Mark Cummins – Chief Town Planner Photo credit: Nation
DAVID A. COMISSIONG, LLB (U.W.I) L.E.C (Hugh Wooding Law School)
Attorney-at-Law
4th August 2016
Mr. Mark Cummins
Chief Town Planner
Town and Country Development Planning Office
The Garrison, St. Michael
Dear Sir
Re: The proposed construction of a 15 storey Hyatt Hotel at Carlisle Bay
I write to you in my capacity as a Citizen of Barbados.
As a result of news reports published in the Nation and Advocate newspapers of Wednesday 27th July 2016, I learnt that on Tuesday the 26th of July 2016 – Barbados’ “Day of National Significance” – Barbadian businessman Mark Maloney, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, and one Patrick Mc Cudden, senior Vice President of the American multi-national company known as Hyatts Hotel and Resorts, staged a so-called “signing ceremony” and informed the Barbadian people that in two months time Hyatts Hotel and Resorts and its local partner, Visions Development Inc. (Mr. Mark Maloney’s company), will be commencing the construction of a massive fifteen (15) storey hotel at Carlisle Bay, Lower Bay Street, within the precincts of the UNESCO designated world heritage site of historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, and abutting Barbadians’ beloved Browne’s Beach.
And subsequently, in the Wednesday 2rd August 2016 Editorial of the Nation Newspaper, I (and all other Barbadians) were informed by the Nation’s editorial writer that this project had received the “all-clear” from the relevant authority, and had met “a range of stringent stipulations, whether environmental or structural”.
As a result of the foregoing, I made my way to the Town and Country Development Planning Office on the afternoon of Wednesday 3rd August 2016 and asked to see the Public Register in which you are required (under Section 17 of the Town and Country Planning Act) to record information relating to applications for planning permission, “including information as to the manner in which such applications have been dealt with.”
As a result of perusing the Public Register I discovered that the relevant application for permission to erect the said hotel was filed by Visions Development Inc. on the 30th of March 2015, and that it bears application number 0445/03/2015B.
I also discovered that the section of the Public Register which deals with “Consultations” carried out in relation to the Application, and the section which records the “Decisions” made in respect of the said Application, were both BLANK !
So much then for the Nation Newspaper’s Editorial writer’s assertion that the project had met a range of stipulations and had received the “all-clear.”
(One is left to wonder why the Nation Newspaper has published such misleading information about this matter ! One is also left to wonder how Mark Maloney– in the presence of Ministers Sealy and Sinckler– could state that the construction of the hotel would DEFINITELY be starting in two months time! Clearly something is not right here ! )
Now, since it is clear that the “Consultation” process is not yet over, and that no decision has yet been made in relation to this application to erect a 15 storey Hyatt hotel at Carlisle Bay, I wish to draw the following to your attention :-
1) Some five (5) years ago I was approached by the prominent Barbadian business consultant who is behind this scheme of constructing “foreign brand-name hotels” in Carlisle Bay, and he informed me that Browne’s Beach is much too valuable an asset to be reserved for the Barbadian people, and that the plan is to construct five or six “foreign brand-name hotels” right across the length of Browne’s Beach.
2) Furthermore, during the 26th of July 2016 “signing ceremony”, Mr. Mark Maloney advised the Barbadian people that the massive 15 storey Hyatt hotel is just the beginning of a proliferation of new hotel development in Carlisle Bay!
3) Browne’s Beach is the central and extensive beach embedded in Carlisle Bay, and is an historic beach that is of tremendous value and service to the people of Barbados in general, and to the poor predominantly black working-class Barbadians who inhabit the many over-crowded, and in some cases slum-like, neighbouring communities of the City of Bridgetown and the greater St. Michael area. Indeed, for many impoverished and over-stressed working-class Barbadians Browne’s Beach is their place of refuge and relaxation, their natural spa and health clinic!
4) The construction of a massive 15 storey Hyatt hotel in Carlisle Bay (abutting Browne’s Beach) – to say nothing of the other 4 or 5 “foreign brand-name hotels” that are being planned for Browne’s Beach – is certain to destroy the very character of Browne’s Beach and to turn it into an “alien zone” in which the ordinary Barbadian no longer feels comfortable or welcome. In other words, we will run the risk of Browne’s Beach being transformed into one of your typical West Coast beaches – beaches that native Barbadians feel no longer belong to them.
5) There is also the issue of the height and size of the proposed Hyatt hotel. The highest building in Barbados is the Central Bank – a building that is some nine storeys tall. Is it really sensible to erect in Carlisle Bay, within the precincts of our UNESCO designated World Heritage site, an American hotel that will dwarf and dominate every other building in Bridgetown? Please bear in mind that this hotel will be more than one and a half times the height of the Central Bank of Barbados! Won’t it significantly undermine the World heritage status of historic Bridgetown and its Garrison?
6) And how do you engage in the type of deep and extensive pile-driving that will be required to construct a foundation for a towering 15 storey building without emitting vibrations that will do serious damage to such neighbouring historic buildings as the Bethel Methodist Church, St. Patrick’s Cathedral and St. Paul’s Anglican Church?
In light of the foregoing I am hereby requesting – nay, demanding – that this application for Town and Country Planning permission to construct this proposed 15 storey hotel be subjected to a most rigorous and comprehensive “Environmental Impact Assessment” procedure, inclusive of a “Social Impact Assessment” study.
I have learnt from the News Media that some consultations are on-going with the Barbados National Trust in relation to the implications of the proposed project for Bridgetown’s UNESCO world heritage site status.
However, what I am requesting goes way beyond such a narrowly based impact assessment!
I am requesting – first and foremost – that the people of the neighbouring communities be consulted in Town Hall meetings, and through relevant sociological surveys and assessments. And when I refer to “the neighbouring communities” I am referring to virtually all of the residential communities of the City of Bridgetown and southern St. Michael. I am also requesting that consultations be held with the churches and the various community groups and social clubs of the affected communities, as well as with the several environmental and heritage preservation organizations of Barbados.
I am also requesting serious and wide-ranging investigations of the possible dangers to other buildings in the vicinity of the proposed hotel, as well as an investigation into possible negative impacts on the aesthetics and amenities of the entire city of Bridgetown. ( And while you are at it, perhaps you can draw to the attention of your governmental colleague, the Chief Immigration Officer, the negative implications of the Hyatt Hotel’s vice- President’s bold assertion that ALL senior posts at the hotel will initially be filled by expatriates !)
And even through it may only be the opinion of one Citizen of Barbados, please permit me to state for the record that I am convinced that Barbados will be making a grave mistake if it permits such a priceless national asset as Browne’s beach to fall into the hands of foreign multi-national companies and to become the location of out-sized foreign-owned hotels, rather than to be reserved for indigenous Barbadian entrepreneurs and for locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that fit snugly into the national environment, and that radiate the unique charm, culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians!
It is with this conviction that I now hereby call upon you and the Town and Country Development Planning Office to engage in the Environmental Impact Assessment measures outlined and requested above in relation to the Town and Country Planning application reference number 0445/03/2015B.
I now look forward to hearing from you as a matter of urgency.
Yours faithfully,
David A. Comissiong
P.S Please take note that in light of the dire implications that this matter has for the entire population of Barbados, I am taking the liberty of sharing the contents of this letter with my fellow citizens.
@ Walter..
As man Boss …. you have been blogging so much shiite since your political “coming out”, that you would probably do well to take a leaf from your new boss (Froon’s) book and go to sleep…
Shiite man … at least if you keep quiet, some of us will be tempted to hold on to your previous persona – when you stood up like a MAN against political and economic shiite….
What EXACTLY makes you think that you can now come and push this ‘AC-like’, yardfowl talk at the BU family just because you have a better grasp of English than does AC?
What!!??
…so now BU has become your forum to endear yourself with your DLP pals in support of your personal political agenda…?
Steupsss..
Political suicide!!!!
You have done what Jesus REFUSED …when he told Satan to ‘kiss..’ oops..
