Mark Cummins - Chief Town Planner Photo credit: Nation
Mark Cummins – Chief Town Planner Photo credit: Nation

DAVID A. COMISSIONG, LLB (U.W.I) L.E.C (Hugh Wooding Law School)

Attorney-at-Law

4th August 2016

Mr. Mark Cummins

Chief Town Planner

Town and Country Development Planning Office

The Garrison, St. Michael

Dear Sir

Re: The proposed construction of a 15 storey Hyatt Hotel at Carlisle Bay

I write to you in my capacity as a Citizen of Barbados.

As a result of news reports published in the Nation and Advocate newspapers of Wednesday 27th July 2016, I learnt that on Tuesday the 26th of July 2016 โ€“ Barbadosโ€™ โ€œDay of National Significanceโ€ โ€“ Barbadian businessman Mark Maloney, Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy, Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, and one Patrick Mc Cudden, senior Vice President of the American multi-national company known as Hyatts Hotel and Resorts, staged a so-called โ€œsigning ceremonyโ€ and informed the Barbadian people that in two months time Hyatts Hotel and Resorts and its local partner, Visions Development Inc. (Mr. Mark Maloneyโ€™s company), will be commencing the construction of a massive fifteen (15) storey hotel at Carlisle Bay, Lower Bay Street, within the precincts of the UNESCO designated world heritage site of historic Bridgetown and its Garrison, and abutting Barbadiansโ€™ beloved Browneโ€™s Beach.

And subsequently, in the Wednesday 2rd August 2016 Editorial of the Nation Newspaper, I (and all other Barbadians) were informed by the Nationโ€™s editorial writer that this project had received the โ€œall-clearโ€ from the relevant authority, and had met โ€œa range of stringent stipulations, whether environmental or structuralโ€.

As a result of the foregoing, I made my way to the Town and Country Development Planning Office on the afternoon of Wednesday 3rd August 2016 and asked to see the Public Register in which you are required (under Section 17 of the Town and Country Planning Act) to record information relating to applications for planning permission, โ€œincluding information as to the manner in which such applications have been dealt with.โ€

As a result of perusing the Public Register I discovered that the relevant application for permission to erect the said hotel was filed by Visions Development Inc. on the 30th of March 2015, and that it bears application number 0445/03/2015B.

I also discovered that the section of the Public Register which deals with โ€œConsultationsโ€ carried out in relation to the Application, and the section which records the โ€œDecisionsโ€ made in respect of the said Application, were both BLANK !

So much then for the Nation Newspaperโ€™s Editorial writerโ€™s assertion that the project had met a range of stipulations and had received the โ€œall-clear.โ€

(One is left to wonder why the Nation Newspaper has published such misleading information about this matter ! One is also left to wonder how Mark Maloney– in the presence of Ministers Sealy and Sinckler– could state that the construction of the hotel would DEFINITELY be starting in two months time! Clearly something is not right here ! )

Now, since it is clear that the โ€œConsultationโ€ process is not yet over, and that no decision has yet been made in relation to this application to erect a 15 storey Hyatt hotel at Carlisle Bay, I wish to draw the following to your attention :-

1) Some five (5) years ago I was approached by the prominent Barbadian business consultant who is behind this scheme of constructing โ€œforeign brand-name hotelsโ€ in Carlisle Bay, and he informed me that Browneโ€™s Beach is much too valuable an asset to be reserved for the Barbadian people, and that the plan is to construct five or six โ€œforeign brand-name hotelsโ€ right across the length of Browneโ€™s Beach.

2) Furthermore, during the 26th of July 2016 โ€œsigning ceremonyโ€, Mr. Mark Maloney advised the Barbadian people that the massive 15 storey Hyatt hotel is just the beginning of a proliferation of new hotel development in Carlisle Bay!

3) Browneโ€™s Beach is the central and extensive beach embedded in Carlisle Bay, and is an historic beach that is of tremendous value and service to the people of Barbados in general, and to the poor predominantly black working-class Barbadians who inhabit the many over-crowded, and in some cases slum-like, neighbouring communities of the City of Bridgetown and the greater St. Michael area. Indeed, for many impoverished and over-stressed working-class Barbadians Browneโ€™s Beach is their place of refuge and relaxation, their natural spa and health clinic!

