Attorney General and Home Affairs Minister Adriel Brathwaite

BU has expressed concern regarding a type of crime on the rise in Barbados. The heinous act which occurred last year at Campus Trendz and caused the death of six Barbadian women is one example. There is a resignation by BU that Commissioner Darwin Dottin, in response to concerned Barbadians, is programmed to deliver a PR response which is always built on the message that our crime rate compares favourably to other countries in the Caribbean.

In recent weeks, to coincide with the busy Yuletide season, several crimes which involved the use of firearms were reported and a few deaths resulted. It should be obvious to even the less discerning Barbadian that the crime situation has reached the tipping point. The ‘conspiracy’ by traditional media and other key agencies in civil society to keep the wool over the eyes of Barbadians regarding the crime situation has become a losing strategy.

In response to those who are turned off by negative news, be warned that BU focuses on issues ‘underground’ which are usually avoided by the establishment. For example, a recent shooting incident in Silver Hill is known underground to be connected to warring parties between Christ Church and St. George districts. What we are witnessing in Barbados is the settling of disagreements between parties with the gun being used as the arbiter. At the root of rising violent crime in Barbados is a serious ‘rip’ which has appeared in the fabric of our social DNA. Commissioner Dottin can strategize all he wants, it will not arrest the systemic problem impacting rising crime in Barbados. His practice of pulling wool over the eyes of Barbadians has come home to roost.

It maybe a doom and gloom story but BU will continue to call it as we see it. We have become an island spinning out of control. Needless to say a country heavily dependent on tourism will need to urgently treat to the rising crime situation if we are serious about maintaining stability on the rock. The comfort we have taken over the years that Barbados crime statistics are below regional countries like Jamaica, T&T, St. Lucia, Guyana is BS! Our passive approach to picking the weeds from our lawns has resulted in an overrun of devil grass!

BU reissues our call for the resignation of Commissioner Darwin Dottin. Under his command we have witnessed the unacceptable fracture in his relationship with Deputy Commission Bertie Hinds. It would be a foolish person to  suggest the ensuing tension caused in the rank of the high command has not been a distraction to the police force. We need a new dispensation if we are to fightback against the scourge of crime in Barbados. The jettisoning of Dottin would be a step in the right direction.

Attorney General and Home Affairs Minister Adriel Brathwaite must act now!

1. I. R. Nottobright Avatar
    I. R. Nottobright

Attorney General and Home Affairs Minister Adriel Brathwaite must act now!
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How long can you hold your breath?

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/ag-to-step-in/

“I do not believe that I’ve heard or seen any evidence over the last couple of months . . . that would suggest that there has been a depreciation in the quality of policing and the responsiveness to the events; or that we were going in the direction where Barbadians seem more apt to call sources other than the police force,” said Brathwaite.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

“We need to support them, if we don’t . . . the hotbed areas which I daresay the police are working to address would in fact escalate. But we ourselves have to send the right signal, and I say to you tonight that my signal is that I have confidence in our police force,” said Brathwaite.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Re: Gun Culture.
    If you smoke high grade and listen to gun lyrics long enough, eventually even Mother Theresa would bust one in a boy face if he violate.

The thing is we seldom if ever, hear about police seizing guns, yet it is common knowledge that guns are prevalent on blocks around the country. Another thing that puzzles is where do they get the ammunition.

2. With the rift between Dottin and Hinds still in focus, the BPF has lost much of it’s credibility. Coupled with that is the suggestion that two junior officers be promoted above other more senior officers to the posts of Commissioner and Deputy has further lower the morale of an already troubled police force. This is a recipe for disaster for any country and if we follow the trend, Barbados isnext in line for an escalation in crime and gun activity. We need a strong judicial system where not only a powerful police force but a strict punishment for criminals when convicted. I have been reading of criminals being fined $ 250.00 for serious offences, this is not good enough.

3. The Attorney General has to be perceived publicly as being loyal to his troops. His public mouthings must be taken in this light. It is no different to when late PM Thompson, Central Bank Governor and others told Barbadians not to panic. Their role as public figures is first to allay fears but the public must be able to make a reasonable assumption that they are also working assiduously to fix the problems.

4. David
    You’re making some brave assumptions. I hope you and the Attorney General will not make an ASS of U and ME and many other bajans.

5. @The Scout

The time for ‘purty’ talk by politicians and other stakeholders to stop has come. Let us not forget the flowery articles and words from traditional media. We are at the tipping point and patriotic Bajans will have to accept the challenge to fight to win back our country.

