David Comissiong, Citizen of Barbados
David Comissiong

Does the erection of a 15 storey American-owned Hyatt Hotel in Carlisle Bay, abutting Barbadians’ beloved and world famous Browne’s Beach, constitute “development” for the nation and people of Barbados? That is a crucial question that we Barbadians need to grapple with and answer in this 50th anniversary year of our national Independence!

There are some Barbadians who believe that the best way to “develop” Barbados is to invite foreign companies to “invest” in Barbados by either buying up and taking over existing local enterprises, or by setting up their own new business enterprises in Barbados and extracting profits therefrom- profits that they are entitled to transfer to their home countries.

It would appear that the writer of the recent Nation Newspaper editorial entitled Comissiong off target on Hyatt is one such Barbadian. He or she argues in the Editorial that “foreign direct investors” are critical to economic growth in Barbados, and that foreign investors should always be welcomed since they “provide much-needed jobs” and “generate foreign exchange”. The Editorial-writer therefore welcomes the idea of the American multi-national company setting up their towering 15 storey hotel on or near Browne’s Beach.

I, on the other hand, have advanced a very different concept of Barbadian national development! In my recent article entitled Bajans Wake Up! You Are About To Lose Browne’s Beach!, I expressed this concept as follows:-

“We (Barbadians) have been operating hotels in Barbados for over 200 years now, and we know about the hotel and tourism industry. We don’t need any foreign tutelage! Let us therefore resolve that future hotel and tourism development will, as far as possible, be based on the construction of locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that radiate the unique culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians. Thus, if there is to be any further tourism related development along Browne’s Beach, let us ensure that it is owned by and evocative of Barbadians. And let Browne’s Beach always remain a place where Barbadians feel at home!”

And so, these are the two philosophically different concepts of “national development” that we Barbadians need to think about and discuss in this 50th anniversary year.

The “development by invitation to foreign investors” model is most associated with the Caribbean territory of Puerto Rico – a country which, despite its privileged access to the American market, is suffering worse unemployment and economic crisis than Barbados or any other English-speaking Caribbean nation! Too late have the Puerto Ricans learnt that the road to dependence on foreign investors is the road to even greater national dependence, lack of self-reliance, and poverty of spirit!

The alternative to the Puerto Rican model is a nation that strives to base its development on a population that is committed to thinking for itself, doing for self, and being its own unique self — a nation in which the people are encouraged (and facilitated by their Government) to get busy and produce for themselves, rather than to depend on some “foreign investor” to come from “over in away” to set up a potentially “alienating” enterprise to employ them.

No doubt, there are circumstances in which the establishment of foreign owned business enterprises in Barbados would be welcomed: namely, when the foreign enterprise would be introducing Barbadians to desirable new and advanced technology, skills and structures of production, and at the same time would not be doing any significant damage to our cultural heritage and identity.

Let us , for example, be prepared to seek out and welcome new “clean” high technology manufacturing enterprises to Barbados: but, so far as tourism is concerned, let us resolve to refine and perfect the beating of our own uniquely Barbadian home drums!

316 responses to “What is “National Development”?”

1. Here are some points to consider.
    (1) David is a lawyer, not an economist.
    (2) W.A. Lewis, a Nobel laureate and the greatest economist the Caribbean has ever produced, was a forceful champion of “industrialization by invitation”, or what is sometimes called the Puerto Rican model that David dismisses as a failure.
    (3) Debates about “outward-looking” vs. “inward-looking”, import-substituting economic development strategies have raged in the academic literature for more than fifty years. The vast majority of empirical studies conducted by professional economists have come to the conclusion that outward-looking strategies that embrace foreign investment produce superior results for Third World countries like Barbados.

2. @chad99999

Because Arthur Lewis called for it what is your point? And was his call period specific?

3. David,
    Reviews the vast academic literature on economic development. Review the economic history of East Asia and compare it to Latin America, especially Argentina and 20th century Brazil.
    Look at how North America and Australasia were developed.
    Your arguments have been routed time and time again.
    In the Caribbean, the movement for a homegrown small scale tourism as an alternative to foreign-dominated tourism was led by Herbert Hiller in the 1970s and 1980s.
    It failed.

