Adriel Brathwaite, minister of Home Affairs

From early reports the bad weather that affected Barbados from about midday yesterday did not result in loss of life. We pray that Tropical Storm Matthew projected to intensify to a Category 1 hurricane will not cause too much damage/harm on its path across the island chain.

One of the talking points coming out of yesterday’s event was the reported opening of a few businesses although the country was under shutdown. The more prominent business names mentioned are Carlton and Emerald City supermarkets, outlets of Chefette restaurant and surprise surprise Moontown owned by Minister of Housing Denis Kellman.

Although Minister of Home Affairs Adriel Brathwaite who has responsibility for Department of Emergency Management (DEM) implored businesses to comply with shutdown orders from the DEM, he was weak as far as supporting the call with what the law states. Commonsense supports the view that businesses should align decisions with the DEM in the interest of public safety.   Barbados has a social partnership that is held up as a beacon of private public sector cooperation. Why on a 166 square mile island key players are unable to agree how to act in a national emergency?

Attorney-at-law Douglas Trotman posted the following to his Facebook page.

Douglas Trotman

14 hrs ·

For your information and guidance.

Essential Services in the Private Sector

Within the context of the private sector those companies/entities which provide essential emergency services to the general public in times of emergencies include:Utility companies, Supermarkets, mini-marts, shops, Pharmacies, General stores, including hardware stores and lumberyards Companies that provide public transportation Telecommunication providers

Private Sector Shutdown Procedures

On the issue of the National Shutdown Instruction, private sector entities/companies shall close their operation taking into account the following:(i) the provision of their disaster plans(ii) the security and operational procedures of the entity/company(iii) the welfare of the employees and the need for them to take their domestic precautions, especially those living in remote and flood prone areas, and(iv) the operators of public transportation will need to withdraw and secure their vehicles well before the impact. Consequently, staff not essential to the entity/company’s disaster plans should be released early, unless private arrangements can be made for transporting staff home safely.

The leadership of Barbados owes it to the citizens to clarify the matter, TODAY. During a national shutdown (national emergency) maintaining order and ensuring safety of citizens must be the priority.  What appears to be maverick decisions taken by a few business owners must be hastily explained to the pubic. There is a leadership role to be played by trade unions.

It seems we have entered a dark place in Barbados as far as leadership on the national stage is concerned.

Will the real leaders please put your hands up!

213 responses to “The Day After Bad Weather”

1. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…no yardfowls on the Ark.

2. @ Hants

The watercourse now have in big ass rock, some old white rocks that time turn black, on one side and some black rocks on the other side, we waiting to see which color, will be move by MTW

3. In days of yore, when these fields and hills were not our very own, an imminent storm or hurricane approaching Barbados, that would be seen by the Fields and Hills of Bridgetown merchant class,as an opportunity,for those who are now celebrating 50 years of independence to loot and pillage, Bridgetown and Barbados would not have been subjected to a just a vague National Shutdown,but an enforceable curfew .
    And of course ,in spite of the weather, a certain category of workers would have to be on the job , under The Better Securities Act to keep Belleville and Strathclyde in an uninterrupted supply of Gas, Water and Electricity.

4. O boy every man a law unto himself.

If any of those employees who were ordered to come out to work was injured by the storm force winds on their way back home, I bet they or their employer would be quick to call on the government to help.

Call the ambulance quick quick

Call the fire truck quick quick

Admit me to the QEH quick quick

Gimme me my disability from the National Insurance quick quick.

All tax funded services.

Because the truth is not a business man in Barbados regardless of how wealthy provides a private ambulance service or fire service or hospital services or police service for his employees.

People quick enough to disobey sensible emergency instructions, but when something really really bad happens everybody is quick to call the government quick quick.

And by the government I mean we the taxpayers

5. @”The leadership of Barbados…”

Research has noted that in an emergency those people who are wise enough to think for themselves are the ones who survive.

Sometimes we spend way too much time looking around for leaders.

The most sensible thing to do in an emergency is to THINK AND ACT IN YOUR OWN IMMEDIATE BEST INTEREST.

Do NOT waste time looking around for any leader/boss/Prime Minister/Attorney General.

I had a relative who was in the second building to be hit on 9/11. She looked up and saw what looked like fire. Said to herself “it looks like it is going to be bad here today” and immediately left her office and walked home to Brooklyn.

