Bajans Wake up! You are About to Lose Browne’s Beach!

Submitted by DAVID A. COMISSIONG , President, Peoples  Empowerment  Party
Hyatt Hotel hotel coming to Bridgetown?

On Tuesday 26th July 2016 — Barbados’ “Day of National Significance” — notorious Barbadian businessman Mark Maloney, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, and one Patrick Mc Cudden, senior Vice President of the American multi-national company known as Hyatts Hotel and Resorts staged a so-called “signing ceremony” and informed  the Barbadian people that in two months time Hyatts Hotel and Resorts will be commencing the construction of a massive fifteen (15) storey hotel at Carlisle Bay, Lower Bay Street, within the precincts of the UNESCO designated world heritage site of historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, and abutting Barbadians beloved Browne’s Beach.

The foreign businessman, Patrick Mc Cudden, also informed the people of Barbados that all senior management positions at the new hotel will be filled by “expatriates” ! (Apparently, we Barbadians are only qualified to hold low level jobs in this Hyatt hotel!)

In addition, the notorious Mark Maloney advised the Barbadian people that this massive 15 storey hotel is just the beginning of a proliferation of new hotel development in Carlisle Bay!

Well, this is the social disaster that I have been trying to warn  my fellow Barbadians about over the past four and a half years!

As long ago as the 20th of February 2012 I issued a Press Release entitled “After Skeete’s Bay, Browne’s Beach Is Next“, in which I tried to warn Barbadians about an impending plan to construct a number of foreign, “brand name” hotels up and down the length of our beloved Brown’s Beach.

In the public interest I now offer the text of that Press Release for re-publication:–

“As a result of a protest launched by Mac Fingall, Stedson Wiltshire, and other residents of St Philip, the eyes of the Barbadian people are fixed on Skeete’s Bay!

But the Peoples Empowerment Party (PEP) wishes to warn the citizens of Barbados that an even more prominent and culturally important beach is in danger of being taken away from native Barbadians and turned into an enclave for wealthy, white North American and European tourists! We refer to none other than Brown’s Beach – the world famous Brown’s Beach that extends across the length of Carlisle Bay in the parish of St Michael.

All Barbadians know Browne’s Beach. It is reputed to be one of the finest beaches in the world, and, along with Brandon’s Beach, is the beach of choice of the black, working-class people of Barbados.

It is also a beach that is famous in the native literature of Barbados. Our very own national poet laureate – Kamau Brathwaite – virtually grew up on Brown’s beach, and was so shaped by this experience that Brown’s Beach became the spiritual and cultural source and centre of a number of his most important poems.

Go to Browne’s Beach any time of the day and any day of the week, and you will find hundreds of black Barbadians communing with each other, and enjoying this magnificent and priceless component of their birth-right. Indeed, many Barbadians will tell you that Brown’s Beach is their health spa and doctor combined together, for it is the place where they escape from the stresses of life and rejuvenate their spirits.

It is against this background that we in the PEP were recently shocked to learn that one or more business consultants are currently engaged in developing a plan to offer up Browne’s Beach as the location for a number of foreign, brand-name hotel companies to construct opulent five star hotels on this most loved of Barbadian beaches!

The President of the PEP has actually spoken to one of the consultants, and heard the same type of unedifying and self-serving rationalizations that the Canadian capitalist – Paul Doyle – has advanced in relation to the Skeete’s Bay project. According to these people, we Barbadians should be willing to let go of national assets like Brown’s Beach because we are dependent on foreign exchange, and foreign companies are well equipped to market their properties internationally and to bring additional thousands of precious tourists to our shores.

All of these capitalist businessmen talk as though the people of Barbados only exist on the material plane – as though we Barbadians are similar to pigs whose only purpose in life is to be fattened! They all seem to overlook that we are human beings with spiritual, cultural and psychological yearnings and needs!

Well, before this private sector driven idea of turning over Browne’s Beach to “foreign brand-name hotels” gets any further, the PEP is hereby firing a warning shot across the bow of our Ministry of Tourism, and indeed, across the bow of the entire Cabinet. And we are telling them that Browne’s Beach is much too sacred to the native people of Barbados for us to stand idly by and permit it to become an alien zone that is effectively off limits to us.

As it is, we Barbadian people are already sharing Browne’s Beach with a sizeable number of North American and European tourists. And we are happy to do so. But a balance must be maintained, and Browne’s Beach must never be permitted to become one of your typical West Coast beaches – beaches that native Barbadians feel no longer belong to them!

Furthermore, the time has come when we Barbadians must consciously set out to take firm control of our nation, and mould it in accordance with our own ideas, needs and predilections.

We have been operating hotels in Barbados for over 200 years now, and we know about the hotel and tourism industry. We don’t need any foreign tutelage! Let us therefore resolve that future hotel and tourism development will, as far as possible, be based in the construction of locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that radiate the unique culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians.

Thus, if there is to be any further tourism related development along Brown’s Bay, let us ensure that it is owned by and evocative of Barbadians. And let Browne’s Beach always remain a place where Barbadians feel at home!”

192 comments

• this issue would only rattled the Bees but any right thinking person who see the importance for the development would first and foremost focused on the what are the necessity for the investment .
    I was a resident of the area and remember only having limited access to brownes beach by way of the old fish market or a make shift side entrance between the gas station and houses .
    the other area of entrance was by the open window to limited to bathing ,
    But for those who are livid opposers to the development i challenged them to offer any other form of development that would breath life into that run down area called baystreet

• Well Well & Consequences

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/07/30/bar-association-responds-to-inniss/

I am sure Inniss did no research before opening his mouth, having the title of minister does not mean ya knowledgeable in anything…as we can clearly see from the cast of semiliterates in parliament.

Ya can guarantee that neither Maloney, the frontman, always the bridesmaid, never the bride,……Bizzy, Bjerkham, Cow nor Bizzy are financially liquid enough for such a project as a Hyatt brand, they are mere facilitators…not even combined do they have the resources.

They go searching for investors, so they can get their cut, concessions and government contracts to help them acquire loans from the banks, using taxpayer funded guarantees. ..the old shell game, that government ministers are too much of the dummy variety to understand or prevent.

Before you know it, the foreign owners will have concessions for another 40 years like Butch, sucking the life out of the island and 2 future generations of people….the only money coming to the island will be for overheads, the senior management will be all be foreign, more foreign exchange leaving the island….and if the idiot ministers don’t get Bjerkham out of the central bank, there wil be no foreign exchange at all for local people to access.

ACs..yall pimps still dont get that the ministers are a paid a monthly salary for nearly 10 years to do just that…use their goddamn brains and find projects that benefit all the people on the island…not just a few…they are not supposed to challenge or ask the average citizens what to do, that’s why the average citizen hired them, to find ways…what use are the ministers good for, just talking shit and lying to the people….does nit qualify.