4. @chadd99999

Please point the forum to the literature you refer that deals with SIDS with economies anchored in tourism read negligible natural resources.

5. Mr. Commie Sing Song you intent is to deliberately mislead Barbadian by your Emotional Rhetoric. Have you understood that Locals own the Hyatt Project and the Franchise of the name and Management of the Hyatt is what is being used as the Brand just like a Local owns KFC in Barbados and they are paying to use the name? Other Hotels do the same thing like the Marriott’s et al.

This is the Subterfuge that Leftist Socialist ALWAYS ENGAGE IN. such as saying it is American trying to stir up Anti-American feelings.

YOU DO NOT CONTROL PEOPLES POCKETS- IS THAT WHAT YOU ARE LOOKING FOR.

AS FOR A PENTHOUSE OWNED BY A FOREIGNER …IT IS GREAT TO SELL A CONCRETE BLOCK IN THE SKY FOR NUFF MONEY AND ALL THAT MONEY INVESTED IN BARBADOS.

So as far Barbadians being Exploited, we are Benefiting from their Investment in Barbados. Had you the Vision and the Means wouldn’t you do the same?

You being a Lawyer know the language to Sway People, by your own words you are trying to Big-up yourself Purporting to care under the guise to Benefit your own self and would want to Deny any Material benefits to the Investors as well as Barbadians!

Here’s how Ludwig von Mises explained it in 1949: “A man who chooses between drinking a glass of milk and a glass of a solution of potassium cyanide does not choose between two beverages; he chooses between life and death. A society that chooses between Capitalism and Socialism does not choose between two social systems; it chooses between Social Cooperation and the Disintegration of society. Socialism is not an Alternative to Capitalism; it is an Alternative To Any System Under Which Men Can Live As Human Beings.”

Is this what you want for Bajan’s, yeah we understand from your report on your trip to Venezuela is that everything is a-okay!

https://www.facebook.com/FoxBusiness/videos/10154402775300238/

6. David,
    Virtually everything the World Bank does in the Caribbean is premised on what I have said about the the superiority of outward-looking strategies. Therefore, anyone interested in this subject should read their World Development Reports.
    On the Internet, the following user-friendly academic papers are available as pdf files.
    (1) David Dollar, “Outward-oriented Developing Countries Really Do Grow More Rapidly: Evidence from 95 LACS, 1976-1985.” Economic Development and Cultural Change. 40:3, ppm. 523-544.
    (2) Robert Barro, “Economic Growth in a Cross-section of Countries,” Quarterly J of Economics, May 1991: 407-443.

7. Lawrence James Bauer, CFA Avatar
    Lawrence James Bauer, CFA

UBER has become the largest taxi company in the whole world — and they don’t own a single car !!! Did Bajans invent this idea? Have they copied it? Have they even heard of it?

I’ve read that the Microsoft online store sells over 300,000 smartphone aps. How many of these did Bajans write?

The ideas of government officials and economists about economic growth are totally out of date.

8. There is an upscale hotel on the west coast that is well patronized by upscale guests since the 50’s.I think DC is suggesting that is the type of hotel plant we want to recommend and encourage in Barbados.This hotel was started by a businessman DV Scott and is now operated by the partners’ Bajan born family.

9. Hope this is what you were making reference to Mr. Chadd…

trade for development in latin america and the caribbean – World Bank
    web.worldbank.org/archive/website00894A/WEB/PDF/TRADE4DE.PDF
    by D de Ferranti – ‎Cited by 7 – ‎Related articles
    Latin American and Caribbean (LAC) countries launched trade policy reforms that ….. Really Do Growth More Rapidly: Evidence from 95 LDCs. 1976-1985,”Economic Development and Cultural Change, 40, p. 523-544. Dollar, D. and A. Kraay …

Economic Growth in a Cross Section of Countries – Quarterly Journal …
    qje.oxfordjournals.org/content/106/2/407.abstract
    Quarterly Journal of Economics
    by RJ Barro – ‎1991 – ‎Cited by 14659 – ‎Related articles
    Robert J. Barro … Conference on Human Capital and Economic Growth, SUNY, Buffalo, May 1989. … 1991 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College and the … Accounts-Household Surveys Debate Quarterly Journal of Economics (2016) ….. The Quarterly Journal of Economics (1991) 106 (2): 407-443. doi: 10.2307/ …

