Submitted by DAVIDย  COMISSIONG, President, CLEMENTย  PAYNEย  MOVEMENT

ssaSo, the Democratic Labour Party— the political party that solemnly promised the Barbadian people that a vote for them in the 2013 General Elections was a vote for the preservation of all Public Sector jobs and a vote against privatization of State entities— has now made a decisive move to begin the process of privatising the critical garbage collection services performed by the Sanitation Service Authority (SSA)! This is a shameful act of political betrayal, that is all the more offensive in that it was carried out in secrecy, without the Barbadian people, the SSA workers, or the trade unions being consulted in any way !

To make matters worse, we have learnt from the information divulged in the front page article published in the Nation Newspaper of Tuesday 11th October 2016 that this new private sector based garbage collection arrangement is going to constitute a massive and unjustified drain on our nation’s public finances.

The Newspaper article revealed that the private business-men will be paid $411 per hour per truck, and that each truck will be in operation for 8 hours per day and 5 days per week! Thus, each truck will cost the taxpayers of Barbados $16,440 per week or $854,880 per year !

This YEARLY payment of $854,880 PERย  TRUCK needs to be juxtaposed against the cost of Government actually purchasing one such refuse collection truck outright— the cost of approximately $250,000 !

Why should this Democratic Labour Party administration be saddling us— the citizens and taxpayers of Barbados– with payments to private business-men of $854,880 PERย  TRUCKย  PERย  YEAR or Eight and a half Million dollars for EACHย  TRUCKย  over a 10 year period, when they could have purchased the said truck for the SSA at a mere one time cost of some $250,000 ?

There is also the issue of the tremendous disparity between the wages that will be paid to the working class Barbadian men and women who will serve as garbage collectors on these private trucks and the fees that the SSA will be paying to the private business-men.

According to the Newspaper article the workers will be paid a mere $500 per WEEK, presumably for a 40 hour work week,ย  while the business-men will be paid $411 per HOUR for a similar 40 hour work week ! Thus, the worker will work for 40 hours– carrying out the most physically taxing, dangerous and distasteful duties– to earn just slightly more than what the business-man will earn in one (1) HOUR for the use of his truck !

Truly this is a scandal of massive proportions and should lead to strident and decisive Calls for the removal of the present DLP Administration from office!

205 responses to “The PRIVATIZATION OF Sanitation Services is a SCANDAL of MASSIVE Proportions”

1. David you calling the Minister out of his sick bed?

2. That information would be easy to ascertain if the estimates of revenue and expenditure and financial statements of the SSA’s (and other government departments/statutory corporations) were published and made available for public perusal.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/10/11/lowe-back-on-the-job/

Apparently shithead is out รฒf his sick bed.

4. How can the public be expected to offer informed comment on the issue if cerified/audited financials are not available?

5. @ David
    How can the public be expected to offer informed comment on the issue if cerified/audited financials are not available?
    Boss…
    Kindly allow Bushie to rephrase that correctly for yuh….

How can cerified/audited financials be made available to the public when informed comment CANNOT be allowed on the issue?

You know how many people we would have to lock up…?
    …including some of the damn auditors…?

6. The NUPW rep made a sensible observation in the news today. Why would anyone import 15 garbage trucks if there was not a deal on the table. What is the deal the public is entitled to know. It is called transparency!

7. Boss
    How can details of the deal be made available to the public when informed comment CANNOT be allowed on the issue?

You know how many people…….

8. Banana Republic Avatar

Guys stop complaining, go buy online a white face mask and body kit. Go to one of the Ministers and swing a deal with your own kickback schemes. These guys will never change irregardless of exposure or complaints because they know B or DLP they will never be prosecuted or put in jail like average members of the public.

9. A minister takes ill,is hospitalized,conveniently during the parliament’s Summer recess now going into its Fall recess and the citizen is no wiser because this government does not see it as their responsibility to inform.The public is entitled to know the nature of this minister’s illness seeing that he is the minister of garbage and he may have been exposed to more garbage than the average citizen.There was a plan afoot to carry all the street garbage and dump it in front of low’s house.Don’t know if it occurred and made the man more sick than he is.BTW did Adriel nitwit and the rocker lowdown ever returned to the House to clarify their contention that Mia was in uncertified practice?