6. David, do you know what a tipping point is or do you just like the phrase? Barbados at tipping point of what? One does not identify a tipping point until after the occurence of the thing.

7. Must say David Ellis is having a good callin show today. The reality that crime is being covered up is a fact, Ellis gave an example.

Here is a fact; there is the practice in the Pine Housing Area where the bad boys are not only shooting up the block but they are entering homes TV style in the area. Here is the catch, the police most times have not been responding.

8. I. R. Nottobright Avatar
    I. R. Nottobright

Too many people appear clueless about reports, when the police do respond, so after so many times it becomes a waste of resources and gets kind of tiresome. In certain districts the police will only turn up if someone dies. Unfortunately that is the way it is.

Pine Housing Area? Tell them to say Pine Gardens the next time they call the police.

9. @I. R. Nottobright,

You are certainly shining.

Hope Bim doesn’t become like Toronto.
    Black on Black crime is not perceived as a “problem” until a white person is accidentally shot.

10. Lawlessness, Corruption, Intimidation etc all goes hand in hand.
    The problem will never be solved because the ones who are to protect and serve are the very ones who creates the ways and means for the crimes.
    Why do the Police not respond…and be shot with their own guns?
    Drug raid…..100 lbs seized, 20 lbs make it to evidence…who then are the ones creating the scarcity which leads to crime as others fight to be top supplier?
    Sounds like a movie script eh?…..just everyday life in some places.
    Someone asks, were do they get the guns and ammunition?
    Look at the ‘type’ of guns used today by criminals…AK47s, Glocks, .357s, .45, .38s, 9mm berrettas, 12 gauge shotguns and I actually saw a Sig 9mm with my own two eyes.
    You can even rent one for a week.
    The powers that be know full well
    where they are coming from but CAN’T touch these people!
    No small man lands containers of cannabis, guns or cocaine, it is not the Pine that needs to be raided but the Police must look as though they are doing something. All that they are doing is fueling the fire in Barbados with their hypocrisy!
    There, that is my rant for the day!!

11. Charles S.Cadogan Sr Avatar
    Charles S.Cadogan Sr

This crime situation in Barbados isn’t nothing to be taken lightly. Many sit back and refuse to say anything that could be of help in finding the person, or persons who are terrorizing the different communities in Barbados. The funny thing about it is that GOD forbid that if something should happy to any one of those you chose to remain silent family members… then it will become a different story; Barbados is too small for all this crime. STOP following these other countries that take killing as a way of life; Barbadians are a much more LOVING set of people. A gun resolves no problem. It just creates a new one that the life you have taken, can never be replaced; I feel that the Barbados Police Force is scared to even try due to the fact guns are involved; Whee are the guns coming from, and how is it that easy to keep a supply of ammunition? If the trend continues, Barbados is going to become a GHOST ISLAND. Your cash source tourism is going to dry up very quickly. No tourist, no money, no jobs and things will become worse; This has to be a collective effort by all Barbadians if this problem can ever get close to being resolved. Many high ranking people in Barbados seem only interested in a pay check. But take their jobs lightly; As a Barbadian I will continue to hope and pray that this situation be resolved like yesterday; GOD BLESS and things that you didn’t do last year 2010, do not allow them to continue in 2011 if you want change; Start from the top to make changes. DEMAND more from your public servants. STOP allowing them to just talk without any action that makes a difference;

12. The level of crime in this country must be addressed and quickly. We have seen an escalation of crime and a ‘type’ of crime that we are unfamiliar with, while the commissioner ‘comforts’ the Barbadian people with the information that crime is lower here than the other Caribbean countries.

We are not asking for a comparison with the other countries, when we complain about the level of crime in the country, we are saying that it is not something we are accustom to, and want to see something done about it.

The attitude that prevails today amongst those who will commit crime is that they will only get a few years for the the deed, and so they think nothing of shooting someone or robbing. The only deterrent for crime when the perpetrator is found is hanging. The problem isn’t getting any better, it is getting worse and increase numbers on the police force or weaponry will not improve it. We must act now
    While data tells us that crime increases when economies are suffering, I firmly believe that the criminal minded will use any excuse to commit crime, whether times hard or not

13. with the easy flow of regional traffic in and out of Barbados, bajans end up being blamed for a lot of crime that occur in this country. Don’t get me wrong, yes, bajans too have escalated their criminal habits but much crime is done by non-bajans who come into this country do what they were paid to do and take the next flight out. It would take a collective effort by true bajans to take back this country and it MUST start from the TOP, with the P.M, the C.J. the ATT. Gen, politicians, judges and magistrates and those of lesser rank down to the man in the street. To acheive this we must stop being political yardfowls and call a spade a spade, tell both parties that they MUST, to protect Barbados, stop playing politics with this country or we will finish up worse than Jamaica, T&T, St. Lucia or Guyana. Mark my words

14. The time has come for politicians and key stakeholders in Barbados to feel pressured to not only articulate a vision but be judged based on its successful execution. Frankly BU and a growing segment of the population is tired hearing and reading the platitudes.

