Mark Cummins - Chief Town Planner Photo credit: Nation
Mark Cummins – Chief Town Planner Photo credit: Nation

DAVID A. COMISSIONG, LLB (U.W.I) L.E.C (Hugh Wooding Law School)

Attorney-at-Law

4th August 2016

Mr. Mark Cummins

Chief Town Planner

Town and Country Development Planning Office

The Garrison, St. Michael

Dear Sir

Re: The proposed construction of a 15 storey Hyatt Hotel at Carlisle Bay

I write to you in my capacity as a Citizen of Barbados.

As a result of news reports published in the Nation and Advocate newspapers of Wednesday 27th July 2016, I learnt that on Tuesday the 26th of July 2016 โ€“ Barbadosโ€™ โ€œDay of National Significanceโ€ โ€“ Barbadian businessman Mark Maloney, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, and one Patrick Mc Cudden, senior Vice President of the American multi-national company known as Hyatts Hotel and Resorts, staged a so-called โ€œsigning ceremonyโ€ and informed the Barbadian people that in two months time Hyatts Hotel and Resorts and its local partner, Visions Development Inc. (Mr. Mark Maloneyโ€™s company), will be commencing the construction of a massive fifteen (15) storey hotel at Carlisle Bay, Lower Bay Street, within the precincts of the UNESCO designated world heritage site of historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, and abutting Barbadiansโ€™ beloved Browneโ€™s Beach.

And subsequently, in the Wednesday 2rd August 2016 Editorial of the Nation Newspaper, I (and all other Barbadians) were informed by the Nationโ€™s editorial writer that this project had received the โ€œall-clearโ€ from the relevant authority, and had met โ€œa range of stringent stipulations, whether environmental or structuralโ€.

As a result of the foregoing, I made my way to the Town and Country Development Planning Office on the afternoon of Wednesday 3rd August 2016 and asked to see the Public Register in which you are required (under Section 17 of the Town and Country Planning Act) to record information relating to applications for planning permission, โ€œincluding information as to the manner in which such applications have been dealt with.โ€

As a result of perusing the Public Register I discovered that the relevant application for permission to erect the said hotel was filed by Visions Development Inc. on the 30th of March 2015, and that it bears application number 0445/03/2015B.

I also discovered that the section of the Public Register which deals with โ€œConsultationsโ€ carried out in relation to the Application, and the section which records the โ€œDecisionsโ€ made in respect of the said Application, were both BLANK !

So much then for the Nation Newspaperโ€™s Editorial writerโ€™s assertion that the project had met a range of stipulations and had received the โ€œall-clear.โ€

(One is left to wonder why the Nation Newspaper has published such misleading information about this matter ! One is also left to wonder how Mark Maloney– in the presence of Ministers Sealy and Sinckler– could state that the construction of the hotel would DEFINITELY be starting in two months time! Clearly something is not right here ! )

Now, since it is clear that the โ€œConsultationโ€ process is not yet over, and that no decision has yet been made in relation to this application to erect a 15 storey Hyatt hotel at Carlisle Bay, I wish to draw the following to your attention :-

1) Some five (5) years ago I was approached by the prominent Barbadian business consultant who is behind this scheme of constructing โ€œforeign brand-name hotelsโ€ in Carlisle Bay, and he informed me that Browneโ€™s Beach is much too valuable an asset to be reserved for the Barbadian people, and that the plan is to construct five or six โ€œforeign brand-name hotelsโ€ right across the length of Browneโ€™s Beach.

2) Furthermore, during the 26th of July 2016 โ€œsigning ceremonyโ€, Mr. Mark Maloney advised the Barbadian people that the massive 15 storey Hyatt hotel is just the beginning of a proliferation of new hotel development in Carlisle Bay!

3) Browneโ€™s Beach is the central and extensive beach embedded in Carlisle Bay, and is an historic beach that is of tremendous value and service to the people of Barbados in general, and to the poor predominantly black working-class Barbadians who inhabit the many over-crowded, and in some cases slum-like, neighbouring communities of the City of Bridgetown and the greater St. Michael area. Indeed, for many impoverished and over-stressed working-class Barbadians Browneโ€™s Beach is their place of refuge and relaxation, their natural spa and health clinic!