4) The construction of a massive 15 storey Hyatt hotel in Carlisle Bay (abutting Browneโ€™s Beach) โ€“ to say nothing of the other 4 or 5 โ€œforeign brand-name hotelsโ€ that are being planned for Browneโ€™s Beach โ€“ is certain to destroy the very character of Browneโ€™s Beach and to turn it into an โ€œalien zoneโ€ in which the ordinary Barbadian no longer feels comfortable or welcome. In other words, we will run the risk of Browneโ€™s Beach being transformed into one of your typical West Coast beaches โ€“ beaches that native Barbadians feel no longer belong to them.

5) There is also the issue of the height and size of the proposed Hyatt hotel. The highest building in Barbados is the Central Bank โ€“ a building that is some nine storeys tall. Is it really sensible to erect in Carlisle Bay, within the precincts of our UNESCO designated World Heritage site, an American hotel that will dwarf and dominate every other building in Bridgetown? Please bear in mind that this hotel will be more than one and a half times the height of the Central Bank of Barbados! Wonโ€™t it significantly undermine the World heritage status of historic Bridgetown and its Garrison?

6) And how do you engage in the type of deep and extensive pile-driving that will be required to construct a foundation for a towering 15 storey building without emitting vibrations that will do serious damage to such neighbouring historic buildings as the Bethel Methodist Church, St. Patrickโ€™s Cathedral and St. Paulโ€™s Anglican Church?

In light of the foregoing I am hereby requesting โ€“ nay, demanding โ€“ that this application for Town and Country Planning permission to construct this proposed 15 storey hotel be subjected to a most rigorous and comprehensive โ€œEnvironmental Impact Assessmentโ€ procedure, inclusive of a โ€œSocial Impact Assessmentโ€ study.

I have learnt from the News Media that some consultations are on-going with the Barbados National Trust in relation to the implications of the proposed project for Bridgetownโ€™s UNESCO world heritage site status.

However, what I am requesting goes way beyond such a narrowly based impact assessment!

I am requesting โ€“ first and foremost โ€“ that the people of the neighbouring communities be consulted in Town Hall meetings, and through relevant sociological surveys and assessments. And when I refer to โ€œthe neighbouring communitiesโ€ I am referring to virtually all of the residential communities of the City of Bridgetown and southern St. Michael. I am also requesting that consultations be held with the churches and the various community groups and social clubs of the affected communities, as well as with the several environmental and heritage preservation organizations of Barbados.

I am also requesting serious and wide-ranging investigations of the possible dangers to other buildings in the vicinity of the proposed hotel, as well asย  an investigation into possible negative impacts on the aesthetics and amenities of the entire city of Bridgetown. ( And while you are at it, perhaps you can draw to the attention of your governmental colleague, the Chief Immigration Officer, the negative implications ofย  the Hyatt Hotel’s vice- President’s bold assertion that ALL senior posts at the hotel will initially be filled by expatriates !)

And even through it may only be the opinion of one Citizen of Barbados, please permit me to state for the record that I am convinced that Barbados will be making a grave mistake if it permits such a priceless national asset as Browneโ€™s beach to fall into the hands of foreign multi-national companies and to become the location of out-sized foreign-owned hotels, rather than to be reserved for indigenous Barbadian entrepreneurs and for locally owned hotels, guest houses and related facilities that fit snugly into the national environment, and that radiate the unique charm, culture and hospitality of Barbados and Barbadians!

It is with this conviction that I now hereby call upon you and the Town and Country Development Planning Office to engage in the Environmental Impact Assessment measures outlined and requested above in relation to the Town and Country Planning application reference number 0445/03/2015B.

I now look forward to hearing from you as a matter of urgency.

Yours faithfully,

David A. Comissiong

P.S Please take note that in light of the dire implications that this matter has for the entire population of Barbados, I am taking the liberty of sharing the contents of this letter with my fellow citizens.