If she had waited to asks the boss’ permission or for official evacuation procedures, or for a leader she would be DEAD.

Instead she is ALIVE.

6. That said the government ought to see to it that the jobs of employees who refuse to come in to work in a national emergency are protected.

7. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

That what you do Simple..ignore bosses and look out for self and family.

I dont know why bajans allowing these 2 bit crooks on the island to endanger their lies when it has been shown time and again that said crooks do not and never will care for the health and wellbeing of their black employees on the island.

They are not real employers in the true sense of the word…they are money hungry parasites.

8. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

….I dont know why bajans allowing these 2 bit crooks on the island to endanger their lives……

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@ Simple, I find your September 30 at 12:56 & 12:44 AM quite interesting and a bit contradictory. On the one hand you seem to be wary of ‘O boy every man a law unto himself’ (which of course we all should be wary of), On the other hand your support your 9/11 friend taking her own decisive action to save her life.

No fight with you really but I am hopeful that you appreciate that without leadership and MORE importantly previous planning if every resident in the towers acted on his/her own and without some clear coordination then it would have been pandemonium (well it was eventually but for other reasons).

I am glad that your friend saved her life with quick and decisive thinking because that was a chaotic situation and on that day other quick and decisive thinking turned out to be tragic.

Now let me be careful with this next statement.

If you know NY or have read any of the myriad stuff since that incident then I am sure you must realize that your friend and the entire state/country dodged real pain when both planes flew into the towers. Had that second plane flown into either of the two roadways connecting your friend’s home to where she worked things would have been a lot different. The NYC economy would have been crippled far worst.

Anyhow enough of that I am simply voicing what has been said before but these things does cause certain people to get excited. The fiction writers already scribe so many different scenarios for mayhem that any idiot knows that both bridges could be effected (at least one very badly) in one plane swoop.

Then it would really have been ‘every man a law unto himself’. I dun wid that.

10. We have been assured that Cabinet will address the issue today. Don’t panic!

11. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87534/law-business

This is called a start…enforcing those laws, when implemented on minority business people regardless if it’s senator Bynoe, minister Kellman…restaurateurs Haloute, Bizzy, gas ststion owners or anyone of the other well known jackasses who worship money over life….will gain yall respect.

Implement and enforce laws to lock up ALL the minoroty crooks raping the island and disenfranching the majority black people…and yall home dry.

12. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“DESCRIBING IT AS a “very naughty issue”, Acting Prime Minister Richard Sealy said legislation may have to be drafted to prevent businesses from ignoring the directives of state agencies.” – See more at: http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87534/law-business#sthash.OecQeKW0.dpuf

Is Richard Sealy retarded “NAUGHTY” IS FOR 5 YEAR OLDS…..criminal and greedy are for big hard back old men and women who ignore national calls to preserve life and limb in a storm.

Everytime you try to give these slaves in parliament the benefit of the doubt. ..they reinforce how goddamn stupid they are.

….Implement and enforce laws to lock up ALL the minority crooks raping the island and disenfranching the majority black people…and yall home dry….that’s presuming “as*hole dont think that those business criminals seeking to rip off welfare off the taxpayers are “naughty” too.

Do the slaves in parliament really see the thieves like Cow, Bizzy, Maloney, Bjerkham, Peter Harris, Leroy Parris et al as just naughty children and not the dangerous greedy criminals they really are…are these slaves in parliament for real.

13. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

It’s quite obvious I sent the first post before digesting what the clown Sealy said.

14. “However, some businesses including Carlton & A1 supermarkets, Lemongrass restaurant and a fast food company opted to open their doors despite the directive.”

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87534/law-business#sthash.dd3HkMCX.dpuf

Why “name and shame” Carlton & A1 supermarkets and Lemongrass restaurant but not the “fast food company “?

15. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David September 30, 2016 at 6:41 AM

What issue is that, David?

The vote buying that was witnessed with an unequivocal iron-clad promise to further investigate and bring the ‘usual’ suspects to justice?

Or are you referring to a ‘rather more’ pending raging storm of an emergency in a jeroboam of Bajan rum with dwindling foreign reserves that if not redress as a matter of ‘instant’ urgency (aka “shortly” or “very soon”) with the hundreds of millions of FDI guaranteed to be there in 2 months by the Stinkliar?

