David Comissiong, Citizen of Barbados
David Comissiong

Does the erection of a 15 storey American-owned Hyatt Hotel in Carlisle Bay, abutting Barbadians’ beloved and world famous Browne’s Beach, constitute “development” for the nation and people of Barbados? That is a crucial question that we Barbadians need to grapple with and answer in this 50th anniversary year of our national Independence!

There are some Barbadians who believe that the best way to “develop” Barbados is to invite foreign companies to “invest” in Barbados by either buying up and taking over existing local enterprises, or by setting up their own new business enterprises in Barbados and extracting profits therefrom- profits that they are entitled to transfer to their home countries.

It would appear that the writer of the recent Nation Newspaper editorial entitled Comissiong off target on Hyatt is one such Barbadian. He or she argues in the Editorial that “foreign direct investors” are critical to economic growth in Barbados, and that foreign investors should always be welcomed since they “provide much-needed jobs” and “generate foreign exchange”. The Editorial-writer therefore welcomes the idea of the American multi-national company setting up their towering 15 storey hotel on or near Browne’s Beach.

I, on the other hand, have advanced a very different concept of Barbadian national development! In my recent article entitled Bajans Wake Up! You Are About To Lose Browne’s Beach!, I expressed this concept as follows:-

“We (Barbadians) have been operating hotels in Barbados for over 200 years now, and we know about the hotel and tourism industry. We don’t need any foreign tutelage! Let us therefore resolve that future hotel and tourism development will, as far as possible, be based on the construction of locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that radiate the unique culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians. Thus, if there is to be any further tourism related development along Browne’s Beach, let us ensure that it is owned by and evocative of Barbadians. And let Browne’s Beach always remain a place where Barbadians feel at home!”

And so, these are the two philosophically different concepts of “national development” that we Barbadians need to think about and discuss in this 50th anniversary year.

The “development by invitation to foreign investors” model is most associated with the Caribbean territory of Puerto Rico – a country which, despite its privileged access to the American market, is suffering worse unemployment and economic crisis than Barbados or any other English-speaking Caribbean nation! Too late have the Puerto Ricans learnt that the road to dependence on foreign investors is the road to even greater national dependence, lack of self-reliance, and poverty of spirit!

The alternative to the Puerto Rican model is a nation that strives to base its development on a population that is committed to thinking for itself, doing for self, and being its own unique self — a nation in which the people are encouraged (and facilitated by their Government) to get busy and produce for themselves, rather than to depend on some “foreign investor” to come from “over in away” to set up a potentially “alienating” enterprise to employ them.

No doubt, there are circumstances in which the establishment of foreign owned business enterprises in Barbados would be welcomed: namely, when the foreign enterprise would be introducing Barbadians to desirable new and advanced technology, skills and structures of production, and at the same time would not be doing any significant damage to our cultural heritage and identity.

Let us , for example, be prepared to seek out and welcome new “clean” high technology manufacturing enterprises to Barbados: but, so far as tourism is concerned, let us resolve to refine and perfect the beating of our own uniquely Barbadian home drums!

316 responses to “What is “National Development”?”

1. Economics is referred to as The Dismal Science for good reason, they have tried to make it a science Econometrics–IT cant be for the simple reason that Economics is about Mass Human Psychology! People’s financial interactions can not be reduced to Math and Stats. Furthermore there are very diverse views on Econ–Von Mises and Hayek versus Keynes is the classic.

As I have stated before my neighbour an experienced Harvard PhD Econ and Prof at a very good Uni told be in 2007 that I should not be concerned about the US Economy, luckily I made money by Shorting US Stocks in 2008 because of my Bajan Commonsense. So I would not trust Economists, Stockbrokers, Lawyers but would encourage personal research, thinking and understanding humans and history’s lessons.