4) The construction of a massive 15 storey Hyatt hotel in Carlisle Bay (abutting Browneโ€™s Beach) โ€“ to say nothing of the other 4 or 5 โ€œforeign brand-name hotelsโ€ that are being planned for Browneโ€™s Beach โ€“ is certain to destroy the very character of Browneโ€™s Beach and to turn it into an โ€œalien zoneโ€ in which the ordinary Barbadian no longer feels comfortable or welcome. In other words, we will run the risk of Browneโ€™s Beach being transformed into one of your typical West Coast beaches โ€“ beaches that native Barbadians feel no longer belong to them.

5) There is also the issue of the height and size of the proposed Hyatt hotel. The highest building in Barbados is the Central Bank โ€“ a building that is some nine storeys tall. Is it really sensible to erect in Carlisle Bay, within the precincts of our UNESCO designated World Heritage site, an American hotel that will dwarf and dominate every other building in Bridgetown? Please bear in mind that this hotel will be more than one and a half times the height of the Central Bank of Barbados! Wonโ€™t it significantly undermine the World heritage status of historic Bridgetown and its Garrison?

6) And how do you engage in the type of deep and extensive pile-driving that will be required to construct a foundation for a towering 15 storey building without emitting vibrations that will do serious damage to such neighbouring historic buildings as the Bethel Methodist Church, St. Patrickโ€™s Cathedral and St. Paulโ€™s Anglican Church?

In light of the foregoing I am hereby requesting โ€“ nay, demanding โ€“ that this application for Town and Country Planning permission to construct this proposed 15 storey hotel be subjected to a most rigorous and comprehensive โ€œEnvironmental Impact Assessmentโ€ procedure, inclusive of a โ€œSocial Impact Assessmentโ€ study.

I have learnt from the News Media that some consultations are on-going with the Barbados National Trust in relation to the implications of the proposed project for Bridgetownโ€™s UNESCO world heritage site status.

However, what I am requesting goes way beyond such a narrowly based impact assessment!

I am requesting โ€“ first and foremost โ€“ that the people of the neighbouring communities be consulted in Town Hall meetings, and through relevant sociological surveys and assessments. And when I refer to โ€œthe neighbouring communitiesโ€ I am referring to virtually all of the residential communities of the City of Bridgetown and southern St. Michael. I am also requesting that consultations be held with the churches and the various community groups and social clubs of the affected communities, as well as with the several environmental and heritage preservation organizations of Barbados.

I am also requesting serious and wide-ranging investigations of the possible dangers to other buildings in the vicinity of the proposed hotel, as well asย  an investigation into possible negative impacts on the aesthetics and amenities of the entire city of Bridgetown. ( And while you are at it, perhaps you can draw to the attention of your governmental colleague, the Chief Immigration Officer, the negative implications ofย  the Hyatt Hotel’s vice- President’s bold assertion that ALL senior posts at the hotel will initially be filled by expatriates !)

And even through it may only be the opinion of one Citizen of Barbados, please permit me to state for the record that I am convinced that Barbados will be making a grave mistake if it permits such a priceless national asset as Browneโ€™s beach to fall into the hands of foreign multi-national companies and to become the location of out-sized foreign-owned hotels, rather than to be reserved for indigenous Barbadian entrepreneurs and for locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that fit snugly into the national environment, and that radiate the unique charm, culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians!

It is with this conviction that I now hereby call upon you and the Town and Country Development Planning Office to engage in the Environmental Impact Assessment measures outlined and requested above in relation to the Town and Country Planning application reference number 0445/03/2015B.

I now look forward to hearing from you as a matter of urgency.

Yours faithfully,

David A. Comissiong

P.S Please take note that in light of the dire implications that this matter has for the entire population of Barbados, I am taking the liberty of sharing the contents of this letter with my fellow citizens.

202 responses to “Letter Marked Urgent Dispatched to Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins From David Comissiong”

1. All this demon DLP Government need to control the Church is a leash, some Priests are already wearing a Dog Collar .

2. Violet C Beckles Avatar
    Violet C Beckles

The main crooks in Barbados are always in the NEWS and its never about nothing good .

3. The editor got to scratch back the Government don’t forget the favours from the courts. DC is absolutely correct and I will write in due course. Let the yard fowls who have sat and watch this country regress only because they were enjoying some of the fatted calf cackel.