The minister’s jobs are not to wait for a few crooks to come up with a scheme to benefit them only and pay a few bribes to politicians for helping them implement that scheme…that is what is happening.

The ministers are not doing their jobs.

• Steupsss
    So far, this government has been big on rolling out “poorly-thought-through” mega plans …and short on getting ANY meaningful shiite done – except for channelling election money to their albino financiers, golden handshakes to their lawyer friends for ‘reading contracts’; finder’s fees to each other; …and lay-offs to the poor and defenceless…

What hotel on what Browne’s beach what??!!

These JA’s cannot even get the Empire fixed; the Transport Board to function; or the garbage picked up…..Shiite man!! People can’t even get little water in some parts…

The MOST likely outcome will be another nasty scandal involving the usual albino gang and their shady companies; another couple million down the drain from the Treasury; and another unfinished eyesore in lower Bay Street….

Only being CURSED by BBE ..can properly explain how a formerly proud and productive country could fall so low…
    But Isaiah 3 explains the whole thing VERY well….

Bushman..the ministers are nauseating and nasty, it is clear they and their pimps and yardfowls believe they are paid by taxpayers for the pleasure of holding titles only….and they do not need to do any meaningful work.

Someone in Barbados was telling me this morning that sanitation is not picking up garbage from dwellings housing tourists, or apartment buildings, they have to hire private people to pick up their garbage….the piece of garbage Dennos Lowe is useless.

Now the government has an opportunity to put Maloney in his place where he belongs and prevent him from breaking the laws…… now and in the future, but given the weak inner core of ministers and politicians as a whole, their propensity to be bribed and sell out….will they use the opportunity to rein in Maloney.

He is desperate for the hotel to be built.,.one can guess what he has been spewing to the investors…I am sure he already took the investor’s money in finder’s fee, so the greedy politicians can kiss that thought goodbye….lol

• If u or any does not want foreign investment encroaching our beloved land . then go to your financial institutions and get the required financing which would develop barbados to be owned and fully franchised by barbadians.
    Or better yet invite as maby of your loyal freinds abd family members to become financial partners investing the planning and development of this 166sqmiles
    Until then your voices rings shallow as useless noises.

http://ow.ly/tgry302Kowc

Yes ACs pimps. ..so that the government ministers can steal the ideas and sell to the same minority crooks, give to family members ir keep fir themselves, so that the bank employees can steal the ideas and sell, give to their family members and keep for themselves…..yall still dont get it, the erosion and theft of people’s ideas, stagnation of creative people, all combined over decades..have degraded the people and island, it has reached the point of no return.

Read…David Weekes

I will never encourage family members or friends to try any investing on the island,,.the politicians and ministers are too corrupt and refuse to STOP selling out their people to a few minority crooks….for bribe money and vehicles.

What part of that is so hard for you to understand. You have reached a point if no return.

The electorate will deal with yall scum, they have endured the nasty, cirruot behaviors for decades, the point of no return.

Should read..

The electorate will deal with yall scum, they have endured the nasty, corrupt behaviors from politicians decades, this is the point of no return……

• I bet fuh all the long talk u put on BU u haven/t got a dime of investment in barbados. But yet u come here everday and acts like you have the keys to the city and knows where every dead body can be found
    It is people like u with no offerings or solutions having the most to say and nothing to offer SMH

• Is there an opportunity for the Chief Townplanner to speak to these issues more pointedly? Why should we be inquiring about an EIA report at this point when we have been told the ground breaking is scheduled in a couple of months. We need to demand accountability from our public officials.

The citizenry must continue to be guardians of our fate. We must not forget CAHILL Energy

Was Four Seasons obligated to pump money into the project? Not to be > confused with the investor. > > On Friday, 29 July 2016, Barbados Underground > >>

ACs..it’s the politicians and ministers supposed to be doing their jobs, not trying to steal from their own people when they try to offer something to make things better in the country..people like myself already saw and know and some have felt what you scum do to your own, why would anyone with intelligence bother to waste theur time feeding beasts, it’s more prudent to leave you to the minorities so they continue to show the world how stupid both black governments have been and still are for 50 years, without fail.

It’s better to watch it all unfold and see if the politicians will ever learn.

The long talk yall pimps should worry about is the one that continues to show how weak and unintelligent the ministers are despite being educated by the taxpayers to the tune of hundreds of millions….all the taxpayers are geting in return is dishonest,corrupt, uncaring traitors to their own people.

That is the long talk….for the next elections.

Don’t forget the poster to stop vote buying,.lol I got it saved especially for yall, it’s been shared in 50 countries so far, how ya like that long talk.

• millertheannunaki

@ David July 30, 2016 at 10:11 AM
    “Was Four Seasons obligated to pump money into the project? Not to be > confused with the investor. > > On Friday, 29 July 2016, Barbados Underground”

Let us ‘rightly’ assume Four Seasons was not obligated to pump money into the Paradise Project just like Wyndham or Hyatt will not be expected to pump money into future white and ‘brown’ tourism elephants.

The question still remains to be answered is who are the ‘real’ investors behind the Brown(e)’s beach aka Hyatt project. We know the Chinese are behind the Sam Lord’s phoenix but which investors or moneylenders really and truly are behind the Bay Street behemoth?

Let me state clearly that there is in principle no real opposition to the much needed infrastructural development of the area which has been in the pipeline for decades going back to the Tom Adams administration.
    But just like the plan to restore the old Empire Theatre building to be an architectural icon dedicated to the local arts and cultural expression who is to say the proposed Hyatt erection of a tower of tall tales is not just another bullshit scam to manipulate the minds of the gullible for pending general elections just like the much touted proposal during the last elections to build a brand new ‘second-hand’ general hospital.

You, David, should believe in the Hyatt investors when Stinkliar succeeds in offloading the Four Season fiasco to so-called eager investors fighting hand over fist for a piece of the action while queuing outside his office since 2012.

It’s a crying shame the same Stinkliar is unable to bring on stream the long-promised Performing Arts Centre at Brandons to be financed with free (grant) money from the Chinese. What a sight it would be to see visitors from both the Hyatt and the soon-to-be sold Four Seasons fiasco having to compete for entry into this much promised Bajan equivalent of the Royal Albert Hall during the Cropover season.

• Does anybody know the status of the draft Antiqueties Bill that has been languishing in abeyance for years now? Just asking!

• While you discuss investments please check out St.lucia new tourism investment
    http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20160729/business/st-lucia-signs-multi-billion-dollar-tourism-project

• @David Congratulations! 1K shares on Facebook.

• The statement said the signing ends three years of negotiations between DSH Caribbean Star Limited and key state agencies Invest Saint Lucia (ISL), the Citizenship by Investment Unit (CIU) and the Development Control Authority (DCA).