10. Stop spreading propaganda not going to help the blp win the next election. The minister stated that he would soon address the issue.also due to his health issues he needs time to put all facts together so that the correct answers can be given to all public concerns

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

@Caswell

What is your point?

If a Head is not utilised what happens with the budgeted amount?

Believe it or not that is a very good question. Sanitation is a statutory board and as such the rules that apply in Central Government does not apply. In Central Government if the money in the Estimates is not utilised, for its intended purpose, before the end of the of the financial year, it lapses and goes back to the Treasury. At statutory boards, even though the money is allocated in the estimates for a specific purpose, the board can change the intended purpose in accordance with the instructions from the minister. Also, money is not returned to the Treasury if it is not utilised at statutory boards.

That is why ministers love to convert public service departments to statutory boards. They have access to the money that they won’t have in Central Government.

12. It is a known fact that for the past 3 to 4 years, the SSA has been experiencing NUMEROUS CHALLENGES relative to the collection and disposal of garbage.

A competent, efficient and proactive Minister of the Environment would have USED the TIME to DEVELOP and IMPLEMENT the necessary plans to adequately address the garbage issues confronting the island. Obviously, these plans would have been documented and discussed with Cabinet, as well as the relevant officials in the ministry and SSA.

However, if we are to believe Lowe NOW โ€œneeds time to put all facts together so that the correct answers can be given to all public concerns,โ€ then it is clearly evident this arrangement with the waste haulers is a REACTIVE rather than a PROACTIVE approach.

Therefore, the resident consortium of yard-fowls has confirmed, by their comments, that this piss poor DLP administration did NOT have any DEFINITIVE SHORT or LONG-TERM policies to adequately address garbage issues currently plaguing the island.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“A competent, efficient and proactive Minister of the Environment would have USED the TIME to DEVELOP and IMPLEMENT the necessary plans to adequately address the garbage issues confronting the island.”

And if there was a competent prime minister leading, he would have noticed that Lowe is incompetent m has no original plans for garbage or the environment outside of what his “give me” parasitic masters want……. and removed him from that environment job for non performance and replaced him with someone competent who has original workable ideas ..but ya have an incompetent government…, it is what it is.

14. Caswell Franklyn October 12, 2016 at 4:27 PM #

โ€œAt statutory boards, even though the money is allocated in the estimates for a specific purpose, the board can change the intended purpose in accordance with the instructions from the minister. Also, money is not returned to the Treasury if it is not utilized at statutory boards.โ€

@ Caswell

I believe you are misleading BU.

Based on my experience working as the Assistant Accountant of a statutory corporation, as well as acting as Accountant, I am not in agreement with your above comments.

Firstly, the Boards have to follow governmentโ€™s financial rules and regulations, and this fact is always alluded to by the Auditor General in his reports.

Secondly, the financial statements of the Board where I was employed were audited by the Audit Department and the auditors highlighted a number of irregularities that contravened governmentโ€™s regulations. The Director and Accountant were informed by the auditors, through correspondence, of any irregularity, the particular regulations they contravened and the necessary guidelines to follow to prevent reoccurrence.

For example, the Chairman of the Board decided to authorize the transfer $1M from a particular vote into a fixed deposit, to be used for emergency purposes. When the auditors discovered the account, they immediately wrote the Board informing them of the rules and instructed them to transfer the money to the consolidated fund.

Thirdly, in the event that the Board did not fully utilized funds from the previous financial year, the Accountant in the parent Ministry would reduce the vote by that amount. The logic was, if you did not spend the allocation, how could you increase your estimate for the following financial year.

Fourthly, I acted as Accountant for an extended period and during this time a Head of Department from a department within the parent Ministry was seconded to the board to act as Director. This gentleman made sure the financial rules were adhered to.

Finally, during my time of employment, there was not any minister who had access to the Boardโ€™s funds, as that was impossible. If you had mentioned the minister, through the Chairman, could approve contacts and exorbitant payments to their lackeys, I would readily agree.