4. A word to sensible people who make sensible contributions to this site. Ignore the ‘can’t see’ who is incapable of reading anything but making comments here. Question whose agenda they are adhering to.
    It is a known fact that tourists don’t leave their big cities to come here to see the same things they left, but is looking to savor some of our hospitality and whatever goodness we have to share.
    Pity those of them who miss all the points placed before them that they cannot see but choose to castigate simple, valid and reasonable questions about this monstrosity that is doomed to fail.
    Does anyone think that Stinkler, RICHard or Markey is a part of this (just like Sandals) for freeness or a good name?
    Big money is involved for all the wrong people.
    Did any of the ‘can’t see’ jokers make any proposals for or against that outlandish hotel? Will any of them speak out about the Solar Panel farm slated for Waterfords (that the owners have not been paid for the acquired lands just like Bushy Park) that there are Bajans are more than qualified to do the same projects that fraudster Canadians (they were in shackles recently for fraud) are given the concessions to build.
    Let the ‘can’t see’ use their connections to get in on the ground floor for some of the money that will undoubtedly be thrown around to the right people.

5. Carmichael Ashby Avatar
    Carmichael Ashby

BARBADIANS we are a proud people ,we have to stop this kind of stupid thinking. Stop letting people come to our beautiful island to destroy our culture.. don’t take out your belly and stuff it with trash..STOP THEM…

6. @ balance
    Now that the emotion in Mr Commissiongโ€™s first esposure has been subsumed by a more balanced and reasoned argument against the project I am in agreement with Mr Brathwaiteโ€™s comments and am re-thinking my shortsighted support for such construction.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Bushie will translate this post into Bajan English….

After further thought, i now realise that I was talking a roll of shiite in support of the idiotic plan by Maloney to build a hotel on Bay Street. Wuh If it is even obvious to Brathwaite that this is shiite …I would have had to be completely off-balanced in my initial stance….probably caused by being stale drunk from kadooment festivities…
    I wist to now apologise to all rational BU bloggers who take my posts seriously.

**** End of statement from BU blogger ‘balance’ ***

7. This is a very cogent letter by Commissiong. The man, unlike the Nation, has a comprehensive understanding of the issues: Noise, dust, townscape, massing, density, lack of public consultation, heritage, social impact, staffing, recruitment and training, a cohesive strategy plan etc etc.

8. Very interesting. One BILLION dollars.

“The tourism executive would not disclose the full plan for the Carlisle Bay area development, but said it would be led primarily by private sector investment.

However, when pressed, Layne said that development alone could easily total about US$1 billion in investment.

He gave the assurance that it would be done in a way that would not โ€œoverpowerโ€ or take away from the natural use of the beach along the Carlisle Bay corridor.”

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/2016/08/05/bti-boss-predicts-full-employment-by-2019/

9. One billion in tourism, think about it.

10. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Sounds more like money laundering to me.

11. Bernard Codrington. Avatar
    Bernard Codrington.

Good exposition. Let us hope that this is another piece of kite flying to test Barbadian intelligence and determination to own and defend its territory and emancipation. The vision of a free and just society is still very much alive.

12. Bush Tea August 4, 2016 at 9:37 PM #
    Bushie is slowly, but surely accumulating LOADS of respect for David Come-and-sing-a-song.
    Like Caswell, he made some mistakes along the way, but shiite manโ€ฆ. the fellow is singing loud and clear โ€ฆ.. and he has balls to matchโ€ฆ.

================================
    Not so fast with the forgiveness Bushie, as implicit.

We must remember that this Commisiong was a member of a BLP administration while neo-liberalism was at its apex in Barbados.

Everything was to be sold to the highest bidder.

And he said not a critical word to his family and friends then in government.

This hotel project is only another step in trying to give life to a dead system.

Commissiong has a lot to answer for.

We fall into difficulties when we too quickly forgive and forget without a structure for a very severe penalty for another infraction.

Separately

People like to talk about ‘balance’. Both as a monitor and more generally

When a government could hide such a project from the people of Barbados until it seemingly becomes a fait accompli, what balance has there been?

It should tell us that either criminality and/or a desire to avoid the ire of the public is at work.