….to “get thee behind me”
David August 5, 2016 at 4:36 PM #
“Agree with Bizzy on Del Mastro. Approve the project for them but approve for local as well”
I believe that local projects should be approved first.
So Walter what was up for grabs in the area that the government chose economic development? What else was being considered? A choice means that there is more than one option on the table.
@ Konkieman
You have in fact encapsulated what is wrong with Barbados in you post of 4 .00p.m
You said and I quote “…In all these posts, why has no one asked the question: what r-hole “historic” beach is Browns beach that Commie talking bout! …”
And within that statement I found my Eureka moment.
80% of the populations of Barbados HAVE NO EFFING CLUE what the 700-800 pages of those two documents that Steve Blackett signed to secure this designation, contain!!
I can hazard a guess as to your age and say that you are definitely past 60 and, given that you speak of swimming by the jetty as a boy, you are in your late sixties and early seventies if not older.
Secondary School education, at least, but I can’t “see” enough of you in your remark per social racial card to tell if you are black of bajan white.
What I do “see” and what frightens me is your lack of knowledge of what is contained in the document which can be seen at http://whc.unesco.org/en/list/1376
My fear lies in the assignation that you have accorded Browns or is that Brownes Beach highlighted by your comment “…what r-hole “historic” beach is Browns beach….?”
You know if a poll were taken of 5,000 Bajans this coming saturday in Bridgetown as to what Come Sing a Song’s case against the GoB and the Office of the Attorney General was, de ole man would bet that 50 people would know bout um, IF SO MUCH
I would hazard a guess that if you said “Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, an outstanding example of British colonial architecture consisting of a well-preserved old town built in the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries, which testifies to the spread of Great Britain’s Atlantic colonial empire….” not one of these people would be able to tell you where that came from Konkieman.
In fact I would hazard Konkieman that if you were to sing these words to any of the yutes in your house “…You have my heart, And we’ll never be worlds apart, Maybe in magazines, But you’ll still be my star…” that every on of them will be able to finish that Rihanna song better than our Leader of the Opposition is able to finish the National Anthem…(which by the way she does not know)
Did you know this?
“…Legal protection is provided by the Town and Country Planning Act, supported by the Physical Development Plan Amended (2003). The Physical Development Plan makes provision for five conservation areas covering different parts of Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison. While at present these planning provisions are technically adequate, legal protection of those parts of the property not covered by the conservation areas could be strengthened…”
As a matter of fact, even if you knew this, which i sincerely doubt, do you care…?
As a matter of fact let de ole man clarify this through thei “race card” question
I going put this question to Dr. Frazier who is credited as one of the lead Bajn white menses that compose the document
I going axe he if he feel dat since Brownes beach is part of the 167 hectares that is protected unner de designation ef he feel dat David Come Sing a Song is right to seek to stop that 15 storey abomination from being cuntstructd dey pun Brownes beach?
My rationale is simple, ef a white man say so, and dat white man got more ranking dan Mark Maloney, it may be dat we bajans gine concur?
Whu you tink Konkie man???
@ Bush Tea & Pachamama
Why you and Pachamama doan lef PPK alone???
Ten uh wunna hole on pun he scvunt almost a munt ago and tear he a next donkey and lef he whimpering in front de cuntputer (dat is whu hi is calling giggling) and now dat “he peeping out of the woodwork” as The Sage Anunnake said of his testing de waters, wunna latch on to he again?
Wunna going kill he?
I going watch and see doah if PPK going tek the bait of Angelique de Vampire who, having “time mek a change” lik up by dis Urgent dispatch now come to run interference pun David C article.
I soon expect PPK tuh tell she “why you doan google dem ingrunt questions dat you axing me doah and lef me scvunt alone?? you ent see dat I in a battle royale fuh me political life wid people liking me up whenever I surface me head and you inviting de ire of men like Leonid of de Fire Cats “wid sight beyond sight dat kin see my FJS replications”?
Get way from me Angelique, t . t . t . t. dem is crosses fuh you vampire self
Steupseeeee.
I like Mr Clarke idea doah, bout signing a real real petition (manually, not like de vampire online tingy) and as soon as Come Sing A Song get dem books ready, I gine sing de tings dem, twice, one wid me lef hand and one wid me right hand.
Bush Tea August 5, 2016 at 4:44 PM #
@ Walter..
As man Boss …. you have been blogging so much shiite since your political “coming out”, that you would probably do well to take a leaf from your new boss (Froon’s) book and go to sleep…
Shiite man … at least if you keep quiet, some of us will be tempted to hold on to your previous persona – when you stood up like a MAN against political and economic shiite….
What EXACTLY makes you think that you can now come and push this ‘AC-like’, yardfowl talk at the BU family just because you have a better grasp of English than does AC?
Bush Tea,
The blogmaster of BU gives all of us a chance to comment on any topic we see fit. I made a comment without mentioning the BLP, DLP, PEP, PDC, or BUP.
Heather quizzed me and commented on something that I actually wrote, and something that she could make specific reference to. I respect her for that. Your comments have not even reached that standard. I find that disappointing.
If I had left the DLP and joined your BUP, I would have committed political suicide. Yet you would have praised me lavishly and would have continued to parade me as a “star boy” along with Jeff and Caswell. That is the nature of the beast, and I fully understand that, because I no longer fit into your personal agenda, I must be damned, spat upon, and cussed. So be it.
You have your BUP. Elections are around the corner. You have 4 potential candidates so far: You, Pacha, Piece, and Watchman. Concentrate your efforts on amassing some more candidates, push the policies of BUP, and I will respect you for it.
Before you crawl back into your brass bowl, hear ye this:
I will forever accept your lashes and your praises with calmness, and I will continue to express MY OPINIONS on BU whenever I see fit.
Peace be unto you.
Up and on.
Heather August 5, 2016 at 4:52 PM #
“So Walter what was up for grabs in the area that the government chose economic development? What else was being considered? A choice means that there is more than one option on the table.”
Heather,
The government could have left the area untouched.
As long as one does not sing from the BU hymn book on would be cruicified and damn to hell fire. As fo ac could not care two fu..k ups what any one think about my comments my freedom of expression would not or does not depend on anyone grading be it likes or dislikes. So all operatives get use to my rants and raves cause there are many many more on the way
Amen
Signed legion
Now back to Mr. Bait and switch Comissiong who have for the better part of his activism had been trying for years to gain political traction in barbados and a strategy to garner a substantial following
Word on the street that this new modus operandi is way of operating in a more pleasing enviroment removing harden view which would soften and adress his negative image which has categorized him as a Socialist and a friend of dictators like a Chavez and Castro and late Muammar Gaddfi positioning him to be a possible leader for a viable and relevant political party in this country.
I love ac i know all the BU household loves ac. Right PDYR.waiting to see u make another poster of ac loving all of them too .Ha!Ha
Walter….you know many people are fed up of rehashing what various governments have done or not over the years, but over the last 50 years there have only been but 2 governments in Barbados….so I will reiterate since they have been combined by those who are aware that there is only one interchangeable government in Barbados…DBLP…both interchangeable ministers from this government have this nasty habit of never consulting with the people before signing on to scams…read the Cahill scam etc. They even lie to the people denying the existence of contracts they themselves signed.
So tell me Walter, over the last 50 years, apart from menial jobs for the average bajans, loans that now drown the country in debt….exactly whose best interest in the 280,000 people on the island have been served….and by which ministers.
On Brasstacks today,Bizzy Williams shared with moderator David Ellis his concerns about the special concessions given to a Canadian company while he,a local entrepreneur is made to wait for approval to set up a similar plant.The question of finance and Bizzy,true to form said the banks are holding substantial Bajan dollars on deposit and not utilizing opportunities such as he is suggesting.When Ellis threw the curve ball,funding by Credit Unions as opposed to banking institutions,Bizzy staggered,totally unprepared for that suggestion,staring him and albino- centric others who think like he.
“Woody Bezan Selkirk, Manitoba
DDM and cousin look like they’d steal your eyeballs and comeback for the eyelashes. Zero sympathy for anyone who’d do business with these grifters.”