15. WW&C
    You have to understand this government’s position with only a one seat majority.Stuart is PM only with the tacit approval of this motley bunch who don’t take time from him knowing that if he tries to move one of them the whole deck will collapse.On the other hand he holds the trump card of calling an election like Sandy did.So they don’t move on him and he won’t wont move on them.We know he doesn’t trust any of them especially the Eager 11.Meanwhile Barbados is in limbo and stories of corruption having a field day.
    Btw,Life expectancy in Dominica is higher than Barbados 77 vs 75.

16. Artax you are talking poop by using my commentary as a confirmation to verify facts which you are not known to you
    In any case to point out your error the govt had several plans to address with haste the garbage problem one of which was the WTE plant.
    Now i know the mention of WTE would bring out the venom or worst yet in the blp haters but you know what not intersted in rehashing the issue

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art….that means the government minister are so busy watching each other to see who will make the first move that even if they were competent they are much too busy seeing who will stab whom in the back first….yet they all agree on one thing….none of them want corruption to end.

I dont know if they can see it, but they are carrying water in a basket.

ACs…how many times must you be exposed before yall get the message,

18. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

Your statutory board was doing it wrong. Unfortunately, when they taught you the procedures, you were not properly trained. The Estimates in Central Government is mandatory not so at statutory corporations.

19. @Caswell

Is it legal for a company/firm to deduct pay from an employee’s pay if it was closed to business because of the shut down that was ordered recently because of a storm? If said company communicated to employees that their pay will be deducted if they don’t have any sick days left – What has it to do with sick days?

20. You are being disingenuous by mentioning the WTE plant, when you know the level of secrecy and a blatant lack of transparency was correctly attributed to that project.

You are also aware that the WTE plans were not thoroughly thought through by this administration. If the DEMS were proactive and conducted the necessary research, they would have never attempted to introduce the plant to Barbados

However, it was concerned citizens and special interest groups that conducted the relevant research and presented the necessary evidence to the public, to substantiate the plant was hazardous to Barbadosโ€™ environment.

Additionally, reliable information suggested many countries throughout the world were already abandoning the WTE technology. If the DEMS were proactive and conducted the necessary due diligence, they would have been aware of these facts.

As a result, this administration admitted the WTE plant was a mistake and scraped the plans.

These circumstances proved Barbadians with the proof that, in the absence of any definitive short or long-term plans, the DEMS were being reactive as usual.

However, as a yard-fowl, you would want to spin the issue to imply that government abandoned those plans to appease the populace.

Based on the evidence, which you conveniently choose to ignore, โ€œmy commentary (is) confirmation to verify facts which you (pretend for political expediency) are not known to you.โ€

21. Caswell Franklyn October 12, 2016 at 6:10 PM #

โ€œYour statutory board was doing it wrong. Unfortunately, when they taught you the procedures, you were not properly trained. The Estimates in Central Government is mandatory not so at statutory corporations.โ€

@ Caswell

Once again you are misleading BU and should admit that there isnโ€™t everything pertaining to government procedure of which you have an in depth knowledge.

Additionally, you are essentially implying that the โ€œGovernment Accountingโ€ course offered by Governmentโ€™s Training Division, as well as UWIโ€™s course โ€œ2018 Government Accountingโ€ are inadequate or irrelevant.

22. ***** Additionally, you are essentially implying that the โ€œGovernment Accountingโ€ course offered by Governmentโ€™s Training Division, which should be completed by personnel of the Accounts Sections of government departments, as well as UWIโ€™s course โ€œ2018 Government Accountingโ€ are inadequate or irrelevant.

23. While this is tangential material it should be an active consideration for the incoming government

http://imgur.com/a/94o5Q

Lol…Piece this one is a masterpiece. ..Lowe is lucky ya forgot him…lol

After removing this present lot, ya apply more pressure to the wannabes in waiting so they don’t get any grand ideas that they can continue where they left off when they got thrown out of parliament in 2008….

…..as long as the new government do their jobs, do right by ALL the people, do not restart enabling the 5% minorites to disenfranchise the majority….there should be no problem.