How could there be balance when this situation was unbalanced from the get go?

Why are the public expected to show a higher level of maturity than the wicked political elites?

Balance what?

13. Commissiong has become a real jackass with too much time on his hands. We don’t hold a brief for Maloney a typical money hungry businessman yet it is obvious Hyatt brings jobs and economic benefit Barbados desperately needs. Commisiong’s position on the uneven distribution of wealth is sound but running away foreign investment is not going to redress that evil.

Commisiong must sit down and reflect while the workers unions get prepared to confront him if he tries to block Hyatt. He was successful in his bid to stop passport fingerprinting and that will embolden him to use the law courts to block Hyatt. Government and workers should ready themselves to dismiss the mischievous cocktail Commisiong is brewing.

Hyatt will have all right to leave Barbados and spend their one hundred million in foreign exchange elsewhere if Commisong gets away with his self serving crap. His mean spirited effort to block Hyatt and hundreds of jobs for poor black people is the same thing as Bizzy arrogantly trying to stop the Deltro investment in Waterford.

The forthright response by Deltro to Bizzy’s selfish rant is fantastic deserving of the highest praise. The only reason Bizzy is against the solar plant in Waterford is because he doesn’t have a horse in the race to make buckets of money for himself. His protests have nothing whatsoever to do with justice or looking out for local investors and people searching for work to feed their families.

14. There is an artist’s impression of the entire Pierhead Development Project which was published as a supplement in the local press in 1992.It indicated usage of the land area all the way up to the esplanade and included the proposed marina.No high rise hotel was included however the plan did indicate a hotel somewhere in the area of the Pierhead itself.I think the contact name given was Beale at BS&T and who I think joined the diplomatic service subsequently.

15. Come on, people. Tourism is currently the only economic engine in Barbados that is firing and that engine everyone agrees needs some some new bearings and an oil change. An internationally known and respected brand name like Hyatt can only add to our marketability, generate jobs, earn some (whatever) foreign exchange, enlarge our engine capacity and in general contribute to the growth of the economy.

If Hyatt is willing to invest, we have to find a way to make it happen for the good of the country without selling our soul and alienating our people by locating it where proposed.

My solution:

Relocate Government HQ, which inappropriately sits opposite the world class beach Carlisle Bay, to Glendairy (you can renovate if you like).

Build the Hyatt hotel on that location.

The benefits will be: The PM and the MF will be relocated to a more (symbolically) suitable location.

The hotel will be less intrusive, located on the land side of Bay Street and locals and tourists will have uninhibited access to the beach, just like Ipanema Beach in Brazil and Miamia Beach in Florida, among others.

Barbados’ need for improvement in its tourism plant and economy will be addressed and Carlisle Bay will be preserved.

Win, win.

16. While the house niggers in Barbados sell out the country to foreigners

these same people are murdering Black people abroad

Korryn Gaines murdered, in her own house, in Maryland we think

her 5 year old son also shot

all for unpaid traffic tickets

to end 5 hour stand off

her words being prophetic

These are the ways of what the professor has called albino-centric thinking

17. @ David, between me an you I is a Bajan that does read nuff nuff nuff. lol

I read that Stuart Layne statement. “However, when pressed, Layne said that development alone could easily total about US$1 billion in investment.”

The one billion USA dollars is the estimated investment in Carlisle Bay?

Hyatt hotel is only $100 million.

Why can’t the public be shown the PRELIMINARY conceptual “plans” for the “Investments in Carlisle Bay?

18. Brown’s beach is a beautiful flat wide beach, one of the best in the Caribbean. It is in town though and a place where many people congregate … the good, the “Rasshole” crew and the vagrants. Good luck to any hotel that wishes to set up there. The part of the beach beyond the high water mark could be made private by law … that might help. Building high rise structures on the beach front side of the road can NEVER be a good idea.

19. “Hyatt will have all right to leave Barbados and spend their one hundred million in foreign exchange elsewhere if Commisong gets away with his self serving crap. His mean spirited effort to block Hyatt and hundreds of jobs for poor black people is the same thing as Bizzy arrogantly trying to stop the Deltro investment in Waterford.”

We have a problem with reading. Where is it written that Hyatt is investing $200m in the project?

