Adriel Brathwaite, minister of Home Affairs

From early reports the bad weather that affected Barbados from about midday yesterday did not result in loss of life. We pray that Tropical Storm Matthew projected to intensify to a Category 1 hurricane will not cause too much damage/harm on its path across the island chain.

One of the talking points coming out of yesterday’s event was the reported opening of a few businesses although the country was under shutdown. The more prominent business names mentioned are Carlton and Emerald City supermarkets, outlets of Chefette restaurant and surprise surprise Moontown owned by Minister of Housing Denis Kellman.

Although Minister of Home Affairs Adriel Brathwaite who has responsibility for Department of Emergency Management (DEM) implored businesses to comply with shutdown orders from the DEM, he was weak as far as supporting the call with what the law states. Commonsense supports the view that businesses should align decisions with the DEM in the interest of public safety.   Barbados has a social partnership that is held up as a beacon of private public sector cooperation. Why on a 166 square mile island key players are unable to agree how to act in a national emergency?

Attorney-at-law Douglas Trotman posted the following to his Facebook page.

Douglas Trotman

14 hrs ·

For your information and guidance.

Essential Services in the Private Sector

Within the context of the private sector those companies/entities which provide essential emergency services to the general public in times of emergencies include:Utility companies, Supermarkets, mini-marts, shops, Pharmacies, General stores, including hardware stores and lumberyards Companies that provide public transportation Telecommunication providers

Private Sector Shutdown Procedures

On the issue of the National Shutdown Instruction, private sector entities/companies shall close their operation taking into account the following:(i) the provision of their disaster plans(ii) the security and operational procedures of the entity/company(iii) the welfare of the employees and the need for them to take their domestic precautions, especially those living in remote and flood prone areas, and(iv) the operators of public transportation will need to withdraw and secure their vehicles well before the impact. Consequently, staff not essential to the entity/company’s disaster plans should be released early, unless private arrangements can be made for transporting staff home safely.

The leadership of Barbados owes it to the citizens to clarify the matter, TODAY. During a national shutdown (national emergency) maintaining order and ensuring safety of citizens must be the priority.  What appears to be maverick decisions taken by a few business owners must be hastily explained to the pubic. There is a leadership role to be played by trade unions.

It seems we have entered a dark place in Barbados as far as leadership on the national stage is concerned.

Will the real leaders please put your hands up!

213 responses to “The Day After Bad Weather”

1. @ AC

Incredibly you made to reasonable points today so I must believe that this is Walter PPK posting here

For one of your points “…What is even more irresponsible are those business owners in Swan Street who took the liberty of throwing garbage …” I would respectfully submit the following.

Very few bajans realise that as they traverse areas of bridgetown that they are monitored by cameras.

THe Console at *** would hypothetically be used to interdict with these parties if (a) the laws of the land permitted for video testimony where such is available and (b) the Police at *** were not using the Speed Dome Controllers to zoom the cameras to the breasts and botsies of the women who traverse the streets of Bridgetown

People in Barbados always “risk a ting” mostly because Bajans like brekking the law but moreso because our Meterological Department, currently headed by Adrie Nitwit, has over the years, never provided accurate assessments of our weather and have consistently predicted passing showers when we have had floods.

2. @ Bushie

Hahahahahaha

Point taken.

3. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

@ WW&C
    What is your point…?
    …so if the police come and tell you to shut shop because the AG sent them …what do you do? engage in a gun battle…?
    steupsss…”

Yes the Bushman….I fully expect you to engage in a gun fight with the police cause ya right to open your business during a storm or hurricane to get ya employees and customers killed and injured….

…….I fully expect you to shoot at the police and tell them you are a private business and can open when you feel like and government cant tell you one shite…cause you are Haloute and Andrew Bynoe and Dennis Kellman.

Lol

4. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Someone went to work this morning and when they parked their car and got out…a pole fell on it..in Barbados….I say no more.

5. Marketing 101….in every threat there is an opportunity.
    Illness and need know no bounds.The affected are grateful to those who provide for their urgent needs
    Exposing staff of a choice between duty to an employer driven by greed as opposed to need by a client constituency is avarice and cavalier with people’s wellbeing.There are those who don’t care one way or another.I found it incredible that a cabinet member can open to business as usual but one comes to expect the unexpected by this minister.
    Virgin and BA will query the need to close GAIA so early on Tuesday.It is costly to airlines and future plans for Barbados will take into consideration the need to include airline management when making decisions to close the only airport in a tourist country.