2. Freedom Crier keep pelting big rocks at these communist andcsocialist pigs who belived they have a devine right to dictate what and how others should think.
    Notice how each and everyone of them becomes irritated when a difference of view is presented
    They see Comissiong as the Saviour of barbados the same way the people of Cuba and Venezuela believed.

3. It should be obvious to anyone with an IQ north of 90 that depending on Tourism only is gross stupidity! Bim is fantastic but the competition is intense and most Tourists would not have a clue why to choose Bim. Beside Bim made the mistake of competing in the Mass Mkt with a small over populated island as I made clear in my Dissertation in 1977. Bim should have targeted the middle management and above focused on Profit per capita not volume! We want their millions of$$$$$—- not millions of people! We have to be differentiated. Low cost big islands like Cuba will CRUSH us!

We should have focused our Education system to produce more Knowledge Workers. We should be focused on what Mkt niches we can exploit with our expertise profitably and sustainably. The Plan has to be comprehensive.

4. Bushie wrote

Only an IDIOT can think that by inviting FOREIGNERS to take control of our national assets we are somehow supporting ‘national development’. One does NOT develop their family by offering family assets to high bidding strangers, but by INVESTING in the family; working with the weak ones; depending on the talented ones to pull others along; pooling resources (like co-operatives) to achieve family goals; and by having (and continually refining) a common FAMILY VISION of a successful future.

Why do we have to give foreigners control of our assets? Is our corrupt Govt that weak? Why cant we sell at very high prices to foreigners and then buy back at lower prices eg Japs bought up the US at their peak in the late1980s and had to sell low! eg Pebble Beach Golf Course the Japs paid $850mn and sold for $300mn a few years later, the $550MN difference stayed in the US!

Bim will soon have the same sport with the Trinis when they have to retrench and go home! Bushie will you and others be ready to take advantage??????

5. Bushie we agree on Economics follies. The Albino part is pure ignorance. Bushie are suggesting we learn from the new Econ Text written by Duprey, Parris and Thompson?
    I am sure you would not, I still give you a lil credit. lol

6. Bushie,
    Boss, …unless you can answer the VERY BASIC QUESTION …..of “what is the purpose of life in the FIRST place?” …then better/ richer/ more advanced/ are all meaningless terms.
    So a ‘better education’ MUST begin with the knowledge and understanding of the PURPOSE of being alive on this Earth in the first place.

Sounds great, please expand with details.

7. National Development,we have learned today ,in a story in the Nation,does not include students and graduates of the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic.

8. The question should not be whether Hyatt would provide Jobs and marketing through their vast reservation system, the question is whether the location is appropriate.
    Agreed that Impact Studies must be undertaken.

I find many on here and David C very HYPOCRITICAL because they hate anything Colonial and White BUT say they want to preserve the Heritage Status which has everything to do with Colonials and Whiteys! LAUGHABLE!!!!!!

9. ac your comments here are excellent.

10. YA Know I have never heard of a POOR LAWYER assuming that Commie Sing Song is not the Exception to this Rule, why doesn’t he, if he is against Foreign Investment in the Hotel Industry, invest some of his $$$$ in building a local hotel to help to Boost the Tourism Industry.

This would Show he is doing something Concrete instead of Excreting Volumes OF FOETID AIR.

Local Businessmen are Risking their hard earned Capital to invest in Hotels.

Mr. Commie Sing Song are you Prepared to MAN UP and DO THE SAME?

11. @ Lawrence Bauer. I totally agree with your last sentence. What has happened in Barbados during the past 7 years has thrown the Small Open Economy Model out the door. That model states that economic development and growth are totally dependent on external factors. By logic when thw US economy was in recession, there will be a recession in Barbados. Like wise when the US economy is on a rebound and growing, growth and development should occur in Barbados. That has not been the case in Barbados. It is nolonger true to assume that the economy is totally dependant on external factors. Therefore there is room in Barbados for growth and development by internal factors.
    We have to reinvent our selves. Find new niche areas both in technology, agriculture and the creation of new industries by the unemployed. We must retrain our labour force.