20. Musing all u said is true but to also may i add that when investors get wind of Comissiong political leanings it would not take much for investors to back out especially if populace sentiments backs his views

21. BAF

What become of you, man?

22. @BAFBFP,

good to see you here. Hope all is well.

23. @musing aka waiting

Will Hyatt be investing 100 million jackass?

How are we sure the forex from reservations will reack Barbados, same question can be directed to Sandals.

24. Instead of thumbing down comments, bloggers would do better by refuting through evidence. I repeat, where is it written/reported that Hyatt investing $200m or any money at all?

25. @ Pacha
    Not so fast with the forgiveness Bushie, as implicit.
    Who is perfect? …Bushie is anxious to forgive at any opportunity.. (even if not forget… ๐Ÿ™‚ )
    Caswell did a lotta shiite too …. he was Simmons’ PA when most of the foundational damage was done to our justice system.
    The difference with these two seems to be that they LEARNT from their errors… and are COMMITTED to redress the wrongs of which they are INTIMATELY aware.

@ Hants
    ‘One billion dollars’ Bushie’s ass…
    Easiest trick is to wave some dollars in front of a hungry prostitute … who then usually becomes much more compliant in facilitating your carnal desires…
    This is just another LOCAL albino scheme to make some quick dollars off the backs of witless Bajan brass bowls. After all, money stolen from our Treasury is just ‘government money’… ent it? …so we need not bother…

EXACTLY like CAHILL, the usual suspects behind the scenes have enlisted the face of some lackey foreigner to become their overseas ‘front-man’ for their nefarious scheme. Millions will be expended in consultancies, legal fees, finders fees, interest, and management fees, and in plain bribery ….before the whole shiite grinds to the usual halt…
    …like Four Seasons – where MANY millionaires were made
    …like Almond – where we (the National Treasury) spent MILLIONS for shiite
    …like the Foul Bay hotel; the Super Sugar Factory; the Japanese wave to energy scheme; the local call centre that LIME waved last time they wanted to screw us….

Look, we probably can’t stop this from happening, …because FOOLS AND THEIR MONIES ARE SOON PARTED…
    …But SHIITE MAN…. how can we be so brass bowl asinine ….as to WELCOME being raped again and again and again…?

26. I have mentioned consistently, in this forum, that I do not like yard-fowls. Their reliance on political opportunism and political expediency makes it extremely difficult for them to hold a genuine, steadfast opinion on any issue.

On June 28, 2015, the DLP pseudonym, โ€œDouglas,โ€ submitted an article to BU entitled: โ€œBring the Facts Caswell Franklyn! We Live in a Real World,โ€ which was written in response to Caswellโ€™s GENUINE CONCERN about poverty in Barbados.

In an effort to justify and support their DLP yard-fowl โ€œcolleagueโ€ and admonish Caswell (because it was political expedient), the ACs wrote the following:

โ€œac June 28, 2015 at 6:13 PM #: Attack what! but if Caswell puts himself out there yes he would be hung out to dry on a bed of hot wooden coals. His history as being TWO FACED and a POLITICAL OPPORTUNIST depending which side the wind is blowing in his favor is well known across town and countryโ€ฆ.โ€

However, I was immediately flabbergasted when I read the accolades being conferred on Caswell, by the ACs, as exhibited in the below comments:

โ€œac August 5, 2016 at 6:25 AM #: NO bush sh..t Comissiong is not a Caswell for all the concerns that Caswell has I would be the FIRST TO SAY that his CONCERNS are GENUINE and are not liquefied with an ideology that are in alignment or closely tied to Socialist of Communist regimesโ€ฆ.โ€

Is it that, in this instance, Commisiong is the greater of โ€œtwo evils,โ€ hence their support for Caswell?

BEWARE OF YARD-FOWLS!!!!!!

27. @ Musings, Not so fast. Are you also proposing that the Trade Unions be in favour of the Hyatt bringing in workers for the management positions when these skills exist in abundance in Barbados? Why did you leave out this salient piece information regarding the intended workforce for the Hyatt from your post? Do you think that our people should be content with working as gardeners, maids and housekeeper? Next you will be in agreements that no students should be sent to the UWI to study.

28. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

In an earlier post about this Bay Street matter, de ole man submitted one line which read “ask Stuart Layne”

One liners, from the ole man, are a rarity.