6. Is there any reason acting Prime Minister Richard Sealy had to rubbish social media in his briefing so far?

These idiots never learn.

Instead of speaking to law which support decisions taken by the DEM he is waffling about protocol etc.

7. The difference between this lot an say Owen Arthur, Errol Barrow and Tom Adams is that they would have rebuked those who opened by name including Kellman.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

There is a Carnival Fascination or some such cruiseliner trying to outrun Hurricane Matthew right now…there are 2056 people on board or close to that number. It was supposed to return to Barbados this morning or yesterday or sometime, but it had to go to St. Kitts or run to Bahamas cause Matthew dont care about their problems.

There is a very valid reason why planes dont fly during storms and hurricanes, they have to ground themselves they are not hurricane hunter planesand FAA dont play…..boats schedules are more vulnerable……..but…they must find very safe harbor….that is their responsibility as a business to their customers and employees.

The government ministers need to take good advice……it’s free…and just do their jobs…they got time to call out social media and they are the ones put the country in downgrade hole.

It’s not social media gotta face the electorate, IMF or lenders.

They better get that straight.

9. @ David
    There is no Law to which they can speak … and these low-class wild boys are no where near the status of Barrow,Tom or Owen …to be able to ‘rebuke’ anyone….

The quality of the press conference explains why we are stuck with Froon and Stinkliar….
    these two jokers are even worse….

…and where the hell did we get the director of the DEM…?
    People who lead emergency situations NEED to come across as decisive, knowledgeable and informed…. Not like a clerk…..

We are SOOOOO dead!!!

10. @ Brother Bush Tea

It is truly a judgement call that prescribes whether an employer will (a) risk the safety of workers if something goes south or (b) keep the business open during what invariably becomes, or is followed by a state instructed bank holiday.

We have been fortunate that we have not had any injuries or deaths during these incidents so, given the odds against it, employers have been playing the lotto (and, to date, winning)

On the one side we can say that it is an expediency that drives businesses to try to get a dollar in these economically trying times.

However you dun know dat de ole man like many doth delight in the video of patrons at Moon town that show the “lack of care” of the Honourable Minister of Housing for his employees many of whom are constituents. hehehheheheh.

[[Speaking of people being given the day off, particularly schoolchildren, I do recall when a former Minister of Education closed down schools so that schoolchildren could go to Wildy and watch Edwin wuk up. I write dat in square brackets causing I din want AC and Walther to see dat remark and to use it in dem stoopid cartoon campaign]]

Speaking of Cartoons a feller tell me dat all dis bad weather ting is really a General Elections test fuh Fumbles and de DLP

Apparently de same Senator dat say dat David Thompson of the Fatted Calf Brigade “is not going dead under he watch” tell dem dat “considering dat when de election bell ring Bajans gine rinse de DLP out, he say he going get he Prayer Team to pray up a storm’

De Storm, instead of a tsunami, is to show dat he Durant got “power to rain out de Elections” coming in January.

Cause Durant suggesting, and Fumbles agreed” dat “de only way de Democratic Labour Party going win de election is if dere is a hurricane dat day, and Bajans doan turn up in the expected numbers to vote dem out”

@ Senator Reverend David Durant and the other of you that are playing with the Word of the Lord

This specific poster while it has that narrative of seeming comedy comes from my heart.

I saw it yesterday when I saw that posting that someone made of the National Hurricane Satellite post, immediately as I looked at it.

And My spirit wept David.

Look, I really do not care when the Philistines do their shyt#e Pastor, that is expected it is what they are, It is when we so called brothers and sisters indulge in their practices that I get stupid and belligerent

I am one man who lost all respect for you Pastor Durant when you made that pronouncement about David will not die under your watch, you brought the Name of GOD into disrepute.

But worse than that David is your continued servitude to these Beasts of Mammom, and your daily communion and you continue to “inhabit and break meat” with LEGION

“14 Do not be bound together with unbelievers; for what partnership have righteousness and lawlessness, or what fellowship has light with darkness?

15 Or what harmony has Christ with Belial, or what has a believer in common with an unbeliever?

16 Or what agreement has the temple of God with idols?”

You should know better Durant, you shame our GOD, & MAKER, & REDEEMER & SAVIOUR

Separate yourself from these scum cause fellers like you and Atherley and the rest of you who pretend to serve GOD, have a higher responsibility, one that does not kowtow to any man or demon…

http://imgur.com/a/Lqbrx

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/ak5Y304GO5f

Disaster is not pretty a New Jersey Hoboken train wreck this morning 100 injured 3 dead.