Piece the posters are getting better and better.

25. Artaxerxes October 12, 2016 at 4:59 PM #

It is a known fact that for the past 3 to 4 years, the SSA has been experiencing NUMEROUS CHALLENGES relative to the collection and disposal of garbage.
    However, if we are to believe Lowe NOW โ€œneeds time to put all facts together so that the correct answers can be given to all public concerns,โ€ then it is clearly evident this arrangement with the waste haulers is a REACTIVE rather than a PROACTIVE approach.
    Therefore, the resident consortium of yard-fowls has confirmed, by their comments, that this piss poor DLP administration did NOT have any DEFINITIVE SHORT or LONG-TERM policies to adequately address garbage issues currently plaguing the country

Your comment Artaxerxes October 12, 2016 at 6:30 PM #
    is far from being an accurate confirmation as you stated in your above comment to verify that the govt did not have any definite Short or long term policies to address the garbage.
    However what i will agree is that maybe govt might had failed or fallen short as Dr. lowe stated in not availing themselves to understanding the pros and cons of the technology , but for you to blatantly state that govt did not have any policies to address the garbage situation prior is political poo
    i know you will use a strategy of placing blame on govt failure to deliver on the promise of the WTE be that as it may your comment to dismiss govt actions to address was misleading the bu audience and an untruth

26. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

Are you aware that the Financial Rules,which were originally a schedule to the now repealed Financial Administration and Audit Act but are now saved under the Financial Management Act, were never intended to govern statutory boards.

Are you aware that in 1980 there were two circulars issued on the instructions of Tom Adams that informed statutory boards to develop their own financial rules and staff rules, since neither the Financial Rules nor the General Orders applied to statutory boards. I am not misleading anyone; it is just that your training was deficient.

27. ac October 12, 2016 at 7:48 PM #

I do not to be involved in a โ€œtit for tatโ€ with you, but as I have mentioned in previous contributions, comprehension is not one of your strong points, since it seems you attended school in July and August.

But let me break it down as simply as I possibly can perhaps that even you may be able to understand.

Firstly, I never mentioned anything about โ€œplacing blame on govt failure to deliver on the promise of the WTE.โ€

Secondly, my point is, if this DLP administration had any DEFINITIVE plans for garbage collection and disposal, they would have used its available resources to conduct a comprehensive appraisal of the WTE project (i.e. due diligence), in an effort to ascertain the viability of such a project, evaluate its commercial potential and its effects on the environment.

Instead, through the means of stealth and lack of transparency, the government attempted to introduce a WTE plant as their policy for garbage disposal and force the technology and the associated infrastructure upon Barbadians.

However, ORDINARY CITIZENS and SPECIAL INTEREST GROUPS, at their EXPENSE, conducted the necessary research and process of due diligence, and presented the evidence to Barbadians via social media, thereby proving the project was not viable. THE GOVERNMENT EVENTUALLY ADMITTED THE PROJECT WAS NOT VIABLE AND SCRAPPED THE PLANS.

At the end of the day, sensible thinking Barbadians did not see the CAHILL WTE plant as a government policy initiative, based on all the evidence, it was identified as a SCAM.

These are documented facts.

How could I โ€œmislead the BU audience (with) an untruth,โ€ when all and sundry know BU facilitated the efforts of those ordinary citizens and special interest groups and was instrumental in revealing the CAHILL scam to Barbadians.

28. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

@Caswell

Is it legal for a company/firm to deduct pay from an employee’s pay if it was closed to business because of the shut down that was ordered recently because of a storm? If said company communicated to employees that their pay will be deducted if they don’t have any sick days left – What has it to do with sick days?

It depends if you are monthly, weekly, daily or hourly paid and also what is the custom and practice at the workplace.

29. Caswell you need to find this employee who was fired from Sheraton and defend her. Good PR!

https://www.facebook.com/TheChaseFilesTVShow/videos/922598711206299/?hc_ref=NEWSFEED

30. @ Caswell

Iโ€™m not going to prolong this โ€œargumentโ€ with you, but you are conveniently โ€œshifting the goal postโ€ in an effort to prove you MUST ALWAYS be CORRECT.