Hants…I still love this comment about Del Mastros from the dude in Manitoba….lol
So Walter…you think local projects should come first, so where were you when Fruendel and his Fools secretly signed away the whole island to a crazy conartist called Clare Cowan from the Cahill scam of Canada, with the cockroach Bjerkham and others hiding in the shadows, gave her acres of land at 6 cents an acre and publicly lied to bajans about his involvement.
I am sure there were bajans like Cherry begging the government for an opportunity to help do something about the waste problem for years before this white Canadian crook smiled in Fruendel’s, Lowe’s, Kellman’s and the other idiot’s miserable looking faces.
Was Fruendel interested in hearing about local projects then, oh no, a white woman was smiling at him, what local projects what.
The credit unions better do not give the minorities any funding unless they secure ALL their properties as collateral, these minority crooks are all currently flying on bullshit and thin air…why ya think Bizzy is so bitterly complaining about Del Mastros, he wants to continue his parasitic ways undisturbed. ….dont want to share, hog at large.
As a tribute to the other paling Paling Fowl Cock
I forgot to include “He who disappeared spectacularly when the Cahill Fiasco was scuttled” after talking about “giving the technology a chance” and only recently reappeared when the smoke has cleared about the “Me Clare Who the Ef are you?” incident blew over.
Interestingly he came back with the same chant about “giving the Carlisle Project a chance” spiel.
He like he would like to give “eveybody a chance”
I hope that when the palm trees are dying he doan be under any one of them when it fall and suffer amnesia and wander into the Nazi/Skinhead Community in Canada with that same chant bout giving dem a chance too…
http://i.imgur.com/tLe71JR.png
@PUDRYR
Can you explain the difference between BU household and BU family?
Lol…
ummmmmmm…..
@ The Honourable Blogmaster
IF, and I reiterate the word IF, there is a difference it is a subtle one.
It would lie in “degree”
The household imputes all persons in the house be they friend or foe, slave or master
Family imputes a “commonality” of kindredness or blood bond or some “otherness” that is several degrees closer than household.
That is like the Marine Corps household and the brotherhood that is the SEALS, their point of origination is the same, but their inter relational bond is totally different
Or so the ole man would conjecture but do remember dat de ole man ent too bright
@PUDRYR
Au Contraire!
Here is the clarification, the household are the few who sit behind the BU dashboard. The family is the wider group who comment, submit articles and otherwise participate..
On Fri, Aug 5, 2016 at 11:15 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:
Sorry David
I actually am guilty of something.
I did not read what AC said in its entirety, lolololol
I rarely do when “thing Hignorance Knows no bounds” is writing.
I just voter for her out of “be kind to animals week”.
Actually I vote for her when she says such ingrunt things that only a vote of kindness is appropriate, you dont have no links that say “steupseee” lololol
Seriously, she knows that the poster campaigns are good. SSS, BU, Colonel Buggy and me Grandson.
She can’t come out and say that “they are good and are inflicting great damage to the DLP standing, both in Barbados and further afield. Dem does tell her whu going one though.
But she will sometimes give a slight hint of “appreciation” for the items.
I only realised that it was she who used the word and of a truth, as begrudging as I will say it, I would miss her and Alvin if they stopped.
She makes me laugh genuinely and marvel at the same time as to her absolute commitment to the Party.
She is “an anomaly” and as wunna dun know dem tings does bother me to the nth degree. lololol
I question the “why”
Why in the face of such abysmal failures of these 8 years, can she be so steadfast in her support of the DLP?
why, in the face of the failure of so many social services, industries, economic programs, does she still support the DLP “household” of thieves and brigands?
It reminds de ole man of dat poem dat i does always remember de granchildruns saying “de boy stood on the burning deck, whence all but he had fled, and when his feet had burnt right off, he stood upon his head…”
I gone bak here looking for more bareneck chickens doah….
Walter Blackman said he thinks that local projects should be approved first.
That is BS! Or at least political pandering.
For there is no difference between the local elites and the foreign White people.
Blackman basically talking about the maintenance of the existing social order when it needs a radical transformation.
See wuh we tell yuh bout this pimp, pimping
Every idea Walter Backman could hold is desirous of death.
We say give all these projects to the credit unions.
And change the law so that they can more broadly participate in the economy.
They can use their own capital or mobilize from other international credit unions
ohhhhh, okay my bust.. I was not thinking…punch silly with the “thine Hignorance” peeples dem.
I actually came across a joke about an over enthusiastic fowl cock in a farm yard but it was not appropriate to interweave with the fowl that is observing the hen on the fence., heheheheheeheh.
Or should that be, “buk, buk buk buk, bukcawww….”
whuloss may GOD grant Barbados relief from these vagabonds
@Pacha
There is difference if you use foreign exchange as one indicator or it should be.
BTW have you noted the BITCOIN Exchange took a big hit?
On Fri, Aug 5, 2016 at 11:55 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:
Well Well & Consequences August 5, 2016 at 6:23 PM #
“Walter….you know many people are fed up of rehashing what various governments have done or not over the years……”
Well Well & Consequences,
Most Barbadians would agree that various governments have done good and not-so-good things for Barbados over the last 50 years.
The world has changed. Barbadian society has changed. Government cannot do everything. The critical question now is: what contribution can each of us make in the areas of problem solving and national development? What can each of us do to help Barbados move forward? By each of us, I mean Barbadians living at home and abroad. That includes you.
Barbados has the “oldest” population in the Caribbean, and will face a portfolio of complex problems until as far as 2040. Some of these problems relate to insurance, pensions, longevity, gerontology, and health care for the aged. Our limited resources will be stretched to the “baller” and might very well “pop”. The solutions to these problems will require proper planning, understanding, and parliamentary action now.
Based on my education, experience, and professional training, I have decided to try and make a contribution, via parliament, by tackling these problems head-on. My first step in that exercise was to inform my political party of my interest in elective politics. Maybe I might succeed and maybe I won’t. However it turns out, no one can say that I did not try.
You would have noticed that instead of focusing on what they can do to help our country move forward, some persons have maliciously devoted their time and energy to cussing, scorning, ridiculing, and trying to stop me and others from making the contribution that our skills would enable us to make. Instead of getting up off their backsides and trying to do something meaningful and positive for their country, they spend every minute of every passing day bellyaching, and like helpless baby chicks, sit and wait in the hope that some saviour would pass by to ram some sustenance down their proverbial craw, and solve their problems.
Such attitudes, spawned by the crab-in-the-barrel mentality, represent our single biggest impediment to national progress.
You would have also noticed that I have encouraged you, based on your scarce bilingual skill set, to see if you can help Barbados in any way. I use this approach on every Barbadian I come into contact with.
Whatever I can do to help this little island move forward, I promise you that I will do it. That is my focus, and it is a goal to which I now aspire.
@ Pacha
That idea of requiring that all such mega projects be owned by Co-operatives is so intelligent, progressive and forward-thinking, …that it will NEVER even be seriously considered in brass bowl land. Not even those who are already experiencing the enfranchising power of Credit Unions are able to see the innovative and revolutionary potentialities…..
They are all much too imbibed with albino-centric, self-centeredness.
Walter Blackman August 5, 2016 at 4:47 PM #
“David,
I believe that local projects should be approved first.”
Pachamama August 5, 2016 at 7:51 PM #
“Walter Blackman said he thinks that local projects should be approved first.
That is BS! ……..
Every idea Walter Backman could hold is desirous of death.
We say give all these projects to the credit unions.”
Pachamamum,
If you give all of the projects to the credit union, will that nullify my belief? Will that make the projects “foreign”?
You are so blinded by hatred and malice that “Thine hignorance knoweth no bounds.”
Who would have thought that, as Barbadians struggle to stake a claim in their own country, a suggestion that Barbadian proposed projects should be given priority approval would attract such an asinine response?
Am I allowed to recommend the first person who should lose their head when your guillotine is ready to strike?