Anyone with relatives in NJ…call them.

12. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Was Bush Tea in that car? He seemed to have had concussion today.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Problem for the fraud Durant.., hurricane season is never in January or February of any year,.he will have to invent his own and seeing as he cannot stop death…I wish him luck.

14. @pdyr amm next time Google the definitions of “to” and two .i respect your anologies but cannot ovetlook or forgive your misplaced adjective

15. Bush Tea
    Public speaking is an art which can be taught and may be learned.I am ashamed at the number of senior public servants who exhibit a basic understanding of the need to be coherent,correct and lucid when speaking in a public forum.A few weeks ago we were exposed to 3 school principals who were all guilty of mispronouncing words on TV.They should be a remedial course in public speaking by the Training Division.In the private sector the Dale Carnegie course in Public Speaking was utilized to improve this skill for customer contact and management staff.Its all to do with confidence.Ask Pearson Bowen or Steve Blackett to help.For sure there are others who are equal to the task.

16. @ Gabriel
    It goes to the level of national professionalism and image that we NEED to portray.

When persons are considered for these national roles, there MUST be someone somewhere (in protocol?) whose job it is to work with that nominee to reach the required standard of dress, public behavior, speech, preparation and presentation.

How can we have someone like Kellman, who has been a MP for ‘ever’ …and who still comes across like an uneducated country shop keeper?
    How can someone like Glyne Murray – who has held numerous senior positions in government; represented Barbados in Canada and even done some good work in culture – now sound so unprofessional on VOB?

Some shiite is missing.

This is the kind of role that Bushie sees being done by Georgie Porgie.
    A hard, non-compromising, stickler for process and protocol – who is prepared to say to ANYONE that they need to buckle up…. and to call a spade a damn spade.

‘Quality’ and the promotion of high standards are fundamental to the proper management of any nation… and such low-quality shiite – like the karaoke sessions on ‘Q in the Community’, only serve to reinforce the idea that any junk is acceptable at the national level.

17. Every time we escape a naturally disaster, we should breathe a sigh of relief. Our infrastructure is crumbling; garbage is everywhere; water supply is in big trouble etc. Any major disaster will destroy us.

18. We note Jepter Ince is acting minister of Drainage.

#sigh

19. Bush Tea
    You are right on all counts.Dennis Johnson would fit the bill of an uncompromising professional spokesperson and teacher/demonstrator of the class.We listen to Sparrow,Gabby,Emile Straker,Tony Grazette and you hear every word they sing.That is not guess work.They were trained to communicate in song.On the other hand I find Stetson difficult to follow at times.Sometimes he is too fast and sometimes he drops his voice at crucial times in the sentence.I say to myself,Mrs Babb would understand him as he speaks as though he is in a domestic environment,not a public forum.Even when you disagree with their politics you liked to hear Errol,Tom in particular,Henry,Richie and LB Brathwaite.There was always a hush in our home whenever the Speaker called on the Honourable member for St Thomas to make his contribution.He rose,took a sip of water,composed himself and with a smirk of his face say…..Mistuh Speakuh Suh……..

20. Now we are beginning to understand how much the ZR culture has permeated ,and have festered in this society. No one cares two hoots about the authority,including the authority itself.
    We have become a selfish and an indifferent lot.

21. Gabriel September 29, 2016 at 12:54 PM #
    Public speaking is an art which can be taught and may be learned.I am ashamed at the number of senior public servants who exhibit a basic understanding of the need to be coherent,correct and lucid when speaking in a public forum.
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    And we are in the mess that we now find ourselves in, because we have elected a bunch of failures whose only real qualification , is to talk sweet on the election campaign platform.

22. LOL @ Gabriel
    You done know that Bushie likes Dennis J too. The only problem is that he is a bit too ‘nice’ for some of the idiots he would need to deal with….
    One of Bushie’s parents used to advise that sometimes, bajans only ‘get the message’ when you endorse it with a couple brass bowls…. 🙂
    Anyhow we can send those tough nuts to GP to be cracked…

Seriously though, if we want to be taken seriously, there is an urgent need for a “national headmaster of quality”. Perhaps the speaker of the house, the GG, the CJ or some eminent person who must take on that role and enforce a high level of national standards.
    The alternative will be (as we are seeing) …total chaos.