I cannot understand how an individual preparing estimates and financial statements can be described as having a deficiency in training.

1) Could you please explain to me how an individual PREPARING estimates and financial statements EXHIBITS a DEFICIENCY in TRAINING, or is this deficiency based on your premise that the Financial Rules do not APPLY to statutory corporations?

2) Are you suggesting an individual requires a SPECIAL type of training to prepare financial statements?

3) And what does Tom Adams and 1980 have to do with preparing financial statements?

Knowing you, you will tell BU that you had specific training in accordance with some ancient Act you will quote, knowing not many people would do a “follow up.”.. Lol.

However, by mentioning my โ€œtraining was deficient,โ€ you are essentially suggesting the Government Training Divisionโ€™s โ€œGovernment Accountingโ€ course and UWIโ€™s โ€œGovernment Accountingโ€ module are also DEFICIENT and IRRELEVANT within the context of government accounting procedures. And you have conveniently ignored this point.

Additionally, you are also implying there is a deficiency in the training of the Auditor General, his auditors and the Accountants of the statutory corporations in Barbados.

Come on, Caswell, you are strugglingโ€ฆโ€ฆ. yours is a shiite argument.

31. Artax you argument does not hold water what you are arguing is an untruth by presenting a slanted version of facts on which the burden of proof was for you to show evidence wether the govt did not pursue other alternatives for dressing the garbage problem
    In the end all you have done is pursue a path of damage control for your comments by presenting arguments as to why the WTE plant was abandon none of which DOES NOT prove that govt DIDNOT have alternative policies/plans fir waste

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

For the last time – YOU ARE WRONG!

Transfers from Central Government to statutory boards do not lapse at the end of the financial year. Even though boards prepare estimates similar in some respects to Central Government, the allocations in their estimates are not enforced in the same way. Please check with someone who knows before you seek to criticise me for being accurate.

33. Why yuh left out Denis Lowe, Donville Inniss and David Estwick from the band of tiefs…

34. Okay, I concede, you are absolutely correct. Please for give me and accept my humblest apologies.

During the past 7 years, I did not hear, read or was told anything about these alternatives.

As a result, I thought the pile up of garbage all over the island due to weeks of being uncollected, was enough “evidence to indicate whether the govt did not pursue other alternatives for dressing the garbage problem.โ€ Hence, I was “arguing an untruth.”

I have now chosen to “pursue a path of damage control” by admitting my “argument does not hold water” and my comments on the issue are perhaps โ€œa slanted version of the facts.โ€

I also sympathize with the government and SSA, because itโ€™s not their fault. The public is accumulating too much garbage knowing โ€œSanitationโ€ has been experiencing challenges with garbage collection.

However, since you seem to be the only set of individuals who are privy to the details of that information, perhaps you may be willing to share it with BU.

35. @ Caswell Franklyn

You have once again โ€œshifted the goal postโ€ and have presented an entirely different argument to the one you were originally pursuing re: โ€œdeficiency in training.โ€

By all indications you never held an accounting position in any ministry or statutory corporation, nor have you ever prepared estimates, attended estimates meetings at ministry level or represented a government entity during estimates debates in parliament. This disqualifies you from passing judgment on anyone who held such a position and undertook those activities.

The statutory corporation for which I worked used to โ€œroll overโ€ the funds from previous financial years, until management was instructed by personnel from the Audit Department to transfer those funds to the consolidated fund at the end of the financial year.

I know this for a fact and that similar instructions were given to Boards such as NAB and NCC.

You are essentially implying that members of our accounting staff, those of other statutory corporations auditors from the Audit Department did not know what they were doing.

I would never argue with you about a union matter, because I know thatโ€™s your forte. However, you should leave accounting matters to those who are professionally qualified.

Caswell, you may manipulate the argument to suit your particular agenda of being the resident โ€œknow it all.โ€ I worked in the system for over 10 years, during which time I met and interacted with Accountants from various government departments and boards. I am not backing down from my position and do not have to ask anyone anything.

YOU ARE WRONG, Mr. Franklynโ€ฆ be a big man and admit you donโ€™t know everything.