I have found that many people are educated but few people have common sense and that “seeing” who the players are, and who the scoundrels are, and who are the beneficiaries is just a matter of laying out the jigsaw puzzle pieces and voila – your picture appears because, as the ole peeple say’ “you can hide and buy land, but you cannot hide and wuk it”

Most if not all of that area is vested in the BTII and given the Heywoods fiasco such should shed some light on how the children of “Abundant Life” note carefully that de ole man does not say “The Children of GOD”.

Over time, I have started to realise that the nature of man is crafted in sin and that, irrespective of who we pretend to be to the world, what we really are ultimately comes through for all to see.

The problem that we are facing is quite a simple one really, I liken it to “latching” or a baby feeding on a bubby.

Many mothers can tell you what type of man or woman their child is going to turn out to be merely by their temperament with the nipple or teat.

Some babies understand “enough” and that their is no more milk while others feed voraciously and suck till “they bring blood”

What we are seeing manifest here is such voracious parasites that bring blood.

So I get the job of “Minister” whether Political or episcopal, and that entitles me to my mother’s bubby as well as a number of surrogate bubbies, call government coffers, so even a dufus like Patrick Todd, when thusly empowered, understands bubby milk from the “fatted cow” And they milk it dry.

Men like Lane, even though “invested” with the Spirit of GOD, after a while forsake that GOD, for Mammon AND, and here is the clincher, if those who are purportedly armed with the Armour that WILL NOT BE DENTED by the assault of the “enemy”, if these men fall, what they of the philistines among us?

It is now the unspoken aspiration of ALL CITIZENS to get a government job because, once we are there, we can start to do what a government job does “give one unfettered access to the taxman’s $$”

The thing about these government jobs that Brewster at CMZU knew, AND Downlowe knew AND ESTWICK knew and the whole bunch of them knew, is that it gives you the ability to teif what, entrepreneurs and some private sector people HAVE TO WORK FOR, $$ but in government it is FREE $$.

As a nation, with this one horse called tourism, whether it is this Carlisle bay fiasco, or any other tourism scam, or BWA new building scam or whatever is the flavour of the day, government has become the avenue of “risk free” business ventures.

For, irrespective of what the cuntry looses, you, the enterprising “entrepreneurial government worker” will win.

We are truly effed!!!

29. Please Respond
    May I, a citizen of Barbados, and fellow citizens become a signatory of this letter to the Chief Town Planner?

30. Walter Blackman Avatar

Our national development has been practically “unplanned” and “reactionary”.

Today, the society and the economy appear to be at adversarial odds with each other. Access to free education is creating a heap of unemployed trainable young people, and social problems, in the villages. Harsh and difficult economic times have resulted in straitened circumstances for many Barbadian households. Pronounced economic growth is not being celebrated by the man in the street.

This discussion on the Hyatt Hotel Project shows the extent to which the country’s economic survival is coming up against competitive social considerations. As to be expected, BU commenters have advanced potent arguments for both sides.

In situations like these, it is the role of the Government of Barbados to take all arguments into consideration and to make a decision that it considers to be in the best interests of Barbados.

Given the information presented, it appears that the government has decided to choose the route of economic development. This is not surprising, since creating jobs and earning foreign exchange are two of our highest national objectives at the present time. However, the cynicism of Barbadians is increasing at an exponential rate so it would enhance the credibility of this project if some financial information can be given about the source and magnitude of the projected forex inflows and outflows. Negative net forex inflows will not help us.

It must always remain uppermost in our minds that Barbados is a nation built on laws and processes. Foreign investors are welcomed, but our laws must be followed.
    When David Commisiong went to the โ€œTown and Country Development Planning Office on the afternoon of Wednesday 3rd August 2016 and asked to see the Public Registerโ€, he did not go there as a communist. He went there, as is his civic right and duty, to determine whether the laws of his country were being followed. Whatever discrepancies he found, he reported to the Chief Town Planner. This is how all of us as responsible citizens should act. Full stop.

It seems that Mr. Commisiongโ€™s findings are at variance with the Nation Newspaperโ€™s assurance that the project had met โ€œa range of stringent stipulations, whether environmental or structuralโ€.