202 responses to “Letter Marked Urgent Dispatched to Chief Town Planner Mark Cummins From David Comissiong”

1. BU challenged the editorial honesty of the Nation newspaper recently and some on the blog accused BU of not knowing what we are about…

2. THIS COMMUNIST IS JUMPING ON A BAND WAGON TO PROMOTE HIMSELF, HE IS NOT ABOUT ANYTHING ELSE!! CERTAINLY NOT ABOUT PROGRESS HE WOULD PREFER TO SEE BARBADOS GO THE WAY OF VENEZUELA…

THE VERY SAME PEOPLE HE IS SAYING THAT ARE POOR IN THE SURROUNDING AREAS AND WHO WOULD BE DISADVANTAGED BY SUCH A CONSTRUCT ARE THE VERY PEOPLE WHO WHOSE LIVES COULD BE ENHANCED IF THE SO CHOOSE TO BETTER THEMSELVES BY SEEING THE OPPORTUNITIES FOR SUCH….

LIKE ALL THE SEA ACTIVITIES AND WATER SPORTS, TAXI’S, BUS TOURS, AND REAL JOBS PAYING REAL MONEY TO REAL PEOPLE.

SUCH A PROJECT WOULD EMPLOY HUNDREDS OF BARBADIANS.

THIS COMMUNIST IS NOT ABOUT THE MAN ON THE STREET, HE IS ABOUT GAINING POLITICAL FAVOR!

I HAVE NOT BEGUN TO EXPOSE THESE WOLVES IN SHEEP’S CLOTHING…

I HOPE PEOPLE CAM SEE PASS HIS POLITICAL POSTURING.

REMEMBER THIS …

ONE MAN CAN BE AN INFLUENCE AND POWER FOR GOOD AS CHRIST EXAMPLE HAS SHOWNโ€ฆ.

AND ONE MAN CAN BE A SOURCE OF MUCH DESTRUCTION AS EXEMPLIFIED BY HITLER AND HIS SOCIALIST/ COMMUNIST LIKESโ€ฆ

http://statusmind.com/images/2014/05/Famous-Quotes-41174-statusmind.com.jpg

3. @Freedom Crier

Are you a Jackass?

Instead of addressing the issues raised by Comissiong you come with this labelling bullshyte?

Attack the issues raised and stop shitting up the bog.

4. David is clearly trying to raise the cost of the proposed hotel to prohibitive levels.
    Small hotels are inefficient. We need large, US branded hotels, that can leverage ECONOMIES OF SCALE to increase margins. If the proposed project helps to increase property values along Browne’s Beach, it could even make possible the redevelopment of nearby communities now considered “slums”.
    How can David sleep at night if he gets in the way of wealth creation, and tries to stop money from trickling down to poor people, even as he complains to everyone about the mismanagement of the economy. Hypocrisy indeed.

5. We have argued steadfastly that this Barbados is an elected dictatorship.

That FJS is the dictator and that his minions gather around in supports of his every evil deed.

There was a time when we were cautious about linking FJS to the acts of malfeasance perpetrated by his cabinet colleagues.

That time is no more.

It is now time, under the principle of collective responsibility, to indict FJS for the crimes against humanity he has committed against the Bajan people.

This hotel project represents a gross violation of the general rights of all Bajans alive and those yet unborn.

It is impossible for such a project to be approved without the permission of the PM himself. For he is Minister of Planning.

Nothing in Barbados could happen unless FJS says so.

This shows what a sleazy SOB Fruendel Stuart really is. No doubt there will be much ‘steel’ in the projects.

And given the circumstances, we must surmise that FJS himself is now in the wrought iron business operating high up the food chain.

6. Let forget the physical project for a moment.

How is it possible for the Nation newspaper Publisher/Editor in Chief to public blatant untruths with such barefacedness. In the same way Roy Morris responded to BU/The Grants blog let us await his response to David Comissiong absolutely rubbishing the reputation of the Nation based on its inaccurate editorial.