10. We should acknowledge, to help David out a bit, that there are many economists who believe that each country should strike a balance between outward-looking policies for some industries and inward-looking policies for other industries.
    Also, many economists believe that Caribbean islands like Antigua and Barbados are already too dependent on tourism. This is the “resource curse” argument, previously applied to oil-dependent economies like Trinidad, which says that over reliance on tourism (or oil) creates boom-bust economic instability, that is harmful for economic well-being. The proposed remedy is to develop agriculture and manufacturing in order to stabilize the economy through diversification.
    However, none of these ideas make a case for opposing the Hyatt project.

11. Let me Try that again…

Trade for Development in Latin
    America and the Caribbean

David de Ferranti, Daniel Lederman, Guillermo Perry, and Rodrigo Suescún

http://web.worldbank.org/archive/website00894A/WEB/PDF/TRADE4DE.PDF

Economic Growth in a Cross Section of Countries*

Robert J Barrow

http://qje.oxfordjournals.org/content/106/2/407.abstract

12. @Chad99999

Who is opposing the Hyatt?

We have a few Barbadians who have prioritized taking back and protecting what is Barbadian. BU view this as a priceless endeavour. Economists are not gods, they are mere mortals who last time we checked must be held responsible for the collapse of the global economy circa 2007/8.

13. Shades of Castro idealogies right off the lips of Comissiong ideaologies which Castro said would be the redeeming value for people and country . But in the end failed to deliver on the promises. No one would endorse a country development by way of “give away” or a free ride to foreign investment . however when one propses a way forward there must also present the underlying factors of risk which can be a positive or a negative towards the goals. The questions being can a small island afford the gruelling steps to accommodate or the luxury of thumbing its nose to an advancement of development by foreign investment
    Can we as a small nation with no offering of profitable resources for further development lay claim to an ideaology that we can further advance all by ourself all in the name of national pride.
    He use an example of Puerto Rico failures but when compared to many Socialist and commuinist countries that have failed Puerto Rico problems is just a small cut on the map of capitalism when in comparison to the failures of socialist countries like Venezuela or Cuba as further across the capitalist landscape their are many other democracies which still continue to be a beacon of hope for the hopeless

14. let Comissiong sing all he wants , his supper is all about ready to be burnt

15. Chad has been living among the albinos now for so long, that he accepts their concept of ‘national development’ without question….in spite of its obvious failures on multiple fronts.

National development is VERY SIMPLY a process of social engineering designed to ensure that ongoing generations are BETTER, MORE ADVANCED and clearly IMPROVED versions of their antecedents.
    Any attempts to resolve this process into any single dimensional factor such as economics can be immediately dismissed as idiotic. It is CLEARLY a much more complex process.

Come-and-sing-a-song is correct.
    Only an IDIOT can think that by inviting FOREIGNERS to take control of our national assets we are somehow supporting ‘national development’. One does NOT develop their family by offering family assets to high bidding strangers, but by INVESTING in the family; working with the weak ones; depending on the talented ones to pull others along; pooling resources (like co-operatives) to achieve family goals; and by having (and continually refining) a common FAMILY VISION of a successful future.

It is really a “PARRO” who are anxious to sell of family silver in order to afford their short term ‘fix’… and to hell with the future of the siblings…

National development is about passing on inheritances to future generations – not selling out to strangers….
    National development is about CONTINUOUS SOCIAL IMPROVEMENTS, not cutting back free education; dismissing hundreds of our most vulnerable; increasing levels of poverty – while passing hundreds of millions of dollars tver to strangers….
    David C-A-S-A-S is REALLY beginning to sing some mature, sensible notes yuh….

…and anyone referencing ‘World Bank research’ on national development needs to seek serious repentance with sack cloth and ashes…..

16. @ David
    Economists are not gods, they are mere mortals
    Mortals shiite!!
    They are really dunces who were not bright enough to study medicine, engineering, or even law or politics…. and for whom Sir Cave and his ilk provided an easy avenue for a ‘degree’ by which they could fulfil their ‘graduate in every household’ mandate.