I dun wid you and dat.

36. @ Artax !keep talking poop could not careless

37. Caswell Franklyn October 12, 2016 at 4:27 PM #

@Caswell

What is your point?

If a Head is not utilised what happens with the budgeted amount?

“Believe it or not that is a very good question. Sanitation is a statutory board and as such the rules that apply in Central Government does not apply. In Central Government if the money in the Estimates is not utilised, for its intended purpose, before the end of the of the financial year, it lapses and goes back to the Treasury. At statutory boards, even though the money is allocated in the estimates for a specific purpose, the board can change the intended purpose . Also, money is not returned to the Treasury if it is not utilised at statutory boards.”

Statutory boards receive a grant/lump sum payment from the Treasury voted by Parliament to run their operations. To the best of my knowledge, the money if not utilised is not returned to the Treasury it is rolled over. Invariably and in some cases the draw downs only serve to cover the overdraft arising out of the unavailability of the receipt of the funds from the Treasury in timely fashion.

“in accordance with the instructions from the minister
    That is why ministers love to convert public service departments to statutory boards. They have access to the money that they wonโ€™t have in Central Government.”

Technically the Minister does not have direct access to the funds of the corporation but in reality can have indirect access through the Chairman who is the accounting officer and whom he appoints.Ever notice how every Minister brings his own Chairman.

In central Government this practice is not as blatant but can also occur in the awarding of contracts where the Minister’s preference can be surreptitiously advanced despite written and detailed procedures in place for the awarding of contracts.

38. In addition, to the best of my knowledge they are specific guidelines governing the operations of Statutory boards and even though chairman with no axe to grind do encourage accounting personnel to apply the provisions of the Financial rules where possible to the execution of their accounting duties they are not strictly bound by the Financial rules.

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

I think that you should read the two comments from Charles Skeete, who was a senior auditor working for the Auditor General for many years. He has confirmed my position. What he is in fact saying is that you were doing your job incorrectly for all those years that you worked at that statutory board. You might be a qualified accountant but you did not know what the hell you were doing.

40. @ Artax
    You are essentially implying that members of our accounting staff, those of other statutory corporations auditors from the Audit Department did not know what they were doing
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, why don’t you leave Caswell alone?
    You are digging a well …and you know what happens to ‘he who diggeth a well…’

Judging from the general LAPSE in financial statements from most of these statutory corporations, and from the perennial criticism of the Auditor General, either members of your accounting staff ARE INDEED incompetent ….or worse, they are crooked.

You should know better than to dig such a well with a loose cover…..

41. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Artaxerxes October 13, 2016 at 1:11 AM #
    โ€œ@ Caswell Franklyn
    You have once again โ€œshifted the goal postโ€ and have presented an entirely different argument to the one you were originally pursuing re: โ€œdeficiency in training.โ€

I am sorry but there has been no shifting of the goal post here; only a very adept goalkeeper stopping your powder-puff shots. There is not only โ€œdeficiency in trainingโ€ but a โ€˜grossโ€™ lack of professionalism.

How else would you explain the exceedingly critical utterances of the MoF as explicitly stated as follows:
    โ€œMany SOEs/SBs routinely do not comply with their statutory reporting obligations. Of greatest concern is the backlog in preparation and submission of audited financial statements. The lack of audited financial statements represents a significant risk and makes meaningful oversight difficult.โ€

Doesnโ€™t the above extract from the MOFโ€™s June 2015 budget presentation contradict your argument (and indeed supports Caswellโ€™s position)?

Where are the benefits arising from the training unless you would argue that the Board (possibly acting through the CEO) routinely overrides the financial management decisions taken by the technical staff?

Clearly, the Minister is saying that the majority of the State-owned enterprises (SOEโ€™s) are neither following the Financial Administration Act nor the International Financial Reporting Standards (IFRS).