7. Maybe Freedom Crier can tell us who is paying him to spout this right wing dogma on every thread on BU.

8. David

Thank you.

We trust that your judgement would have some weight.

This Un-Freedom Crier must be a Bowman or some other disinformation quack.

Thanks again for your stern rebuke of this tiring, congenial idiot.

Other measures should be imposed should he continue wid he shiite

9. Freedom Crier is an idealogue and should be ignored.
    That being said, I think that, subject to the appropriate conditions, this project could beneficial to Barbados.

10. It is also the place where many repeat visitors go to take their stroll along the beach, and go for a swim if needed. Therefore, It would be impeding tourism, because those who are repeat visitors do not go to such high class hotels. I also do not see how Mark Maloney can blend that eyesore with hte surrounding bulidings – especially Bethel Methodist church, and St. Paul’s Roman Catholic, and Anglican churches. It would need a whole lot of camouflage so to do!

11. @ David

It is the same everywhere.

The Nation tells lies and half-truths everyday.

We all know that they does tell lies, all the time.

That they know we know and they continue could only mean one thing.

They have no respect for they readers.

This points in the direction of dictatorship.

It reminds us of Czechoslovakia 1979. You should have seen it. People only watched the news, read the newspapers, to see what lies the regime was hawking.

12. Has Maloney held a press conference a al Hyatt to inform about the restoration cum beer distillery at the Empire Theatre site?

13. We must bear in mind that the Advocate and the Nation both former beacons of the Bajan independent mind and published views are now both foreign owned and therefore owe no allegiance to things Barbadian.It would appear to the discerning it’s more about chipping away at the Bajan psyche than building upon past glories.

14. Another window or door to the sea closed. I was already unhappy with all those beach chairs lined off on the shore, now this. Brownes beach is a place to go socialize, walk the beach, exercise, take an early morning sea bath, play beach tennis, cricket, football and enjoy one of the few remaining ‘public’ beaches. It will no longer be a place for locals. Tourists will claim access to yet another prime piece of beach front property and the hoteliers will probably give us a 5 foot doorway to a beach that was OURS to freely enjoy for many many years. What next?

15. Now there are some people who can see way past David Comissiong unbridled intentions , He has now positioned himself to become the new elected town crier of doom and gloom peddling his messages to uproot and sway with a glimpse of pantomime gestures.
    Comissiong has never said anything positive about barbados why would he want to see a barbados that is vibrant and fruitful from which his political goals would never be achieved ,He is very shrewd and cunning and uses a well known political apparatus of fear and blame which chisels away at at the heart of a country self confidence making its people weak nervous and vulnerable and widely opened to an acceptance of gratitude positioning the messenger to remain relevant and very welcomed,

16. Muy interesante!

Image may contain: text

17. Here is another jackass who was unbridled in their support for the Cahill project until the government was forced to yank the plug.

#yardfowl #JA

18. Comissiong in his own words that speaks volumes of hypocrisy and begs the question why hasn/t he taken his activism to the streets of his beloved Venezuela

Thus, during my ten day stay in Caracas I did see some evidence of Venezuelans having to wait in long lines to purchase some food and other household items. I also saw evidence of a scarcity of electricity supplies, and several Venezuelans expressed to me their concerns about the level of inflation in the country.

19. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

ACs….when the US companies got a stranglehold on the island…they should deport all yall pimp asses to Africa, directly to the regions with malaria and yellow fever…lol

I am sure the Bizzys and Maloneys woukd be happy to be rid of yall nuisances, you serve no useful purpose anyway…pimps are a dime a thousand.

20. listen speckled fowl david BU there are many bones to pick in this issues Yours! and mine now dawg pick your side but avoid by any means necessary picking a fight with me jack a.ss
    i understand that you need Comissiong to help u fight your political battles and he needs BU to help him fight his but in in the long run neither of you have no real use for each other both political stool pigeons occupying the same fence for the time being

21. AC when will you discuss the issue or do you just want to shoot the messenger. And you know you’re lying when you say DC has never said anything good about Barbados. You’re an ass for that! You’re also ungrateful and ungracious as DC sacrifices his time and effort to defend people like you. Even if you disagree with his methods, you should can be honest about his intentions. Would you put in the time and effort to research as he does?