‘Economics’ is based on a flawed 20th century albino-centric theory, that held true only for the relatively stable period between the end of WW2 and the late 90’s.
    As we speak, ALL ‘economists’ (whatever the hell THAT is) are obsolete and useless ….
    They are therefore, even less than mortals….
    They are irrelevant, obsolete, useless, dinosaurs.

The truth does hurt a bit….
    But then it sinks in….

17. Bush Tea,
    Development means (a) better and more education, richer skill sets and greater technological capabilities, (b) more material comforts, and (c) better health and longer lives.
    Economists use all these metrics, as do social workers, sociologists, psychologists, engineers, politicians, priests and lawyers. There is little disagreement about the meaning of development.
    Projects like the Hyatt can help Barbados improve as a society on all the dimensions listed in Paragraph 1.

18. @ Chad99999
    There is little disagreement about the meaning of development.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    There is little disagreement about what represents ‘success’ too. But neither you or anyone that you know can probably define success.
    You will also be challenged to define ‘better education’; ‘richer skill sets’; greater technologies; ‘more material comfort’; and better health and longer lives.

Better education means what? …a graduate in every household? ..all HC graduates? all engineers?
    Richer skills sets????
    Greater technologies??/ …like CAHILL?

Boss, …unless you can answer the VERY BASIC QUESTION …..of “what is the purpose of life in the FIRST place?” …then better/ richer/ more advanced/ are all meaningless terms.
    So a ‘better education’ MUST begin with the knowledge and understanding of the PURPOSE of being alive on this Earth in the first place.

You may well find that all your precious ‘world bank priorities’ are worth shit…….

19. Bush Tea

Nobody knows the purpose of life. I am a Roman Catholic and I have faith that a God exists and that my purpose in life is to achieve immortality in Heaven.
    But I cannot know this to be true. If life exists because of an accident called the Big Bang, if animals evolved over billions of years from a chemical soup, and if consciousness is just the result of the evolution of the brain, then there is no purpose in life. It is what it is. In philosophy, existentialists discuss these questions all the time.

20. WHAT I SEE MANIFESTED BY THIS HOOP-LA IS A PRIME EXAMPLE INDIVIDUALISM VERSUS COLLECTIVISM…

BY THE EXPLANATION GIVEN, SEE IF YOU RECOGNISE SIMILARITIES OF COLLECTIVISM (SOCIALISM/COMMUNISM) BY THE INTENTION OF THIS THREAD…

A Democracy is where the Majority Rule, a Republic is ruled By Law that Governs and Protects the Individual!

A Republic Represents Freedom of Conscience, The Freedom of the Soul of Each Individual, over the Mob Rule of Collectivism or a Democracy!

FOR EXAMPLE…

“America is NOT a democracy, it is a Constitutional Republic. In a democracy majority rules in all matters– the Individual is Collectivized into a Particular Group, to be used as a method for enslaving the whole… in a Republic, the Individual is Protected From The Whole in his or her Own Person, Property, Beliefs, and Choices so long as he or she does not harm, obstruct or steal from another.

In a “Democracy” the Multitude will Use Government as a means for Theft and Force. A “Democracy” uses Mob Rule In All Matters, both Public and Personal because under Democracy, Government is used as a Powerful Host For Politicians who will use their Political Position to “Bribe” Society.

Under a Republic, as was America once until the destruction began “Progressively” in 1913, the Individual was Separated from Government Authority and the Whims and Dictates of the Multitude.

In a Pure Democracy NO ONE minds their own business because Everyone has been Economically Collectivized within the Sphere of Governmental Management…while under a Constitutional Republic, each person minds his or her own business because their Own Personal Economics and Personal Affairs are Separated in Totality from Government.

In a Democracy YOU are Public Property… the Individual is Defined as Part of a Group… Owned By The Whole.

In a Republic YOU are Private Property, Owned, Operated, and Financed by Your Own Ability, Choices, Actions, and Results… You Own Yourself and Have No Need Of Public Approval or Government Granted “Rights”.

ALL Liberties depend upon Keeping The Fruits of Labor You Earned, while only being taxed for public utilities… this and ONLY this preserves the SELF-OWNERSHIP for each individual to define themselves Without Need of Societal Approval for Actions that the Individual Proscribes for their own life, liberty, and pursuit of happiness.