15. Just get back from Toronto. Shite man NO SNOW AT ALL AT ALL… waste ah money…

Learnt one thing though, and that is that policemen earn more money that the Prime Minister of Barbados. ONLY THE VERY BEST candidates are chosen, which is to say that it is VERY DIFFICULT to sign up and be accepted.

Now hear is the thing. We pay a handful of Lawyers to act as Judges and Magistrates a handsome sum “to keep them honest”. Why not do the same, as Canada is doing, for ordinary members of the force.

Two Jack Ass AGs, one on either side, a few years ago publicly responded to the fact that many policemen were complaining about their salaries and were leaving to work in other territories by saying that they are free to leave in pursuit of greener pastures….!

When I become Prime Minister my first act would be to rid Barbados of 200 senior public servants and put the monies saved into creating positions for far better paid and far more able Policemen. (Of course many of the posts that will be made redundant are those which are presently filled by economists and jackass lawyers…)

16. Still nothing reported in the newspapers on the brutal beating and robbery last week at the home of a prominent businessman?

17. @ BAFBFP…….

Man you should have come to NYC.
    There was 3ft in some places, shut down the whole place for a week.

I like the point you made about decent salaries for the Police.

18. Techy t’anks fah de invite… but it will be a cold day in hell before I decide to volunteer my fingerprints to the most corrupt government in the History of Humankind…! As for the full body scan ..? Nat me bro’..!

19. Random Thoughts Avatar

Would you feel a little better about it if Bonny Peppa is manning the scanner?

20. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear David:

Why are you calling for Dottin’s resignation and not for Bertie Hinds’ also?

21. @RT

Dottin is the Bossman, the buck stops with him.

22. Random Thoughts Avatar

ok

23. I want he resign because he is just another example of a Jackass Lawyer, one of the many that ’bout hey trying to mek people believe that they intelligent and able …

24. @BAFBFP

The AG must be a lawyer.

25. David when I become Prime Minister the post of AG earmarked for politicians gun be the firs’ tah get drop…. yet another excuse of a job for the Jack Ass community …!

26. BAFBP,
    Do you have something against lawyers? If you were wrongfully accused of rape, what would you do?

27. The ability to exploit my predicament in times of need whether that person is doctor or lawyer makes it all the more relevant to throw scorn at these people… Yes sir, I do not think kindly of these people. At least doctors some of them anyway, can demonstrate true talent … Jack asses on the other hand, well the term speaks for itself …

28. Surprise, surprise surprise crime stats up according to Commissioner Dottin but no need to panic assures our top cop.

29. David
    What did you expect him to say. It is only when everything exposes in the face of bajans that we will try to do something about it.

30. Didn’t I hear last year from this same Commissioner that crime was down? What and whom are we to believe.?

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Darwin Dottin reminds me of Owen Arthur, old, tired and refusing to move out of the way. He should have retired a long time ago.

But they have so much in common, was it not Owen Arthur’s Government who installed Darwin?

He was pitched fork over better qualified men and women into the Commissioner’s chair. Is he a Barbados Labour Party supporter?

Another problem with the Barbados Labour Party written all over it.

The government should just send him home.

32. I do not live in Barbados but I would like to know.

What is the social status of the majority of the criminals and their victims?

It is only a matter of time before the shootings reach the heights and terraces.
    Then the Police will be mobilised to “crush the insurgents”.

33. Hey Hants;

Please be aware that the police’s de facto responsibility is the protection of businesses …. corporate citizens. We the ordinary citizens, whether from terrace or heights or low downs, should look forward to little service protection or reassurance…!

By the way, did you know that they moonlight as security personnel in piano bars?

34. Last year the said same COP was in the Nation saying that he got nuff work for any police that got free time to spare, so if they wanted some extra change, they could earn it doing regular police work instead of hiding and moonlighting.

I doan know bout wunna, but I would rather spend my off days doing something other than de same shit I does have to deal with everyday at work.

Lef de men alone and mind yuh own bizness. You en hear de big boys in guvment say dat Bajans got to be more productive.

35. By the way, did you know that they moonlight as security personnel in piano bars?
    ——————–
    That must make for a cheerful ambience!