22. Yes i want to” shoot” the messenger do u have a problem with that , i have heard him put this country down in more ways than one now you talking about him trying to defend me pray tell me in what way has he done so
    i listen to his messages and there are coded with actions of a rebellion for this country no wonder he fears finger printing

23. Commissiong has asked intelligent questions regarding development protocols that are routine in most jurisdictions – and absolutely necessary in inscribed UNESCO World Heritage sites. It is disappointing that our news media would seem to support desperate attempts to short circuit the planning process.
    As far as tourism and the need for more beds – note that with the advent of AirBNB and VRBO (sites where owners list their apartments or villas online for rental) Barbados has seen a increase in about 800 beds in the last year, at NO cost to the State.
    Compare that with the ‘pooching back’ they had to perform to attract chain hotels such as Sandals, and conceivably the Hyatt.

24. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

ac,
    Is that you? me thinks me see a weave on that yard-fowl…

25. Where is the EIA study?

Was there a town hall?

On what basis has the Nation editor stated categorically that all regulatory rules have been observed.

On what basis has Maloney made the assertion that ground breaking will take place in two months?

What investigative work has the Nation done on this matter? Has the Nation usurped its 4th Estate role?

26. @ David Commissiong

When you write this letter again please do the following

1.send the letter to the Chief Town & Country Planner by registered mail and keep the receipt for subsequent posting
    2.Send carbon copy of said letter to the Future Centre Trust
    3.Send a copy of that letter to the UNESCO with copy to the Resident Representative at UN House at Marine Gardens.

In fact, in anticipation of such imminent action, request a meeting with the UN Representative here and have a news media session after the meeting either with or without the Representative depending on said party’s choice

Do not play with these people.

If they think that Bim is such a hot venue why not buy land elsewhere for the 15 storey story??

27. THIS IS THE DEVASTATING REALITY OF SOCIALISMโ€ฆ VIDEO ATTACHMENT.

THIS IS THE REALITY FOR BARBADOS IF WE LISTEN TO THE COMMIS(SONG) AND HIS LIKE.

WE NEED TO EXAMINE THE EFFECTS OF SOCIALISM.

ARE WE PREPARED TO GO DOWN THAT SAME ROAD?

BARBADOS IS ON A SLIPPERY SLOPE TO VENEZUELA WITH SUCH PROPAGANDA THAT IMPEDES PROGRESS!!

https://www.facebook.com/475549362567960/videos/929034943886064/

28. Bushie is slowly, but surely accumulating LOADS of respect for David Come-and-sing-a-song.
    Like Caswell, he made some mistakes along the way, but shiite man…. the fellow is singing loud and clear ….. and he has balls to match….

Look people, the government of Barbados is like the offspring of thrifty and industrious antecedents who, having been spoilt with the good things of life (like free education, a prosperous and peaceful life and other benefits of our ancestor’s hard work) …are now addicted to the capitalist drugs of modern life – and have become political PARROs…..

They will sell off EVERY SHIITE that Dipper and Tom worked to accumulate… for pittance bribes…
    They will embarrass the family (even more…)
    …and unless we deal SERIOUSLY and DECISIVELY with their useless asses, they will destroy us ALL in their crazed stupor….

David Comissiong is proving to have the VISION, …and the balls to take on these parros in the courts, in the press, on BU and now on the beaches….
    ANOTHER David to the rescue it seems….

@ David (BU)
    BU challenged the editorial honesty of the Nation newspaper recently and some on the blog accused BU of not knowing what we are aboutโ€ฆ
    Nation shiite!!!
    The Nation (mouthpiece of Anti-Barbados OCM) was captured in the VERY FIRST stage of the plan to destroy Barbados in the interest of some shiite called ‘One Caribbean’…
    Since then, they have cleverly done everything necessary to bring us to our present sorry state….
    Bushie cannot understand why you would be disappointed by their LYING…. or why you would have expected otherwise….