Bushie actually witnessed the PM himself walk onto a stage in front of hundreds of Bajans – WHO REMAINED SEATED, and chatting- and give an address ….before walking off as if he were just the MC who had announced that we were about to start….

Such things would NEVER happen (or be allowed to happen) in our past – or in an advanced society….no matter WHO is the PM.

23. Those whose jobs it is to impart information to the public,during an emergency, must also learn to do so , devoid of a tone of voice that could easily instill panic.

24. BT
    They do that to the PM?They treat him like an MC?Why that is one massive show of disrespect.As my Jamaican friend would say…uh doan believe….😢

25. Colonel

Most heads of department in the Public Service are technocrats and in most cases, they are not public speakers. It is not their job but many of them like to see themselves on TV and end up embarrassing themselves.

As far as I know, every ministry should be assigned a PRO from GIS. The PRO should be making public announcements but they are not utilised.

26. No wonder that Carlton Supermarket was open during storm. Mr Jordan built a new villa for millions and needs to refinance this stuff. He, he, he, he.

27. @ ResistantX,

FACT CHECK!

Did a Mr. Jordan buy Carlton Supermarket recently ?

28. Hants September 29, 2016 at 5:22 PM #

@ ResistantX,

FACT CHECK!

Did a Mr. Jordan buy Carlton Supermarket recently ?
    @@@@

Maybe you need to check Ralph Thorne Quick Crook , and his crooks friends taking up land and hiding in the back of deals,

29. “On the issue of the National Shutdown Instruction, private sector entities/companies shall close their operation taking into account the following:(i) the provision of their disaster plans(ii) the security and operational procedures of the entity/company(iii) the welfare of the employees and the need for them to take their domestic precautions, especially those living in remote and flood prone areas, and(iv) the operators of public transportation will need to withdraw and secure their vehicles well before the impact. Consequently, staff not essential to the entity/company’s disaster plans should be released early, unless private arrangements can be made for transporting staff home safely.”

Although the above states that private sector entities /companies shall close their operation ; it is my view that ” taking into account the following” gives the employers some leeway in their decision making response to the call for a shutdown which does not appear to be mandatory.
    But why single out Chefette and Emerald city and Carlton A1 and Moon Town. I saw other entities on TV long after the shutdown in operation and explaining why they were opened and the measures in place to protect staff and get them home safe and sound. Chefette closed at 6.30pm on Tuesday whereas the other fast food restaurant was lickin cork as a result of their closure. So we need to cut out the emotion.

30. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It has nothing to do with emotion… but the safety of customers and employees on a day that a hurricane or storm is active, packing winds, downing poles, downing trees, could cause landslides and tear off roofs…even off supermarkets and restaurants. ….they are not invincible and could kill and maim.

Yall are really too greedy for paper…people’s lives do not seem to matter anymore.

But time is longer than twine.

31. “It has nothing to do with emotion… but the safety of customers and employees on a day that a hurricane or storm is active, packing winds, downing poles, downing trees, could cause landslides and tear off roofs…even off supermarkets and restaurants. ….they are not invincible and could kill and maim.”

True but It appeared to me none of the above would have affected the country until according to CBC which I was following throughout the night until around two in the morning and I am sure that I heard the DEM again through CBC around five in the morning indicating that even though the 5threat had passed there will be no hourly weather bulletins but would issue information after information was received from the hurricane hunter which would be around 8am. During the morning the weather was no more threatening than usual( I have experienced worst without so much fanfare) so I suppose that some businesses took the opportunity to serve the public and make a dollar without any definite position coming out the DEM up to then. I was surprised when I received a whattsup later in the day informing me about a hurricane Matthew which I am sure was not in the equation when the shut down was ordered early Tuesday evening. So let us not be emotive; even Bushie strangely has another view.

32. so much emotionalism and anger towards the business , but in all respect the employee can refused to go to work if the conditions presented are hazardous to their well being there are labour laws as well as constitutional law that grants the employee such a right which no court will deny ,
    Some of these business were indeed standing on sandy ground and clearly out of their league showing a disconnect to constitutional law as well as labour law and disrespect for the employee by giving preference to their own interest by recklessly putting their employees in harm way when weather storm warnings were issued in respect to life ad property /the fall out could have been a disaster for a business if the employee /s was injured on the job or on the way home

33. @ Piece

We have some sort of ACs with a sort of skill but still yard-fowls,

@ Bush Tea

A Walter PPK Blackman in the sorted ACs pack now

34. Hi Watchman did you get flood out here was your opportunity to video tape this colossal deluge of water along with floating houses and dead bodies

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Charles…I do not want to sound condescending, cause you seem intelligent, but Hurricane Janet, is a very good measuring stick on how not to take any storm or hurricane for granted.