If these FDI receipts are not “accrued” at year-end, using the standards concocted by the chief cooker of the monetary books Dr. Deliar, the patient called the Bajan economy inevitably must be taken to the door of the financial doctor of last resort for a long overdue dose of reality medicine starting with a downward adjustment of the peg to initially place the Bajan dollar in its real light weight division instead of pretending to be punching above its imaginary weight in true Quixotic style.

Unless this ‘foreign reserves’ issue is treated as a ‘top’ national emergency, more pressing than Lightweight St. Matthew, both the ‘bullied’ workers and the supermarket managers and owners could find themselves walking through aisles packed with ghost items marked ‘Made in Barbados”.

16. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/09/30/kellman-to-answer-to-cabinet-about-yesterdays-opening-of-his-business/

Good…but Kellman will say, they did not discipline the tiefing speaker of the house Michael Carrington for theft of an aged, disabled man’s property…so they can’t tell him anything.

This is what happens when those ministers in parliament have no integrity….lack integrity, refuse to institute integrity…to protect it’s citizens.

17. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“However, the head chef at Lemongrass Noodle Bar & Grill in the Limegrove Lifestyle Centre, Holetown, St James Sazula Weekes told Barbados TODAY Thursday afternoon that she had called out her staff because she was unaware of the national shutdown and that the mall was closed.

Weekes also said that the staff did not protest being called out to work.”

This liar Weekes at Limegrove…did not “know” there was a shutdown but called out her employees. ..why not just wait for them to turn up for work as usual…and when they dont and you call them, they will tell you there is a national shutdown because of the STORM…can’t you see the mall is closed…and you say OK.

That lying witch oirced those employees out in a storm.

18. @ The Honourable Blogmaster

Well it would appear dat dem following de ole man advice after all

Yes siree it would appear dat Alex gi de fellers de cell phone numbers and dem launch dis national campaign bout Carlton, Emerald City and Chefette

the Whatsapp message that is being circulated looks like this

“Dear Citizens of Barbados,

NOW is the time to WAKE UP and WISE UP
    NOW is the time that we start letting these so called elite people, and the Government of Barbados know that the power of the people have value and MUST BE respected.
    NOW is the time we let the PolyTHIEFcians know that they work for the people of this country, and WE demand to be heard and acknowledged.

These unfair and unjust people are taking our monies, doing as they like with it, and are not doing anything for the betterment of the country and it’s people.
    How long will they get away with paying no income tax?
    How long will they get away with taxing everything?
    How long will they get away with dishing out poor health services?
    Shabby and unhealthy schools…
    No water…but paying water bills.
    Poor bus service…and so much more too numerous to mention.

Time to boycott Carlton & A 1 and Emerald City Supermarkets. No respect for employees whatsoever. Let him feel the pinch over the weekend, or until he offers his staff a public apology.

The same thing goes for Chefette Restaurants…no respect for staff. They MUST apologize.

How dare these mordern day SLAVE DRIVERS force their staff out to work in the middle of a hurricane, after there were instructions for an islandwide shut down? Instructions for people to remain indoors. Neither of these two places were marked as essential services, so why did these bosses make their staff come out to work? Unfair, unjust, unkind and unpleasant…”

That is not the complete message but wunna gets the drift.

But there are some things to note about the item.

“COMMINGLING”

The message starts with a “rallying” against the GoB on social Issues

Then strangely enough moves into the 2 specific stores Carlton & A1 and Emerald City supermarkets and then as if an afterthought adds Chefette

No do not misunderstand de ole man cause I KNOW DAT DE WHATSAPP SERVER STRATEGY going kick ass but this commingling should be a concern since the GoB issues and the enforced work issues are TWO DIFFERENT MATTERS.

Therefore it begs the questions “who is behind the Whatsapp text?”

It seems a poorly structured campaign OR IS IT?

If Carlton and A1 and Andrew Bynoe can be seen to be the progenitors of no income tax, poor health services, unhealthy schools etc den Andrew may experience a fallout for opening his stores during the pending hurricane/storm/inclement weather

So de ole man saying wait a bit, somebody testing the tool and de strategy?

It is an amateur, insofar as they do not understand the psychology of the masses, but then again, like that article called “The Embarrassment Miracle” given the initial emotiveness and appeal to the challenges of de po’ man then it will be interesting what the outcome to Andrew is going to be.