@ Walter PPK Blackman
You stated that English is not working for the watchman, Bush Tea and Thousand of Barbadian, maybe, but we know the bull shite language you are using in your effort to be a lackey of the DLP and feed of the public purse
“now aspire?, now aspire….whu happen to “times afore time?” you wait till now to aspie?
Heheheheheheheh
But I lef you to Pachamama, and Watchman and Bush Tea
Leh de ole man continue on wid me belly-aching boasie.
Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison states “…Further work, as defined in the action plan, is required to strengthen the protection of the substance of remaining historic buildings and the property’s overall spatial layout, and also to mitigate landscape changes that have already occurred in order to protect and strengthen the property’s integrity and authenticity….”
It also says, quite unbelievably “…The Chief Town Planner has been identified as the Site Manager for day-to-day management concerns in the framework of the urban development plan and planning permission procedures. He also chairs the Barbados World Heritage Committee which meets on a two-monthly basis…”
Now from 2011 till now is 5 years which is 60 meetings, IF DEM STILL DOES MEET THAT IS.
I wonder if the UNESCO people was to axe fuh copied uh dem meetings @ 2016 pun Monday Morning effing dem wud be able to get dem before nex month?
Dem wud got to do de same ting dat de Commissioner uh Police doing wid de statements for Nazim Blackett matter and de falsification sorry creation of supporting contrived sorry compiled imaginations sorry information.
So back to the substantive and let us not get tied up with PPK advancing his previously stalled political campaign.
It would appear that David Come and Sing a Song (that I Like) has them by the short and curly since it would seem that this 15 storey building is quite at variance with “…the administration of the property and overseeing adherence to the principles of the Convention.
It would seem that said building is seriously in contravention with “policies and programmes for the conservation and management of the property…”
It would further seem that the stipulated “evaluation and monitoring of all matters relating to the protection and management of the property” has been thrown out of the window with this particular decision.
And it would seem like if David come Sing a Song (that I like) is showing that the various criteria for the UNESCO designation have been or will be seriously contravened since none of these initiatives per a 15 storey hotel “ensures that the management systems maintain and preserve the Outstanding Universal Value of the Historic Bridgetown and its Garrison property…”
It would be a most shameful thing is the GoB, current or future, we forced to loose the UNESCO designation, because of scvunts like Stuart Abundant Road or Lane and Mark Baloney but WTF… who gives a badword anyways??
Certainly not the revived PPK, nor Konkieman, mannnnn Come Sing a Song why you doan jes lef dese tings alone doah???
You stop de illegal fingerprinting, and now you want tuh brek up we Carlisle Bay ting too?
“Most Barbadians would agree that various governments have done good and not-so-good things for Barbados over the last 50 years.”
I commend your efforts Walter, but in all of this, please do not forget, that politicians present themselves to the people swearing on their mother’s and children’s lives that nobody but them can do the best for the country, create the most jobs…end poverty…., walk on water. ..and all kinds of impossible things, they also get a very handsome monthly salary from taxpayers to perform these impossible feats….that they promised.
The very next day after being elected…and most times before, with the vote buying, accepting campaign finance from business crooks….the corruption starts…..and continues for 5 straight years with bribetaking from said crooks and favors which dies not benefit the population, until next elections, which is now fast approaching. …so Walter, I am not impressed with any of the idiots in parliament.
@ piece
@ pachamana
Walter PPK Blackman running out of bull shite and want to recommend a person head for the guillotine, you know, he said English don’t work for the watchman, so put me right, is he calling the M of F coming budget a guillotine
Gabriel August 5, 2016 at 6:38 PM #
Didn’t hear brass-tacks but Bizzy isn’t interested in any credit union entry into commercial activity , are you insane, credit unions are where lower income people save their money which if used wisely begins to level the playing field and rattle the financial thrones of Bizzy and cronies. At present he’s one of a few who donates $30,000 to the Police training school without blinking.
Bizzy’s tactics appear simple if the foreign investor is not in cahoots with him or he isn’t a benefactor of the project he will curse the investor and bully the people and government into turning down the investment. He will raise environmental concerns, he will talk of locals being disadvantaged yaada yaada and a roll of pure shite.
If Barbados loses billions of $ in forex and gets an even worst rating as a bad place to do business tough luck. He as the Deltro guy opined will head off to a neighbor island and invest, mind you as a foreign investor, and receive his financial returns. St. Lucia and to a lesser extent St. Vincent have benefitted enormously from investors frustrated by our island because of garbage similar to what assaults our ears ad naseum from the Bizzy’s of this world.
Time to call a halt on the rassh*le bullshite that is killing the country, screwing up the economy, robbing us of jobs and forex. The anti foreign investment stance causes declines in our standard of living and gives Barbados the reputation as the worse place in the region to do business.
We see clearly its not only government red tape or civil servants who make investors jittery. Forces more sinister are at work and folks who love this country must stand up and say to Bizzy and his disciples David BU and paradoxically Commissiong that enough is enough.
I am not against foreign investors what I am for I for investment in local interests but in a manner that changes the landscape of Bizzy Williamses forever,
You ever sat down and talked to a few of these rich white bajans?
You would come to realize that AC is a brainiac compared to many of them, and I mean the stupid AC.
60 % of bajans earn less than $300 per week.
In 2016 that is slavery
Any government, be it DLP or BLP which cannot, in addition to refusing to enforce policies and practices that actively enslave bajan niggers, is a government NOT TO BE BACKED!!!
Comissoing is doing his part in his area of expertise and the rest or us need to do ours
@ Walter Blackman August 5, 2016 at 8:05 PM
“Whatever I can do to help this little island move forward, I promise you that I will do it. That is my focus, and it is a goal to which I now aspire.”
The first goal you need to aspire to is to tell your party colleagues in no uncertain terms to stop lying to the same people your party likes to brag about the ‘free’ given to them up to the highest level; with you being the perfect poster child for the EWB project.
The same lies and crap we are hearing about the Hyatt Hotel were spewed about the Sugar Point Cruise Ship terminal earmarked to bring shiploads of tourists and hundreds of new jobs to transform Bridgetown.
One can only conclude that the same ‘transformationally’ infrastructural Cruise Ship project has been financially blown out of the water (politically torpedoed) just like the Revitalized Sugar Cane Industry state-of-the-art factory for Andrews has gone up in smoke caused by an imaginary cane fire which has its genesis in the Atlantic trade winds of DLP Cockamamie propaganda graft and corruption.
People seem to forget the pearhead development project./ This hotel is being built in that area. It seem that David Com. forgot that
David Comissiong is a brute he has no interest in barbados he goes to St. Vincent and campaigns for Ralph Gonsalves telling the people that barbados Govt is dumb and that Gonsalves is a man of vision because he built them a new Airport in a time of recession
I guess his negative mutterings at every turn about this island is part of his civic duty he has left no stone unturned at every opportunity to downplay barbados progress while praising his socialist partners despite their failures towards their citizens
He is a person not to be trusted he seeks noterity not for the best interest of barbados but as a stepping stone which will be beneficial to his own interest
artax
“ac June 28, 2015 at 6:13 PM #: Attack what! but if Caswell puts himself out there yes he would be hung out to dry on a bed of hot wooden coals. His history as being TWO FACED and a POLITICAL OPPORTUNIST depending which side the wind is blowing in his favor is well known across town and country….”
“ac August 5, 2016 at 6:25 AM #: NO bush sh..t Comissiong is not a Caswell for all the concerns that Caswell has I would be the FIRST TO SAY that his CONCERNS are GENUINE and are not liquefied with an ideology that are in alignment or closely tied to Socialist of Communist regimes….”
wel well another bold faced desperate attempt by artax using a net to trap a crab. in a futile attempt to bypass and avoid the relevance and connections of comissiong political leaning to socialist or communist idealogies
As far as i know and have observed Caswell brand of political brandishing is rooted in the Labour Movement and yes his opinions can be linked to political preference however removed from Socialist and communist ideologies
i would not retract my comment based on the fact that what i previously stated about Caswell stems from Genuine Concerns or differences between labour and governance and and not formulated with intent to gain popular support or political advantages toward leadership of this country
@ Bushie
See what we tell you ’bout the Walter Blackman types
He pretends to be educated but lacks courage
what use is education if one has no courage?