• Violet C Beckles

I see People love to talk and enjoy self long talking,
    Most talk of the whitemen doing as they please in Bim dragging the DBLP behind them as they suffer looking for JOBS and never work for the people ,
    Each time they talk of building some things everyone shuts up and wait to see if they will get work,
    selling them self out for long term JOB work until the next building Project ,

The land in which this is all to happen is based on who owns the land and land owners Permission, As we see and look , We can not see who is to be the owner of this land,
    It Maybe William Skinner ? by all talk and not John Beckles who died in the 50s and not John Beckles who died in 1832,
    So now we have that the John Beckles who died in the 1950s sold that Plantation in the 1930s to Beatrice Henry in the 30s Who then leave it to Violet Beckles in the 1985 with Probate . Town and Country makes their money by approving PLANS and not Permission to build, for Mark Cummings know that is fraud and look to step to aside, No matter who have fraud papers still need permission from the owner of the land, No records can been shown as YET that any of the ones in this Hyatt dealing , talking is the owner, Money changing hands is still fraud just like the Oval and the High Court,,
    We will wait who is investing in fraud in Bim with out CLEAR TITLE, a lot of blackmail going on in Bim, white people got this full nigger government in a twist and bent over with eyes shut,
    If DBLP deal with truth and history of FACTS all this can be cleaned up and put the Caribbean in Place ,
    We have the facts and the truth , They know how to reach Me ,

• Why has Denis Lowe recalled Dr. Leo Brewster back to the Coastal Zone Unit after an Audit revealed he stole money from said Unit?

• Oh the joys of the tourist industry. Why do countries dumb down themselves for the sole purpose of chasing profit? Modern day tourism has become a blight and should be restricted.

• Caswell Franklyn

You asked:

“Why has Denis Lowe recalled Dr. Leo Brewster back to the Coastal Zone Unit after an Audit revealed he stole money from said Unit?”

Denis Lowe cannot recall anybody to the Public Service. He could do so if it were a statutory board.

Dr. Brewster was ACCUSED of wrongdoing. He was tried, found guilty and dismissed from the Public Service. He appealed and it was found that the evidence against him could not stand up and he was reinstated.

• Imagine the banks have $1.1b parked in the Central Bank and only a few men have been granted the opportunity to invest $200m and benefit from the best beach in Bim? Madness!!!
    This is just another Villages at Coverley–no originality; lacking context; wrong concept and; “free” public land. Maloney is no visionary. In fact, Maloney reminds me of Trini businessmen–just cut and paste. What also appears obvious is that there is neither a strategic approach to redeveloping Lower Bay Street/Pierhead nor to tourism development. Condominiums, hotel rooms and conference facilities? Sounds tres hodge-podge. One would think that the government would try to make Aquatic Gap a conference enclave.

Liked by 1 person

• @Caswell

Do not forget you are the one who always rail about political interference in the public sector.

• ……….And David, do not forget who is his father. The political class always protects its own. Fumble said that.

And let me set off a fire storm here……….case in point Hillary Clinton…………guilty as hell for contravening rules and regulations regarding state secrets but she gets to skate because the FBI could not find intent. The political class always protects its own.

Case in point……..Bjerkham’s son……..it is ironic that Blood is now singing …..How to get away with murder…….

Maybe that was Dr Brewster’s defence!

• Maybe this is why the acting director bolted and has gone on to greener pastures!

• Here is a comment posted to BU in 2012:

AN INTERNAL AUDIT of the Coastal Zone Management Unit (CZMU) by the Accountant General has unearthed several irregularities.

Investigations by the WEEKEND NATION have revealed that CZMU’s director Dr Leo Brewster was called before the Accountant General to explain, among other things, the awarding of contracts for work within his department without adherence to the Financial Management and Audit Act, or the Financial Rules, 1971.

It was discovered that Brewster and one of his senior officers, hydrographer Lester Toppin, formed a company called Innovations R Us Incorporated in September 2004, and two months later Brewster started awarding work at CZMU to his company.
    The audit revealed that between 2005 and 2007 CZMU paid over $300 000 to Innovations R Us for a variety of services ranging from clearing sites and regrading sand to professional fees that went as high as $53 000.

The Accountant General also discovered that CZMU awarded a contract to Innovations R Us at Graeme Hall Swamp, where equipment was purchased by the private company for CZMU and used by the former to carry out the work. An invoice was later made out in the name of CZMU but attached to an invoice from Innovations R Us stating “fees”.

The Accountant General’s Office could not locate the equipment up to the time of the audit.

The Accountant General also said the private company’s invoices showed it collected VAT from the CZMU but did not pay it into the VAT Department. As a result, it was noted that Innovations R Us was indebted to Government and this should have precluded CZMU from doing business with it.

Amounts in excess of $60 000 per annum were also paid by CZMU to people who were not VAT registrants. The Accountant General cited where CZMU paid a company over $178 000 without any work quotations. The CZMU also made full payment to Innovations R Us for a project in March 2007 that remained incomplete up to the time of the audit.

When contacted, Brewster declined to comment.

However, the WEEKEND NATION was able to obtain a copy of Brewster’s signed responses to the Accountant General’s audit. He stated that CZMU had ended its dealings with Innovations R Us, and that he and his colleague had terminated their association with the company.

A check at the Corporate Registry has confirmed this. Brewster and Toppin removed themselves as directors of R Us on December 1, 2007, and two others took their place on March 28, 2008.

• Posted to BU in 2010:

Leo Brewster is former Permanent Secretary to Prime Minister (Owen Arthur) Mr. Fozlo Brewster’s son. Do you really think the BLP will say anything? Kudos again to David Thompson and the DLP for taking action.

Is Sylvan Greenidge (Royalrumble) before the court again for bad debts? Do you understand how sick and corrupt the whole BLP really is? Is there still a basis for locking up people for debt?

• Here is what DLP yardfowl Wishng in Vain had to say in 2008. The more things change the more they remain the same:

here are many instances of obvious corrption and corrupt acts, some of which lay at the footsteps of the former PM and the former D P M .

The reality is that almost in every department of Gov’t those at the PS level saw corruption taking place by Ministers and either became part of the corruption or supported it to cover for the corrupt Minister, lets us also to realise that in nearly each and every Deapartment of the Gov’t after 14 years in office those positions such as PS and in some cases DPS were made sure to be filled by party hacks, look at Minister Benn’s Ministry the PS is an outright BLP operative and so willing to destroy the Minister refuses to present a draft of a speech after 5 days notice making the Minister attend a function and deliver a speech from the heart, this is counterproductive to our island and our goverence.

The Gov’t has a whole uncompleted list of those that are known to be on the take, and we have ones like Booza King, Leo Brewster, Stanton Alleyne, Hallam Nicholls, Owing Arthur etal that are all known to have stolen our monies and need to be brought to justice in the law courts.