@ Mr. Bynoe

Since we dun know that you are reading these posts from time to time, de ole man would like to interest you in something that will have some significant impact on your short medium and long term revenue streams AND NEGATE ALL THESE STRATEGIES TARGETED TO MEK YOU LOSE BUSINESS

19. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hants September 30, 2016 at 7:44 AM
    “Why “name and shame” Carlton & A1 supermarkets and Lemongrass restaurant but not the “fast food company”?

Hants, it seems your overly long sojourn in the Diaspora of the cold North has frozen (“cryogenized”) your brain and you are failing to see that the “fast food company’ in question is seen as an essential service by the under 40’s in Fast Food Land formerly called tiny Barbados.

The traditional media in Barbados (rag sheets, radio and TV) are barely surviving on the fast-food skin of their advertising dollar teeth. Who do you think pay for all the fast food ads and sponsor all the media-promoted events?

You certainly don’t expect politicians to bite the hands that will be feeding them in the upcoming elections when fast food, phones and tablets will be the currency of voting buying and bribery in the deciding battle for the ‘X” of the indifferent youth?

20. All
    Here is an update of the essential services in Bim:

Kellman’s businesses

Fast food and other restaurants

Grocery stores

Ok? Now everybody take a valium

21. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bush Tea September 30, 2016 at 7:47 AM
    “Boss … see if you can find out from ‘Miller the nuksie’ exactly why we would want to have them ‘educate’ our young people as a means of reparations …. and what results this nuksie would then expect…
    See if you can get the anunnaki to understand that what is needed is the development and refinement of a COMPLETELY NEW way of thinking, one that is COMMUNITY ORIENTED, righteous, and developmental, as opposed to the selfish, greed-driven and vindictive albino-centric thinking that has been exemplified by these ‘developed’ societies.”

Bushie, you sure to know how to cock a snoot of contradiction at your own full house of paradoxes.

How can you expect a house of brass-bowls headed by the brass-hole waste of space on the Hill excavated by Sir Hilary of Cave (your own man of change and reparations) be the agent of change in albino-centric thinking?

Have you not heard the phrase “sleeping with the enemy”? Why not like, ISIS, send your own smart intellectual soldiers for change into the heart of the enemy to learn firsthand how they think?

Do you really feel all the intellectual and political agents of change from Marcus Garvey, Marcus, Rawle Parkinson, CLR James to Eric Williams and EWB did not have to live among the albino-centric enemy to understand their thinking and strategies of social an economic oppression?

There is no way living in a barrel of crabs called Brass-bowl land of Barbados could ever free the youth of their mental shackles permanently welded by the Slave Code and Colonial religious instruction of subservience and obedience to those appointed by some god to ‘lord over’ them.

Knowledge, my friend, is POWER. And you can bet your last ‘Cooperative’ dollar knowledge does not find a friendly home among blacks in Barbados.

Just ask any black brass-bowl Bajan about their opinion on anything under the Sun and the first thing they will say is: ‘The Jewish Bible says this or the same book of lies and plagiarized myths says that’.

Intellectual Myopia is a rampant disease among academically in-bred Bajans. Just hoping you have not been so afflicted.

Living in a cocoon of ‘brass-bowlery’ must set the coordinates of your map of universal knowledge.

The antidote for ignorance is ‘Travel’ which should broaden your mind. Where is your passport, Brother B?

“Where there is no vision, the people perish”.

22. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Under any other safe circumstances I would defend both Kellman and Bynoe, but Hurricane Matthew was not any safe circumstance..

Kellman organized land for Haloute to build another Chefette to sell people fast food garbage, to further destroy the people’s health and burden the healthcare system, but according to Kellman, opening a fast food restaurant in that location will help poor people…I been researhing nd researching and still cant see how..that is possible.

…..naturally knowing the backward mentality, Kellman would be like…wuh if Chefette could open, I could open too…wuh I get that land fuh he….

….how many indians and whites did Kellman and Haloute call out to work in the storm..how many whites and indians did Bynoe call out to work in the storm.

They all deserve the exposure they are getting, they all asked to be exposed.

Everything all of them do is destructive to the people…because they all worship a money god and put that before the safety, welfare and wellbeing of black people on the island.

23. @Simple Simon
    I had a relative who was in the second building to be hit on 9/11. She looked up and saw what looked like fire. Said to herself “it looks like it is going to be bad here today” and immediately left her office and walked home to Brooklyn
    ++++++++++
    I keep hearing about “smart Bajans’ who survived 9/11, you would think that there was whole cadre of Bajans who managed to survive my wife has a cousin who said he was in or near the building and managed to get out, I also heard about another Bajan who was the poster boy for tardiness and as he stepped out of the subway (late again) the plane hit the building and he hightailed it back home.