We were part of a group of persons trying to tell Erskine Sandiford this, since the early 1990’s
about the Port, other so-called divestments, at that time.
We were in the meetings
And you know the results
Sandiford too, lacked the courage to at least give the co-operatives a few of the projects/institutions he was selling off then.
So we are not surprised that this Blackman is blinded by what he feels is the party line.
You must remember that he also has a few old people in the DLP branch to satisfy
poor fellow.
=======================
Should there be a need for a lamb whose head is required to bless the guillotine
this writer is prepared to be that person
on a few conditions!
that, beforehand there is a law mandating that the elites, starting with the 30 in parliament and those seeking to be, the political pimps and the corporate elites, will follow next day
and that somebody, of our choosing and with courage will be given the powers to implement the law’s wider application.
Have Walter Blackman make those arrangement and we will both supply that antiquarian device and set it up outside Parliament for the presentation of that ‘first’ neck.
We could never understand why people like Walter Blackman like living so much
all he is doing is preventing food from spoiling. LOL
==================
Do people really understand that some co-operatives, outside of Barbados, are much larger than the GDP of Barbados.
Blackman spent over a decade in Atlanta, he should know this
Be afraid be very afraid! Should this Blackman gets anywhere near political power in Barbados he, not unlike all the rest, will be prepared to take orders from the Bizzy Williams types.
For in the end that is all they really know.
An offside..for the ladies.
http://ow.ly/m4ZS302Zc0e
The report in the traditional media that Stuart Layne will not be losing any sleep over the planned demonstration is disturbing.
@ Bushie
Your point about internal or albino-centric thinking within co-operatives is right.
for example, we tried to refocus members away from buying so many cars and other items
which concentrated resources into the same hands, with limited success then.
our idea was to own a dealership but could not get the rule changes
We can better work in such a system, like we have done before, to spur development.
We have found that if one has a mind to genuinely help the people without looking for a reward yourself the people will respond positively.
especially if they can call you to a meeting anytime to drag you over the coals – LOL
past successes will also help and the movement now has that
we were there before, we know this too well, we’re afraid.
Look MoneyB. ..don’t let it kill ya…lol
The 44th president of the United States, Barack Obama, has a birthday coming up. Born in Hawaii on Aug. 4, 1961, Obama’s life story contains a journey of remarkable financial success. Raised by a single mother and his grandparents, Obama worked his way through college.
Today, as presidential nominees Donald Trump and Hillary Clinton race to the White House, the president will celebrate his 55th birthday as a multimillionaire.
President Barack Obama Net Worth: $12.2 Million
Estimating the exact personal wealth of Barack Obama — or any U.S. president — is difficult. With certainty, Obama’s salary for his day job as president is $400,000 a year. But from there, hard numbers are more difficult to come by.
Under the Ethics in Government Act of 1978, the president — along with other high-ranking federal officials — must disclose their finances every year. Those disclosures, however, are broad and vague.
An analysis of Obama’s financial disclosure in 2015 showed a net worth between $2 million and $7 million, reported USA Today. Celebrity finance resource Celebrity Net Worth, however, reported that Obama’s net worth is as high as $12.2 million.
Read More: How Will Hillary Clinton Affect Your Wallet?
This year’s financial disclosure reveals the bulk of Obama’s assets are in mutual funds with JPMorgan and Vanguard. He’s also holding U.S. Treasury bills and notes valued between $500,000 and $1 million. For his daughters, Malia and Natasha, Obama has between $200,000 and $450,000 in 529 college savings plans.
The president received royalties between $35,000 and $115,000 on his three books, “Dreams From My Father,” “Of Thee I Sing: A Letter to My Daughters” and “The Audacity of Hope.” He also owns a home in Chicago valued at just under $1.5 million, according to Zillow.
A Timeline of Barack Obama’s Wealth
How exactly did Obama grow his fortune? Here’s a timeline of his earnings over the years, using data from the president’s previous financial disclosures:
2004: He earns a salary of $60,287 from the Illinois State Senate and $32,144 from the University of Chicago Law School, where he taught. The president also has assets in four financial funds worth between $50,000 and $100,000 each.
2005: Obama earns just over $847,000 off a book advance with Random House, plus $378,000 off book royalties. Meanwhile, his investments grow with the addition of a Nuveen Floating Rate Income Fund valued between $50,000 and $100,000. He also reports deposit accounts valued between $150,000 and $350,000.
2006: Obama reports royalties of just under $150,000, plus $425,000 off a book advance. He also acquires publicly-traded assets worth tens of thousands, including funds with Goldman Sachs and Vanguard.
2007: Obama earns $3.3 million off book royalties from Random House and $816,000 from Dystel & Goderich Literary Management. He acquires a Northern Municipal Money Market Fund valued between $1 million and $5 million, in addition to U.S. Treasury notes valued between $500,000 and $1 million. For his daughters, he invests in two 529 college savings plans, each worth up to $250,000.
2008: When Obama is sworn in as president, he owns somewhere between $1 million and $5.1 million in U.S. Treasury bills.
2009: Obama wins the Nobel Peace Prize, which comes with a $1.4 million award. He donates it to an assortment of charities.
2009-2015: Obama earns $400,000 a year as president and continues to earn book royalties, as well as interest on his investments.
Read More: 7 Ways to Build a Powerful Network
Michelle Obama Net Worth: $11.8 Million
First Lady Michelle Obama is a lawyer and writer. Her educational career took her through the Chicago public school system and, later, to Princeton University and Harvard Law School. After working for several years at the law firm Sidley & Austin, Michelle moved to planning and development in Chicago’s City Hall. She later became a founding member of the Chicago chapter of Public Allies, which prepares youth for public service.
Read More: 7 Ways to Build a Powerful Network
In her time as First Lady, Michelle has launched initiatives like Let’s Move! to combat childhood obesity and Reach Higher to encourage youth to continue their education beyond high school. Although best-known for her efforts in inspiring children and women, Michelle also launched Join Forces, which looks to support veterans through education and employment opportunities.
The First Lady’s net worth is estimated at $11.8 million, according to Celebrity Net Worth. She has three books to her name, “Believe in the Possibility,” “Michelle Obama” and “American Grown.”
David August 5, 2016 at 4:36 PM #
Agree with Bizzy on Del Mastro. Approve the project for them but approve for local as well.
Dal Mastro paid allot more bribe money that Bizzy is likely ever to have access to. If the Canadians continue their prosecution of Dal Mastro principals the project might never happen.
@Frustrated Businessman
Where is the impact study for the solar farm in Waterford?
Have we had a town hall?
We want to hear from minister Donville Inniss who seem to be sponsoring this Mastro project.
@John Chapman
Do you have a copy of the newspaper supplement of the Pierhead Project?As I recall it,the proposed hotel/condo was located at the Pierhead itself,that is in the vicinity of the old baggage warehouse,not near the boatyard.If you have access to a copy of the supplement,can you share it with the BU household.
@Gabriel, is this the graphic you are asking?
http://www.superyachtbusiness.net/news/plans-for-new-barbados-superyacht-marina-one-step-closer-5592
A very clear and concise argument for maintaining the status quo, allowing Bajan citizens to enjoy their environment, and long may it continue. Once again , well said David.
“The Government of Barbados has also announced plans to revive the Pierhead Marina project in the capital city of Bridgetown which would greatly improve the island’s yachting capabilities and to develop this niche market in the country’s tourism sector.”
http://2016.export.gov/Caribbean/eg_car_091069.asp
That is not the original concept as published in the days’ newspapers for all to see and study.It embraced the entire lower Bay St environs,the lower Fairchild St,Probyn St area now occupied by the block of the old Coles Garage building to the old Paul Foster Travel,the old Plantations building called Sunjet House and the old Empire building,and the Lower Bay St area up to the esplanade as I recall.That concept was circa 1992.