What Minister Lowe speaks of he is qualified to speak about, he has the paperwork to expose from Edghill back down the line, fear not, sadly he is not alone in his discoveries one must also ask how much more has been revealed about the dishonest acts at the SSA involving ALLEYNE, NICHOLLS and LIZ THOMPSON??

It appears that since the first stone was moved that the crabs are trying to find new holes and are making a mad scramble to clear their names and in so doing are spilling their guts to all and sundry, so eager not to be tied into the corrtuption that they all saw and knew was going on but had no one that they could carry their case to because even the PM was known to be corrupt, so do you report a theft to a thief?? Surely not, and this is what existed under mottley and arthur and company.

• I hope after reading the above post that Lowe is squeaky clean. {sarcasm}

This revolving door of corrupt practices need to stop.

Liked by 1 person

• I remember Browns Beach very well as a boy living in Barbados. That’s the first place I learnt how to swim. Browns Beach was actually a meeting place for man Barbadians in the past. I have NO IDEA if it still is. But at the rate that the Government is going just selling off Barbados as though it’s their’s to just do with as they please it truly mind boggling to me. And with all this happening, what YOU the people of Barbados going to do when you no longer what you once knew was Barbados? How can anyone just come into Barbados and dictate how they will allow to work at what jobs, when I’m quite sure that Barbados has many who QUALIFY FOR THE POSITIONS THAT ARE GIVE TO OUTSIDERS? If YOU the people DOES NOTHING, then you’ll continue to get NOTHING. For whatever reason it seems that debating is all that’s ever done. Which at the end of the day gets you NOTHING. But right back to square one.. And the rich is getting richer, while the poor is getting poorer; Check and see how much of the 166 square miles of Barbados, Barbadians owns? I’m quite sure that at the rate the selling will continue to, it will continue to have the name Barbados, but FOREIGN OWNED. This is so sad…. How is it possible that this Government is above the law. And NOTHING is done about all this wrong doings?
    After a while Barbadians aren’t going to have any beaches to go to for sea baths, and to hang out; Wow!!

• Pingback: Bajans Wake up! You are About to Lose Browne’s Beach! | Naked Departure

• ‘Is Sylvan Greenidge (Royalrumble) before the court again for bad debts? Do you understand how sick and corrupt the whole BLP really is? Is there still a basis for locking up people for debt”

Ask the honourable speaker. My advice to Mr Greenidge is to get a lawyer.

You can thank both black governments over the decades for the travesty, thinking that foreign people are more important than their people, treating foreign people better than their own people, thinking local whites, indians, syrians deserve more and better than their own people, should have more money and own all the businesses while their own people are relegated to poverty and being consumers, treaed like crikinals while the minorities are alloed to commit the biggest crimes, without consequences.

…..ya can thank the black politicians and government ministers for the state of the island….they are the leaders, the blame lies squarely on all their corrupt shoulders. ..the people are now responsible for putting an end to the nastiness in politician’s minds.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84023/policewoman-hurt-shocked-arrested

Is this how female police officers are treated by male officers in Barbados, this should be exposed further, females have to stand together to prevent male officers from brutalizing them, if the male officers are so brutal to their female counterparts…imagine what they do to the public.

“Chucky” should be fired, no one needs psychopathic animals on the police force.

Hallam Nicholls seems to have his hands in every corrupt act in Barbados that involves government ministers stealing from the people…..he is now deeply in bed with Peter Harris.

” It appears that since the first stone was moved that the crabs are trying to find new holes and are making a mad scramble to clear their names and in so doing are spilling their guts to all and sundry, so eager not to be tied into the corrtuption that they all saw and knew was going on but had no one that they could carry their case to because even the PM was known to be corrupt, so do you report a theft to a thief?? Surely not, and this is what existed under mottley and arthur and company.”

So why oh why, with all the technology available at everyone’s fingertips amd the blogs abounding are not all these corrupt politicians, people they collude with and their present and past activities against the taxpayers…not being sufficiently exposed.

I personally would nit trust Owen since he has according to him, these deep dark secrets about Mia not being suitable to be PM…yet he refuses to share that info with the electirate, the very people who still pay him a salary and a pension….could it be Mia as his former DPM knows even more about Owen’s corrupt activities, as former PM.

Why cant these government entities and their board of directors get anything right, why must it always end in c5iurt cases and controversy, why dont they like to pay workers their money, why are they all so blighted.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84029/bidc-board

• Caswell Franklyn

I have not forgotten that I rail against political interference in the Public Service. I was merely trying to point out that Dennis Low did not call Brewster back to his job. I gave you a quick synopsis of the fact that are within my knowledge.

Brewster was dismissed from the Public Service. On appeal, he was reinstated by the same Privy Council that released Arleigh James. I do not know if there was political interference, lodge involvement or the old Harrisonian tie. I gave the sanitised version because that is all that I know about this matter.

Oh! by the way, as far as I know Dr. Lowe is an honourable man who just happen to have had a rich mother.

• Oh! by the way, as far as I know Dr. Lowe is an honourable man who just happen to have had a rich mother.

Congratulations to him!

• THE DOOM AND GLOOM SOOTHSAYERS AGAINST BREXIT AND SELF-DETERMINATION ARE WRONG YET AGAIN, EVEN HERE ON BU…

BREXIT BOOM continues: Now 27 Countries Around The World want Trade Deal with UK…

Far From DEEP RECESSION the Outlook for Britain is quite the Opposite even one of Great Expectation and A Boom!

The Viewpoint of many is that when THE UK BOOMS SO WILL THEIR ECONOMY, including their TOURIST INDUSTRY’S.

So you may Consider Asking Yourselves…

WHAT ELSE DO YOU THINK THAT YOU HAVE ERRED ON IN YOUR OUTLOOK CONSIDERING WHAT SOCIALISM DOES TO YOU?

Those who would Stifle INNOVATION, ENTREPRENEURSHIP, and EXPANSION of OPPORTUNITIES as in the Hyatt Project are not Envisioning a Boost of the Dying City of Bridgetown instead their Objective is to Continue to Rivet and Pursue the Destruction of the One responsible for A PHASE of such a Development at the Expense of their own Country.

Governments would have previously given the Green lights to the Development of this Carslile area right down to the Waterfront. Would such an Expansion of Carslile Bay Browns Beach also be Destructive to Bridgetown and Barbados?

There should also be included in this Development more Births in Carslile Bay to Facilitate the Docking of more Tourist Ship and Super Yachts that would also Recover Barbados in every which way as Barbados is an Expensive Destination and we need to Cater to those who can Afford Us.