12. Pacha wrote,

A few people do know the perilless state of affairs but they are on the fringes. This is why we have a recession/depression since 2008 and all the measures they have tried have failed to bring us out. Caused more problems. It cannot be fixed by anything in economics books.

Japan has been in this place since 1991.

So we have negative interest rates, series of quantitative easing and so on. None of which has worked.

Soon we will reach a point where a bond crisis will present. Bushie, if and when this happens all Hell will brek loose.

Pacha, you can eliminate the IF! When the financial excrement intersects with the oscillating device we all will suffer horribly! The mistake in handling this crisis took place both before and after the crisis. Before— Bill Clinton in 1998 repealed the Laws and Regs implemented to prevent another Great Depression and within 10 yrs we repeated the same kinds of mistakes as those in the 1920s except that this time it was on Steroids! Wall St was sold free passage to greedily mash up the financial world and then Bailed out with the people’s Tax $$$$$$$. Who went to prison? Obama bailed out the Banks when he should have made sure that the Stock holders lost everything! In certain cases the Bondholders should have lost most or all too.

After the Crisis started the Economy should have been permitted to find a bottom without further Govt manipulation, artificial stimuli etc it would have been rough but by now we would have been well on the road to True Recovery not artificial nonsense and Statistical LIES!

13. @Freedom Crier

Are you even capable of attacking the issues with cogent responses or are you so steeped in the narrative of the 60s that such is impossible. Some of us would like to intelligently exchange views as to how to grow our country. Instead you come blog after blog with off the shelve bullshite? Are you so emboldened to be cheered on by ac?

#jesustakethewheel

14. Banking and Clinton Update

here’s the really scary part: Despite paying $81 billion in restitution & penalties, banks are still gambling with your money. Congress recently passed a new spending bill that allows banks to once again use your deposited money to bet on those insanely risky derivatives that caused the global financial collapse of 2008! So apparently the Clintons aren’t the only politicians in bed with the banks.

What’s more, the Wall Street Journal, New York Times and other publications have exposed the banks for conspiring with the IRS & police to confiscate customer accounts without any due process of law. So with this kind of collusion between the government & banks, is it any wonder that the government has refused to jail one single banker for their massive fraud?!

15. Can we try to address the pertinent issues raised by Comissiong about the place, very bad place, Barbados finds itself and the need to determine a development model for the future?

16. David, I stated years ago that we need a Non Partisan Conference bringing together the very best and brightest Businessmen, Pols (if we can locate them) and other key constituents.

17. The brightest and best business people will not come forward because it is held. What do you think are the requirements / prerequisites to persuade such persons to step forward. Bear in mind they have had to operate in a toxic environment up to now that has forced many to assimilate to the toxic system we have today.

18. @ David you should Hang your Head in Shame as to how you address me. I think your biggest disappointment is to see some of your audience Awakening to the things I have Shared with Boldness and Without Equivocation.

You Emboldened your leftist Cheer Leaders to Continue in their Pursuit to Discredit the Things I’ve said AS IRRELEVANT AND OUTDATED while using Profanity?

I HAVE ALREADY TOLD YOU THAT THOSE WHO REVILE AGAINST ME I WILL NOT REVILE AGAINST THE WITH VILENESS AND PROFANITY. I MAY USE STERN CORRECTION TO CONTEND AGAINST EVIL IDEOLOGIES WITH PASSION AND CONVICTION.

IF THAT IS WHAT YOU HOPE TO EVOKE IN THE MUD PITS, GO AHEAD BUT SHAME ON YOU YOUNG MAN.

A WISE MAN ONCE SAID,”PROFANITY IS OFTEN THE FIRST RESORT OF A FEEBLE MIND.”

Those who are not Blinded by the Commies and the Propaganda being pushed here KNOW without a doubt that what I have said is not outdated by the least…

I have said Repeatedly THAT THE ROOT CAUSE OF OF ALL OUR ILLS (ISSUES) IS ROOTED IN THE IDEOLOGY OF SOCIALISM.