@ Gabriel,
”
Let google be your friend. There are several design concepts for the “Pierhead” marina projects.
You could install Google Earth on your computer.
It is a very useful tool.
What is Truly Mind Boggling is that they are those who are Blinded by the Very Ones whose Intent it is to Deceive them!!!
https://www.facebook.com/federalistfox/videos/vb.218472611857878/273537709684701/?type=2&theater
https://www.facebook.com/WeAreConstitutionalWatchmen/photos/a.170682626319196.44867.159188630801929/1163289860391796/?type=3
@ Bush Tea
Without a Doubt this Sand Nigger is a plant to Disrupt BU
What the Ef you C Kay does Obama have to do with an issue of a 15 storey building being placed in a historical property?
She is either mad, stupid or a Bajan who, because of being denied a visa to America under the Obama term, is bent on disparaging the United States of Murica
Of course she could be all three, TOGETHER
If Angelique the Mugabe-ite will put up the petition for banning the The Murica Weeper, I will sign that one.
Fearful freedom C..vnt
I won’t be surprised if you posted that Trump’s present wife posed in the nude and was featured on the front page of the NY Post this week.Now if Michelle had done that you,Fox News and the Tea Party would be fit to be hog tied ennit.
Bizzy, Cow, Bjerkham, Maloney need to get government contracts from the politicians/ministers to take to the banks to borrow money to pay the government ministers bribes…lol
Well Well & Consequences August 6, 2016 at 10:14 AM #
“Look MoneyB. ..don’t let it kill ya…lol
The 44th president of the United States, Barack Obama, has a birthday coming up. Born in Hawaii on Aug. 4, 1961, Obama’s life story contains a journey of remarkable financial success. Raised by a single mother and his grandparents, Obama worked his way through college….”
pieceuhderockyeahright August 6, 2016 at 2:09 PM #
“@ Bush Tea
What the Ef you C Kay does Obama have to do with an issue of a 15 storey building being placed in a historical property”?
pieceuh…. Maybe you should ask your friend above …Just Setting the Record Straight!!!
@ pieceuh…. This Is For You and Yours.
https://www.facebook.com/Capitalists/photos/a.226491315514.290842.188355460514/10157179974770515/?type=3
@ Sand Nigger
I note that you from time to time emote quite well and incredibly use rational thought to support your irrational rant on socialism. Ergo the Churchill quote.
For your benefit and that of your four well wishers or is that five?, ( I am not sure if this blog lets you vote for yourself) I will do your customary “cut and paste” practice, an indication of your paucity of intellectual grey matter
“China’s crackdown, which started last year, has targeted the country’s small human rights advocacy movement and involved lawyers tackling cases to do with freedom of speech, religion or abuses of power….”
The larger BBC article can be found by a google of the excerpt, you are expert at such googles so have at it
But I will explain its relevance for those like you who are slow.
One. This article is posted by one of the 3 legal activists on BU WHO POST UNDER THEIR REAL NAME unlike you And me Sand Nigger.
Two. The full letter, barring quotes of reported speech, is a result of a person who, having gone to school, something that you seem to have done rarely, finds themselves capable of distilling what they were taught and presenting such as logical original thought.
Three. “Cockroach nah wise to go Chicken party” deals with appropriateness of personnel and/or venue. Your idiotic rant on socialism, in this corner, is an insult to blog manners/etiquette but I invite you to continue in that mode because the Honourable Blogmaster will deal with you in due course.
Four. Well Well and Consequences posts here prolifically but, and I can only assume this, seems to be speaking to an aside that Hants? remarked on in another? blog perhaps. The salient fact is that she DOES NOT DO THAT EVERY SINGLE BLOG, EVERY EFFING TIME!!
Five. The fact is that you are a very simple person.
And I will be kind with my explanation of that statement and not call you the badword that is on my lips for your patented stupidity.
Others who are contending with David Commissiong’s opposition to the 15 storey building in the World Site spoke to forex, job creation, ancillary economic activities etc.
“Proposal and counter, proposal and counter” which, for the most part, is consistent with reasonable discourse, presentation of the whys and the why nots that rational people utilize.
It is obvious that you are an avowed capitalist but it is totally impossible for one to link your Obama hating, Hillary bull shy*e with this blog.
And frankly, being the effing cyber bully that PPK and others state that I am, I shall be your Huckleberry and tell you that you are very simple border on well…….
Six. The other four pokey hairs that “liked you” did not like you as per the rational content of your submission, such “likes” were, and are, “contra Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right, the opinionated sanctimonious ole man who tinks he knows everything”
That is the sad thing about us Bajans.
We are incapable of seeing that the activism that Come Sing A Song is prosecuting here, and in other salient matters, is based on rights and law and the fact that a segment of our society isbreaking the law AND THAT SUCH ACTION, LEFT ALONE TO THRIVE, IS THE VERY EFFING THING THAT CHURCHILL WHOSE PICTURE YOU COPIED SPOKE AGAINST !!!
That dufus is what he meant in this now immortal? speech that I now copy for the benefit your ignorant self and your fellow voters “We shall defend our island, whatever the cost may be, we shall fight on the beaches, we shall fight on the landing grounds, we shall fight in the fields and in the streets, we shall fight in the hills; we shall never surrender….”
This is what men and women do who love our little country, SAND NIGGER, they stand up against the tyrannical draconian despots like Fumbles and Mugabe and Hyatt building in a restricted historically protected UNESCO site.
But dis ole man knows that all this will be lost on you, and we will see another Hillary set uh pup copied quite soon
So leh de ole man mek a Marxist/Leninist/Che dictatorial prediction, “befo’ Hillary becomes the next President of the United States, I predict dat you going be gone from this site Sand Nigger”
Piece…that is why I dont read the Sand *igger…he, she, it is such an idiot…lol
Fidel Castro used nationalism very well to strike fear in the hearts of the cuban people against foreign investment (bogey man)in his country and as they say the rest is history . Today he fondly sits at the right hand side of those he mostly fear looking for assistance for a state which has become dilapidated and many of the citizens who did not take to the high seas looking for a better life are living in poverty and begging govt for bread
I say the above as testimony that at times we can become our own worst enemy as exemplified by those who are pretentious in thought word and deed wanting champagne taste but having mauby pockets , or the guy who insist that the property he owns must remained in the family as was purposed when the termites have all but eaten it to the ground even after giving several lucrative offers to dispose of it
Hopefully in years to come nothing of which i say would be a reflection or come true to this piece of 166sq miles
Castro used ‘nationalism’ to get his people to creatively respond to the vaccum created when they had to kick the Americans out of Cuba because they were ravishing the natural resources and infecting it’s rich culture. Half a century later we have seen the result, trade restrictions being relaxed and they have a say as well. The world is ready to move on. You bray about communism yet the America you love list China as a preferred trading partner.
JA
Systems of governments and how they have evolved and continue to do so must be understood in a historical context. A perspective shaped by living in the USA the land of unbridled conspicuous consumption will trapped you in a tunnel labelled myopia.
Cock A doodle PDYR rise and shine have you put ac name in lights on your billboard today
I do not know much about socialism or communism but it seems to me as if you would deprive the guy of his termite farm and use his land in a different manner. Seem as if you are advocating some kind of socialism there….
David August 7, 2016 at 9:26 AM #
Castro used ‘nationalism’ to get his people to creatively respond to the vaccum created when they had to kick the Americans out of Cuba because they were ravishing the natural resources and infecting it’s rich culture. Half a century later we have seen the result, trade restrictions being relaxed and they have a say as well. The world is ready to move on. You bray about communism yet the America you love list China as a preferred trading partner.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..
Just maybe Castro own interest over exceeded his better expectations for the people and country . As we engaged the same is happening in Venezuela
And there is the alternative narrative you will not be able to fine on CNN.
Piece,
Five thumbs is still in attendance! LOL.
Anonymice your logic befuddles me
Why not just enjoy the comic relief for a split second and scroll down? If I can do it ANYBODY can. Nobody with half of a brain will be persuaded by her and nobody with less than half of a brain will take the time to read her posts.