Perhaps others have similar stories we could compile them into a book to rival Ossie Moore.

EXACTLY…

“Have you not heard the phrase “sleeping with the enemy”? Why not like, ISIS, send your own smart intellectual soldiers for change into the heart of the enemy to learn firsthand how they think?

Do you really feel all the intellectual and political agents of change from Marcus Garvey, Marcus, Rawle Parkinson, CLR James to Eric Williams and EWB did not have to live among the albino-centric enemy to understand their thinking and strategies of social an economic oppression?

There is no way living in a barrel of crabs called Brass-bowl land of Barbados could ever free the youth of their mental shackles permanently welded by the Slave Code and Colonial religious instruction of subservience and obedience to those appointed by some god to ‘lord over’ them.

Knowledge, my friend, is POWER. And you can bet your last ‘Cooperative’ dollar knowledge does not find a friendly home among blacks in Barbados.

Just ask any black brass-bowl Bajan about their opinion on anything under the Sun and the first thing they will say is: ‘The Jewish Bible says this or the same book of lies and plagiarized myths says that’.

Intellectual Myopia is a rampant disease among academically in-bred Bajans. Just hoping you have not been so afflicted.”

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And to compound the above.

This one is for Lawson…lol

Lol….Bushman…the education would be on how to go broke after stealing land, displacing natives, kidnapping and enslaving people for centuries…boasting about wealth, riches, superiority and practicing racism for over 500 years……METICULOUSLY documenting all their brutal crimes and atrocities…..and still going broke…lol

Bushman…dont lose hope…I got a relative attended one of those prestigious Ivy Leagues….I had to pay for the damn thing though…steupss. ..but you would not believe the knock on effect..even Barbados is benefitting……she was born there, though not raised there.

……those brilliant kids know what time it is…give them the benefit..they see it even clearer than you or I do.

26. Well Well

You wrote,

“Implement and enforce laws to lock up ALL the minoroty crooks raping the island and disenfranching the majority black people…and yall home dry”

You obviously do not live in Barbados, if you intend to lock up all those crooks, the first thing to do is to build capacity. Barbados simply does not have the space to accommodate them all.

27. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Here is another one for Ossie Moore’s book.

I was on Rector Street down the block from both towers in a building with more than 17 floors, when the second building blew it shook the building and we ran down 17 flights of stairs…I was in high heels…got down to the first floor and could not see anything….cops and building security told us stay put…haha. ..not with the building still trembling…and some of us hightailed it up to New York University..at least we could see around us….and get face masks for the dust.

Buses were packed could not get on, trains were not running…I walked 90 blocks in high heels to pick up my daughter on 52nd street at school before heading outta Manhattan..the stores were giving out shies on the street but I was too anxious to stop.

.. An older daughter who worked at a bank in the building next to the tower walked out of the bank where she worked and saw people jumping out of both towers, she hightailed it across a bridge that they had barricaded…jumped the barricades and went to pick up her son at kindergarten. She later learned that the bank got damaged and some people were hurt, some got killed.

Ya look out for yourself and family FIRST..fck the employers.

Add that to Ossies book.

The 2003 blackout is another story.

28. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Caswelll…..but they built a brand new prison, using the US model and taxpayers will be paying for it for anither 25? Years…through a BOLT agreement…Mia made with some American crooks.

They can put 5 crooks to a cell…all the crooks together, keep each other’s dirty company…lol

29. Heard Keith Goddard,a communications specialist,speaking on radio yesterday that “so and so will reopen at 7.00am this morning and such and such will reopen at 8.00am this morning”and on and on to simply confirm his lack of training in his area of ‘expertise’.Read the garbage of one who calls himself a priest of the Anglican Church will serve to confirm how that once mighty institution of scholarship,nay,of sceptre and crown,has fallen and buried with the poor crooked scythe and spade.
    Btw,have we heard the pleas of mediators Frank DaSilva and Errington Massiah on behalf of the water starved and suffering folk of their adopted parish of St Joseph…?

30. Five crooks in a cell? You still don’t appreciate the level of dishonesty that exists in this country. Even with five in a cell, my question would now be; where would you put the excess?

31. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Lol…ask the US nicely to accomodate those crooks in one of their “black sites”…a hole in the ground in Eastern or Western Europe.

Caswell….one way or the other ya gi6tta get rid of them…life on the island cannot continue as is…it just can’t.

32. @Sargeant September 30, 2016 at 8:59 AM “Here is an update of the essential services in Bim…Kellman’s businesses…Fast food and other restaurants…Grocery stores…Ok? Now everybody take a valium”

Can’t buy our valium, because the pharmacies (truly essential services) actually closed during Tropical Storm Matthew

33. @Well Well & Consequences September 30, 2016 at 10:42 AM “Lol…ask the US nicely to accomodate those crooks in one of their “black sites”

You sure you don’t mean a white site?

34. Spare a thought for Jamaica,Cuba and the Bahamas.

“Matthew is a now category 3 hurricane “

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://ow.ly/GwN5304JiqN

When you help yourself…you get the world’s supoort.

36. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

New York Daily News

KING: Here is how we will boycott injustice and police brutality
    Shaun King

NEW YORK DAILY NEWS Friday, September 30, 2016, 11:16 AM

Tweet

email

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. championed the Montgomery Bus Boycott of 1995-96. (GENE HERRICK/AP)
    Last Thursday, I wrote a column on the need for us to add a serious, creative, long-term, nationwide economic boycott to our strategy on how to combat police brutality, racial violence and systemic injustice in America.

Sustained protests have built worldwide awareness and discussion around the problem, but we must pivot from awareness to change. Our protests must continue, but it appears that policymakers around the country are fully willing to endure and absorb our protests and pleas without actually reforming the problems plaguing our communities.

San Antonio Spurs coach Gregg Popovich was asked about police brutality and the protests being staged by athletes all across the country.

“I absolutely understand why they’re doing what they’re doing, and I respect their courage for what they’ve done,” he said.

“The question is whether it will do any good or not, because it seems that change really seems to happen through political pressure — whether it was Dr. King getting large groups of people together boycotting buses, or what’s happening in Carolina with the NBA and other organizations pulling events.”

I agree with Pop. The man only knows how to keep it real. The protests build awareness, be they on the football field, the basketball court, the soccer pitch, or in the streets — but they don’t build the political and economic pressure required to force the hand of politicians to bring about the change. We need to force their hand.

That’s why I just introduced InjusticeBoycott.com.

On this Dec. 5, the anniversary of when Dr. King and others began the 381-day Montgomery Bus Boycott in 1955, we are launching our own Montgomery Bus Boycott to show every city, state, institution and corporation in this country that meaningful, reasonable, achievable reforms on police brutality and injustice are not our long-term dreams. They are our immediate emergency

Visit InjusticeBoycott.com for more information.
    (WWW.INJUSTICEBOYCOTT.COM)

It is going to take the same type of determination and organization that we saw with the Montgomery Bus Boycott over 60 years ago for us to succeed. We’ve done it before. We can do it again. We will do it again.

In just a few days, 79,089 people from all 50 states and countries all around the world have joined us.

By now, you’ve probably signed many petitions the past few years. This is not a petition.

This is you making a pledge that you will boycott cities, states, businesses, and institutions which are either willfully indifferent to police brutality and racial injustice or are deliberately destructive partners with it.

MOST POPULAR
    Isaiah Washington calls on African-Americans to boycott work

The boycott, sparked by the bravery of Rosa Parks, lasted over a year — and was, ultimately, a success. (HORACE CORT/AP)
    To be clear, to be willfully indifferent is to be deliberately destructive — so our boycott will treat indifference and outright contempt as one in the same.

In Dr. King’s Letter from a Birmingham Jail, he echoed as much and said that it was not the overt bigotry that was breaking his heart, but the painful silence from those who were passively complicit.

“History will have to record that the greatest tragedy of this period of social transition was not the strident clamor of bad people, but the appalling silence of the good people,” he wrote.

And so it is today. Passively complying with slavery, genocide or widespread injustice is actually a form of support. We’ve crossed a line in this country right now where this must no longer be tolerated on our watch.”

37. @Miller

You will not read about it in the traditional media but do we have to wait to buy foreign currency nowadays?

38. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“You sure you don’t mean a white site?”

I could be wrong, but that is what I hear the US contractors call it, I dont know why they insist on referring to what they do as black….I swear.