HOW CAN YOU BE SO BLIND TO THAT FACT…

WITH ALL THE MODERN EXAMPLES I’VE SHARED, YOU ARE STILL IN DENIAL??

MAKES REASON STARE!!!

19. Thus, the Left’s guise of offering “Real Solutions” and the “Real Strategies” proposed to get us there, are all blatant lies, for they are never the end-goals of the Left.

Again, “Real Solutions” actually act to impede the Progressive-Left’s work and design. Only the governed chaos of dissension and ‘un-solutions’ propel them forward.

The Progressive Left’s true intervening objectives are always to sow continuous discord, foment confusion, erupt dissatisfaction, obfuscate morality, promote immorality, and encourage grievances between the citizenry.

This is how they scheme to move their ball forward. From such tribal and feudally incestuous backward thinking, nefariously arises a dangerously muddled disorder, which then demands unprecedented, non-constitutional, rapid intervention and intrusive action.

Thus, from the flagrantly orchestrated “emergencies” of their own sure-making, a “crisis” emerges ― like the rivers of unchecked spewed raw sewage spent from a broken pipe made irreparable by their own hands ― egregiously calling for their immediate control of the very problem they first created.

20. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“Is our corrupt Govt that weak? ”

MoneyB. ..both governments are VERY weak AND corrupt.

Barbados has VERY few bright business people. …you find MANY crooks, petty criminals and scam artists posing as leading business people….ALL parasites living off government contracts and the backs of the majority. …new life and real intelligent business people are needed, people who understand the meaning of true progress and not just how much control they have over politicians and how many contracts they can hog and not just how many businesses they hog on the island and across the Caribbean to label themselves small island magnates.

The current jokes calling themselves leading business people are 2 bit crooks, there is no progress for the people and island as long as they are around.

21. WW
    So no solutions possible?

22. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Let the ole man provide five solutions.

I shall start with Solution I

Heart of Barbados

Heart of Barbados is a modular and flexible tourism product which

(a) improves the stock of bajan Indigenous houses for the express purpose of enhancing the tourist experience while providing a different tourism product/experience

(b) integrates a booking mechanism that “matches” appropriate profiles relating to prospective visitor and the Heart of Barbados designee. We will essay to “not match paedophiles with Donna’s son etc, etc.”

(c) Monitors the subscription and electronic uptake, enrolment of HoB subscribers and facilitates intake and coordination of arrival, F&B, family sponsored/coordinated and/or national facilitated “tourism experiences”.

(d) commensurately enhances accommodation supply/types to improve housing stock and tourist experiences

(e) facilitates inbound revenue management/analysis, and, in conjunction with leading edge technology, uses this HoB offering to improve the tourism product of Barbados.

Some Outputs envisioned

1.reduced costs to tourists,
    2.non traditional employments,
    3.improved community interactions within the sector thereby leading to an enhanced ethnocultural immersion,
    4.the superlative in customer/islander experiences and
    5.Unique immersed tourism encounters

The grandson suggested this. I am only writing it up for consideration

Suffice it to say that any similarity to any concepts previously submitted to other GoB administrations and subsequent teifing and bastardization AND CUSTOMARY EFFING UP, is purely coincidental.

They did not get it to work then BECAUSE IT WAS NOT THEIR IDEA, and as life has taught de ole man, when something is not yours you bounds to ef it up.

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Solution II.

Facilitating Indigenous Industrialization Initiatives

De Ole man wish dat he was a Sir Carl Lewis or one uh dem big name fellers like Professor Ahgotwunna Avanath (with his affected Accent according to the Sage)

But i is jes at foolish ole man dat love he cuntry bad

Let we call um “The Eyes on Investment (EOI) program which comprised of a “series of actions” which (a) solicit the active involvement of the Barbadian Diaspora overseas and (b) is purpose to result in scaled achievable industrial endeavours.