Could it be possible that all items related to โ€œconsultationsโ€ and โ€œdecisionsโ€ have already been taken care of by the relevant authorities, but have not been entered into the Public Register?

31. Ha ha .. Everything good man. Setting up a Wax Museum fah locals. It took a lot of time

32. A Tourism Development plan from Bay Street to Rockley was done in 1978-80 by a physical planner from OAS/CICATUR,he was station in the office of CTRC,now CTO, now is the time for Jean Holder to reveal the contents of that report,

33. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Walter…it’s more like the nation newspaper is putting misinformation out there, giving permission for the project, when it’s not their role, on investigating they would have known the project has not been approved yet…apparently they are being paid to sway public opinion.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

And besides…real journalists NEVER kiss ass. That is not what true journalism is about. That is what the island lacks in the traditional media.

35. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Art….the ACs are frauds, two faced, forked tongue pimps and yardfowls, no one you would want at your house, no one you would invite out or introduce to your friends, they are the scappings from the bottom of any filthy barrel, not to be trusted, just suitable to pimp for politicians. ….do not expect any better from them.

36. Freedom of expression is a privileged and guaranteed right to all including commuinist . One would not expect govt to deny a citizen regardless of political affiliation a right to their civic duty .
    However if a citizens political afflication is in contrast to a democractic policies .That citizen should be exposed as it it is critical to truthfulness and crucial to all intents and purposes
    Political afflictions are organs of a democracy and should never be hidden or left our of the equation

37. @ Walter PPK Blackman

Have You stop picking out paragraph of post, to start prolix, by now we know, you meant to write, your last paragraph, BTW , there is a development plan for that area,

38. WW&C

Even when caught in contradiction, the AC consortium of yard-fowls always introduces some silly argument in an effort to defend their act. And it only serves to demonstrate more โ€œyard-fowlery.โ€

When many BU contributors were presenting arguments against the CAHILL project, the consortium was its strongest supporter, mentioning this inept DLP administration knows what is best for the country and would not listen to the โ€œprophets of doom and gloom.โ€

However, when Stuart said his administration was no longer considering CAHILL, the yard-fowl ACs were โ€œthe first to sayโ€ the government listened to the will of the same โ€œprophets of doom and gloomโ€ and scarped the project.

They do not have the ability to think independently and rationally, but are programmed to defend the DLP at all cost even if it means entering the realm of stupidity. Only robots behave in this manner.

As โ€œSparrowโ€ sang in his calypso โ€œThe Lion and the Donkeyโ€โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ โ€œthat is fowl, donkey, that is fowl.โ€ Replace โ€œdonkeyโ€ with AC.

39. I would put my signature to this letter and I would add that Browns Beach is one of very few ‘Windows to the sea’ that instantly relaxes the usually stressed and tired motorist in an around Bridgetown.
    The beauty and tranquility to all Barbadians and visitors far out way the millions of dollars to a select few.

40. Walter Blackman’s comment is tinged with apologia and insult to intelligence without saying much.

For it’s a much of a muchness.

Maybe he’s practicing his platform mouthings

For he has not entered any new ideas to the discourse.

What he has done in merely an attempt to thread the needle

Walk thought the rain drops, without getting wet

There’s no political skill here, it’s old hat

Obviously, he cannot be seen to be disloyal to his criminal political masters, on one hand

On the other, he sought to avoid the judgement of known forces on BU.

41. @Walter, your post of 12:37 pm implies that the Government of Barbados consulted with the people of Barbados and have done an EIA, addressed the UNESCO designation and consulted with the trade unions. It has only been reported that the UNESCO designation was being addressed. No EIA has been done, the Union has not offered any comments regarding the labour arrangements for the Hyatt. Most of all the opinion of the people of Barbados was never even considered by their employees, the Government.

Therefore how can the Government “take all arguments into consideration and make a decision that was in the best interest of Barbados.”

Given what we now know are the facts; that the fore mentioned have not been done, how can the public be sure that economic development is the best option. I beg to differ.

42. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Walter Blackman August 5, 2016 at 12:37 PM #
    “In situations like these, it is the role of the Government of Barbados to take all arguments into consideration and to make a decision that it considers to be in the best interests of Barbados.

Given the information presented, it appears that the government has decided to choose the route of economic development.”