39. Anonymouse - The Gazer Avatar
    Anonymouse – The Gazer

black hat
    black funding
    black ops
    and the list goes on
    usually some kind of covert operation
    don’t forget the old list
    blackmail
    black sheep ….

40. @ David

I don’t know what is going on but I understand that you can get all the FX you want at FCIB but you have to wait at Scotia. I suspect that Scotia wants to buy as little as possible from the Central Bank.

41. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Yeah Anon…

But all their LIES are white..lol

42. millertheanunnaki September 30, 2016 at 9:15 AM #

…………………………………………………………………………………………..

If this is realy so,it is a sad reflection on what we have become today……..in days of yore prior to the net we used discuss and debate many topics always with the knowledge to be skeptical of western sources when doing our extensive research.

43. @ Well Well & Consequences

THis be the ole man styling….

“…This is not a petition.

“This is you making a pledge that you will boycott cities, states, businesses, and institutions which are either willfully indifferent to police brutality and racial injustice or are deliberately destructive partners with it…”

This is precisely what I have been saying and a few others have been saying for years (months here on BU)

For this to work effectively “we cannot tarnish our own, with their own so it will require ***”

The only way to make the white man and more specifically the racist, though some will argue they are both the same but we know different, is by hitting them in their pockets.

This requires actions that are based on science.

In another post here John incredulously spoke of his amazement that blacks owned decent looking houses and wanted to know if there was a way to find out what blacks owned as “sharecroppers” in his Barbados!!

This is the same task that I mentioned that David Come Sing a Song should have by now, 17 years past his long chants, be in possession of.

But whereas John only wants to know to catalogue us uppity niggers? david should have that information as part of the leverage to be applied against the oligarchy.

We must scientifically disrupt their economic hold, all else is waste foopism!!!

44. I hope the focus is on emergency repairs to houses that were damaged.

The next storm can be 7 days away during Hurricane season.

45. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

You got it……Piece.

Let’s hope Commissiong is reading this, every little strategy helps.

46. @Old Baje

What about RBC?

Guess it depends how short some financial institutions are prepared to run their forex business.

47. @ Well Well @ Consequences

It shines through the optimism that you would have instilled in your kids.

Even in that comment at 3.08 pm I see that you are locked on to hope.

I tend to think of this as being a game of draughts that not all of us are Suki Kings and will be beaten in 3 moves.

In 17 years David C going still be that begin point as he is today and as he was 17 years ago.

The fact is that we as a people are good at winning skirmishes but we loose the battle every single time.

Obama was a skirmish, MLK was a skirmish but the actuality of the murders with impunity of our black brethren and rape and now killing of our sisters confirms that we still do not know how to win wars.

Anyways I going and do a few posters and see what i can do with Artaxerxes’ words of wisdom

48. @ Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right ,

90 % of the Barbados population is black. Why have we stopped progressing.

12 % of the USA population is black.

That is why “Obama was a skirmish, MLK was a skirmish “

49. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Because they listening to jackasses like Cow, Bizzy, the nobodies who believe “they pass for white” and the slaves in parliament telling them differently….none ifvthat backwsrd mentality gets anyone anywhere.

They will go nowhere unless the acknowledge and embrace thrir blackness, be comfortable in their black skins and wellcome theor consciousness.

Why ya think that parasite Bizzy and hs ilk don’t want Barbados to be acknowledged as a black nation, people would begin to know who they are…theyhe cant make money off that…he makes money when Black people remain stupid and backward. .he and his parasitic ilk can use the slaves in parliament and take that to the bank.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/87548/jamaica-disaster-committees-activated-ahead-hurricane-matthew

I bet Jamaica will put out their police and defence forces to mantrol the streets.

What is the defense force used for in Barbados. …put them on standby next hurricane season to monitir and patrol the island…..so people dont do so much dangerous crap and businesses keep their doors closed until ya get laws in place to enforce and arrest. …..next time.

So many people are asking what the hell is going on, seems like no one is governing the island and there is no integrity or ethics.

50. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Because they listening to jackasses like Cow, Bizzy, the nobodies who believe “they pass for white” and the slaves in parliament telling them differently….none of that backwsrd mentality gets anyone anywhere.

They will go nowhere unless they acknowledge and embrace their blackness, be comfortable in their black skins and welcome their black consciousness…the earth would then be kinder to them….that can never happen if ya living in someone else’s fantasy of pretend whiteness.

Forgot to edit.