Those who Oppose Expansions in the First Phase of the Carslile Bay Development by an ENTREPRENEUR are Trying To Doom Barbados not Boom Barbados…

STOP SUPPORTING COLLECTIVISM AS IN SOCIALISM AND SUPPORT INDIVIDUALISM AS IN ENTREPRENEURSHIP…

The Following Link Shares the Insights of those who See the BREXIT as Potential to Prosper their Economies…

http://www.express.co.uk/news/politics/694787/BREXIT-BOOM-27-countries-around-world-want-trade-deal-UK

• ac July 30, 2016 at 9:13 AM #

“If u or any does not want foreign investment encroaching our beloved land, then go to your financial institutions and get the required financing which would develop barbados to be owned and fully franchised by barbadians.”

Are these the same yard-fowls that are now supporting “foreign investment,” when they previously cussed Owen Arthur for encouraging the same?

Shiite, uh shaking muh effing head.

BEWARE OF YARD-FOWLS!!!!!!! They speak with forked tongues.

• Owen Arthur took away the beach behind the Hilton Hotel from us as well as block our path from Brown’s beach to Graves End beach by allowing the owners of Grand Barbados to build a structure across the beach into the sea. The bajans did nothing about that. I used to enjoy walking from Brown’s beach to Accra without having to leave the beach. The owners of the Barbados Cruising Club tried to stop that by building a wall across the beach and the then Prime Minister, Errol Barrow made them take it down. The issue came back up in 1982 after a change in government. Once again the Prime Minister of the day put them in their place and the Mighty Gabby pen the song Jack. The modern day politicians have sold Barbados out I am sick of them!!

Liked by 1 person

• Sir i spoke the truth without hesitation or reason to retract. Any thing i said in that comment on July 30th stands as a testimony as to why this 166 sq is being dominated by foreign investment.A fact that u cannot refute.Barbadians by a large majority have put self first and are now sowing the proverbial seeds
    You can put that in your pipe and smoke it.

You mean the government ministers of both political parties as soon as they are elected by the majority on the island, then put themselves first, while overseeing the wickedness of selling out the island to the highest bidder foreign or local, without fail….right ACs.

Yall have short memories so let me remind you, the contract Fruendel and his Fools signed with the scam artist Canadian Clare Cowen and Bjerkham of Cahill scam fame……gave her the island, land at 6 cents an acre in St. Thomas and the means to launder money through Barbados without any due diligence done on the government’s part…read the contract again…., dumb house niggas.

Whatever happened to the Cahill scam ACs….I remember you being upfront with the idiit Alvin defending giving away the island to the scam artist Cow-an and the crooked cockroaches Bjerkham et al, hiding in the shadows,

• A good indication of the mindset of our elected officials – elected to serve the people – can be had by walking by the parliament car park any Tuesday the House is in session.

• WW&C surely you would remember many things but one thing that is a fact that you and many barbadians prefer to line the pockets of the wealthy banking institutions than lay claim to investing financially in the development of this 166sq.miles.
    If Barbadians put as much effort in opposing foreign investment as they did in providing financial development support for this country the barbados Sir Errol Dreamed of who have been achieved making us masters of our own choosing.
    Instead what we have are ardent belly achers with band aids in hand just in case the necessary surgicial procedures are warranted
    To which i must say that you WW&C have mustered enough political bile to ascertain

• De man is a winnah yuh!

CHAMPION DRIVER on the day and Group 4 two-wheel drive title.

Those are the titles wrested by Barbados’ Mark Maloney as the curtain came down on the second round of the 2016 Seaboard Marine Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC) at the Frankie Boodram Wallerfield International Raceway in Trinidad last weekend.

http://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/84015/maloney-grabs-2wd-title#sthash.UQsTBnwV.dpuf

• millertheannunaki

@ ac July 31, 2016 at 1:00 PM

So ac, you are therefore conceding to the policy position enunciated by OSA (your dear loving partner in arms against MAM) that land should fetch its highest economic value.
    What a two-direction weathercock you are, mother hen of hypocrites!

Confession is good for a tortured soul.
    Privatization is now the prescribed economic medicine for Bim, right ac?

• Not at all calling for barbadis to be sold out to foreign investors or bidders of any sort . just calling a spade a spade and placing blame at the feet of those who rather ignite fires than give meaningful solutions.

• Hants July 31, 2016 at 2:55 PM #

“De man is a winnah yuh!

CHAMPION DRIVER on the day and Group 4 two-wheel drive title.

Those are the titles wrested by Barbados’ Mark Maloney as the curtain came down on the second round of the 2016 Seaboard Marine Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC) at the Frankie Boodram Wallerfield International Raceway in Trinidad last weekend”.

The Past Two Years this was won by a Bajan, James Bets.

I Do Not know Mr. Maloney, But this Much I Do Know Is That “Challenges Make Champions”.

Congratulations BIG TIME To Mr. Maloney Representing Barbados!!

• This Gentleman Understood The Ideology Of The Enemy Of His Time, The Same One That Plagues The Very Fabric Of Our Society Today!!…

https://scontent.cdninstagram.com/t51.2885-15/s320x320/e35/13118332_1622406098080018_76632674_n.jpg?ig_cache_key=MTI0NzA4MjY1MjY5MDI2NjI3Mg%3D%3D.2

• “Topcat July 31, 2016 at 11:09 AM #

Owen Arthur took away the beach behind the Hilton Hotel from us as well as block our path from Brown’s beach to Graves End beach by allowing the owners of Grand Barbados to build a structure across the beach into the sea. The bajans did nothing about that. I used to enjoy walking from Brown’s beach to Accra without having to leave the beach. The owners of the Barbados Cruising Club tried to stop that by building a wall across the beach and the then Prime Minister, Errol Barrow made them take it down. The issue came back up in 1982 after a change in government. Once again the Prime Minister of the day put them in their place and the Mighty Gabby pen the song Jack. The modern day politicians have sold Barbados out I am sick of them!!”

Absolute nonsense. Why do you not check your facts before posting such erroneous information. The structure from Grand Barbados to into the sea was there long before Mr Arthur perhaps dreamed of becoming a politician and was called the Aquatic club. It bordered Graves end beach which we now refer to as pebbles beach on one side and the segregated yacht club on the other. The swimming area was the established home of water polo in Barbados and the established schools held their swimming competitions there. The references to the cruising club and the purported intervention of Mr Barrow is but a figment of the writer’s imagination.

• pieceuhderockyeahright

Dear Lord,

On the right side Legion the weathervane champion of the vacillating DLP and to the left side Sand Nigger the champion of capitalism

Where can one hide? for, not content to kill the topic “Vote B or D”, now one must find another victim

Indeed proof absolu that there are other ways to close down a blog than pass draconian Data Laws 2005 and amendments to such regarding information that can be compelled from service providers

all you have to do is enlist the services of donkeys, aceys and sand niggers and soon, even sages and bush wackers, retire from the fray

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Balance

Me fears that I might be having a senior moment with regard to Topcat s remark

I remember thar there was a limestone wall that extended out from the Barbados Yacht Club? wall into the sea but I am older now and the recall engram for a beach I only went to once in my youth is not as easily retrievable as Brandon, Brighton, Bats Rock, Paradise Fitts Village the latter was mostly rock and not beach so we had to swim past it.