Storms and hurricanes are unpredictable.

They are dangerous.

They are deadly.

That cannot be reiterated enough, no shopping or money could be that important to risk life and limb.

Neuther CBC nor the meterologists could turn back a rampaging hurricane or storm.

Accuweather…Google it…… warn you all the time.

Doppler4000….google it……warns you even more.

Barbados has none if those high technology weather trackers or the people to read them and both those high tech readers…respect storms and hurricanes. ..enough to tell large cities to shut down schools and businesses.

36. @ Charles Skeete
    So let us not be emotive; even Bushie strangely has another view.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Boss, Bushie always tries to be logical, reasonable and lucid…. what is strange about this particular one … which happens to coincide with yours? 🙂

@ Watchman
    NAH!!
    Walter would never hide behind AC’s skirts….
    Not Blackie…

37. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs….the illiterates…I see Naked Departure giving yall old hell…lol

I know you see it too…lol

38. @ Watchman,

Glad to see you here. Hope you didn’t have to deal with flooding.

39. “but Hurricane Janet, is a very good measuring stick on how not to take any storm or hurricane for granted.”

Might be foolish but not that foolish to take storm/hurricane warnings for granted but would not be as concerned about information relating to a depression

Neuther CBC nor the meterologists could turn back a rampaging hurricane or storm nor accurately predict it either because nature has a way of ordaining its own things.

40. @AC

No flooding yet this year, my friend took Bushie advise and place some big ass rock on his side of the watercourse, we waiting now, By the way ac a flood is coming for the DLP Yard-fowls

41. Charles skeete ,, quote lets not be emotive true ,, but the idea that individuals or business can use their better judgement against nature is preposterous and even worse said judgement against those who have ( namely the met office) the task and who works hand in hand with retrieving the necessary information in regards to areas of natural disaters from reliable sources outside our region, there is absolutely no reasons for any business to have called upon their employees to give any time of the day for service under such hazardous and unpredictable conditions
    I also find it some what troubling by way of our comment to understand a business needing to make a dollar but give little or no sympathy to an employee/s having to leave their home in threatening weather related conditions to provide a service for the employer
    it is time most take a look at their moral compass

42. watchman

By the way ac a flood is coming for the DLP Yard-fowls

we take our warnings and messages seriously do not underestimate our ability Noah is one of our heroes

Btw glad that everything is well over on your side of the fence

43. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

But Charles…if the depression has not only formed, been upgraded to a storm….gathered strentgth…..and spread to nearly a 200 mile span, packing winds of 60mph…and moving at 18mph…I do believe plenty respect is due.

The only thing saved Barbados…it did not gather it’s strength before approaching the island….it hovered over the islands and gathered strength…

Grenada never gets hurricanes, because the island is more southern…couple years ago, they had 2 hurricanes in 8 months…Ivan and I think Agnes…nearly cut the island in half..their mountains saved them….

Goodluck thinking Mother Nature is always going to pass by.

44. @ Bushie

Walter PPk Blackman is wearing the skirts now,

45. “Well Well & Consequences September 29, 2016 at 8:12 PM #

But Charles…if the depression has not only formed, been upgraded to a storm….gathered strentgth…..and spread to nearly a 200 mile span, packing winds of 60mph…and moving at 18mph…I do believe plenty respect is due.”

Upgraded to a storm when? If my memory serves me correct/ shutdowns only occurred after the depression was upgraded to hurricane/storm levels.

46. Well Well & Consequences September 29, 2016 at 7:34 PM #

ACs….the illiterates…I see Naked Departure giving yall old hell…lol

I know you see it too…lol
    /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Hell No! do not like stepping into fowl sh..t and hate the smell of it too

47. Anonymouse - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – TheGazer

PPK .. he came, he saw, he disappeared.
    I miss that guy.
    Was a great contributor, until….

48. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Shitting yardfowls dont like fowlshit…ACs….lol.

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Upgraded to a storm when? If my memory serves me correct/ shutdowns only occurred after the depression was upgraded to hurricane/storm levels.””

Charles that’s the same thing I said.

When you shutdown the country after the system is upgraded to a storm..that is showing nuff respect.

When you reopen businesses while the storm is raging..that is total disrespect.

50. @ AC

Thanks AC, don’t forget Noah was not so kind to birds,he send them out first