ONLY TOTAL Economic Freedom Empowers Absolute Personal Liberty… If you believe in Collectivism, Collectivist supports the Economic Platform for Fascism, Nazism, Socialism, and in totality Communism.

For today’s Collectivist—the Definition of Principles TERRIFIES and Threatens a Clandestine Existence.”

http://universalfreepress.com/republic-vs-democracy-video/

21. AS PERTAINING TO OUR PURPOSE IN LIFE

JOHN 17; 3 (KJV)

And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.

“The central purpose of all scripture is to fill our souls with faith in God the Father and in His Son, Jesus Christ. Faith that They exist; faith in the Father’s plan for our immortality and eternal life; faith in the Atonement and Resurrection of Jesus Christ, which animates this plan of happiness; faith to make the gospel of Jesus Christ our way of life; and faith to come to know the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom He has sent.”
    –D.Todd Christofferson, “The Blessing of Scripture.

Matthew 5:48 (KJV)

Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.

“The Lord does not expect that we do what we cannot achieve. The command to become perfect, as He is, encourages us to achieve the best of ourselves, to discover and develop the talents and attributes with which we are blessed by a loving Eternal Father, who invites us to realize our potential as children of God. He knows us; He knows of our capacities and our limitations. The invitation and challenge to become perfect, to achieve eternal life is for all mankind.”
    –Jorge F. Zeballos, “Attempting the Impossible”.

22. Vincent Haynes Avatar

Bush Tea August 8, 2016 at 12:13 AM #

Yuh shotting today……I could not agree more with your points.

The Puerto Rico example has been raised on BU before but it is worth rereading by the sheeple.

23. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

What is soooooo badddddd about the concept of ours? that it galvanizes successive black snivel servants and successive governments to do everything in their power to undermine national self determination?

What is so hateful in ourselves that we WILL NOT invest in those of us who lead the way insofar as breaking away from the failed mono industry of tourism, previously sugar cane, to new vistas?

I forget the name of the Bajan inventor who created the first magic jack phone and struggled against the vision less BIDC OF THAT DAY? for years to get it patented, he ran his business from a building in St Lawrence gap just past the ship inn. Magic jack is a household name but he is a byline.

Chad99999 I am surprised at you moreso because in knowing who you are and, more importantly, where you “began” that at this time of your life, this would be your disposition – the mediocrity of conformity with what is an “albino-centricity” that denigrates the castle of our skin.

This IS NOT about what Bajan “white” people or pretend white people have.

Neither is it about what Sand Nigger, an immigrant to our shores, has been incredulously able to acquire.

No sir.

This is what we, the black man, 95% of the population of Barbados are studiously and systematically denied.

Look, let us be absolutely frank here.

Freundel Stewart is a vision less hog who leads hogs that feed at the trough of the dead effing selfish vision less King David Thompson.

One the other effing side we have Mugabe Mottley who is equally vision less and a selfish despot in waiting.

Which of we mother effers who postulate here daily can take this effing mantle and so manage it that when our black asses pass those who follow will have more?

David Come (And) Sing a Song aka CASAS which ironically in Spanish means house possible home is in his small corner espousing “home for us niggers”

Dat be David’s communist chant or his socialist chant or whatever but, you know what, inherent to his chant about “ours” is a practical component of self empowerment THAT IS DISTURBINGLY ABSENT from Sand Nigger and Even you Chad99999.

Even I ole ingrunt man struggle with the issue of “how the ef to actualize all this fancy theory???” and deliver meat to the national development table of the tribe that is Barbados.

5% of the tribe is eating and getting fat but 95% just eeking out a month to month existence.

CASAS DOIND SOMETHING BUT THE REST OF US…WELL WE BECOMING MUCH BETTER BLOGGERS while these BDLP waste foops destroy our lives be we sand niggers, niggers or Bajan hunkies, all uh we getting effed

24. @chad99999

Your studies are very (very) dated.

25. David,
    Your reaction is typical of the millenials. Anything older than five years must be out of date.
    The truths of economics do not change every decade. If they did, we would be in trouble because the purpose of science is to produce knowledge that lasts. I hope you know that Einstein died a long time ago. His papers are still good. Your own ideas, which sound like dependency theory, were largely discredited 30 years ago.