But there was a wall right to the sea to Bay Street Esplanade s side

ACs…yall successfully muddled that comment so only yall knows what it means….I can asure you that the Fruendel lead government giving the conartist Clare Cowan of Cahill scam fame land at 6 cents an acre does not even qualify as selling land to wealthy foreign investors….she had no money, Fruendel and his Idiots knew this.

Why dont Fruendel try letting the black majority people have access to land at 6 cents an acre….so much land in the country is just bush growing.

• To long have the people in Barbados sat back and let non bajans come in to the island and buy up properties and such and nothing has been The people of Barbados need to realize government cares absolutely nothing about them and it is time to take action and stand up for what is right and the best interest for BARBADOS.
    And it all starts at the top with government ,
    The high officials care only about themselves and getting rich and keeping the less fortunate down they have to be a big change in Barbados and the people need to come together
    BOYCOTT THESE OVERSEAS INVESTORS
    How long have Barbados been able to stand on its own
    Government has sold Barbados out and it’s only a matter of time before it comes to pass
    Wake up people of Barbados and take this beautiful island back
    God help you if you don’t things will only get worse .

• and barbara can you honestly state that you have made a genuine effort in the investment of barbados economic development . i can bet that you have spent more money on shopping trips forex that have benefit outside foreign interest .

• Freedom Crier
    Here’s some advice to you, when you’re a suspected propagandist don’t quote articles from known propaganda rags. Who can take the Express seriously when among the “list” of 27 countries are current members of the EU, current members of Caricom and Venezuela–a country that can’t even afford food far less a trade agreement. Fact: The UK will not get better trade deals than the EU has and will get–64m v 445m market.

• balance July 31, 2016 at 4:09 PM #
    The bajans did nothing about that.
    ……………………………………………………………….
    Not only did we do nothing about it, but the same Owen Arthur, and he had no apologies to make,allowed CO Williams to take up Heywoods old road, which was the high water mark,evidenced by the frequent deposits of sand and beach stones on this road, when he was building the Port St Charles Marina, furthermore he was also allowed him to block the continuous path along Heywoods Beach, by the erection of an inlet channel to the marina.
    And we thought that the Royal Barbados Yacht Club restricted beach access was a thing of the past?
    Paling cocks we are, flap our chops and keep a load of noise , while others thread us.

• Barbara July 31, 2016 at 5:03 PM #
    By now you have your answer to to why the leaders of this country treat the masses with such utter disrespect. They know that to stay in power,they can depend on their ISIS like followers , who make up about half of the electorate, to back them to the hilt, even when they know that wrong is being done. And if the percentage does not look favourable, a couple thousand Sir Grantlies, compliments the white shadows, on pooling day should bring home the bacon.

Liked by 1 person

• T@ Balance and Topical.
    I was born in Wellington Street was brought up in Jemmotts Lane, learned to swim at the Harbour Police Jetty and spent all my young days on Browns Beach, played on the beach at Grave’s End, swam at the hot pot there, and learned to swim long distance, because we could not walk from Brown’s Beach to Graves End. We could not even swim between the piles at the Aquatic club; they threw hot water on you so we had to learn to hit off from the esplanade and swim around the aquatIC CLUB AND COME TO SHORE AT GRAVES END. IF YOU WANT TO KNOW THe HIStory OF THOSE DAYS ASK ME. THE CRUISING CLUB WAS FORMED BY ERROL BARROW AND FRIENDS, IN ANSWER TO THE PREJUDICE THAT DID NOT ALLOW BLACK PEOPLE TO BECOME MEMBERS OF THE YACHT CLUB. AS A MATTER OF FACT THE YACHT CLUB WAS KNOWN AS THE ROYAL BARBADOS YACHT CLUB. BARROW MADE THEM REMOVe THE Royal after Independence and made them accept Black people.
    You young people think it was sweet in those days?
    The beach you see now, stretching to the PIERheaD WAS NON EXISTENT. FROM WHERE “LOBSTER ALIVE TO THE PIERhead WAS ALL ROCKS THERE WAS NO BEACH, ALL the area from the Esplanade tp the old Fish market was all rocks. The beach that people want to profit from was the accumulation of sand over the last ten to fifteen years

• @Alvin

Which is the correct spelling Brown’s or Browne’s Beach.

• David Commissiong,
    Don’t forget that the PROPERTY, ENCOMPASSING THE LAND NOW EARMARKED FOR THE hyatt, was owned by a group of Black Businessmen, who bought it and built a number of tourist oriented structures on it; including restaurant, boutiques etc. For years the businesses were not doing any significant business and the owners eventually decided to sell. Why could the business establishment in Barbados have gotten together and pushed the idea of the hotels as noe proposed? Becsuat they wanted Barbados to fail. Why could you not have posited the idea of Beachfront development? No Vision. If others had the vision; no doubt encouraged by nature’s “building” of as substantial beach front, does not matter. What matters is the need for the government to establish “by constitutional change” the right to access by all Bajans to free and unfettered access to ALL beaches. It must be done quickly, not just put in a manifesto for the next election, IT MUST BE DONE NOW. ANY POLITICIAN WHO VOTES AGAINST IT SHOULE NEVER BE ELECTED TO PARLIAMENT. A TWO THIRDS MAJORITY NEEDED FOR CONSTITUTIONAL CHANGE SHOULD BE GUARANTEED.

• @Alvin

You always miss the point, conveniently or otherwise. A large part of the problem is that there is a ack of transparency how these transactions are done. When the public gets to learn about the deal it is signed seal and delivered. How did Maloney hear about the deal with Hyatt? When was the EIA done? Why is a small group of White or high yellow people getting all the work after your DLP promised that 30% will be given to small contractors?

• “I remember thar there was a limestone wall that extended out from the Barbados Yacht Club?”

There was indeed a wall separating the Yacht club from Burkes beach where the Burkes of sailing fame lived. Entrance to this section of the beach was the track next to the Police boys club. This section of the bathing area served as a small fishing facility as well for people from the other side of the Bayland and the Beckles hill and Chelsea road areas.

Liked by 1 person

• Another wall, fifteen stories high, to block Barbadians further from their sea and further obliterate islanders behind more consuming concrete. How dreadful little Miami is becoming, as if the awful assault on the West Coast,…. was never enough.