Heather,
    Based on my words written above, how can you say that they imply “that the Government of Barbados consulted with the people of Barbados and have done an EIA, addressed the UNESCO designation and consulted with the trade unions”?

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ The Honourable Blogmaster

Finally, after much begging, I have been able to secure the specific Paling cock lololool

The cock in particular gave great inspiration BUT, when I remember a childhood with some ingrunt bareneck chickens that ruled our yard and one particular fowl cock that ran a particular person, who was 4 at the time, but who shall remain nameless, from said yard I said to myself “meself, thu must immortalize that bare necked fowl cock”

And Meself said “yes!!!

The following begins that series that will exclusively be devoted to Assinine & “THINE HIGNORANCE KNOWS NO BOUNDS. Let them continue to have her post stupidness

I shall not feature the rest of LEGION because they talk sense.

However you can be sure “all idiocy that Assinine writes SHALL BE ACCORDED FRONT SEAT”

The IMGUR POST takes credit from comments from Artaxerxes and reads

Barbadian Activist Artaxerxes issued a particularly stern warning against Assinine Cretin (purposely mispelt) Legion a bootlicking group of supporters of the Barbados Demonic Labour Party the DLP, the most incompetent government that the people of Barbados have had in the country’s 5o years of Independence

He states, ” I have mentioned consistently, in this forum, that I do not like yard-fowls.”

“Their reliance on POLITICAL OPPORTUNISM and political expediency makes it extremely difficult for them to hold a genuine, steadfast opinion on any issue.”

He continued to give numerous instances of the “weathervane” group of persons knows as AC or LEGION as in the name of the devils Jesus cast out of the possesed men and into the pigs

For more on this Bajans want Change Campaign see https://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/2016/04/19/poster-offensive-launched-bajanswantchange

http://imgur.com/a/SKs1b

44. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Watchman August 5, 2016 at 1:43 PM #
    “@ Walter PPK Blackman
    Have You stop picking out paragraph of post, to start prolix, by now we know, you meant to write, your last paragraph, BTW , there is a development plan for that area,”

Watchie,
    A la Bush Tea:
    “Skippa, left out the English. It ain’t wucking fuh you. Try Cantonese or Mandarin or some sh…….”

45. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Pachamama

You are spot on with your observation about PPK and his improving bootlicking skills as he retuns once more to sing for his supper rather to secure a nomination in one of the cuntstituencies.

Behold confirmation of that act!!

“Could it be possible that all items related to โ€œconsultationsโ€ and โ€œdecisionsโ€ have already been taken care of by the relevant authorities, but have not been entered into the Public Register?”

What else is that than a subtle suggestion to the DLP accomplished? Cahill Scammers to go in over the weekend and create “the so named documents by their faithful imp and claim that they had “not been filed as per a procedural malfunction” like the NIS cheques malfunction every month.

Such blatant “suck poo*chism” is a particular skill that requires an agile mouth which it is apparent that some of the newly returned Paling Cocks possess.

This is not sucking blood, that is the Mugabe-ite in the Red Corner, this is the faeces feeder again rising out of the woodwork to sup at the table of the Fatted Calf, with bareneck chickens as an apertif.

46. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

Piece……lol

Walter…the government does nothing in the best interest of the island if they DO NOT consult the people….their employers.

47. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Pachamama August 5, 2016 at 2:19 PM #
    “Walter Blackmanโ€™s comment is tinged with apologia and insult to intelligence without saying much.
    For itโ€™s a much of a muchness.”

Pachamamum,
    I remember that a group of us, as schoolboys, would pass by a house whose occupant was known to run out and curse, or chase after us, if we “bawled out” his nickname. As we got in front of the house, we would shout out the offending name and scamper off, giggling all the way.
    Being well aware of your “volatility”, sometimes when I am bored, I would provoke you and then spend minutes giggling in front of my computer as you predictably reel off the “evoked” curse words. Vintage Pachamamum.
    I am not bored today, so feel free to go ahead and tell me whatever you like. Your “tail” is always mine to pull whenever I want to.

48. The other piece of this puzzle is holding the Nation publisher accountable for the editorial referred to in DC’s letter.

49. @Walter PPK Blackman

you must forgive the 7 standard schooling watchman ,can you correct him?