42. @ Caswell Franklyn

โ€œcharles skeete October 13, 2016 at 5:48 AM #: In addition, to the best of my knowledge they are specific guidelines governing the operations of Statutory boards and EVEN THOUGH CHAIRMAN WITH NO AXE TO GRIND DO ENCOURAGE ACCOUNTING PERSONNEL TO APPLY THE PROVISIONS OF THE FINANCIAL RULES WHERE POSSIBLE TO THE EXECUTION OF THEIR ACCOUNTING DUTIES THEY ARE NOT STRICTLY BOUND BY THE FINANCIAL RULES.โ€

If the Board APPLIED the PROVISIONS of the Financial Rules and TRANSFERRED FUNDS from a PREVIOUS FINANCIAL YEAR to the Consolidated Fund, how on earth can you CONCLUDE that such an action is INDICATIVE of accounting personnel โ€œdoing their job INCORRECTLY and did not know what the hell they were doing?โ€

Caswell Franklyn, you are a big joker, no wonder Unity Union is struggling for membership.

43. BU is a forum where certain โ€œgolden boy/girlโ€ contributors are protected from scrutiny or criticism at all costs, even though their arguments may be irrational or flawed.

Here enters Bush Tea writing shiite in an effort to defend โ€œknow it allโ€ Caswell Franklyn.

Bush Tea could you please explain to me how could an individual be JUDGED as INCOMPETENT or CROOKED if they transferred funds left over from a previous financial year to governmentโ€™s Consolidated Fund?

Skeeteโ€™s comments confirm that, though it may not be the norm, there isnโ€™t anything untoward, illegal, crooked or incompetent in such a transaction.

44. @ Artax
    Name one chairman ‘with no axe to grind…’
    You need to read Charles Skeete comment carefully too…

We all know that the only qualification for chairmanship of such corporations is the ability to grind axes….

45. @ Charles Skeete

Could you please explain to me how accounting personnel be deemed as crooked, incompetent or not knowing the hell they are doing, if they were instructed by management and Auditors to transfer funds from a previous financial year to the Consolidated Fund?

46. @ Artax
    You do well arguing against AC.
    Don’t get carried away….

You may have been an assistant accountant.
    Bushie was a chairman…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Charles SPECIFICALLY said that
    “even though chairman with no axe to grind do encourage accounting personnel to apply the provisions of the Financial rules where possible to the execution of their accounting duties they are not strictly bound by the Financial rules.”
    Read it slowly….

“Despite the fact that an honest and competent chairman (ha ha ha) does ENCOURAGE accounting staff to apply the regulations, WHERE POSSIBLE…. there are NOT strictly bound by the rules to do so….”

Cuh shiite man Artax.
    Even when bound by the rules and the LAWS, our leaders have been doing a lotta shiite like CLICO, CAHILL, Four Seasons, Sandals etc…. and the Auditor General has been detailing a litany of shiite by the very corporations of which we speak….

Add one and one and see what you get…..

47. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Artaxerxes

Your problem is that you don’t recognise when you have lost an argument. Now you resort to attacking Unity.

By now you would have realised that you spent ten years working in an accounts department and did not know what you were doing. I understand that realisation could be painful. I think the experts would say that you are in denial so I would not take your abuse personally.

48. @ Miller

You are out of your depth in this matter and I prefer not offer any detailed response to the shiite you wrote.

49. @ Bush Tea

โ€œDespite the fact that an honest and competent chairman (ha ha ha) does ENCOURAGE accounting staff to apply the regulations, WHERE POSSIBLEโ€ฆ. there are NOT strictly bound by the rules to do soโ€ฆ.โ€

Food for thought……..

And you said you were a chairmanโ€ฆ.. hmmmmmm… I guess you were an exemption to the rule?

50. Caswell Franklyn

Loss argument shiite, you still have not explained how the transferring of roll over funds to the Consolidated Fund is definitive of an individual not knowing what he is doing?

And especially coming from a man who was transferred from almost every government department you worked in. But I guess it means you knew what you were doing and your expertise was an asset to the civil service.

You are a professional trade unionist WHO KNOWS WHAT HE IS DOING, is familiar with all the labour laws and employee rights, yet you are struggling with a Trade Union.

I, on the other hand, DO NOT KNOW what I am doing, have a professional business, a large clientele and does mek nuff, nuff money.