@David Commissiong,
“….poor predominantly black working-class Barbadians who inhabit the many over-crowded, and in some cases slum-like, neighbouring communities of the City of Bridgetown and the greater St. Michael area. Indeed, for many impoverished and over-stressed working-class Barbadians Browne’s Beach is their place of refuge and relaxation, their natural spa and health clinic!”
David, progress cannot occur by standing still. All like you are calling for progress, but yet do not want to take the steps necessary to achieve this objective. A diabetic cannot get better without strict changes in the lifestyle. Nelson street and its environs is, and has been for generations, a slum, and now, drug haven. The building of hotels on the waterfront, which happens in all countries with these resources, is an economic fact, almost a necessity. OSA enunciated this when he pointed out that “land should achieve its highest economic value'” How could this be done without building valuable properties on this area. If hotels desire to establish there, they should not be discouraged. The entire country benefits. All that is required is that locals have access to the beaches. This is easily accomplished by putting in any agreement the understanding that ALL beaches are accessible by all Barbadians. We should not remain living in poverty when we have thousands, nay millions of dollars available to us.
By the way 15 stories is not Massive. The Burge-al Arabia in AbuDhabi is over 1000 feet high. It is a five star hotel and that small country attracts over 10 million visitors a year. Why are you afraid of progress? Why didn’t you raise such objections when The Four Seasons project was posited by Pemberton and group and approved by the OSA government
@Alvin Cummins
Barbados is a SID, we shouldn’t measure development based on what is done in Canada read socalled First World countries.
Yes David there are varying sides to the stories but in the ensuing arguments the relevancy comes down to good goverance and not what is in the best interest of some but a governance that provides a footing that can accomplish much leaving no stone upturned that would pulled at the nations conscience causing devastation as what has happened in Cubam
There are are many ways in a deovracy to thread a needle unlike socialist govts who depends on a large dose of nationalism as the only way forward not going to work never will
Alvin
You never cease to amaze.Do not compare apples with oranges.Hyatt and 4 Seasons are 2 completely different concepts and locales.You never cease to prove yourself to be the proverbial octogenarian JA you are.Another stupid Dem.
There is no reason why every Barbadian should not be living in decent wholesome housing in Barbados.Governement over the years have collected enough taxes to do so.The same way the US can give Israel 4 billion dollars a year in aid and they use it to remove the rightful owners of land and build decent housing for Israelis,a similar treatment can be done for the Caribbean countries,all of which are still under developed in housing and infrastructure.
@ac,
What Castro and the ordinary people did for Cuba was necessary and needed. One has to remember what Cuba was like before; illiteracy, atrocious health conditions, poverty, under the imperial hand of the Americans who regarded it as the whorehouse of this hemisphere. The suffering of the people before ‘Castro kept the remedy from being considered as excessive. A purgative is necessary to correct constipation. It may be unpleasant but gets the job done. The people have rid themselves of a colonial and imperialist power and are self sufficient. When they can afford it the luxuries will gradually come in. Viva Cuba y la revolution.!!!The people of Venezuela are also being subjected to the type of economic war that was waged to punish Cuba for throwing off the imperialist mantle.
Gabriel, and David.
Gabriel don’t get me started on the relationship between the USA and the stat of Israel. Israel is a surrogate of the U.S. and is the outpost in the Middle that is necessary for them to maintain in the area they would love to control. I won’t get into that discussion at this time. Of course the concepts behind the Hyatt and the Four Seasons ar completely different. The Pemberton Group (scammers that Well Well always talk about)foisted their concept on a group of wealthy investors. Unfortunately the financial meltdown reduced the capacity of many of these investors to maintain the strength of they investments. That is why the project collapsed. The considerations regarding the Hyatt ar4e completely different. And I fully understand them. However you try the beach created by nature can never have the same”pristine” innocence that existed in our youth. It is now a valuable resource and will bw exploited, whether today or tomorrow, but it can never be allowed to sty unused. As a World Heritage Site the area surrounding cannot be allowed to become a bigger slum, a more foul smelling ghetto, and a denizen of the dark for the nefarious. The whole area must be dragged kicking and screaming into the shower and cleaned up. That whole space from Dulow Lane.on the North around River Road and back up Bay street and everything contained therein must be cleaned up and rebuilt. And don’t talk about taxes as if the taxes paid alone could solve that problem.
Living in North America and first world countries opens ones eyes to what can be accomplished and what is needed. It is time that folks learn to understand the perspective from which those who have lived in these places offer their suggestions. Donkeys wore blinkers which limited their vision. They could only see straight ahead. Living in North america removes these blinkers and one has a wider perspective, and sees all possibilities.
@Alvin
Why not restore the Empire Theatre. Better still why not give it to the Creatives to put on shows/plays to lure people to Bridgetown. Will the Hyatt attract locals to Bridgetown, in the evenings?
Alvin
Your argument that 4 Seasons failed because….,,’unfortunately,the financial meltdown reduced the capacity of many investors to maintain the strength of their investments’….is to quote Philip Greaves “hogwash”.Since you no longer reside here let me wiser you up.The 4 Seasons project failed because of interference from David Thompson and the DLP then in opposition,and it’s extended brothers in arms,Leroy Trotman and the BWU.
Thompson in Opposition berated and abused foreign investors only to sing a different song when in government and sending a local Indian lackey with an affected Oxford accent flying all over the the globe seeking investors for that said project.I was here,I know it all.I don’t give bullshitters a free past.
Wisen……free pass
Alvin Cummins August 7, 2016 at 10:15 AM #
@David Commissiong,
David, progress cannot occur by standing still. All like you are calling for progress, but yet do not want to take the steps necessary to achieve this objective… If hotels desire to establish there, they should not be discouraged. The entire country benefits.
Alvin Cummins August 7, 2016 at 10:57 AM #
@ac,
What Castro and the ordinary people did for Cuba was necessary and needed.…
The Above seems to be written by Two different individuals Mr. Alvin…One is Either For Free Enterprise which your first statement represents. The Second is so Contradictory of Free Enterprise and is supportive of the Cuban Communist Regime… The Cuban people have gone through Hell and Still Live in Hell and the ones who speak out are Jailed!
Everything works fine until it does not work any longer, as in No food (empty shelves in the Grocery Store), no money, no electricity, no toilet paper, with everything being owned by the State with nothing rippling down to the people, who they have plundered in the first place through uncontrollable Taxation’s and Nationalization! However those at the Top do not wait in line 12 hours to hope to purchase necessities as now what is ensuing in Venezuela.
If you believe the Scriptures that say, “By Their Fruit You Shall Know Them. Right now we who are in this discussion have lived long enough to see the results of Socialism, Communism et al, as in Venezuela, Cuba, almost South American Countries and in North Korea. (Since China has adopted more Free Market Principles, there Economy has boomed and as they start to exert more Control, their Economy Stagnates).
What do you think is happening in our very own beloved country of Barbados? Have we witnessed a booming Economy or STAGNATION with EXCESSIVE TAXATION that does not allow the FORMATION of CAPITAL, through ENDLESS REGULATIONS!! We see however endless Derelict Buildings, Garbage reaching the Skies with health hazard risk attached while spreading the word internationally, of the Disarray and Sanitation State by the Tourist visiting our Island, furthering Crippling our open Window Bread Winner of a few months of the year! How about those People lacking for want of Water in certain Areas, but yet we see a huge Government Symbol of a Waterworks Building, which is a prime example of Socialism, that of the water not trickling down to the people!!
NOW WE WANT TO IMPEDE PROGRESS AND FREE ENTERPRISE, BY CURTAILING DEVELOPMENT BY ENTREPRENEUR? WHAT IS IT COSTING THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS? NOT ONE DAM THING. THE EXPENSE FOOTED BY THE INVESTORS, WIN OR LOOSE.
AND THE PLUS IS THAT BARBADIANS WILL BE BETTER OF BY IT GIVEN THE OPPORTUNITIES THAT WILL BE MADE AVAILABLE BY SUCH.