26. What is reflected in those reports you describe as science? Do you accept the state of the world in the 80s was one where there was greater capacity in global economies to grow? Do you accept this was before the age of so called globalization? Do you also factor that there was unbridled flow of capital from North to South? There is more….

27. @ Bushie

You are right on ALL counts, maybe with one exception.

Centrally, we have long established that all the political-economy models have failed or very advanced towards failure.

That is why when Walter Blackman comes back talking the same failed shiite as the GoCB, the PM and the idiots at Cave Hill we were forced to denounce him as a modern day idiot.

As you would know we are not at your BBE kernel of beginning and end, as yet. But at the same time, we would not want a man like you to have some mega church somewhere with satellite TV broadcast because too many souls would be in danger of being saved. LOL

Seriously, our views converge on all other points. You have found that difficult to comprehend how this writer could understands these things and yet neglect the ‘obvious’ beginning and still talk about a nearly similar end point.

Well, we have’t moved much.

We should remember that 99.999% of ‘economists’ are still holding fast to the outdated Keynesian cum neo-liberal political-economy model.

They big problem is that they cannot understand, and maybe never will, how financial markets, finacialization, impacts real economy.

Sometimes if you recognize you have a problem and could understand the problem a solution might present. But the establishment, especially the academic establishment, do not want to recognize that a problem exist.

For if they do everything you see as political-economy architecture will have to be dismantled. But in avoiding dismantlement, your BBE endpoint is hastened.

In essence, they are constructing the very Hell of which you sometimes speak.

A few people do know the perilless state of affairs but they are on the fringes. This is why we have a recession/depression since 2008 and all the measures they have tried have failed to bring us out. Caused more problems. It cannot be fixed by anything in economics books.

Japan has been in this place since 1991.

So we have negative interest rates, series of quantitative easing and so on. None of which has worked.

Soon we will reach a point where a bond crisis will present. Bushie, if and when this happens all Hell will brek loose.

So we are left with the people who should know better either withholding the truth or willfully leading us to perdition.

28. They will soon start, in the USA after the election, to raise interest rates to avert the bond crisis but a whole set of other problems, deepening the economic crisis, will be the spin offs.

29. David

We have to stop talking about economic growth

The notion of endless economic growth leads to perdition

Redistribution maybe a better central principle

30. @Pacha

Where does on start with that conversation?

Here is chad99999 spouting his theory and up to 2009 the best economists in the world were perplexed about how behavioral economics was an important variable in the global meltdown equation.

31. @ Chad99999
    You disappoint Bushie.
    The Bushman was FULLY expecting a definition of ‘success’ from you in response (and had all the moves in place for a quick checkmate 🙂 ), instead, you have retreated behind the Pope and suggested that you – a fellow with strong opinions on every shiite from women to cricket – have NO OPINION on the origin of LIFE itself ….or on its fundamental purpose….

You think Bushie just born…?

A much more likely scenario is that you, having researched the concept of ‘success’, ….realised that it is really a lotta albino-centric shiite theories – worthy of an AC-level intellect – and you then decided to concede the argument and invoke your holiness as a cover story.

Let us reason together. You are MUCH too intelligent a blogger to not understand the basic and fundamental need to grasp the GROUND RULES of life before even attempting to play the game….

Bushie has the time if you have the energy….

@ Pacha
    “…we would not want a man like you to have some mega church somewhere with satellite TV broadcast because too many souls would be in danger of being saved…”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    LOL … ha ha ha
    One would think so… BUT THAT IS NOT THE CASE…..
    In fact, Bushie’s ass would probably be crucified well before the second broadcast…
    Most brass bowls live in blissful ignorance – and would kill to keep it so…
    What you are missing, is how lucky and BLESSED you are – to be able to understand the concepts and issues that you so clearly do… Bushie is humbled by your perception – if indeed it comes naturally. In Bushie’s case, it is all revealed by his adopted family…. not a shiite to do with natural talent or brain-power….LOL

32. @ David
    Where did all the old snake oil salesmen go….?
    They are all now certified economists.