• There are a few pulp novels written about the Caribbean that tell the story of a foreign businessman who falls in love with an island, and who then bribes a corrupt local politician to secure approval for a hotel project, only to run into a rabble-rousing political activist, usually described as a handsome, British-trained mulatto lawyer. In the novels, the local lawyer mobilizes local opinion against the hotel project (and usually seduces the hotel owner’s wife or girlfriend).
    In other words, we find ourselves in a familiar situation that is as old as the post-war tourist industry in the Caribbean. Predictably, the threat to local use of a beach is being overstated to achieve ‘political’ objectives. Predictably, the government looks bad because it’s public relations strategy will be Too Little, Too Late.
    However, the facts are that (1) Barbados has lost traction with North American tourists since the 1970s, when Canadians formed the leading market segment, (2) given the uncertainties generated by Brexit, it is perilous to depend as heavily as we do on tourist traffic from the UK , so (3) it makes sense to build large (I.e., efficient) US branded hotels that will strengthen the island’s appeal in both the US and Canada. Case closed.

• As a Political Scientist from the Hill would say, “I ready fuh de Revolution”. Who wid me?

• I think Grenada had a Revolution. They ended up killing their own leaders and then kissing the behind of the very conservative Ronald Reagan.

• For your info no I do not take expensive trip as this is not possible when i am trying to make ends meet .
    I am not taking out a loan for a trip .what ever small investment I have is right here in Bim.
    And NO I have not made a big investment in Barbados economy how can I when Goverment have made it this hard for the people of Barbados to have the basic needs
    Goverment is making back door deals with these investors(for a kick back) So call improvements in Barbados and then the people can’t find work as these companies has all power to hire who they want ,and if a bajan gets a job it’s at the bottom of the barrel for minimum wages PLEASE
    So as I said before BOYCOTT OUTSIDE INVESTORS
    SAY NO TO THE POLITICANS WHO HAVE DONE NOTHING FOR YOU BUT SHOW UP AT ELECTION TIME HANDING OUT CORN BEEF AND BISCUIT WITH ALL THE PROMISES AND THEN THEY FORGET AFTER YOU ELECT THEM
    GOVERMENT NEEDS TO BE RESTRUCTURED AND BAJANS WOULD NOT KNOW THEY POTENTIAL THEY HAVE UNLESS THEY MAKE CHANGE

• ” We could not even swim between the piles at the Aquatic club; they threw hot water on you so we had to learn to hit off from the esplanade and swim around the aquatIC CLUB AND COME TO SHORE AT GRAVES END. IF YOU WANT TO KNOW THe HIStory OF THOSE DAYS ASK ME. THE CRUISING CLUB WAS FORMED BY ERROL BARROW AND FRIENDS, IN ANSWER TO THE PREJUDICE THAT DID NOT ALLOW BLACK PEOPLE TO BECOME MEMBERS OF THE YACHT CLUB. AS A MATTER OF FACT THE YACHT CLUB WAS KNOWN AS THE ROYAL BARBADOS YACHT CLUB. BARROW MADE THEM REMOVe THE Royal after Independence and made them accept Black people.
    You young people think it was sweet in those days?”

Except for the above I generally support the other comments in your post. However you had to be a damn good swimmer to unnecessarily hit off from the esplanade and swim around the Aquatic club to Graves end when Burkes Beach. When we played in the esplanade after Sunday school in the fifties the water was so rough that it flowed over the embankment and the edge was always slippery. It was good night nurse if the ball went into the sea. I recall the aquatic pier to be off limits for us unless engaged in swimming sports but you were not prevented from swimming between the piles provided you kept your distance from the Yacht club The cruising club was formed by snobbish professional negrocratic black people including Mr Barrow who thumbed their noses at less well off black people and got a rude awakening when they discovered that the colour of white and not position was the passport to membership of the infamous Yacht club; and speaking subject to correction I believe Mr Barrow’s cousin was the first commodore . We always attributing things to Mr Barrow that he did not do. Your comment that Mr Barrow made the Yacht club remove the Royal charter from its name and made them accept black people is nothing more than pure speculation. To this I ask when was the Royal charter added to the Barbados police force? Finally I do not know whether those days were sweet or sour because though devoid of the materials which children take for granted nowadays since my thought processes did not dwell on such things at the time but I cannot remember going to bed hungry one night for lack of something to eat.

Liked by 1 person

• @Balance,&David,
    David first,
    “small majority” ??? Surely you jest.
    Balance,
    You say:”I cannot remember going to bed hungry one night for lack of something to eat.” I certainly can, because as a poor boy there were many nights like that, and days when I went to Browne’s Beach to help fishermen haul up their boats, to get some of the fish to assuage our hunger. You were indeed fortunate. that is why ou would not have been one of those prevented from swimming between the piles at the Aquatic club. We ever indeed good swimmers; we lived days on end playing and swimming at Graves End Browne’s beach and behind the HaRBOUR POLICE STATION. I USED TO SPEAR FISH, LEAVING FROM THAT SAME SPOT AND SWIMMING AND DIVING ALLL THE WAY DOWN TO PELICAN ISLAND. When I visited behind the Pier Head a few months ago I was astonished at the accumulation of the sand and the beach there, because as a boy there were caves full of fish, and huge blocks of coral limestone forming them in that area. Now it is all beach. the proposed Marina Beach development would have to be built half way out in Carlisle Bay now
    … the colour of white and not position was the passport to membership of the infamous Yacht club;” It also applied to everything else, and continues still. It is what prevented Blacks from becoming prominent business men, no access to financing.
    Barbara: BOYCOTT OUTSIDE INVESTORS. That is a stupid statement. NO country ever boycott outside investors. Foreign exchange is needed to buy goods from outside the country. IF YOU BUY A CAR, IT HAS TO BE PAID FOR WITH FOREIGN EXCHANGE, WHICH HAS TO BE BROUGHT INTO THE COUNTRY. WHERE ELSE WOULD IT COME FROM BUT FROM FOREIGN INVESTORS.We need to open our eyes and understand the world around us and how it operates. The idiots in England who voted Brexit are now understanding the implications. They are now understanding that they will not, among other things have unfettered access to all of Europe. They may have to get visas to travel to certain countries, for instance. All agreements will have to be renegotiated. This happens when people are insular and uninformed. Like so many in Barbados.

• But barbara what a stupid and nonsenical statement
    Needless to say you have deliberately pointed blame attributed to six years of goverance claiming “hard times” while overlooking those years in which you could have made a difference for betterment

• @David,
    How could you expect Hyatt to finance the building of 4 seasons a rival? You well know how business operates. What transparency you talking about. Since when have any business deals; especially in the Private sector been transparent? We only knew about the sale of BS&T when the proxy war, to drive up the price of the shares, took place . Why would you expect the decision to build the Hyatt be revealed until it is finalized? or close to being finalized. Even now I don’t thin the sale of the land across the road,by the church authorities, has been completed. Nothing has stopped those with vision, who owned the property from doing what the new investors plan to do. Mrs Ram bought the property that was a former bond house and thaT HAD BEEN ADVERTISED FOR SALE FOR A NUMBER OF YEARS, but which has been kept as a bond house. Why was Casa Grande not constructed there? Because the beach had not yet been formed.