This programme which will be orchestrated from (I ent got a clue causing every attempt to find a central government pillar has been met with scvunts)

EoI is an initiative, which will include, but not be limited to,

1.first transmitting a personal invitation via varied media (letter, email and phone calls) to several thousands of the most prominent and successful Bajans who are domiciled in countries throughout the world.

2.Targetting such personages will be effected through the *** (dis is annuder waste foop effort since we Minister and Ministry of Foreign Affairs only interested in galivanting all over the place 1st Class) and Barbados’ embassies/consulates are manned and womaned by useless scvunts who like hobnobbing with the rich and famous).

3.What is being proposed is a purposed outreach with critically positioned “satellites” (to coin the Late EWB’s word) people who can leverage the diverse links and relationships they have cultivated over the years.

Concommitantly there will be a need to have proper enabling environments which will exclude the effed up CAIPO website and the 1 year enablement cycle dat we currently employ joyfully.

4.Each targeted “relationship” will be catalogued and thereafter mined. Mining is defined as the detailed process of converting satellites or passive data assets to active initiatives.

How the EoI © Will Be Deployed

Once contact is made with an EoI designate, an orientation package will be forwarded to that party.

This “orientation package” will contain a few items which detail the nature of the offering and bespoke MOUs/agreements for the designee.

EoI ‘s © design will among other objectives MUST facilitate the following

(i).target and establish contact with parties in the diaspora who are critically positioned to advance our country’s interest

(ii).leverage opportunities in various disciplines/endeavours currently ignored, avoided or out-of-scope of related agencies 

(iii).augment the number of niche scaled industrialization activities (emphasis on nich HR intensive goods and services) e.g. what would be a “Rapid to Market” initiative that the local company L&N MetalWorks could be paired with, re-tooled and appropriately trained to develop our local niche???

(iv).incorporate local, regional and international development institutions whose bilateral resources compliment this effort aking to what the japanese MITI did post 1945

(v) include focused outreach activities to maximize EoI Implementation AND

(vi) incorporate various incentives to ensure EoI buy in and success – monetary rewards, in-kind awards. etc. like the shy*te certificates that the Minister of Tourism gave out under the guise of $14 M smackeroos

24. What Comissiong issues! i do not believe the greater society of barbados needs Comissiong to teach them anything. Maybe what Comissiong needs to do is to rally his forces in St.Vincent to get the socialist supports he is looking (and) need not depend on the lower tier of bajans for any support whereby he can push his communist agenda.
    Bajans are not stupid they have the ability to discern fish from fowl and most do not have an appetite to be brain washed by Castro disciples
    Everybody knows that barbados cannot rely on its people to build a barbados that would give the country the edge on financial stabily.firstly we do not have the resources and manpower to do so. Barbados is not like China with a population that is in the million and an educational force that is sufficiently equipped to be creative and innovative so much so to meet global demands in productivity
    Therefore the pipe dream being pushed by Comissiong of a nationalistic barbados with little or no foreign investment is just a pipe dream.

25. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

MoneyB. ..no solutions unless the wealth and business opportunities are distributed evenly to ALL business prople and not just a few. ..until the ministers understand it’s not about their individual bank accounts, unless the minorities understand that it’s nit about their personal greed and lust to control and own everything on the island…unless the politicians and ministers understand that they are paid a salary to serve the people as a whole and not just to take bribes and serve a minority of bribers….the island will remain in that sorry state for another 50 years.

Unless the disgust that is the judiciary is fixed….no progress can be made.

They got a lot of work to do, but they are all to lazy to break that destructive cycle. I will not hold my breath, am just happy my life and those of my relatives are not in any of their slimy hands.

26. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Solution III.

Pertinent Technology Incubators.

The Development and Deployment of a Low cost, centrally located, rapid acquisition, and transfer of pertinent Skills, hub.