33. Again, Bushie I have nothing to add to your submissions. Nothing I say will be an improvement.

It always amazes me that people should speak about economists as though they weren’t around for the last disaster.

34. Mr. Commissiong may not be an economist but his thinking is more enlightened than any economist I know. He understands that our poverty of spirit is what holds us back. He understands that a few hundred low level spirit-crushing jobs under another set of massas with nothing but their own bank balances as their motivation cannot develop Barbados.

We keep dancing to their tune when we should be marching to the beat of our own drum. We need a cleansing of the mind.

Somebody claims that we need this project to clean up Bay Street. My Lord! All it would take to clean up Bay Street is a demolition crew! You mean we can’t even accomplish that?

35. David Comissiong Avatar
    David Comissiong

In answer to Chad99999:–

“Sir Arthur Lewis wanted the Caribbean to develop manufacturing industries, and theorized that for a society to be able to develop and sustain INDUSTRY it had to be able to save and invest at least 12 per cent of its national income. But since Lewis felt that the Caribbean societies OF HIS ERA were incapable of saving and investing 12 per cent of their national income, he advocated the importation of a foreign capitalist class of INDUSTRIALISTS — a policy that came to be known as “industrialization by invitation.”

Undoubtedly, Lewis went badly off-track with this latter proposal. A region like the Caribbean that has had such a horrific record of colonialism and foreign domination cannot have as its fundamental developmental strategy the importation of foreign (predominantly white) capitalists. Rather, the Caribbean must have its own programme of indigenous INDUSTRIAL development to which it can, selectively, add elements of foreign-owned productive capacity that will complement and not detract from the indigenous Caribbean industrial structure. And I would suggest that the foreign industrialists that we might wish to attract would be companies that are engaging in high technology industrial production.”

Extract from “AN URGENT CALL TO THE CARIBBEAN” by David Comissiong

36. @ Donna
    Somebody claims that we need this project to clean up Bay Street. My Lord! All it would take to clean up Bay Street is a demolition crew! You mean we can’t even accomplish that?
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    NO WE CANNOT!
    A white man would need to come and charge us hundreds of millions; be knighted; and put on all the Boards of the country, before we can to do that (OBVIOUS) task…

Did we not have HUNDREDS of NCC workers keeping the ABC highway nasty for YEARS… only now to have a white man with about ten (of the same) workers keeping it permanently clean…? (and probably being paid MORE than all those original workers)
    But Neblett gets a new car ..and the minister’s mother is a millionaire….
    This is a country of square pegs in wrong holes …where results DO NOT matter.

You keep on reinforcing the now OBVIOUS fact that you were NOT born in Barbados …and hence not infected with the brass bowl bug…

37. Mr. Comissiong,

Please keep engaging! You have a knack of communicating very clearly. But there are many whom you are not reaching because they see you as detached from them. You need to reach them and pull them out of the box which confines them.

38. @ David Comissiong

Thanks much for this intervention.

You know there are some who wrongly believe that we should, today, continue to follow the teaches of Lewis and the likes.

We will contend that nothing Lewis knew, was taught, could help in present circumstances.

Collective intelligence is always better than any one man’s brain.

39. @Bush Tea

Was wondering the very same.

40. Really do not care how smart intelligent or enlightened Comissiong . His ideaologies are principled to communism and there is where i draw the line.
    No need for me to get all caught up in a Castro theme euphoria because an individual can sway or present certain issues that can attract or draw people of likened mind.
    I have seen the aftermath of a Comissiong revealed in politicians who become benevolent dictators.

41. Is this lady rabbit AC for real…?

42. In the Caribbean, the countries that tried inward-looking economic development strategies — Guyana under Burnham, Jamaica
    under Michael Manley — quickly melted down.
    The countries that were open and outward-looking , like Antigua, St. Lucia and Barbados, performed better.

43. Pachamama August 8, 2016 at 7:16 AM #

“David
    We have to stop talking about economic growth
    The notion of endless economic growth leads to perdition

Redistribution maybe a better central principle.”

@DAVID, I AM REAL SORRY TO SEE BU BEING USED THIS WAY TO PROMOTE THE SOCIALIST AGENDA …

According To This Socialist/Communist Duck… Whose Desire it is to Shut Down the Conversation of Economic Growth through Individualism While Spouting the Alternative Collectivism?