• @David,
    Ask for the EIA study.This is what should be agitated for. I’ll bet that none has been carried out.The concessions will be granted because it fall within the ambit of the Special Development Areas Act.

• Citizenship by investment programmes may be considered as economic development strategies, designed to achieve the objective of enhancing a country’s attractiveness to INTERNATIONAL ENTREPRENEURS and INVESTORS and to create more favorable conditions for FOREIGN DIRECT INVESTMENTS.

On January 7, 2016 an article entitled: “St Lucia’s Citizenship by Investment Programme Officially Opens for Business,” was posted to BU by “caribbeantradelaw.”

The same consortium of yard-fowls who are now supporting foreign investment, wrote the following in response to the above mentioned article:

“ac January 10, 2016 at 9:15 AM #: Citizenship by investment for small islands are short term solutions with inherent long term problems with a cause to question a massive turnover of a countries wealth in a inappropriate manner for secondary citizenship. Although the program in its purest form of distribution (contains) or stems much need economic instability, The negatives for long term fall out are real and cannot be overlooked as the natives become more aware of callous wealth taking political and financial leverage eliminating the influence or political interest of the native. It requires a balancing act which most small island govts does not have the vision or wherewithal to undertake.”

BEWARE OF YARD-FOWLS!!!!!!!

• To get more information about the Hyatt done deal speak to Stuart Layne

Render unto Caesar the Things that are of Caesar and unto God the things that are of God

But Sunday I gine be high up in de church pews singing lustily…

I dun wid dat…

• I have just viewed this extremely informative two-part documentary entitled: People & Power report, written by the veteran African journalist, Sorious Samura. It touches on the discussion that we have conducted on this subject. The second part of the report is revelatory as it cites one African country as being a trailblazer to all developing countries and what may be achieved when a country has at its heart visionary leadership.

http://www.aljazeera.com/programmes/peopleandpower/2014/08/battle-africa-201482713847903369.html

• “Nothing has stopped those with vision, who owned the property from doing what the new investors plan to do. Mrs Ram bought the property that was a former bond house and thaT HAD BEEN ADVERTISED FOR SALE FOR A NUMBER OF YEARS, but which has been kept as a bond house. Why was Casa Grande not constructed there? Because the beach had not yet been formed”

You can be as sure as night followeth day that Mrs Ram is going to build a hotel there too as soon as construction for foreign development in the area is approved.

Liked by 1 person

• pieceuhderockyeahright

@ Balance

I hope she doan build one dat look like the one near de airport.

I was carrying some people for an island tour when I used to drive heheheheh and I almost introduce dem to that place as the new Dodds Prison.

Serious my man!!! If I could not still hear the planes I would have told a lie!!!

• a political knucklehead is when a desperate blp yardfowl goes to an extreme to reference commentary from an article on citizenship which does not in anyway correlates to building a hotel by foreign investment who are not seeking citizenship as a guaranteed offer for their investment .
    Any how suffice to say such desperation is taken right out of the pages of the despot Mia Mottley book who also tried to hoodwinked the nation into believing that the Minister reinstatement of wages was a pay hike

• IN THE NUT-SHELL, “THE WHOLE PURPOSE OF THIS DEBATE ON THE CHARSLILE BAY DEVELOPMENT…

LEARN FROM THE GENTLEMAN WHO UNDERSTOOD THE IDEOLOGY OF THE ENEMY OF HIS TIME AND OUR TIME!!!

https://scontent.cdninstagram.com/t51.2885-15/s320x320/e35/13118332_1622406098080018_76632674_n.jpg?ig_cache_key=MTI0NzA4MjY1MjY5MDI2NjI3Mg%3D%3D.2

• Pingback: 12 Storey Hyatt Hotel to be Built on Bridgetown UNESCO World Heritage Site | Barbados Underground

• Imagine that, the most ignorant set of yard-fowls who “CONTINUOUSLY” and “CONSISTENTLY” post SHIITE to BU, calling someone a “political knucklehead.”

It is a known fact that you at first write to support or disapprove of an issue, and then subsequently support or approve of it according to how your POLITICAL MASTERS view that issue. This is demonstrative of being a “POLITICAL HYPOCRITE,” or more precisely, a “POLITICAL PROSTITUTE.”

Jackasses, I have told you on numerous occasions that comprehension and logic continues to elude you. You cannot dispute the fact that foreign investment, in whatever form it is presented, is foreign investment, irrespective of being based on citizenship or not.

You cussed Owen Arthur’s foreign investment policies and now write in support of similar policies undertaken by the DLP, because it is politically expedient for you to do so.

• Any how suffice to say such desperation is taken right out of the pages of the despot Freundel Stuart’s book who also tried to hoodwinked the nation into believing that Michael Carrington is an honest man who did not steal his client’s funds (although the court case proved otherwise) and all he needed to do was get a lawyer.

• “I certainly can, because as a poor boy there were many nights like that, and days when I went to Browne’s Beach to help fishermen haul up their boats, to get some of the fish to assuage our hunger. You were indeed fortunate.”

Well perhaps then I was fortunate because my next door neighbour was a fisherman and my cousin used to do fishpotting and my great grandmother used to sell pudding in souse from buckets one with souse in her hand and the other with the pudding skilfully balanced on her head. I used to drink lots of black pudding water. we normally ate after we came in from playing on ympc or notre dame pastures.

• pieceuhderockyeahright August 1, 2016 at 5:59 PM #

@ Balance

I hope she doan build one dat look like the one near de airport.

Whatever she builds you can be sure it would be cheap and within budget

• Pingback: Dear David Comissiong, time mek a change | Barbados Underground

• lots of beach fronts got close off, I think the hotel owners, and the people with money coming into the country and buying up the beach areas, along with the property. The government doing nothing about it. Sooner or later, bajans will have no beach to go too

• Cheap, within budget AND a health hazard!

Liked by 1 person

• Pingback: What is “National Development”? | Barbados Underground

• Frederick Moses Osadjere

Bajans ought to know by now that their little rock paradise cannot remain the way it is forever. The whole talk about preservation, conservation and access for black Barbadian s to beaches around their island makes sense in a way but Barbadians only need to look at an island like Malta and ask themselves how come an island of similar size and population is growing and their beloved Barbados is in economic stagnation. Honestly Barbadians need to be grateful that anybody still wants to invest in their island at all. Hyatt should take their business elsewhere and leave black Barbadians to enjoy their Browne’s beach. Funny is the word!

• Can oyu even visualize a 15 story building at that site?

On Wed, Aug 17, 2016 at 10:16 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

Join in the discussion, you never know how expressing your view may make a difference.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s