Like Bauer says, MB barely skirts and the Honourable Blogmaster and Well Well clearly delineate, and de ingrunt ole man concur, we need a new model which encourages the truly bright to come to the fore.

We cyan always the talking like it, like Angelique and her lost crew.

Simple things, germane and achievable initiatives that permit us to become part of the Google/Android/IoS markets, create significant import substitutions and FOREX savers, provide sustainable agriculture and affordable nutritious food .

LET US STOP THESES SHITE GAMES.

LET US STOP COMPARING THE SIZE OF APPENDAGES BELOW OUR RESPECTIVE WAISTS

WE ALL NEED TO recognise that when our children are on the effing Jolly roger that the bullets that are fired DO NOT GIVE A BADWORD IF YOU ARE FROM MARL HOLE or GEORGE WASHINGTON HEIGHTS.

Minister Blackett’s wife’s nephew was not impervious to the RBPF bullets and none of our kids are Clark Kent and are commensurately bullet proof.

The same way that the so called Communist David Come Sing a Song can come here in this cyber Battlefield and stand up to this 15 storey madness with this counter, ALL OF US MUST STAND UP and stop playing lip service to our Jesus and Krishna and our respective deities

Yesterday was service for Chad99999 and he I am sure said a few Hail mary’s and the priest gave him the Body of Christ but wunna know what, this is the real Body of Christ that we are in.

I tired.

I coulda put 20 items heah to answer Money Brain challenge but chaaaa… it ent bout proving nothing to no body, it is about us removing all “the fluff and hot air”, the pretensions, \ and stepping up to the batting plate and showing that it can be done, for country.

Our choices HAVE TO BE in support of the citizens that are going to make a difference.

We cannot choose Fumbles’ Fools no more, we cannot endorse Mugabe, we have to choose those who will change this place lest we all fall victims to stray bullets while in Bridgetown shopping or parking our car in the Careenage Car park

27. @PUDRYR

While we are searching for new initiative we have to have a remedial plan for wont of another description. If tourism is important we need to have a common airspace in the region. We need to have an inter-island ferry. Efficient transportation is a perquisite to spur commercial opportunities in the region.

On Mon, Aug 8, 2016 at 10:14 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster.

Lest I go too far with that Ferry concept jes let me say that that is integral to an indigenous Tourism offering.

When Carifesta? or was it the Jamboree thing at Cave Hill, I forget, but when it was hosted here in the 1970’s that relied on several venues to house the visitors from the other islands and countries.

We hosted two young men for the time that they were here and what was impressed on me was the fact that we learnt a lot from those young men during those exchanges.

The Ferry, if properly provisioned and planned for, as such relates to immigration requirements, customs examinations AND intra-island insurance for vehicular traffic would cause many car rental companies to rally against the concept but would create a “craze” that would be spectacular to say the least.

Reliable, speedy and Safe intra-island ferry systems would achieve in one year what Caricom has not achieved in 15 years.

But then again that is not what certain factions wish to achieve because with integration, true integration comes pan caribbean unity and a common bond which might lead to synergies between the countries, shared resources, shared food supplies and sourcing and other collaborations that MUST BE DENIED, IN UTERO.

But a credit union led, cooperative model, funded by the people, across their coterminous borders, could lead to some interesting things relative to destroying the economic monopolies of certain groups.

THat is too good an idea that you are proposing Blogmaster.

I think that thou are indeed an undercover communist and therefore AC shall be enlisted to expose you for your aspirations.

29. @PUDRYR

The feeling is strong in the BU household that a cheap mode of regional transport and quick settlement of monetary transaction across borders will create a platform to nurture a vibrant common market. Once strong locally regionally then the experience and confidence will come to stepout.

30. Talk is cheap now stand up for revitalisation and a brand that is not closely tied to communist regimes.

31. @PUDRYR

There is the suggestion you buddy Baffy use to wax lyrically read using the foreign outposts as sales centres for product. There is merit in implementing an aggressive sales plan. There is the opportunity to strike alliances with other islands to benefit from functional cooperation. How many small fish can survive in a big pond? This is not necessary about Caricom but more about leveraging the approach of creating networks.