HE Prefers to Support the Economic Platform for Fascism, Nazism, Socialism, and in totality Communism…

HE believes in Legalized Theft…and Legalized Slavery…under so-called “Equality”.

Warning from an OLD SOUL>>> Be Very Careful of those Voices you Entertain!!

44. @chad99999

The three island’s you have mentioned their economies are in dodo.

45. Pachamama August 8, 2016 at 8:39 AM #
    @ David Comissiong

“Thanks much for this intervention…

Collective intelligence is always better than any one man’s brain”

Commie Duck, I know you are a Professed Atheist who follows the Ideology the Godless Conspiracy of Socialism, while Beguiling others to Believe The Same.

Let me share with you about your Collectivist Heard Mentality, whether you believe it or not…

When we Stand Before the Judgment Bar to Answer for our Deeds Done In the Flesh, We Will Each Stand to Answer for him or her self. No Collectivist Brain to answer.

There is No Such thing As Collective Salvation.

LET ME REPEAT MYSELF…
    WHAT I SEE MANIFESTED BY THIS HOOP-LA IS A PRIME EXAMPLE INDIVIDUALISM VERSUS COLLECTIVISM…

BY THE EXPLANATION GIVEN, SEE IF YOU RECOGNISE SIMILARITIES OF COLLECTIVISM (SOCIALISM/COMMUNISM) BY THE INTENTION OF THIS THREAD…

A Democracy is where the Majority Rule,

A Republic is ruled By Law that Governs and Protects the Individual!

A Republic represents Freedom of Conscience, The Freedom of the Soul of Each Individual, over the Mob Rule of Collectivism or a Democracy!

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/business/news/brexit-hits-london-and-south-east-economies-hardest-a7178681.html

Let the educated illiterates inside and outside of parliament continue to rely on tourism only and dont start using some brain cells, they are too lazy and love pimping why they cannot think of anything original to save the island.

47. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

48. Puerto Rico failed due to local Govt mismanagement.

Mismanagement and disparity[edit]
    The local government has proven to be highly inefficient in terms of management and planning; with some newspapers, such as El Vocero, stating that the main problem is inefficiency rather than lack of funds.[n][o]

As an example, the Department of Treasury of Puerto Rico is incapable of collecting 44% of the Puerto Rico Sales and Use Tax (or about $900 million USD), did not match what taxpayers reported to the department with the income reported by the taxpayer’s employer through Form W-2’s, and did not collect payments owned to the department by taxpayers that submitted tax returns without their corresponding payments.[p][14][15] The Treasury department also tends to publish its comprehensive annual financial report (CAFR) late, sometimes 15 months after a fiscal year ends, while the government as a whole constantly fails to comply with its continuing disclosure obligations on a timely basis.[16][q] Furthermore, the government’s accounting, payroll and fiscal oversight information systems and processes also have deficiencies that significantly affect its ability to forecast expenditures.[r]

Similarly, salaries for government employees tend to be quite disparate when compared to the private sector and other positions within the government itself. For example, a public teacher’s base salary starts at $24,000 while a legislative advisor starts at $74,000. The government has also been unable to set up a system based on MERITocracy, with many employees, particularly executives and administrators, simply lacking the competencies required to perform their jobs.[s][t]

There was a similar situation at the municipal level with 36 out of 78 municipalities experiencing a budget deficit, putting 46% of the municipalities in financial stress.[19] Just like the central government, the municipalities would issue debt through the Puerto Rico Municipal Financing Agency to stabilize its finances rather than make adjustments. In total, the combined debt carried by the municipalities of Puerto Rico account for $3.8 billion USD or about 5.5% of Puerto Rico’s outstanding debt.[u][v]

Economic depression[edit]
    Puerto Rico has been experiencing an economic depression for 11 consecutive years, starting in late 2005 after a series of deficits and the expiration of the section 936 that applied to Puerto Rico of the U.S. Internal Revenue Code. The government has also experienced 16 consecutive government deficits since 2000, exacerbating its fragile economic situation as the government issued new debt to fund the payment for maturing debt.[w]