29. Anonymice - TheGazer Avatar
    Anonymice – TheGazer

With 6 or 7 lawyers per square mile, can you imagine what a place Barbados would be if we could replicate the activism of DC in just one more lawyer (per square mile).

30. @ Freedom Cried…..you use the mask of anonymity pretty much the way some use the cover of parliamentary privilege.To talk shite and get away with it.Left up to you and your ilk everybody but the indigenous Bajan would have a stake and a say in Barbados. The owners of the Jolly Roger didn’t deserve an explanation… Wunna got one fah Bizzy?

31. @ David Come Let Us Sing A Song called “Vote the Bribe Takers Out”

Well done David.

This letter was and is a superb strategy just remember to visit the Rum Shop and test the patrons in the shop.

By the way, you dun know that you got Angelique the Mugabe Vampire vex with this blog causing in one submission you dun close she and de udder Assinine one down.

Looka while de ole man ent to keen bout communism and ting I gots a few disruptive suggestions dat I was did left by Angelique’s place recently dat you may want to read,

Ovah de weekend, when de grandson get a chance I going see if he cud put together some lil titbits fuh you dat you might want to use.

Comrade Singing a Song I like, I wonder if you was to describe Havana and it’s similar Heritage designation, I wonder if dese peeple would still want 15 storeys all ovah Bridgetown?

You kin expect three visitors, Sand Nigger de Communist hater, Assinine the Legion and Angelique the Vampire for obvious reasons lololol.

32. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

“As far as tourism and the need for more beds โ€“ note that with the advent of AirBNB and VRBO (sites where owners list their apartments or villas online for rental) Barbados has seen a increase in about 800 beds in the last year, at NO cost to the State.
    Compare that with the โ€˜pooching backโ€™ they had to perform to attract chain hotels such as Sandals, and conceivably the Hyatt.”

This is the way to go, locally owned bed and breakfast, locally owned guest houses, money will circulate in the communities, there will be more money on island.

Big hotels aee just for politicians to prostitute themselves in exchange for and in hope of snaring large bribes, the people will not benefit. I always stay in locally owned establishments in the Caribbean, they are much nicer and homely…large hotels do not need my money.

Many tourists think the same way, particularly the wealthy ones.

33. ” David

Your 7.52 post was very appropriate. I know some persons may only see the narrow and draw on the likelihood of jobs. However, the things outlined in this letter, I fully endorse. EIA and consultations are necessary and the prerequisites to anything going forward. Barbadians need to stand up for what is right rather than fall for another dysfunctional erection. And to think that the offensive editorial gave the impression that all was above board and done in accorance with ouyr laws. I shudder to think what will happen if these same players are allowed to go on for another 5 years! There would be nop more Barbados as we know it. Not the view of my party, this is personal and I fundamentally agree with the concerns raised by the lawyer advocate of the poor and marginalised.

34. Well Well & Consequences Avatar

The nation is a shit paper, their role is to mislead bajans, they know full well Hyatt does not have planning permission, but would lie to appease Maloney and kiss the ass of Hyatt planners…nuisances and frauds.

They showed their true colors with Roy Morris being a compromised journalist wannabe recently.

35. @ ac
    “He is very shrewd and cunning and uses a well known political apparatus of fear and blame which chisels away at at the heart of a country self confidence making its people weak nervous and vulnerable and widely opened to an acceptance of gratitude….”

You have just referenced every member of the FJS Administration!

36. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right – INRI August 4, 2016 at 10:06 PM #

โ€œLooka while de ole man ent to keen bout communism and tingโ€โ€ฆ

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/AqqRvmECQAAwoQm.jpg

37. @ac. Not a rebellion. The country needs revolutionary change. It looks like the revolution of 2016 may be coming your way.