32. The likes of Chad9999 hurting muh head!!

33. The ferry is a good idea but must include a high priority of controlling our borders as a society we would not want the socialist and communist to take the advantage of smuggling high powered weapons undercover in the dead of night to stage a coup.
    What barbados needs is an educational system that incorporates productivity geared to global initiatives

34. AC wrote at 5:41 pm

“Everybody knows that barbados cannot rely on its people to build a barbados that would give the country the edge on financial stabily.firstly we do not have the resources and manpower to do so. Barbados is not like China with a population that is in the million and an educational force that is sufficiently equipped to be creative and innovative so much so to meet global demands in productivity
    Therefore the pipe dream being pushed by Comissiong of a nationalistic barbados with little or no foreign investment is just a pipe dream.”

Is this the ruling party’s view of Barbadians? What a total repudiation of all the hype being promoted in this 50th year of Independence.

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Thank you Honourable Blogmaster for that find looking Paling Chicken

http://imgur.com/a/rBXaB

36. Lawrence James Bauer, CFA Avatar
    Lawrence James Bauer, CFA

If Bajans don’t want all this foreign money “developing” the country, why don’t they develop their own hotels? There is certainly enough idle labor available to do the job. Why can’t local people organize and get it done? Don’t they have their own capital? I’m always wondering about this.

Can’t the local business people, and those who want to be among them, start some kind of businesses that serves the whole planet? That’s what goes on in other countries.

I don’t think the political elite — or the economists — have any idea of how to expand business in any country. They rarely have any real business experience. They usually chose their “profession” to avoid doing real work.

In general, to expand business — in any nation — what usually needs doing is removing the heavy boot of government over-regulation from the neck of the business community.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

errata fine**

38. @ Ping Pong August 8, 2016 at 7:49 PM
    Boss …. You does read AC….?
    Shiite!!! …now Bushie KNOWS that the end is near…
    What the hell would someone of your intellect be doing reading AC…?
    …and particularly letting those of us who respect you …know that you do so..??!!

It is no wonder that Bushie’s whacker get tek way….

39. Bush Tea August 8, 2016 at 8:31 PM #

@ Ping Pong August 8, 2016 at 7:49 PM

Boss …. You does read AC….?
    ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

everybody does read ac including you ole boar .

40. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Ping Pong…this is the bottom line…150 years post slavery, black politicians/ministers and their bare necked yardfowls and pimps, do not believe that the black population have the intelligence to do anything successfully and that is despite billions of dollars beong spent on education in the last 50 years post independence….ya just saw ACs the pimps say that with their useless sekves.

Black politicians/ ministers and their pimps and yardfowls still believe that only whites, indians and syrians are capable of being successful, productive business people, achieving wealth…..and that is who they believe should get taxpayer funding and allowed to accumulate great wealth to the detriment of the majority……even if they are all criminals.

Just the state of the island should tell you what the problem is, the leaders treat the people like cattle.

I understand there are UWI graduated students with 2 degrees and cannot find work, hundreds of them…unless they go work for the known parasites for minimum wage…that is what the black governments like to see.

Some I am told are dropping out of UWI as it’s now seen as a waste of time, not worth it.

41. @ AC
    Bushie reads any and every shiite… even Carl Moore’s….

Surely you understand the concept of a whacker….Bushmen don’t discriminate between nasty weeds, good grass, the flowers, or even the centipedes like you … we are trained to whack every shiite… 🙂

But Cuhdear, Ping Pong is a genuinely intelligent blogger …up there with MME, GP and Pacha… why would he associate with centipedes like you?