We in Barbados are just One Chavez Away from Venezuela, so keep wishing for the Cuba/Venezuela Model that would plunge Barbados into FULL BLOWN SOCIALISM. Everything Collapses. Socialism IS A SLOW PROCESS OF DETERIORATION, and the best to you who have their Eyes Open that would not be caught unawares and to those Who Refuse to Recognize what is so Blatantly Staring them in the face, my advice is to “WAKE UP BEFORE IT IS TOO LATE”!!
@ Legion of the five thumbs (all of which are fisted in Fumbles’ badword)
Oh oh Alvin the other weathervane just did a high foot body shuffle pun you like Pele!!!! while supporting Fidel!!!
Is their no honour among thieves?
@ Alvin Cummins
You sir are an older man who can rather should understand the balance between progress and the destruction of a coastline.
I remember when…..
I remember when there was a coastline and Windows to the Sea and unfettered beaches where one could walk barring the Yacht club
Progress came and the windows disappeared but now we are faced with the monstrosities of 15 stories on an stretch of beachfront that “lies within a world heritage site ”
I guess that there are for me some issues which I would ask you, a man familiar with the Palm trees along the segregated Belleville, if you cannot see the signs of a New Modernized Belleville, one which clashes with the antiquity upon which the Bridgetown Heritage site is built?
I hear wunna peeples forging enfranchisement treaties with the 5% shoring up Maloney, Bizzy, and all these brick and mortar and Hard Rock Cement Plagiarists but I have never seen you Alvin made a single concerted effort in discussing any topic to empower black people.
Nothing that has anything remotely connected with information technology neither you nor the bunch of wasteful foops called the Demonic Lying Party.
Not a feller ent saying how wunna would like to tek de Empire and repurpose it, with the Assistance of Microsoft, to become an incubator for ICT initiatives.
All uh wunna sucking pooch for Claire (you more liberally than others) Baloney pooch, del Maestro pooch, tuh whichin as a jailbird his pooch may be wider than others, and the single area of greatest enfranchisement for our youth Mugabe wasted $500 MILLION BDS and not one uh wunna ent doing one shy*e bout.
I want you to go to page 116 of Dr Keith Holmes’ book Black Inventors “Crafting over 200 Years of Success”
You will find Dr Cardinal Warde of the Massachusetts Institute listed there. Perform a Google search of his name and patents and you will note that they are ALL jointly held between the goodly doctor and other parties and either MIT or Optron Systems Inc are assignees and a search of the latter site is still looking for investors for patents lodged almost 15
The point that I put to you with your fossil-like promotions, is that you, and our ministers and Cardinal who leads this government’s information and technology thrust are outdated.
In his heyday What Cardinal proposed was cutting edge but our country’s ability to have this translate into the legacy of a new generation, new 150 storey buildings that blocks no one’s view but tower for the entire world to see our Technological Hyatt, is fisted deep in the pooches of these men and women whose pooches you come here to suck.
We are truly effed Alvin Cummins
EXAMPLES OF THE LONG TERM EFFECTS OF SOCIALISM IN OUR MIDST….
Guyana under Forbes Burnham took a turn for Socialism, to the Demise of Free Enterprise and Guyana’s Economy. As a Bajan would say, and he dead and gone a long time and Guyana is still feeling the effects of that Wrong Turn.
Jamaica under Norman Manley took a turn to the LEFT and is still feeling the effects. The Jamaica Dollar used to be Stronger than the US$, now is about 160$ to 1$. THAT IS SOCIALISM IN ACTION AND THEY STILL HAVE NOT RECOVERED.
When I keep Clanging the Bell about Barbados being one Chavez from Venezuela that is only a Current Example, but Guyana and Jamaica are our Caribbean Brothers and Sisters who have gone through Hell because of Failed Socialist Policies and Leadership.
IS THAT WHAT YOU WANT FOR BARBADOS?
When Ya See Ya Neighbor House Burn Down Because They Put A Fire Under It, WOULD YOU BE SO STUPID TO STRIKE A MATCH UNDER YOURS?
“Alvin Cummins August 7, 2016 at 10:57 AM #
@ac,
What Castro and the ordinary people did for Cuba was necessary and needed. One has to remember what Cuba was like before; illiteracy, atrocious health conditions, poverty, under the imperial hand of the Americans who regarded it as the whorehouse of this hemisphere. The suffering of the people before ‘Castro kept the remedy from being considered as excessive. A purgative is necessary to correct constipation. It may be unpleasant but gets the job done. The people have rid themselves of a colonial and imperialist power and are self sufficient. When they can afford it the luxuries will gradually come in. Viva Cuba y la revolution.!!!The people of Venezuela are also being subjected to the type of economic war that was waged to punish Cuba for throwing off the imperialist mantle.”
Despite the ugliness which follows capitalism in its wake; what you have written is absolute hogwash. Cuba is worse off now than then. Go and read the history of Cuba.
One would have to be living on the outskirts of a reality in refenence to Cuba . yes. castro might be regarded as a revolutionary of an era of place and time. However he was and still is unable to deliver the economic stabily promised under the banner of nationalism he promised and for that reason he would be revered by many as a dictator who ran a valiant race and won acheiving and receiving very little in return to his country and people .
The episodes of an exodus of his people to those country which he hated and feared the most tells a profound story.
Notice how Govt is going about with a concerted effort to reach out to the Diaspora. This is not just because of happen stance but a vision for the foreseeable future which would place their hands freely and give them a fair share into the development of barbados which indeed is a sterile way while adressing the issue of nationalism
Another reason being as of yet those living and dwelling on the country has not step up to the plate and delivered enormously in an effort to safeguard the nations jewels even after receiving the mechanisms of free education to do so
Yet there are some who belives that barbados economic and social development would be safe and secure without viable financial support methods whlle fooling themselves into believing that barbados long term securitywould be better served without any further outside investment
The proof is already been seen by Castro Cuba who although beliving in a set ideaology to secure his country future failed miserably to construct a social and economical foundation for his people
I have no trust in Mr. Comissiong galivants for if he or any one can convinced the law courts of the land that a piece of unfinalised legalislation is the law of the land then he would have little or no more problem convincing a society of lesser intelligentce that his prospects for good goverance are correct and are given high predence within the constitution
His intelligence is one which can not be watered down or dismiss easily when placed against lesser mortals
His one forceful and definitive act to convince is synomous to that of walking on water
Alvin ought to know that pre Castro Cuba was similar to present day Dominican Republic,Venezuela,Colombia,all of South and Central America and that is two distinct classes of people.The rotten rich and the dirt poor.The Middle class is small as compared to the majority of Caribbean islands and territories.Cuba is still known to treat its black brothers with a long hand.
Castro to Pocket 92% of Worker Salaries from Foreign Companies…
http://www.breitbart.com/…/2014/…/19/castro-to-pock...
Breitbart News Network
http://media.breitbart.com/media/2014/12/Ra%C3%BAl-Castro-ap.jpg
Yes a very long hand which the blacks would indeed find it very hard to bite off in return for a long sentence in one of Castro dungeons call prison
One would never hear Comisiong speaking about those kinds of atrocities against his black brothers yet he speaks with much disdain against democratic govts who have given him the freedom of expression which allows himto hail Cubas Castro as a hero in his hastened pursuit to take barbados along the same path of hell and destruction
CALL THE CHIEF TOWN PLANNER.
“But now Jones-Lewis, 80, has been unsettled by a decision of her next door neighbour to erect a chain link fence which has partially blocked access to her home.
http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84382/matters-maria-gran-feels-fenced#sthash.OHRmf5g0.dpuf
@ balance
Despite the ugliness which follows capitalism in its wake; what you have written is absolute hogwash. Cuba is worse off now than then. Go and read the history of Cuba.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
How many time does Bushie have to caution you that you CANNOT use terms such as ‘worse off’, ‘better than’ etc UNLESS you can define the GROUNG RULES of life.
How the hell do you know that Cuba is not significantly MORE in line with the true purpose of life than us or anyone else…?
…from CNN?