38. These bold faced liars are the very people that seek to focus on every negative aspect where social media is concerned.Blatantly lie or constructively bend or stretch the truth,these are the same vultures that are prepared to do whatever it takes to sway public opinion.Their contribution to the dumbing down of a society.In the midst of celebrating fifty years an all black legislature continues to do bidding on the behalf of the white shadows.

39. VOICES WHO SUPPORT COLLECTIVISM INSTEAD OF INDIVIDUALISM ARE CLEARLY MANIFESTED HERE โ€ฆ

YOU SOUND LIKE THE QUOTE REPRESENTED BELOW!!

https://labourpartysupporters.files.wordpress.com/2015/11/labour-party-left-wing-anti-fascists.jpg

40. David,

I too read the Nation’s Editorial and could only shake my head.

Remember some weeks ago when the heat was really on Mark Maloney for blatantly flouted Town and Country Planning regulations, the Nation did a puff piece…….full pages of puff in the Sunday Sun written by Gercine Carter.

I was suspicious of the puff piece then and with this editorial this week……..can Roy Morris tell us again that he or anyone at the Nation cannot be bought?

41. “George C. Brathwaite August 4, 2016 at 10:17 PM #

โ€ David

Your 7.52 post was very appropriate. I know some persons may only see the narrow and draw on the likelihood of jobs. However, the things outlined in this letter, I fully endorse. EIA and consultations are necessary and the prerequisites to anything going forward.”

Now that the emotion in Mr Commissiong’s first esposure has been subsumed by a more balanced and reasoned argument against the project I am in agreement with Mr Brathwaite’s comments and am re-thinking my shortsighted support for such construction.

42. “David August 4, 2016 at 9:30 PM #

Where is the EIA study?

Was there a town hall?

On what basis has the Nation editor stated categorically that all regulatory rules have been observed.

On what basis has Maloney made the assertion that ground breaking will take place in two months?

What investigative work has the Nation done on this matter? Has the Nation usurped its 4th Estate role?”

๏ˆ
    Liked by 1 person

And let us not overlook the role of the relevant Minister in the purported approval of this project

43. BU hopes the fat lazy middle and upperclass Bajans who have benefited from free education will feel obligated to stepdown from their SUVs to defend what is left of Bajan.

The following extracted from DC’s letter:

I am requesting โ€“ first and foremost โ€“ that the people of the neighbouring communities be consulted in Town Hall meetings, and through relevant sociological surveys and assessments. And when I refer to โ€œthe neighbouring communitiesโ€ I am referring to virtually all of the residential communities of the City of Bridgetown and southern St. Michael. I am also requesting that consultations be held with the churches and the various community groups and social clubs of the affected communities, as well as with the several environmental and heritage preservation organizations of Barbados.

44. Heather August 4, 2016 at 10:31 PM #

@ac. Not a rebellion. The country needs revolutionary change. It looks like the revolution of 2016 may be coming your way.

;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;

Heather i suspect that your comments are a confirmation of what i suspect are the undertows behind all of Mr. Comissiong opposing concerns a way of keeping the country all whipped up in frenzy with a well planned and thought out winning strategy which ripples the water eventually becoming a tsunami heading to shore .

45. @David, the church in Barbados should be ashamed. Years of abuse and corruption by this administration and they have not said a word. Only recently a priest who is new to Barbados spoke out about corruption at the last Chamber of Commerce meeting.

46. NO bush sh..t Comissiong is not a Caswell for all the concerns that Caswell has i would be the first to say that his concerns are genuine and are not liquefied with an ideology that are in alignment or closely tied to Socialist of Communist regimes
    Mr. Comissiong has a agenda and that he will pursue collectively with issues that would bring him closer to achieving his goals .In my book he is a man that should not be trusted

47. @Heather

Are you able to define who or what is the church in Barbados?

Do you mean the predominant Anglican Church that is heavily indebted.

Do you mean the Evangelicals who have been co-opted by the political class?

Who!

48. The west coast is crowded with foreign hotels etc… Now they’re wanting to take over the south coast..! It’s not gonna happen.. The young people of Barbados will NOT stand by and let this tragedy happen..! They’ll fight..!!!