@ Ping Pong
    AC was not original in that shiite talk… OWEN articulate the identical jobby when he spelt out his plan to take Barbados into first world status ….BY ATTRACTING THE RICH AND WELL-TO-DO TO COME HERE WITH THEIR MONEY…. while ignoring the growing block and ZR cultures among his OWN family…. and in fact expecting minimum wage maids to compete with these imported moguls to buy a piece of the rock in US $$ and advertised in London……

The DLP has faithfully continued the trend of handing national assets over to albinos in the hope of picking up some crumbs … like the true house niggers that they all are…

But thank God for AC …who so faithfully and publicly exemplifies their ‘jackassery’ for all the world to see…
    Without her, few would believe that educated Bajans could be such lady rabbits…

42. @ Lawrence James Bauer, CFA August 8, 2016 at 7:54 PM #

A very interesting contribution, Bauer.

The reality of the situation is that many Barbadians think about “NOW” and not about their future or the future of their children and Barbados. This was demonstrated during the recent “trade war” between AmBev and Ansa Macal for controlling interest in Banks Holdings Limited.

Shareholders were encouraged by BHL’s directors, to sell their shares to the highest bidder, while being oblivious to the ramifications of such an act. The directors and shareholders were entirely myopic in their decisions, since they neglected to take three fundamental and significant important issues into consideration:

1) The sale to AmBev or Ansa would have obviously resulted in loss of jobs for Barbadians, because the parent company would streamline operations to reduce manufacturing overheads and indirect expenses.

2) The directors lacked the foresight to consider that, while BHL produces Coke and Sprite, AmBev produces the competitors Pepsi and 7-UP. This would obviously have created “conflict of interest issues” resulting in Coke cancelling its production contract with BHL and the loss of jobs for Barbadians.

3) The directors and shareholders did not share a mutual vision of BHL’s future operations if controlling interests were held by local companies and the benefits to be derived for employees, shareholders and the Barbados economy. Rather than trying to solicit local investment, it was all about making “instant money.” With resourceful and insightful leadership, BHL had the potential to become the Caribbean’s version of AmBev.

Apparently, Barbadian shareholders did not learn any lessons from the sale of Barbados Shipping & Trading.

43. @Artax

A better example is Barbados National Bank (BNB) shares sole to Republic by the lead for CSME Owen Arthur.

On Tue, Aug 9, 2016 at 2:26 AM, Barbados Underground wrote:

44. Here is a story out of Guyana worth reading,on the matter of National Development…..

http://www.stabroeknews.com/2014/features/06/08/ceo-patricia-bacchus-leaving-law-corporate-world/

45. David August 8, 2016 at 10:29 PM #

“A better example is Barbados National Bank (BNB) shares sole to Republic by the lead for CSME Owen Arthur.”

Hmmmmmmmmmm

In 1992, then finance minister, Erskine Sandiford, sold 23.1 million government commercial shares for $61.7 million and 18 million shares in Barbados External Communications Ltd to Cable & Wireless, are also “better examples.”

Yes, in 2003, the Arthur administration sold 57% of BNB’s shares worth $187M to the RBL.

However, on the other hand (and to be fair to Arthur), in 2000 when the then Barbados Government ANNOUNCED the plan to PRIVATISE the BNB, 52% of its 96 million shares were PLACED in an INITIAL PUBLIC OFFERING at a price of $5.63 and ONLY 23% of the IPO was BOUGHT by local investors.

And after promising to perform the impossible by re-purchasing BNB’s shares from RBL, Thompson subsequently sold to remaining 35% shares to the same BNB.

46. And after promising to perform the impossible by re-purchasing BNB’s shares from RBL, Thompson subsequently sold to remaining 35% shares to the same RBL.

47. @Artax

Doesn’t matter that there was little take-up by the public, OSA sold our national bank.

48. “Boss, …unless you can answer the VERY BASIC QUESTION …..of “what is the purpose of life in the FIRST place?” …then better/ richer/ more advanced/ are all meaningless terms.”

Good question Bushie one I often ponder about myself – could you please answer it?