the site is rot and rust.Ellis trying to shout down Ryan.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Own AreaFebruary 13, 2017 at 9:00 AM

What is playing out with the beleaguered Guv of the CB is what the Thoth of Human Morality would describe as Karma, the God-Mother of All Retribution.

But instead of appearing in the form of a baboon she has arrived in the form of a bitch to bite the backside of a quack.

Those who live by the sword of lies and deceit will succumb to the slaying hand of retribution.
    Please do not turn this quack into a martyr who gave up his ‘professional’ life to save your country from the oncoming train marked “Devaluation” and about to leave in its wake a social and economic wreck called Barbados.

The day of reckoning has arrived and no jumping from the sinking ship like a cowardly rat will save their sorry asses.

But you must admire the Fumbling captain who has given his proven ironclad assurance: I am the chief and under my watch there can be no devaluation under my pompously magniloquence and blindingly inept watch (even if the Guv of the CB and the recently transmogrified elusive pink panther for a MoF along with his jester the Intellectual Inch are singing a different tune.

Poor Bim, you have been brought to your knees by a real black son of the soil who is about to keep his promise and send you ungrateful children back to the cane rows on the ‘Marchfield’ plantation.

36. What I find amazing Miller is that people like Inniss and Estwick, who know better, don’t take on Stuart and Sinckler head on. Both Stuart and Sinckler are political weaklings.

37. Since 2008 the blp yatdfowls have been predicting hell on earth for this country with a chicken little effect
    First is was the declining tourism market abd tgeceager eleven followed by marches and Unions strikes followed by more Blp marches and Union strike all of which was to drive the nail in the heart of the economy
    Now comes another temptest in a tea pot and the blp eyes are bulging out their head with excitement
    If after all these failed events were to push the country off a fiscal cliff did not happen.
    One would be lead to belive that the blp would keep mouth shut and stop making fools of self
    The only thing that you blp operatives get right is getting your predictions constantly wrong
    Hav a nice day

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Good that is what happens to government pimps and yardfowls…do the dirty work against thr people and when ministers have no futrther use for your destructiveness. …they throw your ass under the bus, just as pimps and yardfowls deserve.

39. Interesting to listen to former chairman of Four Seasons Avinash Persaud admitting that an EIA was done to support the Four Seasons project. Will not repeat minister Denis Kellman’s contribution to the debate this morning.

40. Denis Kellman should be ashamed of his performance today on Brass Tack. I mean how can we elect people like him and expect Barbados and Barbadians to develop?

WHAT AN EMBARRASSMENT DENIS KELLMAN IS TO RIGHT THINKING BARBADIANS.

41. His simple logic if he is to be understood is that the coastal area at Paradise was ‘moving’ however there is no similar occurrence taking place at the proposed Hyatt environs. You cant make this stuff up!

42. That’s not logic, that’s a convenient excuse. It is truly embarrassing but at least he had the presence of mind to realize he sounds like an idiot so put his coward tail between his legs and ran. This is David THOMPSON’s legacy, a bunch an political jackasses walk about Barbados actually believing they know know what they are doing.

43. The Prime Minister has no shame, he is not up to the job and he knows he is no leader but still wants to be PM. For God’s sake and sake of the 300K people here call the elections and let the people put you out of your misery.

44. What was the objective of his call?

Note Ellis and Persaud made no mention of the DPDP posted on the Town Planning website and linked to this article to question the importance of Impact Assessments. They are a pack of hypocrites and traitors to the profession we call the Fourth Estate. We know for certain they patrol daily the corridors of BU.

45. Imagine the embarrassment of listening to the Prime Minister justify his decision by referring to the fact a hotel was approved for the same site 10 years ago WITHOUT an EIA.

46. Playing politics I suspect. I hope to God David C has the balls to go to Court, on behalf of all law abide and right thinking Barbadians, to obtain an injunction. Also, both Maloney and Edghill should be shamed out of town for ‘organizing’ the massive perversion. In the pursuit of Mammon they have lost their way.

47. Yes David C has been uncharacteristically silent.

Should Town Planner Cummins accept the blame of the project not requiring an EIA? The PM appears to have been guided by his office in this regard if we listen to him carefully.

48. Then the CTP needs to be investigated no? That is a perversion of the requirements to say the least?

49. Imagine the embarrassment of listening to the Prime Minister justify his decision by referring to the fact a hotel was approved for the same site 10 years ago WITHOUT an EIA.

well it is a truth

a truth that set precedence you can take that to the court